Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Woolpack Inn 3 stars

Fishbourne Road West, Chichester, PO19 3JJ, United Kingdom

#19 of 19 B&Bs and Inns in Chichester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 596 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite honestly nothing.

    The staff were brilliant, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was good, dinner and the bar served all sorts of different drinks. It was exactly what we needed as a group going to Goodwood races. They even have a bus stop outside so you can get the free bus to the races!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a business treatment by staff, no smiles when entering, first pay and then the key. Noisy due to location near the main road. Price a bit high for the value.

    Room was OK for 1 night, clean enough. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and uncomfy bed

    Not s bad place but room was very noisy with guests singing at three in the morning and I could hear the man in the next room snoring!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not very clean Bathroom very poor, shower curtain stunk English breakfast fine but no alternatives Premier Inn is first class by comparison.

    Bed comfy Breakfast very limited Very tired room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not friendly or helpful .The room was poorly furnished the mattress was very uncomfortable due to the poor quality and covered in plastic. The shower was of a poor standard and shower curtain in this day and age.Poor curtain in at the windows in fact the room needs a good refurbishing.

    The pub itself was comfortable .and location was not too bad if you were at the back of property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly, bed uncomfortable location on a busy road, doesn't look like the 'country' pub as in the pictures

    Room clean food good in the pub

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in general need of an update especially the bathroom which had a small wash basin with no flat surfaces to place wash bags etc. A corner shower with a dirty plastic curtain and loose fittings. Altogether a "tired" room.

    A descent sized room with a comfortable bed but it could have been bigger. Everything was clean and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms are very dated, not a fan of shower curtains. TV in the rooms could be larger.

    Lovely pub with nice outside garden. Rooms and linen were clean. Friendly staff and a decent buffet breakfast. Best sausages I've ever eaten

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very very dated and beds very uncomfortable- needs a bit of a re-vamp to match the prices they charge.

    Breakfast was delicious- extremely family friendly pub - not rowdy, very quiet after pub closes, staff bend over backwards to help you out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (Caligula) was tired and dated. The en-suite had a really stale smell which meant that I had to keep the door to it shut to keep the awful smell out of the bedroom. The floor behind the toilet was very dirty - all of this prevented me using the en-suite for the whole of the stay.

    At least the bed was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad lighting in the bathroom, nowhere to put a wash-bag by the basin, shelf above basin old and with peeling varnish, nowhere in the shower to put things, like shampoo etc.......I cannot count the number of hotel bathrooms witht eh same problems...........the owners should be made to use them before letting them out! Bed was small but duvet smaller, no extra blankets either......

    Good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water came out VERY hot, with no warning in the sink. Pretty thin walls!

    Lovely breakfast. Superb morning walking close by. Nice pub garden in the evening sunshine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much care when serving breakfast . Had to,do,own tea/coffee, and toast when I asked for egg on toast . ,

    Very poor breakfast , and staff in the bar were inot helpful. Room staff ( cleaners)!were excellent .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we had overlooked the car park (ground level). Unless you over lapped the curtains anyone could have looked in. Should have had net curtains at least. With double occupancy we were only given 1 x 500ml bottle of water between us. The mattress would have been ideal for any person suffering a bad back and was very uncomfortable with a sleepless night for the both of us. The shower head leaked more water than came out which meant we could not take a decent shower. There really should be hot water signs for both the sink and the shower as the water coming out was extremely, extremely hot and could not even wash our hands properly and had to use the cold water. Rooms really do need to be updated as it was of poor standard and definitely NOT value for money. The ONLY real saving grace of our visit was the breakfast and the welcome we had from the chef on duty. Food was first class and with it being a buffet breakfast was where the value for money exceeds. We could not mention any of the above or ask to change rooms since we arrived late afternoon, checked in and then went out until late evening which was where we noticed all the issues we have.

    Breakfast, first welcome of the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole of the room needed painting and decorating, unit surfaces were all badly marked, one electrical plug you had to hold if you unplugged something as it came away from the wall, no decaff coffee or tea in the rooms and towels changed once in 3 days!!!! Breakfast was very basic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was in a group of cyclists and earlier breakfasts at weekend would have been good.Also fruit and yoghurt for breakfast and some decaf coffee sachets in the room.Otherwise very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'd have to be picky it would be that our bed was quite firm however it made a change from ours being too soft and seemed to help our backs.

    My partner and I went here for a Romantic get away. Beautiful property lovely staff and amazing atmosphere. Bonus of a beautiful beer garden and their home made sausages from their farm shop included in the breakfast. All the little touches which helped create a beautiful memory for my partner and I.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower would have benefited with a screen on one side as the floor got bit wet

    The room we were given was at the back of the building and quite quiet ( the main road outside was quite busy) It had two nice single beds ( our request) , nice bedside tables and a desk and wardrobe Bathroom nice and clean and the room smelled nice too Towels were lovely fluffy ones and towelling bath mat too Shower was invigorating , the shower cubicle had no sides on it ( just shower curtain ) so bathroom floor got bit wet ) We had a carvery meal in the pub the night we stayed which was very tasty , the wine was a nice quality and we enjoyed it Breakfast was very tasty and we were impressed with the standard bearing in mind it was part of the overnight stay cost The rooms are basic and I think very good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked a double room bur were allocated a twin bedded. They might have changed it if we had pursued the point , but we did not and just suffered in silence

    the location for our purposes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was only bath towels we needed hand towels too

    The owner and staff were very friendly and the food both evening and breakfast were cooked really well fresh and cooked to order

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked nothing like advertised. There was horrible pee smell, rusted facilities and shower curtain with black damp bits. Shocking!! On a positive note the location and breakfast were good

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mould on the ceiling, the mould on the curtains, the used cups in the room, the bathroom light didn’t work, listening to the neighbouring rooms antics (paper thin walls)... I could go on! I’m extremely disappointed - even the taxi driver said he hears nothing but bad reviews. I’ve stayed in budget hotels in various countries but this was by far the worst! A real shame and I’ll not be using booking.com again as I can’t trust the ratings / information.

    The lady on the desks tried her best when we showed her how dirty the room was (but the second room was no better).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Newly built, the sound insulation could have been better, we were able to hear the occupants of the next room talking. The towels were thin and not particularly big.

    Rooms were in separate, purpose built, building to the Inn. Parking available alongside rooms. Very user friendly. Staff were very helpful. Plenty of hot water for the shower. Very clean and functional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too dusty cob webs everywhere and there was a mistake with rooms. I asked for a double bed in a double room instead i got 2 single beds that moved appart. After complaining the next day i was moved into a room with a double bed. This room was still dusty

    Good food and good night sleep. Good location and staff were really helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was very clean it was not comfortable and could do with a complete refit, especially the shower room. Not worth the money paid.

    The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos used for advertising is as the pub looks like on the outside unfortunately as you enter your opinion changes. The room is very old, bar electric heater used bathroom less than basic. If there was other accommodation available I would have cancelled. Weekend booked for Goodwood event. Someone had posted value for money my payment was above average. Breakfast didn’t start serving until 9am. I have never been so disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly. Room carpet torn and crisps on floor. Bathroom had damp and handle broken. Dinner did not have things on menu. Room kettle leaked. Bed covers thin and were awful. Bedroom smelt of bleach and damp.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and bedding... Oh My God the pillows!!! truly awful.

    TBH I only stayed here as my cousin hosted his birthday party at this venue. The beds are AWFUL! The accommodation is in desperate need of upgrading, however the staff were lovely, the breakfast was superb and my cousin's party was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I say, you must take the cost into account at £65. If you want luxury or posh, pay more. The beds were small and basic, so a fairly restless night's sleep. The television provided didn't work, saying no signal. I asked for help but by the time someone came I worked out it hadn't been tuned to any channels. I did a full freeview retune and it worked. Would have expected that to have been done before letting room. At breakfast no one really told you what to do, self service coffee roast and cereals and the cooked breakfast good but we were just asked if wanted cooked breakfast, had to say 'no egg' please.

    You have to take into account the price £65, paid when reviewing. If you want a budget bed for the night this is ok. The room was clean, the girl on reception friendly and pleasant and we had good evening meal. They happily changed one of the items on the menu to suit my tastes. Breakfast was included and there was an electric heater in the bedroom.This is a typical pub offering basic accommodation for a reasonable price. The sausages at breakfast are real farm produced and sold on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the beds and decor . The beds and bedding were like something from the 1970’s . There was a strong smell of discenfectent throughout the hotel building. Checking in was also an ordeal they couldn’t find the booking on the system. I also requested a vat receipt and was not given one even though they said it would be printed by the morning . I had to ring up and get one sent .

    Nothing very run down and outdated

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation was a little cramped and "basic"........! Mattress had plastic cover over it, and extremely firm. Room looked very tired and could do with redecorating. No sound proofing in walls, could hear "ALL" that was going on in the next room.

    Food was very good and bar staff welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of Information about gluten free meals when asked on arrival. Also didn't supply gluten free bread at breakfast. Shower could have been better. washbasin hot tap needs a warning put above it.

    The breakfast was excellent and provided gluten free sausage, well cooked and plenty of it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little tired looking, in particular there was a lot of damp and mould in the bathroom

    Location was great for what we were visiting the area for

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room basic and shabby one mug for tea on show stained old spoon Glad of heater kept it switched on til warmed up No extra bedding Bathroom old style Clean no face flannels with towels.

    very good breakfast cooked to order. basic room bed comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a dump and a rip off. Don't book here.

    Wall heater broken. Wall socket dangerous. No bulb in shaving mirror. Broken chipped furniture. Bed fit for tip with non fitting sheet. Window catch broken. No shower cubicle so floods in bathroom. Room not cleaned.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The annexe rooms are in serious need of refurbishment. The carpet in our room was badly stained.

    Good location for what we wanted. Very reasonable room rate so you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the drinks at the bar where over priced.

    The rooms are nice and spacious . The food is great value, we had a Sunday car very for just £7.95 each.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we missed the Carvery

    One of the best Pub's we have stayed in .....Top ! Bar staff were so helpful from the time we arrived from Germany until we departed. The rooms are very clean with tea and coffee facilities. Shower/toilet also very clean. We will be staying here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Shabby , bed uncomfortable, strong smell of bleach when checked in , later that evening it became apparent why , because there was a horrible musty / drain smell in the bathroom .

    Bar staff were friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and tired needed alot of attention ! mould on ceiling in room in corners and furniture old and scratched ! tv too small . shower not working it sprayed everywhere flooded bathroom,mould all over ceiling in bathroom.. dust on the wardrobe shelfs and bottom . bed far too hard and pillows not enough as they was flat hense i woke up with a painful back! windows wouldnt lock/ so didnt feel safe as it looked onto the car park and was on the lower ground ! we will not be booking this place again and its not in walking distance for Chichester centre ... we missed breakfast as it stops serving at 9am ...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold with portable heater sup plied. Toaster not working properly at breakfast. Shower pressure fantastic but controls difficult to use, showercurtain and showe're adjustment meant floor got soaked, no footman. Mould on Windows due to condensation not being cleaned regularly. Room not particularly clean, walls between rooms very thin, could hear everything, however it was cheap and what we expected for our nights stay. Price advertised at a reduction to £50 but was charged £56. Only two vegetarian options on the menu, one of which wasn't available. Didn't seem to know what veganism is!

    Staff nice and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was basic but adequate . Small duvet, large hand towels only, shower was good but only had a curtain. Walls were thin and sound travelled! Nowhere to sit.

    Conveniently situated for Chichester with adequate parking. Sizeable full English breakfast with juice, cereal, toast and coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a plastic mattress and damaged at corners, the kettle was broken, no teaspoons, paper bathmat, dingy lighting, over worn off varnish on desk and shelve, crappy hangers and flighty behind bed and desk around skirtings. The hallway stank of kebab and cleaning chemicals, and young couple had a party in their room during the evening- then started to bang around at 5am. Breakfast not included. Freezing cold with electric fire.

    The car park had plenty of spaces

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt slightly bare. An easy chair and pictures on the wall would help. Dressing table and vanity shelf in en - suite were worn. Glass enclosure to the showers would be a good upgrade. The walls are not soundproof and the television from the next room could be heard very clearly. The rooms are a good size so an additional soundproofing stud wall could be privided. We were given an alternative room with no one next door which was much appreciated. Good value and helpful staff made up for the above minor issues with the rooms.

    Good value, friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit plain, a bit of softer comfort would be nice. Sound carries in the building, lights in car park through thin curtains

    Breakfastgood esp brown bread and sausages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were situated in an annexed building with very thin walls which impeded one's privacy and the plumbing in the neighbour's bathroom was particularly audible. A welcome with smiles would have been nice.

    The full English breakfast was very good and wholesome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The member of staff who showed us to the room was pleasant but was unaware of breakfast timings. There were no meal times or wifi code in the room. The room was very basic and is in need of updating - looked very tired. Room dierctly faced car park and was very noisey. For a room costing £90 a night it was very poor value. We would definitely not return.

    The shower worked well and the water was hot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was the worst I have ever stayed in. No central heating. A wall heater. Furniture was awful and looked liked it had been purchased from a second hand shop. Bed sheets were old and therefore looked unclean. Shower was luke warm; no properly shelving.... I could go on and on... Breakfast was ok

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very tired and downbeat especially the bathroom - only one dim ceiling light and a non working mirror light . The extractor sounded like a nearby jet taking off. The only mirror in the room was propped up on the floor. From the web description and picture we expected a real country pub environment and found it the total opposite.

    Bar food good - breakfast excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very busy pub that evening:- Music - Darts- Bar Billiards

    The beds were clean and comfortable , and a very good English Breakfast, quiet adequate for a short stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very basic and more than a bit tired. Cheap bed with very poor mattress, carpet wafer thin and soft furnishings have seen better days. Staff seemed a bit indifferent

    Easy to find and location suited us. Parking plentiful. Good breakfast and plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above.

    This is the only place I have stayed where I have felt like I was an encumbrance. No welcome whatsoever, miserable atmosphere. Only three mismatched hangers, asked for more got given two more cheap ones. Towels were dirty and marked and one was damp on arrival. We did get new ones when we asked. The lady on 'reception' should not be doing the job if she feels it is such a burden, no smile ever. At breakfast on both days we had to ask for another plate there was only one on the table, I asked if there wa any vegetarian option for breakfast and the answer was 'No'. The whole place needs an overhaul even the flowers atthe front are dead and neglected. I would not go back. It seems like the owners take no notice of reviews since many people over the years have said the same.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at breakfast left a lot to be desired. The food was no more than adequate and there were no mushrooms either day. The provision for tea and coffee was poor. Personal service, a pot of tea or a cafetière of coffee would improve things considerably

    The rooms were clean and comfortable and the bar staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin so you do hear everything if next door is occupied. Shower just had a curtain so easy to flood the floor if you don't stick it to the wall properly first! Paper Bath mat is a good idea but you could do with more than one each day as first person wets it through...

    Rooms are away from the main road so not affected by traffic noise. Friendly staff, special mention to Jess. Good size room and bathroom.Very clean. Very nice breakfast if you like full English. And like everyone we have to mention the sausages and bacon! All cooked to order. Location is very handy for getting into Chichester and surrounding areas

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst bed ...EVER! narrow, lumpy and plastic coated. A paper towel for a bath mat...the cheapest, thinnest of duvets and pillows ... the furniture seems to be plastic. PG Tips and Nescafe (no hot chocolate or biscuits)...grubby, dimly lit bathroom (hot water doesn't last long) ... take your own towels ( you get a thin, smelly hand towel each) breakfast was hilarious ( you do however, get to lay your own table) the cheapest of everything and you only get an hours window at weekends ( we didn't get to the cooked part as we couldn't wait more than half an hour as we had an appointment at 9)

    Having anecdotes to share upon our return. oh, in all fairness if you're incontinent you might be reassured by the plastic coated mattress...and quite a nice flower vase. (no flowers in it mind) best of all the rooms (called suites, they're not) are named after Roman emperors. Ours was 'The Caligula Suite' - a tyrannical , incestuous madman - I explained to my young daughter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not very welcoming. Room appears to have been furnished with a job lot of secondhand furniture and very dated facilities, which would benefit from a proper clean. Shower fine but shower curtain ineffective so bathroom floor flooded. Bed and bed linen adequate but not great. Breakfast a bit of a shambles with a nice chap cooking the full English, but do-it-yourself on toast, cereal, tea etc and tables didn't feel very clean. Could be good if updated and more care given to customer service, but got the feeling that they weren't particularly concerned with their paying customers.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a bit of loving! Very, very dated and not soundproofed. Pub bar could do with a bit of ambiance. In fact for the money it was expensive and would've been better to have paid £6 more and stayed at the Bull which was a 2 minute walk. Would not recommend. Have been to numerous accommodations throughout UK and would vote this amongst the worst for up keep. It's a shame because the facilities are in place.

    Clean throughout. Food and breakfast was nice. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty Soiled bed linen Water cold Staff disinterested Staff demanded payment if full before allowing acces to rooms. Staff tried to charge £200 more than web site price.

    They provided a travel cot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds very comfortable and long I am tall Breakfast excellent sausages owner and staff very helpful when we arrived late we were offered a lovely car very

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful hotel. Rooms substandard for the price. No breakfast. just instant coffee and concentrated not fresh orange juice. Bad bed. Bad decor awful.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cobwebs in room, some old confetti in room and bathroom floor (30th birthday?) Shower quite small so could not avoid soaking it. Drinks in bar very pricey. For what it was the price should be a bit lower

    Staff excellent, friendly, helpful. Easy to book in when we arrived, shown to room etc. Tea/coffee making stuff all available. Breakfast spot on

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little bigger but was very nice and a good selection,not very much close by but did have a little stroll to have a look round

    The whole experience/staff/accommodation was fantastic would highly recommend and would return if in the area,breakfast and services all good,very clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked pub accommodation assuming we could have an evening meal with nice real ale on the Sunday evening of arrival. Unfortunately we assumed wrongly as far as eating was concerned and had to walk down the road to another establishment that did Sunday evening food and happened to be a cosy pub as well.

    Staff were pleasant and attentive. The room was sufficiently comfortable, including twin beds, and warm as we needed on the cold weather day. Wifi broadband fine. Breakfast was 'help yourself' 7-9 am. It included cooked items as hoped for, but the overall choice was a bit limited, at least compared with the hotel breakfast cuisine we'd had the day before. Very satisfactory though, and the bacon and sausages from a local butcher were tasty and appreciated. A proper pot of tea would have been nice, as opposed to messing around with tea bags cups at breakfast, but that may be down to personal preference. The toaster produced evenly golden-browned toast when you got the hang of it - definitely a positive compared with our hotel the day before.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room basic and in need of a bit of tlc. Insulation between rooms poor. Woken by neighbours alarm clock early on a Saturday and could hear every part of their morning routine (shower, hairdryer etc) and every word of their conversation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Window handle broken so on a hot night it was not possible to open the main window, although the top light was open. Stingy with towels! Only one per person, not even a bath towel plus a hand towel!

    Very good pub food, bottled water in the room, also ample tea, coffee and milk. Ability to come and go as one pleases as maglock on annexe door is useful. Good wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is a dump. It is a relic from the 1970s & I was genuinely shocked by the poor standard of the room. Tiny beds, grey thin towels, all facilities incredibly old fashioned, dirty

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast coffee machine would not deliver hot water? The Saturday evening meal was not advertised it seemed to be a secondary option? Breakfast time for a Sunday morning were not clearly advertised we assumed it would be the same as Saturday but was in fact 30 mins later, which was important for us.

    The food was well cooked. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival at the pub, we had to wait a while to be checked in by a less than welcoming land lady, no introduction and it seemed like we were interrupting her evening. Breakfast was not good, one person serving, coffee machine not great and no guidance or instruction on the process. So value for money was questionable, bed was not comfortable, room was very basic.

    Unfortunately there was nothing to like

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds ,shower room "a paper bath mat "!!!!!! Not even a new one next day !!!no TV remote .Very ancient bed and bedding

    Location Staff reasonably helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was not good to sleep on and in the morning we felt like we should not have been there so we had some thing to eat and left as son as we could

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only served between 8-9am. That might suit elderly visitors who rise early but holiday makers or business people don't want such an early breakfast. 08.00-10.30 is more acceptable in a Pub with rooms. Lunchtime food quality looked great as others were eating so it's a shame I missed a breakfast included in the price because I needed a longer sleep due to traveling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress and bed very creaky. Poly cotton sheets. I saw from a previous review that the shower water was scalding. However, once we worked out the shower tap settings were misleading-the hot tap was the cold and cold tap was the hot feed, it worked just fine. Walls are thin so you hear other guests

    Good English breakfast Rochelle the receptionist was helpful and pleasant Great to be able to eat in the pub after a long day. It's a typical pub menu,reasonably priced and as long as you aren't expecting Michelin star food- and at these prices - why should you -you will enjoy your stay. We had a twin bedded room of a good size, on the ground floor of the modern annexe. It was clean and the ensuite though basic, was perfectly clean and acceptable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities to buy a drink or snack unless the bar was open. Enquired twice to buy a bottle of water or coke and both times was told there was no till ready as the bar was closed. Also for £180+ this hotel was extremely over priced for a twin room. This was a £90 hotel maximum. Appreciated it was goodwood festival but definitely not a £180 hotel.

    Good location and clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the rooms is very tired and a bit grubby, beds are beyond their best. Both myself and my room mate didn't shower as it looked like it was going to fall to pieces. This place could be amazing with some TLC and some expense

    The food was exceptional, the actual inn was really enjoyable. It is easy to find and close enough to Chichester if you want to visit. Gorgeous flowers arranged in boxes and the garden is lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very tired, shelf in the bathroom needs replacing and the furniture is very dated. Looks like they are trying but needs details looked at, The towels were very old. The phrase above the bed was not very appropriate. Although maybe most people who stay are drunk as it is a pub! The bar area was OK as was the breakfast.

    The convienience to where we wanted to go and the easy parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Woolpack Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: