Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater London hotel reviews
  4. London hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Wombat's CITY Hostel - London

Reviews of Wombat's CITY Hostel - London

7 Dock Street, Tower Hamlets, London, E1 8LL, United Kingdom

#260 of 1,070 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4322 hostel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2019

    6.7
    A mixed experience...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are extremely noisy - I am not very light but still - every movement was extremely loud, same for other - lighter people. Other than the noise affecting all in the room, it does not inspire a lot of confidence.... The second negative maybe bad luck on my part, never had so many very noisy people in the room: very loud conversations, even late long phone calls... In the end was not sad to leave one night early... The immediate area is not very nice...

    Stayed in a few hostels in London these past months and the bathroom facilities in this one are excellent, clean, roomy.. Room itself (8 persons) nice and I like the use of the key card for the locker - one less thing to pack or worry about.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2019

    10
    Best hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. It’s close to two stations (aldgate east and towerhill). Nice neighborhood. Don’t worry about having strangers for roommates. Everyone i met was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2019

    10
    It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was excellent staff and hostel were excellent very good breakfast very good bar in basement 8 minuet walk to Tower of London and hop on hop off buses handy to supermarket bars and restraunts very enjoyable great staff hi Charlie and bar tenders

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    10
    In the past weeks I spent a lot of nights in hostels. This was my best experience. Thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilets next to entrance could be cleaner. A hook for jackets etc. in every toilet (in the suits) could be useful. Minor, subjective flaw: There was this one female comedian the other night, entertaining the downstairs crowd, that was really unfunny. People should be discouraged to be on their phones all day... But well, these are the times.

    The place is so spacious! And clean! Free towels for everyone! Real bedsheets that get changed with every visitor! Free printing of e-tickets! Well stacked kitchen! Clean bathrooms! Big showerheads! Attentive staff!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2019

    10
    Best hostel I've ever stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best hostel I've ever stayed at! Exactly as shown in the photos: Modern, safe, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Walking distance from the City and the tube. Having lockers and a shared bathroom just for the room was great. The pub was nice and crowded!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    10
    Excellent experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet had a bad smell even after it was cleaned. Some bleach might be helpful.

    The staff were excellent and very friendl. They provided great service and and questions in a pleasant manner. The energy and interaction with other guests were positive. Overall I am glad I chose Wombats. My first experience but certainly won’t be my last. I will be back very soon!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    10
    The location was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They mistakenly charged me more. But then they fixed it immediately. Apart from this, nothing to complain about. If I go there again, I will definetly stay there too.

    The location was great. It was clean and very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    7.9
    The location makes this hostel very appealing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a case of bed bugs in our room, and ended up having to wash everything after our first night there. We were given free wash coins and a new room, but it ended up eating up a lot of our time that morning. It caused unnecessary stress as I was afraid I'd bring them back home. There was also a lot of noise early in the morning in both rooms because of construction work, but we couldn't close the windows because of poor ventilation.

    The location makes this hostel very appealing. Its quite central and close to three separate underground lines. Travelling around London was overall easy. Breakfast was very diverse. I did not eat breakfast at the hostel myself, but my friend was very happy with the food selection. The room itself was nice, the beds comfortable and the separate toilet and shower room very practical. The locker system that used your own keycard was easy and safe. The beds aren't numbered, but you are given a bed tag, which means depending on the amount of people already in the room, you can choose whether you'd like to sleep on the upper bed or the lower bed.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    8.3
    Cleanliness, nice decorations, friendly staff and a nice bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are located in the basement underneath the street and cars passing by can be a bit noisy.

    Cleanliness, nice decorations, friendly staff and a nice bar that does not have loud music after 10pm but still gathers many people to hang out.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2019

    8.3
    Dommen rooms ok - Double rooms not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the doble room (212) the interior was lower than my expectations. The food smell fro the main kitchen was too much was coming through all the way to the staircases.

    Security with card access at main doors. Cool interior in the common rooms. The bath room was fine.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    9.6
    Very okay for two nights and worth coming back.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee at breakfast was bad and I couldn't pay with my Dutch bank card (Maestro) nor with my AMEX. Unhandy. The mattresses could be renewed. I slept in a hole.

    Very clean rooms, hospitality at reception, cosiness, I felt safe because the entrance to the women dorms where restricted by using your room key.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2019

    7.9
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was barely available (had to take cold shower two days straight). The pillows and beds could be better. Rooms will feel hot in the summer since there is no air conditioning.

    The staff cleans your room everyday, breakfast is cheap and the guest kitchen is always stocked and clean. Good crowd and friendly staff. Sainsbury’s is close by and so is the tower bridge and the amazing cafes around it!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2019

    8.8
    Great Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hostel is great, everything is easy, the check in/out, the staff. Great location, near Tower Hill Station and Aldergate East. The breakfast is also good for the money The staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2019

    9.6
    Good value in price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I might point out that the room I've been there was two double beds and the rest singles, you should check in early to be lucky to get them for the same price thou.

    The location was great, the bar is very cool, draft beer is cheaper than other bars, chill environment, social hostel, I met cool people there. The room very safe and comfy.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2019

    8.8
    Wombat's hostel has a great location near Tower bridge...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wombat's hostel has a great location near Tower bridge with underground station, cafes and supermarkets in walking distance. The room was clean. Personnel was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2019

    9.6
    Staff were helpful, room was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful, room was awesome. Each bed had it's own plug and light. The bathroom was in the room and the lockers were a good size to store luggage etc. Would definitely stay here again. By far one of the best hostels I've stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2019

    8.8
    It was clean and the female dorm have a private bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 pillow per guest and it was very thin but for a hostel it’s a bit normal

    It was clean and the female dorm have a private bathroom was excellent

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    8.8
    Lovely accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little bit out of the way of where I ended up spending the majority of my time in London.

    Nice and clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Each bed has a personal powerpoint and light which was super handy. Very decent breakfast spread (all you can eat for £4.90). There’s a Sainsbury’s nearby if you want to buy groceries.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2019

    9.2
    good price for an excellent location
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was not as comprehensive as i might have expected in such a large hostel the 'coffin beds' in the more expensive 5 bed dorm were hot , claustrophobic and i got bitten.

    great location close to some of the most useful underground lines super helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2019

    7.9
    Another noisy and overpriced property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just another Overpriced London location. £120 for a private room or £30 for a dorm (In a hostel!!) Senselessly expensive and seems difficult to fathom why one would want to spend more than 1 night here for the cost a 5 star hotel in most other countries. I took a private room but aside from the obvious door separating it, it was located downstairs below the busy dorm rooms above where the typical and often inconsiderate habitual hostel stayers made no secret of their existence by stomping on the timber floors and creating noise until all hours (with no apparent respect for others). For this reason I was left tired and disappointed by my stay.

    It was clean neat and functional. Great downstairs bar area and 5 min stroll to Tower Bridge and 30min walk to Southbank. Almost perfect location. Staff at desk very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2019

    10
    I had an excellent stay. I felt safe and the place was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer outlets near a mirror.

    The bed were clean and comfortable. The bar was very nice and fun. You received a new towel and sheets each day without extra charge.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2019

    6.7
    Was perfect for what I needed and the price was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was flat had to fold it over to use it, bed wasn’t the most comfy but it was what I expected for the price I paid. Girls in my room where up about 6.30/7am so I didn’t get a great sleep!

    The reception area was big and clean and staff were helpful. Handy to have luggage storage room as my flight was in the evening. I didn’t use any of the facilities in the hostel and only used the bedroom. Bed was ok it’s what I expected and bathroom was clean with plenty of space to shower and get dressed.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2019

    7.5
    Staff friendly, valuefor money, bathroom is stylish and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are usually deteriorated and I don’t trust sleeping on them because they seem dirty. Everything else is ok

    Staff friendly, valuefor money, bathroom is stylish and clean

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2019

    9.6
    Wombats Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to room wouldn't lock , however the room and lockers were still very secure.

    Just a few minutes walk away from the London Bridge. Room and shower facilities were very clean. Nice breakfast and bar area downstairs.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2019

    6.7
    24 H service lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow and mattresses are too old, also in my case, I just get a pillow with marks of blood. They should be alert about these kinds of situations.

    24 H service lobby

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2019

    9.6
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was a great experience and we will be coming back and likely visiting the Wombats in other cities as well!

    Beds were very comfy, rooms super clean, very secure, the little bar downstairs is super fun and would be great for solo travellers. Breakfast was decent, expected for an English breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    8.3
    Great hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While everything was very clean. The bathroom in the room smelled to pee.

    Lockers use the same room card which is very comfortable. You don't need to bring a lock. Bathrooms in the room are big and the showers are great. The bar is very nice, and staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2019

    9.2
    Great place! Will recommend to everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    $5 deposit for the key card

    The rooms were super clean and had their own bathrooms The staff was courteous and helped out with suggestions The beds were super clean and the staff provides clean sheets

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2019

    6.7
    Location is good, close to underground and only few stops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms don’t have windows and very stuffy. Only one bathroom/shower per floor.

    Location is good, close to underground and only few stops away from city center

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2019

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many younger people live this hostel and they spoke loudly at corridor in the midnight. I was in a hurry at that moment the reception was full of people to wait for check-in and check-out, I had been waiting for a long time to finish all things.it takes over 40 minutes to checkout. The staffs have to deal with the matter swiftly.

    Clean room and bathroom. Location was a little bit far from the underground but there was supermarket near the hostel. Kitchen and public spaces were spacious.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2019

    7.9
    Very solid hostel 5 minutes away from Tower of London or a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very solid hostel 5 minutes away from Tower of London or a tube station. Everything was clean and the room actually pretty quiet. Decent value for money. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2019

    10
    The staff is very friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly . The location is great its 8 min away from the underground station. The rooms are very space full and clean , the lockers are big . I love this place!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2019

    9.6
    amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there.s no water spry in the bath room

    ilike the way how its designed , spicily its mix room that create more friendly and sociable environment . they have nice bar in basement

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2019

    6.7
    Great shared kitchen, breakfast, common areas, spacious room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled, have to make your own bed and return sheets to reception (tacky!), mattress cover had a hole, pillow dirty, welcomed to unmade bed, no coffee available

    Great shared kitchen, breakfast, common areas, spacious room, great staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2019

    7.5
    ok for budget travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed´s mattress. maybe Wombats will spend some money on buying new ones - i am sure it will re-invest :)

    bed mattress are veryyyyyyyyyy old :D nevertheless we slept very very well. rooms are equipped with separat toilet and separat bathroom - very good. there are also lockers in the room, also very good. i am not sure if the room got cleaned every day because it was not too clean, but neverthetless it was worth the money and i´d recommend this hostel for Budget travellers in London.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2019

    10
    Wonderful Wombat's
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it's a big change to share a room with people..when sleeping

    . The location is excellent the security is very good the facilities are extremely good the people were friendly and kind

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2019

    8.8
    As a family of 5, we booked the whole of a 6 bed mixed dorm,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism I have is that one of our sheets had a few unpleasant stains on it...oh and initially when we arrived the lift was broken so we had to carry our luggage up four flights of stairs and I’m unfit haha! This actually got resolved straight after which was great work.

    As a family of 5, we booked the whole of a 6 bed mixed dorm, it was spacious and the bathroom was lovely and modern. The staff were extremely helpful and check in was easy peasy. We wanted to be close to Tower Bridge/St. Katherine’s Dock and this was only a 10 minute walk. Breakfast was so cheap at £4 odd, yes it was basic but it did the job! I had a Cheese and Ham toastie a fresh OJ and a hot chocolate but there were a few more options to chose from! The bar area is fantastic, it has a quirky vibe with it being underground in the basement - we had pre drinks here before heading out and the music was fab. It was also a nice touch that you receive a free drinks voucher! Overall I think it is fantastic value for money and would recommend!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2019

    10
    Brilliant would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were students being really loud upstairs that everyone could hear but that wasn’t anyone’s fault but there’s

    The staff were really friendly and the whole system was easy and stress free

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2019

    8.8
    Excellent location, nearby to many tourist places and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a neighbor snorer, but it's not the staff's fault ;)

    Excellent location, nearby to many tourist places and several tube station. Easy to move through London. Also the pub have a very good atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2019

    3.3
    Not again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So many bad news. First the shower did not work. If I couldn't use shower, I'd rather changed accommodation. However, they said no whole/partial refunding is available. The worst was the shower was out for 3days, If I tried it's only cold water. Second, the kitchen at the bar was insanely dirty. Many small fruits bugs. Made me feel nothing I should eat from here. Finally, the place is not really a good location. I'd recommend else with cheaper, cozier, and friendlier hostel around queens bay.

    hmmmmmm I don't know. Oh maybe they could let us use the electric plague for PC with ID as deposit.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2019

    8.3
    Fabulous Stay! Highly recommended. This place is so lively and at a great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location,Wonderful and helpful folks at reception along with clean rooms and comfy beds!The bar is also very lively and it was a really nice experience to stay at Wombat's London!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2019

    5.4
    no recommend to someone who need quiet place
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is close to tube railway, and tube runs from around 6am in the early morning, when the tube pass, you can feel the whole building is a little bit shaking every 5 mins. I slept at 6 floor and 6 bed female room is just near main street, and probably it's because the window is not double glass, so I can easily hear so much noisy in the night, like passing car, shouting people.

    location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2019

    8.8
    Easy last-minute booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy last-minute booking. Great location, helpful staff, sleek amenities. Was a pleasure to stay at The Wombat whilst exploring Shoreditch and surrounding London.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2019

    8.8
    Enjoyable visit, would stay again if I had to travel to London for another short break.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only real complaint is that the beds in my dorm were incredibly squeaky, which kept me awake somewhat.

    The room was warm, the place felt very secure, and it had all the basic facilities I needed.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2019

    6.3
    Good heating, clean bathrooms, spacious rooms, good lockers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure if it's London, but the staff members are very curt. I've traveled to so many hostels and it is simply rude to be, well, rude to your customers. Food and drinks at the WomBar are as expensive as outside.

    Good heating, clean bathrooms, spacious rooms, good lockers.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2019

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't read my email properly. Code for WiFi not easily available

    Incredibly comfy. Like a hotel for the quality of facilities. Shelf and a light and a charging point by your bed. Amazing atmosphere for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2019

    4.6
    Breakfast was fabulous value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was not puffy enough. Location was a tad far from Tower Hill Station.

    There was free welcome drink and free pasta for dinner, but I had plans already. Buffet breakfast was v good with wide variety. Bathroom was clean and v spacious compared to many hostels! Luggage storage was also free for early check-out.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2019

    8.3
    Great hostel, great bar, private room is huge, warm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit overpriced. I wish they had single private options. Location is not the best, but also not bad.

    Great hostel, great bar, private room is huge, warm and clean. I'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2019

    7.1
    Standard hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that easy to meet people here unless you are part of a hoho training group or like to get drunk. I think probably because the place is so big. Also no forks? Lots of spoons and knives but around 3 forks total Need to make your own bed, I know for a few hostels this is standard but I've stayed in much cheaper places that do not require it. Mostly I do not like it when hostels say you need to make your own bed, not because I cannot be bothered, but because I know lots of people don't make their beds and sleep on an uncovered pillow and doona and I think it's kinda gross.

    Good kitchen. Common spaces are nice enough. Shower was good. Lockers for your stuff. Powerpoints and shelves near beds. Bedside lights ACTUALLY work. Location is fine, in zone 1 but near an overground train that might be a bit noisy for some people. You can get your first drink for free

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2019

    9.2
    The facilities are great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were killing my neck! They were flat & uncomfortable, I had to fold mine in 2 to sleep well, I think it's time to change those. The floor in my room wasn't clean. The bathroom & toilet were always cleaned, and the waste in the room disposed, so I wondered why the cleaners wouldn't just sweep the floor as well.

    The facilities are great. I like the use of the keycards, it made me feel a bit safe. The kitchen was also really nice- basic necessities were all there. There's a Sainsbury's local about 5 mins walk from the hostel, so that was good too. The staff is nice and helpful as well. The bathroom & toilet were always clean. And most importantly, I really loved the shower in my room (stayed in a room for 6)! The pressure, the right mix of hot & cold, lol... I mean, knowing you'll have a nice shower is always a plus.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2019

    10
    Weekend to party in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cold but I still really love this place.

    Staff are so helpful and friendly, breakfast is absolutely fab , hostel has a good atmosphere, rooms are very spacious compared to other hostels I've stayed in in London. I like how they have separate ensuite shower room and separate toilet. Great kitchen and bar too.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2019

    8.8
    Worth and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People are walking in the room at night and making noise when closing the door. Can’t use hair dryer in the bathroom - need to go to the lobby to dry my hair so won’t disturb others. Feel not safe when walking late at night in that area.

    The stuff are very friendly and rooms are clean- it’s actaully very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2019

    7.1
    mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds were absolutly layed through, i had to turn the matress to sleep at all decently. the sleeping room for 6 people was very crowded, i didnt even always find room to put my big backbag nicely. I guess its okay if you share the room with friends and plan on partying and just need a place to lay down. for a good nights rest after an active day not so much.

    i definitly enjoyed the breakfast, which was really worth the money. Also the shower was surprisingly comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2019

    7.5
    Okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was cold. I think the tap was broken but they should fix that. Staff was rude on departure, they could have her more polite and accommodating

    Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2019

    8.3
    Neat hostel offering a variety of services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Welcome drink is only a tiny 0,1 L glass, at that point do not bother with welcome drink and give something like voucher for 1 beer half price. It would be amazing to have some spa or pool area.

    Neat hostel offering a variety of services. Helpful staff. Nice bar and kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    9.6
    Modern and spacious rooms, with 6 girls in one room it can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern and spacious rooms, with 6 girls in one room it can get kind of busy in the morning but due to the extra washbasin outside of the bathroom it was no problem, big lockers, nice staff, good spacious common kitchen, breakfast for extra 5£ totally worth it! Thanks for the stay!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    7.9
    Not bad for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was clean - room and bath, but it was some bad smell in toilet. It was also bad soundproofing of windows, you hear everything what happens outside as if all the windows in room are opened. In general it is a good variant for staying 1-2 nights for its price.

    Good location, hostel is situated not far from the Tower bridge and Underground station. Very good staff)

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2019

    7.9
    I stayed there in a 6 female bedroom and it had its own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed there in a 6 female bedroom and it had its own toilet which was pretty nice. The distance between the beds was great and the the facilities in the room were pretty nice eg personal plug, lamp and a near place to put your stuff. Closets had their own lockers. Sheets were clean. Had a very big party floor but like really big. I liked the location, very close to tower hill underground station.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2019

    2.5
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed from friday night till monday morning and could only shower on friday night. No water the entire weekend. No shower. There was ice cold (,as cold as the Thames during wintertime,) water at the tap. They hung up a new paper next to the elevator each day to apolagise for the inconvenience, but nothing more. No compensation whatsoever, not even one free drink. Unbelievable.. I had to wash my girlfriend’s hair with a plastic bottle of ice cold tap water... Worst hostel experience in my life. Other negatives: not possible to have an extra pillow (gave my own to my girlfriend and slept on a pullover for 3 nights), the noise of the railway 50 meters away from our room (also at night), the safe didn’t open anymore at some point (the reception staff had to help us) and stains on multiple places in our room (411, double room). The checkout could have been more friendly. We just had to give our card and leave. They didn’t even ask how the stay was or thank us for our being there. But I guess that depends on the staff member. Some of them were kind though. Overall a very bad experience. We felt like two soldiers during our stay...

    Cool bar, drinks a bit expensive but a good vibe. Pingpong, biljard, nicely decorated. Aldgate and Tower Hill tube at 5-10 minutes. Travel adaptors available at the reception.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2019

    2.5
    The worst hostel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hostel ever. For 3 nights me and my friends didn’t have hot water for shower. We ask for refund and they refuse. Dont stay at this hostel. They lied to us the first night that they will fix it but they didn’t. The second night the told us the same but they didn’t and i called Booking.com to complain about the whole situation. The manager of the hostel didn’t answer the phone to find us a solution. They gave us a free breakfast the fisrt day just to stop complain. Their service was completely inappropriate. 3 days without hot water for shower. We have asked for a refund but they said no and we have paid 560£, they service is for garbage.

    The worst hostel ever. For 3 nights me and my friends didn’t have hot water for shower. We ask for refund and they refuse. Dont stay at this hostel. They lied to us the first night that they will fix it but they didn’t. The second night the told us the same but they didn’t and i called Booking.com to complain about the whole situation. The manager of the hostel didn’t answer the phone to find us a solution. They gave us a free breakfast the fisrt day just to stop complain. Their service was completely inappropriate.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2019

    8.8
    The hot water was down for 24 hours on our first stay which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was down for 24 hours on our first stay which was inconvenient and although it was out of the control of the staff, a gesture of apology (free hot drink e.g) for the inconvenience would’ve been appreciated

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2019

    10
    Great City Hostel with Boutique Style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You could hear the trains a bit in the morning. It was not bad but I am a very light sleeper.

    Great location for us as we wanted to explore East London. It was easy to walk almost anywhere from the hostel. I shared a private twin room with my son. The room was large and comfy and the bathroom was perfect. Ther bar and kitchen area are very nice.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2019

    9.2
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only issues I had was the fact that the wifi was not working for the last 3 days of my stay. There wasn't much communication around this either. I could not get any work done due to this issue. I also do not like the fact that there is no UK plug socket at the mirror close to the bathroom. I mean, it was not ideal doing my hair on my bed with no mirror nearby .

    The location was excellent. I've stayed at Wombat's before, so I had no issues getting around. I did not have the breakfast, but the vibe in the Bar/Kitchen area was good. Thank you for the free drink on arrival.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2019

    7.1
    It not would be my first recommendation to a friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not working during the whole stay. They didn't let me checked in before 14pm, however at 10.05am they were knocking the door to hurry me to leave the room. The environment is a little bit noisy

    Very clean room

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2019

    9.2
    Clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big deal but only one pillow per person. No spares in the wardrobe and only one towel per person, not big enough for showering more like a hand towel.

    Clean and tidy. Great location. Felt secure.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2019

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception took my driving license and never told me that they are keeping it and on the same day I had to show it as my proof of id. And no one informed me that breakfast is included

    Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2019

    8.8
    - lockers and cards to enter halls, rooms, bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - windows are really poor ( thin and not efficient sound and heat isolation)

    - lockers and cards to enter halls, rooms, bar - clean and maintained - free towel and option to rent adapter, hairdryer ( no fee, just deposit) - bar - whole concept of this hostel

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2019

    7.1
    I liked that the room was clean and big with a private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows were not properly closed and it was impossible to close them. That's why, cold was coming into the room and the heating wasn't working. We tried to turn it on but it didn't work. Moreover, the room was too loud in the morning because of the windows.

    I liked that the room was clean and big with a private bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2019

    8.8
    The staff was friendly and helpful, the location is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The experience was quite good, just a few nitpicks: my pillow had a sweat stain and the beds were a bit squeaky which made it hard to get up without disturbing other guests

    The staff was friendly and helpful, the location is really great especially for the price and the rooms are modern and nice and come with all the amenities you'd expect.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2019

    9.6
    Perfect London stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very very clean, safe neighbourhood, helpful staff, nice social areas I know it seems a bit pricey but honestly I’m so glad I went with this one instead of the cheaper ones elsewhere in the city. You definitely get what you pay for and I would totally stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2019

    10
    The room is very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very clean and comfortable. There is a bar there so I can have some drink with my new friends. I had a very good living experience there. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2019

    7.1
    Not a good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was old and looked dirty. The bed cover was old as well. And the location was not great and too far from everything in comparison to other hostels that are near piccadilly.

    Great service. It has a large kitchen and the bathroom in the female dorm was very clean and large.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2019

    10
    The bar, the ambience the staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact that a female guest woke me up at 2am to stop snoring. I told this to the customer services and all they could do is offer me a new room

    The bar, the ambience the staff

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    7.9
    Great value for a stay close to city centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows leaked water into the room. Location was kind of central but a bus/underground stop near to the hostel would've been a big plus

    A clean and rather spacious hostel that feels really safe. Good atmosphere!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    10
    Super helpful staff, really clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really struggling to think of something!!

    Super helpful staff, really clean and modern. Room are spacious for London compared to other hostels I've stayed in.

    Stayed in February 2019

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Wombat's CITY Hostel - London traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: