Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel 4 stars

68 Clooney Road, Derry Londonderry, BT47 3PA, United Kingdom

#9 of 12 hotels in Derry Londonderry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 545 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Gym and great Pool.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was a bit slow.

    Great Gym and Swimming Pool. The hotel features a 20m pool with Sauna and Steam Bath as well as a very large professional gym - open from 6.30am to 10.00 pm. Excellent to unwind after a hard day of work. Also, the restaurant offers good food at reasonable prices. Good bed, room was totally fine, even though it is not brand new. Location out of the city is convenient as it is on main road. Lots of free parking spaces.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    We had an enjoyable stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had continental breakfast but croissants weren't available! Disappointed that there were no steps to access the whirlpool area of swimming pool.

    Food good. Location close to local places of interest. Staff helpful. Great steam room and sauna.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Excellent menu
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and responsive. The food menu is excellent - good selection and fresh . Attentive service and good presentation . All in all a wonderful visit

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed to be a property for older people, out of date tv, a speaker that only fit an iphone 4, not allowed food or drink in hotel or get charged extra? Left that out when i was booking

    Friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Quiet Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one private cubicle in the ladies changing room (without a lock) resulted in one guest being intruded on multiple times. Breakfast could have more options - very limited

    All staff were extremely helpful and warm characters. Room was comfy and clean. We ordered room service which was lovely! Took a dip in the pool, however was occupied by young families but still enjoyable. Sauna and steam room were relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    I know this hotel, it’s near to family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom extractor fan had lost its pull cord and we had to stand on the toilet seat to turn it on. I suspect this had been the position for some time as walls and ceiling showed signs of damp. A reliable WiFi would have made a big difference.

    I know this hotel, it’s near to family.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    Easy check in but was told there was a wedding on so i was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No sleep as people running up and down the corridors from 23.00 right up until 04.30. At 01.20 there was a gentleman screaming in the corridor that his family would not let him into the room. Then at 03.50 there was a guy trying to get into my room and kicking my door and trying to get in ,then one of his family must have heard him and opened the correct door and allowed him in.

    Easy check in but was told there was a wedding on so i was moved to the very far side of the building, no major issue with this request from them , but it was not fit for purpose as i got no sleep whatsoever.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Great beds and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was just ok wouldn’t say it was overly great! But I enjoyed my stay very comfortable rooms

    The beds were very comfortable two off the waiters in the restaurant were very kind friendly! Aissisnt manager and farrin fella.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    There is nothing around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing around. The furniture and the carpet is worn out. The carpet in the corridor and in the breakfast area is quite filthy. Overall, not a great experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfy stay with Excellent Customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside of building a bit drab. More variety at breakfast would be good. The wedding band that was playing (we weren't guests) were loud (not complaining as they were good, but I imagine this might annoy people).

    We were upgraded to the newly refurbished room (Clooney Suite) which was a room with en suite and seperate reception room and it was very luxurious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable beds, nice pool, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs and brass banister dirty (didn’t want to touch with all the paw prints). Same on glass fire doors. Bath not clean enough to use. Could feel last person’s skin cells. Beds very clean and comfortable though. Breakfast eggs like rubber and rashers watery.

    Comfortable beds, nice pool, lovely staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Pool was good bed was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home and just the swimming pool being a bit warmer.

    Pool was good bed was very comfy. Overall good nice clean hotel. Would defiantly go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was freezing, one girl in particular who worked at the pool reception would need to learn some manners, food in the restaurant was awful, service slow and breakfast was no better, had to ask for everything,

    The reception staff were nice and helpful, family room was big

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.5
    ...Great bang for your buck......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little out from the city and there are no facilities near by ....

    Meets all the requirements .....friendly staff on arrival....clean room ....very comfortable bed.....Great shower ......very quiet ....Great value...unfortunately we missed breakfast because we had such a great sleep '...Oops

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, friendly and a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is in the bath and it's hard to figure out temperatures on the taps.

    Big beds, clean bed linen, friendly staff. Fab pool and gym but we didn't know it was there so weren't prepared for it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, clean, lovely staff, perfect weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, beautiful food, gorgeous hotel, spotlessly clean! Great pool etc, bed quite hard but that’s my personal preference to have a soft bed- they are still excellent quality beds! Nothing was too much trouble, will definitely return!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Large clean confortable rooms, good and varied...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside look and remote location from Derry near the motorway and airport first scared a bit but staying there proved to be actually nice

    Large clean confortable rooms, good and varied Irish/continental breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    The beds were very comfortable and rooms were quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift to 7th floor was very slow. Didn't like the use of plastic plates and cutlery at breakfast!

    The beds were very comfortable and rooms were quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a bar snack which was only available because of world cup.And it was a snack ! If a small menu with 2 or 3 basic items (without skinny chips ) Rather than going to main restaurant would be good

    This hotel is outside the city but easily accessable by bus so you can enjoy the bustle and then the quiet The staff are so friendly especially in the Restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Quiet hotel after 10 pm
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed early while we where sitting outside,myself and three ladies the barman informed us the night porter would serve drinks and promptly locked the outside door,no offer of toilets or to check if anything was left behind in bar,we had to reposition ourselves to the lobby rather cross legged.

    Friendly staff,helpful polite,food good,nice pool and steam,sauna rooms.seems to be geared mostly to bus tours,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    enjoyable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lifts and hotel a little dated.

    Friendly staff, Clean hotel, however no lifts, also Hotel was dated and a little dark. Beds comfortable etc however. Restaurant food was amazing and well priced. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall our night's stay was good. It was a conveninet place to stop on our drive from Belfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers set up with a half door seems strange. Also, breakfast is overpriced for what is offered.

    Rooms were large with a good size washroom. Relatively close to Derry so it's easy to use the hotel to explore the city and surrounding area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Teenage kids loved the wifi & pool. Clean, comfy, food is lovely. Short drive to Benone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only had breakfast the first morning, all of the cooked breakfast in Bain Marie. Maybe it was because it was a slower morning and was 9.30am. Worst scrambled eggs I've ever seen, crusty on the top, grey on the bottom. Fried eggs had been cooked in a batch & left too, really unappealing. On the upside they've an automated pancake machine making fresh pancakes. Bacon & Sausage, mushroom etc were lovely.

    Housekeeping staff were local, friendly & really helpful. Room clean & comfy. Leisure centre staff chatted away & made me a cuppa as I waited for the kids coming out of the pool. Evening meals were lovely, proper chips.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from the city centre.

    The customer service has been outstanding at this property even before we arrived. We requested for a bathroom with bath and was gladly provided. Also asked for an iPhone charger as I forgot mine at home and it was duly provided. The staff also helped with general directions. The sauna works very well and the swimming pool is excellent. A bit far from the city centre but the value for money is really good. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    My Husband and I stayed here as part of our celebration for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like

    My Husband and I stayed here as part of our celebration for our Silver Wedding Anniversary on arrival we were greeted with smiles and a warm welcome, on entering our room we were taken aback by a plate of strawberries and chocolate biscuits with the words 'Happy Anniversary' etched on in chocolate. It is little touches like that make your stay even nicer and my Husband and I were thrilled that the Hotel had even gone to the bother.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud. There was no hot water for hours one day, four star hotel and room service only till 9pm.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff and comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Probably wouldn’t return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected a lot more from this hotel. Our room didn’t look like the pictures. It was very old fashioned. The breakfast costs £10.95 and I was extremely disappointed. Seemed as though it had been sitting for ages and there wasn’t much of a variety.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Stay was satisfactory, rooms were clean, wifi was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that when we stayed 2nd night collecting our Best Western Points we were charged a higher price until we enquired as to why we were charged higher than the website reads. Front desk changed our room rate to the lower website price right away when asked.

    Breakfast buffet style was better on 2nd morning than 1st morning when no buffet service was closed due to lack of customers. Had dinner 1st night, food was fine, service was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Hotel was friendly and staff were lovely location let it down and a revamp possibly needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a fresh update we were greated with a foul smell in the reception area when we arrived,the photos of the hotel on the Internet made it look new and modern but those photos must have been taken when it first opened as it could do with a revamp,the hotel was slightly out of the city which is why I wouldn't stay here again not walking distance we got taxis in every night.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful,the beds were comfortable & the food was OK. It was very reasonable to stay as it only cost us £160 for 2nights stay which was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    The rooms were lovely and staff were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was quiet small and the door opened outwards instead of inwards which was awkward at times and a lot of the breakfast was deep fried ,sausages ,black and white pudding and mushrooms .

    The rooms were lovely and staff were very helpful and friendly and really enjoyed the gym

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Good location, great staff. Reasonable value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finishes a little early, 10am, not unreasonable but I’m usually enjoying the pool or gym from 9 to 10am... so it’s more my own timetable that doesn’t fit.

    Great customer service, very professional, friendly and accommodating. Food is excellent, great value on the lunch menu. Rooms generously sized and well maintained. General facilities are of a very high standard, gym and pool included. Would definitely recommend and will continue to return when the opportunity arises.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Our Stay was more than we expected, Friendly staff very...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Stay was more than we expected, Friendly staff very welcoming nice and clean excellent log burning fire just off the reception desk, well laid out. Will be back :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Exactly what was needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating and this is being done slowly

    For me location great, second time I’ve stayed here, close to Shannon Airport, car is a def requirement and makes life easy , love the food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Out of the city budget motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the last day of 2 day stay the shower wouldn't drain away and I had to keep stopping and starting the shower as I was washing my hair. No compensation given when I complained. Just "sorry about that. " She took my email as we are travelling but I've heard nothing. This isn't acceptable. The hotel wad also doing renovations at the time. Lots of wet paint signs were not very inviting.

    The bar staff were friendly and served us promptly. The open for in the lobby was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Genuine friendly staff great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Genuine friendly staff great facilities. We had a good meal and were well looked after. Location and outside appearance were not great but that by no means took away from our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a cake for my partners birthday through room service and did not receive this. I also felt the male receptionist in the swimming area was extremely rude and of no help whatsoever, didn’t even give me directions on where the pool actually was. Not a nice person to deal with at all.

    The staff were brilliant and went above and beyond, the room was beautiful and the location was good too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing dangerous for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong meal received in restaurant complaint made but waiter said we were wrong, didn’t want a conflict the wrong dinner had cheese which I’m allergic to, ordered sweet and the apple tart was burned, spent all night in room with medication only to come down for a nice breakfast that I paid £8:95 for two of us at 9:15 to find breakfast buffet was empty and staff getting tea and toast for people and left us standing there. I was there with a party of 12 for a birthday night last year and was treated like queens that’s why I took my husband there

    The beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Comfy and clean but disappointing breakfast and facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel so I could use the pool as my husband had a job interview. We went at 7am and were told the pool water was cloudy and we would have to wait to 10am. At 10am we were told to wait to 11am and we could have our room until after we swam which was useful. However, at 11am we were told they would have to call our room to let us know in 15 mins. 45 mins later we heard that no we can not use the pool. This was very disappointing. I am 37 weeks pregnant and was really looking forward to a swim- hence the reason we booked this hotel. The other area we feel was disappointing was paying for a breakfast that we were told on arrival is a “full buffet.” When we arrived to breakfast there was such a limited selection of food and the cooked breakfast was extremely plain and very small portions. It was not worth the money at all.

    Room was clean and bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    It was a good stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant wasn't up to standards for a Best Western hotel and either the breakfast. The hotel needs renewed, there was a very strong smell all around the corridors, wouldn't know how to describe it. There was a convention with lots of kids running around and they were quite noisy, they were just being kids, totally understandable, but maybe the hotel should have separated the rooms for the guest coming for the convention and the other guests coming for a relaxing time.

    The Saff was very friendy! The lady singing on a Saturday night was fab!! Very good atmosphere :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay at The White Horse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit warm at night

    After a tiering evening of driving I had a shower and what impressed me most was the amount of channels on the TV, I finally came across an interesting documentary which made me at peace with myself along with having a cup of tea

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Nearly a relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet, you can surf the web but as soon as you go to stream a movie the Internet goes extremely slow, as in doesn't work, but you open a different web page an browse the web its fine. However not being able to stream movies was very disappointing. You should contact rainbow communications they can sort hotel wifi.

    Quite, relaxing, food was great, does a nice pint, Staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good to see major refurbishment of rooms as some are looking a bit worn out.

    Friendly, welcoming, stylish yet homely. Family friendly, great restaurant and function room, staff so lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Second night was a bit pricey. Room just a little small for the rate charged.

    Staff - they were excellent, very welcoming from the start, friendly and attentive throughout my stay. Room was good (maybe a little small for the price). Breakfast food was very good, staff were brilliant on both mornings, consistent high standard or service even at their peak time. Hotel layout is well presented and had a nice warm atmosphere on arrival with the open fire in lobby area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    4.2
    Its was just ok didnt get to us pool was frezzin all night in room
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks diffenet on website was no breakfast with price people arguing at entretance of hotel and werent staying at hotel wouldnt sever any more drink to us but sold to next table

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    We had a lovely stay overall and will be back as this is our second stay already
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets could do with updating as they gettin a little dirty looking in room. The floors could be cleaner in bathroom as a lot of hairs were found wen we arrived and toilet brush is more than dirty ? The restaurant is a little pricey and a more casual menu would be nice as well .

    The decor of the hotel is lovely and the open fire is beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.8
    The staff in the generally are very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit run down for a 4 star. Leasuire centre is so bad it’s ok for the regular gym users may be if they are paying less but for someone who paid to stay in the hotel only to relax it’s not nice at all. Again I would say definitely needs refurbished as it’s not in a good condition.

    The staff in the generally are very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.0
    More than disappointing. The staff seem to have detoriated since last December
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good nights sleep

    Several electrical items in the room did not work, e.g. the kettle, the phone. When the receptionist was informed she said this would be attended to. Nobody came - no coffee in the morning - not good. The receptionist seemed less than interested. Would not stay here again unless they apologise. Not used to such poor service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous overnight stay!!
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything no complaints!!

    Rooms were lovely clean and the bed was so comfy I did want to get out of it in the morning after our Xmas staff party!! lovely fresh white fluffy towels definitely stay again lovely receptionists very helpful as I kept locking myself out of my room lol nothing was a bother to them very helpful gorgeous food aswell!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    Not even 3*
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to 1st floor, no help offered with luggage. Noise level was very loud from party til 2am. Food wasn't seasoned. Lack of towels at pool. Wi-Fi was less than 1mb and kept cutting out. Not a pleasant experience for me and my small companion.

    The location was close to where I needed to be.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Staff friendly and helpful. Comfy clean bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO Fresh fruit for breakfast. Swimming area and steam room needs a revamp. No bottled water was left in the room.

    Room was lovely and warm. Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing, restful and very friendly reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing hotel and comfortable, friendly staff and could not be more helpful. Re

    Very good variety of meau and excellent food and service and very friendly staff and helpful re

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Lovely welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was that the pool water was very cloudy, my little one had goggles and there was no point in him using them as he couldn’t see.

    Hotel was lovely and very welcoming, staff were lovely and couldn’t do enough for us when dining for dinner & breakfast the next morning, room was lovely and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a quiet hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that my husband would have found pushing my wheelchair through several doors to and from our room a little easier if they had opened automatically when approaching them. Most of the doors were double doors.

    On arrival we were met by a very pleasant duty manager in reception, and as I was just out of hospital and in a wheelchair, she upgraded us to executive room on the ground floor rather than a room on the first floor, as there was no lift. The room was really well decorated with a rather large television and a very big comfortable bed with a selection of pillows. My husband had to leave the hotel for a couple of hours and I ordered room service. The duty manager not only accompanied a member of the restaurant staff to my room but, as I was unable to walk, she knocked and let themselves into the room. The service I received was over and above that which I expected. The food was well presented and the homemade burger and chips were very tasty. The breakfast was also very good. Had a choice of baked beans, tomatoes, potato bread, mushrooms, black and white pudding, sausage, bacon and eggs scrambled, boiled, fried or poached. A selection of juices, teas, bread, cereals and yoghurts were also available. The breakfast was served up until 10.00. The prices for meals were all very reasonable. I will definitely book this hotel again. One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Oh, and the Xmas decorations were beautiful, modern and very tastefully placed around the hotel. Car parking for disabled guests were very close to the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.3
    Food was good, poor staff attitudes, dysfunctional room, poor customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception was unhelpful and rude when I explained that the shower was running for at least 10 minutes in my room and had still no hot water. She stated there shouldn’t be anything wrong with the water!!!!! the phone in the room did not work....

    I enjoyed my evening meal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Great except for bad exchange rate.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big problem with very bad euro rate in hotel charged me 100 euro for 89 euro room very bad was fuming . Also paid over the odds for room service same reason.

    Very comfy beds no noise when trying to sleep we were there for judo tournement busy but no noise in rooms good sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    In general had a great weekend in a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for a "Spa" weekend. Treatments were first class but disappointed that there was no relaxation room/ area.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Very comfortable bedrooms. Food was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and comfortable with great food on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (114) was a little far from the front reception so carrying our baggage was a bit of a chore but I needed the exercise anyway, so that's just nitpicking, everything else was perfect for our stay.

    The staff were excellent, nothing seems to be too much trouble. I love to see a buffet breakfast when I stay at a hotel and that was exactly what was on offer here, lots of choice, from cereals, different breads, fresh fruit and, of course, a Full Irish with tea and coffee on tap.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Late arrival. Great sleep and eats. Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was terrible. Quite poor. For a hotel in 2017 it's expected to have pumped water pressure. It's a minor thing but after a day of travelling a good shower is a huge bonus to the arrival experience. The bath towels are small. It's the difference between normal and luxurious.

    The staff and rooms and hygiene were lovely. Great breakfast and decor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit far out of the city. The pool was a bit cold and the changing rooms were freezing.

    Lovely and clean hotel. We only had a light lunch in hotel as we ate in the city that night and couldn't fault it it was lovely. Staff were very pleasant and great at their job. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel with plenty of parking and great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of anything I would change except a lift would be nice.

    Great property with many amenities - gym, swimming pool, restaurant, pub, lovely lobby. Great food in the restaurant and plenty of parking available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Another pleasant stay with good food, pleasant staff and chance of a rest before continuing journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was the member of staff who came and parked by the open window and proceeded to load the car. That wasn't a problem in itself it was the constant banging of the car door as another item was loaded. They were only there for three quarters of an hour and it wasn't late but why couldn't they have left the door open until they had finished and tried closing them without the banging?

    A good night's sleep after a long journey. Very grateful for a shower that my wife could access due to her mobility issues.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Comfy king size bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the corridors plus were not shown any access to a lift so we had to carry our luggage through the stairs.

    Bed was huge and amazingly comfortable. Breakfast had a wide variety of food. Location it is what it is... close enough to the city. It is not a new hotel the corridors are a bit small but the room was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Bed big and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough coffee/biscuits Hot chocolate disgusting Pool needs refurbished and not very clean Pool staff not nice

    Bed big and comfy Reception staff nice Fluffy robes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Good for a base to tour northern Ireland from. Nothing to do at night and lacking in atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather basic for a 4 star. Bar closed before 11 each night. No Weetabix on 2 mornings out of 3 only cornflakes and muesli, fruit selection poor also. Thought from the website that the hotel was closer to the city with the picture shown of the bridge.

    The room was fine no complaints. Cooked breakfast very nice and mushrooms were very good. Very friendly staff both in the dining room and at reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Good base for exploring Londonderry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking at the back of the hotel and going through a walkway to the main door was a bit strange.

    The food in the restaurant was very good, both breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Rooms were very comfortable & cleaned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1/ Was very disappointed in Restaurant Service during dinner time due to delay of the kids orders (from kids menu: pizza & chicken goujon) which came after starters & main course for 3 adults. We stayed with the children 4 & 2 years old. They were hungry as we traveled during the day & we would expect to have dinner for them first. However they got their dinner after one hour we sat at the table which is too long. We reminded the waiter 3 times about kid's order. 2/ The light beside the bed did not work as light bulb was dead. 3/ the light on TV is too bright during the night - could not sleep.

    Rooms were very comfortable & cleaned.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Best relaxing short break I've had in years!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only cereal variety at breakfast was poor especially for children

    The whole experience, treated like 1st class citizen's staff really friendly and helpful thank you for a fantastic stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed the venue and appreciated that the staff were hardworking. Cleanliness was a priority.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary bottle of water was not in room on first night of stay. Only one bath towel on second day. Request for decaffeinated tea on first and second morning could not be accommodated, this was disappointing especially on second morning. Bar staff were efficient, non smiling and had to check every request for food, even though it was offered, before it was ordered. Music set up commenced at and after 22:00 hrs. So wasn't in full swing until 22:15/20hrs.

    Availability of complimentary newspapers and dressing gowns and extra towels on request.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    The restaurant was very poor and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very poor and overpriced.chips were frozen and we had a long wait for service. Had to ask for our drinks 3 times even though staff werent especially busy. Head waiter couldnt do enough however. Also boxing event meant the smoke alarms went off twice during the night, hence the comfort score is so low. Budget hotel out of city centre, I'd give it a miss.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Very basic room at high cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel the decor was out dated to an rooms very basic for the high cost, we'd stayed the previous night in a premier inn an paid a lot less for much more comfort an stylish room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Who could ask for more...?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Australians like bar fridges - we haven't found a hotel in Ireland that has them Yet......

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the room was spacious and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt I had a deal inclusive of dinner but really the additions were so much, it was a very expensive dinner. Only ate in the hotel the one evening as a result

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel do need some updating, but otherwise great

    On arrival, we were greeted by the lovely reception staff. When we got to our room, it was nice and clean but the hotel itself is a little dated and there is a slight stale smell in the corridors. But the service was top class - I left my watch behind and the hotel actually phoned me to tell me they would post it to me and didn't charge me a penny, which is fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    as a tourist it was not close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as a tourist it was not close to the city...without a car one would have to rely on taxi or bus service. GUest service staff were accommodating one early evening bar tender.not so much!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.3
    Just an ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal was disappointing none of us enjoyed or finished.. didnt want to complain but were charged 59.00... was very unsatisfied with this

    Room was superb and leisure facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: