Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Westhill Country Hotel 3 stars

Mont-A-L'abbe, Saint Helier Jersey, JE2 3HB, United Kingdom

#19 of 42 hotels in Saint Helier Jersey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    read other peoples reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows - poor quality, bathroom very dated, cheap toiletries. Both Hot tubs out of service, Restaurant seating is allocated for duration of stay, with best window seats reserved for Dinner Bed and breakfast guests - we were B&B and Restaurant manger was extremely rude to us when we asked for a better table most of which were empty!!!!! Voted with our feet and checked out and went to a nicer establishment. The owner manager though was very understanding and did his best to convince us to stay, maybe the usual clientele are less demanding.

    Lovely gardens and pool. Breakfast food was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable stay in a very friendly environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite being very clean, the hotel interior was very dated and in need of investment to bring up to modern standards. The extra bed requested for our 15 year old was only a 'put you up' with a thin mattress which was very disappointing

    The gardens were stunning and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The bus service was also a great feature despite us only using this once.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Good short break in lovely hotel let down by small details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast and dinner were well cooked (apart from overdone or inappropriate vegetables at dinner - carrots with curry?!) Range of cold food at breakfast seemed limited, for example no bread rolls or baguettes to go with continental breakfast. Would have liked the option of changing tables from time to time. Management of the restaurant was reminiscent of a bygone age.

    Nice comfortable room overlooking garden and pool. Good parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel - good location for access to St Helier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was very limited and mostly unusable for the location of our room. Rooms could do with a little updating, but are fine for a short stay

    Breakfast was very good - would be nice to have filter coffee jug to help self - though staff topped up whenever needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Good stay at comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the hotel is looking tired. Areas of the stair carpet were threadbare. The en-suite bathroom was very small, the mirror was old and brown around the edges, the shower head was held together with parcel tape, but it worked ok.!

    Location is excellent, just outside St Helier. All staff were very friendly and helpful. A good quality three course evening meal was available for £20 which was very good value. Plenty of parking available on-site.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was perfect

    We couldn't fault anything very clean beds comfy food very good staff friendly beautiful gardens would stay again plus the courtesy bus was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Our waiter was great very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need some kind of buffers on room doors due to lound banging of doors.info in rooms on jersey plus there parking info . Plus my daughter split on tiles by pool and spent 5 days of hoilday in a sling to falling badly on elbow.

    Our waiter was great very polite and helpful. And room was cleaned well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly hotel in good position for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More facilities to dry wet swim wear and wet suits but not a major drawback.

    Friendly hotel in good position for what we needed. Able to catch buses nearby ( number 19 or 5 ). They also offer shuttle bus at certain times. Good choice for breakfast and all very nice. Did not have meal here in the evening as too busy elsewhere. Buses cheap and can explore most of jersey by bus or on bike. Good range of food on offer in St Helier but also other towns.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    First class service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit dated but comfortable large beds

    Excellent service from all the staff, couldn't have been more helpful & friendly. Lovely gardens & pool area. Impressive bar area and lounge overlooking the garden. Plenty of parking and peaceful out of town location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable family orientated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although staff knew a member of our party was gluten and lactose intolerant we had to ask every day for the right milk and spread for toast. We were placed at the same table each day so they could have anticipated and either laid the table or brought out what was needed when we sat down. We often had to wait for service even when early to breakfast. This put us off having an evening meal at the hotel. The entertainment could have been better although we did like the magician. The facilities for children could be improved. Play area needs maintenance. Bar prices are expensive Hotel provides a shuttle service but last bus is back is about 4pm so limited service.

    Staff tried to meet individual needs and were on the whole friendly. The swimming pools and surrounding area was nice. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was always well cooked and wide choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was a very sunny week we could have been done with air conditioning. Rooms could do with a refurbishment.

    Breakfast and evening meals very good. The gardens at the back of hotel are beautiful and very well kept.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic place to spend my 50th Birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were expensive in my opinion. No fan in the bedroom.

    This is the 3rd time we’ve stopped at Westhill Country Hotel. First time was for our honeymoon 28years ago! Love this family hotel, staff are amazing, food is great. Our flight was cancelled and we had to fly out a day later. Westhill put that day on the end of our break so we didn’t lose a day. There was no extra charge for us. We paid extra for a pool view-well worth the extra £6 per night! We’d love to be able to afford to go back for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and take our sons, daughter in law and grandchildren.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I could say is no wc near the pool

    Lovely gardens and pool area, staff and owners were very helpful and friendly, restaurant staff and food was lovely, overall this is a well ru great hotel would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    It was in beautiful peace ful surrounds - my compliments to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of lift for luggage

    It was in beautiful peace ful surrounds - my compliments to Sydney in the restaurant and Michael in the bar - but in all the staff were fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Everything was very clean and tidy, pools are a great size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was very clean and tidy, pools are a great size and the rooms are a good size and comfortable. It is a bit far out from the town but they supply shuttle buses for free which I thought was great. Everyone was really friendly and I definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, pool was amazing, food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff, pool was amazing, food and entertainment was great. The gardens were beautiful and very relaxing. I would definitley stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Only good things to say about this wonderful hotel. A gem of a find!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would have been useful to us if the sack menu was extended to tea time instead of only sandwiches as we didn't want a full 3 course meal

    This is a wonderful hotel set in the most beautiful grounds with swimming pool suitable for lengths and kids pool and 2 hot tubs. The staff and owners never stopped working had to make sure everyone enjoys their stay and they are really lovely from reception to restaurant and bars to the gardeners and cleaners. Breakfast was just perfect - poached egg excellence!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable setting, quiet location, food in need of improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal not up to standard, menu limited, and not much choice of vegetables. Fish not fresh!!

    The beds were very comfortable, Location quiet, a good walk into St Helier, if you’re fit down hill, but recommend the bus/taxi back it’s All uphill. Local bus service convenient and also the transport provided by the hotel, Pool and gardens nice. Food only mediocre, had better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    I was in love with the garden and facilities (swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in love with the garden and facilities (swimming pool and Jacuzzi) It felt as if I was outside Jersey and was just a couple away from home. We had a blast of an overnight stay. Next time we will definitely stay a bit longer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable, peaceful and very pleasant 5 night break. Spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Perfect stay.

    Heated outdoor pools. Staff couldn't do enough for us. Brilliant stay in beautiful setting. Also hotel shuttle bus so convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The sound proofing could have been better. For the first two or three nights the next room had their television quite loud in the early morning and the floor creaked so we could hear them up in the middle of the night!

    The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The location was good with a free shuttle bus into and back from St Helier. The grounds were beautiful and the pool very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and problem free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar prices! Bathroom somewhat cramped - would be better if they removed the (large) bath and fitted a shower.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Superb gardens and grounds. Good food at a very reasonable price (dinner). We have stayed at the Westhill many times and are always made to feel welcome and have enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay in Jersey, and the location & garden grounds plus good weather = excellent break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have had to request for replacing shampoo & body wash when, yet when requested from the staff refreshing rooms each morning, they were provided - just not that when shower area is cleaned, to notice replacement is needed. Not all staff at the Reception were showing a welcoming-friendly face, when interrupted. It was a good idea to provide evening entertainment, it was not very good if we may say so. Thanks

    My husband and I love the garden - whole area of the grounds surrounding the hotel building. We went for a walk right to the lower fish pond part of the grounds and around the top level, it is noted the garden is well maintained. For families staying, there is plenty to provide other activities besides the swimming pools and hot tubs provided, aviary and easy walking distance to downtown St Helier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    To far from town difficult to walk up the hill. Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was advertised at £15 we were charged £20 each £40 was overpriced I think, as we did not pre book on line.There were only about 8 tables used.I took exception to this it was less than a 1/4 full.it was a nice meal but £40 very over priced

    Hotel and grounds lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was cooked to order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower - You couldn't use it at full height. Had to drive to reach local restaurants if you weren't eating at the hotel.

    Breakfast was cooked to order. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Lovely comfortable beds. Fresh towels every day. Situated in a quiet secluded spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    We loved our stay
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on suite sliding door wasn't great. Would have liked more food options at lunch time and at night to suit family.

    Amazing swimming pools and grounds, friendly staff, very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Friendly, clean hotel that we will be visiting again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one negative - the wines at meal times were expensive. The drinks at the bar were a bit expensive too.

    Everything was great. The food is excellent. The rooms very spacious and very clean. We had a pool view which was lovely. The hotel grounds are lovely to walk round and very peaceful. Entertainment 4 times in our weeks stay. The pool is heated and I swam in it in mid September. The jacuzzi is very welcome after a swim though at that time of year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from centre & beaches. Not always convenient times with courtesy bus, but also on a bus route. Need a car.

    Friendly staff. Pleasant, clean & light room, but dated bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    The hotel itself was good, But the restaruant staff would not make me stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While I was eating dinner on my own, I was approached by the resturaunt manager and was ask if I would share my table with a complete stranger. I declined and he made a fuss about it. Once again at breakfast, I was told to wait to be seated and then was asked if I would share a small table agian, Once again I declined and was told quiet loudly to go wait in the lobby until the manager called me. Will lots of diners looking at me it was quiet embarassing. The restaruant was half empty at the time , which was so what strange.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic holiday in a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast waiter seemed to be permanently reluctant to serve us but the management noticed and the next day we received very prompt service

    The pool made the holiday, my son lived in it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing fun filled days by the pool with friendly helpful staff + good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good to have light bites menu + other meal options available in the evening as children didn't want to the full, formal dinner option. It was good to have some some play equipment but it could be improved. The swings weren't very good. Perhaps the addition of a seesaw? Or a basket swing?

    Comfortable beds, clean room.+ bathroom, helpful staff. They were accommodating of my son's special needs and our dietary requirements. Pool + hot tubs were a big hit with the boys. Breakfast offered many choices + the cooked breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    We will not re-use this hotel again. Very poor value for £120 per night for a 3 star hotel
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedrooms in general (we saw several) need modernising and, in particular, the very small en-suite bathrooms are ancient as if we were still living in the late 50's/early 60's. Toilette roll holder is above the bath end next to the water taps, meaning the paper got soaked everytime the shower is used. Ridiculous! Lighting in the bathrooms is very, very poor, rusty mirrors need replacing asap and the same goes for the very old style sinks which still have 2 separate taps at either side for hot and cold water, no mixer taps.

    Outdoor areas including pools were well maintained to a high standard throughout. Inside, the public/communal areas were acceptable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The waiters of he restaurant made my day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection could be improved. There is no refrigerator in the room.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful especially at the reception. The swimming pool was great. The best part was the restaurant with very friendly,forthcoming and professional waiters, mostly all of them from Portugal. We really had a great time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress needs an upgrade.

    The staff were exceptionally nice, it was lovely to see people, who had obviously stayed before, being greeted as long lost friends. Dinner was lovely too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Overall I thought the hotel was brilliant and we would definitely go back there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it a little bit awkward that the restaurant only serves one set menu each evening although the food we did have was very nice, but if nothing you like on it means travelling out for food and last bus to main town is 6 something and no bus to get back later than that which isn't the hotels fault. Would hire a car next time possibly

    The swimming pool facilitys and the grounds of the hotel were children friendly and very clean and well kept staff friendly breakfast lovely great shuttle service to the town and back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    The facilities, surroundings and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located on a long steep hill from the centre for walking back and the bus service from the centre, back to the hotel was less frequent. But outstanding hotel.

    The facilities, surroundings and staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings with more than a hint of luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a covered seating area in the garden with music playing. The music was left on overnight and woke me up at 2 am.

    Very few hotels meet my standards for cleanliness but Westhill Country Hotel was exceptionally clean. The grounds were absolutely beautifully kept and the pool was lovely and warm even at 7am. The staff were very courteous and very helpful at all times to cater for their guests. The location was good because it was out of town and nice and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Clean but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 36 was above the kitchen so it was boiling, and very noisy from around 6:30 every morning. No chance of sleep after that! Room smelt a little damp and the staff in the breakfast room could've been friendlier.

    Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Very pretty gardens. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    The grounds of the hotel are green and attractive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Most of the staff are foreign with very little knowledge about Jersey. Personality or character is lacking. Just too far out from St Helier to be a comfortable walking distance. Public transport does not run at convenient times i.e. early morning or evening/night. Tired hotel in need of urgent refit.

    The grounds of the hotel are green and attractive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    We made a great choice in staying at Westhill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to walk back from St Helier centre it's hilly, so use the hotel shuttle or bus.This was our first time in Jersey but loved it and think we'll back.

    The food at breakfast and dinner was really good,and we never had any complaint,service was excellent.This is a family run hotel and it showed, all the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is in a quiet area and suited us just perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were very comfortable, the staff were excellent, the pool and the gardens were well maintained, excellent breakfast, which was included, and evening meals were reasonably priced and well presented.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Some staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor inside very old, which is why I'd probably not stay again but everything else was fine.

    Some staff were very nice. I forgot my Jersey Black Butter on breakfast table on day 1 and they moved it to my new table on following breakfast without my even asking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Although I would have liked the courtesy bus to be available more frequently and a little later in the evening.

    I liked everything about the hotel. The staff. the food, the facilities and the beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Good but wont be going back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cockerel crowing constantly , waking us up very early .The noise from evening entertainment coming into our room.The little hitler who runs the restaurant .

    Most things were very good .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful mature gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bathroom with a sliding door which was not ideal for privacy as off such a very small bedroom

    Loved the mature gardens and the little coloured birds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    The reception staff were very friendly, the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was difficult to find and with no lift, it was tiresome to be climbing stairs to guest rooms. While the restaurant was very clean and waiters very friendly, the restaurant manager made us feel as if we were at school, dictatorial almost to the point of rudeness and not customer friendly. A very old fashioned, out of date set-up for meals which put us off eating at the hotel.

    The reception staff were very friendly, the hotel was exceptionally clean and the garden was brilliant. The free hotel bus a life saver.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Decent family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are clean and spacious although deco is a bit outdated. The staff is really helpful and friendly. All in all, we had a wonderful stay in this hotel. Can recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced, out of town, old folks home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and our room smelt of fried food. There was no air conditioning in the room so was very stuffy. The free shuttle bus was busy on the way back from town and the bus driver a bit cantankerous. Perhaps more trips would be beneficial. Breakfast was ok but the server who came to our table was very miserable!

    Although we didn't use it, the pool area looked nice. The location was OK as it is on a bus route but it's quite far out of town probably a 25 minute walk down and longer back as it would be all uphill.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Lovely location. Away from hustle and bustle of town centre but near enough not to be a problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor thing. Location of room was a bit of a Trek with stairs up and down to negotiate (we were on ground floor). Not something that can be easily remedied due to layout and age. It was suggested we could get to the room quicker by walking from reception area via the outside of building and entering through a side door which was very helpful. Two issues however, firstly side door wasn't always open. Secondly walking around the building assumed weather would be dry which of course isn't always the case.

    Breakfast was very good and staff very attentive. Room was clean, neat and tidy. We had pleasant views from the bedroom window and able to observe cattle in the fields opposite the hotel. Live entertainment in the evening was a pleasant bonus which we didn't realise would be available. Grounds of hotel also very pleasant and well tended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel but unlucky with the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person in the adjacent room had the TV on so loud late at night, I slept in the bathroom

    Tranquil surroundings, large car park, friendly staff, lovely outdoor pool and impressive grounds. Room was smart and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    excellent family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe room fans for the really hot days ☀️☀️

    The variety of menu choices and quality of meals was excellent. Friendly staff and nothing was a bother for them. Courtesy bus to St Helier was handy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.0
    Beautiful grounds, but wasn't too impressed with rest of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff in the restaurant were impolite. Head waiter reminded me of Basil Fawlty in his mannerisms. Only had dinner in the hotel on one occasion, watching the head waiter constantly berate a young waiter through the entire meal. No Wifi in rooms, only communal areas. Top floor rooms unbearably hot (35 deg C) during recent heat wave.

    Beautiful gardens and swimming pool. With exception of restaurant staff, all other hotel staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Great city break in this welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed here for 2 nights for a family girls break - we had a twin room and a triple room and both were great with plenty of room and spacious bathrooms. The hotel itself is lovely and the gardens and swimming pool area are fantastic. We were lucky with the weather and spent a morning lounging around the pool and using the hot tubs before setting off for some sight-seeing. The hotel staff were very polite and couldn't be more helpful - something we found was a trait amongst all local people. There was a free shuttle bus into town and back that ran several times a day which was very handy. On one occasion we were the only ones on it and they very kindly dropped us by near the walk to Elizabeth Castle rather than the bus station to save us the walk - thanks Mike! Lots of variety for breakfast with a continental buffet plus a full english if you wanted it. We didn't have dinner there so I can't comment on that, but it seemed popular with other guests. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel, and if I'm lucky enough to go back to Jersey I'll definitely be booking with them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Hotel was clean and comfortable, Great for families as two...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only down side was when entertainment on very little space as so busy in Lounge/bar and evening food was more aimed at the older generation so ate out. Décor a bit tired.

    Hotel was clean and comfortable, Great for families as two pools, two Hot tubs and a play area. Outside was adding further renovations and was already a great space. Staff were friendly and a great atmosphere. Breakfast was lovely and good choice. Great for families as lots to do in grounds or coach parties as entertainment and food aimed at them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    good hotel but location not the easiest to conquer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a bath. Didn't like the sink in the bedroom and the shower wasn't very powerful. Loud snoring next room kept us awake, though that wasn't hotel's fault of course but it was quite stressful for us every bedtime

    Friendly staff. Good entertainment. Courtesy bus essential and lovely grounds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    We are definitely coming back to this hotel next time we come back to Jersey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our rooms were right above the reception/dining area. Did not appreciate the 7 o'clock wake up call from all the noise downstairs and the rubbish truck every morning. Nonetheless, all the goodness cancelled this little issue.

    The staff were absolutely fantastic. Couldn't ask for better customer service. The facilities were very good seeing as the hotel is only 3 stars. Everything exceeded our expectation. We did catch very nice weather which helped in every way to see the niceness of this hotel. It has swimming pool and jacuzzi and a very big garden which we have enjoyed straight after breakfast, pool side bar that opened at 11 in the morning. Very nice touch. None of us has kids, but you could judge by the size and things to do around there that any young person would love running around there for a good couple of days and not get bored. The hotel is only a short 5 minute taxi ride away (about 6-7 pounds ish) from town, or the hotel provides a shuttle bus on certain times to the town bus station. Otherwise it's a 30 minute walk downhill to the center of town (st helier). The night porter (Andrei) was an absolute legend. Coming back late at night all we needed is a friendly face that doesn't mind couple young lads stumbling in craving a glass of water. Basically very good value for money. Would recommend to anyone going to Jersey.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Croissants were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is difficult to get to and from the hotel, if you miss the courtesy bus service.

    Croissants were awesome. The beds were comfortable. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. The pool and the Jacuzzi were great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    All the staff were very nice 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock in my room was faulty and I had to ring reception to get me out 4 times, they moved me to another room for the last 2 nights. (They are changing the lock)

    All the staff were very nice 👍 Beautiful gardens two aviarys, table tennis 🏓 Swimming pool, 2 hot tubs and a play park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    A little gem of a hotel hidden away from the hustle and bustle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everything about this hotel was excellent. The reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The public rooms were clean and welcoming, bedrooms were clean and very comfortable. The gardens and pool areas are a delight as was the hot tub. My friends and myself would certainly recommend this to anyone,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their advert does say Wi-if in public places and they do have it. This day and age one needs this in all rooms. I was lucky 3 days and it worked then just would not connect. Ohhh and some safety barriers around the works being carried out very close to the Hotel.

    Staff excellent Breakfast excellent Evening meal very good Gardens and grounds excellent Room very good Reception excellent Parking excellent Lovely budgies and finches in the grounds Lovely swimming pool and spa baths

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location and a pleasant hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi only available in the bar and garden areas, nothing in the room. Some rooms can be a little noisy above the kitchen or if a function is on downstairs. Not sure about some of the 'low budget' entertainers in the bar most nights but maybe that is just my taste.

    Great location and a pleasant hotel. The beautiful rolling lawns down to the heated swimming pool really make this location. Staff were very accommodating with very early breakfasts during my 7 night stay. A good location if you have a car or a good base for cycling from and the staff were helpful with secure bike storage. A bit of a trek to anywhere if you are relying on walking. A fixed price dinner (which is nice enough, though not outstanding) is available from 6:30 to 8:00 every evening but you do need to book this in advance as a rule.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful grounds
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant in hotel, given it was not full we was put in tables that where so close to couple next to us you couldn't have private conversation, I have never been packed so close to someone for dinner especially when there was 15 odd free tables.

    Staff friendly, dogs in hotel lovely. Room comfortable but very warm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    All the staff were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak shower.

    All the staff were superb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Imaculate inside and out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say!

    Imaculate inside and out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Staff absolutely fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of town but we did know that when booking

    Staff absolutely fantastic! Really friendly welcome, like we were old friends!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    The best 3 days there and beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were so friendly especially the Scottish lady on the desk she was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a nice situation had good entertainment and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,it was all excellent

    The hotel was excellent,spotless clean,polite staff and the meals where very nice.recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Jersey in July
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room

    Lovely grounds good facilities friendly staff varied menu with gluten free options

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A bit dated but lovely staff and gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated but lovely staff and gardens

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice Swimming Pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location of my table in restaurant- would have liked view out on to pool and gardens .

    The grounds and pool area beautiful and so relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Hotel with a great outdoor swimming pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was excellent and friendly. Pool was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent gardens, immaculately clean , friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk back up hill to hotel. Get a cab if you have a few drinks down in town!

    Excellent gardens, immaculately clean , friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Westhill Country Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: