Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wild Boar 4 stars

Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3NF, United Kingdom

#26 of 39 B&Bs and Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    The staff were very attentive and the food was lovely - we have stayed before and it was as good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like other than the above comment

    A little disappointed with the shower (Room 33) - couldn’t get one part of the shower to work and the rain head wasn’t far enough away from the wall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing . Goodfood .Great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menus could do with more of a softer choice what i mean is that not everyone wants to eat meat 7 night's a week . A nice fresh salad would have been a good option

    The staff are exelant . Great food . Very quite and relaxing .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff friendly food excellent room clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mam and her sister struggled with the stairs to the room but old building and not really the hotel fault

    Food for dinner and breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was slow. Waited an hour on one morning from taking the order to plates arriving.

    Three day stay for my wife and I at The Wild Boar Inn. Friendly staff, great room (room 18) and superb food! Steaks were superb. Will be back again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bath room (too small to move!) Not affordable price

    Food, especially smoked and grilled food Beer Shower (enough hot water) Good access to parking and backyard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay, nice break, excellent surroundings.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is not very good - signal poor. There is a smart TV in the room but unable to use the functions due to the poor WiFi so watched NeTflix on our phone. The bathroom had a urine smell which I informs staff about. Feature room was not as nice as a standard room. Unable to turn heat on in the room.

    Breakfast and evening meal was lovely, brilliant location, pet friendly. Staff very helpful and friendly. Was offered a free upgrade of our room to a feature room prior to arrival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing couple of days with my partner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel allows dogs so on arrival there was a noisy dog in a room near by although this was not a massive problem as we didn't hear it in the night. Unfortunately, when we opened up the throw on the bed it was covered in dog hair which was not very nice. However the room was clean and did not have a dog smell

    We had a very relaxing time at the Wild Boar. It was our second visit and we weren't disappointed. I love the home brewed beers and the Pork crackling in the afternoon. We had an excellent evening dinner and a lovely breakfast. The location is excellent and the hotel has a very large wooded area where you have a lovely walk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous hotel, lovely location, lovely dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't great. We had 3 attempts and each day was no more than okay, this included over cooked poached eggs, slimey scrambled egg, continental breakfast unavailable etc.

    Our room was beautiful, comfortable and clean! We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant on our first night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    A very enjoyable short break in a beautiful part of England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, it would be dangerous to walk into Windermere, however a taxi trip there only costs about 8 GBP single trip. Our room was on the ground floor and smelt a little damp, we also had a small toad in our room which appeared to live under the skirting board in the bathroom, this was reported to reception but when we enquired later on that day as to the outcome (change of room etc) it was a different staff member on reception who had no knowledge of the issue, we were surprised that no handover notes where utilised.

    All of the staff were very professional and friendly. Very good choice and quality on the breakfast menu. Nice traditional decor in the hotel lobby, bar and restaurant area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely recommend for great location for visiting Windermere, and the super pub/restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a complaint, just advice. Maybe ring ahead if booking a twin room. As two friends travelling together, we booked a room with two beds. Unfortunately the room was incorrectly configured and we were given a room with double bed when we arrived in the afternoon. We had to wait until 7.30pm for the evening housekeeping shift to resolve this. Had wanted to have a rest (lie down!) after a long journey, and although we were allowed into the room, we couldn’t relax until the beds were sorted. It was a nice room but rather snug, with just one dressing table chair to sit on. Once resolved we were happy with our stay at The Wild Boar. This situation has happened to us before at a different pub B and B, but on that occasion it was sorted immediately, so we never thought to ring ahead until now.

    Food at the Wild Boar was excellent, particularly breakfast. Lovely pub and restaurant with lots of character. Beautiful area near to Bowness. Weather was extremely hot, so the staff kindly found us two fans which was very helpful to keep the room cool. Nice comfortable beds. Attractive room, but small compared to the others we stayed in on our trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    my wife and I had a great relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaving

    the hotel was clean and the staff very attentive. the room was excellent. the restaurant food was of a very high quality and cooked to perfection

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast let the hotel down. Waited 25 mins for cooked breakfast to be prepared and when it finally arrived was disappointing and partly inedible also smoked black pudding did not work for me ugh!!

    Comfy beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Keep it up. Quality and service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Very little wasn't excellent, but starters arrived before drinks first night and a wrong food order at breakfast. However the reasons were explained and apologised for (barrel being changed and eggs with smoked salmon mixed up with eggs Benedict .. ) . The chef came over the open kitchen and confirmed to me about it at breakfast, as if nothing was too much trouble. - Maybe update the pillows, a bit more luxury to match the rest of the experience. However I travel alot and it's always very similar..... but really I am nit picking. Superb place and superb food..

    The character of the building, which has been sympathetically updated and maintained, , the depth of thought put into things so you have all the service you like - fans delivered to rooms in each evenings, turn down service or extra towels, coffee and tea etc offered.. I could go on and on. The food is great, we had steaks in the restaurant and were perfect and breakfast is cooked to order. All in a a wonderful dining room brimming with character and class. Thanks for a great stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    We have stayed here two or three times a few years ago and it was very good but feel that it is now
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu a bit limited and not very imaginative. The hotel whilst being clean overall is looking a bit tired and ready for a refurb. redecoration job._

    Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant! Will definitely be back and will highly recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bit too hot even with the window open and the tv didnt work

    The room was lovely, very clean and comfy. The evening meal and breakfast both excellent. I loved the walk in the woods and the little swing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    The property is set in a nice quiet location just out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I can say is the room we were in was very dark, compared to the room we had the last time we stayed, but it didn’t really bother us.

    The property is set in a nice quiet location just out of Bowness, which is ideal for us as we take our dog. The rooms are clean & spacious, the food is really good & the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable Inn with lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little far from town if you prefer to walk to everything. However the walls in the woods behind the Inn were lovely.

    We stayed 2 nights at the Wild Boar and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are comfortable and surprisingly quiet. The cosy bars are a perfect place to tuck up for an hour or two with a book and a glass of red. The food in the restaurant was tasty and the service friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very pleasant and food was good,cleanliness not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs exterior walls and windows because it’s in a poor condition in my opinion,the carpet in our room was tatty and not as clean as it should be and there were cobwebs in our room,and the interior window ledges in the lounge and where we had breakfast in the dining room had dead insects on them so obviously they hadn’t been clean regularly which doesn’t say much for the house keeping,light fittings had thick dust on them so they don’t get cleaned regularly either.

    The staff,the food,location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Fab weekend of relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rabbit dish on Friday night - overcooked though flavours were great. Location is described as Bowness, but reality is that it's about 5 miles away on fast and narrow road - so driving required - we had assumed it was easy walking distance

    Lovely room and quiet location Lunch platter, dinner on Saturday night and breakfasts were excellent and plentiful - spiced brown shrimp starter was truly wonderful with good choice of wines. Had walks in the extensive grounds - very beautiful and restful Open fire was lovely and very welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful location and lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had been looking forward to a nice meal in the restaurant but unfortunately one main course was inedible. The waitress was completely uninterested in this and the service throughout the whole meal was very poor.

    Beautiful location and lovely room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    If you’re looking for a beautiful old English Inn, this is your place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt it was a little expensive for what it was (although we were offered to use the spa facilities at a sister hotel without charge on check in), there was a little mould around the bath as well which is a pet hate of mine at hotels.

    Lovely hotel with great atmosphere, the room was presented in a very nice way and breakfast was great! Check in staff very friendly and welcoming! The restaurant was very nice but bear in mind if you are not eating a signature dish from the onsite smokehouse (steak etc) the dishes are are quite expensive and not that special. The steaks however looked incredible!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel away from 'busyness' of windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had dinner in the restaurant and found menu a bit limited- for starters and main courses- ok if you've come here for steak though

    Nice up to date comfortable room. Staff all very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay with dogs combining practicality and great comfort for all.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain needed changing as you could smell it as soon as you entered the room.

    The location/ woodland. Dog friendly. Staff friendly and welcoming. Wellies, dog bed, towels and treats provided which is a massive plus for dog owners! Great hotel. Raffi gave it 4 paws!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Still enjoyed the lakes, a larger room was required.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here a few years ago and unfortunately it didn’t quite live up to our expectations from last time. Even though we booked well in advance, we expected a bigger room. Last time we stayed our room was much larger even though we still had booked the same room type and brought our small dog. The room was also far too hot even with the window open all evening. We may come back to eat but would ask for our food not to be smoked, for us this spoilt the taste of the steak and burger. Also in other properties nearby they only charge £10 per night for the dog or £50 for a full week, not £40 for two nights, we did find this rather expensive. Undecided whether we would stay again but will answer yes if room size dramatically improves.

    Staff very helpful regarding walks near to the property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous little get away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that the rooms were so hot. It’s nice to have a warm room but even with the window open it was uncomfortably hot which was surprising on quite a cool day. Maybe some form of cool air would help?

    We visited here for my partners birthday. As well as the two of us we took our 9 month old baby and our dog. I was a bit concerned as some dog friendly hotels can be unclean, however you wouldn’t have even know our room had a dog in before he was immaculate and looked fresh. The hotel provided a dog bed however we had bought our own but also a bowl with some biscuits in for the dog which was a nice touch. We had breakfast included and also ate our evening meal there on the first night. The food was lovely and service was great. The hotel itself was a gorgeous quaint little place with lots of original features. 5 minute drive to the lake which we liked to be a little out the way but still close enough. Would 100% stay again and recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding, traditional British experience. Perfect place to shack up for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We assumed that we would get a table for dinner if we reserved on arrival but they couldn’t fit us in until 21:00. A proactive phone call the day before asking if we wanted a dinner reservation would have been a nice touch.

    Excellent beer, cozy seats by the open fire, nice little bespoke touches to the rooms, great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    The perfect cosy getaway in a character hotel with warmth and charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wild Boar was very welcoming, the room was lovely. The staff very helpful and the food exceptional. My boyfriend loved his homemade waffles for breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect escape for a couple looking for food, wine and a comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had one or two disappointing dishes in the restaurant over the course of our stay

    The bed was super comfy, the shower super warm and powerful with soft water. Breakfast was good Lovely woods to walk in out the back Good friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Lovely warm welcome, great place, staff where very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely warm welcome, great place, staff where very helpful and polite, bar and restaurant to a high standard, the room was lovely and the woodland walk is highly recommend. Great stay will definitely return

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    Cozy hotel with comfy beds, which is good value for money 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some female staff could have been more friendly and better cuss service skills needed.

    Bed was very comfortable. Restaurant was very cozy with traditional features. Breakfast was very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Clean and well furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A loud noise from the toilet after flushing and loud floor boards from the room above. Only minor things

    Clean and well furnished. Excellent food and the dog friendliness was as good as it gets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Unique situation being locked out of Hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bar was shut when we returned at 11:30. The eggs benedict was tepid at best. The main issue was that we were locked out of the hotel for over half an hour when we returned !! The junior receptionist failed to give us any information of how to access the hotel if we returned 'late' so did not provide an external door key, also the night 'duty manager' was in bed and the door intercom was faulty - the way we got in was very fortunate as we looked around the exterior of the hotel the chef was just leaving and he let us in via the kitchen !! We brought this issue up with an assistant manager the following morning and whilst very apologetic was unable to offer any compensation, however the Manager has contacted me and offered 'preferential rates' if we were to stay again...not too sure we will take up this offer after the experience above. Hopefully the systems will be improved and nobody else will experience this issue.

    The bedroom was comfortable, the Breakfast area was very pleasant too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Good food, quality ale,warm cosy atmosphere. Room disappointing. Pet owners in pet rooms please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suspect the room we were allocated - Room 38 was a pet friendly room and the carpet had recently been cleaned. It still had a faint smell of dog and dampness. A little unpleasant.Surely keep pet friendly rooms for people with pets. Controlling the shower temperature took time and patience to get the balance between scalding hot and freezing cold.

    Restaurant food and service was very good. All cooked steaks. Warm cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Chilled, relaxing atmosphere with beautiful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No croissants for breakfast. And a squeaky floor board outside our room so when people walked passed we were woken up.

    Excellent staff and food best I’ve had in years. Such a brilliant place to chill out in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    A little disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator wasn’t working in our bedroom which staff weren’t able to fix. We were given a heater and discounted room rate which was appreciated. Partner’s steak had to be sent back for being overdone so couldn’t eat together. Not a massive deal but a bit of a let down when trying to celebrate a 10th anniversary. Running out of croissants / pain au chocolat at breakfast wouldn’t have a been a problem if we’d been told when ordering not 40 mins later, again, a bit of an annoyance. Would have rated higher but several small things add up to feeling a little disappointed.

    Comfy bed, good bar selection, nice atmosphere and surroundings and generally attentive staff. A good base for exploring the lakes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice friendly hotel with lovely roaring fires & own Ale. I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heating in our bathroom. Our dinner on the second night (steak) was not good. I asked for a medium rare ribeye which came well done and cold. The steaks are served on wooden boards which look good but does not keep your meal hot. The large mushroom & tomato were cold. I did complain and was offered to have a new one but I hate wasting food. I ate some of it but it was not good. This was taken off the bill. Breakfast, I had the Egg Benedict which came on sour dough bread but unfortunately it was cold. On our 2nd morning it took 45 minutes for our breakfast to be served. Fortunately we were not in a rush to get away.

    Lovely friendly hotel with fantastic ambience. 3 roaring fires which were extremely welcoming after a long walk. The staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble. Our room a Feature Room was a little disappointing in size for the price and there was no heating in the small bathroom which was very cold at this time of year (January). However the bed linen, luxurious towels & White Company toiletries were great. There was a reasonable choice on the menu but centred really around steaks/boar some of which was smoked. I had the Lamb Shank which was delicious my husband had pheasant which he did not really enjoy. We both had steak the second night. There was a reasonable choice for breakfast. Lots of cereals, pastries. The main menu was extensive with haddock, salmon & the traditional cooked breakfast. Good size portions to start the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    dull Exterior, but inside warm, inviting, great ambience - we’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from home to visit more often.

    Spacious, very well appointed room, comfy bed, fabulous bath, real coffee, lots of other nice touches. Food was great, so was the beer, attentive, friendly and very helpful staff! Altogether a memorable experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location and fab breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think £140 for one night was a little on the high side for the facilities of the hotel. The bathroom was a little tired and not as clean as the rest of the room.

    Good location as we had made reservations for dinner at the Gilpin Spice. Room was very generously sized and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the staff really welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Lovely trip, everything was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fab, no problems at all.

    The location is great for both being close to the Lake and to Bowness/Windermere and is also great to feel just out the way for a quiet & relaxing night away. The choice of food was fab and covers something for everybody, and the food was really delicious! (As was the vast choice in wine and ale as The Wild Boar have their own micro brewery! The all round service was really great and the staff went to efforts to make our stay enjoyable. Since the hotel rooms and bar/lounge are dog friendly we were able to take our Cocker Spaniel who was very excited to see snow for the first time and was made a fuss of! The room was gorgeous as was the bathroom. All three of us enjoyed the cosy wood burner in the room that the staff kindly lit for us before we retired for the evening. It was a lovely little night away for the 3 of us, and we wished we had booked a second night! We will definitely be returning!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Going to visit again to work through the menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a complaint - I don't think that our room could have been any further away from reception and dining area, then I found that we overlooked the car park and the woods, so swings and roundabouts. Then again, with the amount of food I ate, I needed the walk.

    Menu, food, surroundings, 3 open fires! Room cleaning spot on. Out in the sticks (quiet bliss) but easy route to the touristy places. George is a bit of a comic - friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    When taking these offers we always seem to be tucked away in slightly sub standard accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower was no more than a trickle of water which could not be controlled.Either scalding hot or freezing cold,cold shower in the morning was breath taking.

    Restaurant food excellent all though a little over priced.Premium amounts paid for wine in particular.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Warm, friendly and worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor which didn't matter for us but could irritate some people

    Staff and hotel perfect. Very friendly. Great range of whiskies in the bar. Excellent chateau Briand in the steakhouse. Beautiful fires

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely exceeded expectations and where I will return to again and again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The little touches. Boot tray in room. Welly boots available for walking in the grounds. The grounds. The microbrewery. The food. Top of the list is the helpfulness and friendliness of ALL the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Dog friendly :) staff were really friendly with our dog Vito...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly :) staff were really friendly with our dog Vito - the maid got him a bed and bowl for the room! Breakfast was lovely even though dogs aren’t allowed in the restaurant they are allowed to eat in lobby area it was just as nice and cosey with the fire on :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    The perfect Lake District stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fantastic and comfortable, the grounds were amazing they have acers and acers of woodland with marked trails to follow. (The A-Z clue trail was not just for children, we had such fun following it) The resturant was fantastic make sure to book a table!! The breakfast was also great. In the room was a DVD player and a selection of dvds in reception to choose from which I though was a nice touch!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Professional staff which made you feel welcome without being overbearing. Definitely will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food; invoice was waiting and ready in the morning without the need to ask and no one demanded for me to give my email - very refreshing. Definitely will be back. DB, solicitor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall, enjoyed our experience here. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelt really damp (room 16) as the skirting board round the bath was starting to rot.

    The service was really good. Food fantastic and we loved the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Was ok as our stop off to Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of staff not good speaking English so couldn't explain things menu etc... used to have Wild Boar Steak now off tbe menu ???

    Location dining room bar area walk on boar trail

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Fantastic. Welcoming, the room was brilliant and the white company toiletries an added bonus. We ate in the restaurant which was fantastic. So good was our experience we recommended the hotel to our friends who have booked for next week.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice staff but high prices and poor food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a feature room. Its main feature was how small it was! However we were given another room when we said we weren't happy. The restaurant menu was nearly all steaks and little else. My friend sent his back as it was too tough to eat. Breakfast wasn't so good either. I was served 2 rubbery eggs, a tomato that was literally burnt black and dry bacon tough enough to use as shoe leather. My friend asked for no black pudding as he doesn't like it. When his breakfast arrived it had a black pudding sausage.

    Staff really pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being rushed inbetween courses

    Very homely and comfortable atmosphere, very friendlyand helpfull staff... one thing was I felt rushed inbetween courses and there wasn't a lot of customer's there so no need to rush I thought

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    Really nice, we will be back, but a few adjustments and it would be fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in the room was very, very dated and a disappointment, it really let the room down. The staff were not very friendly in the bar (apart from one scottish gentleman who was really welcoming). They weren't 'rude' but I did not feel like a valued customer at times. I think that was a shame because the staff can really make it feel so much more 'special'. We did get the room on a deal rate but I would not want to pay any more than that for it.

    The food was great, a little expensive maybe but it was very nice. The bar was also very lovely. Breakfast was also excellent. The walk in the woods is also a 'must do'. Just a light stroll but really beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Very disappointing and not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very dirty The quality of food is very poor and very large portions The service at the restaurant was non existent The staff do not seem happy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    We've stayed a few times, this time was very poor and not cheap, will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor..... burnt...... we mentioned this to the reception when checking out, thinking we wouldn't be charged for breakfast, we were charged..... Also in the evening the pub as no atmosphere... !! We won't be returning......

    The Beautiful Lake District surrounding the hotel..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    It was just great from start to finish. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just found the bed a little to firm and there was a draught from the door due to the gap underneath. We did mention this at reception on leaving.

    The hotel itself is fabulous the log fires, friendly staff,the decor, rooms bit especially the food was out of this world. This is 2nd time we've stayed and will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Had a wonderful break there I would certainly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could say is the hot water took ages to warm up,but it is a old building

    There was a really good choice of food that tasted wonderfull. The staff went out of their way to be helpfull,and friendly. The bed was very comfortable.we have really enjoyed staying and would stop again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay, handy for the South Lakes area too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of stairs to the bedroom due to the nature and layout of the hotel. Didn't see any reference to this when booking

    Staff very friendly & helpful. Room very comfortable. Meals excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Character hotel. Friendly staff. Great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower. It varied in temperature.

    There are nice walks through the woods beside the restaurant to help you build up an appetite! The meat in particular is delicious. I didn't have a pet but it was nice to see other people able to have their pets with then. Everyone was warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Apart from the breakfast we enjoyed our stay. We will be stopping again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very warm. We had the Cumbrian breakfast. We just found that because they cooked all the meat on the smokehouse grill. It all tasted the same. We had the scrambled eggs and they tasted powdery. The toast was served cold too.

    All staff were polite and friendly, but the reception staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had an amazing time at the wild boar for our anniversary, we were upgraded to a four poster bed room which made this extra special, the afternoon tea was extra special. Thankyou so much for an amazing stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely quiet location in very rural surroundings. Nice restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bird poo all over the Tesla charging hand rail was a little yuchie. I guess the birds just happen to sit above it.

    We thought the rooms were very tastefully decorated with a stylish character. Toiletries were very nice. We needed to charge a Tesla and they were very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay in cosy hotel with most beautiful walks !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom heating didn't turn off and we only stayed 2 nights and should have stayed longer!

    Very very cosy homely feeling, good restaurant, wonderfull walking on private grounds and the dog was welcome!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.4
    Lovely property and staff but disappointing stay. Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was dirty (although was cleaned quickly and apologetic bottle of wine provided), feature room not worth the extra money, tiny bath, over the bar and right on the road. Evening meal disappointing as we did not receive what was stated on the menu and white wine with dinner was not chilled.

    Staff were very helpful, enjoyed the beer, comfortable bed and nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    A classy place with character, excellent staff and and beautiful nature trail on your doorstep
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main bedroom was a bit on the small size leaving little room for our belongings and the ability to move round the room comfortably ( however it was well presented)

    Friendly staff, nice little touches that included a bed/towel and bowl with treats for the dog. A fabulous nature trail leading straight from the car park. Amazing building loads of character and excellent food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Atmospheric, stylish yet incredibly cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect. We paid for the classic room so expected a small bathroom so fine - the main room was very spacious

    We loved the decor - it felt like an ancient pub with all the right features preserved but fabulously comfortable and atmospheric - food was great and rooms furnished stylishly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    The room was stunning, the food excellent and the 76 acres of woodland and trails/walks just beautiful and brilliant if like us you are travelling with a dog.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.0
    Electricity got cut.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electricity got cut. Didn't have light for a few hours. Couldn't charge phones. Couldn't use the hairdryer. All electricity out. Shower head pressure not strong. Very small rooms. Looked nothing like the photos on website.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Superb location, great food and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was too hard for me and our shower lacked any power to it, but overall this wouldn't put us off revisiting

    Food was excellent, staff were great right from receptionist to waiters etc

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Staff were all very pleasant and we were all made very...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a minor moan that i found the rooms to be bit too chintzy, a bit over the top - could do with being modernised like the bathroom was.

    Staff were all very pleasant and we were all made very welcome including the dog !! The general overall service offered was excellent. Evening meal - excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mobile phone service, but this is not the fault of the Hotel

    The Hotel was very clean, the staff extremely friendly and our evening meal was excellent. There was ample tea, coffee, biscuits etc in the room, the towels in the bathroom were of a very high quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Remote, peaceful and so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room that we had which had a large window overlooking the car park, had no nets curtains which meant that we had to keep the curtains drawn when we were in the room. It is advertised as Bowie's, but Bowie's shopping etc. is a good three miles away and you will definitely need a car.

    This is a lovely hotel with a real old world feel to it. All of the staff were wonderfully friendly and accommodating. With real fires in the bar and very good food, I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    It was a special occasion and our room was upgraded which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As in many hotels the shower facilities can be a hit or a miss and regrettably it was a miss for this time. Difficult to explain what the problem was but decided it wasn't worth any issue as we were only staying 1 night

    It was a special occasion and our room was upgraded which made the occasion all the better

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous stay in a gorgeous hotel.. will definitely be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside (and this is being picky..) myself and friend were going out for a meal in the evening and did want to sit and have a drink at the bar prior to leaving.. there are very few seats to just have a drink as all tables near the bar are also used for dining.. it would have been nice to be able to sit and just have a drink.. however it was a Saturday night and the restaurant is obviously extremely popular, which is understandable as it is a fabulous place to stay ..

    Fabulous stay.. the main area of the hotel is lovely, it was an extremely wet and miserable day and there was a lovey open fire when you walked in.. Has a lovely feel when you walk in.. The staff were excellent, always happy to help. The room was lovely, extremely clean, spacious and the beds were amazing .. Very comfortable. Gorgeous toiletries and towels in the bathroom. We did not eat in the restaurant but the menu looked fabulous and the dining room setting is just lovely. Breakfast was fabulous... great array of cereal, fruit, yoghurt and pastries and a great selection of hot food options.. it was delicious. Great value for money.. Not the cheapest we have stayed in but definitely worth the extra money. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Wild about this Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water mixer of the shower was terrible! Was boiling hot or freezing cold just couldn't get it to mix right.

    The large comfortable room. Big windows letting in beautiful light. Easy access to parking lot. Beautiful location with walking paths through the wood. Interestingly decorated bar and restaurant. Delicious food and professional and pleasant service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Family stay at The Wild Boar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't understand how a bedroom (room 26) doubles as a fire escape. A little disconcerting as we were staying in 28. Also our second room was in the opposite side of the hotel so it wasn't really a practical arrangement for us as a family as we felt too far apart from each other.

    The food is always spot on, and it's a place we love and frequent. First time we've stayed here and overall we were very happy.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: