Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hotel Wilmar 3 stars

42 Osborne Road, Blackpool, FY4 1HQ, United Kingdom

#50 of 362 B&Bs and Inns in Blackpool

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 46 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Derek and Rhian made us feel right at home as soon as we walked in! Tea/Coffee was offered to us on arrival. Very clean rooms, delicious breakfast that you could choose yourself the day before! Cheap alcohol at the bar! We didn’t need to go out as we had a fab time staying in with Derek and Rhian. They couldn’t do enough for us! We have definitely made some friends for life, and will be returning very soon with our daughters.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing bad to say about this place its excellent

    excellent value for money very welcoming second time i have stayed here excellent breakfast will definitely come back thankyou xx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It was all wonderful.

    Derek and Rhiannon went above and beyond to ensure our stay was extra special. We were a party of 6, 4 kids and 2 adults and we had 3 birthdays to celebrate on Easter Sunday. On the birthday morning they tied balloons to each of the chairs and laid a Cadbury's creme egg on each plate. We had happy birthday sung to us and the kids were delighted. Breakfast was amazing. Wide variety of choice and the beds were very comfortable. The location was second to none. A 2 minute walk from the Sandcastle and about 5 mins to the Pleasure Beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all

    Ideally situated in the South Shore area in a quiet street. We were attending the Waterloo Bowling Crown Green Bowling which was just 15 minutes walk away. Derek and Rhianon looked after us very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location to everything, the hosts made us feel really welcome on arrival and were very friendly, would definitely recommend to others...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staying at the Wilmar was like staying with your favorite aunt and uncles, the owners went above and beyond for us, and are extremely friendly to know, the breakfasts are fantastic, the beds and rooms are comfortable and clean, the showers are hot and the area at night is quiet, we have already booked again for the illuminations, it is that good. thanks Derek and Rhianon :)))))))) see you again soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Derek and Rhianon are a Fabulous couple, they go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. We loved it so much we booked up again for September.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a desktop fan in each room would be good please, as they get very warm in the summer

    The wonderful personal welcome we had from Derek and Rhian and their ever attentive service, to the mugs in the room on the tea tray, to the chocolates on the pillow, to the fresh, hot cooked breakfast each day, to the welcome drink on arrival and luggage taken to our rooms. The Wilmar is in an ideal position being just a few minutes walk down from the main coast road and prom with easy access to local busses and the tram network. Located right near the fantastic Sandcastles indoor waterpark and the Pleasure Beach, it is near to so much you will be hard pressed to be bored ! The beach is lovely, Blue Flag status, with miles of sand to explore.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the best hotel I have stayed in in all my travels to Blackpool the hosts derek and Rhian were lovely and we felt like we we right at home we will be recommending out friend and family to stay at the Wilma we have had a great experience and will be definitely 110% be back thank you for having us

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly proprietors. They had everything you need, if not they would get it for you. Full of information. Very accommodating. Breakfast was amazing. Beds were so comfy. Hot showers. Relaxing environment. We will be returning. More than value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Located within minutes from the sea front, very clean and tidy, hosts were very attentive, would stay there again. Breakfast choices were very good and food was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Derek and Rhian were excellent hosts very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had advised them that we didn't eat red meat and they went out of their way to get us an alternative for breakfast which was nice of them. The breakfasts were generous and superb. A group of friends visited while we were there and Derek and Rhian kindly allowed them in where we enjoyed the well stocked and extremely good value bar. The place is kept very clean and with en-suite bathroom and tea making facilities there's everything you need. They let us leave our cases there on our last day too. If we are in Blackpool again we will happily stay there it was also great value for a three night stay. Located right next door to the pleasure beach there's a tram stop very close to the property so you don't have to walk far unless you want to.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carnt fault this hotel enjoyed every minute of our stay derek and rhianon were brilliant with our 2 young kids made us all feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and very comfy and the breakfast every morning was spot on filled us up 4 the day. Its the perfect hotel 4 familys would highly recommend. We'll be booking back up for next year and looking forward 2 it :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    We had a really warm welcome on our arrival. Sat us down with a cup of tea after a long journey. The room was lovely and bright and clean. The breakfasts were delicious. Derek and Rhiann were most accommadating. We would highly recommend them and would love to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Made really welcome.Derek and Rhian treat you like part of the family.Genuine people who really look after you.Nice clean b&b.Best breakfast ever.Excellent location two mins from front and pleasure beach.Bar area with good choice of drinks. Beds are super comfy quiet street so good nights sleep.Will definitely stay again next time in Blackpool. Worth staying to sample Dereks superb breakfast😊

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night on Saturday since we were going to a concert in Manchester. The Wilmar was easy to find and we received a warm welcome as soon as we arrived. Once we were shown our room (which was spotless) Derek gave us his parking space right outside the B&B. We went into Manchester and had a great time then got the train back. A few guests were still up so we had a chat with them, Derek & Rhian. Breakfast had been ordered the day before and was the perfect start to our Sunday! After breakfast we went for a walk around Blackpool then headed home to Stirling. If we go back to Blackpool we will definitely be staying there again, the facilities, owners & location were perfect. Thanks for a great stay! Linsey & Bruce

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good no dislikes

    Very friendly and so helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no dislikes the hotel was lovely and clean

    Derek was a lovely host could not do enough for you plus a wee bonus a free drink on arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was superb here. Lovely hospitality. Friendly. Fab brekkie. Clean. Just lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there is nothing bad about our stay at the wilmar host wer great breakfasts where ti die for very friendly .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Great hotel and a great.lication. owners couldn't do enough

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and excellent service ++

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather could have been better

    The staff were really friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in all a fantastic little B&B and fantastic hosts. Will recommend and will go stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed my stay at the Wilmar, room was lovely & breakfast was excellant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..everything was great great

    Cleanliness of hotel Friendly staff Nice HOT breakfast Great value for money. Highly recommended

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent vfm , very friendly hosts, comfortable rooms and a great breakfast , would gladly recommend to anybody

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay was brilliant, comfortable and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came for Pleasure Beach. Excellent location, brilliant hosts , clean room, comfy bed ,good breakfast .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really loved our stay

    Friendly greeting on arrival room clean bedding clean made we very welcome through out our stay breakfast loverly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff should be less friendly,cant leave anywhere without speak with them.:P

    all was ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hosts were brilliant,very comfy beds,spotless clean,brakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice breakfast with a lot of choice. Beds were comfortable. Derek and Rhian very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice friendly proprietors great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coming home

    Made very welcome home from home

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were lovely, helpful, friendly and always ready for a chat. There was a wide choice for breakfast. Our twin room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The addition of toiletries was a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Really enjoyed our stay here, we will be returning in the near future. Hotel is close to the south pier and the pleasure beach. Very friendly welcome on arrival, couldn't do enough for us. Couldn't think of a negative thing to say we will definitely be returning 😊😊

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having to make breakfast myself when I got home...

    Great filling well cooked full English breakfast, comfy beds, lovely owners who really looked after us. Great bar, plenty of tea, coffee and milk, mugs.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed here for 2 nights during October half term and I have to say the whole family were mightily impressed. To receive such a warm welcome upon arrival was very much appreciated and the room and facilities were well above expectations. Derek and Rhian are a credit to the B&B industry and cannot do enough for you during your stay. I know where we will be booking for ALL our future trips to Blackpool.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Travelled up to Blackpool with family for a long weekend to celebrate a family birthday. On arrival we were greeted by our WIlmar hosts Derek and Rhiannon, a nicer couple you could not ask to meet. We were told that the kettle was on and we had a nice brew whilst filling in arrival paperwork and finding out off Derek about what events were going on over the weekend and what were the best deals. A great start. We were shown to our rooms which although up a lot of stairs and were a little tired, were clean and tidy. The ensuite was pretty small but it was to be expected in a terraced property. We quickly unpacked and went into town. The next morning was birthday morning and our hosts literally pulled out ALL THE STOPS to ensure our birthday girl would remember the occasion. Helium balloons, a bottle of bubbly on the house and a card from Derek and Rhainnon, Happy birthday blaring from the CD player it was truly special and complimented a fantastic full english breakfast. After a day at the Pleasure Beach Derek was once again there at the door to greet us with complimentary drinks from the well stocked bar and after a quick change we were all out for a birthday steak supper. To cut what is becoming a very long story short we could not have asked any more from Derek and Rhiannon and The Wilmar. They went above and beyond anything I have experienced in over 30 years of global travel, so much so that I have even added Derek as a personal friend on Facebook after only knowing him for four days! We will definitely be booking the Wilmar again as we need to find time to use the karaoke system in the bar. As far as value for money and customer service goes the booking.com rating of 9.8/10 is spot on...Thanks for a memorable and enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We (A family of 5) stayed at Hotel Wilmar in August for two nights. We received a lovely warm welcome from both Derek and Rhianon, they couldn’t’ do enough for us while we were there. Great location, Hotel is very clean, beds are comfy. Great breakfast and Derek makes a great cup of tea!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Leaving!

    Everything! Derek & Rhian were faultless in their hospitality and made it hard to leave. The B&B is lovely and clean, the beds were so comfortable, the Wifi was excellent and the location fantastic - a short walk to Pleasure Beach and the tram. On a side note - we thoroughly recommend going to the circus under the tower. If we are ever back in Blackpool, we will be staying at Wilmar!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to go home afterwards!

    Everything! Warm welcome and always hospitable throughout our stay. superb breakfast with plenty of choices. clean hotel. They are an entertaining and friendly couple. Bargain

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Couple

    Having to come home to go back to work lol

    The hosts were very nice and helpful, the guests were lovely, breakfast is what ever you want, they go out of there way to help, nothing is a bother to them

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    made us very welcome friendly atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisy floorboards above

    Everything a B and B should be

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find anything to criticise.

    The owners, Derek and Rhiannon, were fantastic hosts.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff. Made to feel very welcome. Will use again if back in Blackpool.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Laid back atmosphere. Good cooking. Free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly lovely little B&B. The owners go above and beyond and the breakfast is amazing! We will certainly be back!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    one for the best b+b i have stayed in,will book again.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!!

    Derek and Rhiannon are a great couple and make you feel very welcome. Real home from home.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: