Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Manor at Weston On The Green 4 stars

Northampton Road, Weston on the Green, OX25 3QL, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Weston on the Green

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 503 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet very stained. Bathroom in real need of refurbishment . room musty and damp. Breakfast poor. Seemed to be understaffed staff stressed. We stayed in annex. Bed comfortable but bedding felt damp.

    Building was impressive and historic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one thing, which was the security light that shone right into our room and kept going on and off.

    The setting was beautiful and the accommodation faultless. The bed was so comfortable and the room a delight. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed the breakfast and the choice available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Descended upon by a huge Chinese contingent armed with their samsonite suitcases after a days shopping at Bicester village

    The hotel is steeped in history. Great wedding location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Valence on bed stained and muddy. Carpet had spillages , hairs and was dusty. Water Luke warm. Hot water tap loose. No response to complaints. Public areas of hotel neglected and dirty. Sofas old and worn with holes. Such a shame .

    Amazing historical house

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We chose to stay here after our wedding with all the family and we are so glad we did :) Gorgeous property with stunning and immaculate grounds, the staff were super friendly and we can’t wait to come stay here again!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly shambolic check-in, as the key we were given didn't fit the lock and it took 10 minutes or so to resolve the issue - though the receptionist was suitably apologetic. Dinner in the stunning historic hall was, however, disappointing. The menu was not up to the standard you might expect in such a great country house hotel, the service was less than impressive, and the food itself unexciting. Breakfast, in the same great hall, was OK, but again not of a particularly high standard and the round table for 2 wasn't big enough to accommodate all the plates, cups etc.

    Lovely house and grounds. We had our dog with us and were given a spacious and comfortable courtyard ground floor room with direct access outside, which was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu would have been fine for lunchtime pub grub, but too down market for dinner. Bed was a double, should have been a King. Bathroom needs a hook on the back of the door to hang used towel. No shelves near the wash basin for stuff like toothbrushes, make up remover etc etc.

    Ambience in the dining room. Eggs Benedict. The real manor house feel. And the staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, a standard double, was very charming and full of character with a lovely view onto the beautiful gardens. However, the bathroom was tired and shabby. The shower did not work. The moment we spoke to reception we were given another, upgraded room immediately, with a lovely working hot shower!

    The building and grounds were lovely. The hotels’s interior decor and ambiance were lovely. We had a very warm and friendly welcome to the hotel and chef stayed a little longer so that we could have a meal, after our evening arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely dusty and a bit on the small side as was the bathroom which could need a little bit TLC

    Nice grounds, very friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast selections

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notices as soon as you walk in telling you the hefty fines if you smoke on property or lose your keys!

    Two chairs in room provided, most hotels you only have one which is fine if you are travelling alone but if you are two ........!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was freezing, no heating. The kettle had to be plugged in on the floor The furnishings were very tired and the bathroom in great need of updating There was no-one available to check me out at 7am! Breakfast was awful - just looked basic and unappetising.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in my room was extremely stained and all really needed replacing including the carpet.

    Very welcoming staff and stunning grounds including wild rabbits!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel and grounds, our second stay there - it's heavenly! The pool was open and it was great, staff were lovely and breakfast very generous and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The drinks were over priced

    The staff went the extra mile to ensure all our needs & expectations were met. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night break away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am afraid although the room was very nice - the bed was very uncomfortable and every time you moved it would squeak terribly. We did not sleep much and was awake from 5am. It was my wife's birthday so was not best pleased. We did tell the receptionist next morning when we left.

    The hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly. Also the food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding on while I was there which I had not be warned about. Both the guests in the grounds/bar/around the rooms & also the music of the disco were too loud for me to completely relax & sleep well which was a real shame as this was a one off night for me to get away from the demands of home to recharge my batteries.

    The hotel was perfect for a quiet night away after shopping at Bicester. The staff, grounds, room & food were all good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was very expensive, not well presented and not much choice on the menu. We were at the top of the hotel so we had steep steps to get to our room. I don't think we would choose this hotel again.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and we loved the garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound insulation. We could hear snoring in the room below all night in spite of asking for a quiet room. We were displaced for dim Nervous by two wedding parties to the bar which was extremely noisy.

    Lovely grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean, very dusty, cobwebs and spiders. Parts of the bathroom had been upgraded but the floor tiling needed replacing. The woodwork needed redecorating and the place was generally in need to care and attention. Some of the outdoor seating hadn’t been cleaned and therefore couldn’t be used.

    Location and character of the building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    V poor service No one staffing the terrace and no signs on Friday , signs were out on Saturday No port No gammon No bitter Mixed crockery Hours to find a toothbrush kit Room 2 is v v small and not worth £200

    Food quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub shower curtains were impossible to pull around, it was cheap & shoddy ! Rooms & decor certainly needs upgrading to warrant £120 a nite in the Cotswolds. Front desk staff was curt & hardly welcoming.

    The manor grounds & gdn was lovely. F&B staff @ breakfast were friendly & efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air con so may get very hot in summer.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the setting is lovely. An old building but in very good condition.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fabulous the staff were so polite & attentive it was very quaint & Beautiful, it was our wedding anniversary & we had a lovely surprise dessert

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    The whole of the hotel and grounds are excellent. Very good value for money . Will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends .NOTHING

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nice and friendly. The manor has successfully maintained its very long history and it felt like we were staying in a stately home. The grounds were excellent and well maintained. It had a 5 star feel without feeling too exclusive. All in all we had a very good stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot throughout the hotel but my room in particular.

    I was attending my son's wedding. The food throughout was excellent. I can't even say what was the best as it all was delicious and carefully prepared. I did like my eggs Florentine for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was nice but was quite pricey - 3 course set menu was £100 for 2 with only water and 1 orange juice. Pool was not available.

    The gardens were very nice and the Tudor panelling and decor was impressive. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most rooms are in the annex and NOT like the photos. They are tired 1950’s rooms with old plumbing and only a hand shower. Really, these rooms should have photos so guests know what they are getting. The food was far too expensive for what it is. I git 8 chips and about 30 garden peas with my £16 burger. The desserts at £7.50 were four-bite frauds. Wine list also too expensive.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t realise that the room wasn’t in the hotel and although only a couple of minutes, not good in the wind and rain. The room and bathroom were great but the lighting in the bedroom was very poor, difficult to see what I was doing (in the mirror) when I was drying my hair, also the plug was under the table at the back, not easy for the elderly!

    We were attending a family birthday party at the hotel. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The food at the party was lovely as was the breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very grubby,stains all over the carpet and a lot of dust everywhere.The bathroom was in a very tired condition,had no flannels and the towels and bathrobes offered were very old and felt more like sandpaper.

    We were part of a wedding party and found the staff very helpful and courteous throughout the day and evening and the food some of the best we have ever eaten at a wedding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a slight annoyance but due to the roof heights on the top floor the shower head is a little low so means you can stand under if over average height. If you have an issue with this then make sure ask for room on lower ground.

    The building is a stunning old manor house with a great fireplace in the lobby to sit by and have a delicious drink from the old school bar. The restaurant serves some stunning food and deserves it 2 AA Rosette stars. It is a great place to stay if planning to shop at Bicester especially as they have 10% VIP cards to use. The rooms contain ironing boards and an iron which is great bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower. We called the front office and someone came. We went out and when we returned we were told it was sorted and offered a complementary drink. Next morning the shower was cold. I don't believe the problem was resolved. My husband is a plumber and said it needs a new valve.

    Super location clean large room. Tea and coffee available and bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt of sewage, the carpet was dirty, the shower was pathetic, smoked haddock served at breakfast was raw, sweet porridge had salt in it (twice) .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely stay and great value for money - the room definitely exceeded my expectations and was one of the nicest I have stayed in! Very clean and spacious with a great range of extras in the room - tea and coffee making facilities, robe, slippers etc I would definitely return to stay here, just a really lovely, pleasant stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby furniture, everything seemed neglected and past its best, lots of dirty areas. Lacking in attention to detail. Staff pleasant but not well trained enough to provide service to the standard anticipated. At dinner I found it difficult to pull the dining chair out, and the waiter just stood there and watched me struggle until eventually my husband helped me! Dining in the Barons Hall was practically in the dark as the lightning was so low, and although we enjoyed eating the delicious food in this incredible Tudor Hall it was a bizarre experience with a ghetto blaster playing Motown Classics throughout the meal!!! Paper napkins and lack of attention to detail really let them down. Whole place in need of some new furniture and a proper deep clean!!

    Amazing building with SO much history and character. This property deserves to be preserved and cared for, it could easily be upgraded if the owner spent some money on getting it right and training staff better. The food was excellent, and good choice of wine and spirits.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink waste didn’t work .

    Breakfast was superb , great place to stay, nice grounds, we only lived ten min away but it was a treat for the wife birthday .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could usefully improve the quality of breakfast beverages and give a little more attention to detail with the food

    Attentive staff, excellent property and amenities for the price and it is ideally situated to get into Oxford or to explore Blenheim Palace and the S.E. Cotswolds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty room, shower head, broken sink and bath plug, enamel flaking from bath and badly chipped, heater not working, nowhere to plug the kettle in apart from on the floor. Despite booking for a breakfast, they wanted £17.00 each on the day

    friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was awful. Small portions and cheap food. Service also poor.

    Look and feel. Warm real fire at reception. Location. External entrance and gardens. Bar set up and service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To shower the water wasn’t very warm, the room felt cold as there was no themostat to control it. Also it wasn’t clean, there were hair all over the floor. We stayed two nights the room also wasn’t dusted and you could see the dust resting on some thr furniture

    The size of room, location, the staff were friendly and very helpful with sterilising our baby’s bottles for feeds. The fire in the lobby was warm and cosy. Also the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and cold. Window frames were draughty and needed a good clean. Main restaurant was very cold when we went down for breakfast.

    The setting and building is beautiful. Afternoon tea by the fire in reception was a treat. Unfortunately when the entrance door opens it is very cold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some aspects were good, some staff were pleasant, but there was no cohesion of service, cleanliness, or positive attitude.

    Beautiful house, but arriving, in January, in the dark, there was no light above the closed front door! When we eventually got inside, the Receptionist just shrugged!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was in the coach house and there was only one plug socket which meant I had to move the dressother my table to the other side of the room to get ready for the wedding Drinks were very expensive

    Location was stunning Rooms were beautiful Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the burgers we had in the bar. Although tasty the portion could have been better. Be good to have a fridge in the room

    Great location and atmospheric old hotel, full of character. Friendly helpful staff. Although room wasn’t ready on arrival we appreciated the complimentary drinks. Very dog friendly with dogs allowed in bar area and lovely bed, bowl and food for him in the room. Breakfast lovely. Great room opening straight out to the garden very handy for the dog

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like it was so cold in the restaurant it spoilt the evening

    The food was excellent breakfast was perfect The staff were polite and helpful especially the waiting staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom was really basic , the food was well over priced for what we ate

    The building looks amazing and the open fire , it’s all a very nice looking place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t very nice, the water pressure was very low so couldn’t wash my hair and bath was damaged. The bath needed to be rescaled as it had black mold on it.

    This was the place me and my husband got married so it was really nice to see the building and gardens again so beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would suggest all staff have a uniform. Used to work at a Manor and just adds that professional touch.

    Friendly service, beautiful old building with lots of charm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find a doggy poo bin on my walks in the ground. Just before I left the hotel I found one ...yipee. might be a good idea to provide a few more.

    Lovely dog friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get to dine (pre-booked) in restaurant as it was booked up due to office Christmas party, nobody for-warned us. Had to walk across drive to our room but not much lighting, not great in heels either as it was gravel drive. Got woken up numerous times by noisy/arguing party goers in the middle of night. Room wasn’t very sound proof. We did, however, get refunded for our meal which we had in the bar in the end but no refund or any other offer for the sleepless night. Probably more a case of the people staying rather than Hotel.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of furnishings were too old to use.

    Wonderful manor near bicester, a historical building with careful decorating. Easy to park and staff were willing to help. Breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room could be described either as cosy or pokey and difficult to access, depending on your point of view!

    Heritage property with very good public rooms and pleasant & helpful staff. Excellent breakfast & great log fire in the lobby area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a stunning hotel, absolutely beautiful - many original Tudor features, including an enormous log fire and lots of original wood panelling. Such a shame that our stay was blighted by a large and all consuming wedding party. This meant we were placed in an annex that really wasn't great, and compared so unfavourably to the main building. My mother and I had arranged what we hoped was a luxurious and relaxing night away to escape the pace of the xmas period! However, the hotel manager was very apologetic and did all that he was able to in order to make our stay enjoyable. We didn't have to pay for our meal, which although in a rather noisy bar (amongst the wedding guests!), was excellent. We had 3 very good courses and some really nice wine, also some superb aperatifs. Breakfast was also very good and we had a lovely walk in their stunning gardens. We are awaiting promised contact from the hotel with a discounted return offer to compensate for our experience, and despite the circumstances of our previous visit, I will look forward to returning to this hotel. It's a very special place and really quite unique. Extremely atmospheric in the winter with the log fire, staff attentive and effective. Couldn't be closer to Bicester Village, yet an incredible contrast to it due to to the age and authenticity of the property and very country feel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. We had to make our own toast which I wouldn’t expect at the price charged. The portion size of my scrambled egg was pitiful.

    Very comfy beds and large room that was very clean. Nice White Company toiletries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tired and dated. The carpet was heavily stained and the walls required urgent re decoration. For what we were being asked to pay, I felt this did not reflect good value for money. I viewed other rooms and the same applied within them too.

    The ambiance within the hotel enhanced our visit, the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has kept its charm within the communal areas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom looking rather tired and no drawers in bedroom. Paper starting to come off bedroom ceiling. Breakfast coffee not great and food not very hot.

    Beautiful building and roaring log fire on arrival.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked Junior suite which we were quite disappointed. Bathroom is full of loose equipments. Surprised that was not cotton buds provided. The wall in junior suite is old. We booked two rooms, one is the junior suite and another is the standard room. Certainly the junior suite is not worth the price.

    Good garden and restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom was too warm and could not control the temperature other than opening the window. Two mornings we were without hot water (new boiler was being commissioned at the time). Staff rectified this as soon as informed.

    Lovely old building and garden. Friendly and helpful staff. Tasty freshly cooked breakfast. Our room though was at the top of the building that required negotiating narrow staircase.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We and our friend thought that although dinner was well cooked it was overpriced and portion sizes were poor. Charging £15.00 for the cheese platter went beyond the pale. We cancelled our Sunday dinner and had a better meal, price and quality, in Bicester.

    Although we were in the eves i.e the old servants quarters, the room was cosy and well appointed. Bed was comfy with a choice of pillows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar menu. Too expensive and not really room for four of us to sit and eat comfotably.

    Breakfast was lovely, very comprehensive and beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although dinner was delicious, we prefer a more traditional style of menu

    Beautiful & interesting hotel. Staff were all very friendly & there was a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had smelt like damp and the carpet was wet by the bathroom door.

    Lovely stay at the hotel, great location for visiting Blenheim Palace. The breakfast was good, lots of choice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was slightly disappointing as you could only have white toasted bread, and only if you ordered. There was no choice of bread on the buffet, nor were there any croissants on the buffet. You could get croissants if you ordered them from the kitchen.

    Lovely room with nice views an comfortable four poster bed. The bed was a little small though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were put in the annex. There was a wedding so I think that's why we were there. The house looked amazing and I would have liked to have stayed there. Our room was underwhelming. Very ordinary.

    The house looked amazing. The location was great for the park and ride.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little hot but to be fair I arrived late and only stayed one night so it may have been something I could have addressed if I had more time.

    The surroundings were beautiful and staff went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we wanted / needed. The lock on our bedroom was unfortunately broken however the staff apologised and deducted an amount off our stay as compensation - no complaints!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful historic manor! Staff is very friendly and helpful! Food is excellent and is served in the medieval hall. The garden is amazing, and beautifully maintained. Will come back for sure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor reception facilities. Bar too small. Poor lighting on narrow stairs. Way too expensive for what it is.

    Great location. Nice rooms. Nice bedding. Excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drinks could have been more realistically priced not everone is a Millionaire.

    I found the drinks and food very expensive for the facility. That's the down side, However, the staff were superb and looked after the guests very well indeed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the breakfast buffet. There were no croissant on the buffet, neuther a selection of bread. You had to order and could only have toast. I ordered a cheese and ham omelette that was very dry , unsalted, next time I will order poached eggs instead

    The room with a very romantic and comfortable four poster bed. The dining room with views of the grounds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals were small portions and nothing special for the price. Drinks were extortionated £15 for a gin & tonic and pint of beer.

    Lovely country manor house hotel with lots of charactor and charm. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ceiling had peeling paint where there had been a leak above. The bathroom was tired and needed upgrading. We could hear the bar in the room under our bedroom

    Room was a good size and pleasantly decorated. The building in a beautiful old manor house with very well kept gardens all around

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lock wouldn't work on the first room. Second room had a disabled toilet/shower, no bath. Very noisey. Accommodated in a building site. Restaurant area dirty

    Looks great from the outside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The need new pillows.

    Wonderful hotel. The manor house dated back to the 16th century with much of the origional woodwork and fireplaces. The gardens were beautiful. The food was excellent and the service great. I enjoyed the stay tremendously and can't say enough good things about the experience. We used the hotel as a base to explore several of the great treasure houses and felt steeped in history.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool very basic outdoors.

    Staff could not have been more helpful. We found we had booked into a (very nice) annexe room and preferred to be in the main house - they moved us straight through to a lovely room with no fuss. Very relaxing throughout. Lovely setting and heritage house.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could only have fixed-price menu in the restaurant, which was disappointing. We had to eat in the bar to have a wider choice. We didn't really understand why this was so.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: