Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Windsor House Hotel 1 stars

12 Penywern Road, Kensington and Chelsea, London, SW5 9ST, United Kingdom

#320 of 356 B&Bs and Inns in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1026 B&B reviews

5.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.5

  • Comfort

    4.3

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    4.1

  • Staff

    5.9

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Free WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was plastic covered. The doors and locks were a bit old

    Very close to Earl’s Court underground station. Fairly okay for the price, the room had a shower and toilet in it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole experiance of staying one night was not what we expected picture of the room was nothing like it in reality.The whole building needs renivated.

    Room was dirty beds were very hard and just camp beds.Breakfast was toast only and service was terrible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed too small for two people, I had to sleep on the separate single bed. Room very uncared for. Main light bulb had failed and was replaced for us. Paint flaking. Threadbare carpet. Didn’t feel confident with hygiene enough to trust breakfast so went elsewhere.

    Location near Earls Court tube

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the basement and very smelly. We did have a door that went out to a service area that we opened when we were there.

    Breakfast was ok and it wasn't far from the underground.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black mold in the bathroom. Mirrors at weird heights that were impossible to use. Breakfast included consisted of cold cereal or hard boiled eggs that were left in a cupboard overnight. Dishes were hand washed in a tiny sink by someone on staff. No lift.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, this might've been the worst place I've ever stayed at. The ceiling of the room we got had a huge crack, the furniture was very dirty and had mysterious stains on them and the floors in the shared bathrooms were covered in mold. We had to leave the place after 3 hours because of mold allergy and did not recieve any money back even though the place barely had any guests staying at the time. We felt dirty and wanted to shower afterwards even though we barely spent any time there. Would definitely not recommend.

    The location is good, nothing else.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest room! Classic London I guess, they’ve made up the smallest space to make money off of it. Could barely fit one person inside the shower room. The room had a funny smell in it, so had to leave the window open the whole time. Not worth the money. Looks like a nice place from the outside - it wasn’t.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old place and the beds were terrible ended up with back pain and had to leave a day early because was insane to be there

    dirty, no lift, hard to get to the bedrooms, staff look very sad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of space. The shower, toilet and sink were in a small looking cupboard, there was just enough room to stand in it. No T.V. Very basic and cheap accommodation.

    The hotel (if you want to call it that) was very central to Earls Court underground station. Lots of shops and eating places near by too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilet was shared, i hadn't read that on the booking although when I reread I saw it, the toilet was in the very small reception area with the man sitting outside at the desk

    the location was good, very near the tube station, plenty shops and places to eat around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything here is my terrible experience. I don't know why this place use the word "hotel". Booking.com should come to visit this hotel, you will know that you will not keep this place in your list.

    Did Booking.com visit this hotel? It is terrible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too many plates, cups, spoon ...to eat food and drink coffee after breakfast (if you cook meal), the furniture is old, worn out, the taps are dirty and neglected, the garden is overgrown and unregulated...

    public transport is very close, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid! - Unhelpful staff, dirty, disgusting room, uncomfortable beds, dust and dirt everywhere, lightshade thick in dust, huge cracks from previous ceiling leak? - toilet within a man made wardrobe in the room??? , furniture broken, previous rubbish and rubble collected on top. DO NOT take children here!

    Nothing, actually made me feel sick!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy in the reception when we checked in was very nice.

    Toilet was so dirty, no heating on in our room. Just a 2 minutes late for the breakfast we weren't considered to have it .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole building smelt of mould rooms didn't look like they've been cleaned in weeks and was told to use the toilet we'd have to go outside

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room came with no tv or ironing service which it said it should. I had to go and ask for toilet roll as we hadn't been supplied any. The toilet kept breaking which meant after flushing the flush didn't go off until I fiddled around with the buttons. The window didn't open so the room was hot and stuffy I won't be going back or recommending to a friend.

    The good thing was it was only a 5min walk from the underground

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tabs in the room were not working even dropping. There was a hole in the wall. The ceiling was damaged and the some parts were hanging. The blankes were not clean. The heating was not working. One part of curtain was hunging. The room was smelling of mold. The pictures available on website were not matching where we stayed at all.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Studio for 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds needs changing,the bedside tables needs replacing as they are wobbly and broken.the curtain definitely need looking at it looked so old and unclean.

    the staff are polite, kind and helpful.the breakfast is excellent.with the price, u are saving a lot of money.there was a staff who welcomed us and showed our room.the hotel is well identified it has got a massive signboard.the location is great.i will definitely recommend this hotel.great value for money.the room is nice n warm too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No toiletries were provided and the shower was lacking (took roughly ten minutes to get lukewarm water).

    Hotel is in a great location, ideal for short breaks away; Earl's Court tube station is just around the corner and lots of attractions are a short fifteen-twenty minute walk away. Very secure entry to the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room toilet lights and exhausts were not working and there were no locks on the toilet doors. The bed lights were not working. The main switch board was just above the floor level which is not safe for kids. The rooms were not cleaned. Even though we complained to the reception, they had done nothing about the situation.

    The staff were nice and friendly. The location was very good for travelling around London and it was near some of the attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio for 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were terrible, toilet didn't work, "breakfast" kitchen looked like a hostel, no heat, pillows/blankets awful, Bathtub dirty and in awful shape. Spend the extra money and stay anywhere else. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was 2 single beds stuck together, the curtains were easy to use and hanging off the rail, lights were broken, no kettle or tea facilities,vtoom cramped with old furniture, small caravan type shower facilities, bathroom fan filthy, staff unsociable and no onions for breakfast other than stale cereal or eggs. Very disappointing 😞

    Not much to be honest

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is very bad. Window was just a piece of plastic fixed wrongly only with screw so there were gaps, so it was like opened window all the time. Matrace is terrible, loolks like the whole bed is from old hospital or what, very uncomfortable. No normal feather-bed only disgusting blankets so we were all cold also because of that stupid window. Also shower in the room is literally in the room so no privacy at all. Breakfast is nothing good, just a toast and small butters with small jam and eggs that were burnt. No normal coffee, just disgusting nescafe. Water from sing smells so I guess not drinkable. Staff was nice also instead of the fact that some of them did not speak english but at least they smiled. Kitchen is for nothing because there are some pots, but no knife, no cultery, no glasses, no plates..... wifi not working in the room, on the hall just very very very slowly...

    It had roof and it was for average price for london. Not too expensive, but not cheap. Good location very close to underground station on District line.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold. Heating was not sufficient. Dining. room was freezing. Breakfast serving was precarious. Could be better

    Easiness of staff to meet mobility needs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny to the point it was more of a wet room and you could go to the toilet whilst showering and brushing your teeth. It wasn’t very clean One plug in room Cold

    Close proximity to tube Restaurants near by Staff were friendly Large room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic facilities, no shower. Only bathtub with cold water

    Great location, close to high St and station Very cheap. Ideal only for overnighting when in transit. Breakfast was fine , buy limited. Cheap instant coffee and tea bags.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio for 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dirty place, thin walls, broken window temporary closed with plastic shield, room cold, beds from ww2 hospital, electricity and lights not working, not possible even charge mobile phones. mattresses worn out. antisanitary conditions for showers, toilets. Terrible hotel, pictures are not real. Not recomended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matresses are plastic, the room was tiny & cold, the toilets & showers are poor and i saw a mouse running through the hall.

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Really close to Earl’s Court underground station. Lot’s of places to go for ‘breakfast’ because you can’t really call the breakfast they serve at the hotel breakfast... The WiFi wasn’t as bad as other reviews made me expect. Maybe because we were on the ground floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby with a dirty fitted carpet, water damage on the ceiling, cobwebs, broken furniture and a very small heater. The shower resembled an upright display fridge, the toilet is in the bedroom and the handsink is in another part of the room.

    The location is very close to a tube (1 min away ) and there are loads of restaurants and shops. The beds, albeit old hospital beds, had clean sheets and we had clean towels everyday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid extra for a double bed - I got two separate beds put together. It was very uncomfortable. There were 4 lights in the room and only one was working. Shower was literally in the middle of the room - never saw it anywhere. Wifi was not working in the upper floor. Very basic breakfast - egg, cereal and a toast that you have to wait 10 minutes for

    Good location, very close to Earl's Court underground

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold to sleep and even though our room was on third floor we could clearly hear what people were talking outside trough closed windows.

    Location is perfect, metro station is just around the corner! Staff is helpful, stored our luggage an printed tickets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a disgrace, filthy , someone else's McDonald wrappers in the drawers, long hairs in the 'bathr0om' which was caravan toilet and shower plonked in the corner (never seen anything like it)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: shabby, with many things in disrepair; shared bathrooms not very clean.

    Pros: clean sheets & towels, extra heater in room, reliable hot water in showers, nice staff, good location, cheap for London, felt safe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That the hotel has NO lift, so we did come to do shopping, so we had 3 big bags to take down by hand, and the b'fast was very bad.

    That it is not to far from central of London, and i did live in London, so i do know Earl's court.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles !

    Duty written , like in south Amerika in the greatest dirt and ... impolite, Dold , noisy ... Better sleeping on the street or in the YMCA!! Disgusting!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a hotel. This is a house with loads of beds dumped in rooms. The rooms are so old and have never been updated for 20yrs in my opinion. There is no heating apart from a little plug in heater that is not very good. The room was freezing and the widows didn’t close properly. I told the staff I wasn’t happy and wanted to leave. He asked me if I wanted to see another room, but that one was just as bad. I ordered a double room with a private bathroom, but it was just a shower enclosure placed in the middle of the room. And the toilet was outside the room.

    The only good thing about this property was the location being around the corner from Earl’s Court station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio for 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place should be closed down. I've stayed in better campsites. Facilities are absolutely disgusting, beds are well not sure how they pass for beds.....lights dont work. Toilet made noises all night filling up after flushing. Total waste of £140.00. Do not stay here.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff not very friendly or helpful, kitchen staff didn't tell us what to do at breakfast time so we were unsure whether to help ourselves or be served. This hotel has wonderful potential, it needs a make over just a freshen up of paint and neutral theme would be perfect. No lift! A colleague was struggling with two flights of steep stairs with her case. Tiny bathroom but fine for an overnight stay.

    The location and price was excellent. The bed had fresh sheets and was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stuff in the kitchen. Once the kithen was closed for the breakfast - the stuff was approx 30 minutes late.

    The underground is only a two minutes from accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the whole accommadation was a total tip and in need of complete refurbishment ,there is nothing i could say positive about this place and strongly advise anyother tourist to avoid this place.i avoided

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What's on the site is totally different from what you find at the destination, all are under any criticism. I was initially given room 12 which is a total disaster, holes in the walls, a bad old smell, the windows are falling down, an indescribable cold ... I asked for another room and after long discussions, the room was replaced with No 17 from the last floor. I consider myself a normal person without a fetus but what I found in this location would not recommend anyone! and what seemed to me to be the most is that the person who entered the cleaning room stole my audio earphones that we had bought, they were sealed. I signaled the disappearance of the helmets and I was simply told that they were sorry about the incident and I was left with the damage! as for breakfast, it is served somewhere in the basement, very poor, in a very dirty room .. of course I will never come again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed's were dilapidated like the rest of the hotel. Not comfortable at all. The smell of raw sewage came up through the shower plug hole when you ran the tap in the basin. Making the hole room stink. The window in my room previously had an air vent in it. This was removed (how is wish it hadn't been) and replaced with a piece of plastic sheeting and sellotape,!!!!! The room was cold, no surprises there with the draft blowIng through the window. There was a fuse box in my room with no plastic cover. No tea making facilities in the room at all. Yes there was a kitchen we could use but this was 4 floors downstairs. Wifi is not available in all areas. The wardrobe had no doors. One plug socket in the room. You had to move the tv behind the door to plug it in and unplug it every time you needed to leave a room. Clear fire risk. The towels had stains on them. I could go on and on.

    The location absolutely nothing else

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very cramped with a shower box and the box with the toilet in the middle of the room. The heater did not work. The facilities were very worn down. The walls are thing and we could hear our neighbours coming late at night.

    The location is very close to the underground station and the bus lines. The breakfast was simple but nutritious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a thin mattress on it so wasn't very comfortable when we first sat on it, but we took the blankets of the other beds and were pretty exhausted when we got back so crashed out. Light in the bathroom didn't work and the bathroom is very small. Your feet are in the shower when you go to the toilet!

    The location is the best feature of this hotel, it's right around the corner from Earl's Court station, the high street (we went and had breakfast at the Greg's) and is close to the museums.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything its dirty and dropping to bits the place hasn't been cleaned or decorated for years and we was given the cellar to sleep in, we scratched till our skin bled and still scratching after we left because of our ordeal

    dirty discusting place not even fit for a rat to stay in

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to like it was totally disgusting.

    The whole place and experience was appalling. No welcoming smile from the so called receptionist. It was filthy. You could feel the springs through the mattresses. One wafer thin pillow per person. One of our rooms had a picnic blanket on the bed instead of a proper blanket, no duvets. Furniture was fit for the tip. Couldn't shower it was to disgusting. Cleaning your teeth was extremely difficult as the shelf over the tiny basin was too low and in the way. Don't think the whole place had seen a paint brush for thirty odd years. We didn't dare sample the breakfast for fear of going down with food poisoning. The rooms, especially the one in the basement were like broom cupboards. We asked if they had a better rooms but were told they were fully booked. WE REQUEST A FULL REFUND FOR THE TWO ROOMS - £178. How this hotel is permitted to trade beggars belief!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small, with no access to open window, there was mould on the wall. Toilet and shower were two floors up to our room. I will recommend this accommodation only to very undemanding person. Never more this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This pictures are so not real! The rooms and communal areas are not nice or clean. Dust all over, dump ceilings, falling sinks, etc... it needs some urgent intervention!

    The Romanian lady from breakfast time was nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn’t stay again, everything is falling apart. Our room on the bottom felt like a prison cell, no tv or phone like it’s described. Everything was falling off, the locks on the doors, table in the room... our very basic shower had a massive crack in it with graffiti around it. The staff store cupboard was right outside our room and you could hear every sound. The shared toilet was horrid, and you could hear banging and clanging from people upstairs. All night it sounded as though water was dripping down the walls. Did not try the free breakfast in the morning, as from the impression we got from the standard of our room, we didn’t want to risk it.

    Hard to say

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio for 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is scary- little beds, with unwashed blankets (very thin), hardly any heating ( we were frozen and up all night). Filthy and uncomfortable; there is no shower, the toilet does not flush; the door to the bathroom does not close (imagine the smell); the bath is so dirty, you would not get in and have a bath. There was no breakfast as the breakfast lady did not arrive on time and it was her first day; she did not speak any English. When we saw the state of the kitchen and the hygiene; we instantly knew we would not have breakfast there due to the hygiene. We reported the above to the receptionist whose response was "I am sorry to hear that". The only statement in English he could articulate. I am not sure who wrote the reviews, but this is not a hotel. It is filthy, with broken furniture and no basic hygiene..All for £90 a night....

    Apart from the location, there is nothing that could attract you in this place. It is terrifying.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby room with poor heating. Very poor facilities, shower stunk of mold. No duvet just thin blanket on a thin matress. Door to room not secure and very loose. Looked like the room hadn't been decorated in 30 years. There was no reception, just a desk with a bloke watching a laptop. Worst place i have stayed in the uk. Felt like walking straight out and driving home 220 miles through the night instead. Feel totally ripped off, didn't sleep a wink. I paid the same price for a premier inn room in a better area. Also not in Chelsea as stated but Earls Court.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old . We booked the breakfast but we did not want to eat there . The breakfast area was too old .

    The bed was comfortable , maybe because I was tired

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and had 3 beds instead of the 2 we expected which cramped space. The bathroom was very small and made it difficult to have a comfortable shower or to go to the bathroom. There was only 1 wall socket to charge phones.

    Really great location and easy to get to and see the sights around. The staff were really good and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    this was one of the most uncomfortable hotels I have ever stayed in. We could barely sleep, the beds were small, uncomfortable with 2 small polyester blankets. We just felt plain uncomfortable. The appliances on the shower were breaking. The shared bathrooms were not cleaned frequently, with shared old towels and shared soap. Corners of the rooms were disgusting. The breakfast was terrible with instant coffee. The only nice things about the hotel was the very nice concierge. And great neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough water pressure at the shower in the room. Although I was supposed to have a shower in my room, I had to go upstairs in order to find one. However, that bathroom could have been cleaner (e.g. soap dispensers left behind, etc.). Secondly, there was water on the floor and there was a leakage. About the rooms: Very basic, needs some attention.

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no room for me upon arrival due to mixup at Windsor but Oxford handled it good and secured a room for me

    I did not stay at Windsor but at Oxford hotel which has bought up Windsor. Oxford is a nice hotel, very small room but big bed. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was terrible 79 stairs to bedroom 5 beds in the room shower no water pressure cold bits of plastic up as windows rubbish nights sleep left a day early due to the state of the place.

    NOTHING dirty cold breakfast a piece of toast & a boiled egg The place is no better than a dos house My dogs kennel is more comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains in my single room were falling off, so I was bothered by the outside lights. Also, I had to wait 10 minutes for the hot water to start running in the shower, the mattress was covered with plastic which keeps squeaking as I moved during the night. I had to wake up early in the morning for work and the wifi was not available at that time. Finally, I was told breakfast was offered starting at 7:30 AM. We were 10 people waiting at 7:30; I gave up after 20 minutes. When I returned to the breakfast area at 9 AM, it was opened. The area was clean and with a good diversity for breakfast options.

    The location is convenient, direct between Heathrow and the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place looks like it's about to fall apart and it needs a serious clean! My room only had the one plug so I had to decide bewteen charging my phone, watching TV etc. Etc.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and informative. The continental breakfast was simple but very filling and I appreciated that.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel should think about buying more hair dryers. We have been there for three days and asked for it a few times. Every time it was not there. The Internet was not working at all ( or somebody didn't want us to connect to it). For the first two days there was no connection and we have been told, that Internet is temporary unavailable. Last evening we saw the network but while we asked the receptionist for a password, he said... he doesn't know it and that Internet is not working.

    The location is really great. There are shops, restaurants and coffee shops near by. You can easily get everywhere you want - underground and bus stop is just around the corner. The room we got was small but clean. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not in a "safe" feeling part of town. Very run-down, carpet torn, curtains ripped and broke- not able to close, breakfast was very minimal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower and toilet is clean, but too small even for a person of Asian size. Room does not have kettle, nor cups, nor table, nor hangers for jackets in wardrobe. Area for breakfast is not appealing, so we did not have breakfast in the hotel.

    Very Good Location: only a couple of steps from train station. Bedroom and beds are clean and good to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Garlands of dusty spider webs moving gently in the breeze from the window that couldn't be closed, illuminated by the bare light bulb in the ceiling - the only available light, as the reading light(? - on the wall, but nowhere near the bed) didn't have any bulb at all. The bed was so bad, you could feel all the springs poke into your body. Access partially blocked by big bags of laundry (wonder what the Fire Service would think of that) with a cleaner sitting on top, checking his phone. He didn't speak any English when I asked him where my room was (I had just been told in reception that it was on the first floor, and the signage is non-existent). Walls are paper thin, could hear all the neighbours were discussing.

    The location was great, and the receptionist nice and friendly. Despite being next to Earl's Court station, you could only hear a very low noise from the trains. The linen was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on third floor. Shared toilet on third floor not working. Light over wash basin not working. One other light in room not working. No light accessible from bed. Breakfast very basic; only white bread, corn flakes, muesli and hard boiled eggs.

    Bed clean and comfortable. Room clean and tidy Quiet at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything apart from the location. the staff member was very unfriendly when i checked out in the morning. When I checked in I was meant to pay £23.75, so I gave £25 but the staff member did not have any change to give me so he told me to collect it in the morning, however the different staff member on duty in the morning was incredibly impolite and blatantly refused to give me my change, so I left without my change. I was not informed that breakfast is included so I missed that in the morning and neither was I informed about the check out time. If I was late checking out somebody should have come to my room to inform me much sooner instead of making a huge problem out of the fact that I checked out late when nobody informed be what time checkout was to begin with.

    only the location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the fawcetts didn't work in the in-room sink. If all beds had been used there is little room for suitcases. No elevator so difficult to schlep suitcases upstairs to upper levels.

    Our room was comfortable with nearby washrooms, in-room shower and sink. Beautiful bay window and comfortable beds and blankets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper bathroom in the room, just a shower cubicle with a clear door in a room with 5 beds, not suitable at all :( my teenage daughter was totally freaked out!! The whole room was shabby and uncomfortable.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, it was a horrible dirty place.

    Did not like anything about the place. It was dirty, we had no "shared toilet" on the top floor as it was marked out of order and had to go to the 2nd floor for facilities. Curtains were not even hang properly using rusty wire. There was not even a shower facility for a family of 5 adults. Staff did not even speak any English. We will not be using this place again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio for 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was some hundred years old.The tub did not had hot cold water mixer.Which was very strange.Breakfast place was very small shortage of serving staff.

    Location.it is central point very near to the metro station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio for 5
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to go back later to check in, because our room was not ready in time. The cleaner/kitchen staff could not speak English. Had to be very careful with the shower door because it could fall off. Breakfast was absolutely disappointing. Had to wait for table, had to go into the kitchen to ask for plates and cutlery-but he did not speak English. Got some toast and could chose from muesli, corn flakes, boiled eggs, jam, and fat spread.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old house converted into hotel, and provides only basic facilities. The maintenance and cleanliness of this property could be better. Rooms were ok.Breakfast was included but it was very basic, just bread and butter, corn flakes and boiled eggs.

    Good, convenient location near tube station, all central London attractions are within 30 mins by tube. Low price and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like what we saw on the photos on booking.com. We stayed downstairs in the basement and there was a bad smell and cobwebs everywhere. We booked 3 nights but actually left early before our 3rd night because it was so bad. It's a good location but I would never sleep there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After we had travelled to London, we had a phone call telling us that our room would be cancelled if I didn't give my card details over the phone. Not good to feel my family and I would not have accommodation after booking it correctly. We had to cut short our sightseeing and head straight for the hotel or risk having nowhere to stay.

    It was value for money for a budget hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible terrible terrible !!!!!! Room is disgusting and dirty and very very old and not suitable for human beings use!! Not even other living beings!! Please don't book here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were camp beds, ignore the photos they show on here. You will be given camp beds pushed together with what is believed to be mouse traps underneath. The shower smelled so badly of damp and mould and the stains surrounding the sink and making the floor sticky were so bad along with the bits of food left in the drawers and mould and damp growing on the walls behind the wardrobes and walls - I forked out more money and went to a premier inn at gone 10pm. Staying here would have made us ill no doubt breathing in those fumes. Please do not use room 17 and room 5. The smells and dirtyness was horrendous. The noise was a joke, just awful all in all.

    Awful, mould on walls, the smell was so pungent in room 5 that it made us gag. Please don't open the shower door, the smell is eveb worse than that of just the room. There were dirty huge stains around the sink which looked to be that of human waste of some kind or some other vile smelling substance.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Windsor House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: