Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Woodlands 5 stars

New Road, Windermere, LA23 2EE, United Kingdom

#61 of 75 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 995 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice.... From the second day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first day, the shower took a little while to operate (pretty hard to turn on). Also the wifi signal was pretty bad in my room until they replaced it with another one on the second day.

    The breakfast was great and we were served by very sweet and courteous waitresses and waiter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircon in the room and too small for extra chair and lay out where TV was positioned. Bar was not too good.

    Breakfast and friendly staff. Location good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Fab boutique B&B in great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like in all honesty! Hard to find fault.

    Friendly staff. Left us to enjoy ourselves but there if needed. Spotlessly clean. Great breakfast. Located 10 mins walk from Windermere town and 15 mins walk to lovely Bowness. Room not huge but had decent ensuite .. great for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Enjoyed our stay however would not rebook for future visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy. Disturbed by creeping floors from the room above and could hear other guests voices. Would have welcomed fresh fruit such as strawberries, raspberries, blueberries at this time of year with breakfast rather than tinned grapefruit, peaches & prunes.

    The location was central. The room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Cooked breakfast offered a good selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    excellent location everybody was very friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like the hotel and the place is beautiful.

    Check in was smooth and informative. The room was very comfortable and bathroom was compact and very clean. The breakfast was gorgeous and a great way to end our stay. Not many pubs in Windermere village so we took the short walk left down to Bowness where there was much more going on. Very lively place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    The curtains are block out:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains are block out:) We were upgraded as there was space, and it was hot, so were provided with a bath :) They put a fan in the room... OUTSTANDING!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    The Woodlands was situated in a great location-10min walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Woodlands was situated in a great location-10min walk from Windermere and 20min walk from Bowness. The room was clean and had all the facilities needed. The fan in the room was an added bonus in this hot weather! The staff were attentitive, polite and welcoming. There was a varied choice at breakfast and again the staff couldn’t do enough to help. We had a lovely stay-thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to do with the hotel, but the weather was unseasonably hot and despite the fan provided, our room in the eaves was very hot. No lift and a lot of stairs ... totally in character with the building, but something I have a tendency to forget about when planning a trip ...

    Woodlands went out of their way to rearrange rooms to make sure that my mother-in-law, traveling with us, had a ground-floor room. Great breakfast, lovely rooms. A really warm welcome and easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Really enjoyed the area, will return. Not sure it will be at Woodlandsq
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the property is generally clean it is not a 5 star hotel. We were not asked if there were any problems with the room, there were minor problems we would like to have bought to their attention.

    Location good, room size good, nice dinning area for breakfast. Breakfast choice and food good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located under the dining room so there was a bit of noise in the mornings but it didnt concern us as we are early risers!

    Super friendly staff, great location, we stayed here for a few nights after our wedding, booked one of the king suites, room was huge with a lovely little terrace. Breakfast was one of the best I’ve had so far!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay there again as it met all of our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was very small and no extractor fan so was steamy, but had the best mirror ever for putting an makeup

    Perfect location and really helpful staff. Good breakfast and lovely wee bar for quiet drink in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Good Hotel. More 4 star than 5. Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small and dated. Had water marks on the wallpaper and the bathroom door banged during the night with the wind. Bed was creaky too.

    Location was nice. Breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely, really charming and unique and I honestly couldn’t have stayed anywhere nicer. The breakfast is out of this world and the staff really can’t do enough for you. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful boutique room with amazing comfy bed and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment is that if someone forgets their key and rings the bell to get in the buzz from the noise is very loud in certain rooms so didn't sleep much at all :(

    Hosts and staff were so friendly and welcoming. Beautiful room. Gorgeous breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A little gem of a spot in beautiful Windermere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, very friendly staff! I really appreciated the room upgrade and had the opportunity to meet Taryn and exchange tales of 'home' - we're both South African! Breakfast was delicious. Will definitely return when I'm next in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay at a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Got an upgrade to an exec double room with giant bed and large bathroom. Staff were helpful and polite, offering a high level of customer service. Excellent full English breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, freindly staff, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room very hot (although fan provided); walls very thin

    excellent location; parking; friendly staff; little extras e.g. biscuits, bottle of water; good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location great staff and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been nice to have croissants at breakfast and maybe some cold meats and cheese.

    Laura at breakfast and on reception was lovely and very helpful. Liked that breakfast was cooked to order but cereals fruit yoghurt and fruit juice help yourself. Room 16 was spacious but bathroom compact with shower only. Ten minute walk into Windermere slightly uphill but really good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar closed early. No Lunch or Evening Meals available at this property

    The place was very clean, comfortable beds, with fans available as it did get hot at nights. All Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, loverly location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was anything to nit pick at, you could hear conversations from next room, some guests were quieter than others during our stay. Not sure it’s the same in all rooms maybe it was just our room .

    Room was lovely and clean great location staff where great nothing to much trouble breakfast great , made all the more special by the lovely Laura, wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very hot. One of the two windows did not open (but there was a fan provided), and the shower ran very hot then cold.

    Great location. Walking distance to both Windermere and Bowness. Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Room was also very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No much shelving in the bathroom. Limited space. Could have done with a hook by the shower to put your towel on. Apart from that everything was brilliant

    Bed was comfy. Breakfast good choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff, nice place ideal for a break in the lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi Fi very hit and miss, was also working while there and lost an important skype call halfway through.

    Lovely staff, excellent breakfast, even bought in veggie sausages for the wife to turn the meat free breakfast into a veggie one which all veggie's love. Nice location 10 min walk to Windermere 20 min to Bo ness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    A nice B&B, but with room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had Room 6. Although this was a nice room with a large rectangular bathroom, the size of the corner shower was far too small, making it very difficult to use - and I would be considered to be of normal size, and the Mrs is even smaller and she found it just as hard to use. A better arrangement would be to have a walk-in shower where the bath currently is and have a stand alone bath in front of the window.

    The location is good for the centre of Windermere about a 10 minute walk, with Bowness-on-Windermere being less than a mile away. Laura, a member of staff, was very helpful and should be commended for her enthusiasm and recommendations of several places to eat and drink. The breakfast was good and cooked to order - so hot!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and stress free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking could be a challenge

    The Woodlands is a clean,tidy hotel with great staff who are extremely helpful. The rooms are well equipped with everything you need and the breakfast will cover all tastes. the location of the hotel is approximately half a mile from the centre of Windermere and approx 1000m the shops at the lakes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant! superb accommodation and Windermere and the outdoors are brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing to dislike

    Excellent guest house, superb room (went for a four poster bed). The breakfast and choice is amazing, and all the staff are so very nice. Good parking and a nice short walk to either Windermere town, or down to Bownes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    fantastic weekend lovely friendly people very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there wasnt anything i didnt like its excellent better than the hilton

    lovely and clean, staff lovely ,would stay again close to bowness and easy to get buses. food excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    The overall experience was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The overall experience was very nice. Our room 10 was very comfortable and quiet. The Staff where very pleasant and helpful. We felt that we were in our own house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 mins walk from Windermere town and a short drive to Bowness-on-Windermere which is highly recommended. Clean and nicely decorated with a good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We were not only blessed with perfect weather but the bnb was really special. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were just wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Walk into Windermere village or down to the Lake . Amazing cooked breakfast. Perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room just had a few niggles the hot tap on the sink was loose and the hose on the shower was falling apart but other than that was a good hotel reasonable priced

    Great central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    A lovely stay in a place we would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues in the room and bottled water only supplied on first day. Little things mean a lot!

    Lovely breakfast with lots of choice. Fresh fruit was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little difficult when the hotel was full, thankfully we didn’t have a large car

    The breakfasts were outstanding and the hotel was spotless. All the staff were pleasant and polite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to the next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thought the bar should have been open for longer in the evening. Not very much car parking space.

    The bed was very comfortable and overall a very nice room with all the facilities one would require. There was also a very good choice on the breakfast menu. Would highly recommend the full English breakfast or the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel has a good location, in an area between the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small, one person can hardly move inside. A bit loud at night, being very close to the main road.

    The hotel has a good location, in an area between the village and the Bay, within walking distance from both. Comfortable bed, nice view towards the forest. Amazing breakfast, all the options we tried were very delicious and impeccably served. The hotel provides parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more parking spaces ended up parking on the main road when we come back late. There was no do not disturb sign for the door so the cleaner would wake us up to clean room.

    Rated the bathroom. Power shower was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    The manager Lara?was exceptional and made is feel really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager Lara?was exceptional and made is feel really special. Which was great after we had had some not so good places to stay. This was the best so far.☺

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing stay at Woodlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - enjoyed our stay

    Cooked English breakfast was delicious - quality ingredients . Bed was nice and comfy , room was at correct temperature for us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Cozy and comfortable stay in Lake District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very calm and quiet location with no noise disturbances. Rooms are comfy and the service is courteous. Very good breakfast options with very generous servings. Overall, a very cozy and nice stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, relaxing, refreshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower room was on the small side but I am sure some of the other rooms may have bigger bathrooms. But very clean and comfortable.

    Lady who owns the hotel was lovely, breakfast excellent. Lovely location not far to walk to everything, shops restaurants and things to do either way out of the property. Could have stayed longer very easily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Very Pleasant Comfortable Stay. Will Come Back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Food in the Evenings. Bar Closes at 10.30pm Otherwise Great!

    Lovely Breakfast. Staff Very Helpful and Friendly Bed Very Comfortable All in All Very Pleasant Stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely B&B with an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable. Nice touch of ferrero rocher on the pillow however I don't eat nuts so unfortunately didn't benefit from this.

    Lovely B&B with an excellent location. Friendly staff,beautiful sitting/lounge area with a small bar. Good size bedrooms with all amenities needed. Very nice to see a dressing table with a mirror above it and a plug socket next to it! All too often in hotels the mirror is the opposite side of the room to the dressing table,so this made life easier!Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Birthday treat from my partner .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Birthday treat from my partner . I had never been to the lakes before and I can say Great breakfast , facilities clean , great location . Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay, very comfortable & fantasic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small considering the size of the room & no full size mirror.

    All staff where lovely and very polite, nothing was too much trouble for them. The room we stayed in was really clean & spacious, plenty of hots drinks to chose from. The breakfasts were gorgeous & I had all three choices ( on separate day ) lol, all freshly cooked. We would definitely recommend & return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Saturday night we had very noisy neighbours in the next room, no fault of the hotel but it showed how thin the walls were between the rooms. The bed was squeaky which I hate. But besides me being picky over these 2 items, this is a lovely, friendly hotel offering a lovely breakfast in a beautiful place.

    We received a lovely informative welcome and given a map and an overview of the best places to visit. Room was spotless, with a good supply of tea and coffee. The breakfast room was stunning and the breakfast choice and service couldnt be faulted. Only a short walk into Windermere and a longer walk into Bowness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent with great choices and the bed ....... my wife and I are currently looking for the mattress we slept on. Best night sleep in a long time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above re light and shower in en-suite, ON/OFF tap stiff and hard to switch on or off..... biggest problem we had is as follows WOODLANDS IS ADVERTISED (UNDER BOOKINGS) AND LISTED AS AN HOTEL (FIRST ONE TO SHOW ON SITE FOR HOTELS IN WINDEMERE). IT IS NOT AN HOTEL, IT IS A GUEST HOUSE. IF I HAD BEEN INFORMED WHEN I BOOKED A TABLE TO DINE AT 7.30PM ON DAY OF ARRIVAL THAT THERE WAS NOT A RESTAURANT ON SITE WE WOULD HAVE FOUND ANOTHER HOTEL.

    Staff were lovely. Room nice BUT light on adjoining (other side of a locked door) stairs on all night, so sleep disturbed BREAKFAST WAS REALLY REALLY EXCELLENT THOUGH.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel but not 5* as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although this was a nice hotel it certainly wasn't 5 star. The bed and pillow was very uncomfortable and as it is an old building was very noisy and you could hear the fellow guests conversations in neighbouring rooms. There wasn't much choice at breakfast in terms of hot food. The rooms need a lot of updating for me to call it a 5 star hotel, they were very tired and dark and paint was peeling off our bathroom door. There was no full length mirror in the room and the only mirror in the bedroom was too dark to do makeup in.

    The hotel was clean and the staff were lovely. The room was a nice size but the en-suite was very small and only had a shower no bath. The hotel is in a good location, a 10 minute walk from Windermere town and 20 minute walk to the lake and Bowness. We had no problem parking whilst we were there also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff were lovely hotel needs upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and very noisy from room above and we could her people in next room . Bathroom was very basic wouldn’t book that room again.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lounge area closed at 10:30

    We booked last minut so wasnt really expecting too much, the lady who checked us in was lovely and recommended places to eat and visit, the room was comfortable however it got very hot in the night so had to open the window which went onto the main road. The lounge area was comfortable but closed at 10:30

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    A fabulous B&B that will exceed your expectations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The Woodlands is a lovely place to stay. It is ideally located between Windermere and Bowness. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable and the breakfast is always excellent. Finally the lady on reception is extremely helpful and has a wealth of local knowledge, which will be beneficial to those who enjoy walking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Excellent place with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .... Everything was perfect

    Loved this place staff so helpful and friendly .... Such good value for money ... The staff made our stay .... Woke up to an excellent breakfast ..... It really is a little gem ..... Would defiantly recommend & stay here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely superb couldn't fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was excellent and the breakfast was outstanding and freshly prepared and the staff are all very friendly and courteous, lovely location will certainly be visiting again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Efficient and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally I do not think any more could have been done to enhance our trip.

    Breakfast was very good. Welcome was warm and friendly. Waitress was also very friendly. Enjoyed my complimentary prosecco (birthday treat).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent from the staff to the quality of the breakfast. Lovely cosy, immaculate room. Nice bar which was a bonus. Excellent location. Excellent value for money. Excellent, excellent, excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous stay! Perfect location for both Windermere and Bowness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t made aware that we had access to a spa. Which wasn’t a problem because we weren’t expecting it but if we had known we could have brought swimwear

    The staff were impeccable! Helped with our every need, friendly, happy and helped with recommendations for the surrounding areas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, staff very attentive, had a superb, well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could’ve been a bit bigger, but it’s not any sort of major issue what so ever.

    Excellent location, staff very attentive, had a superb, well relaxed weekend at The Woodlands. Requested a bottle of champagne in the room for my girlfriends birthday and it was there. Lady at the front of the hotel even remembered when we where checking in and wished my girlfriend a happy birthday, little things like that go a long way. Would definitely recommend to a friend or family for the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice but thicker walls are needed for 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin we could hear the water being pumped round from the next-door Jacuzzi bath and voices and banging from adjoining rooms were quite loud. This did die down later and we could sleep ok but we felt we had to creep around and be quiet so we didn't make noises that could inconvenience other guests. The photograph of David Cameron was not appropriate, I thought. Don't really want to be reminded of political issues when I'm trying to relax with my partner.

    Nice new-looking , clean and high quality interiors. Very nice breakfast well served. Polite staff. Who were helpful over and above the period of our stay.. Warm spacious and luxurious room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    I could not be happier with this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not be happier with this hotel. Amazing location, easy to find it. Our room was excellent and spotless, nicely decorated and had everything in what we needed. Staff was very helpful and polite, and breakfast was very delicious. We will definitely book it again if we come back to Windermere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    Lovely large boutique room and ensuite - huge bed, cosy and welcoming. We did get a good deal as slightly out of season, and as it was my partners 40th they kindly left a card and complimentary bottle of prosecco on ice in the room. Staff friendly and breakfast was superb. It a short walk from Upper Windermere, nicely away from the centre but not too far at all. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Outstanding loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I loved every minute of our stay

    What an excellent place to stay I have already recommended you and I will be booking again in the summer thank you so much and what a beautiful place who needs to go abroad when this amazing get gem of a place is only a couple of hours drive away

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay at Woodlands, Windermere! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room upgrade was amazing, however the furnishings were quite outdated in comparison to the other rooms. It would have been nice to find out about the 'Macdonald Old England Hotel and Spa' pass prior to our stay. Otherwise, we loved our stay at Woodlands and the staff were great!

    Lovely stay at Woodlands in February 2018! Due to the time of year the guest house was a little quiet and we were offered a free room upgrade upon arrival. Both of the rooms offered looked amazing but we were very grateful for the the room upgrade. The room we stayed in felt very cosy and private, we slept well during our stay and felt the room had great facilities. The breakfast was lovely, we were spoilt for choice as there were some great places to eat in Windermere and Bowness (which are both a short walk away). One of our recommendations would be 'Baha' which is great for food and drinks. We were also recommended 'Homeground' which looks amazing but sadly we didn't find the time to visit. Included with our stay at Woodlands was a free pass with access to the 'Macdonald Old England Hotel and Spa' facilities, unfortunately we didn't find the time to visit, but we felt this was a great little perk of staying at Woodlands. During our stay at Woodlands, we visited Keswick which was a short and pleasant drive away (around 45 minutes). The views were incredible on route and upon arrival we decided to take a walk up to Walla Crag, down to Ashness Bridge and back into Keswick. It was lovely to come back to a warm and cosy room every night and receiving a room upgrade meant that we were able to enjoy a relaxing bath after a day of walking in the lake district.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    Nice and clean, but the double room was not a 5 star room as noted on booking. Com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, both my husband and I woke with a sore back. It was too firm. The en suite bathroom was clean but tiny, you couldn't dry yourself without banging elbows against the door or the sink. And the room wasn't cleaned or made up for the 2nd night _ not really a problem for us but it did mean the water bottles weren't replenished so we ended up buying water at Tesco.

    Staff was friendly and helpful., and the breakfast was delicious (we had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs). Peaceful location, our room overlooked the rear of the property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    our stay was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to report on that one

    your staff laura was excellent at telling us locations of shops and bars and the breakfast was excellent to and the place was spotless thanks .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    A gem of a hotel and the staff definatly make this hotel great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had a lovely three night stay in a standard room, next time I would book a bigger room only because there was limited space for hanging clothes.

    It is a long time since I been to a hotel that ticks all of the boxes, lovely staff, clean and tastfully decorated room, amazing breakfast. will definatly return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Amazing and we would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved how helpful the staff were from the second we got there till the second we left. We loved our room, we think it was perfect for hs. The location of the hotel was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didnt like.

    Lovely en suite room and very warm! Staff very pleasant. Maybe we were lucky to be parked outside our room as i think in the busy season that might be an issue.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Excellent! Great staff, super breakfast and lovely facilities - very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was fab!

    Woodlands is a fantastic hotel! The one member of staff we met (a lovely Spanish girl) upgraded our room free of charge and was incredibly helpful and friendly. She gave us tips about the location including places for drinks, places for dinner and walking routes. Breakfast was also excellent! Absolutely no complaints just two very happy customers!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Quiet and restful stay ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasnt cooked properly hash browns were still hard.cold water tap was back to front ..

    Staff very friendly and couldnt do enough to help room was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff were all very friendly and although a traditional...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room might have been a little cold for some but it was winter.

    The staff were all very friendly and although a traditional property it was very well kept. Enjoyed a glass of wine in front of the fire. Also a great location between the train station and the lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice decor, warm, clean. Breakfast well cooked to order, public areas nicely decorated and comfortable. Good parking outside. Great location, walked everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t have been better

    Bed and bedroom comfy in all respects. American pancakes with fruit at breakfast was to die for. Staff friendly and very helpful with local knowledge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Overall a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Whirlpool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was beneath the restaurant and you can hear footsteps first thing in the morning not great if your a late riser

    The staff and the Breakfast are excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    The hotel took payment for all guests from my credit card, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel took payment for all guests from my credit card, I had not expected this nor had I agreed to this but as payment had been taken there was little that could be done about it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Woodlands is a great place to stop with fantastic staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic breakfast, staff are superb and can’t do enough for you, location is excellent for both Windermere and Bowness - both easily walkable. Bed is a little small though it may just be standard size rather than king!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: