Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Nelson Hotel 3 stars

1 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth, NR30 3AG, United Kingdom

#63 of 74 hotels in Great Yarmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1313 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    only a 3 day stay, hotel was fit for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the carpet in the breakfast area, where you can get your cereal was horrible i stuck to the carpet, needs a good clean

    rooms clean and bed was confortable, staff were great, building and decor very tired, in need of a lot of TLC

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does need decorating the furniture was broken dated and ripped wallpaper (for £57 for 3 people with breakfast can’t complain too much about it) if I was paying more I would definitely be disappointed with the decor and look of the room. Daughters single bed was very uncomfortable and creaky, The tv was set to a wake up call so we were woke at 7:45 which wasn’t what we wanted lol

    Staff were really friendly. Location is great for all the attractions. Room was huge. All the things you would want like shower gels tea and coffee facilities etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was very nice and staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the beds need upgrading

    The breakfast was very nice and staff friendly.we could see the sea from our room which was nice the location was spot on

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Gt Yarmouth air show
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit tired, in our room one of the handles on the wardrobe broken and on the chest of drawers

    Very near the beach, clean and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    What you would expect from a cheap old sea front hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The delay of service at breakfast time is excessive. They are poorly organised, the staff do their best, the hotel very regularly have a bus trip to stay who all want breakfast at the same time so that the bus can move to the next stop over. The staff (2 girls) have no time to clear table., take orders and deliver food.

    It is clean and value for money, but it is a victorian hotel and it is starting to show it's age.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the place was great

    The property was very clean, the value for money was great, both on food and drink. The rooms are well priced for the area, but are not as large as some in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    The room smelt and the standard of cleaning was terrible I ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt and the standard of cleaning was terrible I complained to the manager the breakfast was a shambles not cooked properly the staff were not not doing there job properly many people complained to the manager the standard of the hotel is nothing like the pictures of it on the website it has a three star rating it doesn’t deserve one

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    It was OK but beds were very uncomfortable. However the staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were were very uncomfortable, my mum complained about bad back after just one night. The hotel needs a makeover as everything is worn out.

    The location is excellent, the bathroom was nice and clean to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was great, room was big and very clean, polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major we just had a broken lamp in the room wasnt a big deal

    Breakfast was great, room was big and very clean, polite staff, big tv, smoking just outside 24 hour bath

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable,Staff very helpful,wonderful location..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Single room I wanted was good,tea and coffee facilities were great,wonderful view.I had to leave at 07 00 and the staff made sure I had access to cereals.First Class.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Old nelson
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated and in need of decoration.. room ok but needed 2 door and draw handles sorting as sharp screws waiting to scratch to unaware... waited 45 minutes for a bacon sandwich and scrambled egg on toast and when it arrives on stale bread the eggs were a runny raw mess and disgusting . Won't be returning

    A comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    I liked the location , and thats is all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and bathroom had mould , kept hitting head near window ceiling , bed was barely big enough for 2 , no air con, no fan, could barely walk through corridors The staff were brilliant on check , but useless the following morning, especially at breakfast , had a dirty half cleaned table and no compensation or discount for the bad stay and service, will not visit/stay again! I say good day

    I liked the location , and thats is all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location but needs a good refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needs a good clean in the public area - bar in the evening is manned by night porter and service is not always frequent.

    Room lovely and airy with great views of sea and promenade.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Lovely staff shame about the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in bathroom smelled, room very small, when booking asked for 1st floor when we got there it was 3rd floor, we didn't complain as we were late arriving due to road closures

    All staff were polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The disorderly breakfast and numerous times you had to remind staff of your order and things you had requested.

    Could not have wished for a warmer welcome upon arrival. Room was spacious, décor a little dated but comfortable. Breakfast was.......well simply awful. Received our tea & coffee after 4 times of asking and eventually came after we had eaten. Requested our toast 5 times and eventually gave up asking so was never received. Could hear a lot of grumbles and complaints going on on the tables around me too. Just simply no communication between staff it would seem. Milk for cereal was warm and glasses very dirty for the juices. Location wise this Hotel couldn't have gotten any better for us with pleasure beach, arcades, pier just a few minutes walk away and beach directly opposite hotel. I would come back but hope they take on board the comments made around Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    The staff made up for an unimpressive stay. Currently two star at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this hotel was presumably given AA three stars after its last makeover. in the room that we had the furniture was tired the fittings hanging off the walls and the wallpaper was filthy as if a dog had been resident.

    Staff are friendly both in reception and dining and breakfast is varied and cooked well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Free breakfast is like waiting 1 hour on your table
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were so dirty it need immediate replacement as it’s unfair with the guest ... Also the furniture is so old I saw an insect on my hot kettle ..

    Rooms were spacious staff was ok and the location of the hotel is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel friendly receptionist staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had To wait on both morning at breakfast time for food First morning had 10-15 mins wait for toast m when we did get it it was on the wrong bread Second morning we waited nearly half hour for a traditional breakfast there was no communication from staff regarding the Delay

    Lovely hotel friendly receptionist staff Room was bigger than what we thought with ensuite Great location and had a lovely view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location and free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Third floor room was very small. Had carpet in the bathroom, awful to think of how that is kept clean around the toilet; this needs ripping out and replacing with a washable flooring. Walls were badly wallpapered; would be so much lighter and brighter if they were just painted a neutral colour with a couple of pieces of bright art work/prints.

    Breakfast was excellent. Bed linen was clean and fresh. Plenty of tea, coffee and milk in the room. Staff were lovely, local council do not help businesses like this on air show weekend as they don't allow them to take advantage of the extra custom in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs alot of updating, we changed rooms as our view was of bins and our room was very basic and dated. Breakfast service was very disorganised and slow

    The location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    It was ok but I wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dated and creepy. Breakfast service was really badly organised and the hotel in general needs alot of changes to bring it up to a good standard. The only good thing was one staff member who made our stay more bearable and swapped room for us as we were unhappy to a slightly better room

    The hotel is in a good location and the bar area is well kept

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everyday my friend found bugs in her bed, usually in a morning. On our last night for 2 hours in the early hours of the morning someone was pacing back and forth past our room.

    The service from the staff, the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    quiet relaxing fantastic views A1
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    does need bit of a update, but for the price everything tickety boo.

    was on the second floor, has a fantastic sea view overlooking the air show ensuite comfy bed, very clean, lovely freshly cooked breakfast, great price, very friendly staff who let me leave my bag there while I watched the airshow, has a bar, cant wait to go again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    Although the place is tired & dated we were aware of this from the onlinephotos.Staff were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place should have been updated 40 years ago & we wished someone could have cleaned the hand drawn the eye level picture of a penis from the window.

    Staff were friendly & efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    2 night stay racing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position on sea front.easy free parking outside hotel. Our room was very comfortable, very spacious had all we needed, enjoyed breakfast, staff very helpful. Would stay again. Good value for money hotel in good position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Run down hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down needs a complete refurb thread bare carpets bedroom windows all need replacing bedroom furniture very tatty pillows very uncomfortable all need replacing

    Ideal for the beach free parking bed linen clean and good quality breakfast room nicely decorated clean white table cloths

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are dated and scruffy. The breakfast wasn't great.

    Great value for money. Clean bedding, towels and bathroom. Friendly staff at check in and at the 24 hour bar. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Lovely location and friendly staff made the stay great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that we had time to watch them, the televisions in all rooms family stayed (2 in ours) did not work due to poor signals and all the bulbs in bedside lamps had blown.

    Location was ideal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t have mushrooms with my breakfast even though they had them. Said I had to order vegitarian breakfast

    Had to wait for breakfast so long ended up walking out and going to the cafe

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed, poor quality breakfast, bathroom facilities compare to a public toilet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a joke, tiny portion and poor quality, receptionist was unhelpful and gave me the wrong time for breakfast, charged me £30 on top of paying in full despite giving me a choice to do one or the other, bed had springs poking my back and shower had mouldy and mildew all over it plus bathroom smelt of urine, heating on full despite it being 20+ degrees outside.

    Very close to the beach and bars/restaurants etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Very close to everything brilliant views of the sea staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with updating but for the price it’s brilliant

    Very close to everything brilliant views of the sea staff was very friendly and the breakfast was lovely all in all it was a nice stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable and comfortable, would recommend for short breaks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers tended to have insufficient water pressure at night.

    Excellent staff, especially those in the dining room. Whilst the hotel is a little 'tired' in places its staff more than make up for that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite dated ie the decor it could really benefit an update.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Had a lovely stay, me and my daugher had a huge room, high ceilings and a view of the promenade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening entertainment (woman singing songs) wouldn't of been so bad but our room was on top of the bar. Couldn't hear the TV, 7yr old couldn't sleep till gone 11 after it stopped.

    Large bedrooms, lovely breakfast, pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Budget hotel which does not deserve 3 stars but overall it's adequate for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby hotel. Could do with a makeover. Were told at booking-in that bar would be open 24 hours - what a joke! You were lucky if you could find a staff member, sometimes waiting 20 minutes for service. Some areas looked like they needed a good clean, windows filthy, painted edges of stairs absolutely filthy as if they hadn't had a clean for years, chairs in lounge area very dirty. Cleaning standards overall very bad!

    Location was excellent. Clean towels in bathroom was really good but bathroom overall was very old and neglected.Staff were overall, very pleasant especially those at breakfast. Breakfast itself was generally ok with plentiful supplies of extra tea and toast so we went away very full. Overall we enjoyed our stay because of its location and accessibility to entertainment in Yarmouth.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    It was comfortable for one night but definitely suited for the elderly clientele.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole building is so dated, it was as if we had stepped back into the 80's. The reception area smelled of beer and stale smoke. The lamps in our room didn't work. The wardrobe was leaning up against the wall to keep it up right. The hotel name on both sides of the building were incomplete - which also made the building look run down from the outside.

    Location and free parking The property was dated and in need of a major make over but it served its purpose for one night with a small family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.3
    Yarmouth was lovey, hotel dirty and very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small in very poor condition, the whole hotel needs pulling down, window in room tiny breakfast very poor, carpet in bathroom dirty ,awful hotel would not stay there again.

    Nothing about the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    Bareable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was extremely over priced and rubbish

    Poor evening meal service and dependant on which manager and staff are on service is either really kind and friendly or shocking!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    This was our third stay at the Nelson and look forward to our fourth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a little slow on service. Put this down to maybe being short of staff to cater for the number of guests in residence.

    Location perfect, Staff very attentive, polite and welcoming. Good facilities with everything you need for your stay. Food quality excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Felt at times understaffed, Certain areas were shabby. Need a lick of paint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having taken my breakfast order,watched as others, 8 more people get theirs. Had to ask to chase up 3 times for toast.Again this went to other tables !

    Location,not noisy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    good value but not great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable, and the whole place looked a bit worse for wear. The hotel also needs some work to make it more accessible.

    Breakfast was good and staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel in good position near beach and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard fried eggs on cold unbuttered toast.Food is obviously cooked pre order which is why eggs were hard.

    Room and bathroom comfortable,clean and roomy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    No happy with the beds and decorating and light dont work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds was really hard and uncomforable and the springs on the mattress was digging into as and need a good paint and need decorateing bulbs gone and no plug for sink

    Sea view room was fair size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay and would return to the Nelson Hotel if ever we were in Great Yarmouth again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    At least replace the letters which are missing from the front of the hotel. IMO this gives the impression the hotel is run down but it is not.

    The outside of the hotel does not reflect the inside. The room we stayed in was lovely and big and also very clean. The staff had worked hard. Breakfast was fine with both the waiters very pleasant and very good at their job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location with pleasant and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked more choice for breakfast

    The location is absolutely perfect, right opposite side of Brighton pier,plenty of restaurants within walking distance,i would definitely go back there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Served a purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were quite uncomfortable and we stayed in a family room with a 3 year old and was woken several times in the night by loud people coming back.

    The location was really good, and staff were friendly. Price included breakfast which was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    The gentleman who was multi tasking as receptionist, barman...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn’t the cleanest.

    The gentleman who was multi tasking as receptionist, barman and waiter in the morning for breakfast was super friendly (unfortunately I didn’t get his name). The single bed was comfortable for the £25 I paid for the night so a nice bargain!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bath to short not long enough could not lay flat needs updated wallpaper torn Not enough plug sockets Noise from room above floorboards made a lot of noise when people walked on them car parking is poor as any one could use spaces and not enough of them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed my stay at Great Yarmouth, hotels benefits is that it is close to circus and pleasure beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Headboard was on a slant and room needed a good dusting, also went to run a bath and was lucky to get 6 inches of warm water

    Comfortable bed, close to attractions and sea view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    relaxing clean, comfy bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    lovely sea view, very good price, right on the sea front opposite the sea life centre, ensuite very lean same as the room, lovely breakfast, well worth the price,yes it does need a update, but for the price would go again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Def visit again
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could clean windows for a better view of seafront

    Paid £25 for a comfortable single room, entertainment in bar and a decent breakfast! Everyone polite and hotel clean. Great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Faded sea front hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room so small we could not open both our cases at the same time. Our room smelt really bad when we arrived we had to buy air freshener and keep the window open even though it was a cold day. Wi fi did not work even though advertised to work in public areas.

    Location right on sea front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing enough to both agree not to say after 10 mins of entering the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very dated, the carpet was old and wrinkling in areas, one of the single beds was squeaky and thread bear, the dressing table was old and tatty and whilst it has a sea view the window was old and small. Overall we were very disappointed and did not stay.

    The location is great, opposite the sea, near all activities and with parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.0
    Good weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds could have been better

    The beds were not comfy-notified Manager and they were replacing the beds. The cooked breakfast with Vegetarian option was thoughtful. The breakfast was excellent. All the staff friendly and courteous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely stay at the Nelson. Reception staff very nice. Location and sea views great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked WiFi in room.

    Loved the location. Room was nice. Breakfast nice. Everything very pleasant. Would of liked WiFi in the room. WiFi reception in public area hit and miss.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall pleasent stay. was fit for purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pipes noisy at night.

    Perfect location. Staff couldn't help enough. Provided overnight storage for cycles as many guests were taking part in cycling sportive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Value for money and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is really old with old style beds.. needs an upgrade. My room didnt have a hair dryer although i dont use them.

    The staff of the hotel is really courteous and very helpful. Location is the biggest plus of this hotel and obviously bar open till late an extra bonis

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Was just what we needed, breakfast was so good , the staff and rooms were fantastic. Will book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar menu wasn’t great and how the food was presented,, we had sandwiches, which came with tiny bit of salad and about 5 cheap crisps, very over priced

    Location was great, rooms very spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Spacious room with comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The décor was rather dated.

    Spacious room with comfy beds. Plenty tea, coffee & milk in the room. The full English Breakfast was lovely on the second day but the first day the scrambled eggs were rather overcooked & rubbery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful stay,will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a Kingsize,and Towels bigger

    My Fiance and i loved this hotel Right across the road from the beach,staff wonderful,food excellent,prices great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of some modernization in some areas can hear some traffic noise if busy

    Good value for money friendly staff nice sea views ok choice of breakfast family room was large

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    When first arriving the receptionist was very professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two young ladies during breakfast seemed to have attitude, our table they sat us at was not prepared, I asked for toast and once I reminded them the toast arrived after I had finished my full english, I had to ask for a cup to go with my pot of tea, I had to ask for sugar, I had to ask for jam to go with the toast. One toilet roll to share between four people over two nights, two of us had runny noses so did not help with toilet roll usage.

    When first arriving the receptionist was very professional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.4
    The reception staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise cleanse also my daughter left her teddy in the bed i contacted the hotel when we got home and they said it wasn't there.. it must of disappeared when the cleaner changed the seat's :-S

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    Thank goodness I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mostly everything, I was a bit scared to sleep on the bed to be honest. There are carpets in the bathroom, and they looked moldy. The room also smelled of cigarettes, when I asked for non-smoking room.

    Location & Heating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Traditional English holiday experience....... brilliant!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a pleasure to stay here. A traditional hotel, with nothing overstated, it overlooks the sea and is located in the centre of Yarmouths seaside facilities. Excellent breakfast, good bar. Room lovely fresh and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Nice room overlooking the sea life centre, with a good sea...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Nice room overlooking the sea life centre, with a good sea view, comfy bed, en suite, nice shower, toiletries lovely breakfast, don't have to book out til 11,am, has a lounge, and a bar, breakfast area overlooking the sea, for the price 30 pounds so stayed an extra night, yes it does need a update, but well worth the price, especially with a sea view, very nice staff as well, will go again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Everything was too much of an effort and when presented with a problem there were to many excuses.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The experience was not great from when arrived, when approaching the reception, you don't want to hear its an old building and it is what it is. No hot water in my room, I had to go down to reception at 05h45 to get a key for another room to have a shower. the staff serving breakfast on the first day were very inexperienced, I know people have to learn, but there is a difference between learning and joking around.

    Nothing really, until they address there issues I don't think I will be going back to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    most pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A jug of fresh water in the room would have been nice.

    The parking was a bit hit and miss i waited a hour for a space.The people in the next room was noisy and the pipes made lot of noise when the toilet filled up after use.The staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t very nice, egg and bacon undercooked and the portions were very small. I would not recommend the poached eggs on toast. The breakfast was quite dis-organised. This was the only thing that let it down.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    An enjoyable stay made all the better by staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television in room hardly worked. Reported to reception but were unable to fix. Seems to be an ariel problem.

    Excellent and friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable beds, Brilliant location. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, lovely breakfast and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that could have been better.

    Room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast lovely, Chris and Tony were very friendly and made sure we were happy with everything . Well done the Nelson !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.0
    Looked dreadful from the moment we arrived. Reception appalling, lift filthy and needs refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything run down and worn out. Thin shower curtain and dirty shower hose sums up the whole worn out paint needy experience. Needs total makeover to bring into 21st century. Redolent of seedy seaside accommodation mentioned by old music hall comedians.

    Spacious room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside of the hotel is very dated and could do with a refurb. We had a top floor room and unfortunately it was so hot in there it made the stay very uncomfortable.

    The hotel is in the perfect location. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Addiquit for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very outdated rooms very poor holes in carpets wallpaper a joke looked like a child and hung it bathroom really needs ripping out and redoing

    Loved the sea views location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    Pleasant but not indulgent in any way
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is in so much need of updating and painting. Staff were good but had to multi task and you were always searching for a barman!! We thought we had landed back in the 60's

    We only had breakfast and that was very good. Our room was okay but the family room for my daughter was grubby and curtains coming down so they changed and gave her another one. That was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: