Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of White Swan Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bondgate Within, Alnwick, NE66 1TD, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Alnwick

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 988 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.8
    Staff fantastic, building beautiful, breakfast and lunch...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift, but this is a beautiful old hotel and would not be in keeping with building. Price when we were there a lot dearer I think due to an event happening in Alnwick however, still worth the money.

    Staff fantastic, building beautiful, breakfast and lunch service excellent we were made to feel comfortable and nothing was a problem. Will definitely be visiting again. Thankyou for a wonderful stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    5.0
    The location is fantastic , right in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was shocking. We were in room 204 and I think it was smaller than the cleaners cupboard. Very very disappointed and terrible value for money at £125 per night ( room only ) bathroom extractor fan so noisy when you switch on light it would wake the dead. Definitely not good value for money

    The location is fantastic , right in the centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel full of character, family room needs redesigning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Family room for our Daughter, Husband and two children (one under one and a two year old) was on the second floor and with no lift was a bit much taking up the children and all the “stuff” that goes with them Room was not very child friendly tea making facilities , TV in dangerous position having children around Room not really big enough for a family room very claustrophobic.

    Nice large bed crisp clean sheets was nice having robe and slippers lovely large bath

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.0
    Good food, extremely poor staff attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff attitude was extremely condescending where the customer is always wrong. The bath and basin both overflowed the staff did not rectify or offer any goodwill Staff failed to tell us about dinner or offer to book us into their bistro, staff didn’t mention security regarding parking, they were more interested in preening themselves. Interestingly every customer at reception had some sort of dispute. Having run a guest house for years its not actually that hard ands can be very rewarding. Staff with no interest in the job shouldn’t work in the industry.

    Food was good this time very surprising

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    Titanic's twin sister is thriving in Alnwick
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps we were a little underwhelmed with the dinner.

    The unique Titanic related and amazingly historic staircases. Public rooms and amazing Olympic restaurant is a mind blower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    3.3
    Upsetting a real let down washing thrown outside doors and clean sheets outside bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too much too list very dissatisfied bed rolled away from wall had to place cushions under castors to stop the bed rolling place shabby

    Awful experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing, tOlympic restaurant was closed, reason we went there. Very noisy all night long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room located on main road, it was incredibly noisy all night long. Got very little sleep. Special occasion and had booked to have dinner in Olympic restaurant as white star is of particular interest to ours. Checked at time of booking that we would eat in the Olympic, phoned prior to arrival date to book table and time for dinner in the Olympic - arrived and staff told us it was closed - we would be eating in the bistro. The whole point of us visiting Alnwick was to eat in the Olympic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was dated and too much large furniture so it felt cramped. The breakfast was not hot. The access to the rooms at the rear is very shabby. Tatty old door then up steps and over gravel which is not great if you have a wheelie suitcase.

    Bed was comfortable and bedding and towels clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Think the bedrooms could be nicer

    Handy for Alwick castle and gardens.. Not far to drive to hold island or Bamburgh castle.. Food was excellent.. Great dinning in the Olympic dinning room as my partner is big into the Titanic.. And the Olympic is her sister ship.. The reason we chose this hotel..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    5.8
    Great location, steeped in history, needs money and staff training investing back into the business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is tired and need updating. Hot weather, bedroom windows only opened a few inches, no air- conditioning which made sleeping difficult and uncomfortable. Service in the bar was awful at 6.30/8.00 ish prior to dinner. Understaffed as it was the last time we went last year. Better staff training, lovely young waitresses trying their best but lacking in style and understanding of customer service. Management need to look at things long and hard from the customers perspective.

    Fantastic restaurant, great ambiance and lovely food. Good location in Anwick.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast chef could turn the grill down a bit when cooking the bacon......always overdone.....but maybe you like it crispy 😂

    If youre looking for flashy dont come but if you want real good old fashioned charm and lovely staff then hurry up because rooms sell out fast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom bit small, would liked shower unit, bad hip. Fine for most people.

    Food staff were great, Hotel beautiful wood work and decoration. Bedroom could of been larger, bathroom was fine. Stairs my fault, did not ask if thier was a lift, having said that the reception brought cases up and down for us, they were very helpful. Enjoyed food breakfast good as was dinner. Car parking was good free and near.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.0
    Pretty dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy (right next to busy through road and continual shouting in streets). Hot, especially in room in roof space with tiny window and no aircon. Three flights of stairs to get to room. Bar area didn't serve coffees into the evening. A wedding party on Saturday so couldn't get to the bar or use the lounge area. Limited parking so mostly had to use public car park over the road.

    Pretty dining room. Convenient for visiting Castle and Gardens.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was tired and not properly cleaned. No proper shower. Photos on website are misleading. Food was ok but nothing special. It was overpriced for what it was.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.1
    Apart from a couple of things which I have addressed above it the hotel served a purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room could have done with an upgrade I.e paintjob. Also when we went down for breakfast just after 9 it was lacking in various items which they had on display and didn’t renew or replace any of the items I.e only two danishes left and no more came out, the orange juice was not refilled until a guest asked for it to be done.

    The hotel being central to where we wanted to go and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Alnwick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drinks a little expensive - but not a deal breaker

    Everything else - the Olympic suite was wonderful to dine in, and the service was friendly and never let us down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    As it was the hottest week of the year so far, we enjoyed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a bit disappointed with the Bistro, Hardys as on both nights we ate there, there were dishes unavailable.

    As it was the hottest week of the year so far, we enjoyed the sun trap in the beer garden which was near our room. It was lovely sitting out there late afternoon with a drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.9
    The restaurant was interesting with the wooden panels being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds not too comfortable, shower difficult to use. Bathroom floor was a good 2 inches below bedroom floor, so although there was a sign up, we tripped up several times. Breakfast not too good, long wait.

    The restaurant was interesting with the wooden panels being from the Olympic, sister ship of the Titanic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.3
    A dream fulfilled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Saturday night revellers that the hotel can’t do anything about. If you want to avoid this ask for a room at the rear.

    A dream fulfilled. We spent our 40th wedding anniversary here and we were treated to little touches that made our day. The dining experience in the RSS Olympic dining room was everything we hoped for and sat in awe of the workmanship of a hundred years ago. Thank goodness it was saved and put in such an accessible place. The hotel was lovely and comfortable. The food delicious. We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    The location and amenities were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The afternoon tea was included with the stay which initially we thought was great but we felt penalised. Waited over 20 minutes just for a small sandwich. Had to ask for the table to be cleaned. Had to ask to for water. Just not worth it.

    The location and amenities were excellent. Most of the staff were great, some were not interested at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.5
    Great location, super staff, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift and family room was on the second floor, difficult with a baby and a toddler

    Excellent friendly staff, breakfast gorgeous, room lovely.Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly situated for a comfortable visit to Northumberland, but dine elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The blot on our visit was the evening dinner we booked in the Olympic dining room. Though the surroundings were sumptuous the meal was poor (the slice of beef given to me and described as "rump" was obviously presliced and bought in, and I've never had a salad starter that was so parsimonious I thought for a moment it was leftovers from another table brought to me by mistake), a surprising decline from when we visited a couple of years ago and had an excellent meal.

    Historic Hotel placed perfectly in the centre of Alnwick, 5 mins from castle, gardens and restaurants. The hotel is clean and comfortable but lacks a lift, so if this is an issue it needs to be mentioned. Staff were all helpful and polite, and the hotel has a comfortable bar and bistro restaurant (which is also open to the public). The hotel car park is crowded but free, but parking close by isn't a problem. The formal dining room is very elegant, being panelled with the original 1st CLass dining room from the Titanic's sister ship, the SS Olympic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast room makers it very special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's an old building, so it lacks certain modern conveniences such as a lift.

    The breakfast room is splendid and architecturally unique. Breakfast very good too. We enjoyed the evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in lovely Alnwick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we couldn’t stay a few more days

    This is a really lovely property in the beautiful castle town of Alnwick. The hotel was elegant and more than comfortable. Very nice dining area and beautiful breakfast room. Our room was large and very comfortable with room to spread out. The location of the hotel right in the middle of town on the high stree is perfect for walking about and exploring. In all, we loved this place and wished that we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    4.6
    Dated hotel which needs modernised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are dated and falling to bits. Bathroom could be cleaner and needs updating. Rooms expensive for what you get and how tired looking they are. Breakfast was average, needs more vegetarian options and something a bit more exciting!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    6.3
    The room was very dated, they have tried to add some up to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very dated, they have tried to add some up to date features to bring the room into the 21st century (not very well I must add). However, if your thing is brown furniture, 80’s patterned carpet and single glazed windows, then is hotel is the place for you!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    5.8
    wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom not to my taste, too hot in rooms, window didn't open up enough,mattress was awful, wobbly toilet seat

    spacious rooms, clean room, breakfast was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.1
    Would not go back poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It needs a good makeover and clean the first room we went into was dingy and the second room was baking hot and you could only open the window by 3 inches

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    An charming old Hotel to relax and recharge your batteries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rambling layout may put some off but we thought it added to the charm of the building

    A traditional hotel which provides comfortable accommodation and excellent food at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    5.0
    Good central location for visiting the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was dreadful particularly at breakfast. They had run out of things which were on the menu at both afternoon tea and breakfast. No information in rooms. Staff inattentive and slow.

    Good central location for visiting the castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location, excellent base for exploring a beautiful area of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfasts were disappointing. The room was at the front of the hotel which was extremely noisy due to traffic. The Hardy's Bistro was a little tired and could do with a spring clean.

    The dining room was stunning and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent location and private parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.2
    Good position and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt the bathroom was in need of updating. When I booked I asked for a ground floor room expecting there to be no steps. However there were steps into the hotel and another 4-5 steps onto the next level from there a step down onto an outside area followed by another 3-4 steps up to the level of our room. My husband is disabled and is in a wheelchair for much of the time so all the steps and the gravel path proved rather a challenge. In hindsight I should have stated when booking that we had a wheelchair - so not really the hotels fault.

    The staff were really helpful. The breakfast room was magnificent, stain glass windows and wonderful carved oak panels. There was a good choice for breakfast. it was very handy to be so close to Alnwick Castle and gardens. It was a very easy walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay and would go again but request not to have a similar sized room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was too small for two people to be able to move about in comfort I think the managers should try smaller rooms and see how they get on!

    We thought the Hotel was great and we enjoyed the food very much. Room was clean and we had all that we needed except more space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Great location.Fab staff. Good parking. No lift. Bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift although this was made clear. Think they should invest in adding a lift. Wall between bedrooms was paper thin so you could clearly hear all conversations and noises from adjacent room. Headboards were on each side of the wall and seemed to amplify the sound. Very embarrassing. Spoilt our stay. Room 125/126. Breakfast was good quality but very basic for the cost compared to similar. Almost rationed. No extra butter to help yourself to. Continental only available on request. Minimal fresh fruit. Tea and coffee not replenished. Cooked breakfast to order so you couldn't help yourself. Got bored of little choice and was only there 3 days. Good choice if you liked eggs. I don't. Our bedroom was clean but was very tired and worn. 125 .bathroom especially. Chrome worn off taps. Black dirty cord on light over mirror. Radiator taped up at pipe. Very tatty. Expected more for what they are charging. Needs a serious referb.

    Great location. Lovely staff. Breakfast room stunning. Interior of sister ship to the titanic. Very historic and beautiful room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    The staff were really welcoming and we had our evening meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window had no latch which made our room very cold however we put a towel over the gap and turned the radiator on which did the job. Room was a little dated and bed a little small for a double.

    The staff were really welcoming and we had our evening meal and breakfast in the Olympic Suite which was delicious. The evening meal had very small portions having said that still filling. Breakfast was perfect, good selection of hot and cold food. Parking was free at the back of the hotel. The bathroom was big and very clean. Would definitely go back :) !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.3
    I have stayed before some years ago and would, if in Alnwick again, probably choose the White swan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was a little cool in the evening but once in bed I was comfortable.

    Room had everything I expected to be there. Lots of informative literature about the area. The shower was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    6.7
    Interestng menu well cooked food in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    En suite needed grouting cleaning, some of it was black & other small repairs or upgrading. waitresses at breakfast could have been more polite, were quite blunt.

    Interestng menu well cooked food in restaurant. Pleasant reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.8
    Under-achieving hotel with some redeeming features in popular holiday location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedrooms were characterless and rather scruffy. The breakfast staff were overworked and not at all helpful. The quality of the food at breakfast was mediocre. The hotel relies on its location close to Alnwick Castle and gardens. In my opinion, it would not survive anywhere where there was much competition. Needs change of management and a refurbishment. No lift.

    Excellent location and impressive communal areas (particularly the formal dining room). Reception staff helpful. Bistro food was of reasonable quality and value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.4
    Good location, poor hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being ripped off for a very ordinary hotel with decidedly average food including breakfast. The only good bit was the decor in the dining room at breakfast. Certainly would not reccomend this hotel to anybody unless the prices were reviewed and lowered.

    Hotel, room and food were only average and I would have expected far better for the price. Rooms were very small, we ate in the bistro on the Friday evening where the food was ordinary. The whole place is overpriced....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.9
    Great Hotel which is centrally located, great if you want to visit the gardens or the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the room faced the main street, there were good views, but also a lot of noise from boy racers and the pizza place opposite that stayed open until 2:30am. This is out of the Hotels control but something that did put a dampener of the Saturday night stay. Especially as we had great weather and had to have the window open to allow cool air into the room.

    Good friendly staff who offered local advice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant enough but expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over-priced, especially with non-inclusive breakfast. Kitchen closed at 9.00 in a large central hotel in the middle of May.

    Good location and free car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.1
    Northumberland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing: lack of vegetarian options; stale, or overly warm buffet; cooked portion sizes very small.

    Convenient location, and period features.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay and within walking distance to the castle and gardens, the main reason for our visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food could have been better especially the evening meal, would probably stay just B and B in future

    Convenient position for the sightseeing, staff at reception were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really really good value with a spring promotion to include dinner bed and breakfast and afternoon tea as Well!! Staff very friendly and helpful and would definitely recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.5
    Some fittings from Titanic's sister ship and other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2nd floor access hard for senior with large suitcase.

    Some fittings from Titanic's sister ship and other titanic memorabilia. Nice breakfast in great setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable short break hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom could have been better. A bit dated.

    Monday steak night with a bottle of wine was a good deal! Staff very helpful. Would stay there again, and very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location so I would return if the room was either updated or price reduced to reflect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt it was overall expensive and décor dated (outside the impressive main entrance) particularly in our room (family room on 2nd floor) the hotel bistro bar was expensive and the servers were polite but not greatly interested in the fact the majority of my £19 sirloin steak was inedible gristle - which I had waited an over an hour for, not great food, wish we had stayed at the 'Market Tavern' where we had had a quick drink earlier in the evening, the food there looked amazing rather then head back to eat at the hotel

    I really would return here - The reception staff were helpful, the breakfast staff attentive, chambermaids all polite, hotel location and free on site parking is absolutely excellent, my overall score of this seems low at 7.5 but I feel it reflects the disappointments of the modern looking integral bar/bistro and rather dated bedroom (maybe other rooms are better as our room was right up in the attic and so perhaps last on the list of an upgrade programme, even so is well overdue a revamp despite no cleanliness issues!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Surprisingly pleasant with lovely features
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The one flaw I have to say is is that the beds are not secure to the wall. Everything else was perfect

    Liked the decor of the whole hotel. Lovely style

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.3
    Not bad, but not quite what we expected of a quality hotel in such a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a separate modern block behind the hotel - we thought at first that we had got lost and found our way to the staff quarters! The shower head was poorly secured, kept swinging out of position and soaked all of the bath towels! The sink wouldn't drain properly; we had quite a fight to loosen the plug enough to let it work properly. Security was dodgy; there was a fire exit door to the rear car park that appeared to be kept unlocked. It wasn't a dreadful place, just needed a bit more attention to detail.

    Good location, nice public areas, pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we had was small, overpriced and extremely noisy despite being at the back of the building! There was an air conditioning unit on the roof right next to our room and the noise was like a jet engine, on and off all night.also the sink and toilet weren't draining properly and what really annoyed us was the maid service interrupted us 3 times, eventually letting themselves into the room long before checkout time!

    The location in the centre of alnwick. The building itself is lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful dinning area, this is what brought me to the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small and you have to climb over the toilet to get into the shower and when you step backwards in the shower you bang your head off the low ceiling. The design of this bathroom is very dangerous.

    Beautiful dinning area, this is what brought me to the hotel, the Olympic liner fittings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    6.3
    Good friendly staff, good location and pleasant stay. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn't detract from our experience but Hardys and in general the place was looking a little tired.

    There weren't any croissants but breakfast was good. We came to take part in a local sporting event and brought 5 families although we booked separately. Next time we'll contact you first to see if a better rate is available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.5
    food good and staff friendly, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite expensive for room only, when I booked I thought breakfast was included, however this was a further £10 each on top of room rate. The room was very basic and dated. Felt as though hotel was living on its history rather than updating property, window was sticking and needed painting, On saying that the bedding was clean and bathroom was clean and adequately equipped.

    The food in the BAR / restaurant was excellent, burgers and steak was cooked to our specifications.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    We loved the decor, had a great time and have recommended it to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't like the fixed shower head and the shower curtain didn't really contain the water in the bath.

    The beds were excellent, the room was spacious and quite. My dietary requirements were well catered for. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great place and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Main rd room (no7) could do with a secondary glazing so road traffic noise is reduced. Only an issue for day time if needing a nap

    Everything else was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is an issue but there is a free public car park just behind the hotel.

    Everything was great. Way beyond my expectations, which were already high. Exceptional value and very helpful staff. One of the best places I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.9
    Special thanks to receptionist on duty Sunday am/lunch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More annoying than anything: if the room had been booked via Booking.com breakfast was £16 :99pppd. Ordering when there was £9.95pppd

    Special thanks to receptionist on duty Sunday am/lunch. She booked a local taxi at our specification. On non-arrival, she contacted again. She offered to contact an alternative, telling of our urgency to get to railway station. It duly arrived and we made our connection. Must say she went above and beyond what would normally be given.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.8
    Memorable way to satisfy a long standing 'itch'!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! We like Alnwick and the Northumbrian coast, and hope to stay with you again

    Our son and I are very interested in maritime history, esp Cunard and White Star Line, so Olympic Dining Room was a joy (Google David Duncan Turner FRPSL for further info at 'Windsor Philatelics' page. ) TQ

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    5.0
    A disaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please see above.

    Not one to complain normally but our trip was appalling to say the least. My mum and I booked to stay at the White swan Hotel for two nights over the Easter weekend. (31st March - 2nd April.) My sister and her young family live in Alnwick so we thought it would be a lovely treat to stay close by so that the family could be together for Easter. On arrival, the initial impression of the staff was 'uninterested'. Our room was at the rear of the hotel within the 1960s extension. Shortly after arriving back at the room after a disappointing visit to the bar / restaurant my mum decided to use the bathroom. I heard a huge thud and was horrified to see my mum collapsed on the bathroom floor. My mum is still recovering from major Open Heart Surgery which took place late December. After realising the fall was due to the 3 inch step down to the bathroom I was enraged. My mum was extremely shaken up and hurt her ankle. Although physical injury was minimal, emotionally she was shaken. Not what she deserved or hoped for on her weekend away. Being an Architect I know how dangerous this unexpected change in level is. Yes there was a small sign at high level on the door saying 'mind the step' but the door was open when she entered and the sign very much resembled a standard 'toilet' sign. ( Also worth noting not everyone can read ). After calling reception straight away to notify them of the incident, ice was offered and confirmation of 'the sign' was given but the seriousness of the incident did not seem to register. The next day we asked to speak with the General Manager, but were told that he wouldn't be available until the following day. We informed the duty manager of the incident who assured us that the hotel always passed it's 3 monthly health and safety checks. This seemed to be offered as some sort of reassurance. This makes me wonder are all of the rooms actually checked at this inspection?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.6
    Fourth visit and consistently excellent. Perfect place in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Beautiful and comfortable hotel in a great location with excellent staff, top restaurant and fast WiFi. Ideal for couples,families or friends trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.1
    Ok but the hotel is dated and a little shabby - faded grandeur springs to mind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was cold. I informed a receptionist but nothing happened. Also my room was very noisy due to traffic. Double glazing is needed.

    Dining room was beautiful. Very comfortable beds. breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely old hotel great staff don’t have drinks in the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    First room was very cold heating not working and heating rail in bathroom not working and fixed with black tape😮 However on complaints got moved to Alnwick suite which was lovely though one radiator still not working. Staff were lovely but don’t drink there one glass of wine and beer over £12 .00. Ridiculous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.8
    The food at Hardy's Bistro was excellent and the service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Family Room we stayed in needed refreshing and refurbishment. The windows were drafty, the shower leaked, the kettle didn't work properly.

    The food at Hardy's Bistro was excellent and the service from the two waitresses was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.9
    We slept well and had a reasonable breakfast each morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms are much smaller than expected. The bedrooms were very cold.

    The beds are very comfortable. The staff were all very cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.1
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of the room was bad. The bed was small for 2 tall persons.

    Location was good. Good parking opportunities. Castle and gardens were really closeby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    The evening meal was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were disappointed that the Olympic Suite was closed on the night of our visit...we really wanted to dine in that room with all its history

    The evening meal was amazing...so good. Breakfast was a bit disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    comfortable room and friendly staff, easy parking and lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the kitchen struggled to cope with what we felt were not too many customers; by the third morning the smoked salmon with the scrambled eggs was just a token and on the final evening we were almost forgotten by the waiting staff

    the food was tasty although it would have been nice to have been offered the a la carte menu, at a supplement of course

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.9
    We liked our stay and we will get back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When a customer asks for vegetarian, the kitchen should be ready. That was what we were told but it did not happen

    People gave us a vegetarian meal when asked for. I rated it slightly lower as the first day we did not get vegetarian sausages even though we told the hotel we were vegetarian. The rest of the stay the waitress made sure it was available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    Cold because the weather was bad but very relaxed night spent in the white swan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from road quite bad but we were at the front of the hotel facing the main road through alnwick

    Room spotless ..food presentation perfect. Staff very attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.1
    No lift (party had two babies with buggies, plus disabled...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift (party had two babies with buggies, plus disabled guest who struggles to walk). Bathroom floor tiles were loose and poorly grouted. Breakfast was very small for the best part of £10 each.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    8.8
    Welcoming, comfy and friendly hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little noisy with main road outside, cheese board at dinner not the best.

    Lovely hotel in an ideal location. Very friendly staff, took care of my extra little touches for my partners birthday. All good, comfy and clean room. Olympic restaurant is stunning, lovely feature, food nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    6.3
    One night was enough
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room (rabbit hutch) accessed via a rough path(in the rain) to an adjacent building. Room too small and pathetically small bathroom. Barely enough space to use the loo.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.3
    An excellent and enjoyable stay with only a couple of very minor issues.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found that the shower temperature varied too much and too frequently for it to be an enjoyable experience. We also found upon returning to the hotel late at night that we had to wait outside for some time to be let back in as the staff were not at the desk at the time.

    The room was comfortable and had everything we needed, the breakfast was an excellent mixture of hot fresh food and a cold buffet and served in a beautiful room, and the staff were helpful and clear. They made our bed while we were out even though we left things scattered on it after leaving in a hurry, which was nice. There was an iron and ironing board available in the room, useful as we were attending a wedding. Overall, pretty great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    Room was basic, but great value, breakfast and dinner which were both excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stopped in a twin room as booked late, not used to sleeping in a single so didn't sleep too well but as I'm not used to it, it may well have just been me.

    Lovely staff pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    10
    Weekend to see family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all was good

    The staff were very friendly the restaurant is fab, the dining room is lovely as it’s interior is from RMS Olympic (Titanic’s sister ship) very impressive,the hotel is clean and comfortable, the food is good. Would recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse White Swan Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: