Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wentworth Hotel 3 stars

Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh, IP15 5BD, United Kingdom

#6 of 15 hotels in Aldeburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, Lovely, Special, Friendly, staff and hotel above and beyond expectations!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel went above and beyond to accommodate us with our 2 west highland terrier dogs. The dogs were allowed anywhere in the hotel except for the dinning area. Rather than leave the dogs in the hotel room, the hotel staff were able to set up a lovely table for us outside as the weather was good. If we wanted to eat inside there was also an area to be seated so our dogs could sit with us too whilst eating. The hotel was extremely clean and the facilities were great for our needs. We ate dinner at the hotel 2 nights of our 4 night stay and the food was delicious, fresh and portion size was satisfactory. Excellent choice at breakfast - a very traditional classy English selection of breakfast choices - totally spoilt! All the staff were friendly and very helpful. Would highly recommend The Wentworth hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    A good location, hotel was very spacious and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid extra for a sea view but it was more a view of a flat roof (not very nice) and then the sea. Breakfast was good but I think that the service was not too good a bit understaffed.

    A good location, hotel was very spacious and staff were helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Knew before we booked that there was no lift - unfortunately we were on the 2nd floor with about 30 stairs to negotiate and we found that a bit hard at 82 years old!

    The food was to an excellent standard; the staff were all extremely helpful; great to have a sea view room; the bed was very comfortable and very large!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Good. Let down by the dinner experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner. Lovely dinning space but the food was bellow average. Reheated main course. Starters very average. My partner asked for a filet steak and was served a ribeye.

    Breakfast was very good, friendly staff, nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable nothing to complain about
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our anniversary they wrote happy anniversary on our dessert plates lovely touch food great and beverages not to expensive good all round experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    A family run hotel of real class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've been visiting Aldeburgh for over twenty years with family but this is our first time in a hotel and it was a wonderful and wholly positive experience. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. It is clearly a very well run establishment. We'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfy room, very clean and just what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy room, very clean and just what we expected. Lovely Hotel, like staying in a National Trust property. Good service in restaurant, excellent breakfast and good attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Decor was exceptional, very tastefully displayed and to look...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Decor was exceptional, very tastefully displayed and to look at, all for your comfort and to cater to you every need, food was great, every area was very clean, staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, good location, but pricey for wha t it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ceiling over shower needs attention Booked a table for dinner at reception that was not passed on to the waiting staff.

    Room nicely decorated. Early check in easy to organise Restaurant manager good at changing our deal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Good if you are over age 75...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked Wentwork breakfast was not very good. Also, It was quite stuffy in the hotel- they desperately need to open the windows and get some air circulating.

    Decor was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in great location but wouldnt stay in a Darfield room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Darfield Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like the location of the Darfield rooms very noisy had children in room above bouncing on beds and running around until late in the evening

    Excellent food great value all round close to town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Our first time in Aldeburgh. We will definitely stay at the Wentworth on our next visit!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs were a little runnier than we like. We loved having the restaurant in the hotel with great food and great service!!

    The shower in the Darfield wing was the best we had in our whole two week trip to England and France. Booking.com had messed up our reservation changing it from an ocean view to an inland view. The owner and manager were very accommodating to correct an error that wasn’t even their error, to our great satisfaction. We highly recommend the lodging and the restaurant!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful, comfortable and professionally-run hotel on the seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traditional hotel right on the seafront. I paid the extra for a great room looking out to fishing boats and sea. Bathroom recently upgraded with a powerful hot shower. The breakfast lean and beautifully cooked. The staff were highly professional, helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended for food, drinks or an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Genuinly can't think of anything

    Such a nice hotel that was booked for my partner's birthday. From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable and the staff were, in my opinion, the best i've experienced. They couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious and extremely well presented. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best I've had as well. The room was comfy, the location is great so clearly I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.5
    Very restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have fridge in the room, the complimentary water did tend to be warm.

    We booked late, could not upgrade, bathroom small. Overall, excellent, staff were very kind and helpful. At one point, we needed a little extra help and they could not have been kinder. Will go again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay very much, found it to be relaxing and would certainly go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Darfield Double or Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very busy, being the Easter weekend. The hotel was at full capacity and there could have been more staff.

    The bed was very comfy and the room was large. The bathroom facilities were excellent especially the modern shower. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Darfield Double or Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought cooked breakfast lovely but that display of cereals etc was unimaginative and functional.

    Room lovely. Staff helpful . very relaxing ambiance . Stayed at Easter and Easter eggs were a lovely surprise at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyable but let down by the steaks.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2nd nights meal. A special day my sister's 80th birthday and our 45th wedding anniversary. Fillet steaks X 2 well done, on arrival one had blood running out the other contaminated by something,what? Undercooked one returned fully cooked contaminated one replaced but very cheesy not fully eaten. We have doubts these were fillet steaks. If they were change your supplier.

    Very helpful and happy staff. Ask reception to smile a bit, they are very efficient though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    3 star hotel at 4 star prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Darfield Double or Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The arrangements for breakfast were Fawlty Towers-esque, with tables allocated for each room. In an almost empty room we were taken to our assigned table - which had to be the worst in the room.

    Both our room and ensuite were both very spacious, with the ensuite featuring excellent, modern facilities including a great shower and large bath.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend the Wentworth and hopefully will come back again soon,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our fried breakfast was a little undercooked otherwise the meals were fine.

    Lovely bathroom with lovely shower. Our room had everything we needed. The hotel itself was so peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was expensive for what was provided.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was expensive for what was provided. Table allocation for breakfast seemed unnecessary and process of allocation was not explained at any time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    It was an excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a little dirty around the top of the inside rim In room 13, just looked like it had been missed a little.

    The beds were comfortable, decor was beautiful and the staff were all very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Really rather diaappointing. A luxurious indulgence spoilt by procedural and staff shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Darfield Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stupid Little things that are poor for such an expensive hotel experience. Surly staff (Sunday morning desk at checkout) (in contrast charming morning service staff in the dining room.) Missing newspaper - still charged for it. A stupid five pound credit voucher for the meal - which of course gets forgotten; why not simply credit it against a meal charge. Reserved spots in the lounge makes the hotel’s “nooks” rather less appealing if you are evicted from them - despite being a paying customer. Little stuff but definitely left a bad taste for such an expensive experience.

    Visiting the wentworth off and on for over 20 years it has always returned a splendid environment, great food (the salmon in starter and breakfast - yum!) open fireplaces many comfortable nooks and well appointed rooms. Of course the location is wonderful too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    a nice relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not worth mentioning

    Great food. Changing menu every night. Nice dining room with welcoming staff. Nicely located next to the beach and nice walking to Orford Ness or Thorpness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good. Would recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking difficult, even off season.

    Comfortable, welcoming and immaculately clean. The food was a revelation. Superb - and healthy -dinner, excellent breakfast and great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Excelent seaside hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was not in the main hotel but across the road. The room was spacious and very pleasant with access to a small garden so that we could take our dog out. The bathroom was very modern with big bathtub and excellent shower. Breakfast was delicious. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Decoration in the main hotel was very grand.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Homely & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's literally nothing to dislike.

    Very quiet, relaxing hotel. Lounge areas with open fires. Excellent location. Very helpful & friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    2days of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say that anything was bad with my stay

    Very friendly staff, food was excellent the location is also very good as the beach is only over the road, the rooms are a good size, bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean excellent stay would recommend to anyone

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Super weekend in a beautiful hotel. Make a few amendments and it will be perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very small room - we were told that this is due to booking through Booking.com and we did not book direct through the hotel. The window was cracked - which I felt as dangerous in a single window and also was a little drafty. We did not have a hook for the shower - which in 2017 I would have thought was a must. We spoke to the duty manager who said that all rooms were different and booking direct through them we would have been able to confirm a room choice and one with a shower. Good toiletries - but no conditioner.

    The hotel is beautiful, the staff are great and breakfast is super! This hotel is by far the best in Aldeburgh. We often eat in the garden in the summer which is stunning. Super Gin menu and a very reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.2
    The hotel is in a great location - just off the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here a few years ago for a weekend break, which was lovely, so we thought it would be a romantic place for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary. There's a saying that you should never go back, and for our recent stay it turned out to be very apt. The staff we met were uninterested and seemed to be unwilling to make us feel welcome. The hotel is very noisy at night (our room was above the front entrance), the floorboards in the corridor creaked and groaned every time someone walked to their room. Our room was either too hot or too cold and it proved impossible to find a comfortable heat setting. In the mornings the "hot" water was lukewarm making a shower or bath a very brisk affair. We hadn't booked any breakfasts, thinking that we might like to have a slow leisurely start to each day, but because we hadn't slept very well, we were up and ready for a hearty breakfast, big mistake! We were refused entry as we were not listed on their clipboard. As it turned out they did us a favour, a short walk down the main street brings you to East Coast Cafe ...... http://eastcoastcafeandstore.com/ delicious breakfast, friendly welcoming staff and as a bonus there is some amazing artwork displayed. For the evenings there's Prezzo nearby which is always reliable and this one is no exception. Aldeburgh is a lovely place to spend some time, but we will be avoiding the Wentworth in future.

    The hotel is in a great location - just off the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Good value and comfy
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room wasn't the biggest but had everything I needed and was nicely decorated with a decent bathroom.

    Comfortable and stylish in an old-fashioned, homely way. It felt more like a country house than a hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    For convenience, we would stay there again, but would eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    En-suite bathroom was too small/pokey. Dinner on the Sunday evening was poor, both in respect of food quality/taste and presentation - clear evidence of lack of interest in the kitchen. Some of the serving staff lacked knowledge of menu and wine. Breakfasts were OK, if unexceptional: good smoked haddock and poached egg on Sunday; on Monday, the "special" kedgeree, insufficient haddock, over-boiled egg and instant rice and peas drowning in curried liquid, was a dreadful travesty of what the dish should be. On departure, Front Desk failed to enquire whether everything had been to our satisfaction.

    When I called ahead to request something for the room, they were responsive and the request was duly fulfilled. The hotel is comfortable. Our room, though quite small, was quiet, had good natural light and outlook to the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Most pleasant - would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was tasty with generous portions however it arrived at table luke warm. Food should be piping hot. Breakfast was very good.

    Table settings excellent. Room clean and comfy. Dining room staff polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    A gracious, hospitable place in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm trying to think of something....

    A gracious, hospitable place in a lovely setting. The sort of hotel that unfortunately seems to be disappearing. On the second day the staff knew my name at breakfast. Obviously there were many long-term guests in residence, but a short-term guest such as myself felt very welcome also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay - would certainly recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only slight negative for us was to discover that we had been allocated a room on the upper floor and that there was no lift, so, as I am in my eighties and my wife has a hip problem, clambering upstairs was somewhat tiring. Elderly guests should perhaps be warned of this.

    The Wentworth is an excellent hotel - efficient and friendly staff, splendid restaurant, comfortable rooms. It is located at the quiet end of the town right by the sea. The public rooms and restaurant are very large and comfortably furnished with a welcoming open fire in the lounge and good bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    An average stay - attention to detail needed and perhaps some staff training?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning we were shown to our table for breakfast by one waiter and then got forgotten as we were at the end of restaurant. We had to go to find the waiter after a wait and second waiter apologised saying he didn't know we were there! A lot of 'extras' such as fried bread, black pudding etc had an extra charge which in many hotels are included. Bar service in evening was very slow - had to phone for service and it took a while for someone to pick up phone. Front of house staff very disappointing. When we checked out the member of staff made no attempt to ask if we had enjoyed our stay, whether we were going home that day, comment on the weather - nothing - other than taking our money.

    Sea view perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable, will look forward to visiting again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked quiet background music in restaurant

    Staff were very helpful when they discovered I couldn't manage all the stairs and went out of their way to organise another room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    We have been going to the Wentworth for many years and it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have been going to the Wentworth for many years and it is constantly beeing redecorated to it's usual high standards. Always a comfortable stay, but the evening food choices not quite as good as I remember. Will certainly be visiting again, probably this year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    quick change of scenery for sea view and long walks
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. 1st time I've taken the dog away so felt a little awkward- we were really reassured and looked after, even having our breakfast table moved to one side so our dog could sit with us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that there seemed to be a lot of noise from the kitchen near our bedroom number 1. People shouting and calling and clattering of wheels, and trays etc. Especially in the early morning of Tuesday after Bank Holiday, and collection of bins, waking us up at 6am.

    The convenience of the Hotel to where our daughter was staying

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place shame about lack of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff whatsoever. Never anyone at reception or the bar. Big queues to order anything. Slow service. And this was in August on a bank holiday weekend.

    Lovely position right next to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Loved the location but think the hotel needs some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very traditional. We booked a room with a bath and a sea view and were given a room with a shower on the first night. The second night we were given a complimentary upgraded to a room with a bath and a sea view. Although the staff were responsive to our needs, the beds were to soft for us and the pillows were lumpy. The rooms were very warm and without air conditioning (fans were provided). We opened the windows but then the pigeons woke us up at daybreak. So not a good nights sleep on either night.

    The hotel has a brilliant location on the seafront.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A relaxing and very comfortable couple of nights. Very well looked after. Hotel in perfect position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are stairs and steps throughout the property so make sure that you ask for a ground floor room if this is an issue.

    Took my elderly mum who was delighted by the way she was treated by the staff. Particularly pleased with so many comfy areas to sit and relax. Decoration charming and full of things to look at.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Overall a very enjoyable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom well equipped but very small for the price charged. No specific place to store one's suitcase; a portable stand was provided but nowhere to put it unless folded up. On a blustery first night the noise from the hotel flag outside our seaview room made sleep impossible.

    Bedroom and furniture nice and clean; provision of two small armchairs was appreciated; bathroom small but excellently laid out to provide good storage for toiletries etc; good lounges, dining areas and outside space;

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    A very good hotel near to the sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't find any real fault with the hotel or food. To be very picky, the tea and coffee was a tad expensive but this was countered by the very reasonable price (and quality) of the dinner and breakfast.

    The property was situated across the road from the beach which gave excellent views of the sea and had ample tables and chairs to allow residents to sit out side or in side which ever they desired. The public rooms were clean and well appointed as was our bedroom. Our bedroom was modern with a large flat screen television and a very big double bed. There was ample cupboard space and hangers for our clothes. The bathroom was very modern and very well appointed with a modern shower/bath. The food was very good, well prepared and well presented and the staff were all very helpful and polite. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was delicious I was disappointed when staff wanted to seat me in a dark corner instead of he sunny (and empty) conservatory. On the first morning I persuaded staff to let me use the conservatory. On the second morning staff refused my request although the conservatory was again empty when I arrived. Why did the TV in my room switch on automatically at 7.15 on the second morning and wake me up? (I forgot to mention this to staff when I checked out) Room small but no problem but it looked rather dowdy and dated.

    Very comfortable bed.Quiet. Relaxing, comfortable and pleasant lounges and seating areas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    Room 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No music was play at breakfast time or any other time in the hotel !! Booking through booking .com only to have phone call the next day from the hotel saying we would have to move rooms half way through are stay but we didnt mind did offer us a in land view with dinner and breakfast but we said we like the sea view .

    Room 10

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Classy and right on beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For older people the lack of lift would be a challenge . Clientele is mostly above 40 and it isn't cheap, but nice!

    Classy hotel with great location. Good food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Hotel overall excellent. Very clean. Very attentive staff. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all items on the dinner menu were available when we placed our order The room had two radiators neither of which we could get to work therefore the room was cold

    Well appointed room bed very comfortable. Breakfast and Dinner excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.1
    Basics could be improved! Attention to detail.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not greatly impressed with way I was dealt with by receptionist re internet connection. Rang down twice to seek help without reply. In hindsight, I would say check in was rushed. At breakfast, no napkin or butter on table. When asked, given paper napkin. Fried egg not cooked properly, I should have sent it back. Rest Mgr didn't seem to be expecting me!

    Lovely hotel, well decorated and nice furnishings. Comfortable room (17) but quite noisy at night with the front door banging shut! Staff were generally friendly.....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts and dinners we ate in the restaurant were excellent. Our room was very comfortable, with a wonderful view of the sea.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautifully appointed room with good hanging and storage for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was rather pathetic. Looked good but very poor volume.

    Beautifully appointed room with good hanging and storage for clothes. Loved the wallpaper.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.4
    £200 for one night though for a special occassion was not really worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though notified of gluten free requirements little effort was made to accomodate, there was bread, and cornflakes, normal cornflakes are gluten free, but no sausage so the wentworth fried breakfast was a little short of a platefull.

    The food was reasonably well presented but cooked only average

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    This was our third visit & cannot fault the service, food or staff. Very comfortable, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better choice of beers in the bar is all I can think of.

    Excellent food & service. Very relaxing hotel. Very helpful & polite staff, even under pressure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Regarding breakfast, no Nutella! Also, the waitress had not heard of Almond milk (I guess some people haven't!) so the only non-dairy alternative to milk (I'm a vegetarian) was Soya milk (not my favourite).Finally, not really keen on the seating plan - we were the second couple down but could not choose where we wanted to sit even though by the time we'd finished, the restaurant was not even half-full.

    The overall experience was very good - there was nothing that really disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.8
    Hotel is trying to be something it is not!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Didn't find the bed comfortable. Breakfast very average for a hotel that is priced as it is. Service and organisation at breakfast really poor, on two of the three mornings we were there they appeared not to have us down for breakfast and made us feel very awkward about it. Why the need to sit people all over the restaurant when there are many tables closer to the service area? We ordered two hot breakfasts, one arrived, when the second one was asked for, the scrambled eggs arrived in a dessert bowl!

    Excellent location. Nice building. Bottled water, which is purified on site is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.9
    Nice Hotel but Id ask the Catering staff to be a little more informed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had Informed the hotel on booking that we were both Vegan and asked if provision could be arranged for Vegan breakfast, we were told this would be no problem, but the staff had no idea what is required by a Vegan, so we had to go out ad fetch our own Vegan milk, butter etc, so a little disappointing on that front

    Hotel was very nice , staff were friendly, Location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.1
    Curate's Egg
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was average and the staff seemed to lose sight of the customer experience on occasions. There seemed to be a general lack of senior management.

    Location excellent and the décor was really nice, especially in the lounges etc..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Lovely hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel but a bit overpriced.

    Very nice restaurant and lounge area . Room refurnished with new bathroom. All very clean and comfortable. Staff all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to take my elderly parents but as there is no lift in the building in not sure this would be possible.

    Booked for one night only and very last minute so was not surprised we couldn't have a sea view room but this was not a problem. Beautiful rooms, lovely fresh and clean and the beds were very comfortable and huge! 6 pillows on bed which was a bonus as most hotels only supply two. Smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast was delicious and the staff could not have been more helpful. Would definitely recommend and will definitely be returning as would really like to have an evening meal as the menu looked delicious!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.3
    Pleasant enough
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hugely friendly welcome at reception desk or particularly helpful in setting up dining bookings, some confusion about how to pay. Single bed was a bit small and price did seem high. But I was not necessarily the ideal booker for this hotel/location as had been obliged to book to attend an event, and I do know others that like the decor/atmosphere.

    Convenient, access to beach, pleasant outdoor areas and good sized bathroom for a single room. Flexibility in checking out. Range of dining options

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    A fantastic weekend break in a superb character hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have no complaints, we felt very much appreciated and will certainly return in the ear future.

    Sea view was superb. Quality of cuisine was to a very high standard for an in-house restaurant. All of the staff were a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Outdoor space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not very good.

    Outdoor space Good pot of tea

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing,interesting and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, accessible and beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Cosy, beautiful decor and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Darfield Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry bag left abandoned at hotel entrance.

    Cosy, beautiful decor and friendly staff. Great gin and tonic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEDROOM RATHER ON THE SMALL SIDE

    Felt very relaxed and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Prefect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frist experience and I loved it. Peaceful and relaxing just what I needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Our stay was very relaxing, we find the hotel very comfortable to live in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to not like

    The charm of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm overnight

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.5
    the overall atmosphere and staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The minuscule bedroom

    the overall atmosphere and staff were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    As wanted and expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Excellentshower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing restful weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My poached egg wasn't great!

    Lovely boutique style bedrooms,comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior decorator completely over did the selection of fabrics, finished etc. all needs to be simplified.

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful seaside hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a lovely hotel, has a great family friendly feel and you always feel thoroughly looked after! The perfect break away from the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    A very relaxing time - wonderful breakfasts and such lovely accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Darfield Double or Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather !

    The bathroom was fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: