Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of White Hart Hotel 3 stars

Church Street, St Austell, PL25 4AT, United Kingdom

#22 of 26 B&Bs and Inns in St Austell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 599 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.1
    What we expected for the price. Room average at best - dated and just meeting basic requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and food were good. Local ales and reasonably priced pub food. Staff very helpful, friendly and professional. Room very basic but what we expected for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Overall a nice old hotel, but choose your room position carefully away from the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room position was on the front of the hotel and it was quite noisy from street noise, Also the hotel fire alarm was activated 3 times over night and that was very disturbing when trying to get some sleep after a 5 hour drive to get there!! Not too pleased with that

    The hotel room, staff and food etc were fine

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing. Couldn’t ask for more. We rung quite late after a very bad experience in another local property. The staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and even upgraded our room for free after they heard our ordeal. Excellent breakfast. Polite professional staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone !!! Well done all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.5
    After an inauspicious start, it worked out quite well. All the staff on site did their best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 18, also known as the Pentewan Suite, is new and accessed via the rear courtyard that faces on to the South Street main road and houses the smokers’ retreat, which is either a plus or minus according to taste. It's worth noting that reception and the breakfast room are reached via ten external steps, which is fine when dry but less so when wet. A golfing umbrella might be handy. This was all a big improvement on what we had been offered - and declined - on arrival. Room 14 is a pokey little place which is 30 steps up from the reception desk, much of it with no handrails. (There are no lifts. We were offered help with our bags – though what we really needed was help with our bodies!) Annoyingly, in what should only ever have been sold as a single room has a useless wardrobe that sticks out into the already cramped room. Although its footprint is large, it provides very little usable space as the sole shelf is above head height and is occupied by the spare pillows. There are few hangers and no shelves or drawers for underwear. For good measure, the viewless window is just above the kitchen extraction outlet. We were told that 14 was a “standard" room and room 18 was a "premium" one so we were charged an extra £60 to switch. Visitors might want to note that we were asked for the full balance up front before being shown room 14, so perhaps it has provoked unfavourable reactions before! Just as well for the management, perhaps, that there are no real competitors within easy reach of the station. Unfortunately, this is not a good place to stay for people with significant mobility problems and wheelchair users would find it a nightmare, even in the newer rooms.

    The room 18 bedroom is quite roomy, the mattress is comfortable and there is plenty of storage space. However, when we moved in, it smelled faintly musty. A large fan was supplied, which we didn’t need, but ventilation might be an issue in high summer. The bathroom is large and well equipped. The walk-in shower cubicle is particularly generous and has excellent hand-rails, which is a comfort when you need to stand back while the over-elaborate shower mechanism starts up. There are no shower instructions so, for the record, the right hand knob alters which spout is fed, either the handheld or the overhead nozzle. The left-hand knob controls the temperature and flow of water. Once you have your pilot's licence, it's quite a pleasant experience. The good news is tyhe catering. In the fancy restaurant on our first night, I had baked cod with vegetables and my companion had mussels with chips, both of which were excellent. Breakfast offered a good range of cereal, full Cornish and a very enjoyable eggs benedict with real ham and perfectly runny eggs. Our second evening we ate in the bar which is significantly cheaper and rightly popular and the food was equally good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    We felt we'd made a good choice for a stay of several nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is an old building with steep stairs, and some rooms are quite small. It didn't matter to us, but could be a problem for someone with restricted mobility, or expecting chain-hotel facilities.

    Friendly staff, good food at a reasonable price, comfortable bed though not much storage space in room. Free wifi and free parking - though it can fill up. Location is great for the Eden Project and the Lost Garden of Heligan, and the town centre is a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Good central location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and bed a but soft. The person who checked us out was very unfriendly to the point of being rude. The other staff were lovely

    Free car park, good breakfast. Some staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The bed was large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park which was on the other side of the main road could be a problem if you got back after 6pm-ish as it was always full and you would have to park in a fee paying car park instead. The room was pricey for just a couple, more reasonable for a family of 3. There were quite a few stairs to negotiate as there was no lift.

    The bed was large and comfortable., as was the room. The restaurant food was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Welcoming, clean, warm, relaxing,. 😁
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and the bed and bed linen is super quality, the towels are perfect sizes and the shower was amazing. The breakfast was excellent and the buffet selection was outstanding, the breakfast experience was relaxed and the staff are very friendly and courteous. We highly reccomend staying at The White Hart and we will stay here again.😁

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    My room had recently been renovated, was very clean, and serviced every day. Breakfast was excellent: several choices for cooked dishes and a generous buffet of cereals, fruits, yoghurt. And all this at low rates! The pub downstairs is welcoming and cosy in case you want a nightcap.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Really nice hotel just a pity about some of the male staff who were not helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no Sunday lunch available and it had sold out very early. The staff were not helpful re.parking. The bar man got annoyed when I pointed out he had brought the wrong drink for one of my children and then told me if I wanted a liquor coffee I would have to wait fifteen minutes. Very unfortunate attitude.

    The room was comfortable and clean. In the morning the staff were friendly and kind as I had a flat tyre. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    We were disappointed with our room, tatty and far too small. But excellent food and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. Too small for a double. Bed too small and on a slope, my husband kept falling out of bed! More suitable as a single room, no room to manoeuvre around bed and no storage for clothes, lack of shelf in wardrobe, broken. Overall, very disappointing.

    Bar food and breakfast very good. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Great tourist location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is aimed more at tourists than business travelers, for example breakfast in only available from 7.30. Car park was overfull and getting out in the morning was difficult.

    Staff were very helpful in the reception and restaurant. Bar area well planned. Food quality good with a good choice of dishes both in the bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Although hotel was a big surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately is not much to do at St.Austell...we arrived there on Sunday at 14.00 and pretty much everything was closed there..just few pubs and takeaways open..;-(and hotel is close to church so you can hear bells all the time that's a big minus:-(

    Although hotel was a big surprise...very clean and comfortable beds...breakfast was delicious..had a good time with my family...thank you all for making that weekend memorable for us:-*

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for us as we just needed an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could clean under the beds! Found someones sock poking out from one end! Plus the room smelled of the toilet cleaner they used in the en suite. Also I got lost trying to get back to my room as all the staircases lead into each other...but it was amusing not annoying!

    Staff were really helpful and friendly. Food was delicious...especially the cheesecake!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly adequate room and facilities for our two night stay. Good above average!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress and pillows were extremely soft and quite in comfortable (a personal thing). Decor felt a little tired and standard of cleaning below par.

    Staff incredibly welcoming and helpful. Excellent food both breakfast (included) and evening meals - a wide choice both in the bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    6/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrendous noise outside hotel. 1 sausage 1 bacon on brekkie. Miserable barman until he got s tip Rooms too small Cheese wedges covered in grease

    Ladies saving breakfast 👍 Location for train station Bar area nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Two night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff couldn't do enough for you, very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely stay again.

    Great prices, very efficient staff nothing was to much trouble. Great choice for breakfast. Room was lovely and the good thing is toy can open up the window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    St austell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in room( did have fan), room doors needing to be slammed shut due to carpet rubbing on bottom of door , limited parking

    Very clean throu out, room very clean , staff very good customer service, food top notch. Location very good , free parking ( limited spaces)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Deceiving pictures on their webpage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is tiny. The space is so narrow that when you open the door to enter the room you touch the bed. The bathroom didn't look even close to the one on the pictures on booking.com Also, the bathroom had damp on the floor (I uploaded pictures) and generally was in a bad condition.

    Hotel is close to town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Breakfasts were really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park across a really busy road. Extremely difficult to move across with all your luggage. All hotel staff (except a lady who was in charge of breakfast on Monday morning) were gloomy and noone would greet you. Cleaning of the room was poor quality. Not enough towels were left. The biggest disappointment was a bar staff and the way they treated us in Sunday.

    Breakfasts were really good. Big choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Booked for a short touring break ....It was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs.....but no way round that.It is a character property Not suitable for those with limited mobility

    The White Hart is perfectly placed for touring Cornwall. Small private car park which is free of charge. Best thing is the fabulous food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated. Needs a revamp.

    Wonderful staff. Good range of meals on the bar menu. Ideally situated for Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project. Plenty to see and do in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    The food was lovely, served hot and on a hot plate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Following a room clean we found the coffee cups had only been wiped out, there were still marks left in the bottom from our previous use.

    The food was lovely, served hot and on a hot plate. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Ecxellence all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was pretty perfect. Even looked forward to the chimes of the church bell!

    Food was fantastic. Great value for money. Staff were all really pleasant. Room was excellent, even got help with our luggage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Food was awful, under cooked meat, found a bit of plastic in...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was awful, under cooked meat, found a bit of plastic in the mash and took an hour to come out. Bed is not supportive at all and I woke up with a bad back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast good and very hot but morningroom too small and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. The smell and noice from the street/outside and neighbor room. Glad we Got moved at last eventhougt they didn't want to at first.

    Breakfast good and very hot but morningroom too small and not easy to get around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    The food in the restaurant and bar very good and handy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a double room but it was very small and the bathroom tiny room really only suitable for a single person and again feel as we have booked direct with booking.com we were given a poor room.

    The food in the restaurant and bar very good and handy location for the train station. An attractive building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    We were very happy with our stay, and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steep stairs to our second floor room, and no lift. Difficult for disabled visitors to stay there.

    Very homely feeling to the hotel. Friendly staff, superb breakfast cooked to order and included in the price. Clean, comfortable room with all facilities. Great selection on lunch/dinner menu and the evening meal we ate was superb. Overall excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Was ok for what I needed, but the 4.30 wake up call courtesy of the gulls not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The other guests on my floor slamming doors after 11.00 at night and banging around. Very limited channel options on the TV.

    The bed was very comfy although the room was hot, having the window open meant you got the traffic noise and then from 04.30 the seagulls. Know the Hotel very well having lived in St Austell for over 30 years. Loved the proper hair dryer - big bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    The food at night was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny double room, we had to keep suitcases in bathroom, to get past the single wardrobe you had to turn sideways and shuffle, floors sloped so constantly off balance, very noisy and not disabled friendly. Carpark across a very busy road.

    The food at night was very nice. Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. Location was good as a base to visit other sites. Glad to leave, my legs are covered in bruises.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff, the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were put in was a box room less than 3m x 3m , it had a single wardrobe only we had to leave most of our things in our case. When we asked for a bigger room they said they were full, they said ‘they did not like putting people in to room 8 if they were staying 3 nights, but it was booking .com, we got move on our last night and the room was lovely. We would have give the hotel a good report if we had been in the second room, we paid 30 pound extra for this room, I would have paid the extra from the beginning. I got the impression it is down to booking .com, we did book in January and still ended up with the worst room in the hotel. Not a happy.

    The staff, the food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception were slow. Charged £3 to give us one layer of ice in the bottom of a bucket that was no use for cooking our anniversary bubbles.

    Breakfast was good. Room was very hot and noisy with street traffic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing stay at White Hart Hotel Find
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had booked 2 rooms via booking.com but on arrival only one room available. Due to a festival nearby and an event at Eden Project the town was booked out. Reception staff were excellent. Management should take a lead from some of their staff. Breakfast very limited choice.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location for rail travellers with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was at the rear and smoking area was right outside. Nothing appeared to have been cleaned in the room during our stay. The bed was made but that appeared to be it. For the price I would have expected a bit more.

    Lovely staff, really good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    The perfect quality establishment and place to relax after a day at the Eden Project.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was somewhat noisy (Saturday Night) due to young people attending a nightclub venue closeby, but there are ear muffs available at the reception if you need to use them. The wonderful room and comfort factor far outweighs the slight inconvenience.

    The staff at the White Hart were welcoming and so polite and well mannered, it made a good impression for us. We arrived quite late and our bags were taken to our room which was a great help. Afterwards although it was very late we were able to take some refreshments even though the other guests had already left the lounge area. Our room was fantastic, very tastefully decorated and with nice focal points, very comfortable and far better than we had imagined it would be. The bathroom was beautiful and so spacious you could easily do your morning exercise there. I would have to admit that this has been the loveliest bathroom/shower room in a hotel where I have stayed during my travels, and plenty of space in the shower to turn around. In the morning we took breakfast in an equally tastefully decorated dining room, and the breakfast was perfect. When we arrived there was also some acoustic music being played in the lounge, which would have been very nice to hear if we had arrived earlier during the evening. The hotel is also very close to the railway station. We would certainly like to book a room here again next time there is an event to attend at the Eden Project, where we need to stay overnight, it is far more comfortable than where we have stayed previously.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in the centre of St Austell with helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel in the centre of St Austell with helpful, pleasant staff who are very welcoming. The room was a good size, very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The bar area and restaurant were vibrant and again the staff serving us drinks were great. There is a secure carpark across the road which is a bonus. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Warmly welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I stayed again I would upgrade my room, we only booked a standard double and whilst very clean it was a tad on the small size and being at the top of the building, very hot, so we were much appreciative of the fan that was supplied.

    As with any service industry, a hotel's greatest asset or otherwise are its staff and at the White Hart they were excellent, attentive without being intrusive, nothing was any trouble, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    A good base for a short visit to Cornwall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seagulls a bit noisy early in the morning, not that there's much that be could be done!

    Modernised in keeping with the traditional building. A comfortable base for a short break in Cornwall and handy for the Eden Project..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Cooked breakfast good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service for bar meals at times slow. Scaffolding outside bedroom;late afternoon noise .

    Cooked breakfast good;croissants were hard;bar meals were good Bedroom recently refurbished;very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    A very pleasant stay whilst visiting family in the area and within easy links to local transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was a little bit soft for our liking.

    Breakfasts were really nice with plenty of choice and the bar area was nice and comfortable with very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited parking which meant we had to park at a nearby pay and display which led to concerns re vehicle security. Very noisy location which, as it was Saturday night, meant we had little sleep.

    Nice big room. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Water was always lukewarm, not hot enough Room was too warm, no air con. No room safe

    The location The rooms were comfortable Friendly, efficient staff Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Has a lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to do something about the car park.

    This staff were great, l left a top at the hotel and when I rang they put it in the post that day and I got it the next.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Visiting the Gardens of Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church bells, close to train and bus station, good breakfast, bar and lounge good value for dinner, comfortable bed and good size bathroom, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and polite at all times,the food in the restaurant was very good but I feel that the room we stayed in was a little small and in need of a revamp, wardrobe door need fixing and the bed mattress need to be replaced.nice break

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Felt welcomed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very quiet, both inside and within the town. All facilities are at hotel, for example all meals. Cheerful for single female traveller. Large room. Close to train and bus station. Breakfasts good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.5
    Apart from our experience in the restaurant in the morning very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like to have breakfast in the restaurant. The only disappointment in our stay when a table could have been cleared within a few minutes.

    Food in bar good value. Bathroom good. Good to have window in there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Short, relaxed break for a friends wedding made extra comfy by staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was a little expensive. Monday morning fire alarm test.

    Friendly helpful staff and a wonderful atmosphere day or night. Amazing food served in the bar and restaurant, with one of the best breakfast selections I’ve ever seen. Great town centre location with secure onsite parking. Our room had a large on suite bathroom with really good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.4
    Wonderful evening menu. Would not stay there again but would eat there. I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for the price. Second floor room made access difficult with suitcases on narrow staircase, no offer of help with this.

    Evening menu excellent. Staff helpful and friendly. We were in location we wanted to be.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    A very enjoyable stay, thankyou.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows in the room rattle in the wind and our view was of a pile of rubbish and building material. There was only one member of staff serving breakfast in the morning so lots of things were running out.

    Really comfy bed, tidy room, friendly managemer and staff. Manager even got her husband to help sort out our heating! Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.4
    Very poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very badly lit. Decor very poor. Dirty carpet edges,cracked tiles/ tiles with drill holes, paint flaking off bathroom ceiling, wallpaper peeling at edges,lampshade badly cracked and damaged. Plaster falling off wall in stairwell. Radiator cowling hanging off. Drill holes left from old fixings. Both bathroom and bedroom in desperate need of redecorating. Breakfast was eggs Benedict - eggs were hardboiled not soft-boiled, ham was cold and sauce lukewarm.Room very cramped for a twin room.

    Downstairs reception and bar were very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.0
    Ruined by no heating in late December and exceptional rudeness of a staff member.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was freezing from arrival at 16.30 due to no central heating in my bedroom and en suite which, despite multiple complaints and staff ineractions, remained unresolved until some luke warm heat appeared for a short time on waking. I was given a little oil radiator but it made no impact warming a room that started off very cold. Bathroom really chilly. 2 seperate staff members said on walking in 'is the window open?' . The heating was fine everywhere else. Also I experieced exceptional rudeness of one member of staff in regard to this matter. Ive never been spoken to as a paying customer like it in my life and will take this unacceptable matter further with hotel management after the Christmas break.

    Hot, hot cooked breakfast. Most staff helpful and pleasant. Handy central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    suited our needs perfectly, very central, and great to have parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very smelly when we arrived, although it was very clean. It dissipated a little after a while. A bit hard getting up the stairs,but that is to be expected in old character buildings.

    Huge bed, central location, great meal in the dining room, and we loved the bar with the fire and Xmas trees, also in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Will be spending more time here as we are regular visitors to the hospice up the road. Very good x
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Member of bar staff messed up some of our cocktails but I think he was New and Just learning so it was easy mistake to make, they were exchanged without any hassle

    Comfy beds and very very helpful understanding staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable small hotel in a good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on an inside corner, overooking a small yard, and consequently rather gloomy. The lighting in the room didn't adequately compensate for this.

    Decent sized double room. Large ensuite with a bath. Nice comfortable bed and good quality bed linen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    FAIR VALUE IE QUALITY FOR PRICE OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our ROOM SIZE A LITTLE SMALL/ODD SHAPE IE LONG AND NARROW (booked in a classic room) WINDOWS RATTLED IN THE WIND SOME TLC NEEDED IN public areas heating not controllable in room -found it too warm when on also too warm in public area !

    FRIENDLY STAFF BED COMFORTABLE ( prefer larger size ,we had a double ) FOOD OK good to have some live music (Friday night)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Very handy situated in heart of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cramped room. Needs updating.

    Good choice and quality breakfasts. Very friendly and helpful staff Location was good too plus free parking although limited

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, great food and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was extremely warm, we found the room for breakfast too warm some days.

    Hotel was right in centre of St Austell. Food was delicious, staff were very good and room was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Great accommodation and pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't welcomed to the town or hotel and we weren't offered any help with recommendations or local knowledge, we weren't asked if we had a good stay

    We were given a suite which was amazing, I've had smaller flats! The bar area was lovely with a nice open fire

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    A great way to spend a few days away and enjoy the whole exerience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing!!

    If you are looking for a modern pristine hotel then read no more! The hotel is a well maintained traditional older style establishment with a cosy old world relaxing atmosphere. The staff are efficient and friendly, nothing is too much trouble even to the point of welcome after you have been out for the day, when you are greeted with a "Welcome Home" :). Quality of food is very good with a varied selection on the menu. They have smaller portions which are generous in size as well as regular meals in the bar. Oldies can get 2 courses for £6.95 on Tuesday and Thursdays. Well situated in the centre of town to all the usual amenities. When we stayed all the festive decorations were in place which made the atmosphere even more relaxed. Breakfast menu had a wide range of the usual and un-usual fare bit nevertheless delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Love staying here we try and book places that have music at night noise does not bother us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we did not like about our stay

    This is our second stay here we had the King room number 3 gorgeous underfloor heating in bathroom lovely bath and large shower area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Overnight stay
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We stayed in room 6, which was ideal

    Recently improved Wi-Fi. Having stayed before, Wi-Fi was very poor in parts of the hotel. Now with upgraded boosters, no problems were experienced

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with friendly staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here as it was easy to get to both the gardens of Heligan and the Eden project. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and it was a luxury to have a big bath. The breakfast was tasty and also had gluten free bread which was an added bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    If you must stay in St Austell then this pub is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like double glazing. Please remove the large, incongruous wardrobe/storage cupboard from the first floor landing.

    Friendly staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    nice town centre inn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good food, comfortable room and very friendly staff. location was great for seeing st austell, and for getting on the road to see further afield.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    The staff were pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room I had booked was upgraded and was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very enjoyable and there was a good range of cooked options to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable......
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I do not eat cooked breakfast and wanted porridge but was told it was not available???????

    The staff are the best thing in this hotel....nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Charming old building that has been upgraded to give an excellent, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The car park wasn’t very big, but we were lucky to get a space each day. In high season it could be a problem.

    Room a good size and king size bed excellent. All staff were extremely helpful and efficient. All the meals we had were exceptionally good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    I would stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was quite cosy (small) but for one night we didn't mind.

    We only stayed for one night. the meal in the restaurant was very good and the service was excellent. The bathroom was modern and clean, the room was fairly small but adequate for our stay. We did not walk around the area as we were passing through. Parking was outside the hotel (across the road) with a coded barrier for resident parking only.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    I would definately stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building looks a little shabby in places but it is an old building and this shouldn't detract from all the other benefits of cleanliness, friendly staff and good food.

    The food was superb - breakfast and evening meal choices were excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathroom had recently been refurbished and was really good. The Hotel was clean and very good value for money. An ideal location to visit all areas of Cornwall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Our two night stay was most comfortable and enjoyable. A very memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because the hotel was in the middle of an old town with very busy streets, the carpark was a short distance from the hotel and we had to cross a very busy road to access the carpark.

    We were upgraded to a suite and stayed two nights at the discounted price. The suite was newly refurbished and spacious. Bar and dining room/meals were very good. Overall a most memorable stay in a very pretty area of Cornwall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lots of stairs could be a problem if you had hip or knee problems.

    Gluten free bread and rolls available. Staff very friendly and excellent service. Meals in restaurant good and quite the bar more noisy but still good food. Rooms very comfortable with lovely soft pillows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.3
    SPOILT DUE TO UNWORKABLE SHOWER
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    SHOWER CONTROL WAS JAMMED AND COULD NOT HAVE A PROPER SHOWER.MADE REPEATED REQUESTS FOR IT TO BE REPAIRED.WAS TOLD THEY NEEDED A PLUMBER,WHICH WAS PRETTY OVIOUS.WHY DID THEY NOT GET ONE IN THE 4 DAYS WE WERE THERE

    GOOD RESONABLY PRICED MEALS

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable, good value for money, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Considering the accommodation is above a bar/restaurant, on the high street and in an old building I was expecting some noise (and I'm a light sleeper) - nothing at all! Great night's sleep, comfy bed, comfy room. Very clean and what I really liked was that there were plenty of plug sockets and they were in the right places! So many times you plug in your hairdryer and you're four feet away from the nearest mirror! Everything was well placed and it was equally as good as any of the four star hotel chains that I often stay in but with a more personal and homely style. Breakfast cooked to order - so much nicer than those dried up hot buffets. Will definitely re-book any time I am in St Austell.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Staff were very lovely and helpful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They weren't very friendly about my pet being with me, even though I had stated I was bringing one and they are listed as a pet friendly hotel. They charged me extra at check in which I wasn't previously aware of. WIFI connection was non existent in the room. Was good in the bar though.

    Staff were very lovely and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: