Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of White Hart Hotel

High Street, Cricklade, SN66AA, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Cricklade

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 382 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.5
    A Walk in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room a little bit larger !

    The helpful and friendly staff ,with sometimes difficult situations. The location was very pleasant as the village is extremely pretty ,a typical 'country inn! '

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Underwhelming and very tired. Nice staff though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is tired and not really what you would expect of a lovely old coaching inn. The upsairs is a little dated to say the least and the en suite was also very dated. I have stayed in much nicer places for significanly less money. Please note - if you book through Booking.com you only get a continental breakfast! They want another £6 for a cooked breakfast as a supplement.

    The staff were pleasant and resolved the difficulies wih the wi-fi relatively quickly. It is definately the sort of place you would only stay in if you had to. I would not willingly go back if I was paying as it is very underwhelming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Good parking space behind the pub on a main road somewhat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they don't serve food on a Sunday evening which was a little bit of a problem for us because we arrived in the afternoon however there were other places we could eat

    Good parking space behind the pub on a main road somewhat noisy during the day but quiet at night with no problems easy access to nearby places and lots of interesting places to see p

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Nicely refurbished, large and airy family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public areas a little tired.

    Nicely refurbished, large and airy family room. Friendly and efficient staff. Good location. Good value. Breakfast served from 7.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Room was spacious, quiet and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was weak and would cut out every now and again. We were in the room furthest from the bar so probably at the limit of its range.

    Room was spacious, quiet and comfy. Staff efficient and friendly. Venue handy for everything in town with ample on street free parking. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    The staff were very helpful and even ensured our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and even ensured our room was ready for an early check in. The room was clean and well furnished. The bed was particularly comfortable and the hotel is very central for the village and highly recommended for those attending events in the Cotswolds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    will be back again to the White Hart without looking elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    being picky 2 bed side cabinets and lights not just 1 but that's being picky.

    room very comfy staff very nice and professional. Evening meal we had was one of the best we have had in long while. Sunday lunch was even better. whole experience of the white hart was 1st class.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Fair enough for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and pillows too hard for my comfort. The head on the shower would not stay in position.F

    A good location on the high street, friendly staff. A good sized room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Warm welcome. Great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many staircases and long corridors if you have mobility problems or are carrying a heavy suitcase. The décor is a little outdated but the management is doing its best to introduce a Scottish theme. A little overpriced ( maybe the fault of booking agencies as opposed to the hotel)although I expect prices are higher at the weekend which is when we stayed.

    The Staff make this hotel. They are young, enthusiastic and do a great job of management. I wish them well. The food is excellent. Extensive continental breakfast was included. Really comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Loved the evening meals, great attentive service, with very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, liked everything

    Loved the evening meals, great attentive service, with very friendly staff. Great breakfast, lots of choice. Enjoyed the cooked breakfast, the mushrooms were not greasy, delicious. Lovely brown granery bread, thickly sliced. My group had 4 rooms booked for 2 nights. We therefore tried most of the meal choices. All were excellent, thank you to a great chef, well recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay for a weekend holiday with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff, single room very satisfactory, clean and well equipped, meals were very good, excellent base for a weekend walking the source of the Thames

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Decent pub near the start of the Thames
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our group stayed in two rooms and one was very small (although the same price as the much larger one). Rooms and bathroom were very basic.

    Good value, friendly staff, nice restaurant, a light breakfast included

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Clean, basic and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay £13.50 for full ENGLISH BREAKFAST EACH. price too high for what you got. Coffee not that good either, husband given last of dregs in pot, not impressed but he wouldnt complain, hes not like that. went to a supermarket cafe on last day, Paid £11.95 FOR TWO BREAKFASTS AND DRINKS AND MUCH BETTER.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    good place for a walker on the thames path
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the white hart was straightforward and unpretentious. So really nice, and the staff were friendly in a non-push way. the meal was good value, lots of it which is good for walkers. Breakfast also good. great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    A good night's sleep in a pretty village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant didn't smell particularly appealing.

    It's a decent hotel in a nice historic building. There are plenty of other places in the high street to eat. Watch the portion sizes in The Ancient Raj curry house opposite, they are extremely generous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely wonderful - they even waited up for us when we arrived at 1am due to a severely delayed flight, which was VERY much appreciated! The room was fantastic - it was huge and very comfortable. We felt right at home!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 10 had an odd chemical smell in the bathroom noticeable when the windows were shut. It wasn't drains, the whole hotel was spotless. There was work going on below which might be the cause.

    Comfy beds had clean white sheets. Bathroom was clean and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was ample. The staff without exception were charming and very hard working.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Avoid if you want an air conditioned room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air conditioning in the room and the usual High Street traffic noise

    We could not make breakfast for the two mornings and they organised breakfast packs for us. Very nice and friendly staff. Helpful and accommodating. The Restaurant area and room were very, very warm and somewhat uncomfortable but otherwise can fully recommend the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    An excellent stay and perfect location for the Air Tattoo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment. It would be nice if the curtains had black out lining as the south facing rooms get very hot.

    The staff were excellent.Our special thanks to Jeanie and Louisa who went out of their way to help and always had a smile on their faces though it was incredibly busy .Well done-we appreciated it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    The building structure is lovely the location is amazing and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture and decoration within the room could do with a major update in quality or just age considering how much I paid I was not impressed by the aesthetic of the interior

    The building structure is lovely the location is amazing and the staff were very accommodating of my late arrival and helpful with check in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was extremely hot when we went. Air con would have been lovely

    Rooms were a bit dated but were very clean. The shower was lovely and powerful and the bed very comfortable. All the staff were very nice and the location was lovely. Sunday roast was delicious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Facilities good would not recommend for families with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived with our 3 children we instantly felt on edge regarding the Large signs saying If children are running around you will be asked to leave. We got the impression that children were not welcome here at all ! Needles to say if you are promoting or selling family rooms the chances are they will have children

    Could not fault the facilities or room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value hotel in a lovely area. Did the job fine for my trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little dated decor and bathroom sink had a dirty stain which looked like a cigarette but had been stubbed out there. Tea coffee options in the room were limited to instant coffee and regular tea. Few other options would be nice decaf/herbal etc.

    Booked the hotel for an event in the area. Was close by and allowed a very early check out which was good. Room was fine for the price, with plenty of space and tv, kettle etc. Plenty of clean towels and bed linen was good. Left before breakfast unfortunately.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    perfect for a 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no problem with the cleanliness but rooms tired and basic....however perfectly fine for us!

    bed was very comfortable and room very clean. Breakfast was good and they had kindly provided lacto free products for us....thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor in the overall stay. Beware the water temperature - the hot is very hot! The shower would suddenly change from comfortable to very hot or cool down due I guess to other users turning the taps on/off. But it was a good shower in a newly reffurbished bathroom.

    Very friendly staff. Good continental breakfast. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Bedroom was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very nice. Clean & comfortable. A little dated in public areas but food& service were really good. Great location for The Thames Path.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Massively overpriced for what it is. Our room stunk of sewerage. Will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was £70 per night. This is hugely overpriced. As soon as we walked into our room it stunk of sewerage. The bathroom absolutely stunk. Not very pleasant to sleep with that smell. We told the staff who just said ‘oh sorry about that.’ Would not return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Basic accommodation with an amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit tired, and our friends in another room said that their bathroom had a bit of a smell, but our room was fine. Just don't arrive hungry at 3pm on a Sunday, as they had just stopped serving lunch, and we were told that the other pub down the road was still serving food, but turns out that they also were not serving. But there is a mini supermarket across the street.

    The continental breakfast was amazing! I cant speak highly enough of this breakfast, and would stay again for this alone. Location is right on the high street. Bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly on check-in, but gave us wrong info about food availability in town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Filthy, run down ,over priced ...see my photos !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy windows and rubber seals disgusting as was hot tap a dump with holes in stair carpets and two single beds pushed together bathroom was awful i woke at 5 a.m no heating and a thin duvet ws not adequate so dressed and had retless nap till leaving cups chipped , one had a lump of milf or some think in it so skipped breakfast

    Leaving

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    This is a lovely hotel to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance into the bathroom was down a couple of stairs which normally is not a problem but the height of the doorway was also very low so one had to be very careful indeed not to wallop your head. A small matter...but it did hurt!

    A lovely hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    A good clean rustic hotel with friendly welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Additional £6 per head charge for an English breakfast when a continental breakfast cost has automatically been taken in the booking and a café across the road is advertising a full breakfast for £4.95

    Comfy bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean rooms, nice staff and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was facing the high street and every morning we would hear the same dog barking. Woke me up every morning. Overhearing another guest, they said it was a taxi driver’s dog or someone who brings the dog just outside the hotel. Breakfast was very basic. Not much options. Should be more with the price paid.

    Clean room and toilet - the shower had a strong pressure. Tv on the wall and a fantastic bedside light that you can agjust for brightness. Hotel staff were friendly and even went and got soya milk for breakfast. Very kind! Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, relaxing stay with pleasant friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with directions to the car park at the rear of the Hotel.

    Location was good,food was excellent with pleasant friendly staff. Room very comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice Loaction to Explore a Cute Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though the White Hart is right on the High Street, and our room was above the pub, noise was not an issue. Nice continental breakfast was included. Very nice modern shower, with good water pressure and quality towels. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and convenient stay in Cricklade
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some decor a little dated.

    Right in the heart of the village. Handy for pub/restaurant downstairs. Perfect for a stay if you are stopping for the night when walking the Thames path. Worth paying for the full breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    A very pleasant stay that fulfilled our expectations and exceeded them in certain ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a small point: the car park is at the rear of the property, and not easily found by unfamiliar visitors. On arrival, there's no indication how to find the reception, so a small sign, pointing the way would be helpful.

    The staff were really pleasant and helpful. <My wife has special dietary needs and, since we were celebrating her birthday, I asked if the chef could accommodate these. The waitress was very helpful and the chef even came to ask my wife exactly what she would prefer. Brilliant service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant. Nice food at Red lion down the road .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat did not work the one night of our stay. Was told new boiler need a part. But staff were helpful and offered breakfast upgrade. Very friendly. Would stay again.

    Clean and comfy room. Good bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    It worked for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was more than hard No hooks for wet towels in bathroom and little space for ladies bathroom kit.

    Lovely friendly efficient all-rounder lady from originally Surrey

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    A nice break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many small children in the bar on Sunday night until late.

    Good food and excellent restaurant meals. Warm, comfy room and bed. Good bar with good beer at a very competitive price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Must return soon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only faut i could really find was the chair in my room was too short for the desk making working on my laptop difficult, it was soon sorted by sitting on a pillow!!

    I was particularly impressed with the food at this place when i first walked in it was busy with early evening diners and i soon found out why! being a bit of a foodie i am always keen to sample new places and the White Hart is now on the must return soon list

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.8
    £45 -£50. Not £65 +12 for breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not good value at £12. Carpets in room very low quality. Poor decor in room and hallways. Nails where pictures used to be on the wall carpets worn where your shoe hits the stair risers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    All services (Bar, food and breakfast) all in one location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No curtains/blind in the bathroom. only one side table and lamp by the double bed

    All services (Bar, food and breakfast) all in one location. staff very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    They were very good in responding my gluten allergy dietary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind. My room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and attentive.

    They were very good in responding my gluten allergy dietary needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Yeah fine. Will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was only a continental breakfast and had to pay an extra £6 on top of the extra I already paid for breakfast I thought was a little steep.

    The staff and room were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Interesting & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had such a good time it seems unnecessary to be negative about anything. The only slightly annoying things were the squeaky floor boards in the room above us and a slightly unpleasant smell in the bathroom.

    The beds were comfy. Room was warm. Breakfast was really good - continental. Great home cooked ham & lovely fresh bread & pastries. All the staff were friendly, attentive & efficient. Enjoyed our evening meals. Location was good for exploring local heritage & walking along the Thames. A very peaceful and relaxing place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Served purpose of somewhere to sleep whilst attending a function in another venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very cold on arrival. Shower cubicle and ceiling covered with black mould, no heating in bathroom.

    convenient location. Good continental breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location in friendly pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in room was difficult to get to correct temperature. Windows in bedroom had been left open when we arrived which made room cold - it was November! Walkway to rear car park very slippery & could have caused an accident.

    Lovely food in bar. Good selection of ales. Comfy beds. Great location in middle of town. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    My husband and I were made very welcome at this comfortable and friendly ‘no frills’ inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d have liked a hairdryer in the room and the offer of a newspaper would have saved us having to go out to buy one. Otherwise it was all good

    The staff were incredibly cheerful, helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable, breakfast was extensive and fresh and we loved relaxing by the log fire.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, friendly and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a bit of an update

    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed, very good choice for breakfast! All in all very good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location for visiting a lovely part of the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just what we were looking for. Central location which was ideal for our weekend. Staff, rooms and food were excellent and represented great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was very good plenty of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance from the rear carpark across the decking was very wet and slimy consequently I slipped and fell banging my head and bruising my neck and shoulder. There was another entrance which was shown to me the next day after reporting the accident which I think should be used all the time as it by passes the decking.

    Breakfast was very good plenty of choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    A friendly hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though I had booked a single room the bed was a small double and had a large bathroom which was very nice. As breakfast started at 8.00 on the weekend they kindly packed up a take away breakfast for me as I had an early start.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    a nice i
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy radiator in room so turned it off

    The room was spacious and the bed large and comfy. Meal at the restaurant was excellent. Hotel was well situated and staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wooden decking to the side night time entrance was slippery

    Can't remember if there was disabled access. We had to leave before breakfast time but we were offered a packed up breakfast - nice touch. Evening meal excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    Excellent base between first two legs of Thames Path.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loo needs fixing. It's one of those macerating ones and never completely refilled so every few seconds it emitted it's awful noise as it tried to fill. The rooms are in a pub but even Cricklade has noisy lads who were outside our window on a Sunday evening. Room was also too warm for me. Ok value for money but room and bathroom looking a bit tired.

    The breakfast included in the price was very good with good quality products particularly the ham.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    A comfortable,pleasant small town hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Have to comment on the restaurant menu, would have liked it to have been a little more varied, but to be fair I did enjoy the meals that I had there (great shepherd's pie)

    This was the third time that we have used this hotel as it is handily(and reasonably priced) for the events that we wished to attend. The staff are friendly and helpful, there is a comfortable bar area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty (thick dust, smell, cobwebs on inside of windows) and in desperate need of refurbishment (paper peeling off, blown double glazing, broken tiles). We spoke to a member of staff, and told her that we were unhappy with the state of the room and that it did not provide good value for money. She promised to email me when she had inspected the room - which she did not. All in all, very disappointing, especially as we were travelling with a toddler and could not feel comfortable with him exploring the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    The staff were excellent and very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent and very friendly. As a single female traveller I was nervous about staying in a pub but on arrival couldn't have been made to feel more comfortable and at ease. The evening meal was excellent, the Hot Rocks Steak was simply the best. Would highly recommend. The building was old with creaky floorboards which did disturb slightly but not overly. Skirting boards could have done with a dust but linen and towels were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    short stay prior to a triathlon --
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice room -clean and spacious .. Had to leave early morning but was given a good packed breakfast . Good atmosphere throughout -very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    for an overnight stay it is adequate but I would not like to stay for a longer period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was traditional pub grub so we decided to eat elsewhere as we don't do burgers, chicken and chip meals.

    There were a few indications in our room that ongoing maintenance is not all it could be, such as a towel rail that fell off the wall if you looked at it, a bathroom door that had no lock, severe corrosion on the sink tap. But at the budget prices on offer these were minor inconveniences for us but for other travellers they might become problematic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old hotel/pub in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two double rooms for myself, my husband and two small children- we had left it too late to book a family room. One room was very spacious and the other quite small, but both were the same price. Only a minor quibble though- we really liked the hotel.

    The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The location on Cricklade High Street was perfect. The pub has a lovely traditional feel. While the building is very old, the bathrooms are modern and clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understaffed at breakfast, one person, serving, cooking, replenishing who did a really good job but shouldn't have had to. Evening menu bit boring and limited.

    Room and location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    ideal stop on Thames path
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room a good size with a comfortable bed.Let down by the en-suite very dated and needs a complete overall shower tricky hot or cold being a builder I can spot these things room 12

    very friendly staff good beer wine etc very good breakfast would def book again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast. At an extra £6 it wasn't really worth it. The mushrooms were black and the sausages almost burnt. It was just tasteless unfortunately.

    The bed was extremely comfortable - like my own at home. Everything was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Comfy for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor decking very unappealing to drink/eat out on. Roof falling down above picnic table. Food was not great, very greasy.

    Comfy beds, good family room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Competitively priced but basic place to stay if you need to be in Cricklade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dont like having to pay on arrival. No fridge in room which was pretty dated - almost like a spare bedroom. So no comforts..but you get what you paid for and it served a purpose.

    Likes - price is pretty good - £70/room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    not bad for a last minute booking.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room booked during recent heatwave and was therefore very warm... hotel offered a slightly inefficient fan to help cool the room which did help but was taken from the chef.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Really good room for a family / 4 people, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get the shower to work so had bath instead, small niggle as only stayed for one night.

    Really good room for a family / 4 people, good value. Friendly staff, good location ( family wedding at cotswold water park, 5 mins drive away) Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    The whiteness of the linen, and room decor and space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One armchair had a broken leg. The shower didn't appear to work (or maybe we didn't understand how to make it work)

    The whiteness of the linen, and room decor and space

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place, wish I could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't there long so there was nothing I didn't like

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and the continental breakfast which was included in our booking was great, lots of variety including home cooked ham which was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and clean for a short stay in beautiful village!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks a bit shabby from the outside and they didn't serve food on Sunday night... Though not a problem as other pubs in the village did.

    The staff were very friendly. The family room was very spacious clean and comfortable and had the bonus of a separate little sitting area with a TV which my little boy loved!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    will stay at the white hart again if we visit cricklade in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food was not available on sunday evening. would have liked the opportunity to have selected full breakfast at time of booking rather than having to organise on arrival.

    friendly and accommodating staff. large comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely village hotel with fantastic staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Staff were fantastic at the bar in the evening, great food and excellent service. Room was large, clean and very comfortable. Only grabbed a coffee on the go in the morning but staff were very helpful and ensured coffee was fresh and hot for my journey.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    friendly welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing to mention here

    We felt well looked after. We were walking the Thames path & were able to leave luggage at hotel - dropping it off & collecting when convenient. We ate in hotel - menu varied & food excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Super stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have good to have boiled eggs available at breakfast.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make us welcome and help towards our super stay. We ended up eating all our meals here and having a relaxing and fun time. Plus the ham was very tasty!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: