Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Western Isles Hotel 3 stars

Western Road, Tobermory, PA75 6PR, United Kingdom

#6 of 6 hotels in Tobermory

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 722 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    A warm, friendly Mull welcome in a historic, Victorian property with unrivalled views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a wee bit more variation at breakfast. At this time of year Scotland grows some beautiful berries. A local granola with fresh berries would be a great add. Choice for vegans could be better top (oat milk etc).

    A warm welcome from staff. We were a late booking due to weather and they were apologetic for room size but we loved the room. Beautifully renovated and gorgeous views out of Tobermory. The hotel explains they're going through renovations so you should be realistic that this is what you're booking. I must say that for a large hotel, it felt cosy, welcoming and having a few four legged friends around to pet made it even better for us!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    The location is fantastic and romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wait staff are dedicated but it is clear they have not been trained.

    The location is fantastic and romantic. It's a lovely old hotel with lots of charm. The views of the harbor are amazing. And the food was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Won’t be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely over priced for condition of the hotel. Very tatty in a superior room do I dread to think of what the other rooms looked like. Very tired state of the room/hotel. Broken window frame, furniture damaged etc. Bathroom floor dirty. Two 60+ year old women having to hike up and down three flights of stairs. The young member of staff was exhausted carrying our bags. Surely a lift could be fitted. Breakfast poor.

    The views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Okay but could be easily improved at no great cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm night, the only ventilation was a small bottle propping the bedroom & bathroom windows open for a few inches. Cooked breakfast was served luke warm with a hair in my egg! Scuff marks, chipped paint, a cracked window in the dining room fire exit door. All minor points that a little TLC could rectify. This could be so much better given the great location.

    We'd booked an inland view but were given a 1st floor room with wonderful views of the harbour. Free parking though I suspect there would be insufficient space if the hotel was fully booked. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Not bad for a last minute booking. Hotel has character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was dirty and worn and in serious need of repairs and updating. Bed was saggy and old.

    Fantastic view from hotel. Great location. Easy tand walk to town but far enough away from traffic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Mildew mansion: a work in progress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (Glenlivet room) reeked of mildew. Because we hit a heat wave we could keep the windows open for days. Some rooms have been remodeled - this one needs it. Furniture was threadbare & uncomfortable. Bed comfy but very short. Called to report a light flickering when lights were turned off, and a leak coming from ceiling, no one checked these things. Food in restaurant was mediocre.

    Beautiful views, funky shabby chic charm, large room. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    Hotel in great location let down by bad service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was massively let down by the wait-staff. Service ranged from okay-ish to abyssmal. Staff held private conversations in the breakfast room and neglected to take breakfast order until being allerted to the fact, and then not even an apology was offered. There were also language issues since English was a foreign language for the staff, but mainly it was the lack of interest in doing a good job and lack of good supervision by the hotel management in regards to service provided, which was the main issue. Food was alright (both breakfast and dinner), but unfortunately overshadowed by bad service. Since room was 140 Pounds per night, because of the bad service this felt like a completely overcharged fee. Location alone isn't everything.

    Excellent location with great sea-views, especially from the dinning- and breakfast room. Main Street Tobermory with all its amenities only a short walk away. Rooms were nice and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location but disappointed that the Hotel was in worse condition than before must freshen up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Hotel about 4 years ago and enjoyed it but this time it was in need of a freshen up for the money i would expect a better room every floor board sqeeked no full length mirror in room no iron and board, funtiture with missing handles, shower curtain was about 4 inches to short water all over the place, just needs to be better all round update, bordering on run down

    The hotels location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location but staff at main desk let the hotel down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist at the desk in the hall did not give us the warm welcome that we've had at other hotels. She was helpful but also detached as if she wanted to spend as little time as possible with us. We did not expect to talk at length. She seemed dismissive and we did not feel welcome.

    The room was lovely - spacious and comfortable. It was tricky operating the shower - not the best considering how much we paid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very unpleasant smell (wafting up from the kitchen?) in the hallway right outside our room door at all times. Bar staff not very interested in selling drinks and restaurant staff's English has room for improvement.

    We had a room with a fantastic view from the very top floor and got allocated a table in the bay window at breakfast. Nice selection of cooked and uncooked items at breakfast. The hotel is just a short but steep walk above Tobermory in a quiet residential area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.8
    Find somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Local attitude towards tourists when these are the very people providing their income. This is reflected in the above average pricing on most things. The hotel is totally over priced for the facilities (or lack of) and although they had a notice stating they were under refurbishment, we found out later from a local that this has been the case for at least 3 years or more. Hotel tries to show a Grandeur far beyond it's real condition.

    Tobermory is a beautiful place but locals do not make you feel welcome. To find a restaurant at 7.00pm at night was a nightmare and repeatedly telling us that "we should of booked" doesn't help. Fortunately, the local pun/hotel on the front had a great attitude with good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Double bed a bit too narrow, as usual! Steep walk to and from the harbour front, but mustn't grumble.

    Very good breakfast. Buffet, with no extra charge for cooked breakfast, full Scottish, or various smoked fish + eggs. Marvellous harbour and sea views from our bedroom and from the dining room. Good dinner menu (but go for the fish!).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location in Tobermory. The hotel is situated overlooking the bay with great views .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is under new ownership and currently undergoing restoration work. I would certainly return once completed. Breakfast could have been better, but I’m sure it will improve.

    Lovely view from our room at the top of the hotel,large comfy bed , spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall, a pleasant stay - but some disappointing features given the high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Six flights of stairs, and no lift; cost excessive for size of room (room 35), small bathroom and inadequate storage

    Helpful staff, good breakfast and evening choices, good view from room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    We will come baco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given it's location on the hill our navigation system fooled us n we needed advise from locals to find it but that was no issue

    Super friendly staff - delicious breakfast and a hotel where you feel at home for real

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location,cute hotel with great views from restaurant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality and rooms could be updated to be more modern, including the shower and bed comfort

    Lovely location and I always appreciate dog friendly places. The hotel room comfort was ok, but a bit dated. The food was also ok, but not amazing. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    Needs upgrade urgently
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The property is old, but in a wonderful setting. A notice said the hotel was being refurbished very discreetly, but it was so discreet to be unnoticeable. The refurbishment is urgent, We also found it strange to be told the restaurant had no vacancies for a dinner reservation when we arrived, the next night , they could not give us the time we asked for, yet we did not notice any pressure on the dining room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    Town was amazing but let down by the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with a revamp very poor inside and out for the money it’s only worth half they charge per night plus when paying for a double room only to find two single beds pushed together was embarrassing for the management.

    The view was amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of the two rooms, one was well decorated and was very nice. But the other had old bad decor with broken bin and d stained stools. The bathroom was old fashioned and in real need of refurbishment. Felt like sleeping in an old dorm room.

    The staff were very lovely. Perfect location facing harbor and sea. Pet friendly. Good breakfast. One room had nice decor and was very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.4
    Can not recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty much anything. Definitely not worth the price!!! The staff has very little command of the English language and is not overly well trained.

    This is an old has been hotel. The bathroom was old and the caulking around the tub was half missing. Overall the hotel had a feeling of Faulty Towers with Manuel running the show. The beds are old and sagging.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Stunning views from the breakfast room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had some concern over the plumbing, though appreciate that the present owners are hoping to upgrade facilities.

    Stunning views from the breakfast room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Weekend in Tobermory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk up and down the STEEP hill. It would be alot easier when and if they open back up the stairs through the garden down to the harbour.

    Friendly receptionist couldn't of been more accommodating. The view and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Management out of touch with the real world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4pm check in was rediculousky late .. but the town was heavily booked and the choice of properties limited .. after driving five hours by road and boat to get there at 3 pm to be made to wait till 4 pm for room access is a poor reflection of managements poilicies and their understanding of guests needs .. the room was comfortable .. the short walk up hill from the ferry not a problem if your fit .. !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, verging on luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit of a lottery but Tobermory isn't too big and is mostly walkable. No lift so can be a long haul to upper floors. In fairness, bag assistance was offered without asking for it. Noted that room windows are not child proof - it's a long drop and if we'd had children there we'd have been concerned.

    Location, location, location! Absolutely brilliant. Very good breakfast. Nice bar with views and a calm atmosphere. Hotel is clearly a refurbishment work in progress and this is made clear in documents and in conversation - good communication. High quality fittings and comfort levels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    A bit faded, but still grand in a 19th century way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited and it was difficult to find the hotel from Google maps. There was no lift and the bath was not easy to use.

    The restaurant had wonderful food, especially the ice cream!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Won't be returning. The state of the hotel should be made clear prior to booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel is extremely run down and although renovations are apparently underway this should have been made clear prior to booking. The price should also reflect this. We paid only an additional £10.00 the following night to stay in the luxurious Glengorm Castle. We chose not to even use the bathroom as it was so disgusting. Had I realised that we hadn't paid in advance then we would not have stayed for the one night that we were there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    We had to change rooms as the first one had a handheld...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to change rooms as the first one had a handheld shower in the bath which is unacceptable in this day and age. Second room had fixed shower in bath. Hotel in need of upgrade. Breakfast was dreadful, everything overcooked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little understaffed. The staff who were there were lovely but the service was sometimes a little bit chaotic. Overall an excellent hotel and I would certainly stay there again.

    Magnificent views, great room and lovely food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed it very much and we would stay there again hoping that the room would have been updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The fittings and furniture in the room were for the most part only adequate and dated. The drawers did not fit properly and the fittings in the bathroom were functional and nothing more. For the room rate I would have expected more.We were warned on trip advisor that the hotel itself was quite dated although the public areas were fine. I did feel at breakfast that although the buffet was fine we did feel that the staff could have served maybe coffee, tea and toast personally rather than through the buffet. The breakfast itself was OK

    Very comfortable bed The view from the room was stunning The food in the restaurant was overall very good although the menu didn't change there were still plenty of choices The staff were lovely and very attentive although we did have one or two language problems..soon overcome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Western Isles Hotel Mull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival at reception the receptionist did not come out of the office but shouted from her desk to us that our room wasn't ready. Not the friendliest welcome. The hotel claims to be 'dog freindly' but there was no evidence of this.

    The bed was very comfortable. Our room had a beautiful sea view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    despite an excellent location and property itself the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff is very nice, good breakfast good location

    despite an excellent location and property itself the hotel to be renovated. There is awful smell in the rooms and corridor, no elivator,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    Sad experience not sure how they will turn it round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was cold and surly. Our room was not service one day however the management Thro in complimentary meal to compensate Not sure who is in charge lots of staff doing there own thing

    The location is great but the hotel does not match thisthe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    Location is fantastic and staff are really helpful and kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For rooms/ bathrooms like these (which hasn’t been decorated recently) I wouldn’t give even the half of what they are asking for!

    Location is fantastic and staff are really helpful and kind

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Felt like being at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big and cozy with stunning views to the sea and the staff was really nice and helpful. It is located at the top of a small hill that gives the best views of Tobermory. Definately a place I will come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Work in progress, but has superb potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff nice and friendly, the lads in the restaurant are doing ok, but still learning the fine art of waiting.

    It's just changed hands after being neglected, The refurb has started. Everyone nice and friendly and has the potential to be an absolute gem. Don't spoil it's charm!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfy beds, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a beautiful building, the interior is desperately in need of a facelift

    Comfy beds, clean rooms. Delicious breakfast with a great view overlooking the harbour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    View from the room was great and also the views from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the room was great and also the views from the dining room. Fun spot perched up on the hill over Tobermory. check in was great and the fire in the fireplace was cozy. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    A great and entertaining stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was pretty miserable and let down the hotel but the staff kept up a strong effort. Maybe a new menu with simpler dishes or a new cook.

    Our room had a wonderful view and comfortable bed. The early breakfast was good. The old staircase was a bit wonky and renovation was in full swing which meant many areas were working sites. The staff were all trainees but keen to please and the house manager seemed very stressed. We liked all this because you don't often get to stay at Faulty Towers. We loved it all!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.0
    The food was beyond our expectations ++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner is terrified of dogs. Big dog living in the centre of the large reception hall...

    Restaurant staff were helpful and polite. Food v good also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay.The Western Isles has all the feel of a lovely country house hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some issues with our room on arrival but quickly resolved with an upgrade.

    Wonderful position overlooking Tobermory with only a short walk to town.The hotel is being restored to it's grand origins without interfering too much with guests.Fine lounge with roaring fire .Excellent food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Friendly & charming stay in historic hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly service, beautiful location. Super dog friendly and welcoming to us. Spacious rooms in a charming building. Lovely wood fire burning at the entrance. Dinner was very nice and healthy too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    The staff were really nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Up a very steep hill, but that's to be expected in Mull

    The staff were really nice and friendly. They were also good with local advice about where to spot wildlife

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel needs refurbishing (which the owners intend to do). The bedrooms need proper showering facilities and the whole place needs a general makeover.

    Wonderful views. Helpful staff. Nice, old-fashioned public areas with open fires.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    Very dissapointed. Building is feels like you are about to fall through floors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wallpaper peeling off walls, chipped and dirty paintwork, Bathroom Awful, light bulbs missing Chest of drawers in doorway of bathroom? outside steps condemned to harbour, and conservatory out of bounds.

    Staff where friendly. Bed was clean and comfortable (but no headboard)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    LOVELY PLACE, NEEDS A LITTLE TLC, GREAT VIEWS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    BATHROOM COULD HAVE DONE WITH A BIT OF AN UPDATE. THE MATTRESS WAS SOFT AND YOU ROLLED TOGETHER IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BED.

    BIG OPEN FIRE, ORIGINAL FEATURES, FRIENDLY STAFF, VIEWS FROM THE WINDOWS IN THE BREAKFAST ROOM.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed, just not at all friendly. We got so much more from other guests at breakfast.
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed head moved whenever I did, it banged against the wall! Toilet! Had to wait and wait for it to re-fill. No appropriate mirror. Staff very indifferent. Didn’t feel welcome at all, except when arrived.

    The room and spectacular view. The receptionist on arrival. Didn’t see her again, the only friendly one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Superb place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some Tobermory restaurants don't open until April 1 or so. (This is not a criticism of the hotel, just a caution for future travelers.)

    The Glenfiddich Room has a marvelous view overlooking Tobermory Harbor. Reserve that one, if possible! The owner was helpful in suggesting walks around the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Lovely stay here. Would love to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Porridge was a bit solid. Would have been nice if they served it with little jug of cream.

    very spacious room and great if you have a dog. Lovely views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Charming, romantic, home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner said you could take or leave the sausages at breakfast - not the best quality. More gluten free breakfast options might be nice but that’s me trying to find something to say!

    We loved everything about our stay. We got given the Glenlivit suite which was perfect. The bed was huge and so comfortable, the views of sunrise and sunset made it so romantic, and the bathroom was wonderful, great bath and shower. The staff catered for my coeliac needs offering gluten free bread at breakfast and the poached eggs and bacon were cooked to perfection both mornings. We met one of the owners and had a great chat about his hopes/plans for the hotel and it’s super exciting and lovely to see how much he wants to make the hotel the best it can be. We also met some four legged companions who were so gentle and friendly- made it feel like home. We had the best anniversary and can’t wait to come back! The place is a little rough around the edges but - she’s an old gal and that only added to her charm 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good service, victorian style rooms with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things that could need an update. Not a 4 star hotel yet. But a fine warm place to relax after a long day outdoors.

    Great location, good service, victorian style rooms with great vieuw. Large and comfi bed. Great value for money. Good breakfast Located on the top of tobermory bay. With some nice shops and restaurants. And the distillery nearby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed - reception staff spoiled a much looked forward to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were offhand, made me feel like I was interrupting and not concerned when I asked if I could change my room as was disappointed by it. The next morning a different receptionist equally rude as I saw it. This really spoiled the stay.

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Lovely clean hotel and very dog friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very squeaky floor boards as it is a old building.

    Lovely clean hotel and very dog friendly! Large bed in out room which was comfortable, breakfast was included and this was very nice! We had dinner and drinks in the hotel and that was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing springs to mind.

    Great stay...very child and dog friendly.Undergoing refurbishment and my room was one that had been so was lovely. Neices room hadn't but that was great too. Breakfast and evening meal super.Loved the log fires and great views over harbour....will definitely return! Ps staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    One of the best locations on the island. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving!

    Roaring log fires to welcome you in snowy February. Extremely helpful manager and other staff. Lovely surroundings and fabulous views. The food was super. Folk music on the Sunday night in the cosy lounge was a real bonus. Great value for money. I want to stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    11/10 experience!!
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this for a Christmas present for my parents and all they have done I’d rave about it since they’ve been back! They loved the hotel and how they had a view all round, the staff were above and beyond and done more than they had to! Even though they went in January and there wasn’t much open - the staff still gave them a list of plenty of thing to do and see! Even thought they stay in Scotland they’ve never been to an island before, they loved the warm welcome the hotel staff gave them and are planing another visit to stay in the summer! They can’t thank them enough for all their help, and also for sending home the bracelet my mum left - she’s so happy to have it back! All in all the staff and hotel are 11/10 in all aspects! Would highly recommend!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Relaxed and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very confusing and hard to regulate the temp. The bathroom needs a little updating.

    Beautiful view from the room. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that could have been done better.

    Room was lovely, very clean, lovely white towels, comfy bed and pillows. Love this hotel. Excellent location. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Location was perfect, the room couldn't of been better and the staff made the experience amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was amazing. The location couldn't be better. The staff was so accommodating I put in a request for them to have flowers and a cake in the room for my girlfriends birthday and they did it. It was so nice. The fireplace in the lobby and living area down stairs was so cozy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful little gem of a hotel, perched on the hill above Tobermory/Tobair Mhuire!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The roaring fire in the living room was really lovely, as were the walks from the hotel. The staff was extremely nice and the breakfast was, as stated by others, quite superb, don't let the bad reviews deter you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Charming Tobermory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor boards a bit squeaky. I was conscious I'd wake people below as I was out very early each morning.

    Old rustic charm. The western is a lovely hotel with enthusiastic and friendly staff. Breakfasts were delish. Great location with a stunning view of Tobermory.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    tired but beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor tired although the prices fairly reflect that. Lobby fire can be smoky which can result in the fire alarm going off during breakfast

    Stunning views and friendly staff. Large rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Very relaxing in a lovely environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stagger up the hill

    I liked the old fashioned style of the hotel and the welcoming open fire on your arrival, stunning views from first thing in the morning looking over the sound of Mull

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.8
    Old and smelly with a lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bedroom and very dated bathroom. The bathroom was old, tatty, with a noisy fan and a shower over the bath with a shower curtain- really in 2017 ! Worst of all though was the smell in the hotel, we couldn’t pin point where it was coming from but the whole hotel smelled of fish, we had to have the bedroom window opened permanently to try and get some relief.

    Lovely location overlooking Tobermory harbour

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed it...will be back.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The need for signage to the hotel from main street and bottom of driveway.

    Great stay...Scott and Eric were brilliant...beds comfortable and lovely view from the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Possibly the maintenance could be better but that could spoil the ambience - after all it's a pretty old place.

    The Tobermory room was excellent with a view to die for! We have stayed at this hotel twice before but in a harbour view room, great view but not as good as this visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    For me fabulous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit chilly eating dinner in the conservatory, maybe move dinner to the breakfast room in the colder months.

    Bed was unbelievably comfortable, room was warm, and the view from my room amazing! The staff were extremely helpful and understanding, especially when my sister had a migraine for the entire stay (2 days). I will be staying there again with my partner, he will love it! The hotel dogs are wonderful, Jason especially!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Warm and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill to get up to the hotel from the main street is very steep so not suitable for anyone with poor mobility.

    The building was beautiful. Our room was comfortable, warm and clean. Staff were all very friendly. Loved meeting/playing with the dogs. Lovely view from our room. Breakfast was good. Plenty of food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Looking a bit tired, and rather expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Now looking rather tired (but no less expensive!) No decent beer in the bar, and the pumps weren't working on what there was!

    Good food, beautiful setting. Was (once) a lovely old hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    The place to stay in Tobermory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed at the Western Isles Hotel several times, and I look forward to many more visits. This is a lovely historic hotel with commanding views across the Sound of Mull. The rooms are comfortable, and the public spaces are rich in character. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I can't say enough about this marvelous place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    The location was great and our stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could be improved with some updating and needs the facility of a lift.

    Spacious Room with a harbour view, very pleasant. The hotel was generally good with well prepared meals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Many stairs and no lift to third floor not counting ground floor lobby, but staff were helpful..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blustery day, car required to navigate steep, slick road to town. No parking when returned from dinner, though staff gave up her own place. Twin room request was confused as we were given a king bed, but staff moved beds apart as requested immediately.

    Elegant old hotel overlooking Tobermorey and harbor; exquisite woodwork, high ceilings, spacious room. Under refurbishment, needing new carpet, but otherwise nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    They don't make your bed or clean the room....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two nights. They didn't bother to clean the room, make the bed, tidy up the bathroom. That is intolerable for a hotel that practises those prices. Overpriced, therefore. Should charge as a hostel. The hotel is nicely situated in the top of a hill. That means going all the way down (and up) when going to town for a drink or a bite. Had to go by car. Staff was overall effective, but lacked smiles, apart from one or two of them.

    Nice ambiance ( though a bit worn out), looks like you went back half a century in time. Beautiful bay window in the room, gorgeous view of the see. Easy to park. Excellent breakfast in a classy room with nice views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in superb location - in need of some love...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in superb location - in need of some love and attention but the new owners are definitely giving it that! Only ate breakfast but was delicious and fresh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    It was romantic, comfortable and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had nothing to complain about.

    We had a most wonderful time in Tobermory. The hotel was wonderful with a fantastic view or the bay. Since it was a last minute booking we did not get a view over the bay which would have made it even better. The dinning room did have a view of the bay and it was spectacular. The food was great and the owners were very friendly and helpful. We would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    Location, overlooking the bay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of our stay hotel in need of refurbishment, which is being undertaken shortly. Water coming in through window in dining room. Staff need training in hospitality

    Location, overlooking the bay

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: