Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Lodge 4 stars

Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 2JJ, United Kingdom

#28 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 512 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The partial lake view is a little far reached! We stood on a chair to see a glimpse of the lake out of the top of the window! The beautiful chandelier rattled everytime the person in the room abobe move about.

    Lots of lovely little touches. Chocs, prosecco, biscuits. Lavish decorative room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Very polite greeting on arrival. Owners very genuine friendly couple, Loved all the little touches, ie; Chocolates , small prosecco, in the room. Breakfast probably biggest and best we've had in a hotel. Never ate again until evening,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bathroom was very clean, a good size with great towels and toiletries, the shower let it down. Temperature was perfect but just not powerful enough.

    Beautifully decorated and comfortable. Lovely, friendly hosts. Great location and would definitely recommend. Lots of little personal touches and a breakfast to die for really made our trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful romantic room! Very clean and fresh. There was a small bottle of prosecco and fresh flowers. The breakfast was intimate as they bring it your room in a hamper which was absolutely gorgeous ! Great location and very friendly owners who were very helpful and even let us keep the car in their car park the next day so we could go on a boat trip and didn’t have to worry where to park!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome from Jenny and Allen was fantastic. Lovely hotel with such personal touches. The breakfast basket is such a brilliant idea! We had such a great stay and are looking forward to returning soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were very helpful and friendly, found the hotel and room very clean and tidy one of the best I have been in and the location just a few minutes down lake road to the lake. parking is available. stayed 31/5/18 and 1/6/18 and booked to go back 6 and 7Jjune 18.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    we couldn't fault the White Lodge in any way .The extra touches were really good and we have booked to go back in August for our anniversary

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a portable fan in the room if it is unusually warm , just to circulate the air until the nighttime cool off.

    Excellent location, value for money. Amazing hosts, breakfast was absolutely delicious. Hotel itself is so beautiful, attention to detail is evident. Could not have asked for a better location or host.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was rather compact but this was due to the fact that I had chosen a single room and should not be a reflection of the hotel as a whole.

    I was staying on my own so had a single room. It was rather 'compact' but was comfortable and perfectly adequate for my needs. The breakfast was delivered to my room in a hamper with everything that I had ordered the day before and was excellent. My only criticism was that, due to the shortage of space in the room, there was little room to eat, except for sitting on the bed at the same time. The other rooms, from what I saw, were considerably larger so that wouldn't be a problem there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The high quality of the accommodation, produce used in the refreshments and that luxury feel. We stayed in the Bijou room, which was exactly that but as we were out and about this didn't bother us. It was lovely and I really can't wait to stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful ,airy room which exceeded the quality we had experienced in a more expensive hotel in this area. A short downhill walk to Bowness on Windermere centre with a good choice of eating places and the steamers on the lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say only thing would be other cars from other guests blocking the exit to the car park however there is an exit to the rear so managed to get out safely!

    Beautiful place to stay, lovely big rooms and a gorgeous picnic hamper for breakfast. The owners were fantastic and very helpful. Would definitely like to return, thank you for a lovely stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was fantastic

    Luck was on our side when we found The White Lodge as a last minute booking. The house is so beautifully decorated, with every little detail thought about. We booked a bijou double room, and it was lovely for a one night stay. Lots of welcome treats greeted us in our room and our delicious breakfast was served in a unique way to our room. We passed the deluxe double rooms being cleaned in the morning and had a sneaky peek, they are a very good size room and again the decor is beautiful. Jenny was so helpful and had some great suggestions for dinner. The house itself is located perfectly so you can leave your car and take a 5-10 minute walk down to the town and Windermere Lake. So for those reading this review, you will not be disappointed by booking this place. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be coming back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, tidy and very comfortable, the owners Jenny and Alan were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much for them. We left knowing we will definiately return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - everything was fantastic.

    The room was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was delivered to our door in a hamper for us to enjoy in our room, and was delicious, Jenny had thought of everything. There was even a Tassimo machine for us to make drinks if we wanted. The bathroom was roomy, contained everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. We had a lovely stay, thank you Jenny.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Had a wonderful 26th birthday at The White Lodge (first time in the lakes). Jenny and Allen were very attentive hosts. Room was lovely clean and comfy with nice little extras (chocs and fizz) Breakfast was exceptional and loved having it brought to our room (not a fan of having breakfast in a public area). Great location only a couple of mins walk from shops/restaurants/bars and the Lake. Already planning our next visit back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Luxurious room, lovely glass of prosecco on arrival and the hamper breakfast with bucksfizz was fabulous. Jenny the owner was very welcoming and friendly. A great place to stay. We will definitely be back for another visit!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location of the hotel was spot on, lots of lovely restaurants, bars and cafes within a 5 minute walking distance. When I contacted Jenny to tell her our arrival time, she was good in suggesting which restaurants to try and adviced we booked with it being a Friday night. Jenny and her husband were lovely and helpful. The hotel and room 7 was very clean, very comfortable with a gorgeous view of the lake. The added extras were lovely, I was almost sorry I’d read reviews before booking and spoilt the little surprises waiting in the room and added at breakfast. We are definitely coming back and we will be bringing our children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owners with gorgeous decor and lots of nice extra treats (prosecco in the room & Bucks Fizz @ breakfast). Excellent location ideal for the bars and the Lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little touches really made this place stand out. Fizz n chocs on arrival and the perfect breakfast hamper delivered to the room with a surprise Buck’s Fizz! Staff super friendly,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything to improve.

    The styling had a lot of thought gone into it. The picnic baskets containing breakfast were gorgeous. The staff were super friendly and went above and beyond to make it a special and memorable stay. They had great tips of some beautiful locations and hidden gems to go visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely character property

    After a nice walk up old man coniston headed down to check in. We loved chatting to jenny and her husband. They are so friendly and happy to help with anything. The location is ideal, nice easy walk to the town. Really lovely building, breakfast in a hamper basket sitting outside in the morning Sun absolutely superb. We will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    As soon as we got out of our car we were made to feel welcome. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room was really well presented and clean. It felt like we were staying in a £250 a night hotel. The bed was really comfy, which was a great surprise. The breakfast hamper was a lovely touch. Fantastic stay and hosts. I would and will be soon staying again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is few mins from pubs and restaurants. The rooms are tastefully decorated, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast in a picnic basket so cute(with bottle of Buck’s Fizz). Other sweet treats in the room upon arrival . Owner was really friendly and welcoming, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no negatives whatsoever. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

    Fantastic location in Bowness! Our room was immaculate, comfortable and beautiful. The service was impeccable! Will 100% stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff nowhere to be seen. There's a photo of a luxury spa/swimming pool on their website but this is NOT at the hotel, it's quite a drive away and it's certainly not luxurious. Quality of the sausage and barm in the hamper was very cheap Bathroom and some decor needs updating

    Location Little extras in room - Prosecco, chocolate, kendal mint cake in room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely furnishings and fitting. Very spacious clean and tidy room. Perfect location(5 minute walk to centre/shops/ bars etc. Definitely would stay here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get the kettle to work 😞 but wasn't too concerned.

    Loved it ...very quaint decor was lovely...the hamper breakfast served to the room was a lovely touch as was the prosecco and back fizz with the breakfast ...would love to visit again ...well done !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike.

    The whole place was beautifully decorated with a lovely homely feel. The property is in a great location, very close to shops and restaurants and it is only a 5 minute walk to the lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Very well presented, friendly welcome and room was lovely. Petals, cupcakes and bottle of Prosecco on bed was a very nice touch. Breakfast in a hamper is a brillant idea and again, a bottle of bucks fizz including in it was another nice touch. The breakfast was excellent and there is plenty of choice too. My wife and I really enjoyed our time at the White Lodge and will definitely look to stay there a again in the future. Lovely hotel that I highly recommend. Many thanks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast served to your room with a bottle of bucks fizz at a time u choose from . There was a bottle of prosecco and cup cakes and rose petals on the bed a lovely touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the room the main one sounds like bells when ever any one moves in room above or someone goes up and down the stairs. Was slightly annoying and kept waking me up.

    The lady who met us was great, really helpful and friendly, room is beautiful with lovely extras. The cupcakes and prosecco was such a great touch. Breakfast is amazing and what a lovely touch having the hamper delivered to your room for breakfast in bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say there was nothing to dislike about this hotel .

    the hospitality of the owner exceeded my expectation . This must be the best hotel I have stayed in in Windermere / Cumbria . The rooms are bright and modern and superbly decorated to a high standard the beds are cozy to the point I did not want to get out . first class all round .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered Alpen for breakfast but there was no milk :( also the bathroom was a little dates in relation to the room, but very clean with everything we needed. Finally the quality of sausage could have been a little better

    The room and all the little extras, so cute!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was spacious, the breakfast in a hamper was a great idea, and the bed was comfy, great location close to the shops, bars, and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room and the picnic hamper breakfast to your room was amazing, so much better than having to get ready and go down to eat your breakfast, plus all the little extra's you get in your room made us feel special. We had a brilliant stay and will definitely book to stay again. :) x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, beautiful clean unusual room, very comfortable bed, excellent breakfast...came up to the room in a hamper! Wonderful, couldn't do enough for you, would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay, good location, excellent breakfast hamper, superb room, spotlessly clean and very comfy bed, very friendly and helpful staff, we will definitely return 👍😀

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our overnight stay here, staff were fab and location perfect , parking is always a problem in Bowness so given the guest house had on site parking was a bonus for sure , the room was of a high standard much better than similar priced hotels we have tried in Bowness , I have a nerve problem with my back so a comfortable bed is always a bonus , This we had with plenty of cushions and bedding to get a good nights sleep , I just wish we could have stayed another night but it was fully booked , last but not least the basket breakfast was a different but lovely much better than we expected, it was really nice to sit in the comfort of your room having a lovely breakfast , I would recommend this guest house to any of my friends and we both can’t wait for our next visit to the white lodge 👍👌.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we didn't like but the room was so hot and I couldn't turn it down, but saying that it was a bitterly cold night and the heating was on to make sure nobody was cold.

    The bed was really comfy and the room was lovely, would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather but hey no one can change that! :)

    The host was fabulous. Very helpful and attentive. The room was very comfortable, large and designed well. The location was perfect just on the outskirts of Bowness and a short 5min walk to centre. We had a lovely chilled weekend and could not fault our accommodation or Bowness itself which has many restaurants/bars local shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really don't think anything could add to this excellent B & B, and there was nothing we didn't like!

    The overall presentation and ambience and welcoming manageress/ owner,and very lovely lady, Tracy,at White Lodge adds so much to the excellence, along with the extra cleanliness of the rooms and en suite. The breakfast basket is a great idea and contains an assortment of delicious preordered food, fruit juices and a bottle of Bucks Fizz,as a surprise! Very relaxing hotel with access anytime in the evening/ early hours with a personal key! So near to everything in Bowness,and yet quiet too. Five stars to Tracy and White Lodge hotel !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like..

    Everything lovely place, location and the breakfast hamper is a brilliant idea, staff we're amazing and very friendly, would highly recommend to to everyone, will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very comfortable and the whole place has been undergoing renovation. The host was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast delivered to the room in a hamper was a nice touch. The location was also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better

    It has lovely large ceiling rooms, it's cosy, decor is beautiful, it has everything you need in the room, breakfast is delivered to your door in a hamper, which we think is a great idea, not a full English, but you can have bacon egg and sausage in a sandwich. A small bottle of proseco with two flutes on the bed when we arrived a lovely touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Niel from todmorden lancs we booked for 4 nights we had a loveiy room was beautifully decorated and very clean the picnic breakfast was great! We loved it! It was a super touch and with a bottle of bucks fizz.the owner tracy was very welcoming and friendly. Location was great short walk to the lake and restaurants and bars . Could not fault it and will definatly be returning here again when we visit the lake district oct 2 to 6 it felt like home niel gabb

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady in charge was very helpful .

    The scaffolding was installed by my window and one glass broken and covered by plastic sheet not safe at all time as easy to inter the room no 2 form that window .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was too comfortable. The room was exquisite with some beautiful touches in terms of décor and facilities. The breakfast was something else - never to be forgotten. Parking easy. Great Lakes base.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was absolutely lovely and the room was perfect, light and airy. The bed was super comfy. The breakfast in the picnic basket was beyond cute and the cherry on top of the cake of a fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room although not the one I had selected online. Comfy bed. Very clean/new shower room. Large room with lovely single pained windows but it was a shame they steamed up a bit and there was scaffolding blocking the partial lake view. Fantastic location in town and friend welcome. Breakfast basket a great idea so you an stay and eat relaxes in your room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have any complaints

    The Breakfast was delivered to your room at the time of your choosing. The owner was very friendly and recommended places where you would have a good meal. The room was bright and tastefully furnished

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, lovely welcome. Excellent big room and loved breakfast being delivered to our room in a picnic basket. Good choice of breakfast items.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we disliked about the hotel.

    The food was very fresh and a excellent selection. The hotel had a very good feel and very friendly staff with a great service. Overall happy with our stay and will definitely be returning again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As there is no onsite facility of bar or dining room, a little fridge in the room would be great. Nowhere to keep a drink cool. Our room was a little on the small size, no dressing table for 'stuff'.

    Bed was really comfy and the shower, although it looked a bit ancient, was really powerful. Breakfast in a picnic basket, delivered to the room was a great idea and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advert did not indicate there were any works being carried out to the property. We even called the owner prior to our visit explaining we were travelling 6 hours by car from the south and at no point were we told there was scaffolding all along the side of the property, we had workmen walking past our room window situated on the first floor whilst trying to have breakfast (we took photos of 2 men), taking away complete privacy! At least if the price reflected this or we could have at least been made aware. Not a good impression for our parents who we were treating for their anniversary!

    The breakfast, cleanliness and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for quality of premises. Breakfast delivered on a budget. Asked for balance owed straight away. Would not recommend to others and I would like to add we're not the fussy and moaning type normally. Steve

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected the room to be small but, though comfortable, it was very small and there were no surfaces on which to put small items. There was not even space for a chair so I enjoyed my b/fast , picnic style , sitting on the floor!

    Friendlinessof staff. Comfortable bed. Excellent small en-suite bathroom. Good breakfast served in my room, delivered in a picnic hamper!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD BUT I PREFER TO HAVE IT IN THE DINING ROOM AND NOT IN THE BEDROOM.

    THE PROPERTY WAS DECORATED TO A HIGH STANDARD AND HAD A NICE VIEW

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the weather.

    Breakfast was a unique experience to us as it was delivered to our room in a picnic basket. Bacon butties fresh and warm. Lovely comfy room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was as much as a lovely bed,every time you moved it squeaked, this made u feel a little awkward in case disturbing any neighbours

    Easy to find and park, very welcoming,the room was lovely and clean, all you need on the doorstep but still lovely and quiet in the room, breakfast was nice idea of picnic basket in room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh coffee would have been the cream on the cake. Unfortunate that scaffolding ran across our window but that did not lower our overall experience, we understand that things need to be done when they can! The room is also described as having a lake view - you can see a tiny bit but mostly the view is over the parking bay and down on other houses towards the lake. I really am nit-picking though. The hotel is LOVELY and the owner is wonderful. I'd recommend this place and visit again in a heart beat.

    Loved the room, loved the breakfast picnic hamper, loved the owner - she did everything to cater to our dietary requirements and recommended lovely local places to visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tracy was brilliant!! It has to be one the cleanest B&B we have been to. The breakfast hamper was such a lovely touch. We will definitely stay again. Roy and Wendy 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding was poor , 2 flat pillows each, the duvet was of poor quality and you felt as if you were sticking to a rubber sheet underneath. The breakfast in a basket thing didn't work for us, it was rather sad, when you are going out for a long walk ,it's good to have a descent breakfast in you. One single wheetabix,a soggy bap or soggy toast doesn't quite do it, I don't know why it's called Luxury as it falls far short of that, I'm not saying it's not for everyone, but certainly not for us, we just went to a cafe instead.

    The owner ( host ) was very pleasant. Room size was great with nice windows and light . Location was great too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The upright arm chairs had little seat padding and became uncomfortable after some time but, I am skinny with with little meat on MY seat.

    Location is excellent. We had a large room, tastefully decorated, well furnished and pleasant owner

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely boutique hotel, Tracy made us very welcome. Room very nice & bed comfy ++. Breakfast was just fab, served in the room delivered in picnic basket. Everything at right temperature & v nicely presented- extra treat of Buck's Fizz - so nice. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the whole experience was lovely.

    Lovely welcome and delicious breakfast in a hamper. Really comfortable room. We had to order early to get to our Great North Swim swimming slot on time and there were no problems accommodating us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was a poor selection , no full english available , no double glazing and a lot of traffic noise late at night , expensive for a single room , ( paid less for a double room at the glenville guest house ) ,

    the 1 staff member was very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little too firm but that is a preference

    A warm welcome, friendly hosts and a nice clean room. Breakfast was a continental selection of your choice delivered to your room (delicious ! ) The White Lodge is situated on the main thoroughfare to Bowness Lake , a good base to explore the area from .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room. Great hosts and the breakfast brought to the room in the picnic basket was wonderful. Really couldn't fault anything. I would love to go back again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was perfect. Well kept. Lovely location. Tracy was warm and hospitable and helpful. The breakfast was to die for. The location and view was very good. I would strongly recommend.this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the bed could have been bigger (the way I sleep unfortunately) and the shower water pressure wasn't up to it.

    The idea of a breakfast basket is inspirational, something my wife and I had never experienced before. It allows you to have exactly what you want in the comfort of your room, great idea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every attention to detail. The rooms were lovely, decorated beautifully and very clean! Our host was very helpful and put some lovely surprises in our room for my husbands 40th birthday. Breakfast was out of this world! Delivered to the room in a basket with Buck's Fizz! Lots to choose from and all delicious!!! Very impressed and we'd definitely stay here again!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good room, very welcoming and helpful host. Super breakfast which is ordered the night before and delivered to your room in a wonderful picnic hamper.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the buzz fizz hamper breakfast delivered to the room! Was a nice suprise as we expected to have to go down for breakfast. Was lovely the room was nice, clean and lake view was lovely. The bed was very comfty too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to get to the lake, the World of Beatrix Potter etc. Tracey could not have been more accommodating even supplying us with strawberries and flutes for the Prosecco. Breakfast in a picnic hamper left outside your door was fantastic and even included Bucks Fizz! Lovely and clean guest house with a lake view room we couldn't ask for more. We will definitely be back 😁

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: