Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Ayrshire hotel reviews
  4. Ayr hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Western House Hotel

Reviews of Western House Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

66 Craigie Road, Ayr, KA8 0HA, United Kingdom

#1 of 7 hotels in Ayr

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 614 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    8.8
    very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Courtyard" did not quite describe the building in which the room was located and there was a definite smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway which I think was blowing in from outside the building but overall a really good find.

    the room was much larger than I expected and the facilities really good. I thought it was exceptional value for money. it was a good location and within easy walking distance of the town.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    7.9
    Fantastic overnight stay with great staff , helpful from arrival to departure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just thought that you would have racing tv on the tv in your room or at least in the bar area which has no TVs at all, especially so with being a hotel linked to the course .

    Liked the fact we got an upgrade to main hotel with beautiful views over the racecourse and gardens .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    7.9
    great place to stay for a wedding
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of lift in courtyard rooms, not informed on booking.

    stayed after a lovely wedding, we were in the courtyard rooms, on the third floor, no lifts, our friend who has mobility problems was also here but room was changed with little problem. Room large, opening window, water provided, large comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    I thought the hotel and the room was excellent.
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like having to climb out of the shower as there was no handrail to hold on to.

    I thought the hotel and the room was excellent. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as my husband had a hospital appointment. No food.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    Fantastic would recommend
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a slight leak when we had a shower but think this was just the seal round the bath.

    We were booked into the court yard as there were no rooms left in the main hotel. We we pleasantly surprised, the room exceeded our expectations, was spacious with a huge bed at separate bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    Amazing stay - we have stayed with this hotel numerous times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing stay - we have stayed with this hotel numerous times and always been a pleasure. Booked this time on a last minute deal l, was upgraded on arrival and it was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    10
    The best hotel, the best room we've had yet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely no complaints. Just perfect.

    This was the best room we have ever stayed in. It had everything we could possibly want. Huge bath, large TV, too much to mention. We've already booked our next stay here.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.6
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My booking for Weston House Hotel through bookings .com advertised breakfast included ,but when we came to check out we got charged for breakfast ,only to be told by reception that bookings.com do this all the time ,SO BEWARE.

    Excellent room ,after last times fiasco with weddings and major race meetings clashing,cause major upsets aground.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.6
    Traditional hotel with excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked at the last minute over the Christmas period. The rooms in main hotel were superb and the staff very friendly and efficient. The Scottish breakfast is excellent!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    8.3
    Beautiful main building with gardens and view of racecourse
    • Travelers with friends
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very uncomfortable and cooked breakfast was very greasy

    Beautiful main building with gardens and view of racecourse Well equipped courtyard rooms Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    10
    Everything TBH, the room was great, good size, comfy bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, just I was slightly disappointed that we didn't stay in the grand looking building pictured on booking.com.

    Everything TBH, the room was great, good size, comfy bed, clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Options on coffee were limited . Some people had some idea on what was being asked for and some definitely did not. Not a major but would have been nice

    Kippers were excellent. Staff friendly and attentive

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As an accomodation highlight of our trip. Right on the racecourse and within walking distance to the train station for our bus to the ferry terminal. Dinner and breakfast were absolutely delicious and a real treat and the room was so spacious with a king sized bed and shower AND bath. There is even a pillow menu! The staff are especially friendly too and we felt very welcomed.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.9
    Paint smell and poor electrics
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The electrical circuit board, MCB RCCB box was making a buzzing noice, on inspection a contactor for the ring mains was buzzing and overheating, this will have been due to drawing overcurrent. The safety relay should have opened to protect this circuit from fire. I reported to staff and they happily move my room. Only, the next room was in same condition. I was informed they'd recently had a renovation and the rewire was a part of this. I can only assume, without any electrical testing devices that the job was not done to regulation standards, and if inspected, would fail. In my opinion, as a profesional Electrical Engineering Consultant, it's a fire risk. Also, due to the recent refurbishment, there was still a strong smell of paint. This gave us incredibly bad headaches over our stay! Also, the window didn't close once opened

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating seeming to take my concerns seriously. It was in a good location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Huge bed & very comfortable, pillows excellent. Loved the little touches, shortbread, hot chocolate, bottled water, and fresh milk available on request

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    Great quality at this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very large, but a little firm for our liking: just a matter of preference, no real complaint

    Ample sized room in annex 2: great value for our late booking needs. Very nice location right at the racecourse

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    A touch of class in Ayr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is up there with the best hotels I've ever stayed in. It was immaculate, free water, tea and shortbread in the room on arrival and offered help with luggage to the room. A smart TV equipped with Netflix. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is thinking of travelling to Ayr. It may not be the closest to the town centre but at most it's a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi journey.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    10
    The ambiance of the place was beautifully set out all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave.Me and my partner felt so relaxed and very well looked after.

    The ambiance of the place was beautifully set out all the way through.Spotless couldn’t fault it.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    6.3
    If you want to hear your neighbors all night stay here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The paper thin walls. You could hear everything in the next room... and I mean everything. Very very unpleasant!! I would not recommend staying here if you are in one of the dodgy annexed rooms.

    The restaurant and main building were nice. If you're in one of the courtyard rooms that are not part of the main building you will have a very bad time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel, good location, staff great and food very good, would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much tiling in bathroom meant that the floor was very slippy after shower and walls were soaking wet

    Massive bed really comfy, courtyard room clean and nice little touches in room including fruit, bathrobes and slippers. We had dinner meal was fab and breakfast tasty. Staff were very pleasant and we had a good laugh whilst enjoying our meal. Check in was easy and smooth and the reception team were very welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a thing. Everything was what we expected from this hotel.

    We were visiting family and friends and liked the location and convenience of the hotel and were very pleased with the polite and friendly staff. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and intend to stay once again at a future date.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.5
    Great stay shame about the weather.
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a bit slow as it was busy and staff were struggling to cope but we weren’t in a hurry and food was good.

    Always enjoy my stay at Western House rooms are always warm and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, very happy stay and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to criticise.

    Breakfast could not have been better, fully served, no buffet and in a very comfortable dining room. Location is adjoining Ayr Race Course with plenty of safe parking. Although in a Courtyard room, it was huge with a huge very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.0
    great fun..the staff were the key...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was perhaps a bit tired eg the bathroom needs updating but spotless nevertheless, large and spacious...

    The staff were extremely helpful timely polite and in particular the housekeeper who put herself out working late to sort out our safe in our room...the restaurant staff and bar staff were excellent too and made our stay very comfortable and very enjoyable...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.6
    Good value for purpose of trip.Just a shade less than expected service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception less responsive than previous visits although less busy with guests. Fewer toiletries provided .Just a fraction less perfect than previous stays at hotel.

    Spacious rooms with excellent beds and pillows.Tea and coffee making facilities good Water and fruit in room on arrival. Bathrobes and slippers provided.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.2
    Room good, food poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor with the cooked food, apart from the egg, dried up and Luke warm. The food had clearly been cooked some time ago and had been lying. Pretty poor for a 4 star hotel. Toast was burnt, sent it back it was so bad and got fresh. Looks as if it had even been scraped. Should not be difficult to produce decent breakfast.

    Room was great plenty space.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    We would recommend Western House to any and everyone. An excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything. It was great.

    All aspects of our visit were wonderful. The staff, the room, the facilities - the evening meal we had - all was excellent. The amenities in the room itself were wonderful including soft bathrobes and slippers. Just a lovely place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    5.0
    Although we slept well because of other negatives we would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wedding in main hotel meant we couldn’t eat in the restaurant. No lift to our floor - very bad Not told we wouldn’t be in main hotel.

    Range of TV options excellent Bed very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Loved it. Will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My mum and I spent Sunday into Monday at Western House and were so impressed by the size and comfort of the room, the service, the grounds and the quality of the breakfast. A high-class stay and a bargain price. Sonia De Rosa.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    The hotel staff was very friendly and professional.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Dinner was amazing and breakfast was delicious and very well served. Fantastic hotel. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    6.7
    My friends and I had a meal in the Restaurant before we went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I used the shower in Room 213 - found a long dark hair in the bath as I stepped in. On return from the Wedding Reception I used the en-suite and discovered the extractor fan would not switch off. I contacted Reception at 1.30am - a Porter arrived - he couldn't get it to switch off either - I was then transferred to another room in the opposite block, with the Porter's help with my cases. Reception Staff apologised on check out in the morning, but I was disappointed that no compensation was offered for the inconvenience I was caused. Overall the amount I was charged - £65 - was excessive for a disappointing experience. Reception Staff advised that I would have got a better deal if I had booked direct with the Hotel - not helpful after the event!

    My friends and I had a meal in the Restaurant before we went to an Evening Wedding Reception - I chose the Cheese Burger - it was enormous, which put me off - I left 2/3 of the meal. Perhaps 2 sizes could be offered?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    Overall good
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi signal in courtyard room wasn’t very strong could not access it through my iPad. Wedding guest did not have breakfast included in price of stay

    Attending wedding at hotel, beautiful surroundings,Enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.2
    Would highly recommend this hotel overall x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing was I was in courtyard rooms and was very noisy in the morning x

    The hotels full setting was beautiful inside and out all the smaller details like hot chocolate and short bread on the bedside table to the bottle of water on arrival just makes you feel more welcome x

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.4
    My stay experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception and general housekeeping staff were at best indifferent seemed unable to smile. Rooms lack certain basic amenities like a refrigerator and shoeshine. No concierge service. We had to carry our luggage upstairs to our rooms from the reception and back down the stairs at checkout.

    Very beautiful gardens. Great location. Warm rooms. Good room service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant, comfortable, mildly luxurious, and with fine food--within 15 mintues of Prestwick Airport!
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the Western House Hotel only for one night and only because we had a flight out of Prestwick early the next morning, but I wish we could have stayed longer! The staff was very professional and attentive. Although we arrived 2 hours before check-in time, they welcomed us, took our bags, and showed us to a lounge area where we could make ourselves at home, with tea and wifi, while we waited; when our room was ready, they came to let us know. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and we had a delicious dinner there as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The courtyard annexe is a wee bit tired, but still excellent large clean rooms

    Great value with lots of little extras in our room, eg hot water bottle, fruit etc

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    10
    Lovely room in Courtyard annex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely room in Courtyard annex. Main Hotel beautiful. Food very different and lovely in hotel restaurant and very reasonably priced. Amazing location in the racecourse.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    10
    We were nourished and nurtured and permitted to truly relax and deeply sleep before our journey.
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors between the rooms were a bit dingy and didn't do the fabulous accommodation justice.

    We were exhausted, having travelled down from a wedding in Plockton, and the Western House Hotel, of which we had no expectations, took us in and nurtured us. We were too late for dinner but the breakfast was excellent, and those who served it attentive and cheerful. The bar and bar staff were brilliant, and the room and bed wonderfully clean and comfortable. We would happily return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    5.0
    Poor staff, average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not helpful, mainly Terry in the restaurant. Seemed to think she was above everyone else and said because we had not ordered our dessert through her we would not be getting it. Highly recommend you train your staff to be polite and treat customers with respect. Also were over charged for our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The exhaust fan in the bathroom stayed on for 30 minutes after you turned it off, which was a bit annoying as it was loud.

    Beautifully presented grounds. Room was huge and comfortable, every staff member was lovely, great breakfast. Highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed for two nights, one was on my own the night before my wedding (not at Western House) and second with my wife. Stay was excellent. At breakfast after the second night while having breakfast together, one of the staff remembered me mentioning about getting married when checking in and after congratulating us organised a glass of fizz to have with breakfast. It's small touches that make the difference between good service and great service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    9.6
    comfortable stay but no entertainment or music. pool would of been lovely. Restaurant really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had room only and paid for dinner in the restaurant where the steak was fabulous. staff were excellent. comfortable spacious room on 4 floor no lift so hard with bags. close to getting stena line ferry on our journey.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    10
    The bonus of the honeymoon suite summed up the hotel’s first class service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing.

    After an initial mix-up with our booking of a twin bedded room, we were allocated the honeymoon suite for the same price. This made our stay unforgettable and it was all over too quickly. Superb hotel, restaurant and staff. We have stayed st this hotel many times and the standard is consistently high.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    6.3
    The rooms were ok 👌 staff were pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had a lot of road traffic noise stayed here 2 nights and paid a lot of money and didn’t sleep for 2 nights 😣 had made this booking as I was going to corporate day at Ayr races

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    6.3
    Room lovely and spacious, had robes and slippers and lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ordered breakfast and waited 1.5hrs and hen had to leave before getting it as had flights to catch. Very disappointing.

    Room lovely and spacious, had robes and slippers and lovely bed room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.2
    Bedroom was spacious and comfortable, staff very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't sleep until after 1am because of noise from wedding guests staying at hotel

    Bedroom was spacious and comfortable, staff very friendly dinner excellent value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.5
    Great overnight accommodation for Prestwick airport or a day at the races.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was on a slant so you felt like you were rolling out of it. Also, probably due to its proximity to the racecourse, there were a lot of flies in the lobby, restaurant etc.

    Lovely big room with nice touches such as shortbread biscuits, water and fruit on arrival. Staff were helpful and food was good, especially the mini donuts! Great location for anyone flying from Prestwick airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful food served quickly and efficiently by friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to dislike! Very little if anything needing to be done in this property. It is well maintained

    Beautiful food served quickly and efficiently by friendly staff! Very close to the racetrack which was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and luxurious hotel made even more enjoyable due to the very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double doors to reception caused an issue re wheelchair access as only one unlocked at a time, however the staff were there to assist.....as well as fellow guests

    The staff went above and beyond to offer any assistance. Very friendly and approachable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel caters for weddings, this seemed to be their priority.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was right above the Ayr Race course stables, not a very good outlook. No air conditioning,so in Summer this could be a problem with flies as you would have to have the windows open ! At £167 for the room you would expect breakfast to be included.

    That there was a lift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    5.8
    Would stay again. Staff brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Eggs benedict for breakfast. Hollandaise sauce was so vinegary. Tasted it all day. Expected a lot from hotel. Expectations were high from friends reviews. Didn’t quite deliver but hey ho. Still had a blast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    We had a great time and made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The room we were in was great in the Courtyard.The bed was very comfy and the room kept spotless.We had buscuits and water left everyday which was a bonus.Even though we faced the car park it was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent experience other than my porridge!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The porridge! I was told it was made with oatmeal but, when it arrived it was immediately evident that it was made with oats! There is a difference between oats and oatmeal.

    The whole experience was faultless. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much for them. We had a marvellous week at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    A most comfortable polace to stay when visiting Ayr
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Previous occupant's caste off sock on the floor of the room.

    The magnificent tulips, quiet location, room size and the very large and most comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    8.3
    Ideal location for the racecourse or as a base for travelling.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hard bathrobes

    I've stayed here a few times when through for business at the local distillery. The rooms are very spacious, have large comfy beds and nice bathrooms with bath and shower. Everything is supplied as you would expect with the addition of bottled water and shortbread biscuits. The also provide bathrobes and slippers, but I have trouble with the bathrobe as the launderers do not use conditioner, so they are quite hard and uncomfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    10
    A beautiful relaxing stay, thoroughly enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from our window was of the other courtyard block. Only 2 disabled parking spaces and the only time we managed to park in one was the morning we left.

    Beautiful surroundings, immaculately kept gardens, excellent service, food was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    Good value, plenty room for improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Abrupt staff at check in, very cold room, thin walls so could hear neighbors TV and woken twice around 2300 hrs with barriers being moved !!

    Clean modern comfortable and we'll located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel for business and leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing springs to mind on the dislike list.

    This was our second stay at This hotel. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The second visit we had there was a wedding on. Never heard any music from the event at all in our room and we were staying near the functions rooms in one of the suites. Breakfast is lovely and pipping hot all the time. The staff greet you with a genuine smile all the time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.8
    Really great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a little disappointed when I saw the building we were staying in. It was away from the main hotel and looked like student digs from the outside. However, once we got to our room it was beautiful.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was really large and very clean. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice and excellent table service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel in gorgeous surroundings.
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were attending a family wedding and were met with very friendly and courteous staff , who made the day go without a hitch we were all made to feel very welcome . Thank you all x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was booked very last minute, we were very pleased with our choice. The room was very spacious, cosy, and near the car park. Staff all very pleasant and food was lovely (only had breakfast).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.6
    Ecxellent, well worth the visit, area has very few quality hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is being resurfaced so lot of oil on the road and transferred into the hotel and marked the carpets.

    All food served was of a very high quality and very good and well presented

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    We had a fantastic time and staff were simply fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor standard of room..... a little bit dirty. This applies only to courtyard rooms only.

    main hotel was amazing...... second night in courtyard was not as good as it was not to the same standard as main hotel....it was very tired.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    10
    Great value great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walk to the main building was uncovered to not great in the rain. The TV was quite small considering the size of the rooms and felt a little inadequate.

    The main building is old and beautiful in decor very traditional. The outside rooms that I stayed were large and well designed lots of space to relax. Obviously on a racecourse so lovely surroundings and well kept gardens

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way can’t recommend it highly enough very very good indeed
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water temperature

    I can only fault the hotel on one small point. The hot water was not hot enough it was warmer than tepid but a bath should re quite both hot and cold to achieve the desired temperature but there was no need for any cold water. The breakfast menu and dinner were both quite excellent This hotel is a real gem and I would recommend it very highly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We requested a room with shower, which was in an annexe, which was outside the main hotel, a short walk, luckily we could manage this, there was convenient disabled parking for the annexe.

    The Hotel was beautiful, the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, nothing was too much trouble, we were in Ayr for a funeral, the 'Wake' was held in the Hotel, which was also excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    10
    A gorgeous hotel with wonderful staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of a thing , we were very satisfied !

    Loved the complimentary water and shortbread . We very much enjoyed sitting in the lounge playing cards every evening, we were made to feel very welcome by the excellent staff . Can't wait to go back and stay again !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Great experience
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything I could fault bout our stay

    We had a fabulous weekend at the hotel the staff were lovely and would definitely be booking again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    10
    Very Impressed
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plenty of room for wheelchair access, and the bed was huge and very comfortable. En-suite had wet room style shower with easy access and shower chair if required. Room was spacious with flat screen TV, WiFi, desk, table and 3 chairs. Tea and coffee tray, safe, ironing table and iron were also supplied. Staff very friendly and really helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    7.9
    the room marred our visit to the hotel, we were however given a discount on checkout.
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was 'tired' Bathroom cold & water not hot Windows were draughty & there was a loud vibrating noise in the ceiling when there were high winds.

    Good breakfast Very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stopover or longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some traffic noise but I am used to living in the country. No lift in the Courtyard annexe.

    Large comfortable room. Ideal for our overnight stay before our flight. Night manager very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    9.6
    Western House Hotel Review
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom in the room was a little tired. Cracked floor tiles and the extractor fan was loose in the ceiling.

    The hotel was quiet and the staff were lovely, it was very cold when we stayed but all parts of the hotel were nice and toasty. Open fire in the bar was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    9.2
    Great staff and lovely hotel; shame about the creaky floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor in the bedroom/en-suite was very creaky. We felt like we had to try and not walk around too much so that we didn't disturb the other guests.

    All staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was very traditional Warm friendly and rooms were To very high standard very clean And plenty of choice for breakfast Food was lovely 😁😁🤣

    Lovely hotel staff great very attentive nothing was a bother Would definitely go back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    10
    Superb on every level, can't recommend the place highly enough!
    • Solo traveler
    • Courtyard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From what I saw they had thought of everything!

    Was attending my works Xmas night as the hotel so booked for the night, firstly, amazing price for such a lovely room! The Xmas night was utterly superb, food was THE best I've ever had at a Xmas function, absolutely delicious, ALL the staff were wonderful, entertainment was great and the room was just sublime to go take off my party shoes and relax! Can't recommend the place highly enough, was actually sad to leave so I'll be back! Honestly wonderful, far better experience than some hotels I've paid 5 times the price to stay at! Kudos!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: