Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The House near Bath

Woolverton, Woolverton, BA2 7QS, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Woolverton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 57 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Quirky comfortable stay on the edge of bath with excellent hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly not applicable was a brilliant stay!

    Everything about this stay was perfection! Rowena and Mike were wonderful hosts, completely flexible and a pleasure to chat to. The location was perfect, easily split between bath centre and longleat safari park. It was so convenient we didn’t mind coming back to the hotel for a short chill before changing and going out for dinner. We went into town for dinner but Rowena and Mike seemed keen to help us find a restaurant or book if we hadn’t made prior arrangements - their knowledge of the local area is brilliant. The room itself was impeccable clean, fantastically furnished with quirky and quality design. The bathroom was brand new and brilliant. And finally the breakfast was to die for! Had the French roast and my boyfriend had an egg and bacon sandwich and we both loved it. Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Fandabidozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was that we only stayed one night, it would have been nice to stay a bit longer. Maybe another trip sometime soon?

    The welcome, fantastic, room, fantastic, house, fantastic. I think you can see where we’re going with our review. Such a quirky house with and gardens which it would take an age to explore. We would thoroughly recommend staying here if you’re in the area, I guarantee we will. I forgot to mention the breakfast, wonderful, all locally sourced which made it taste even better and cooked to perfection by Mike. Also the lovely Rowena had made some coffee flavoured ice cream which I tested for her, delicious. Nothing more I can say about it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    There's not a lot to say really it's in a great location the owners were very welcoming and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have free other then that everything was excellent

    The bed was extremely large Rosana and Mike the owners were very welcoming they gave you the impression that no step was too far the bathroom was lovely as it had just been renovated overall a extremely relaxing stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. We will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just wish we could have stayed longer!

    Very warm welcome from Mike and Rowena. Lovely room, well appointed, very clean and a super comfy bed. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish we could have stayed longer!

    Rowena and her Husband were exceptionally welcoming on arrival. The house and grounds were beautiful and we were shown around every detail. The rooms were wonderful, the beds extra comfy along with an amazing ensuite bathroom. The views from the room were breathtaking and breakfast in the morning far exceeded any hotel ever stayed at, along with the homely feel of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    AMAZING, RELAXING AND BEAUTIFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful Place to stay, We loved everything about it, The rooms were very comfortable and the furniture throughout the place was amazing very Quirky. Breakfast was amazing lots of choice and the grounds are lovely too. The owners are lovely people and made our stay perfect. Would defenitly be returning to this property in the very near future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Hosts Rowena and Mike where so hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts Rowena and Mike where so hospitable. This us a gem of a B&B, quirky, fun and a perfect antidote to the careless world of big hotel chains. See you again !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    The property has a cosy welcoming feel to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has a cosy welcoming feel to it. Full of character. Nothing seemed to much trouble for Mike and Rowena. Lovely airy conservatory with lovely views over the country. Good breakfast to top it. Why would you choose a dull premier inn or travelodge when you can have this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The property was lovely and the location was not too far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we found to complain about

    The property was lovely and the location was not too far away from anywhere we wanted to go. Rowena and Mike were very good hosts, and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Made our week-end away perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Mike and Rowena were so friendly and welcoming, the perfect hosts. Our room was spacious, especially the bathroom, breakfast delicious. The former rectory sits in peaceful meadows, seemingly in the middle of nowhere, but within easy reach of Bath and the inimitable villages of the southern Cotswolds. You cannot fail to relax here, it comes naturally.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is full of character and a lovely place to stay. The beds are huge and very comfortable. Rowena and Mike are great hosts. The pub next door has great food too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    We were made very welcome by our hosts; one of the best hotel breakfasts we have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the bedroom was not great and the windows and paintwork in the bathroom could do with a facelift.

    An amazing breakfast; fantastic choice and all hot food cooked to order, so beautifully fresh. Also liked the fact that the food and drink was sourced locally. Also lovely to have a huge choice of newspapers each morning at no extra cost.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    The House as a very pleasant place to stay and recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs a little facelift, for example some features need a fresh coat of paint.

    The room was spacious, a good view and had good facilities. Rowena is a lovely, friendly, kind and helpful lady. Breakfast also very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    on the main road, free parking, free wifi, rooms with space...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a bid of noise from main road (not that it disturb), old fasion furniture (british style), single glasing and missing isolation (windows and walls might have an extra isolation). No restaurant (was offered eggs etc, but not steak/fish).

    on the main road, free parking, free wifi, rooms with space and comfort, bathroom (towels are thick), fast internet. Heating (well working when house is full, not when 1-2 rooms empty). The breakfast was freshly individual made after individual specification. The flexible opening hours (arriving/ leaving late possibel). the view from the breakfast room - nature. The bar has reasonable prices. Big bathroom. 15-30 min by car to Bath city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    PERFECT LOCATION FOR BATH PLUS STOURHEAD AND LONGLEAT - POSH B & B, WITH BAR AND WARM WELCOME
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we had stayed longer

    We didn't like anything !!! WE LOVED IT !!!! We never stay at a B&B however, we planned to stay near Stourhead the National Trust property and this was only about 15 minutes drive away. What a lovely discovery. We received the warmest and most welcoming arrival from Mike and Rowena and were then given a guided tour of the The House at Woolverton, The furnishings are tasteful and immaculate. The property is spotlessly clean and the service, without exaggeration, was truly faultless and delivered with care. The bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets and sumptuous pillows. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was extraordinary and would shame most 5 Star Hotels. The secure car park was large with no fear of doors clashing. The view from our room was amazing. A GREAT WELL STOCKED AND SOCIABLE BAR the finish off the evening Special Thanks to Rowena and Mike from J n G

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Home from home
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred two single beds but only doubles were available

    The owners were so kind and went the extra mile - in our room were gluten free biscuits (after I mentioned I had Coeliac) amazing breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful people and a very comfortable, welcoming stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything was great from the communication before we arrived to the ease of check in, the breakfast was incredible, the room was clean and comfortable. Great restaurants close by as well. Thanks for the great stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    This House at Woolverton exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mike and Rowena were extremely hospitable. The room was very comfortable, with great presentation and cleanliness. The breakfast was excellent, with a superb choice. My only regret is that we attending a nearby wedding and didn't get chance to make best use of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    An idyllic gorgeous place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 5 nights

    if you like to stay in outskirts and an idyllic place, there is absolutely nothing to fault here.

    1. Rowena and Mike are extremely nice hosts 2. The room and the bathroom were huge! Fully furnished but with very nice (antique style) decoration, as it is for the whole of the house 3. Really diverse stuff to enjoy: e.g. snooker table and table tennis. 4. Breakfast was awesome: I highly recommend the egg royal 5. An archery range (and clay pigeon shooting) nearby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    "The House" an unique place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No downsides for us!

    Super location, beautiful house, unique in fact...although some parts looked tired it just added to the character of the place..the hospitality and friendliness of both Rowena and Mike, second to none...awesome breakfast..in fact a awesome place to stay.....definitely worth a visit!😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay, lovely area, hosts and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not fault this property at all. We loved our stay in a huge comfortable bed overlooking fields of cows and sheep. Our son stayed in the bedroom next door and both rooms were lovely. Rowena and Mike were the most friendly hotel owners we have come across and happy to help with anything required.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    We loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    This was a wonderful find. We chose it mainly on situation (near to a wedding we were attending) and previous comments from guests. We were made VERY welcome by Rowena and Mike, offered a choice of rooms and made a welcome coffee despite arriving at 10pm. Room was very clean and comfortable with nice products and a handy fridge. Decor in house was delightful and a refreshing change from the boring corporate look of many other places. Breakfast was lavish and of very high quality and Rowena needed no prompting to remember that one of us was gluten intolerant - we usually mention it on booking and it is usually ignored completely. We plan to return from our base in Lincolnshire to have a short break and enjoy the atmosphere of this special place and to explore the surrounding area when we have more time. The recent episode of 'The Hotel Inspector' which we watched on catch-up when we got home was, in our view, heavily edited to make the owners appear incompetent. DO NOT let this put you off going, the place and the owners are lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't stay longer. Nothing to grumble about. Maybe a little more expensive than I would normally pay.

    Very friendly welcome. Helpful info regarding places to eat etc. Very personal service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    The House
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt slightly overcrowded in bedroom due to small items of furniture

    Large airy rooms, comfortable memory foam mattress on king sized bed and large bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    If you are near Bath then this is a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was SOOOOOOOO comfy!! I need to know the mattress make so I can get one! Hosts make you feel like part of the family and Mike makes a great breakfast!!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, lovely location and were happy with a late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, lovely location and were happy with a late check in. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Warm welcome in a spectacular house.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was very small with an integral seat. Good for older/ disabled people but not relaxing for a soak.

    Warm welcome in a spectacular house.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Main House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.3
    Convenient for Bath - nice hosts and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated African decor and no a c

    Convenient for Bath - nice hosts and great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Rowena the host was lovely and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super comfy bed, spacious room and tasty breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    fun,great rooms,great area,great views,really relaxing but most of all Mike and Rowena,amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only staying two nights.Should have been longer!!!!

    The owners were amazing. Made you feel so special and nothing too much trouble.☺

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    I plan to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've stayed in compared to Le Meridien, Marriotts and W hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Was just one night to meet up with friends traveling from Brazil, so we'll have to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and extremely helpful in recommendations in and ariund Bath. Very accommodating and beds were super comfy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything and the owners were such lovely kind people

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Lovely b&b with very nice staff and a delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely b&b with very nice staff and a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    The staff were really lovely and the charm of the place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really lovely and the charm of the place speaks for itself. It's unique in every way with great attention to detail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    the quality of the bed and the breakfast were fantastic;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Coach House
    • Stayed 1 night

    the quality of the bed and the breakfast were fantastic; the owners were great too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    The breakfast was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish I could've stayed longer.

    The breakfast was fantastic. A great cold buffet before a wonderful selection of cooked breakfasts. The attention to detail was great with little fun quiz books left for you to quiz your breakfast partner! Greeted with a smile by both Rowena and Mike. They made us feel so welcome. I loved the room, it was spacious, had lovely smelling shower gel. The facilities were great and we plan on coming back with a group of friends to make more of it. There is a full size snooker table in perfect condition. Loads of board games and a very well stocked bar. Mini bars in rooms! This is a great find and it is very easy to get into Bath as well so you can enjoy what the city has to offer yet retreat to the countryside! Will be back again.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    Hosts offer an extremely friendly and give a warm welcome to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a little noisy with wooden floors and stairs and no rugs. However this is all part of the quirky and very special old building.

    Hosts offer an extremely friendly and give a warm welcome to guests and ensure they have all they need. The house and gardens are definitely unique and in a lovely setting with country outlook. The breakfast is simply excellent!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    10
    From the very moment I arrived at The House I felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When arriving just make sure you turn down the small road at the side of the pub and then an immediate left at the corner - the sign is down at the moment. Michael kindly notified me and offered a number to call if I was stuck.

    From the very moment I arrived at The House I felt comfortable and welcome. Not only was the grounds fantastically pretty and beautiful but the House throughout is relaxing and homely. My room was especially amazing- high quality for a fantastic price, fantastic wooden furniture and decor, amazing bathroom and shower and the biggest most comfy bed I have ever slept in! Clean, fresh and spacious- I highly recommend a stay here, I know I will be returning very soon!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome: nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It all worked really well - no issues

    Very friendly welcome: nothing was too much trouble. A lot of thought has gone into making this an individual and unique stay. Writing in advance to offer help with restaurant bookings was a really nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    10
    Absolutely everything, Rowena and Mike are so friendly, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely everything, Rowena and Mike are so friendly, the decor of the hotel is amazing, the rooms are lovely, the breakfasts are wonderful. Couldn't have enjoyed it more if we tried!

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.9
    Extremely helpful proprietor;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst the room was good we drew the short straw. A lot more expensive than we're used to paying, although I can see that it's an expensive place to run. It did however make for a great treat.

    Extremely helpful proprietor; gave us tips on how best to get into Bath and local places to visit. Best breakfast I've ever had; a superb spread.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    The owner's were lovely, very friendly and highly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing - it was all fantastic

    The owner's were lovely, very friendly and highly accommodating, they idolised my young daughter. The cooked breakfast was the best we've ever had and we were even given champagne with it.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    Lovely welcome and personal greeting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely welcome and personal greeting....beautiful building and felt very relaxed. Does not do evening food, but right next door is the wolverton red lion pub, so no worries there. Breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    We loved our warm welcome, our fantastic room, the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved our warm welcome, our fantastic room, the beautiful furniture, and the most amazing breakfast. There is such a lovely vibe going on there that you have to go and experience it for yourselves. We can't wait to have another excuse to go back.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.2
    We arrived at The House late on a Saturday evening having...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    We arrived at The House late on a Saturday evening having been travelling all day from Dublin and were greeted with the warmest of welcomes from the wonderful hosts Roweena and Mike. We had the most comfortable nights sleep in a lovely room and started the next day with a delicious breakfast with food choices too numerous to mention . We will definietly make a return visit to the House on our next trip to Bath.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel, full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel, full of character. Rowena & Mike made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was a real experience, fantastic food, mostly locally sourced. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.4
    Very nice style of property with all furniture sourced from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice style of property with all furniture sourced from the far-east. The host was fantastic, and helpful in every way. She booked us a table at a great restaurant in town and the breakfast service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful place. The owners were extremely generous and helpful and attentive. They pay attention to the small details that make a guest comfortable and they don't scrimp. This is an unusual place in a very good way. Thanks to the owners, Rowena and Mike.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay The hosts really make you feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sorry they don't serve dinner anymore

    Lovely place to stay The hosts really make you feel welcome. It feels you are staying with friends rather then being in a hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary.. Rowena and Mike were lovely hosts, excellent food, lovely room and beautiful surroundings.. We loved it!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    A good location for visiting family in the area, an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A good location for visiting family in the area, an interesting house, decorated in a unique style and a very personal welcome from Rowena and Mike including discovering we had mutual friends in HK made our stay memorable and very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Warm and friendly hosts, wonderful breakfast, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi didn't seem to work. Since we stayed only one night, that wasn't an issue.

    Warm and friendly hosts, wonderful breakfast, comfortable bed. Our room was very large with lovely decor. And we had an exceptional view out the windows of our room, sheep included. Nice soaps, lotions, and bath towels. We ate dinner next door, and that was very good also.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    The rooms were large & decorated lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were large & decorated lovely. The breakfast was superb & Rowena the host was so welcoming & helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. There was also an excellent pub next door that served great food. I would definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    An older house with a unusual interior, friendly, convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An older house with a unusual interior, friendly, convenient. Excellent healthy organic fresh food, all locally sourced. All creature's comforts provided for.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    10
    The House in Woolverton is approximately 20 mins from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The House in Woolverton is approximately 20 mins from the centre of Bath, going on the A36 towards Warminster. It is a quirky and fascinating place to stay with a touch of the "East" as the owners lived and worked in the Far East for many years. Mike and Rowena are wonderful and friendly hosts who made us feel welcome even before we arrived. They sent us a welcoming email to check if we had any special requests such as dietary requirements, time of arrival as they wanted to make sure they were in when we arrived and to advise us to book a table locally for dinner which we did. We arrived on Friday 20.02.15 early evening after spending the day in Bath and Mike welcomed us to the House and as it was quiet he gave us the choice of 4 rooms all of which were great we opted for No 2 , huge room with super king size bed and en suite bath and shower, mini bar, kettle and tea and coffee available on the landing of each floor. The bed was so comfortable and we had two of the best sleeps ever. Breakfast was a grand affair with a huge array of fresh bread from the "thoughtful bread company in Bath" pastries, crumpets, pancakes, selection of cured meats; cheeses; croissants, baked goods; assortment of jams/marmalades/Nutella; organic yoghurts; fresh fruit; raspberries; blueberries; pineapple; melon and a choice of cooked to order organic bacon, sausages, mushroom, toms and eggs all cooked by Mike! Variety of tea and freshly ground coffee and milks , truly scrumptious! Newspapers and an honesty bar in the conservatory makes this a wonderful bolt hole and retreat for a brilliant weekend away with or without children , also great views and grounds for sitting or walking around. Mike was great and showed us a great circuit around the village so we could keep fit and go jogging as the nearest gym was too far away.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and Rowena was an excellent host throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel and Rowena was an excellent host throughout. Lovely locally sourced breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    Great choice at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great choice at breakfast. Really friendly and helpful owners. Beautiful rooms and setting.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    We enjoyed a lovelly couple of nights and the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed a lovelly couple of nights and the rooms were very comforatable and we felt well looked after

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    The rooms in the hotel were very comfortable and we felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms in the hotel were very comfortable and we felt well looked after by the staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    Very friendly, awesome building, great breakfast, a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather!

    Very friendly, awesome building, great breakfast, a very welcoming place to stay. Definitely coming back!

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    10
    Friendly, helpful, quirky, great breakfast and fresh air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful, quirky, great breakfast and fresh air.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was amazing. Best breakfast selection you will find. The building is lovely too and it's close to bath and frome.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful big clean room with lovely views of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful big clean room with lovely views of the countryside. Sociable, helpful hosts.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.6
    The owner was very helpful, warm and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was very helpful, warm and friendly. The breakfast was outstanding!

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Great style furniture and general ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great style furniture and general ambience. Especially liked the puzzle books at breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    friendly proprietors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly proprietors high quality breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    The staff were the highlight, they were so accommodating and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were the highlight, they were so accommodating and welcoming. The breakfast was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noise from people upstairs

    Beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    The atmosphere is fantastic and the room very luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi and TV signal not brilliant

    The atmosphere is fantastic and the room very luxurious

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    Owners where very friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners where very friendly and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Fantastic characterful property, great gardens to explore, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic characterful property, great gardens to explore, wonderful breakfasts but most of all great hosts Town and Mike.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Location, staff,house itself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, staff,house itself

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: