Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Beach House 3 stars

Park Lane, Milford on Sea, SO41 0PT, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Milford on Sea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 843 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - well done!

    The Beach House is a very unique and quirky hotel with a pleasant ambience. The staff are young and very efficient with a friendly and helpful manner. The lunch and breakfast was tasty and well presented. In particular the rooms were very comfortable and roomy. This is an excellent hotel, well run and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Such a beautiful location along the English southern seaside! The views from our spacious room included the sea, the waterfront path and the lovely patio and grounds. Numerous spaces for guests to gather, from the breakfast and library dining rooms to the quiet nooks and glassed-in lounge. We enjoyed the vibrancy of The Beach House and its more intimate places and look forward to visiting again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried to pay on my credit card and couldn’t which was frustrating as I was told I could when I checked in. Lady tried her best called her manager over who didn’t even try just said I couldn’t... no help what so ever didn’t even look at me. Apart from this everyone was lovely and a beautiful place.

    The Beach house was beautiful! Beautiful surroundings right on the beach! Lovely food breakfast and dinner. Family friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food can be hit and miss. Plenty of choice and we were served some great dishes while we were there but some were mediocre/overcooked/dry. I didn’t mention it to them at the time as we were had an impatient baby with us. I’m sure they would have sorted something out if we asked and had a bit more time. Can sometimes be waiting at the bar a while before getting served.

    The house oozes character and has lovely period features. The photos I’ve seen don’t do it justice. They have done an awesome job with the bedroom decor. The dining rooms are great and perfect for couples as well as big groups. Very family friendly. Breakfasts are not to be missed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we just found the bed a bit uncomfortable

    the breakfast was great good selection and choice of dishes also the location was great as you walk straight onto the beach the menu was a good selection and good specials the staff are very friendly and helpful there is also a bus stop straight outside the hotel which goes to Bournmouth which run every two hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small.

    - Location: direct path to the beach; walking distance to town centre. - Value for money when you go midweek/out of season. - Breakfast. - Large bathroom with very good shower. - Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu

    Breakfast was excellent evening menu could be better more pub food than restaurant staff were very polite on the whole public areas a bit tired but very clan

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dinner time food OK but a bit 'pubby' ie: fish and chips and burgers on the menu. Breakfasts good though.

    Large bedroom: comfortable large bed: huge bathroom with good walk-in shower and starry sky ceiling. The sunroom with IOW view: Attractive Arts and Crafts public rooms. Easy access to the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed everything

    We enjoyed everything about the Beach House. Very relaxing stay, beautiful surroundings. The breakfast was plentiful with a lot of choice. The staff were very professional, polite and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location and room had excellent views across the Solent. Superior room booked and well worth it, being very spacious with large en-suite shower room and huge copper bath in the main bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A longer stay would have been even better!

    Accommodation was up to usual high standards and staff were very friendly. One (Ed) even remembered us from last year-great customer service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a good night's sleep due to heavy work load. requested a quite room Room 6 was not!! The manager was unable to help due to being booked out.so if you need an early night request a room in the upper floors & avoid Room 6

    Lovely coffee . the little extras & staying in a gorgeous victorian house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com listing suggested there room would have a sea view which it didn't so that was a slight disappointment. The emergency exit lights in the room were also very distracting for light sleepers.

    Very well maintained, quirky property. Sun lounge had great views. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Cabin Room is small and cramped. The window handle was missing making it difficult to open and close. A nearby outside door banged all night in the breeze disturbing sleep. in the morning a member of staff said they had just noticed it was open near the kitchen. Other door closures throughout the building, perhaps the kitchen? also produce noise.

    Breakfast. Views. Staff ever willing to help quickly and effectively.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a door to an adjoining room and had a baby screaming all night, the bar closes very early and all staff leave around 1130 pm The wait for breakfast was very long

    Beautiful building and lovely views very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly the menu which was a bit pubby' didn't quite match the surroundings.. perhaps more thought could be given to that?

    Beautiful décor throughout in keeping with the age of the property and in a picture perfect location right by the sea in a pretty village.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of hot food. Mashed potatoes seemed like instant. Broccoli not cooked properly. Breakfast-inferior sausages and bacon. Have had much better in other B&B's

    Staff, location, room & room facilities. Sitting areas and bar services. Cold buffet at breakfast. Good range of fruit and cereals. Smaller portions available on evening menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need to be a bit careful of room choice as there's no escape from noisy neighbours. Why they wanted to run a bath at 05.30 is beyond me.

    Superb restored Victorian mansion, oozing with character and that total relaxation feeling. We went late March but would love to try it in the summer as it's on the beach. We had the yellow room which was spacious and comfortable with a great view. Great food and beers too. Genuinely friendly team of staff, who clearly enjoy their jobs - fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room(dog friendly) smelt of dog on arrival. Superior room at top of building no lift and last run of stairs narrow steep turn concerned if fire alarms had sounded. Room large furnished shabby chic at least 50 ornaments on shelves. Carpet stained ( not dirty) .Stair carpet loose trip hazard. No light bite or sandwich service in evenings only restaurant service. Dead flowers in vases with dirty water on dining tables.

    View from hotel and area good for dog walking. Closed in balcony areas for relaxing as weather inclement. Breakfast fine, fresh pastries and good choice of cooked options. Staff friendly and helpful. Towels changed daily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were excellent but some meals could have been better.

    As my partner had a bad fall on day 2 the staff were so very helpful and caring. They could not do enough for us until we left on day 4. We are so grateful for all the staff involved in reception bar and dining room. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit on the small side, but it did have a view of the sea!

    Service was very good - lovely staff, very welcoming to us and our 8mth baby. Breakfast was excellent - great buffet and choice of hot food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meals were a little dated,not quite up to expectations,but ok.

    Our room was spotless,very chic and interesting,bed was really comfy and large, the bathroom was lovely,tea and coffee making facilities were a bonus, breakfast was great,staff were helpful when ordering something a little different for breakfast. The building itself is amazing inside,its been a real treat to stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being very picky - view from the room, however we did not request a room with a view.

    We know the area very well and have eaten at the Hotel, but this was our first stay. Lovely Hotel and the Breakfast was all you could want!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing place to stay. We recently stayed at The Beach House Hotel for 2 nights to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary it truly was a 5 star experience. There is a lovely warm atmosphere when you stay here, add to that all you would expect from a luxury room with a fantastic sea view. Breakfast delightful and after eating here the first evening we saw no reason to look elsewhere for our Anniversary meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with sea views and a resident cat! Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious, quirky and clean. Excellent choice for breakfast & food was top quality. Would highly recommend & we’ll definitely be returning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    We had a sea view deluxe room with copper bath. Wow! Fabulous sense of space and comfort the view was lovely, a real treat. Friendly helpful staff, good food. Lovely cat too 🐱

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal we decided to have the fish and chip meal but the standard of the fish itself was very poor. Otherwise the breakfast was good. The quality of the fish needs to be improved when your staying in a very nice venue.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs and no lift.

    Breakfast was excellent and the croissants were A1 eggs were freshly cooked. The evening menu was reasonably priced . We did not eat a lot but what we had was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed in 'The Loft' room could do with a new mattress or topper, it also squeaked alot, the fire exit light was so bright we had to cover it up as we couldn't sleep.

    Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff, good location, nice breafast and our son loved the cat (Lancelot).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy from guests in bar and restaurant below. A very strange smell in the room rather fumy which made my nose smart. Told the staff but not a great response. Needed the window open all the time to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we didn't have a room with a sea view but this could not be guaranteed as was clearly explained on the booking page,and the fact we couldn't stay longer !!!!

    Everything about The Beach House was perfect,the bedroom with a large, comfy bed, the house itself was so tasteful,the food superb with excellent menu choices,the breakfast wonderful as were all staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing - so friendly and helpful. Location was excellent with fabulous sea views. Hotel bar and restaurant were lovely - styled well and interesting that it maintains charm and was cosy. Room was lovely. Very clean and again styled well. Good facilities. Staff so pleasant that they made the stay that much more wonderful. Will return it was so good. Their pie has won awards - you can tell why! Really good quality and it’s great they do smaller portions too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    top floor room but very awkward stairs from 1st to 2nd floor and no lift and no help offered with 6 suitcases, bathroom height restricted and positioned above kitchens with smells into the room as window open because too warm.

    convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without exception the staff were helpful and courteous and the whole quirky ambiance of the place is superb. We will definitely return and recommend to others. 😎

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The luxury double bedroom, overlooking the garden and towards The Needles was excellent, it was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom had a separate walk-in shower area which was very large. The room itself was very well laid out with a separate sitting area and a large TV. The view was fantastic, looking out towards The Needles and the back garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Weather !!

    Fantastic location , massive room, fantastic view even in inclement weather, nice breakfast, cycled past here many times as a young person on holiday, nice to be able to afford the big rooms without thinking about the price, which for what it is still excellent !! We also liked the cat Lancelot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was ok. Not awful but not amazing. Pudding was good.

    Fabulous breakfast. Great family room with lots of space. Plenty of places to chill.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful building and lots of cosy spots to read a book with a glass of wine. The room was lovely but the bathroom was a bit of a squeeze. Worth the money though. Breakfast was great, and lunch / dinner was a little average.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is very specific because we're vegans. The breakfast choice was limited for us which was surprising as the dinner menu the night before included a lovely, fresh tofu salad and a vegan shepherd's pie topped with sweet potato mash, so the chef is obviously catering for vegans. A little more choice for us at breakfast would have been nice although we did have grilled tomatoes, beans and mushrooms.

    We loved the family room as it was actually three rooms including the bathroom, a double bed in one room and two singles in another room. Lovely furnishings and attention to detail. We had our own 'front door' and staircase to the rooms. And a view of the sea!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't anything to dislike......the only things was the fog, so I couldn't see the needles; whilst I had my breakfast!!

    The whole place is lovely and really nice to stop at. The overall building is fantastic and lovely to spend sometime in. I was only there for one night, but I am going to go back and spend a couple of nights there!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had lunch at the Beach House, was dissapointed with my prawn mayo sandwich which came as a hard crusty roll with tiny prawns that had been frozen. Breakfast was great.

    Comfy beds & pillows. Lovely hot shower. Good size televisions in both bedrooms. Plenty of tea & coffee in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This fabulous quirky old mansion is run by friendly attentive staff and offers great value. We paid £80 for the family room (attic apartment - brilliant) and had probably the best breakfast (included in price) we have had in two months in the uk. Outstanding. It’s atmospheric, right on the beach, has a great restaurant and is well loved. Rooms generous and thoughtful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only tiny point is that the hotel serves food all day and gets busy with customers, hence the areas to sit in all get quite full throughout the day. Such as a lovely sun room to read in but was always full! Only a very minor point as lots to see and go out and about in the area. Some more seating for residents would be good but think it’s too tight for space!

    Lovely, quirky hotel with tons of character. Very comfortable bed and bathroom with rain shower. Good selection of teas, coffee, biscuits, hot chocolate in bedroom. First class breakfasts with lots of choice. A very relaxing break. We had a smallish, standard double and some reviews on trip advisor didn’t rate this very well, but the room was perfectly big enough and very comfortable, clean and decorated very nicely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The stained glass in the Windows is lovely. The view of The Needles, at the western tip of the Isle of Wight from the restaurant bay windows is stunning. The staff gave us such a friendly warm welcome and were very attentive at mealtimes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Later opening times for bar if it was needed.

    Arts and crafts period building, very different cosy and lovely in reception area and eating/drinking areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Everything about this hotel is good. The staff so friendly and helpful, the rooms so clean and cosy, the food v. good. As for the location.... excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great views from the delightful 'yellow' room, good food both in the evening and breakfast, and a cat that leads by example in the art of relaxing.. Lots of little touches to make you feel you are somewhere special..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to know beforehand that the family room we booked was in a separate building from the main hotel. Our children still eat and go to bed quite early so we had planned to set up the monitor and have supper downstairs in the restaurant once they were in bed. However, we weren't comfortable leaving them in a separate building while we dined, and instead stayed in our bedroom for the evening. Whilst the staff were understanding and allowed us to take a plate of food to our room, we probably wouldn't have booked the hotel if we'd known.

    Beautiful building with plenty of character, and the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. They were also very understanding when we cancelled our dinner reservation because our family room was in a separate building to the main hotel and we weren't comfortable leaving our children alone in the room while we dined.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The poached eggs had a vinegar tang to them and put us off our breakfast a little.

    The room was lovely and the view from the window excellent. The bed was very firm which I liked but my husband found a little too hard. The bathroom was clean and fresh with a great shower. The blue light in the bathroom was especially useful in the middle of the night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My evening meal was a bit disappointing. Too much garlic and other flavourings, even the cabbage. My husband enjoyed his.

    The bed was huge but we found the mattress and the pillows a bit firm. Great breakfast, friendly staff, beautiful building. Will definately go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was pretty ordinary. I knew it was a bad sign when it came out 5 minutes after we ordered. I had the sausages and mash. The sausages were obviously cooked well in advance and heated up as they were hard and dry on the bottom. The mash tasted like it was from a packet and had a gluey texture. My girlfriend had the vegan bake which consisted of lentils and sweet potato and was very dry and bland but I'll put that down to it being vegan. Presentation was also poor.

    Room 5 was amazing and we loved the huge copper bath and the giant TV screen. The huge bathroom was also lovely, and the views were great over the Isle of Wight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous building with panelled interior, lots of nooks and crannies and interesting artefacts. Views to the Isle of Wight particularly good from the Sun Room. Very courteous and attentive staff. Breakfast cold layout was the best I have ever seen (e.g. honey on the comb) and the cooked options just as good. Nice gardens with direct access to coastal walks. Excellent value. I would have paid half again easily (but don't tell them!).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m 6’3 tall and the bed was 6’0 long. But that was a small point

    All staff very helpful, room was great, food was lovely, great Breakfast With honeycomb. Lovely. Full English with great sausages wonderful. Who could ask for more. Well yes. Great staff as well. Will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The poached eggs at breakfast were over cooked.

    The room was very comfortable and well decorated. It was warm and roomy. The facilities were good. We had a good meal and breakfast was good except our poached eggs were over cooked (more like hard boiled).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it very noisy. Got woken when the hotel geared up for breakfast at 7 as they switched on music. Rooms a bit cramped for a weekend. No wardrobe. Cooked breakfast wasn’t what I expected.

    Great view of the Needles. Friendly staff. Breakfast choices on buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As above food wasnt good.

    Everything, only dislike was the food. but may have been the snowy weather and some staff could'nt get in. they did give us a free bottle of wine as they had to close at 5pm because of the weather. last breakfast was'nt good. sausage tasted off and plate very greasy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was a little underwhelming, but overall quite good value for what you paid.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, coffee was lovely and hotel was nice and cosy on a particularly cold evening!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't order the winter warmers, they sound more enticing then they taste.

    The room was excellent, even though it was one of the smaller luxury rooms (w/out the tub you see in pics). Do check with the management if the bigger ones you see in pics are available beforehand. The view is marvelous, the pub is cosy with a relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be better trained and a little more welcoming. Service improved slightly on morning of departure.

    Stunning decor, very spacious and great breakfast. Right next to beach and great walks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some black mould in the wet room.

    Staff made our stay very pleasant. The view from the breakfast room was incredible-the breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ask the barman why the wood burner & fires weren’t lit on a chilly valentines evening? He said they had forgot to get the logs, a bit disappointing for me as it was a special night & im sure it was for other couples that night. It just would of made it a bit more cosier.

    I loved everything about this hotel. Very quirky room & considering we stayed in a standard room it was superb. The bathroom was spotless. So much thought has gone into this hotel it’s just amazing..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building, well and tastefully converted into a great pub restaurant hotel. Stylish rooms, very comfortable bed, and superb breakfast. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything. it was warm and welcoming. rooms are individual and special. staff are friendly and efficient. Food is excellent. Location is excellent. We would recommend to anybody.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non applicable

    Love the area so hotel in ideal location, nice relaxed atmosphere. Well appointed rooms, second time we’ve stayed here probably will again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise heard in room from the bar. Could do with DVD player in bedroom.

    Having real honey, not just honey in a jar, was a real treat. Not just having a cheap little travel kettle in the room but a good quality proper kettle was a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury room wasn't either of the the rooms advertised and not as luxurious. Also very noisy as room over bar and restaurant, could hear music, talking, cuttlery etc up until 10pm and from 7am.

    Beautiful view, great location for a peaceful getaway, comfy room, good choice at breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice heritage building, extremely friendly staff, great dinner, good breakfast, selection of tea & coffee with biscuits in the bedroom, free parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have a Defence service discount card. The staff didn't recognise it and wouldn't give the discount I thought I was entitled to

    The staff were excellent. The fires in the small lounge area were not were left to go out early on the first day and were not lit at all on the second day. No toast was offered on the first day and the breakfast was swimming in water from the poached eggs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom radiator wasn't on when went to bed so the room felt rather cold for a few minutes but soon warmed up when we put the heater on..

    We loved the location, The views were amazing. We especially liked the little room with the view at the top of the stairs. We met some lovely people there. I loved all the stained glass windows. The food was very good. We stayed for 1 night but invited my sister and husband to Sunday lunch with us before travelling home. Excellent meal. will definitely stay overnight again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have a bath in our room — we were in a standard room so not expected.

    We stayed for 2 nights the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast & evening meal was superb. We had a lovely walk along the beach the location is perfect. The atmosphere in the hotel is so relaxing with a cosy bar area & the staff are so attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Our room was absolutely beautiful. The copper bath was so special. Very tasty breakfast and staff were very friendly. Beautiful walks along the nearby beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    View to sea is wonderful from rear of building, footpath to coastal walk. Easy parking, lovely refurbished old building, greeted by friendly team at reception every though restaurant was busy. Superior Bedroom very well appointed in traditional seaside style. Comfy bed, warm spacious room. Evening meal booked with family and our breakfast very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a touch on the small side as we have a toddler and I thought it was cheeky to charge us for a camp bed for our toddler when we had booked the room for the 3 of us.

    Our Christmas Day breakfast hamper was lovely as my veggie breakfast on Boxing Day was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some unnecessary and rather twee beachy god-wottery in our room. There was no need for it at all as the room had such style.

    This is a beautiful Arts and Crafts house with so many of its original features. Very sympathetically converted. And so many thoughtful touches. I had forgotten my kindle and was delighted to find some short stories by one of my favourite authors in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Christmas meal atmosphere was great and so was the service. The food could have been better but maybe we’re just too fussy. The breakfast more than made up for it too.

    Gorgeous hotel! Very clean and beautifully decorated. Friendly staff. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Beach House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: