Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Winnock Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

The Square, Loch Lomond, Drymen, G63 0BL, United Kingdom

#17 of 18 hotels in Drymen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 484 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    3.8
    Would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking very difficult to find. Initial room next to noisy kitchen vent so had to change. Room very small. Had to wait one hour for breakfast.

    Bathroom facilities clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    8.3
    The location is good and the front desk staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food in the hotel was a bit too salty. But other than that the hotel is decent and we have a great stay.

    The location is good and the front desk staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    6.7
    Liked the hotel but we should have been given at least £20 for the inconvenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is not unreasonable to expect hot water to wash especially in the morning. The water was COLD and when we explained this to the staff we were told “when there is high demand, it sets the trip switch off but it’s working now”. So how often does this happen to guests and why hasn’t it been rectified having recognised there is clearly a problem. to add further to our complaint , we were only given £10 reduction for the 2 of us - and this was only offered after we asked for a reduction.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay in an iconic stop on the West Highland Way, beautiful room with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Vegan sausages offered at breakfast - the only protein was baked beans

    Spacious comfortable room Excellent shower and bath with additional TV in the bathroom Very helpful and friendly staff Made us a special and delicious vegan dinner upon advance request Nice lounge and bar facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    6.3
    Stayed one night and that was enough. Very expensive for what was on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor value for money. Smallish room, decor was dated and looking a bit tired. Thought the room smelled a bit damp. TV did not work. Fortunately we were only staying for one night.

    Lovely location. Breakfast was nice. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.7
    Great location , food good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tired looking hotel , needs decorating, garden furniture poor condition . All very young staff , asked for gin and tonic 3 occasions , same member staff gave no lemon , small thing but important.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.7
    Staff were lovely and surrounding area was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were booked into room 9 which was directly above a very noisy kitchen extractor which made a lot of noise from about 7am and woke us up. It would have been good if a note was offered at the time of booking with this information or at least to be told at check in. They did manage to move us after we asked to be moved and were very apologetic about it but the room we moved to had paper thin walls. Rooms were fine but small and outdated. All in all it was expensive for what it was.

    Staff were lovely and surrounding area was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.9
    good place to stay for local attractions a bit dated freindly enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room and balcony need deep clean decking on balcony very loose could be dangerous need to get rid of spiders webs and weeds room service breakfast was late and poached egg was hard boiled!!

    room good size comfy bed nice having a balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.5
    For one night it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old-ish, its time for a refurbishment. The shower had issues to adjust, you had to play with it to be usable warm water as it was burning hot or cold just for turning it 1-2mm.

    Real Scottish place to stay. The lounge is very cosy, the building looks good and traditional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    lovely room drymen lovely place staff excellent and pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast plates hot but food not very hot potato scones very greasy also mushrooms scrambled egg cold and dry no they have a lot to cater for but somethings need to be changed

    room was lovely first time staying at winnock dinner very nice had it in bar plenty to choose from

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely friendly base with good facilities in a beautiful part of Scotland.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was too hot, though the weather was unseasonably warm, but even with window wide open it was difficult to sleep.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast. Convenient but quiet location. Clean, well furnished room. Well worth the price I paid. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.9
    Nice oldfashioned and comfy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of "full scottish" breakfast was good but a kind of volatile. Continental breakfast is very basic, often with empty plates...I would not recommend the continental.

    Nice oldfashioned and comfy hotel. You'll need a car or bike to see anything interesting, i.e Loch Lomond or Glasgow

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, great location, worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • quadruple room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ice cream dessert on the dinner menu was really bad, the chicken wasn’t great too, but everything else was great.

    Friendly staff, great location, worth the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Excellent, very comfortable hotel and highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing that was missing was at breakfast ........ plain yogurt. It's a MUST have at breakfast.

    Very helpful staff and nice welcome. Bags were in room on arrival which was excellent service. Nice rooms and very comfortable surroundings. Lovely we Scottish touches around the hotel. Perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.5
    good, comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food service was extremely slow with people walking out due to the innordinate length of time from ordering to being served with food. Informed this was due to staff shortage but not good advertisement hospitality industry to the oversees and other visitors. It did not show Scottish hospitality in a good light.

    all acceptable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food in bar was poor.

    Newly renovated room. Very comfortable. Great location as we were walking the West Highland Way. Nice breakfast. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.0
    Unfortunately too expensive for what we received.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room on entry seemed clean but there was cobwebs above the heater, bathroom decoration was poor and the patio doors were hard to lock once opened. The two nights we stayed on both mornings there was no hot water for showers. No apology either. We ate in the pub room but felt as if we were being chucked out as entertainment was due in and needed to go where we were sealed. Service was slow.

    The location was great, we love being in the area. Rooms were a good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    5.0
    Food was very good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Requested accessible room but the room was down a hallway maze and the very last room. Given just 1 key for 3 people and refused a spare on request - claimed they did not have a spare.

    Food was very good; bar staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Perfect, I'll come back and also recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfy, tv in bathroom was awesome, a very good breakfast with lots of choice, bar meal was excellent and good value, relaxing with small children, staff and other visitors were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.3
    We were on a walking trip and the hotel was excellent for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No issues

    There was a problem with our dinner order and it arrived very late. The hotel did not charge for the meal or the drinks we had. The meal was excellent and this gesture was well above the expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff, good location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towel’s heater was rusty with open electrical switch. The pressure in the shower is quite low, but good on the bath taps.

    Nice staff, good location and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    4.2
    Issues with cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were offered a room which was above the kitchen and extremely noisy. We were then moved to another room which was tiny but quiet. On opening the bed covers we found hair on the sheets, the fittings were grubby and the next morning there was a hair in my breakfast. The level of cleanliness was terrible and staff were very dismissive when we mentioned this. We stayed in some lovely places on our trip to Scotland, sadly this was one of the most expensive and the only one we would not recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.3
    Good location if doing the west highland way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast isn't very good. Scrambled eggs were really overcooked / hard so we asked for more and second batch not much better

    Good location if doing the west highland way

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    A lovely relaxing stay at a friendly Hotel. We will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of any negatives.

    Loved the homely feel of the Hotel.Staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you.The bar meals were delicious and good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    4.5
    Rotten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Put in a frozen room with a dampness hole in the ceiling plus being told my card was declined as there was a problem with it when there wasn’t!!!

    Loch Lomond

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    5.8
    Won’t be returning to the winnock hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Patio doors were jamming had to bang them to open them chip in the bath satellite tv wasn’t working in the room or bathroom floor tiles on the bathroom were moving needed grouted was not worth £149

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, comfy bed, could do with a little maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A mini fridge would be great There was no porridge on one of the days Check out took a long time (But they're are small niggles)

    The Scottish breakfast was great, the beds very comfortable and the coffee/tea facilities were a great extra

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls. Very noisy. I’m a sound sleeper so not a huge problem. But very creaky halls.

    Cosy & friendly. Very Scottish theme throughout. Lots of tartan. Bar food was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    Defenetly be back and would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv in bath didn’t work , which I was excited about using

    I was extremely happy with our stay had a great sleep the bed was super comfortable ,, shower was amazing , we also had dinner in the hotel which was excellent , staff friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    10
    I will definately will returning when I can,and advising my friends to visit as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can,t think of anything I could dislike.

    Ijust liked the fact from the minute you walk in you are made to feel welcome by all the staff.Also the quality of room for the price you were paying was fantastic.Great pubs and restaurants nearby with quality local produce to try.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money and will definitely book another weekender.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was stuffy as there was no window to open. Being situated on the ground floor opening the patio doors was not an option.

    Roomy comfortable bed. Excellent tea and coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Beautiful little town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers wasn't as hot as it could be. I was wanting to have a bath however the water was too cold. Not the end of the world, we found in many places we stayed in in Scotland that this was the case so maybe its just the cold weather!

    Loved the location, such a pretty town. A few nice pubs and restaurants near by which we really enjoyed. Staff were friendly and room was comfortable. Drymen was definitely one of our favourite places we visited.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.5
    Was very angry in morning because of lack of sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was number 31 and directly above reception and front entrance . There was a party that night in hotel and guests all hanging around outside front of hotel laughing swearing etc and didn’t get any sleep till 2 in the morning so for that reason would never pay to spend a night there ever again . Was hoping for a nice peaceful night with my wife as we don’t often get away because of work commitments

    Comfortable bed , friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    Idyllic place to stay and fab hotel and great friendly staff too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing not to like at all

    Fantastic hotel in a great location. Especially loved the roaring wood fire decorated with Christmas decorations by the Christmas tree looked so beautiful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So cosy, sitting by the open fires with a drink after a day out exploring. Food in the bar and the restaurant was delicious with a good choice. The room was lovely, spacious with a very comfy bed .... will definitely recommend and return, thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    10
    Lovely location and extremely good value hotel considering the quality of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are pretty thin, we could hear people talking from beneath us during breakfast hours. There is also no picturesque views to look out to in our room. The 4 poster bed was also quite creaky.

    The location is fantastic, the rooms are amazing value for money, all the essentials and great interior design

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    7.5
    Overall just fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately our room was above a function room with a live band. The noise and floor vibration was very intrusive . Fortunately it finished at 10 pm - but it did spoil any chance of relaxation in the room. Noisy outside from 6 am the next morning with voices of ? delivery men ? staff. Evening meal good but when requested, no ground black pepper available!!!

    Room was fresh and comfortable. Breakfast had a fairly good choice. Cooked breakfast was good and ample.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable, quiet, warm and friendly visit. I would definitely recommend & stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the bathroom needs a little TLC on tiles, paintwork and soap holders etc, clean but needs sprucing up. Also, the tv in the bathroom did not work. Either it should be working or not be there.

    The room was spacious, clean, and the decor was lovely - and had a balcony which would be great in summer (or ideal for people who smoke). Plenty of tea/coffee/milk etc sachets (often find in hotels this is sadly lacking). Very friendly staff. Lovely atmosphere. Traditional Scottish decor, with tartan and stags heads, welcoming roaring fire. The food we had in the bar was plentiful and very good quality. The breakfast were plentiful and very good quality - whatever you want on the cooked breakfast and continental as well, as much as you want. Always busy and the staff coped well. Food service in the bar was also very prompt. We did not try the restaurant, but the menu looked good. Less expensive than many other hotels in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel but let down by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was poor from start to finish couldn't even have dinner in the restaurant and they didn't tell me until after I had checked in, so had to go to a nice hotel down the road for dinner which was lovely! Breakfast was poor quality and receptionist was blunt and forgot my payment meaning I had to go back and pay a second fee after checking out.

    Room was nice and clean with a good balcony to sit on and bed was comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.8
    We had a lovely evening away from our usual surroundings, would defo go back for seconds 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is dated, but overall well kept and clean.

    Our four poster bed was extremely comfortable, overall had a lovely evening in Drymen. The room was ideal with a view over the square. Would recommend the Winnock for sure 😀

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    6.3
    Underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s not a bad or terrible hotel but the whole place just needs an upgrade. Everything is creaky and loud. The floorboards in the hallways are RIDICULOUSLY loud. If a mouse tiptoed past your room it would wake you up. The ‘full Scottish breakfast’ was cold and tasted like it had been pre cooked the day before and then heated up. The room was far too warm with no thermostat so had to open a window which then meant you could hear the traffic and music from outside even clearer. Don’t get me wrong we only stayed for 1 night and didn’t need anything more than what we got. But it definitely needs some improvements.

    Checking out

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    9.6
    Very good overnight stay. Ate in hotel bar in evening and good choice for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general no complaints other than tightly spaced toilet and shower room with large shower head and no shower cap supplied. ( got shower cap from reception after asking). Shower head appeared to be leaking from above spraying water further than required.

    Ideal location Clean and friendly hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant, but more attention to cleanliness would've made it perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness of the room wasn't quite up to scratch. Hair round the base of the toilets and windowsills dirty.

    Cosy little place with plenty of character, friendly staff and quick breakfast service. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    8.8
    remoteness of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely place to stay, only discomfort was the very squeaky beds as you lay down. Wife is heavily pregnant and obviously moves during the night, the bed just squeaks constantly in room 5 anyway. Wasn't a great breakfast. 5/10

    remoteness of the location. Roaring fires

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    9.6
    Cracking stay brilliant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was as expected as we are regular guests. There was nothing we didn't like. We will definitely be back

    Location was ideal. Staff were excellent. Food was really good. Room was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    7.5
    Staff all very friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar is a little bit lacking in atmosphere. Only one choice of non alcoholic beer

    Staff all very friendly and efficient. Refurbished room are finished to a good standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay, would stay again despite breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast unfortunately it looked amazing but tasted the opposite. Potato scone was over cooked and rubbery. Seemed like the whole cooked breakfast was reheated too long in a microwave.

    Travelled with our 6 week old baby, staff were very accommodating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    6.7
    A busy hotel in a popular region, most staff tried their best but maintenance needs some attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room at front -very noisy until late at night; poorly repainted windows so can't be opened properly or closed easily. A small hotel - heavily expanded. Our bathroom extractor fan did not work; heard others say the same to reception -not a lot of evidence it was seen to. Low eave- type roofs so rooms need ventilation /fans when very sunny. Compared with other stays a bit over priced

    Good beds and linen in nicely decorated rooms Well presented breakfast but a little too fast to be'leisurely' - a coach party was in as well. Lovely local /Scottish themed ingredients for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    2.9
    Dirty rooms disgusting food and foul mouthed staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were dirty.Dirty foot prints on the bathroom floor, a dirt ring around the bath You could write your name in the dust on the furniture.The breakfast was disgusting and the staff did not give a damn. We had to listen through breakfast two girls(who were staff)moaning about their boyfriends in which their vocabulary was not nice. No one came to ask us how breakfast was so we had no opportunity to tell them. The wine I ordered at the bar was not chilled they did not inform me of this and offer me another choice. The bed was old and felt like the springs had gone. Will not be back. Even on checking out the receptionist did not ask about our stay!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    5.4
    Ok, but wouldn't go back or recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were definitely in the older part of the hotel and it didn't live up to the cosy, comfortable atmosphere that was portrayed in the hotel info. The bathroom was very dated and damaged. The room was cold as no secondary window protection. The room door didn't even fit properly so didn't feel safe in case of a fire, definitely not a fire door. The price was hugely more than advertised on site, but that could be down to bookings.com site.

    The pub food was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    3.3
    Three P's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds extremely uncomfortable had to moved three times wife got bit plastic in meal was compinsated for this but still not the point breakfast was very poor half harted attempt at a Scottish breakfast cleanliness of room was bad half harted again overall not a 3 star very disappointed ryan the night manager was the only person that went the extra mile or I was leaving in the early hours to go home

    Nothing good to say apart from night manager ryan saving the day with the uncomfortable rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    5.0
    Was okay for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered a cooked breakfast when it came the egg was over cooked . the presentation of the breakfast was poor and I had to remind them that I had ordered coffee which had not arrived. The room was very hot as I could not control the heating as the radiator control was broke.

    The Hotel is easy to find .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    8.3
    Great location and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms a little dated but clean and comfortable and the family room was spacious.

    The bar food was incredible. Great value for money. The macaroni cheese and the steak and ale pie were the best we've ever had. The staff were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    7.5
    Nice location, pretty building, decent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of noise from outside (we were at the front). Waitress in bar forgot to bring water over, but they were very busy. Wi-Fi only in public areas and variable there. I personally didn't find the bed comfortable, but my friend did - it's a matter of taste.

    Pretty village and this hotel was right in the centre on a little semi-circular green. Lots of charm in the room we were in, which was spacious and had an excellent shower. Nice meal in the bar. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money without skimping on standards: good food, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we disliked.

    Room was to standard expected, comfortable and clearn. Bar meal in evening was excellent, well cooked, well presented and very good value for money. Breakfast was good too. Those in the party that had a cooked breakfast thoroughly enjoyed it, choice of continental fare was more than enough. Older child in party likes their toast to resemble heated bread with no change of colour, request was quickly provided with no fuss. Although Drymen is a small village, the location meant we could travel to The Trossachs, Glasgow, Stirling or to the north as we preferred.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    8.3
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place. Not sure when the whole place was built, but one doorway in the restaurant said 1707 and I would believe it. The pub down the street was established in 1735. Had a great Scottish meal in the restaurant and even though we had to leave very early in the morning to catch a flight (it is about 35 minutes from the Glasgow airport), they made sure that we had at least a continental breakfast before leaving. The bartenders in the bar all wore kilts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    9.6
    Lovey location, comfortable bed and well fitted out bathroom and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely historic building with newly decorated and fitted bedroom, great shower. Staff were friendly and offered assistance at any opportunity. Breakfast really good and nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    8.8
    The staff were really helpful and friendly, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was fantastic. Unfortunately we didn't get there until late so didn't have a chance to check out the restaurant and bar but it seemed very nice and cosy when we arrived. The room was comfortable and big with everything we needed. The location was also nice with local amenities on the door step and only a short drive to Loch Lomond.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    5.0
    Small and old room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is old and small. We reserve the family room, and got a room with a double room size with extra 3 beds. The bathroom was old and the warm water comes and goes.

    Location is good, just near lake Lamond and in a reasonable distance from Glasgow, The stuff are very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    4.6
    would not recommend to anyone or go back for money it cost but would go to bar next to it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    room was dusty with cobwebs in the corner poor choice of food in restaurant for price bad communication with some of the staff but could solve these problems

    bed was comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.5
    Staff friendly, lovely breakfast, good location close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bottle of water in the room would have been nice. Arrived thirsty and water pressure in the sink was poor and tapwater tepid. Wasn't a fan of the soap dispensers.

    Staff friendly, lovely breakfast, good location close to Loch Lomond. Room came with a balcony, unexpectedly, which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and characterful Scottish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our family of 5 spent one night in the Winnock hotel. We all slept in the same room, which was quite a tight fit, though perfectly acceptable for a short stay. We appreciated the 'Scottishness' of the decor, with the tartan carpet etc. There were several delicious options for dinner and breakfast for adults and children in the onsite restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    5.4
    Satisfactory, pleasant but very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bitty sort of place, stairs all over the place. Seemed very expensive to me. I travel a lot-six or seven times a year anyway. Five star lakeside hotel in Lucerne same price, but no comparison at all!

    Staff pleasant. Food good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    I was able to book a family room for 4 people (2 adults and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was able to book a family room for 4 people (2 adults and 2 children, 5 and 8yo)! Great breakfast options. Room was clean and tidy, plenty of towels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    10
    Wonderful Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel situated in a quiet village. Ideally located between Stirling and Loch Lomond. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was well above what was expected. Furnished to a good standard and clean and tidy. Booked a twin but on arrival the hotel was only too willing to change the room dependent on availability. Ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was of a good standard. All in all a great base if exploring the delights and beauty of Loch Lomond and Stirling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but spoilt by music from public areas audible in the bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Constant music (Scottish dance) from public areas was audible in the bedroom. Private party in function room below the bedroom was loud - fortunately that didn't finish too late but then the background music resumed. Not the peaceful early night we had been hoping for on our long distance cycling trip. (and it was mid week)

    Secure storage provided for our bikes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    7.9
    Winnock review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the evening the hotel has a singer start in a large dining room under the bedrooms at 2130 and he is so loud the songs ring through the bedrooms above. When called, front desk staff were surly and said he would finish by 2215 and that I could change room (second night of stay) Only when pushed two times, did they tell him to turn the volume down. Highly recommend this hotel for the food and room quality but front desk staff need to learn how to treat visitors.

    Incredible food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was very nice,staff were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would of been nice as we had children with us that we were told that we could pay to use the leisure facilities in the hotel down the road

    Breakfast was very nice,staff were helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some noise from other guests (our room was above the room a coach tour were fed in) and the room was a bit to warm

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the ptarmigan bar was excellent for both food and drink

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    8.3
    The house itself is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house itself is amazing. It was very Scottish and fully decorated. The staffs were all welcoming and friendly! Dinner was amazingly delicious! Bathroom is new and spacious. Overall very impressed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I always think its a pity when jams are served in little plastic boxes and 'glasses' in rooms are plastic which remain in landfill forever. They are thrown 'away' but there is no such place as 'away'. A notice in the bathroom about helping the environment by not washing towels un-necessarily - why not apply same environmentally rule to minimal use of plastic.

    Large room - very friendly staff - reasonably priced

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    n/a

    The room was very well appointed and had everything required to make our stay excellent. The bar, sitting areas and dining areas are very comfortable, nicely furnished and very clean. The staff all helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    7.1
    Request for early check in accepted good cooperation from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy rooms and corridor with other hotel guests talking loudly at 5am and wheeling suitcases down corridors and stairs

    Request for early check in accepted good cooperation from reception staff.. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was very shabby & the bathroom was in very poor condition and really needs attention.

    Meals in the restaurant in the evening were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    9.6
    Good venue to base a travlling/touring/exploring trip around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave to go home

    The choice of menus and the friendly staff. Even though there were 3 coach loads of tourists the hotel staff found time for us and the food was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: