Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Westberry Hotel 2 stars

Rhind Street, Bodmin, PL31 2EL, United Kingdom

#5 of 12 hotels in Bodmin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little bit of a problem but wouldn’t stop me staying there again

    Breakfast goodchoose on menu, very quick and pleasant service. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was stuffy and humid upon arrival. The room was fragranced with a cheap perfume spray that was both distasteful and sickening. I felt embarrassed that I had chosen such a poor example of a bed and breakfast. I was disgusted that I could make such an impaired decision as an educated person. There was a party in which loud music was played until the early hours of the morning. There were guests in which smoked grass and cigarettes in the carpark which was opposite to our room for their wedding party venue. There was coarse language and crude behaviour in which clearly reflects the b and b. Someone was sick on the outside wall of our room in which we heard all the poetic sounds!! There were people knocking on our door until early hours of the morning in their drunken frenzy. The bathroom has mould and rough old towels. The room was not clean. The electric convector heater was smelly and produced obnoxious smells. There was a black insulation tape to secure the chaffed wires. This is a potential fire risk and a health and safety issue. The bed sloped down and was very uncomfortable and short to lie upon. It is not the customer's responsibility to be patient whilst refurbishment is being made. The room should be of a high standard with all correct. It was a shamble affair and one in which I hope if they are honest with themselves will realise they let my husband and I down to incompetence and nastiness. The manager when I complained was not bothered and alas not one person arrived to enquire of my concerns- she simply wished to argue and I felt like a tird rather than a paying customer. The owner in the morning listened to our complaints and did apologise and bestowed us 40 pounds for our inconvenience. My husband and I did not bother with breakfast as we just wanted to leave this awful place. We were both upset and dismayed by the lack of consideration for standard guests.

    To leave our luggage early. The door to leave the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Took some manoeuvring to park at the rear of the hotel but you soon got used to it. Other than that we had no problems.

    The menu was good with Asian & European options. Food was very good & overall service was excellent. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The room itself had recently been refurbished & facilities including beds were excellent. Would strongly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally dated, really poor shower (no water pressure), crap coffee in the room (standard Nescafé 🙄) and bit pricey for its quality. Would stick to Premier Inn next time

    Convenient location for Bodmin Jail, restaurant & bar, decent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no 24Hr Reception, so this wasn't good for me as I had a nose bleed at 5AM. The stairs leading up to the room where rather narrow and could be quite difficult to get up with heavy bags. Other than that, all good.

    Excellent service from the staff, Our room was Excellent. I would struggle to fault the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small, I required an early start but breakfast didn’t start until 8, but they did leave a sandwich for me. Room could do with a little Maintenance.

    Lovely ensuite, food smelt fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Good welcome on arrival shown the facilities and taken to my room and very thing explained. Nice full English on first day, and kippers on the second day we’re superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed on Sunday evening as was the bar despite it being advertised to be open until 10.30pm.

    Spotlessly clean, friendly staff, good food. Breakfast served from 7.30 but I needed to be away at 7.30 so I went down at 7.15 expecting just cereals but was given a cooked breakfast served up in 5 minutes. Full marks for that!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaraunt has a good ambience and is very pleasant. The Thai meal we had was not very authentic, we both had the special beef curry, it was very bland and contained lots of chunks of carrot and new potatoes which tasted like they were pre cooked and thrown in to add volume, they were very squidgy. The breakfast was lovely served by a nice lady who served us early as we had to get away early. Thank you.

    The receptionist was excellent, efficient and friendly, she was also the lady behind the bar and who took our meal order. This lady is worth her weight in gold to your company.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room at the Westberry was extremely roomy and comfortable. Food in the restaurant was superb and all staff were friendly and efficient. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome Thai food, very nice surprise that the hotel restaurant is a superb Thai restaurant, breakfast also very good, en-suite must have just been renewed, great shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi connection went down a few times. But other than that would stay again.

    It was an excellent stay! Loved the Thai food with a good view of Bodmin from the restaurant window. Good location and excellent stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was creaky and very uncomfortable, with a poor quality mattress, the hotel bedrooms were noisy with conversations from next door and across the corridor able to be heard easily, the doors to each room slammed shut, shuddering the walls when anyone went into or out of the rooms, the lighting for the bed was switched from the wall by the door and were difficult to switch off once in bed due to the type and positioning of the lights, the lighting for the room was dim as it was only wall lighting above the mirror, the blinds only approach to the windows which do not have curtains, exposes you to high levels of ambient light in the morning from dawn onwards, so if you are light sensitive you will be awake early without much hope of sleeping in. Note: the restaurant is not open on a Sunday apart from breakfast, which you will need to plan for, if you stay over Sunday night and will have to travel in order to find a meal.

    The hotel was well presented and the breakfast and meals we had were good, the staff were polite and friendly and helpful, the restaurant was comfortable and the food in the evening was very good with a good choice of options, the hotel was very clean throughout, with the bathroom in our room newly finished to a good standard with a large shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were so friendly & helpful nothing was to much trouble. We chose this hotel for the location, it was clean & comfotable breakfast was included. We had a meal in the Resturant they had a Thai & Western menu, we all chose Thai it was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spotless and well appointed. Welcome was friendly and breakfast good and well presented. The hotel is ideally situated to explore Bodmin, just a short walk to the town center. I will always try to stay The Westberry when I visit Bodmin

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint would be that when we arrived we were shown the bar and restaurant, unfortunately after we came back from a walk around the town we found both locked up for the night. We had been looking forward to eating in the hotel as it's restaurant had good reviews. Otherwise a good place to stay

    The hotel is in a good location , is clean and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was good too. Also has free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a little tight as there were lots of cars returning for the wake, although there were spaces to park just down the road a little way.

    The bedroom, bathroom and shower were very clean, the shower was very powerful, lovely. Breakfast was excellent and the manager served as very quickly as we had to attend an early morning funeral.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please place a mirror in the room so guests can use hairdryer more effectively. Thank you! (The hairdryer lead is too short to use the mirror hung in room 23).

    Efficient, friendly local staff. Accommodation clean & hotel location very convenient for our trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing not to like.

    The hotel is in central Bodmin, near to all amenities and business offices. It is next to the historic town centre. The staff are ever helpful and the restaurant is deservedly held in good opinion by all in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner service could have been better-organised. It was a little disorganised and unable to cope with the volume of people arriving.

    Hotel is well-placed, handy for the Camel Trail (cycle and walking path)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold on our arrival and took a second heater to warm it up! Not a good start to our stay...

    The staff we met were friendly and helpful. A good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small, TV small, funny smell in the room may have ben from damp bathroom. View from room was into van carpark, could hear the room above TV really loud until one in the morning. Shower was excellent, breakfast really nice and food in the restaurant in the evening was also very nice.

    Shower was excellent, breakfast really nice and food in the restaurant in the evening was also very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    New owners gradualy updating but not reached our room which was dated, It was odd to have shower and toilet in ensuite but washbasin was in bedroom. Car park a bit tight.

    Good breakfast, and nice and quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit tight although we had a convenient space.

    The room was extremely comfortable and there was sufficient light in the bathroom, which is unusual in the UK in my experience. The staff were friendly and helpful I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, which well may happen as we have friends in Wadebridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant too quiet at breakfast - would have benefited from some background music. No newspapers to read in lounge.

    Easy parking. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little updating in the bathroom. Also a strange vibrating noise was a little annoying but if think this was because the room was above the main reception

    Clean and tidy. Plenty of space in the room. Nice central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was stuffy and could benefit from better ventilation.

    The room was comfy and the food was excellent. Staff were friendly, prompt and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One extra staff in restaurant/bar for evening meals would have improved service considerably.

    Under new ownership since the last time I stayed here 3 years ago. Everything much the same apart from changes to the restaurant menu. A pleasant, comfortable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The harpet had a pattern that made my eyes go funny and one of the steps was hard to gauge its height

    The staff helped me with a situation where others in the wedding party did not turn up

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very low cold water pressure meant the shower was a trickle and the loo slow to fill and with a poor flush.

    Lovely spacious room, very clean. Welcoming staff. Ideally situated a couple of minutes from Bodmin's shopping centre. Great location for exploring Cornwall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot at the level of the hotel.

    Evening meal -Thai - was good. Breakfast service slow, it the restaurant was full! Beds comfortable. Water hot and shower strong flow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work, duvets were winter duvets in August. Was far too hot to sleep - had to strip the duvets out of the covers. No decent coffee available at breakfast even though the menu listed it. Only filter coffee.

    Nice big rooms, comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More milk in room.

    Very good dinner menu. Staff brilliant at all stages including breakfast. Could do with more milk in room though but otherwise will come again! Didn't particularly look at disabled access bit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb hotel. Clean, and very friendly staff. No need to go anywhere for dinner. The onsite restaurant is fantastic with flawless service and wonderful food. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to room didn't self close every time. We became aware of this straight away and reported it but came back after cleaner one day and found it not fully closed. Also realised on our return back home that a bag containing some shopping had disappeared.

    Good food, good staff, good room, good room. Evening meal was a little slow but excellent quality. Breakfast was 1st class. Room was a good size, comfortable and clean. Shower was a bit fierce for over the bath type. Spent shower trying not to flood bathroom. Obviously better than having a shower with no power though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for 4days the hotel was central to everywhere we wanted to go. The meals were great and varied between British and Thai. The staff were very friendly and helpful the head waiter Louis was extremely helpful when it came to ordering our meals as was Chris one of the chefs. Lee and Simon the owners were also great. Would recommend this property to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed overnight as the location was central for our needs. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty....eggs were cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken bin in bathroom and cracked tiles. Not Enough storage space in bathroom and insufficient hooks; no magnifying mirror for contact lens wearers: no selection of teas: Worn out appearance.

    Sunny eating areas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front on first floor, and hotel is on the main brought road through Bodmin, so some traffic noise with window open. Some noisy guests with doors banging at night. Bedroom carpet could do with renewal.

    Mattress was comfortable. Bathroom was large with bath and separate shower. Also very new and clean. Vegetarian breakfast was excellent. Dining room was very pleasant with view of garden. Only five minutes walk to shops and bus stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the parking needs to be sorted out ,a local taxi driver was blocking the entrance on the second time we tried to get in and after asking him to pull back so i could get in he started to really abuse me ,,even threatening to break my legs ,,sorry i want to get in and park

    first night we could not get back into the car park because a vehicle was parked in the entrance ,when we finally got in there was nowhere to park to be told there was a function on ,even though there was a sign saying parking for overnight guests ,,and was told to go over the road to the pay and display ,which only allowed to stay for 3 hours ,finally we got a parking space ,the function finally went quiet by 1.20am ,the breakfast was really nice and tasty with good choice ,the second night we got woken up by two people having an argument and glass smashing at 2.30am and went on for quite awhile,it sounded like the owners were the ones having the argument and i could not get back to sleep,so all in all the 2 nights we were there we never had a good nights sleep ,but the room was spacious and clean ,the bed was very comfy.and the food was good in the evening with large portions ,,i think we will go back again when in cornwall but will check first that there is no function on

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tight sgueeze to park ! breakfast choices rather monotonous ( ie; only grapefruit and prunes each day. For elderly guests this is a bad choice if taking some medications on a regular basis, If porridge was chosen this counted as a 'cooked breakfast?' ( though cooked food was good). No gluten free cereal offered though gluten free bread was. N.B. separate butter must be offered with gluten free bread ie; not one for all guests at that table. this is most important.

    central position for exploring the region; friendly staff especially bar and breakfast.; space in bedroom 10 was a bonus;

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit sparse and not up to the standard of the dinner

    We had an evening meal in the the restaurant which was excellent. The staff were very attentive and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the annex its a little dated but we were told the property is being modernized slowly room by room starting with the main area in the hotel. Stairs were quite steep and a little narrow just about room to carry the case up.

    The Thai restaurant at the property was authentic and recommended to us by the locals although we had already booked upon our arrival. My nephew had just got good exam results and something spicy is always his preferred option so this was ideal for Friday evening after a pretty awful journey down due to heavy traffic on the M5.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel felt a little unloved and rough around the edges. Location not particularly nice. Parking is limited.

    Clean room with good facilities. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No/Very little hot water

    Staff very helpful and gave a really friendly service. But I had to have a cold shower first day, then water went cold again half way through my shower on the 2nd day (despite staff efforts to sort out the problem).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We needed to leave the hotel at 8.00 AM, there was no staff yet...do not issue a receipt...

    Good place, confortable parking, nice restaurant, very clean room, more than We expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that this great hotel is 200 miles away from home and we dont know when we'll get to visit again .....

    the room, the friendly staff, masssssssive bed and the best vegetarian breakfast we've had so far! :o) it was a real pleasure to stay in this friendly hotel before our long drive upto watersmeet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything. We missed breakfast but that was our fault as we presumed it was served until 11am so went down at 10 and it had finished. The chap who was clearing away did offer to cook us something but we didn't take him up on it. As I said it was our fault as the lady who saw us to our room did tell us. Must listen better next time

    The staff were very friendly. One young lady who served us in the lovely restaurant was especially friendly and welcoming. Think her name was Kate. The room we had was big with a wonderful ensuite bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor parking facilities and full English breakfast only average - expected 2 sausages and 2 pieces of bacon as usually supplied in other hotels we have stayed in. Bedroom was also quite cold - do not expect to add blankets this time of year

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no signal on the TV. To be fair I didnt complain so may be they would have fixed if asked. The staff didn't seem very welcoming really. A smile would have been nice. (Waitress at breakfast was pleasant enough) Place lacked soul.

    My room was big enough. I had a goon nights sleep. Great shower with plenty of hot water. Pleasant dining room. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    I was playing a gig there and booked for the whole band. Staff were warm and friendly and very tolerant as we were a bit refreshed after the gig. Lovely people, great breakfast and very nice rooms. Would definitely come again if in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very small and very boring and the bathroom just a shower. everything that is bad about small hotels in the uk was there. the wifi was atrocious in every part of the hotel. I saw one poor girl doing here school homework on the floor in the hall just because she could get some signal there.

    the restaurant was a nice room, the food was average the breakfast sausages were the cheapest they could find, pity as that part had potential

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic in Bodmin. Wifi only worked in dining room and not in our room despite the modem being outside the door. Stopped me wasting my life on the web though.

    I slept all night - which is unusual for me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we actually had to go across car park to get to room thought we were staying inside hotel that it was a converted house

    Nothing wrong with food staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was smallish, and no room for a bedside table, the kettle looked old-dirty and was hard to fill at tap, as it was too big, suggest they invest in new kettles, smaller. Toilet was hard to flush, and I think it was over-priced, by about £30 !!!!

    The Staff very nice, and listened, Hotel very close to all in Bodmin walking distance, Breakfast was v.good, nice view of Bodmin from restaurant, good place to stay for a night, bathroom was excellent, lovely shower,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one on reception when we arrived. We rung the bell twice, walked the hotel and finally phoned the hotel from reception to get someones attention. This appearr3d to happen to a number of guests throughout our stay.

    The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel was perfect, central to the town, and within easy walking distance of everything. I also liked the new decor of the room, it had been newly refurbished to a very high standard. Breakfast was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind, friendly staff. Incredibly welcoming at check in and in dining room. Excellent service. Provided me with early cooked breakfast every day. Perfectly clean rooms. Felt totally safe being a lone female.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was superb. Service was very good...we got there early and they gave tea& coffee while I room was being prepared. When I say early , we were there at 10.30...check out is nominally 11am so it was early. Family who live near by said the Thai food was fantastic and the steak nights are really good. If you want a base in North Cornwall it was ideal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (superior) was lovely, only a few small issues....with the blind closed to allow us dignity, the room was a little dark, so we would suggest some form of light netting/voile could be good. A light over the mirror by the dressing table would be great. Also, just a few biscuits in the room with the tea/coffee facilities would be appreciated. !

    Superior room was a really nice size and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed in the room with the queen bed (not the four poster). We heard the food in the hotel was very good, but we didn't get to eat there, so cannot comment. Breakfast was lovely and we were very well looked after.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant new hotel/bnb. I would recommend it to any business team. Amazing room and ensuite. Very tidy. Friendly staff who took my booking at the last minute and stayed up to welcome me in when I arrived late at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed to be short-staffed, long waits for drinks in the bar and for breakfast. Not sure I would stay for more than one night as the delays might become frustrating!

    Friendly welcome, speedy checkout. Absolutely perfect for our needs on this occasion.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed for one night only whilst my husband was working locally. The town of Bodmin is right on the doorstep which was great for shopping and finding a local pub. We had a Vietnamese platter for dinner which was lovely. There was an English menu as well. Staff were lovely and we chatted with owner of the hotel the next morning over breakfast. An extremely friendly place with an air of luxury. very welcoming and we would truly recommend and will definitely use again when next in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely double shower, however, sadly there was visible mould/ mildew around the sealant in the shower cubicle which was a little off putting, but it is only cosmetic and easily fixable.

    Comfortable bed, duvet and pillows soft and also comfortable, bed linen clean and fresh. Tea and coffee facilities excellent. Plenty of storage space for clothes etc, liked having easy chairs and a table to sit at. Plenty of wall sockets in good places around the room. Room was very clean, toiletries also provided and towels were clean and very soft. Excellent choice available on breakfast menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a main road, lots of traffic noises. The walls are very thin. The mattress is very old and needed to be changed out

    The staff were nice. The bathroom were nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and stay was good. Only let down was noisy neighbours going in and out of rooms between midnight and 3am, slamming doors as they went, followed by a loud wailing female during their dirty weekend grand finale!

    Hotel and stay was good. Only let down was noisy neighbours going in and out of rooms between midnight and 3am, slamming doors as they went, followed by a loud wailing female during their dirty weekend grand finale!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could feel the springs in my bed, and both pillows provided were too soft.

    We checked-in earlier because our room was already available. The staff helped us book a taxi to the train station on the morning of our departure. The breakfast was delicious. Our room was quite large compared to what we rented in Penzance for example. The WiFi connection was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Obviously not the fault of the management, but extensive roadworks right outside the hotel made access quite difficult!

    Was travelling by car, so the location was fairly central for access to most areas of Cornwall. Nice hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast and nice restaurant for an evening meal. Comfortable and clean room (a standard double).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the road works are finished that they are doing in the area.

    Great staff, excellent manager/owner. Excellent food.Good base to explore further.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night from public areas in hotel on Saturday night. Lack of curtains. Blind let bright light into room.

    It's a nice location. Room was clean and had everything needed except effective curtains.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find anything to complain about

    Owner was very helpful had problem with tv not working but sorted between us .we never ate in the restaurant but when we came back around 9 they were very busy staff good workers ,breakfast was spot on

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the centre of Bodmin is being dug up and it was difficult finding how to get into the hotel. Maybe the hotel or Booking.com could provide directions with booking confirmation.

    The restaurant in the hotel was good, and unlike many hotel restaurants was fairly priced. Helpful staff and a lovely room. The bathroom was excellent and looked like it had recently been upgraded, free wifi throughout the hotel nice breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our double bed was a very small double bed! The rooms are basic but they are clean and comfortable.

    The hotel was perfect for our one night stay in Bodmin. The breakfast area is lovely and the breakfast was great. We were given a choice of about 10 different cooked breakfasts. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant at night, it was very busy and did smell delicious. If we were staying a second night, we would have tried the Steak and Thai restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access. Bodmin under major roadworks reconstruction which made it hard to get into hotel by car. The local council should provide more clear guidance to signpost hotel to save their business being prejudiced

    Staff were amazing. Food was excellent. Room was clean but sometimes a little chilly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly but not over the top they gave privacy but were available if needed. Our room was clean and quite spacious. Restaurant was lovely, newly modernised, all the staff were helpful and attentive, the food is tasty and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Westberry Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: