Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Woodcote Hotel 3 stars

Hooton Road, Hooton, CH661QU, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Hooton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 436 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were upgraded when we arrived and had a lovely spacious suite with a huge bathroom with separate bath and walk-in shower. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the menu was good and food cooked and presented really well. Breakfast was also good with a choice of cereals, yoghurts and a selection of cooked options. Very close to Chester - we were visiting toe zoo so great location and nice and quiet. Also plenty of parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small ill designed and very basic room. Wife completed her makeup and hair sitting on the floor near the door because it was the only suitable mirror. Shower had dire performance and a hairdryer supplied only after approaching reception. Bar was unavailable due to private function. S

    Off road parking, staff very helpful and friendly. Restaurant had been refurbished and was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    13.5 duvet in hot weather! Bar facilities very basic, some easy chairs, or at least normal height seating would have been more comfortable than bar stools for those of us not young and agile.

    The restaurant was appropriate to the hotel and the staff were very helpful. On the whole we enjoyed eating there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like about the hotel. All very good value for money. One happy customer.

    Excellent stay for me and my partner. Very helpful and very comfy beds. Will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would have liked in the room was a full length mirror.

    The staff were really friendly & helpful and room was very cute and clean. The breakfast was also lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy. The upstairs part of the cottage you could hear people walking around. And also when they ran water the pipes squealed loudly waking us up.

    Good value and staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was building work going on at the property when we arrived which we didn’t know about. The foyer was covered in sawdust and building work carried on until late on the Friday night with lots of hammering. The bar closed very early on Friday and there didn’t seem to be any amenities. We felt like we’d been forgotten about. There was a 40th birthday party on the Saturday night with a live band. The noise was unbelievable, as the party was taking place under our room and didn’t finish until the early hours!!!

    The staff were friendly and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan in the room would have made it even more comfortable but I opened the windows and it was fine

    The really friendly helpful staff. The hotel was having improvements made so hard to comment on all facilities but that didn’t bother me

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water stain on the ceiling and the bath panel was filthy. The floor wasn’t swept from previous people staying as there was grass and mud on the carpet.

    Location and comfort of bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was specified on the booking.com reservation page as £63 including vat etc for a single occupancy. When the reservation was confirmed online the amount charged was £76 with vat added separately. I queried this at the hotel and they said that £76 was the normal price and that booking.com must have made a mistake .

    The room was spacious and comfortable, the optional breakfast excellent and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park entrance/exit a bit tricky, could do with a re-think. Although lots of spaces in car park, no disabled spaces. Limited options on menu for lunch and dinner.

    The quietest hotel room we have stayed in, we were on the top floor. The staff were attentive and helpful. The quality of the food was very good and served promptly. The room was warm and comfortable. Lots of car parking. Just off the motorway. Good value for money. Being done up at present but should only be better when finished. Afternoon teas available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is lovely, but there is an odd smell - like the inside of a hamster cage. My room was spacious, nicely decorated and had everything I needed - but that smell! Really off-putting.

    Great to be in one of the cottages where I could let myself in late. Room was really nicely decorated and spacious, loved the complementary shampoo and shower gel dispensers and well-stocked tea and coffee station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had a blind that didn't cover the entire window and it let in a lot of light during the night.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly ! Great that they have the restaurant right downstairs, the room was beautiful and very clean, loved the feel of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The superior room was fabulous with a really comfy bed. Great wifi in the room too - I got loads of work done!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds in both rooms we booked were of poor quality and so uncomfortable. Noise from people walking about in the room above Insecure door to annex Broken towel rail Small TV in room 10 Arriving to find the bar closed

    The staff were lovely and did sort of address the lack of heating in our bathroom. The food was really tasty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being woken up probably around 10+ times throughout the whole night. The creaking of surrounding rooms was ridiculous. We paid £70 for the room for me and my partner which was fine, but for that price I would of liked a decent sleep.

    The room was lovely, very modern and the bed was really comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Reception and restaurant closed from 5pm on Sunday, so a bit inconvenient when you need extra amenities such as milk and toilet paper etc. Both on the Saturday and Sunday night as paying guests we were unable to use the bar facilities as there were functions on both nights so we had to sit in reception area and ask receptionist for a drink. We were a bit Stuck as we had our two year old son with us and was hoping to sit in the hotel bar on the Saturday night but as there was a function on we ended up going back to our room at 8pm. Had high expections and was a little Disappointed😞

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival, my room in an annexe was FREEZING - during the coldest week of the winter to date. The receptionist who escorted me to the room went to " override" the heating at once and did return with an electric heater. By then I had found an electric heater UNDER a desk with a chair in front of it - VERY DANGEROUS. I am disabled so could not crawl under the desk to unplug the heater which I could see had green electrical tape around the wires nearest the socket. The heated towel-rail in the bathroom did NOT work at all. The floor in the room was very uneven which the carpet did not fully mask. There was the beginning of black mould in the bathroom around the base of the shower and in the silicone of the fittings. There was NO sound-proofing between my room and the one above and there was so much noise on my 2nd night that I walked out of the hotel the next morning, having complained to the on-duty receptionist. She apologised and said that a manager would phone me - I am still waiting for that call. I asked for a refund of my cancelled 3rd night at least. I had a very long drive home and have been ill since.

    It is a handy location. You get better and cheaper food at the nearby garden centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid what I considered a high price to stay in a chalet. Had to pay extra for a breakfast which was average at best. We were charged £30 for use of the restaurant, we hadnt been in except to eat the breakfast we had already paid for! After we challenged this it was removed. The excuse given by staff was it must have been charged to the wrong room.There was only one set of towels although there were 2 of us in the room. We had to go outside to the main hotel to request some more which turned up about an hour later.If there had been any information in the information book we could have phoned across saving us the freezing temperatures.

    It was nice and warm,which was appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charge of 1pound 55 p for a small cup of tea and having to ask a certain waitress for a tea bag to make it taste like tea ,the same waitress was asked twice ,her attitude left much to be desired 4 cups of weak tea 6pound's 20p with attitude.

    the young lady on the front desk when we arrived was an absolute gem ,Nothing was to much trouble just wonderfull service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little tired looking on the outside. The bedroom decor was tired looking and needed updating.

    It was perfectly situated for our needs.The room was clean .The function /dining area was spacious with good cloakroom facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No front door security on the annex building where my room was located Room was cold at night and early morning heating went off too soon and came on too late.

    Coffee and tea in room and internet breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better , not good standard or value. Bit expensive , and they let then selves down with the breakfast, spoilt our stay. Did not have evening meal as we had a damily event to attend.

    Room ĺarge , plenty space , couch, chairs in room. Clean , good location near motorway, Good price, and comfortable bed. Clean linen. No 9robs with room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were quite flat. One of the rooms had a number of lightbulbs not working which made the room quite dark to read in. The room walls were very thin and the guests in the room next to us very loud which became a bit of an issue later in the night.

    Restaurant was very good with friendly staff. The food quality was excellent. The room was very big with a nice shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls - lots of noise from neighbouring rooms early morning. This seemed to be about the soundproofing as opposed to other guests being inconsiderate.

    Really good value hotel. The staff went out of their way for us with the manager taking us to our event after our taxi didn't show. The restaurant was lovely and the chef made us something that was no longer on the menu after a menu change - we'd seen it online and been disappointed it wasn't there any longer. The food was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was behind the hotel, very comfortable and private. Possibly a bit unpleasant and difficult to get to the hotel for meals etc in really bad weather.

    The whole visit was very comfortable. Lovely evening meal and breakfast. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful Seemed a very nice area and we hope to return to explore more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Atomsphere in the restaurant was a little cold, not very welcoming. there was a foisty smell throughout the main building.

    Both meals we had were a good standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    room missing a light bulb, no chair for desk, bathroom radiator not working

    Restaurant staff very accommodating for a late arrival at closing time. Good freshly cooked meal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside area poor grounds need upgrading and rooms were outside .very noisy when someone upstairs when in our room.

    Friendliness of staff very clean lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have checked when booking where the room would be as it was up 2 flights of stairs. This was difficult as I have arthritis and breathing difficulties.

    The room was excellent, very comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    Woodcote provided an excellent accommodation experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bedroom was simply luxurious. Breakfast provided various options and was of a high standard. I would not hesitate in recommending this facility.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were in a ground floor room and constantly disturbed by people upstairs. First night fire alarm went off at 1.00am. Last night it went off at 6.00am. Staff tried to blame water spillage but eventually revealed it was someone smoking upstairs. Had to request to have bed linen changed as apparently this is only done every four days. Pillows were changed round instead of being changed. Also outside the door was some very uneven paving which could be dangerous. After some negotiation did manage to get a partial refund.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All staff excellent The young lady that checked me in,serviced food,and gave 5 star treatment needs a special mention.Would recommend USB sockets to be installed in the rooms .Cost very little

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was there was a foisty/damp smell in our room (19). Not sure what caused this as the room was spotlessly clean.

    Amazing bed and shower. Lovely breakfast and friendly staff. Beautiful restaurant area and breakfast. Will definitely return,fab hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toiletries in the bathroom. Just liquid soap bottle attached to shower cubicle and sink. Nothing for the bath.

    Large room, comfortable bed, good breakfast. Great bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel billed and took payment on arrival, then took payment again on checkout and only rectified this when we called them to ask why they had taken £206 and £240 and not done the usual 'card swipe' With two people in the room the lack of tea coffe and theOne biscuit each morning (One biscuit not one packet) was scrimping to the enth degree

    The room was in an 'annexe' seperate building across a very uneven car park. With the outside light not working and no way to lock the door to the outside so anyone can walk in, the bed was incredibly uncomfortable seemed to have been made up of various bits of beds and the mattress was in a plastic bag meaning it was incredible hot. No shelf in the bathroom meant we had nowhere to put a toothbrush, and the whole floor was so slopped the wardrobe and table were at an agle

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyed whole experience so no negatives

    Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, room was perfect with comfy bed and was spotlessly clean.Breakfast was very nice with a good choice on menu. Restaurant menu also looked very good though we only had sandwich's but also very nice. Close to train station so easy to get to Chester and Liverpool quite cheap to travel too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 11 although clean was dated and had been touched up,exposed pipework and strange smell present.It was our anniversary and having read previous reviews thought I had booked a nice country style hotel,wanting it to be special and this certainly wasn't the case.Room 11 lies in a strange little building behind the main hotel,which contains four rooms.The front door at the entrance to the building needs attention and the small passageway on entering leaves a lot to be desired,cheap damaged flooring,chipped and dirty paintwork and a strange little cupboard for access to the facilitie s,that combined with a horrible musky smell.Certainly not pleasant.Staff tried to accommodate us in changing rooms but nothing available as fully booked.Very pleasant young girl on checking out,did instruct us that room 11 was probably the weakest room in the hotel,and understood why this wouldn't be suitable for a special occasion and that she too would have been disappointed having been placed in that room.

    The staff were polite and understanding when dealing with my concerns.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities. Room difficult to access. Poor value for money.

    Nothing poor service and we have been given a free stay next time but we won't use it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After having shower there was not enough hot water for my husband to take his shower. Maybe the plumbing could be improved

    The rooms were really clean and comfortable. The staff very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The colour of the counterpane (but that's just me!) We thought it odd there were two lovely bedside lamps but only one could be plugged in! The bathroom sink taps gave only a very weak flow. Stairs up to second floor very steep (we're pretty active, but the room wouldn't have been suitable for anyone infirm).

    Comfortable bed, very quiet location. Excellent porridge, freshly made for us

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super helpful and efficient staff. Pleasant, simple, clean and comfortable rooms in a garden setting. Decent restaurant Good location(close to road network and trains and buses for Liverpool and Chester) with plenty of safe parking. Good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was impracticle, small with massive shower head, couldnt wash hair without hitting elbows on walls/doors. Couldnt not have head/face under the water. Also no flannels supplied and the wifi codes didnt work.

    Staff were brilliant, extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food served Sunday evening but a decent pub/restaurant just up the road.

    Lovely helpful staff nothing too much trouble and very clean and attractive 'cottage room. Breakfast good too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures are deceiving, it smelt of fish, the beds were uncomfortable and you had to walk all the way round to get to the back. Charged full price for child's breakfast which I'm glad we did not have in the end, better and cheaper breakfast at witherspoons instead.

    They refunded money when decided not to have breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom walls seemed very thin and we did encounter some rather noisy guests.

    Staff were very friendly and attentive. Food, both evening and breakfast, was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked this on behalf of family members who said that they had a lovely stay. Very comfortable and nice food and staff. Will now always use here when we have parties and need rooms for guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite very pink. Not really a negative, just wasn't expecting it :D

    Bed was comfy, and staff were excellent. Also had an evening meal which was very nice; a little expensive but enjoyed none the less.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Good choice for breakfast. There is a nice garden at the rear of the hotel. Hooton railway station is about 1/2 mile away, and we caught a train into Chester. The trains run every 15 minutes, going to both Chester and Liverpoool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the other guest over the hall from me was up all night banging on the doors running up and down the stairs and shouting at 4 in the morning. The next night was fine as that guest had checked out.

    The staff were friendly. The rooms were big and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the mattresses was uncomfortable - you could feel the springs when lying down.

    Really friendly welcome, very clean & comfortable. Didn't eat there so can't comment on that but restaurant looked nice. Good location. Great start to our family break!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable. We did not get a great sleep and as hotel was so quiet there were hardly ever any staff about or bar open.

    Staff friendly and hotel very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to eat early because they had a party on. Also continental breakfast was £5.00 for cereal and toast. We were given one biscuit in our room and two tea bags and one set of towels. For two people!

    The meal was good so was the full breakfast for which we payed £8.50. The room was modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely stay, the staff were very friendly and helpful, it is a small and cosy hotel with a great restaurant. There was a great choice on the menu and we thoroughly enjoyed our food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately I had a noisy/squeaky shower. It seemed that previous visitors had taken the hangers from the wardrobe

    Comfortable bed and clean rooms. Bath sheet rather than just a bath towel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to not like

    Conveniently located for the Wirral dismantled railway tracks. Hooton station for the Wirral Way to West Kirby is only 0.6 miles away. For the Greenway from Hawarden bridge station to Mickle Trafford park on the Parade at Blacon. There is a superb café there. Blacon is only 9 miles from the hotel. From the Parade to the railway is only a few hundred yard. park at Blacon for the Shropshire Union Canal to the National Waterways Museum at Ellesmere Port. I thoroughly enjoyed cycling these routes over 4 days. Just before Hooton station there is a super pub/restaurant, the Hooton, great food and excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight smell in rooms a little off putting No one there to see us in there was a notice on the door with a phone number to call to be let in

    Very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to fault for the price we paid excellent value

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, cooked freshly to order and piping hot

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't access the wifi.

    The beds were perfect and the staff were amazing and friendly. I'd recommend this hotel to friends and family, and would stay there again myself. 10/10!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought guy on reception was very professional and helpful - I arrived early but he was extremely welcoming and served me a drink at bar whilst room was cleaned

    Close to hooton station so had choice of travel to Liverpool or Chester

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has a lovely warm feeling the moment you enter . The staff have excellent people and communication skills . It was spotlessly clean and the gardens are beautiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening menu not much of a choice

    Comfortable room, lovely big bathroom, fantastic rain shower , and nice and quiet 5 minutes from motorway. Breakfast was good. Not much of a selection on evening menu. We ate at local pub 5 minute walk away food was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy when guests in upper room moved around. Breakfast can be significantly improved - Not that many options.

    Clean property and professional staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were slightly too small and not enough chairs. A little too basic.

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff were very polite and extremely helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were pleased with the welcoming room but we quickly realised that the room was incredibly noisy. There was a constant stream of people walking up and down the stairs above our room and this continued through the night when we were woken several times. There appears to be no sound proofing at all- we could even hear someone blowing their nose in another room! Every time a tap or shower was turned on or a toilet flushed, the noise was loud and prevented any kind of rest. A minor annoyance was the one large fixed shower head with no removable option and no shower cap so no option but to wet hair. Breakfast was disappointing too- a large coffee machine on display yet only filter coffee and cold milk available. A very small buffet and a mediocre cooked breakfast with cold toast convinced us that we should have driven into nearby liverpool to one of their coffee shops ir bakehouses for breakfast. Really disappointing

    The hotel was clean and pretty. We had a room in the out building near a small garden. The room was warm and large with ample storage space and a comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Easy parking and close to Liverpool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, clean and comfortable accommodation and professional service. Staff warned us about potential noise level because function on and our room was above. Not a problem because we were elsewhere that night, but appreciated the courtesy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our first time there but everything was wonderful. Extremely helpful ,friendly and kind people, made us really feel like home in all aspects. So clean and tide up. Thank you for everything!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit of a worry knowing that the room/hotel key could be disabled if it was close to a mobile phone.

    The food was very good and the evening meal exceptional. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special to do around. A car is welcome.

    Lovely room. Great breakfast. Friendly family business. Large parking. Calm. Station to Liverpool at 12 mins walk. Very good hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all good!

    Our third stay - each time in a different room - at this time of year, and the very high standards are maintained. Both accommodation and breakfast are excellent, sadly we did not get to dine here this time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was VERY hot and could not find how to turn the radiator off.

    Lovely room, bed very comfortable. Staff very friendly and made me feel very welcome

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Happy place to stay and visit first class staff which is the most important thing to me, Only downside small shower with an uncontrollable huge head, no bath

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly however one (possibly owner?), appeared harassed and slightly abrupt. Young man on reception and waitress in dining room were very welcoming.

    Rooms spotless, facilities in rooms very good. Breakfast excellent!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being disturbed by drunken men staying at the Hotel and then they were trying to get into our room three times. This went on for an hour. Nobody available at the Hotel to deal with this problem. No compensation offered for a disrupted night.

    Nice quaint hotel, location good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location the man who checked us in was very nice. The rooms were very spacious and the bed was so comfy I did not want to get up. I would recommend anyone to stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: