Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Whiteways Guest House

1 East Terrace, Penzance, TR18 2TD, United Kingdom

#42 of 43 B&Bs and Inns in Penzance

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 364 B&B reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    For a short break at a very reasonable price this would be good, especially since near bus and rail
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location near the main road into Penzance was inevitably noisy - bad for a light sleeper. The railway station obscures most of the sea-view (except for one small area visible from my room only). The TV only seemed to pick up BBC stations well.

    Comfy bed. Very clean room, bedding & towels. Excellent well-cooked breakfast of good quality ingredients. Do it yourself tea and coffee etc. Shower easy to operate and working well. Landlady most pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    Not really recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all a bit dated and uncomfortable. There was a power cut in the night, which caused the smoke alarms to go off for 25 minutes and they couldn't be silenced, and the bed was uncomfortable, so we didn't have a good sleep at all. Noisy road and nowhere to park during the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather run down. There was a slight problem with the toilet waste system that's extracted by a pump. On arrival we each needed to spend a penny, and on flushing the loo it smelt badly of sewerage. We left the toilet gagging. We reported the problem to the proprietor, who said it was likely to do with the room not having been used for a while. On returning to the b & b the problem seemed at first to be resolved, but after several uses of the loo it was still slightly noticeable.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.8
    Got out as quick as possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riom very small could just get a suitcase in it the bathroom when you're sat on the toilet your knees were underneath the sink. Window did not open for ventilation and lino was split in there toilet.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    filthy , grubby, thread baring carpets, needs a good clean and painting from top to bottom !!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs in room , carpets worn thread bearing , wall paper coming away from the ceiling , paint stains on the carpet , skirting full of dust , grubbing room , Hall way filthy of cat hairs , stale smell , My first impression was oh my word what have I booked !!!!!! Never again will I stay there !!!!!!

    Nothing !!!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money. You pay for what you get. Helpful landlady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit noisy in the mornings with the window open, as you are by a main road and by the station which had a diesel locomotive warming up and you could feel the vibrations in the air. There is no storage space for bicycles, although the landlady did allow us to store up to two bikes in the narrow hallway.

    Tiny guesthouse right by the railway station. Cannot miss it. Nice cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    All was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was troublesome but this does not reflect on premises as all parking in Penzance is very difficult.

    Location was within 5mins of town centre and along the sea front and overall this was good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value basic accomodation with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Friendly Proprietor and an excelkent breakfast.Local produce used and home made jams & marmalade.Lovely coffee also blended locally.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Kathy was very hospitable and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WIFI sadly didn't work on either my phone nor my computer

    Kathy was very hospitable and welcoming. She made it feel like I was staying at a friend's house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Did the job, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting to have the tiny room (9)which wasn't a problem, but the bed was unacceptably creaky. I slept, but was aware of any movement disturbing guests in neighbouring rooms.

    The landlady kindly allowed me to check in quite late in the evening, as that's when my train from London arrived. Very handy for the station and subsequently the status transfer to Land's End.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Would definatly stay there again if i was in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really comfy. Everywhere clean. Cathy was really welcoming and her breakfast was brilliant. Very easy to find as it's opposite the bus and rail station which is an ideal location.I

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Tailored to my needs and budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but adequate, and I hadn’t expected it to be en-suite. I had all I needed: a comfy bed, heater if I needed it, kettle, TV and quiet surroundings. My hostess was friendly and welcoming, and the price and location good. I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was shabby both outside and inside. Rooms small. Duvet, throw and carpet dirty. One tap didn't work and toilet flushed extremely loudy. Mould in the bathroom

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location right by the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No easy access to find or contact the owner on site. Wi-Fi connection only worked in the corridor and not room - but this is not a problem for me as I am on holiday and getting away from emails etc!

    Good location right by the station. Tea and coffee in room is a good selection. The shower was very powerful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Perfect for our needs
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    owner was very friendly, very warm welcome, obliging, nothing too much trouble. The room was tidy, clean, beds comfortable and extra touches with pillows and cushions, also good choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. Breakfast nicely cooked and presented. Ideal location for Railway Station and Isles of Scilly Ferry

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming. Relaxing. Perfect location for a night in Penzance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in room could have been larger. But not really an issue for a single night stay.

    Excellent welcoming. Owner was really friendly and helpful. Parking not available with B&B but owner helpfully directed me on where to park. Room was comfortable and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But I cannot take bath at midnight in my room and no hair dryer in my room..

    Near to train&bus station and room is clean and comfortable. And landlord is a really nice person.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing stay - photos and information misleading
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not very clean, parts of wallpaper peeling off, view of window was a wall 1 metre away, no hospitality upon arrival due to owner being away, no breakfast on the first morning as owner was away

    Nothing much to like apart from location is very near the railway station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Amazing stay, highly recommend and will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff she upgraded my room with no extra cost, very welcoming. The room exceed my expectations it was extremely comfortable with great facilities. The breakfast was lovely again staff very friendly and welcoming in the morning. I would highly recommend and will definitely be staying there again. The price was extremely good for the high standard of the room and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable room, offered excellent breakfast options,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just didn't like the steep stairs if you have luggage to carry upto room

    Very comfortable room, offered excellent breakfast options, Very attentive staff at excellent prices with fantastic location to town bus and train station so can't fault would definitely stay again if needed accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.9
    Only there for 1 night very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking if you are there for the first time.

    The owner was very nice and helpful, the hotel was clean, nice and warm all night and tidy with every thing there in your room. Very good value for the money and would recomend it to any one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Excellent b &b; ideal for train/ bus station and for pick up for airport shuttle and for Scillonian
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike! 😊

    Friendly warm welcome from Kathy, what a lovely lady and spotlessly clean everywhere. Key given to iwn room and the main front door for easy access. Will definitely return and have recommended to friend. Excellentvalue for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Ok, don't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Until I checked in, didn't know that on Sunday breakfast won't be served until 8.30am. Had to catch train before 8.30 on Sunday, so didn't have breakfast. Owner said she would give some juice or make sandwich but didn't have anything at the end.

    small room but clean, very close to station, great for one night for a single person

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    couldnt ask for more
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a leisure trip the owner was amazing and so accommodating. Allowing early check in for bags, asking about the day I had, so many touches that were amazing. I plan on returning and wouldn't stay anywhere else despite the variety. I travel very regularly around the UK and loved this trip, a major percentage of this was the host. Well done x

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.2
    adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was in the bedroom. Property difficult to find as 1 East Terrace no longer exists. Had to resort to phoning owner to ask for directions. Property on main road, traffic noise evening and early morning.

    cooked breakfast was good, toast came hot with the food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the outside the property is a little tired but the rooms are very clean and we had a peaceful nights sleep.

    Breakfast was excellent.. especially the homemade jams...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely, cosy, warm and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing (i'm sure it was an oversight) was one of the cups on the breakfast table wasn't clean. i just turned it round! didn't want to moan as everything else was fab.

    Wonderfully comfy beds, i tried 2 (offer of bigger room for second night ) lovely hearty breakfast, offer of more tea and toast, home made jam (yummy) lovely friendly host. Great shower (nice big shower head) in the little room, nothing wrong with the big room shower though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor internet access. I was not able to log onto the internet at all. But it was great not to be able to check my emails and having a complete break from them. It actually contributed to my relaxing holiday.

    Breakfast was really excellent, I had extra tea and toast, it was not a problem at all. Staff were wonderful, friendly helpful and kind. I would definately return to this place for another holiday. Great shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    The lady really put herself out to be helpful and make our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady really put herself out to be helpful and make our stay very pleasant, she stored a case for us whilst we went to the scilly Isles for a week and was generally very good, I hope for her sake she sells the place soon and can get on with her life since the death of her husband.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Short but sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small for us was the ensuite.

    Kathy's breakfasts were fantastic. The location was excellent being so close to the shops etc. Couldn't get closer to the railway and buses. Ksthy wax an excellent host

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    2.9
    Whiteways....maybe once...now white-away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst B&B I ever tried! Weak points: a long list! The place looks really dismal, old and consumed furniture, extra small and noisy room, you can hear your neighbours and all the noise of the world from the street! At breakfast the smell was simply disgusting with a strong smell of oil in all the dining room, I took just toast with jam then I went out because the air was unbreathable!Looks like a place that maybe 15 years ago was nice but now nobody cares.Simply depressing!

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.2
    Grubby & run down Guest House in need of major investment.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grubby & run down Guest House. The owner is friendly and welcoming but she is clearly not coping with running the Guest House. I am guessing that is why she has it up for sale. Everything you need is there but it is all cheap, tacky, grubby, and in a poor state of repair. Carpets are thread bare and way beyond being able to be cleaned, wall paper was thrown at the walls by someone with no decorating skills (some stuck over the top of older paper). It is all now over painted & peeling off. Bedding and beds are worn out, shower is cheapest little electric unit you could buy and again fitted by someone with zero skills. However, water was nice and warm and adequate to enable you clean yourself. There was a bottom of the range flat-packed wardrobe but I did not want to touch it for fear it would fall to pieces (which clearly it had already done many times before). On route to the breakfast room you get a glimpse into the small, overcrowded kitchen with the owners cat having pride of place on the kitchen work surface as she prepares your food for you! For me the experience was a little like visiting an elderly relative living on the state pension in a run down council house and struggling to make end meet.

    The sign that said it was for sale!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.9
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, threadbare carpets landlady liked to have her cat on her shoulders in the kitchen when cooking breakfast, noisy plumbing, noise from traffic and no sleep because of all this. Don't be fooled by the photos In the dining room there is a sofa that is absolutely filthy.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.3
    Very, very poor property. Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of cooking was throughout the property. No Wifi although on web although it says it's available. No facility to pay by credit card. The toilet in bathroom very poor. The whole place looked dirty and worn out and that was reflected in the cost. I would not recommend this property to anyone.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.8
    Very dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room size was too small and the beds were far too small. Single bed size even smaller than normal. No parking made it difficult to park near the venue. Very dated place. Or adult daughter was in the next room and couldn't put her case anywhere except behind the door making it hard to get out of the room. The owner was very pleasant but the rooms were inadequate,

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Well located comfortable guesthouse.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have been able to stay longer!

    The house is a "home from home", owner friendly and approachable. Also, breakfast choices are really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely basic B & B with a great host , perfectly placed for the bus and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location for a short stay in Cornwall . Minutes from the train and bus station .Very friendly and helpful host , fantastic breakfast . The place is a little worn but I'd call that character ! If you just want a bed and shower as a base to explore all the area has to offer then this is fantastic value for money . I would definitely stay again .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Friendly host, superb brekkie and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location and the street parking was easy despite it being Bank Holiday weekend. The accommodation needs updating but was spotlessly clean, our host Kathy was very friendly and the breakfast was cooked fresh to order and was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    All good and as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property requires a major overhaul

    Very clean and room supplied with everything you would require. Good breakfast and owner a good host. No parking but parking cost £6 for an overnight stay in town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Good value accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first impression was a bit off putting because it is up for sale and needed some improvement in its appearance.

    The owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Well located comfortable guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no criticism, and look forward to staying again.

    Lovely friendly but professional lady running guest house, great breakfast and a good "home from home" place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    cheap an cheerful for our travels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guest house was a little run down an probably needs a refurb....but we were just looking for somewhere to get a few hours kip on our travels. so was fine for our purpose

    there were extra little touches that were nice...we were getting the ferry to the isles of scilly the next day, so the location was ideal. I did actually sleep really well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location for station and Scillonian ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for station and Scillonian ferry. Very friendly welcome, comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Would happily return and recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Cornwall at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being on a main road there is nothing that can be done to alter that but it did not matter to us.

    Kathryn is a very good host and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was second to none. The property is 2 minutes walk from the railway station, bus station and town center and about seven minutes walk to the pier to catch the ferry to Scilly Isles. We would definitely stay there again if we go back to Penzance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and welcoming host. Clean and comfy bed, good breakfast, plenty of accessible plug points, very convenient for train station and shuttle to airport. Yes, the room could do with some upgrading but it suited my purpose and I was perfectly happy with the accommodation for the price I paid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    This being human, is a guesthouse (by poet Rumi) (Coldplay track from A Head Full of Dreams)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whiteways Guest House is set in a prime location only yards from busy Penzance Station. The house has a good feeling about it. The landlady Cathy gives you a warm welcome and hearty breakfast. She tells me she has come to retirement time and Whiteways is up for sale. I feel this is a great opportunity for anyone to live and work in Cornwall, do some refurb in this great wee place and enjoy Cornish life.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    ideal choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reading the sad people with no life negative comments grow up bet its far better than what you live in

    excellent accommodation superb food host cant do enough to help many thanks for enjoyable stay*****

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Hospitable host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water heater was having alternative hot and cold water. The toilet was temporarily blocked in the evening. Otherwise everything was good.

    Hospitable host

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Suited us fine for our overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor was a bit shabby but was understandable as the landlady had a lot of maintenance to do as she was on her own

    All facilities were fine. Price was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    Not for us again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house was looking very tired lots of redecorating required from top to bottom.

    Guest house in a good location for the ferry port. We can't comment on breakfast as we had an early ferry, the lady did offer us cereals and toast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My request for a particular room was met . The room did need a little tlc

    Cathy was a wonderful hostess. Excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. Being so close to the train and bus was very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.3
    Lovely landlady, but B&B a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was not cleaned completely. The bed was terribly creaky and the toilet window didn't have a catch so banged in the wind, making sleep difficult. My friend's room didn't have power all night, meaning the toilet didn't flush, and she had to move to another accomodation for the remaining stay.

    Landlady was lovely as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Nice convenient place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Location was excellent. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Very close to bus and train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient to Penzance station and the Scillonian ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is up for sale and is looking a little tired.

    Very convenient to Penzance station and the Scillonian ferry. Very good hearty breakfast and the lady was lovely and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location for an overnight stay in Penzance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the weather!

    The location was excellent. A short walk from the ferry terminal for my arrival from the Isles of Scilly and the bus station for a morning trip to Land's End and the train station for my departure to London Paddington on GWR.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.8
    Not good, but with a comfortable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bed sheets and mattress. Hair on bed sheets. Really tiny shower cabin. Dirty shower floor. No soap, just some shower gel in a quite small bottle. Our initial room didn't have a working shower. By chance, there was a couple who was late, so they gave us their room. Keep in mind that, because I know that the room with broken shower is like that from a long time.

    Right next to the train station. Close to Albert pier. Close to main shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for price! I thought i'd find out why this place was so cheap when I got there. I never did find out. Also, friendly proprietor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.5
    handy night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too soft for me and creaked every time I moved. The room was hot but I turned the heater off and that solved that.

    The proximity to the station was wonderful, Not sharing a bathroom as I had thought I would have to was a pleasant bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet system a little loud when flushed

    The convenience of the location, 5minutes walk to bus/train station. The friendly staff, and excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    3.3
    Not cheap or cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The handbasin had hair in it, the tv worked on and off, the loo only flushed once and then would not refill. The wall paper was falling off, all in all a poor setup, bad value for money.

    The bed was ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location and friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Everything was 'tired'.

    Had to leave early so didn't have breakfast. Friendly owner but the place was run down. I only wanted a bed for the night near the station, and for that it was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    3.8
    chep for a reasion!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our shower didnt work having been told at lenght that it had!! the room was clean but all the fitting and fixtures where very tired. the place is up fro sale and who ever buys ithasd there work cut out

    There was not mu8ch to shout about with this place and we understand that it it up for sale which explanes alot the food was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    Short stay visit to Penzance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of TLC.

    Booked a single but was offered a double at no extra cost. Very comfy bed and duvet. Plenty of pillows. Good double glazing as my room faced the main road. Good WiFi and TV.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    A good stop- off pi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the carpets were a little old, but the room was clean and good value for a single room.

    Lovely breakfast with very tasty bacon and home- made marmalade. The owner was friendly and helpful, and the site perfect for access to the station and airport bus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    If you are looking for affordable accommodation on a budget this is good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with refurbishing/ redecorating. However our room was clean and comfortable.

    Lovely warm welcome from the owner. Lovely cooked breakfast and beautiful homemade marmalade. Bed was clean and comfortable. We had a good nights sleep. We will return in the future. Room was lovely and warm on arrival.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    5.0
    Central location, room and particularly shower was disappointing quality.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 14, my allocated room was messy, poorly decorated, the shower had mould around the base.

    The location was central, the hostess was friendly & helpful, breakfast was enjoyable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.0
    home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    nice warm room with views of the sea.. small and homely .. i am not fond of big hotels friendly staff and good breakfast,, and right by bus and train stations for transport!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really not to like, it was a one night stay for the ferry - super convenient, maybe shower a bit small - but comfortable and clean.

    Breakfasts lovely Basic hotel, but comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    A nice cozy place to stay for a while.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    The breakfast was really really great. And this place is just around the corner of the train and bus station. Very practical for me because I use this place as my base to do my daytrips to St. Ive, Land's End, Mousehole and Marazion.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Comfy stay right in the heart of Penzance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault.

    I like value for money for a start, especially in Cornwall. Will looking to be staying here again. Cosy room and very clean. Lovely landlady who served a very nice properly cooked breakfast. Location is great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    The best place I could have been
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was fine. I have no criticism

    It delivers what it offers. I've paid more elsewhere and not been so content. The welcome and subsequent dealings are always friendly and I am sure genuine. What more would I want?

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Pretty good host and her breakfast!! If I have another chance to penzance, this place will be my first choic. Many thanks to Kathy!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.8
    Basic no frills accommodation, but very pleasant owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and traffic noise late into the night.

    Very helpful and pleasant landlady who apologised twice for the size of the room. Plenty of options for a vegetarian breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    A welcoming B&B, a stones throw from Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable, and the bedding of duvets warm, liked the option of extra blankets. The full English breakfast was lovely, homemade strawberry jam.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    2.5
    Not to recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was dirty and dusty. It smells in the rooms. The furniture and bathroom showed waer and tear. The price-performance-ratio was definitely inappropriate.

    Nothing. It was awful.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: