Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Westhaven Bed and Breakfast 4 stars

South Street, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3HZ, United Kingdom

#8 of 24 hotels in Grantown on Spey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 119 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a well equipped spacious bathroom to myself. However I felt the journey from the bedroom to the bathroom was a bit public.

    It was a nice clean, welcoming, spacious place to stay in a good location. The area around is good walking country and there are good places for evening meals in Grantown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was lovely and welcoming. Full of good local info and good tips for eating out. Lovely breakfast with a great view from the dining room. Will go back one day i'm sure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Val and Sandy were excellent hosts and took a pride in their B&B and this reflected in every aspect of their service and accommodation. Couldn't fault them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed two nights here on our Scottish tour. Val and Sandy are welcoming hosts with plenty of local knowledge and interesting information. They immediately made us feel at home. The location is ideal; almost in the centre of town but in a very quiet corner. The room was clean and comfortable. Val seemed to have thought of everything! There is plenty of choice for the excellent breakfast. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was absolutely perfect. Private bathroom outside the room as indicated with key. Very comfortable bed, calm neighbourhood, excellent breakfast and a kind, generous and very welcoming host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I could say is that the toilet seat wouldn't stay up and had to rest against your back when you sat down! But this is a small problem far outweighed by the comfort of the B&B, and will hopefully be fixed by next season.

    A lovely place to stay. Despite not having an en suite, it still felt very private and cosy. The breakfasts were really tasty. Grantown is a nice little town and well located to explore the Cairngorms and the north coast. We would stay here again and recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was very hot but the weather was mild.

    Fresh fruit, raspberries and strawberries and yogurt delicious at breakfast. Hosts were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Best breakfast selection ever, cereal, selection of juices , cooked breakfast was perfect and also a large selection to choose from. Rooms were lovely , beds were really comfortable , and bathroom was like a new pin .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved our stay here, owners are so friendly and welcoming. Room spacious and very clean. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and we enjoyed watching the birds have their breakfast too! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers I had did not stay warm throughout and went too hot then cold.

    The bed was soft and comfortable and lovely views from the anagach room.The porridge at breakfast and good conversation and laughs with the owners Val and Sandy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family, very friendly, welcoming and communicative. Nice and clean room with everything we needed. The breakfast included fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and toast and everyday a warm special you can choose the night before like fresh cooked local fish, eggs, porridge (even with local whisky if you like!). Absolutely recommendable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very warm welcome awaits from Val and Sandy. The house is beautiful, large rooms and lovely bathroom. Many extra little touches, including dressing gowns, sewing kit, too many to mention, which make all the difference. A nice seating area in the bedroom for some chill time. There was an extensive choice for breakfast, freshly cooked and beautifully presented. Healthy options available, all lovely and fresh. Every taste catered for. The house is so close to the town, but away from the busy Main Street and very easy walking distance. We ate in the town every evening where you will find many places to chose from. If you are lucky enough to be in the Garth Arms around 6pm you will catch the Piper, amazing!!! We look forward to going back very soon

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about it....all in all I would highly recommend staying at this property a good central point for getting around the area

    Friendly very clean and the breakfast was fantastic and the man shed was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room upstairs with en suite bathroom and super-comfy bed and bedding. Lovely breakfast and our hosts Val and Sandy were wonderful. Will definitely stay again if we have the opportunity.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For once, I don't see anything I did not like, except maybe just the heat of the room when we arrived. As the room is in the attic, and even though our host tried her best to keep it as cool as possible it was quite warm due to the sun shinning. But during the night it was very nice. So I would not worry about it.

    Very friendly host, always happy to help. She made sure we had all we needed : she even found a quilt for our little one, and she suggested a restaurant (Garth) for our evening meal which was indeed very good. Room was quite big, with plenty of space for our kid's cot. Bed was very good, and for once in our tour of Scotland, the velux curtain was blackout, and we could have a dark enough room to sleep even with the night coming late and going early (About 10pm to 4am). Shower was very nice with plenty of heat and water flow. Breakfast was very very good, with plenty of different cereals, jam, juices as well as different warm dishes. The haggis, was very good. There was a high chair for our kid. There is plenty of parking space in front, and we had no problem with the wifi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was nothing not to like about westhaven everything was great

    The location,Val and Sandy were very nice , great breakfast, room was very clean and very nice,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All to our likingenjoy a Westhaven B and B welcome

    Special porridge made to old clan MacLean recipe which includes drizzle of honey and a wee dram o whisky

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Private bathroom is separate from bedroom. Not a problem though as bathrobes supplied.

    BandB ideally located just off Speyside Way so good for walkers. Room has all usual facilities but separate private bathroom. Shower is very hi tech like the atomiser out of Star Trek Good breakfast. Hosts very kindly gave me a lift back to Aviemore where I had left my phone charger and there was limited public transport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect.

    The house was clean, warm and comfortable. The landlady was very welcoming and friendly. And the breakfasts were absolutely delicious!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a double room but it was configured as a twin when we arrived. Seemed to be a problem with the web site.

    Host was friendly. Room was pleasant nice view. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, just one street away from the main road through town, so the room was quiet and also very clean. I felt really at home here, like I was staying with my long lost aunt and uncle :) The breakfast was excellent too. The owners are extremely kind, welcoming and friendly and I wish I had stayed longer. If you are looking for a really clean, well located and comfortable home away from home, this is the place for you!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No complaints at all

    A really comfortable house and a very comfortable bed too. Nice a quiet so easy to relax and sleep. Hotels shops and walks are very convenient to the B&B so no need to drive if you dont want too

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was just perfect: beautiful, comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms with fast, working WiFi; the breakfast was delicious; the hosts were a very friendly and helpful couple; the place is very family-friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    I highly recommend the Westhaven B&B! Room was so comfortable and everything was clean. Val also treated our son very well. Breakfast was great! Will come here again on our next visit to Scotland! Thank you Val!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish we stayed longer. Also suggested a courtesy whiskey bar for a fee...would make the lounge just great...

    Loved our hosts. Loved the food and the room. Location also was amazing. Best restaurant of the trip right in town too. They recommended to us. Be sure to ask.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly host, great breakfast. Close to all facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing negative to say!

    Our host, Val, was delightful. She made us very welcome indeed. Would definitely go back to Westhaven B&B.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    GreT breakfast. Wonderful owner and host. Val was most helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    kind hosts, spotless room, perfect shower, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable. Val was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large and cosy room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soft beds, great breakfast, very friendly hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind!

    Friendliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly owner, B&B was all we expected no complaints

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent quality and choice of breakfast. Friendly hosts and lovely room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hosts very friendly - very accommodating- lovely venue great facilities- beautiful local scenery

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent choice at breakfast. Extremely friendly and helpful hosts. Location was perfect for exploring the town and surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room and comfy bed with all you needed for your stay! Excellent breakfast. Short walk to shops and restaurants for evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NOTHING

    EVERYTHING

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a fantastic room with a great view and very welcoming hosts. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    Very comfy, great breakfast and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm friendly hosts nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Anagach - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heat in the room

    Friendliness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room and fantastic breakfast. Made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed my two night stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly owners and good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit difficult to find initially.

    All aspects were very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the separate bathroom, although it was ours you had to come across the corridor to reach it.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    great hosts great breakfast everything was perfect for

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't stay longer

    Everything was perfect . would love to come back someday. ☺

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location within Grantown. Very welcoming and comfortable with a good choice of breakfast items available.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ross family were expemplary hosts. Very hospitable and accomdating. Lovely modern rooms and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Revack - Double/Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    cosy house, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hot water takes a while to come on while under the shower.

    Very comfy and pleasant bedroom. Close to the restaurants by walk, and close to the city center too. Val and Sandy do all their best to please you. Great breakfast. Nice and quiet place.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi wasnt working but that happens, not a big issue..

    The host was really friendly and nice, our room was comfortable, spacious and very well equiped. Breakfast was one of the very best. Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi-fi needs some upgrading as it is too slow.

    We've stayed in various bed and breakfasts around the UK and without any doubt this was the best one. Excellent accommodation, excellent breakfast and very welcoming owners. A home away from home. Will definitely be back in the future!

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Lovely owner who take care of heir guest. Pleasant and clean room, wonderful and fresh breakfast. We choose "healthy breakfast and you get fresh fruit, yoghurt, different musli. Everything was perfect and very quiet surroundings, we can highly recommend this B&B

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A wonderful B&B at Grantown-on-spey. The owners are very warm and friendly people.Since the town is in heart of single malt country they have very thoughtfully taken printouts of the routes to the more famous ones! The breakfast was excellent. The room very comfortable and spacious( in spite of being a three bedder. The most amazing sight was, when I came down for a smoke early the next morning there was a hawk sitting in the small garden tied to a steel bar! I thought it was a clay model till it turned its head and fixed me with his steely eyes. Never seen one this close in the open without any fear!.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Warm welcoming - Comfy room with private bathroom - Delicious breakfast - Water pitcher in the room

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean, comfortable, great breakfasts and friendly hosts.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing bathroom!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Warm scottish hospitality

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Couple

    Nothing!

    A great welcome from Sandy and Val, fount of knowledge on the local area. Excellent in all respects.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly owners made us very welcome, and convenient location to town. Bedroom very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great stay. Made to feel very welcome with clean rooms and cooked breakfast each morning.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Second stay here, still no working WiFi...

    Great room, luxureous bathroom, quiet location

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bedroom for two. Parking was tight. Problems with the Internet access.

    Very easy to find. Delightful breakfast. The shower was incredible.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    fluffy hot water bottle , hi-tech shower, towel robes , the hawk in the garden,, nice big room

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nice location excellent breakfast warm hosts

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi was a little hit or miss at times, but it really did not matter a bit.

    Great breakfast and lovely couple running the B&B.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: