Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Whitsand Bay Hotel

Portwrinkle, Crafthole, PL11 3BU, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Crafthole

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is old and as such allowances must be made. Bearing that in mind however, the carpet around the reception and up the stairs had seen its best days two decades ago. Check out time at 10AM seems early, especially if you want to fit in a swim and breakfast before you leave. There is talk that this building has been sold. If it is redeveloped into apartments that will be a very sad loss. Lets hope it goes instead to a firm that will spend the necessary money upgrading it in a sympathetic fashion.

    We liked the iconic nature of this old hotel which has a commanding position overlooking the beaches and cliffs. The bed room was spacious and comfortable The swimming pool complex was much better than we had been expecting. The dining room had been nicely upgraded and the meal we had in the evening was inventive and delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had the evening meal on our first night which I felt would be safe to try the scallops and prawns. However, during the night I had dreadful diarrhoea which could only have been the fish dish. Whilst I recovered later the next day I couldn't face breakfast and the staff didn't appeared to be concerned when I mentioned it. This was disappointing really and I expected better.

    Overall it was a great place and staff were friendly, quirky and interesting place but well worth a stay. Prices were reasonable and good value breakfast. Parking is ok but you need to get near the entrance otherwise its a little walk - places are limited.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although aware of light in bathroom not working (there was a sign on it whilst I was there) it remained unfixed. The hotel was a little shabby in places and could do with a lick of paint but this didn't take anything away from the charm of the place.

    The location of the hotel was superb. The staff were very pleasant and most helpful. There was a great choice of food and all good - especially breakfast! Pool was good too. Hotel was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator was clean on the surface, all a cleaner would have to do is lift the grill cover off and wipe the 2’’ of dust out with a hoover. The interior paint needs redoing. Damp patches in the restaurant not very well covered. Dress code issue wasn’t addressed by staff when2 lads came in dressed in shorts and t shirts. They were swearing and had had a drink.

    The food was of a very very good standard. The view of the sea from our bedroom was amazing. The staff couldn’t be nicer. Loved the wood panelling and old ness of the building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Tower room we were in would benefit from treatment of small patches of surface mildew on the old stone work walls. I have the same problem in my home on stone mullion windows and find that Detol Mould and Mildew spray works a treat. No need for heavy scrubbing - just spray and hey presto it's gone. I looked in the main bedrooms rooms when they were being cleaned and having conventional decoration I don't think it is the same problem in those rooms. Cold stonework tends to attract condensation leading to mildew.

    Fabulous location overlooking the whole of Whitsand Bay. Helpful and friendly staff. The food was superb at very reasonable price, particularly evening dinner - I would like to extend my appreciation to the Chef and kitchen staff. The hotel itself has a feel of somewhat faded elegance, clearly in need of some upkeep in some areas. We rather enjoyed the grandness and heritage, but being a historic property it is clearly a challenge to maintain. But none of this was at expense of comfort, everything was spotlessly clean and essential updates in decor have been carried out, such as modern bathrooms and decoration of rooms. Lots to do around the area if you like the outdoor life, including the nearby Rame Head and National Trust at Anthony. The bustling city and sea life of Plymouth in close proximity. Excellent cliff top golf course next to the hotel. You can get some good combined deals on golf and accommodation. There was also a small spa and pool, but can't comment as I didn't have time to use them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was stifling hot, would've been nice if staff opened windows prior to people arriving. Room basic and pokey.

    Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. Hotel is in need of a major renovation as is looking a bit dated/tatty in places. Still very lovely, and for £90 a night pretty good value. Right by the beach. We were lucky with the weather. Breakfast was good. Staff friendly. We had treatments in the spa, excellent and good value. But you will need to book ahead. Again, pool area needs some attention and updating. All in all good hotel, not the ritz but prices reflect this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was outdated and the rooms require redecoration. The swimming pool facilities need some improvements too. It would be nice if water was available to drink after having a session in sauna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely small hotel in a beautiful location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. When we arrived back in the evening after a walk, the lady on reception said we could use the swimming pool even though it was supposed to be closed! The breakfast is excellent as is the food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room felt a little cramped especially the bathroom which was not well designed (i.e positioning of sink and shelving above it). At breakfast the server took my order for coffee but never brought it. This however was a rare lapse in what was otherwise an excellent experience with staff members.

    Great hotel close to beach and directly on the South West Coast path. Properly staffed reception, bar and dining areas. Grand staircase to great rooms. Lovely residents lounges and great food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom & bedroom on different floors.

    Excellent location , setting & views Excellent evening meal. Still too full to eat breakfast! Excellent indoor pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wi-if signal TV control didn’t work properly

    Staff were really friendly Food at restaurant was amazing Beautiful location and views Room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the accommodation was extremely expensive for what we had. We were put into a poky room with no view, no shower, with a small double bed and a small bed. I paid £170 per night for room only. I complained as soon as I saw the room. They moved us to another room with shower, which had a nice view, but toilet and shower was in the same room as wardrobes and dressing area. The bedroom was on the floor above, going up very narrow stairs. We had to walk up three flights of stairs, no lift. The carpets and decoration were very tired.

    The view was the nicest thing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    price of breakfast. great if you are a big meat eater. not so if you are vegetarian, vegan.

    we requested a quit room. and our request was acknowledged.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think that £10 per dog per night is a bit steep, £10 per dog per stay would be fairer as they don't use any of the facilities nor do they like you to have them in the grounds or the golf course.

    The lounge was very comfortable and the view was great. The swimming pool was beautifully warm and tranquil, though whether that would be the same during school holidays I don't know. The beach was ideal for the dogs first thing and last thing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds could have been more comfy. Twin room en suite very cramped but adequate. Bedroom decor very bland. Perhaps they are refurbishing soon.

    Helpful friendly staff. Good pool and steam room. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very tired, as was the bathroom. No window opened and the extractor fan sounded like a diesel engine. One wall light did not work, the toilet paper holder was hanging loose. Small things perhaps but they were reported but were not remedied. We felt the room was tired and in desperate need of attention.

    The location, the friendly staff, the communal areas these were plush and comfortable. Good swimming pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me, there were too many dogs. The dogs were all well behaved and I think dog-friendly would be a huge plus for lots of people but for me it was off-putting because of the smell of dogs in the public lounge area. The decor is also very dated although very clean. I would probably stay here again but would have liked to have known about the number of dogs in the hotel.

    Very family friendly, helpful and lovely staff, board games for kids to use and books for them to read in lounge, big family room with separate area for kids, swimming pool, fab location next to the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm friendly and accommodating staff. Very helpful when our arrival was delayed - we were still fitted in for a meal which was delicious. Breakfast menu is very extensive. Room service was good. Beds comfortable, an amazing view from our room. Dogs well catered for.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No disabled facilities BUT would be a nightmare to install in this property so understand. We will return while still able-bodied!

    Lovely old building well maintained and cosy. Fantastic food. An ideal place to relax in an amiable atmosphere. Sea views from rooms delightful and nice walks on the doorstep. Those who mentioned "tired" should realise this is a historic building which is full of character. Too much modernisation would spoil it. Staff without exception friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I could search for criticism the bathroom on my second stay was small, compounded by a lovely but rather large sink.

    Our second visit, Breakfast is amazing, fresh fruit, pastries, plus full cooked and great breakfast service. Very dog friendly (I had 3little dogs), beautiful location for walking on the beach. Views across the sea from the terrace, easy to park and quaint bar. Exceptionally clean and friendly helpful staff. 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Treatments were brilliant and affordable - both had a massage. Beach was gorgeous. Doggy friendly so that's really good. The view from the hotel is stunning and the food and drink were really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tired and needed an update. Poor selection of wine at the bar by the glass Waitress was miserable and non communicative Lacked atmosphere

    Good location and lovely view Parking good Could be a fabulous hotel with some investment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great very friendly staff food is great swimming pool very well maintained. But the downfall of this hotel is stuck in. The 50s carpet smells everything fills very old and not maintained shame because it is a very beautiful place desperately need updating the rest all perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing . (I see one or two guests comment on the decor ; I suppose one or two places could do with a lick of paint etc, but it must be quite a task keeping a building ["castle" !?] this size in perfect nick, and there was certainly nothing that was serious. At these prices you know you are not staying at the Ritz, and this hotel was surprisingly good value).

    Always staff around to help/advise/serve us. Great location, sea views. Excellent food (we were there for 4 nights, and didn't run out of appetising-looking dishes to choose from on the menu). Quiet atmosphere (OK it was early October) but not "dead". Spacious public areas, so easy to find a quiet spot. Would like to have been able to stay longer, but will probably come back (even though it's 300 miles from home).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included

    Would have been nice to have had breakfast included in the price Lovely to have a bath in the room and warm radiators after walking all day and arriving wet!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was at a discounted price, I wouldn't spend the full amount on the room. The room was full of flies, and wasn't very clean, full of webs and dust, and the bedside drawer had a dirty tissue in.

    Location is excellent, beautiful view from the tower suite. Lovely surroundings. Hotel was unique and beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel booked for business, great location, staff are friendly and extremely helpful, great breakfast, have stopped over three weeks now and would return if in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dangerous

    Nothing.Room small & very noisy. Breakfast disgusting. Shower gel & shampoo very poor and almost impossible to open. Shower over bath dangerous with no handrail. Coffey & tea very mean. Food not good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture shabby; rooms in need of attention. Window handle fell off; kettle leaked water and shower head attachment broken.

    Location and building. Good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com's innacuracy

    Kind staff , helpful, changed my room to first floor as it was in the attic, whilst Booking.com said all rooms were on the first floor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible WIFI signal only in lounge area and very slow, probably due to the location. Breakfast was pants, one sausage, a dry hash brown, soggy scrambled egg. The bacon and mushrooms were ok but not worth £10.

    Quaint setting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In need of a little TLC and the dining room lacking the character of the rest of the hotel

    location,location, location, with a wonderful character about the place, like an Agatha Christie novel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing that let down the hotel was the housekeeping. We stayed for 4 nights and used the pool and therefore the supplied pool towels every night. With no facilities to dry them we expected fresh towels each day but no towels were changed the first day.. After complaining we had fresh towels the next day but no toilet rolls and no tea /coffee replaced. Also on the first day the bed wasn't made up but it was on later days. It seemed to be a bit hit and miss.

    We chose this hotel because of its views and location. The indoor swimming pool was also a major factor. We found the service from some of the staff was exceptional.(the receptionist with short grey hair) Others were not so good. The swimming pool was fantastic and my partner was able to learn to swim in comfort. The views from our Tower rooms were amazing and parking was no problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ingredients not of high quality- eggs probably not free range, packet type rolls served with dinner etc. The hotel is looking tired and has for some time been in need of updating and maintenance. Room was quite small but adequate; TV was very small and there were very few options on the welcome tray.

    Breakfast generous, staff friendly, views from dining room and terrace glorious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No connectivity - No phone reception and, more importantly, no interest by staff in fixing their WiFi. Was off grid whether I liked it or not for two days. Not acceptable in 2017. Jolly Roger Cafe opposite is more friendly and has WiFi which reaches the hotel (so why can't the hotel get connectivity - ridiculous). Get the cafe Wifi code early, before they shut. Breakfast not included - had to pay an extra £12 pp. Pretentious guests - hotel was full of tanned 30-40 year old couples. The blokes were taking loudly about holidays and food they have had around the world and how much money they spend to wife's they don't listen to. Arrogant and overbearing on other guests which staff did nothing about as they were here for a wedding next day. Poor Golf course - basic course, no feature or memorable holes, nice sea views but always windy which ruins the game. Alternative - China Fleet Hotel nearby in Saltash much better hotel complex, golf course and much nicer staff. South Coast Walk - was why I chose this hotel. There were few alternatives nearby but I'd look again to avoid going to this hotel and being treated like this by the staff again.

    Nice sea view - if you get a good room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor looked very tired and old fashioned, everywhere ( apart from the restaurant) needed upgrading and refurbishing, the carpet was discoloured, the wallpaper was faded etc.....

    The food in the restaurant was fantastic, we had a lovely 3 course dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They cut corners which made a lasting impression i.e. Sealant in the shower was black, toilet paper was cheap, the windows to the leisure centre externally needed a really good clean-would have amazing views across the beach and sea if you could see out of them!

    Close to the beach and very secluded.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En-suite was very small and a bit dated.

    Lovely location overlooking the sea. Stately home feel . Fine restaurant, good choice of food, friendly service and cosy bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather could have been better, but of course they have no control over that.

    The view from the room (and the bed) was magnificent. Food in the restaurant was excellent. The pool looked fairly new and was a great way to relax.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like,coz that day afternoon staff wasn't very helpful,which is for me was surprise,coz I had paid not cheap and service wasn't good.Also only 1shampoon and shower gel was in bath for 2adults and 2kids,which is I think is a shame.also no internet

    I like because it was nice place,looks amazing from our hotel windows.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a small room at the top of the hotel which meant several sets of stairs to negotiate with luggage. Being at the top of the building under the roof, it was also quite warm in the room and the open window did not appear to make much difference.

    The stateliness of the hotel, the view from the front of the hotel - uninterrupted view of the Channel, the restaurant for dinner - nicely and cleanly decorated and equipped and beautifully laid tables. Our room was very clean, as was the ensuite bathroom and all was quiet overnight, so no disturbances.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No major issues but bed was creaky which disturbed sleep. our bedroom needs some TLC. Whilst eating evening meal tables were being laid for breakfast.

    Staff were very friendly, Sea view from bedroom and terrace were fantastic. Breakfast was spot on for all tastes. Evening meals were of a high standard with a great choice. A very good links course on the door step.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fact that WiFi wasn't available in the rooms but on the other hand we didn't came to Cornwall to use internet :)

    Comfy bed, good food,perfect location, grey value for money. If you are looking for a place that allows you to travel any place in Cornwall within a 90miles this is perfectly located hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when the tide goes out the beach can be a bit rocky. but that's just us, it would be great for the kid's to explore.

    the location was great, the staff were great, the food was great and the room was very clean and cleaned daily. we will be going again next year but for a bit longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar was located beneath our room. Guests or staff (?) which was drunk kept us awake all night. Screaming of drunken guests all night in the corridor where our room was located.

    pool was fun for the kids

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't recommend for disabled people as there is no lift and as the stairs are wide & wind around, a disabled person could only hold onto one stair rail. The bar area looks tatty & needs a complete overhaul. Menus were not available in the bar although the bar tender did go to get them. The dining experience was ok but the food wasn't great and I suspect was microwaved.

    Lovely 4 Poster bed which was very comfortable and the room size was excellent. The lounges are comfortable and spacious. The sea-views and front lawn is outstanding. The pool is small Helpful staff Excellent check in/out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken window in room, hotel needs some updating, slightly smelly sofas in lounge. Windows definitely need replacing.

    Lovely views from public rooms and our bedroom. Perfect location to Coast Path.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi or internet.. Inflexibility on meal times.. and bar hours and late night snacks etc

    The property was brilliantly placed overlooking the sea.. The facilities were adequate.. The services were limited by closing at 8pm and breakfast timings being so inflexible.. The golf course was really good.. Very tough when wet & windy.. But still great fun.. And I shall return but they need to be more accommodating with their food and evening entertainment. We ended up going out every night.. Not by choice..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs some money spending on it but this was made up by the lovely friendly and relaxed atmosphere!

    The hotel is very friendly family run hotel, you are made to feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble. Lots of dogs in the hotel, very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little tired and one window was sealed shut. Very small room, but we knew that when booking.

    Sea view room is a must! Most wonderful place to take your four legged friend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did boom the small double but didn't expect the room to be that small! Still great value for money but would go for the standard room next time

    The location was amazing and we had very nice strolls along the beach and coast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to not like, mattress a little uncomfortable but only as I am used to one that is firmer.

    Very friendly staff with good advice about local amenities. Good restaurant food. Pool and steam room really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the decor is a little tired.

    Friendly staff. Great swimming pool. sauna, steam room. Best to avoid busy times. Super beauty therapist. Easy walk to beach. Lots of information about local walks etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Virtually no WiFi. Certainly not in rooms - only in lounge area but during my stay that hardly worked. 21st century so suggest updating this.

    Cosy hotel serving good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable at all, and the pillows, although there were 2 pillows each they may aswell have not been there. Being 6 months pregnant this wasn't ideal.

    Lovely location, nice quiet and secluded location. Which is exactly what we were looking for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we booked a 'small seaview room' , it really was quite cosy, and the bathroom was very small, so - if you dont want 'small', you will need to book - a pay for - a bigger room.

    Traditional Cornish hotel, in an imposing location, overlooking the sea. Service was good, and the food, and menu choices excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the small double rooms which were fine for a few days but if going for longer I would probably go for something bigger.

    The staff were helpful, accommodating and friendly. Food was very good, especially breakfast. Swimming pool and steam room were excellent. Lovely setting with beautiful views. Excellent spa treatments.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely 'old fashioned' traditional style is made the most of, yes a little worn in places but very clean, roomy, and very charming. Fantastic free upgrade to large sea view room from the standard size booked.. Lovely shower. And just so comfortable with lots of guest lounge area, armchairs and sofas overlooking the splendid view of Portwrinkle beach, ditto dining room. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stae of the windows. A difficult problem due to the age and structure of the building. Hopefully the owners will continue to upgrade to modern double glazing

    Superb location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is really a bit shabby and in need of refurbishment. Our waste bins hadn't been emptied in our room.

    I liked the view. The pool is great and the sea lovely but be aware dogs are allowed on the beach and there is a problem with them fouling on the path down to the sea. Though it's cleaned up to an extent, bare feet are not recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a little poor. Room size a little cramped. Would have liked a queen sized bed.

    Loved the loction and the feel of the property. Very friendly staff. Good food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was full but there was space, no wifi from what I could find. Reception was closed when we checked out and there was no one around, it was 5.30 am, but a shame there wasn't a secure box or something so we knew our keys were returned safely.

    Room and facilities were better than expected. Views were outstanding and staff were polite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A different tariff for a smaller breakfast. The food was delicious but it was far too much to eat. If you only had a small breakfast it was the same price.

    Beds were wonderful. Food was beautifully cooked, well presented and very hot. All the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities in the room were basic but clean. There was no fridge or room service and couldn't get Wi-Fi. The hotel has a lot of good features but I think the whole place could do with an update

    This hotel has a wonderful location and a great view if you manage to get a sea view room. Very relaxing atmosphere. Had the Sunday lunch, which was very good. The staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though the room was clean it lacked attention to detail. Blood stain on the curtain, and poor quality toiletries

    Great sea views and surroundings and a good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only concern was a radiator not working, but it was not a problem and we are sure it will be dealt with.

    The helpfulness and respectful staff who are only too willing to make your stay a pleasurable one. On hand to answer queries and make enquiries for you without having to ask. Reception and bar staff very good as is the restaurant where the food is also very high standard. A magnificent breakfast! Wonderful location easy to get out for a walk on the beach of the cliff path. It is an old style hotel but it gives old style comfort too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our dining table being in full view of the hall. Having to pay the full amount for a 10 year olds breakfast when he only had a slice of toast and cereal.

    Comfortable bed grandchild enjoyed the pool and games on the lawn. Excellent views

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in bedrooms. Window arm was broken off when I arrived and despite reporting it immediately, nothing was done, which meant I either had to have it wide open or closed. Room needed a bit of a paint.

    Beautiful views, stunning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room comfortable, clean, en-suite toilet, shower upgraded since last visit. Breakfast was delicious, catered well for veggies.This is forth time we have stayed at this hotel. We are seriously considering taking up special offer mini-break in late October.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lift to upper floors. I ordered The Times newspaper on both days of my stay - I never got it. During a storm it became apparent that the window did not close tight; resulting in additional noise and rain coming in to the room Had to breath.in to get into the bathroom as the washbasin was so close to the door; neither my wife or I are particularly of big build. Room was cramped.

    The beds were comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is the best for golf enthusiasts in my opinion. It was quite hot in the room, although the weather wasn't the best. WiFi worked only in the reception, connections wasn't the best.

    Very delicious food, friendly people, nice swimming pool. We loved the restaurant very much and the view. Nice places to visit around Crafthole. Recommend St Germans and the viaduct, beauty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Top floor corridors need fresh paint and new carpets and internal corridor fire doors need updating,there are no pictures on the walls, very bland, unkept boring.Family room o.k, although bathroom very , very small, Swimming pool complex and games room very out of date, compared to modern hotels, roof leaking down walls, no sitting area to relax, needs to be brought into the 21 St century, lighting, décor, facilities for games. Changing rooms very dingy. And again, corridors needs to be more inviting.

    Food excellent, location excellent, restaurant contempory and service good, although internal window frames and sills need some new paint.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a "two singles', so not a big room, but for the price acceptable. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was a bit cramped, but everything worked, plenty of hot water.!. Nothing to really complain about at all.

    Love the old world charm of the hotel, and the fantastic location - vey relaxing. We didn't have dinner, but enjoyed the delicious full Cornish breakfast.. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place with ancient furniture had a bit of an old dump smell once we entered the room. Bathrooms shower was taped and a shower curtains railing was so close to shower head that it would touching you. Receptionist wasn't really at the reception but in the back office which was a bit weird, we both me and my boyfriend worked in hotels around Europe and were surprised about it. On a day of our check out we were woken up at 9am by the housekeeper knocking (laudly) on the door, we didn't even have a chance to get up go down and answer, he entered the room and obviously realised we were still there and left... Check out time was at 10am so we were certain no one would disturb us before it. After all enjoyed out stay, just thinking hotel needs some refreshing.

    Great location, amazing building with so much potential,amazing view from outside the window of our bedroom. Comfy bed. We enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff a bit rude. They charged us before checkout, because they thought we were leaving without paying. And they wanted to charge us also breakfast, that we did not had. There's almost no telephone signal.

    Great ocean view, especially from the garden in front of the hotel. Swimming pool and sauna are nice too.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Whitsand Bay Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: