Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Whitley Hall Hotel 4 stars

Elliot Lane, Chapeltown, S35 8NR, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Chapeltown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    Atmospheric hotel with bags of charm, very convenient...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Atmospheric hotel with bags of charm, very convenient location for access to Sheffield, but very quiet setting. Food was very good, I would definitely go again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay and relax in the vast gardens, a surprise find an one to go back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower pressure was low so not a power shower

    Very welcoming and warm reception. Staff very helpful and room was clean and well decorated. Bathroom was clean and spacious. The restaurant was comfortable and the menu had a lot of choice. The food was very good and potions generous. All together a great meal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Room, staff & service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, 2 weddings taking place with discos until midnight. Suspect if you went during the week it would be quiet but weddings apparently take place most weekends.

    Room, staff & service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that 85 pounds for a small room no matter how comfortable should at least include breakfast but breakfast was extra and quite expensive. We waited for quite a while before being served and I had to get up from the table and see for someone to serve us.

    The room was small but very comfortable and there was tea and coffee making facilities. The staff were extremely friendly and could not have been any kinder.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very dark, lighting inadequate; couldn't use the full length mirror inside the wardrobe as you couldn't open the door fully as the bedside cabinet was in the way!

    Staff very friendly, nice clean rooms with comfy beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Room was very nice and the hotel grounds were very nice.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony could be cleaner, the railing and windows were quite dirty. Spot lights above the bed had grease running down them. We looked forward to sitting by the lake but it smelled and wasn't as attractive as in the photos Curtains had lots of dust and webs on them.

    The bed was comfy, had all the essentials needed in the room. The room was clean and had nice furniture. The balcony was a nice feature.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend this place if you're in the mood of spoiling youself for once.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food and beer is a bit overpriced. Over 5 pounds for a beer is a bit on the high side.

    The ambience is next to none. A very beautiful and relaxing place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    we booked here only a few days before travelling but were pleased with our choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived the hotel was very busy dealing with a wedding which meant we had to wait a while to get a cup of coffee while we were waiting to go into our room

    The room was comfortable and quiet. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Good to see the Peacocks and their babies in the grounds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in a lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fixed head shower but no shower caps in room and would prefer a stand alone cubicle not over the bath, ground floor room looked over car park and entrance so people walking past windows

    Lovely grounds, friendly staff, comfortable bed, bonus of a peacock roaming around too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    An amazing wedding weekend with many happy memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble. The atmosphere was brilliant and a fantastic venue for a wedding. A great mix of a tranquil, idyllic setting and an opulent party place! We enjoyed our stay so much that we would love to return and use it as a base to tour the north.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Very nice hotel, clean and confortable but those peacocks are annoying in the early hours.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was told their was room service but there were no menus in the room, There was a place for them in the mini directory but they weren't there. Peacocks are very beautiful but I don't really want them outside the window shrieking at 4 a.m. Cooked breakfast was very ordinary for the high price tag of £17. dinner stops serving at 20.45, a bit early for a hotel.

    beautiful hotel , very "period" in its décor and all well maintained, ample parking and friendly staff at reception. Rooms are well equipped with high quality equipment, nice in room tea and coffee facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    An enjoyable stay with welcoming team of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a friendly function - a get together of family and friends - it was excellent. I particularly was impressed by the staff who were not only efficient but quietly friendly and made one feel welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful place but staff put a dampener on stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on duty during our stay were incredibly rude and asking for anything felt like an imposition. We stayed here just 1 night for a wedding and at breakfast the next morning the host was quite aggressive with us and annexed us from the wedding party, of which we part of and explained that. We soon seated ourselves elsewhere after she didn’t offer to show us into the room reserved for the wedding party. We went for breakfast early as we had a flight to catch, and despite there being very few tables to wait on at that time, getting coffee and toast for the table took more than 20 minutes. The cooked breakfast was extremely greasy (the sausages had a layer of fat on the outside and the eggs were slimy with grease also). Having charged £13.50 for this we ended up just having cold toast and butter. Finally, the drink prices are extortionate, nearly £15 for a pint and glass of Prosecco, and while you’re prepared to pay ‘hotel prices’ you get the distinct impression that the hotel knows it’s secluded and therefore is justified in charging whatever they want. All in all, had the service from the staff been of the standard expected these other issues might not have been something to complain about.

    Beautiful location with vintage style boutique rooms. Lovely gardens to walk around and great big fireplaces to unwind in front of.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Me and a friend stayed on room only basis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and a friend stayed on room only basis. The only problem we had was the bar prices. Very very expensive. Would love to stay here again. But this has put me of doing so.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff were great and the room was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was ok but a little slow. Streaming was possible with patience. Quite a limited continental buffet. No tea-making facilities in the room.

    The staff were great and the room was very comfortable. There was ample parking. Dinner was good. The hotel is in an amazing setting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    A charming overnight stop and a great place to stay in south Yorkshire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At check-in we were not given any information about the facilities...eg. we did not realise there is a charming sitting room where we could have had a pre-dinner drink until we went in for dinner and after we had been sitting in a rather noisy bar (with a group of business men talking in loud voices).

    The bedroom was very nicely furnished, the bed was extremely comfortable and the food was well-presented and good value for money (we had the all inclusive dinner option). Restaurant staff were very helpful, the dining room is spacious and nicely appointed. The hotel is in a peaceful location and the garden is very attractive. We would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    I would revisit this hotel
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was feeble. The blind in the room looked nice but was too hard to roll back up so unable to get natural daylight into the room

    Beautiful building and setting. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    An average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bar area, hardly any seating. Very quiet aswell ... could hear a pin drop! Friday night and wanted to close bar at 10pm! Evening meal and breakfast was average. Not a lot of atmosphere at the hotel.

    The grounds and setting was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.0
    Lovely stay. Just what I wanted for birthday treat for my partner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food excellent. Personal preference don't like add on prices for sides e.g vegetables. Wine very pricey.

    Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall happy but needs a lift
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn’t work and even after repair didn’t work. Could do with a fresh lick of paint throughout Carpets could do with a hoover at main entrance and maintained Plates were dirty at breakfast Mattress and pillows too soft ... didn’t sleep well

    Overall happy with service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    Not up to usual expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are frequent visitors to Whitley Hall and this time it was not up to our usual expectations. We were in a superior room. On arrival, the usual complimentary port was not in the room (its the small details that make the experience extra special) we could not get any hot water in the shower, the dinner was not as described and we were given the wrong wine with our meal. Whitley is a lovely place and we do highly recommend it, it just fell short of our usual experience, for us, on this occasion

    We enjoyed the breakfast, good choice. I recommend the Eggs Florentine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.0
    adequate
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    asked waitress for glutren free bread table did,nt receive any.....coeliac lady on next table, same request and was served bread quickly....complained about steak...poorly carved leaving a third of it in-edible gristle

    room/bed etc good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    2nd stay and was even better than our first
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to search for a staff member to serve drinks between lunch and dinner. Only a minor issue though.

    The warmth and cosyness of the Hotel. The subtle low lighting and the beautiful bedrooms not to mention the grounds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was just brilliant, can’t believe the price! Bedroom/bathroom beautifully clean and stunningly decorated. Food incredible. Staff lovely. Only 10 minutes drive from Meadowhall!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    The food in the restaurant was excellent as was breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom wasn't user friendly. I wanted a bath but I couldn't reach to turn the taps on or put the plug in as the shower screen was too wide so I couldn't reach round it so would have had to get in bath to do it.

    The food in the restaurant was excellent as was breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with bookings.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a disabled room The washbasins were too low in the bathroom and We prefer a bath tub not the disabled shower If we were told it was a disabled room we would not have booked This is the fault of bookings.com not the hotel as all you do is book up the room whereas if I had talked to the hotel to make the booking The would have told me It was the last room available Check my business with bookings.com over the last few years I have been a good customer but what’s the point if you do this It spoiled our weekend

    Helpful stsff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Bar prices are so expensive 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices are so expensive 4.60 a pint of lemonade get a grip people top.price for red bull only to be given 39p a can cheap energy drink get a grip same complaint for most of guest

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    A lovely hotel to enjoy a relaxing break we will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to reach taps in bath due to shower screen.

    Lovely hotel and gardens with friendly peacocks. Breakfasts excellent and fairly good choice on set dinner menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Very good would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have to say TV size for the room was tiny. You can't sit on the bed to watch and see any words on screen. It is in a cabinet that has plenty of space for larger screen, shame ! No EE phone reception at all.

    Great place. Lovely building with old features really done well. Breakfast was lovely. Sky in rooms a great bonus. Dinner bed and breakfast package good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed given the AA rating. Food was average at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff in evening very aloof. Left alone in bar nobody asking if we needed more drinks. Dinner table available 45 minutes after it was booked for. Food expensive and not as good as it should have been for the price.

    Hotel is beautiful and room was very nice. Staff in morning were far more attentive than those in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Lovely building/grounds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very worn- many touch ups required. No information regarding road closure which was situated next to the hotel and caused a 20 minute re-route (with aid of helpful staff) given prior to journey.

    Lovely building/grounds. helpful and friendly staff, food was fantastic- eapecially breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Could've been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price we expected fawless, spotless accomodation and it was slightly rough around the edges. Broken shower, snapped hangers, the little details that you don't want to notice but can't help noticing. The pricing is not transparent. Room service is not itemised - neither are retstaraunt purchases. A

    Staff were friendly Grounds are lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Excellent stay. Truly enjoyable experience. Facilities top class. Will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike really had an excellent stay. The only improvement that could be made is that it was very busy checking in at the reception same time as wedding guests.

    friendly staff. The food and service was outstanding. The room was superb. Good attention to detail. Cosy bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay, the hotel was relaxing, room and evening meal very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing. There was limited choice. The bacon was dry, eggs were hard and the toast was burnt. The bar prices were expensive but as we expected. It was a pity the welcome glass of port didn't appear until the second day when we were preparing to leave.

    The room was traditionally decorated to a high quality. The views from the room were excellent and the optional evening meal was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Classical English country hotel on Sheffield outskirts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi worked well but we had no mobile phone coverage so problematic if you don’t have WhatsApp or similar. I found bed to be a bit soft for my liking

    Classical English hotel. Spacious room, nice bathroom. Lovely old-style bar and lounge with big log fire. Dinner was excellent, food was freshly cooked, real and recognisable, classical cuisine, tasty as opposed to ‘taster’. Nice touch, rarely seen these days, to have fresh butter dish on the table. Breakfast also excellent, cereals and compote, freshly cooked English. Staff very warm and welcoming. Lovely gardens. Perfect, relaxing place for visitors to Sheffield, ideal for business visitors to unwind. Definitely a place to return to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    OK, but could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No glimmer of a wifi signal in my room. The 'market menu' is very basic and not worth the extra cost and the wine is expensive. At breakfast, the vegetarian sausages were inedible and the sauces I requested were forgotten. Very poor tea/coffee selection in room. The television didn't work properly.

    A beautiful building decorated stylishly. Loved the candles and log fire. Good sized room and the complimentary glass of port was a pleasant surprise. Peaceful and quiet at night, so was able to sleep well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extra large bed in room 3 was not as comfortable as it looked. The bed was 2 smaller beds pushed together which in itself would have been fine apart from the fact that it held 2 mattresses instead of a double/queen size mattress. This caused discomfort. Also the head board was attached to the wall rather than the bed. Again this is fine apart form the fact that the bottom of the headboard did not align with the top of the mattress causing the pillows to get lost in between the mattress and headboard.

    Beautiful evening meal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but would request a room away from fan and cleaning cupboard as difficulty sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clearly above the ventilation for the kitchen and it woke us up very early so we both slept very poorly. Also our room was next to what must have been the cleaning cupboards and staff were talking outside our door again from an early hour. Very loud on the corridor too with other guests moving back and fort to their rooms.

    Beautiful room in the old section of the hall, comfortable bed and lovely facilities. Offered us a space in the restaurant though we didn’t need it and a complimentary shot of port.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that the only problem was that the breakfast was slow to arrive and one had finished his before the others' had arrived but there wasn't anything else that they didn't like

    I booked the hotel on behalf of colleagues both from the UK and overseas, they were all very impressed with the hotel and said that they would recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay despite the minor quibbles over the set menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to have seen a veggie option on the set dinner menu rather than having to ask if a dish could be 'made' vegetarian. Very unusual to find a menu these days that does not cater for vegetarians.

    Room was very comfortable and luxurious. LOVED the Peacock and the grounds around the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Had a nice relax weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything

    The room was lovely great views of the lake and animals food was so nice. Also thank you so much I told them it was my partners 30th birthday and we got a free glass of prosecco each and some chocolates

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing, peaceful in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local staff a bit dour but I think that is the local culture.

    Location good for M1. Very peaceful and scenic, good walks in the countryside. Pretty building and grounds. Bar and lounge areas cosy with log fires. Food good. Service reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Room for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant: Worst Thai curry I’ve ever experienced, devoid of lemongrass, coconut milk or any spices - basically chicken in a cream sauce with long grain rice (sticky jasmine rice - forget it!) Room: Nice decor but a bit tired, very soft bed.

    Nice setting, friendly staff, old world charm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    An enjoyable and relaxing stay that was excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service could have been better, would benefit from more training considering its a four star hotel, restaurant staff in particular. The size of the breakfast smoked haddock dish was very small. Small room

    The setting and style of the hotel. Excellent value for money DBB £100 Glass of port each in the room on arrival High quality looking room, although a bit small Nice menu and choice to up grade to A la Carte menu with a generous allowance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Good in many ways, let down by consistency in customer care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed early for a hotel on a Saturday night. Despite having booked a Saturday function, we were told to seek night porter for drinks (it wasn't late, but felt staff didn't want us). Breakfast ran out of buffet food and we were told there was 'no more' despite not being late. Basic food like pastries and fruit salad ran out. Again, felt like an imposition on staff and it was difficult to get their attention. Shame.

    Location, fab historic bar, peacocks & function rooms and food at dinner event was brilliant. Staff helpful in setting up. Steak was outstanding and all dinner guests said how good the quality of the food was. Rooms really comfy and great views of grounds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Good food, charming environment, staff need a bit of training.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was hard with raised lump - i.e. mattress not turned. Pillows only artificial and exceedingly uncomfortable. Couldn't find radio service on TV - needs instructions. Staff very pleasant but need a bit more training.

    Dinner and breakfast excellent. Rooms very pleasantly decorated. Complimentary port very nice indeed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    A comfy traditional style hotel - staff nice and friendly, meal was nice and all good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The music during dinner was odd for the clientele - we liked it, but it was more suited to a much younger audience.

    Great value stay - bed breakfast and dinner - good choices on menu - rooms comfy and warm, good shower - nice to stay in countryside on way for a visit to exhibition in Sheffield.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    A luxurious haven 10 minutes from the M1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not find fault with our short stay

    Happy helpful staff, convenient spacious room, well appointed bar and lounge all in an elegant building and lovely grounds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Good stay, staff great, service in restaurant slow but food quality good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a time for dinner, was told needed to arrive half an hour earlier than booked time to order, then kept waiting 20 minutes before order was taken. Service in dining room was slow. Limited choice for vegetarians.

    Room was very comfortable. Staff very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Absoultely gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be nice to have a choice of mug as well as a cup of saucer in the rooms.

    The welcome. The comfort of the hotel and the room. The cosy décor. The complimentary Port, though I was driving so couldn't partake. The location - such a lovely spot and wonderful seeing the resident peacocks and peahens roaming around. Lovely and quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel and great location. Booked a half board package which was good value for money. Quality of food excellent. More fresh fruit at breakfast would have been nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    I loved the hotel, the welcome, the location and value for money. I would however eat out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner. Awful food, and a very slow kitchen. Service was delivered by a pleasant young lady who wanted to do well but who was insufficiently trained. That is not her fault; it’s down to the management.

    The room. Spacious enough, lots of character. The staff are lovely and the welcome was well received. The building is gorgeous and the parking very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Food was excellent, room well appointed, setting very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Younger restaurant staff members would benefit from additional training

    Food was excellent, room well appointed, setting very relaxing, very good value overall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Superb hotel with happy, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was extremely noisy. Even if you turned slightly in the night it creaked loudly. Reported it to reception staff upon check out.

    Superb hotel with happy, helpful staff. Brilliant meal in the restaurant. Will return again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress seemed to roll us together into the middle of the bed, it sunk in the middle. Drinks were very expensive.

    The meals were wonderful, plentiful and very tasty. Seeing the peahen with her 3 chicks was such a delight. The staff were very friendly, the room was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    The Booking from Booking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Booking from Booking.com did not update the hotel's computer system, so they had no record of my reservation. Fortunately there was a spare room. This may be the hotel's error, or perhaps its a problem with Booking.com

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent character hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was that when we came down to breakfast the fruit only consisted of grape and odd peice of apple. I should have got up earlier.

    This is a lovely hotel with an excellent chef. The staff are very friendly and went out of there way to help. There are nice grounds and a pleasant bar area our room was small but well thought out The menu choices and the standard of food are excellent everything is cooked to order.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    A relaxing escape, convenient for motorway, and with a touch of indulgence. To be repeated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the newer extension, and to reach it we had to walk back outside. It was not a problem during our visit, but could become so if the weather was cold and wet. We could not explore the gardens when we arrived on Saturday night as they were being used by two small wedding parties.

    It is a lovely hotel, with historical features. The staff were welcoming, and we felt like very welcome guests. Service, settings (good napery), and food in the restaurants were excellent. I recommend the 'market menu'. Our room was furnished to an above average standard, and felt indulgently comfortable. There were two deep armchairs and a large footstool for example, and heavy drapes and good bedlinen. The complimentary port was much appreciated. It was quiet, in spite of two weddings occurring at the time. Breakfast was cooked freshly to order and was also excellent. We enjoyed walking through the gardens in the morning before leaving. It was only about 10 mins from the motorway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    We are not complaining , we have been spoiled spending 40 yrs in Hotel business. Now retired FHCIMA
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner menu and food not quite up to standard. You should sharpen the dinner knives it made the beef seem even tougher.

    We were amazed that an event on the 20thAug was taking place. We considered cancelling, then decided to go with it. We enjoyed the fantastic band Bootleggers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    A perfect halfway stop for motorists driving from Edinburgh to London. Very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very warm and welcoming. Michelle at the front desk happily pushed back our dinner reservation after our long drive. The wait staff were so helpful in explaining the menu choices and both our breakfast and dinner were delicious. The grounds were beautifully kept up and we enjoyed walking around and viewing the family of peacocks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.8
    It never happened at Whitley Hall and we are disgusted!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We told them we had planned a nice quiet relaxing weekend away together and had no intention of staying somewhere one night then packing up again to come back the next day. The weekend felt ruined after so much happy anticipation. We did go and look at the Standrop Lodge and they were very accommodating, even gave us the keys to 3 rooms to look at but it was very basic and had no spa facilities. I am still waiting to hear from Whitley Hall for them to tell us they have looked into it with their "technical dept" but i won't hold my breath too long. All in all we feel we were treated very shabbily.

    We arrived after our journey to find that Whitley Hall had no knowledge of our booking. We were left to stand for 15 minutes while they "looked into it", they came back to us to say they were "sorry but all they could do was to send us to the Standrop Lodge Hotel nearby for that night and we could come back the next day. We asked them then to contact yourselves to see what had happened? They hadn't seemed to think of that for themselves! We stood and waited, again! and they came back with "Booking.com have all the information on their part, they did send everything to us but until our technical department opens on monday, we cannot tell you why we don't have it" 😡

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Not as good as previously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was certainly not as good as in the past!

    Have stayed many times at Whitley Hall while visiting family in the area. For the first time we were disappointed.The menu seemed much reduced. There were no rolls or croissants available at breakfast so if you didnt want the cooked option there was little choice. The evening menu remained the same for the four nights of our stay and with only four options not enough choice for us this time! People staying that wanted vegetarian or gluten free also complained due to lack of items available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    drinks on expensive side

    staff helpful and friendly, nice peaceful location. food excellent both evening meal and breakfast. room tidy and clean with everything you need. lovely walk around gardens friendly peahen and chicks who loved to pose for photos. good deals available, value for money. would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Superb value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negatives were loud music at breakfast and an expensive bottle of sparkling water.

    On arrival we were served complementary tea and cake in the lovely garden. Our room was large, traditional in style and double aspect with window seats. The bathroom was a great size and very well appointed. Half board included an excellent three-course dinner. And all for less than £90. A bargain! Staff were friendly and helpful, and the cosy bar was an excellent venue for pre-dinner drinks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Hidden Gem!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all!

    Hidden Gem!!! amazing value of £107 BB & Evening meal for two!!!!! great country house hotel, lovely bar area, great restaurant and fantastic gardens, staff were great too!!! defiantly will be going back:)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    My favourite hotel in or around Sheffield
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the prices are a little expensive at the bar

    This is one of the nicest hotels in the area, it is my 3rd stay and I look forward to staying again soon. Great staff, beautiful grounds and superb rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There didn't seem to be anyone in overall charge and many staff had to multi task resulting in some mistakes.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was rather disappointed with the selection of coffee in the room. for £105 per night not including breakfast I would have liked to see a better selection than the cheapest Nescafe.

    The bed was very nice. The staff were lovely and had our room ready extra early, as we had a wedding to get to 1/2 hour away. We were very happy with the view from our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Good food, beautiful grounds and a huge welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no negative items

    As always very helpful staff. Marvellous food, comfy bed and peaceful location yet handy for visiting Sheffield and the surrounding area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Another great stay at Whitley Hall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast, and lovely to see Peahen and her chicks in the garden! Bed very comfy with lovely pillows. Bathroom recently modernised and very chic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    Charming character hotel in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. The location is beautiful, with lovely gardens and is very peaceful. The building is very historic and charming. We ate in the restaurant for dinner in the evening and the food was very good, as was the breakfast the following morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Lovely staff. Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the hotel was closed off in the evening when we returned. I was unable to drive into the car park at night due to a car blocking the entrance and I had to ring the hotel to get staff to let me gain access. However, i was informed of a 'special party' booked into the hotel. I was unaware of this until the next morning, but felt other guests suffered slightly because of the restrictions. I had called earlier in the day to have a bar snack and drinks in the bar. I was therefore looking forward to relaxing there when I arrived later that evening, but this was not available. I was escorted to the lounge where 3 other guests were sitting. It was silent, we could hear each others conversations. We had to asked for background music to kill the silence, which felt very awkward and the atmosphere was dead. We asked if any snack were on offer, but only offered Wotsits and Quavers. The staff appeared to be serving the special guests with Cheese and biscuits... would have been nice to have been offered that as opposed to Wotsits and Quivers. I found out who the special guests were the next day and I fully understood the circumstance, however, I feel other guests should not be made to feel less catered for.

    Beautiful location. Lovely staff. Lovely room with view of gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Well worth a diversion!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really part from the ability to switch off the bedside light without getting out of bed!

    Price point was amazing for the quality of the accommodation and food which was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in room 4 which was a little short on space

    Wonderful property, comfort, excellent cuisine both in the restaurant and at breakfast. Staff welcoming

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    The old manor house has been beautifully renovated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, we enjoyed our short stay very much.

    The old manor house has been beautifully renovated and equipped to a high standard. The room was excellent, tastefully furnished and clean. The complimentary little bottle of port wine was a nice touch! The dinner and breakfast were included in the room rate: both meals were of very high quality and the service was excellent! Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: