Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Widemouth Manor 4 stars

Widemouth Bay, Bude, EX23 0DE, United Kingdom

#8 of 11 hotels in Bude

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 335 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend professional and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly, and did not judge even though I was alone. The room was perfect with everything required for a pleasant stay. The breakfast included and service was a delight and the views were something else with plenty of seating to enjoy them. Would definitely recommend for both just a meal and a drink or a stay for a holiday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    We stayed here about 6 yrs ago and very disappointed with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not very comfortable a bit lumpy. Shower cubicle very small. Asked for natural yoghurt at breakfast but only offered flavours. They seem to concentrate more on the cooked breakfast

    We stayed here about 6 yrs ago and very disappointed with the hotel. Has since had a refurb and is very good. Lovely balcony with garden furniture.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Didn't fulfill expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, the supposed view of the sea would have required a contortionist, cramped shower, which had the toilet in the corner of it, never saw that anywhere before in my travels and hope don't again.

    Excellent staff and food and beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Fine for one night. Room not suitable for two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was so small the door hit the bed as you went in. Suppose ok for one night but certainly not for a longer period. Shower and toilet room not satisfactory. No bedside table one side. Everything cramped in.

    Reception area fine but bedroom not suitable for two.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    NOT GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small and the bed was a 3/4 bed NOT a double as requested so we slept VERY BADLY . When we asked the management if we could change rooms because the bed was NOT a double , the immediate 'stock' answer was 'The bed size is specified on our website and we are fully booked anyway' -- Obvious that they are asked this all the time . If you want a good nights sleep do NOT stay hear . Also , the cooked 'English breakfast' was NOT the best I have eaten (pretty dried up ) but they did supply a range of cereals . Got 2 slices of toast with cooked breakfast but no extra toast to have with marmalade . NOT at all impressed .Will NOT stay here again. If you do choose to stay here I suggest that you QUERY the size of the bed BEFORE you book

    Room was clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Mr and Mrs Morris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like.

    The room was excellent, very roomy and comfortable. The food was great, a good choice and staff were helpful, ie only serving a small portion of chips instead of the usual amount, which was too much for me as a small eater. Staff also very helpful and friendly and cheerful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place in a lovely location. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Unfortunately I didn't have time to try the restaurant but I will on my next visit. Had a single bed and it was comfortable and had a nice view out overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    We loved the location and the food was excellent in both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too small as was the room and it was very uncomfortable. would consider staying again but definitely not in room 8.

    We loved the location and the food was excellent in both quantity and quality. The staff were very friendly end helpful except our complaint regarding the bed and the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    location very nice and a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed poor was ment to be a double for two got a large single we were not happy and they could not change room or just would not

    location very nice and a good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Lovely to be able to eat in the evening, beds compfy nice views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the front so when we opened windows all the smoke from the pub smokers came in our room. Not sure if all rooms would have this problem.

    lovely room above the pub we had a sea view across the heathers / road. Room was large a bit noisy but they had a wedding and a lot of children running around at night. Food in the restaurant was good and they managed to fit us in even though they were extremely busy. Staff helpful. Breakfast was ok, Setting was lovely views every direction. We walked to the beach over the cliff path a bit steep in places took about 10-15 minutes. Mainly used for surfers but had a drink in the café before walking back. You can walk down the road as well. Beds comfy bathroom large shower was ok. Lovely areas outside to sit and relax. Ample car park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    excellent all round service. comfort and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed with our sons and their partners for a family wedding. The service was excellent , all of the staff were friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. Room was great and more comfortable than a premier inn. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    We can not recommend this place enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can not recommend this place enough. Staff were exceptional, food was fabulous and all locally sourced, fresh and cooked to order. Rooms were spacious and very clean, with wonderful views. Service was brilliant and we will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, Room 1 was perfect with lovely sea views, friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal took longer than expected to arrive.

    Fantastic bedroom and on-suite, with great sea views. Bed very comfortable and very quite over night. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent but unfortunately a long wait for it, not warned it would be so long by the not so chirpy waitress. All the other staff couldn’t do enough for you and when mentioned at check out about long wait they were very apologetic and assured me it would be passed on to management.

    Lovely balcony with the room, great setting for nice walks and access to beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic views over the bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I disliked about this place.

    The building is obviously going through a refurb, the room I had was very smart, very clean and really contemporary. Excellent value for money, good food and not overly priced at the bar like some places.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Quick stop over.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little too busy when I arrived which felt a bit chaotic but the staff did their best to find me a table. They had a carvary in the restaurant which is over popular between 7 and 8pm.

    Lovely views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice couple of days away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - was perfect.

    Very welcoming & polite staff, were always willing to help and were able to find you a table in the restaurant during busy periods. Stayed in room 1 and the view was brilliant and it was a very comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Awesome place! A gem ⭐️
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a find!!! Will definitely be back... staff were amazing, couldn’t do more for you if they tried. Was a lovely relaxed atmosphere to the place and it was very clean. We stayed in a family room... perfect, and the balcony was a lovely bonus. Right next to a lovely beach. Keep up the awesome work your doing Widemouth Manor 👏🏻

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm to have such a heavy weight doona on the bed and no top sheet.

    Nice room with tasteful furnishings and a beautiful view across to the ocean and cliffs. Great location close to the ocean will lovely views. The bathroom was small but ok with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Really appreciated a fan being provided (as per our request) as it was rather warm. Cooked breakfast was good - the rest was fairly ordinary. Friendly staff - recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Highly reccommened, suits families or couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a sea view room, however the 2 chairs provided were so low you could only see sky, having paid extra for the view it would have been nice to see it in comfort rather than stand up all the time.

    Room comfortable, lovely location above the beach, great kids playground and decked seating areas, food good, staff pleasant and efficient, just a few minuets drive into Bude which is a really nice resort with lots of facilities and wonderful beaches etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic from start to finish, thank you for a memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Everything! You’re welcomed by friendly staff and booking in was very easy. We had the sea view room, it is smallish but it does the job brilliantly includes a shower/toilet room, wash basin in the room, TV somewhere to hang your clothes and plenty of drawers includes tea and coffee making facilities too. The food is exceptional, the full English breakfast was so tasty. All the food was delicious we even had the Carvery on Thursday and other meals in the week. It’s a 5 Star A++++ for everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Stunning views from Widemouth Manor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We were in room 9 a small but adequate room. The room was above the kitchen with very slight fan noise which was turned off around 9 p.m.The view from either terrace was spectacular and the sun set restaurant when completed (end of July) will only add to the great quality and abiance of the dinning experience. Overall widemouth Manor was for us in an ideal spot. Away from the bustle of Bude but close enough to enjoy the great beach and facilities Bude has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place, great setting, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our double bedded room was a little small, but good for our overnight stay.

    Great place with excellent setting and magnificent views of sea and countryside. Restaurant food was top class.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay - we hope to return soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and went the extra mile. Our room was tastefully decorated, had a lovely sea view and was cool which was great as it was 25+oC outside. The patio outside allowed us to watch a magnificent sunset every night with a drink in hand!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Staff were very friendly and the breakfast and evening meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room and bed. This was a single room with a 4' wide bed. I asked if another room was available, which it was not. In fairness, I was offered my money back, but we had already unpacked by this time, although there was little room to put anything. The bathroom is tiny with a very small shower and nowhere to put soap, shampoo etc. Ok for 1night only

    Staff were very friendly and the breakfast and evening meal were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Nothing over the top!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Building was taking place, Very noisy room from bar as Elvis was playing until late !!!! Very tiny room and very hot shower head was loose,no shower or shampoo supplied and tea bags were not renewed.could not eat on the friday night as it was completely booked up so had to travel miles to eat!!!

    The sea views !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, welcoming and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fantastic, however being on the plus size side, the bed seemed a little small and the shower was a little small. However these are the only downfalls.

    The staff, garden area, views, cleanliness, breakfast and food in the evening was absolutely fantastic and I cannot fault any of these.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Stunning location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a lovely room, however the heated towel rail was on all day and the room felt like a sauna ( in June), when I asked about it I was told that the people in the adjoining room wanted it on, so it couldn’t be switched off. Strange that that two rooms operated off the same regulator. They suggested that I sleep with the balcony door open, as a woman travelling on my own, this was not something I would consider.

    Stunning location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Owner very friendly and staff polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room separated from adjacent room by door. Every sound audible from other room. Single bed too narrow for me. Impossible to wash face in en suite sink, it being very small and attached to the wall.

    Owner very friendly and staff polite. It's a carvery restaurant so good staff numbers. Personal terrace with imitation grass. No chair provided but the room had one. Beautiful coastal setting and views of sea and hills. Very rural. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Well done Widemouth Manor :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor around the shower base was looking a bit tired and the shower head could have done with a bit of a scrub, but otherwise, I'm struggling to think of anything we didn't like, as such.....

    Ample parking. Sea view was amazing, bed was very comfy, I normally struggle to sleep when away, but not this time. Staff were friendly and attentive, evening meal was tasty and well presented. Breakfast was good. Overall, would stay again and recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Stopover on Coastal Walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building work restricted the bar area which accounts for the mark on facilities was taking place. When finished this will improve the facilities a lot. The restaurant was very noisy.

    Staff were brilliant and the food was very good. We had a lovely view and, as the weather was good, enjoyed sitting looking at the sea whilst we had a drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    A very pleasant overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a comfort double which although adequate was a bit small but modern and well furnished.

    A pleasant hotel which has been updated and work in progress without impinging on customer comfort. Very friendly staff and hotel/restaurant had nice ambience. Would go back again at this price which was very competitive. We also had a sea view room and could hear the sea which was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious. We also ate lunch at the hotel which was fantastic. Perfect location. Very nice stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    My mum and I were very happy with our stay, everyone was really friendly......
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't sit on our balcony as there was no key to the door and no furniture outside to sit on..... saying this, there was some work going on so it might be that the final look was yet to be completed.

    The beds were very comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the locals were very friendly and made us feel really welcome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, fantastic views would definitely stay again. Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe would have liked a little more choice of dishes, but all the food was well presented and good value for money

    Great location, great food and very good value. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay again or recommend. Sorry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room was very uncomfortable very small the bathroom was really below the standard it should be and the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom was not good atall . The sheets were slightly stained and the towels were tiny and very thin . And the tea tray left a lot to be desired. The milk was also off . The noise element did cause a problem did not really sleep . No wardrobe ? The door hits the bed when entering .the room smelt of stagnant water I think coming from the wet room .

    The staff were lovely . Very helpful .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Pity we could not have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hopefully, this wont put anyone off of staying here because we would definitely go there again - we did not really like the shower being also the toilet room. I guess it is a wet room but it was very small considering the toilet was in it too i.e. just the size of a small shower room. The toilet rolls were kept outside the room (so they don't get wet) and the wash basin was in the bedroom in the opposite corner from the toilet/shower which we found rather awkward/inconvenient. But we were not in much so it did not present much of a problem. We are used to a King size bed and the bed was a double here but we slept fine. Everything else was excellent.

    Stunning views from all the windows and from outside. Excellent breakfast as was the food in general. Really nice, friendly/helpful staff. Good location - close to Widemouth Bay and Bude with Clovelly, Hartland, Boscastle and Tintagel not far away. Plenty of cliff walks down to beaches etc. Great playground area for children. Room was small but modern, clean with good views and comfortable bed with TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities. We stayed two nights and really enjoyed it. We recommend this accommodation, the food, staff and location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work being completed. It didn't interfere with my visit though, but would have been nice to have been informed when booking.

    Pleasant fabulous setting overlooking the bay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    An evening at Widemouth Manor
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange set up for WC in en-suite in our room, unsure if all rooms the same. Bed very uncomfortable, mattress hard and dipped in middle. Only one bedside table.

    The view, very friendly staff, price, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Great to be close to the beach and coastal footpaths
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was too springy and bit uncomfortable. Music from restaurant too loud (booming) at night.

    Beautiful views of the coast. Excellent food and drinks. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location visually, but a long way out from the central area of Widemouth Bay - bus stop outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good food in the restaurant, though the special curry was sold out on our first night, we were able to have it the following night. Breakfast was good too, and included in the rate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    poor poor experience in room 9
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked on booking.com and unaware prior to arrival in early evening any warnings with regard to the room. Given room 9 and this (according to previous owners of hotel) was old airing cupboard converted into 2 rooms (9 and 10). it is very small (described when booking as standard double) and directly above kitchen and has huge commercial extractor piping running out side (behind wall think) for commercial kitchen and along roof. When asked if alternative room as unhappy (and 4'6" for a modern double bed but was nicely decorated and clean) told would be shown alternative but (before even mentioned extraction) told fan would be turned off 2130hrs and restart breakfast 0800hrs... after busy day at work there was no room to sit and relax / too noisy to stretch out on bed / staff never came after servicing (were very busy) 200 carvery meals in dining room to show alternative room and kitchen staff noisy/boisterous understandably clearing up (but impressively hard working) after fan turned off until 2245hrs. Very very disappointed whole experience and manner senior staff/owner dealt with. Currently, I stay away more days of the year than at home with work and leisure and this only 2nd bad experience in all that time anywhere in the world. Finally, no breakfast until after 0800hrs (when chef arrives then anything hot needs be cooked). This not pre-notified. I was looking for somewhere to stay for next 3 month s- this is not it. Obviously, I cannot comment for the other rooms.

    comfy (but small double) bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    A beautiful coastal position with great views, pleasant staff but perhaps needs a little attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room, a deluxe room, was above the bar and music in the bar went on until midnight each evening and started again at 8am in the morning which meant that getting to sleep was not easy and one certainly didn't get to lie in? One night when the music had stopped at midnight the voices of some "gentlemen" in the bar were loud enough to be heard in our room. I would suggest that they need to consider turning the music off a little earlier and improving the sound insulation.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful, certainly on the one occasion when we had failed to book a table for us and our family, who were visiting, when the restaurant was virtually full, they went that extra mile to move tables around to allow us to sit together.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Unreasonable manager; disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small print (which I hadn't spotted) did make mention to the room being over the noisy kitchen fans! They were indeed noisy, although did stop overnight. Room very small, bathroom extractor fan was not working, no fire exit details in the room.... Staff refused to allow us to move despite the fact the hotel was almost empty, and we were willing to pay the booking.com extra fee. Can't comment on the other rooms, but don't pick the small cheap one! (Bit of a building site at the moment!)

    Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Short break but a wonderful place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast the full English was very nice, however the g/f full English just missed out the sausages & hash browns. No extra bacon or g/f sausage instead which was a little disappointing.

    Welcoming hosts, lovely comfortable room set on beautiful coastline near Bude. Gluten free options on the restaurant menu.Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel on the coast path.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Widemouth Manor was a lovely place to stay, a warm welcome on arrival and the staff so friendly and accommodating, room 7 had a sea view, very comfortable double bed and an amazing shower in the wet room, the restaurant provided a good menu and the food was lovely, a good full English breakfast included, I look forward to a return visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location great with wonderful views of the sea and coast. Quiet comfortable rooms - good caring staff and attention to detail. Friendly feel to the place and great Gin & Tonics !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    very nice winter weekend break.will like to come back in the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar staff have a habit of hurling empty bottles into the bin behind the bar.making making a crashing noise.not what you want when enjoying a quiet pint.

    great location.good breakfast very clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    I took my husband for a suprise night away, the hotel its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took my husband for a suprise night away, the hotel its self is lovely. We had a beautiful room, perfect location and the staff were very helpful and frendly. We couldn't fault the place. We ate in the restaurant the evening of our stay and had breakfast the next morning, the food was fab we would defonatly recommend eating there if your staying 😁

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    We would recommend the Hotel. The restaurant food is excellent too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the bathroom didn't close properly and was causing a draught. As a result the room was extremely cold and uncomfortable. We mentioned it to the owner when we were leaving and he said that he would repair it. He thanked us for bringing the matter to his attention.

    The Hotel was well located for Widemouth Bay Village, where we were continuing our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    An excellent one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was adequate but a little compact, for one night it was sufficient but any longer it would have been cramped. Very clean and well presented and the staff and owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent with a varied menu.

    The location was excellent with views across the bay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.5
    Would not stay there again!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are very tiney the info when booking said a double room when I got there the room only had a three quarter bed when I complained the put us in a other bedroom and charged an extra amount £ 20 then that room the window was not working could not shut it told them and they had to come and fix it

    The hotel is close to the beech

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Would definatly recommend the hotel to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was over the bar,which wasn't overly noisy,but I am used to total peace .Would still go back based on the good points The wi fi was very weak.Should have been available in all areas,but only able to get a signal in the bar,and then it was very slow.

    Decor and furniture were beautiful.Bed very comfortable.Had a view of the sea from our room! Food,good portions. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel with a very promising future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small room with a wet room and needed cloths/paper towels to mop everything after a shower. Our lunch was disappointing and not good value.

    We found the staff delightful and they have good ideas to make the hotel and grounds really attractive. We wish them well. The breakfast was very good. The decor was modern and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    The staff were very helpful, the room was superb with a...
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful, the room was superb with a wonderful view both over the sea and also the beautiful surrounding countryside. It was the King room which was huge with a great ensuite. Both bar and restaurant prices very reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    We had a fabulous time could not wish for anything better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I never found anything did not like.

    the bed was very comfy, although it was only a three quarter, but adequate for just one night, the food was fabulous, service was impeccable, very friendly family orientated,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Family run amd it shows in the attitude of the staff I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my room the loo was inside the shower area which was a little strange but it was a lovely room with a sea view.

    Family run amd it shows in the attitude of the staff I had dealings with. Good location with sea and country views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    This was our second stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    This was our second stay here. We were very pleased with everything and when the balconies have passed H&S inspection so that they can be used it will be even better. We were there for the first (winter)mid-week carvery which was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Accommodation excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fire door noisy. late retirees woke us a few times. Rooms very clean and tidy with excellent facilities

    Accommodation excellent. Great food both evening meal and breakfast. Very professional staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, lovely owners, customer care needs some improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would like to have been informed that there was a wedding in the hotel and I would be the only non wedding guest resident. The disco was so loud until 1.00am that the cups in my bedroom vibrated on the tray. The wedding guests were very drunk and were shouting and swearing out in the car park and on the landing outside my room at 2.00am. The hotel owner was very apologetic and said that I should have received an email from booking.com informing me that there was a function before I confirmed my booking. Some of the staff behind the bar were not great, I was served a split of prosecco and the young lad did not open the bottle or pour. I was left standing at the bar a long time and had to ask where the menus were and then was just told they were at the end of the bar. As a lady eating on her own, I did not feel very comfortable that the only small table was right in the middle of the dining area, a corner would have been nice.

    Bedroom décor was superb, lovely and new and fresh and very good quality. Great food in the bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Lovely place and lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com didn't send all the information when we booked our room and when we got there they didn't know about our child so this resulted in changing rooms as the one selected was not big enough , resulting in us paying a little more for the room

    Lovely place too stay all the staff were brilliant and very nice and the beds were really comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say.

    Very close to the beach, lovely hosts and the rooms were really clean. Everything you could need for an overnight stay. Rooms look newly decorated and updated furnishings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    It was ok - I am in the area a lot
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small bed small and not very comfortable Pillow not comfortable looked over car park Had to buy bottled water for tea as water provided did not taste nice

    The breakfast was very well cooked

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    Lovely hotel but a a shame we couldn't use the beautiful balcony and the bed but other than that lo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we didn't like about our stay was our bed. It was very springy and uncomfortable. It was a real shame as everything else eg breakfast etc was great. We informed the staff and Kevin thanked us for the feedback.

    Lovely location, beautiful building, staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Friendly, relaxed and a lovely place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed our stay. The owners are doing a lovely job improving the facilities, our rooms were lovely. Everyone was very friendly and we enjoyed all our meals. Would definitely stay there again, highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.2
    Uncomfortable, poor service & hospitality.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 9.15pm. We rang ahead to let them know what time we'd be arriving. We asked if food would be available at that time and they said no. We arrived and the restaurant was indeed closed. We were advised to get a take-away in Bude. We enquired about breakfast which we had already paid for. They said it started at 8. This is far too late for business travellers. I feel I should have be advised about this in advance as I made it clear I was a business traveller at the time of booking. We asked about the possibility of an earlier breakfast. Te answer was initially no, then they said the earliest they could offer was cereal, yoghurt, toast and juice at 7.50. We decided not to bother. The room was terrible. The so-called double bed was tiny. Not even a standard double and not big enough for 2. The mattress was cheap and uncomfortable. We had a terrible night's sleep. The bathroom facilities were bizarre. The sink was in front of the bedroom door as you enter. The en-suite was a shower cubicle with a toilet in it. The only door on the toilet was therefore the shower door. The shower itself was good but obviously soaked the toilet and 'bathroom' floor when used. This room should never have been sold as a double. It would be ok as a single. On a positive note the room was clean, however, after 10 years working in the hospitality industry I was left very disappointed and pretty appalled by my stay at Widemouth Manor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location with lovely food and fabulous outside area. Disappointing en-suite arrangement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a bit on the small side but the bedroom part was bearable. What was weird was the en-suite arrangement, as the toilet was in the shower room! We assumed this was done due to space restrictions, but it really did make the ablutions part of our stay more difficult than we would have liked. It was less than ideal to have to dry the toilet down with a towel before you could use it!

    Fantastic dinner - crab crusted cod was to die for and good value for money too. Lovely atmosphere too - not too formal. Outside area was really great. A lot of seating, most of which looked out to sea, which was lovely - great for enjoying pre and post dinner drinks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Only one night, and had awful weather but I think we will stay again when weather is good.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to our family room had the slowest door closer mechanism - takes forever to close and you kind of have to wait to be secure!

    The simplicity of the place but seriously all you need. Staff were all super friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Expensive at 135 pounds for two adults for a night. Hotel needs to provide a storage for bags .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities to store bags if one arrives early. I arrived at 11 am and in rhe rain went in to speak to the personnel - found a bar lady- who said I coukd leave my bags in the office until checkin at 3 pm. I then went out and carried my heavy bags in the rain to he told by the receptionist; ' You cant leave bags in the office its not secure!' So out with the heavy bags again to my car! the lady did offer to help me carry them back through thr rain- to her credit. The room smelled heavily of bleach and the family room was noisy until 10.30 as above the bar. The patio doors of the room that opened onto the balcony were locked shut ' for heath and safety reasons' I was told. I felt the restaurant and bar was the priiority in the Manor Hotel not the B & B as reception was rather offhand in manner. Breakfast was good with two slices instead of tthe standard one ( on the menu )given on request!

    Breakfast good beds comfortable although had a plastic cover over mattress!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Okay room, food service terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room. We ate at the hotel in the evening and I would not recommend. It was extremely poor service. Had to wait over an hour for food. Staff didn't seem bothered and when food arrived it was to a poor standard. When we left in the morning the staff member we handed the key to didn't even say good morning never mind enquiring if we had enjoyed our stay. Would not stay here again.

    Bed was comfortable and room and nice view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor fault was the breakfast menu was confusing and there wasn't any fruit offered

    Excellent sea view possibly the best room in the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    stunning views from the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - in the room was balocn but we were told to do not use it as its not ready. -smell of fry oil was coming from kitchen straight into room as kitchen and restaurant is located under guest room. I was a hot summer day and we could not open the windows and doors to balcony. -It was very loud in the room is downstairs is restaurant open until 10 pm our baby could not sleep there due to noises -paying £130 we were expecting much more

    stunning views from the bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely get away, stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was reasonable but seemed like it could have been better, maybe add a touch of hogs pudding for some local vibe. The glass tops of the side cabinets in the bedroom need some kind of anti slip on them as I nearly knocked the lamps and glass flying a couple of times. Blackout curtains would have been a good touch along with a fan in each room.

    Amazing room (number 2) with views, I think ours was about the largest, very spacious with an old manor vibe with carved stone window surrounds. Restaurant food seemed fresh and well presented. Staff were very friendly and obliging. Beach a short walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    A smashing place to stay. I would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good.

    The location was exceptional with views of the sea and the beautiful countryside. The staff were very friendly and obliging. I would most certainly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Apart from the weather there isn't anything I would change

    All the staff were friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was modern and although a little on the small side didn't feel cramped as it had a patio door to the balcony. The food in the restaurant was excellent as were the breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75