Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wrightington Hotel & Health Club 4 stars

Moss Lane, Wrightington, Wigan, WN6 9PB, United Kingdom

#3 of 9 hotels in Wigan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 562 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel, convenient to M6. Very nice pool and steam room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We asked for a twin instead of a double - cannot see why this cost £8 more. - Bar was closed at 11.30 when we arrived back, which was disappointing. The staff was good enough to sell us a bottle of wine, however the quality was not good.

    Girl on Reception was very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    9.6
    Overall very good. Great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over the bath

    We stayed the week previous and were in a much nicer room with large walk in shower. This week the shower was over the bath and the room although nice was poorer than our previous.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again. Overall it was fine but not perfect.
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a buffet and hot items were not as fresh as they could have been. Some reception staff were friendlier than others. Bathroom only had a shower which was tiny; my husband had difficulty using it.

    Staff were friendly and helpful for the most part in the dining room and lounge. Comfy room and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    5.0
    Sadly didn’t live up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small - no better than a travelodge. No bathroom. Inferior towels. Inferior tea and coffe facilities. Unable to fill kettle because of low sink settings. Absence of any staff. No one asked if everything was ok. Room wasn’t up to xpectations one didn’t match picture on web or when booked.

    Swimming pool and quiet location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Cloud worthy comfy beds 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE comfiest bed I've ever slept on! Other hotels should come test your beds against theirs and see how amazing a hotel bed can be! Had a fabulous nights sleep! Rooms are a fantastic size we were in a twin with two double beds!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    It was a very pleasant stay with a very nice meal in the hotel restaurant. The staff were courteous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were there only one night and we found every thing to our satisfaction I cannot give you an answer to this question.

    Staff wee very pleasant and helpful all round

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Our stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms view the was the car park and wasn’t able to open the curtains due to lack of privacy.

    There was a good selection of breakfast. 2 pillows were provided in the bed and the Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all.

    Everything. One of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Clean, beautiful, friendly helpful staff. Rooms are great, great spa facilities. Can't fault it! Will be back regular!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor near the gym and we were woken first thing in the morning by visitors parking outside our room and going into the gym. If we’re going to stay more than one night , I would have asked to change rooms My bed was a bit saggy, although my husband said his was alright. Shower was over the very deep bath and there were no grab handles to help me get in or out.

    Just off the motorway but in countryside. You are greeted by bird song as you step out of your car and despite being 3 minutes away from the motorway, you couldn’t here it. The hotel was very clean and the restaurant was first class. Room was large with a large ensuite bathroom . The bath was the largest I’ve ever seen in a hotel, deep as well as long. There is a Large gym and spa with beauty treatments ( I didn’t get chance to use either)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Exceptional place, exceptional value, exceptional staff, exceptional everything really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike here,

    This place is superb. Everything here exceeds expectations. We will be going back without a doubt, sooner rather than later. I have written a review on 'Trip Adviser'. The staff, the facilities, the accommodation, the service, the cleanliness, the maintenance,the whole thing is just top drawer. LOVE IT.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    The food in the restaurent was excellent and the staff so nice and friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed should be clean

    Had to change room bed not changed and was given a disabled room awful shower room stayed 2nights and 3rd night in premier inn trafford centre which was top notch in comparsian

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Television in room did not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television in room did not work. We reported it but was not fixed. Hair dryer in room made funny noises had signs of burning on casing and finally stopped working.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Good location and extensive leisure facilities but evening meal menu seemed a little limited.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal menu seemed expensive with not a lot of variety. This meant we went out for food.

    Everything was fine with the room. Extensive leisure facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel some staff training required
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The open changing room in leisure complex. Not suitable with young or teanage children when the family changing room is busy. My husband was on crutches ashe was having a hip replacement the next day. The manager checked us into a low level room, which would only be suitable for a person in a wheelchair not a 6 foot adult. When we ate in the restaurant they placed us in a table right across the room downstairs. Not suitable again for the disabled. Staff need to be more considerate to impaired customers.

    The rooms, clean, spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom wasn't clean, there was hair in the corners of the bathroom underneath the sink, in the bottom of the bath and inside the bath plug hole. Plug didn't fit in bath. Really wanted a bath after driving 250 miles.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    WE HAD A LOVELY STAY BEFORE AND AFTER OUR FRIENDS WEDDING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE PEOPLE WE MET THAT WORKED THERE WERE ALL LOVELY AND VERY HELPFUL,THE ROOM WAS GORGEOUS AS WAS THE WHOLE HOTEL REALLY.WE HAD DRINKS IN THE RESTAURANT AND A BEAUTIFUL BREAKFAST ON SUNDAY.ALL IN ALL IF WE WERE EVER HEADING TO WIGAN AGAIN I WOULDN'T HESITATE TO BOOK THIS HOTEL

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    A well equipped, modern, comfortable hotel, with very friendly and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm struggling to identify anything significant - but, I could only get decent reception on a couple of TV channels: the rest were badly pixelated. That might be a problem for some visitors.

    Extremely comfortable and modern rooms: well sized bathrooms, and a hotel with friendly and efficient staff. Good quality breakfast. The hotel has what seems to be a well equipped, and certainly well frequented exercise centre/gym. Good parking facilities, and very easy access to the motorway. A delight; would unhesitatingly stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Great value but room a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired in places and in need of a spruce up. Reception had no water at 11pm when we returned from visiting relatives and as there was none in room we were told we had to buy some from the bar at over £3.50 a bottle.

    Very nice staff and a very good location but also out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Wigan/Standish.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Was a really nice and clean tidy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at hotel went for a coffee and snack and when arriving at the restaurant was made to feel not welcome as women dumped us in corner and than was asked “what do you want” we asked to see a menu which was greeted with a huff and told would get us one which took 10 mins to get. I ask was it ok to move as we where by a group of males who where loud and swearing and was told ok but how long will you be as am setting up for tonight so in other words hurry up. When we went for breakfast the next morning we arrived around 9:45 to be told “your lucky as we close at 10”. If breakfast is till 10 than you have upto 10 to get breakfast but after than it to late. But as we where getting breakfast she was clearing ot away as we went so again they just wanted everything away by 10 so apart from evening meal which was fantastic and apart from when Dave Whealen turned up and staff just foucsed on his table instead of others. The customer service bit was a let down and a shame cause hotel is lovely.

    Was a really nice and clean tidy hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great but a little expensive.

    Friendly helpful staff. Clean well decorated everywhere. Excellent evening meal in the restaurant. Free use of leisure facilities. Lovely comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was fantastic just off the motorway and only a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed with the wifi at the Hotel which was very poor and didn't work most of the time. This made it very difficult to look at anything on our phones and ipads as G4 signal was weak or not connecting. In the morning we would have liked a Latte with our breakfast but was informed that the coffee machine had not been turned on so unable supply.

    The location was fantastic just off the motorway and only a 10 minuets drive from where we were providing training. We all found the rooms very comfortable and all the staff very helpful. lovely views of the surrounding area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Fast check in, lovely surroundings, late bar, helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We visited the bar downstairs. The service was extremely slow and the food was average. We ordered sandwiches and chips and for the price we paid, they were definately not worth the money. That said, everything else was spot on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we was held up in traffic for a concert, check in was quick and easy and at the end of a long day the rooms was very nice and comfortable. Sorry we didn't get time to see more of the hotel but what we saw was lovely and would go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    PLEASANT ENOUGH
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SADLY, BREAKFAST EXTRA 17.50 WHICH IS EXESSIVE SO WE CHOSE NOT TO EAT THERE AND HAD A GREAT FULL BREAKFAST AT A LOCAL FARM SHOP. £6.50 EACH

    SURPRISINGLY GOOD EVENING MEAL GOOD STAFF SERVICE

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Food was excellent. We had 2 morning breakfasts and evening dinner on Saturday night. Considering a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff service was not as expected. Request the TV to be repaired 3times with no results. Ordered teas, coffees and cakes in lounge.mid morning for quotes.Slow service and forgot cakes. Couldn't make flat white coffee?

    Very clean hotel throughout.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    perfect relaxing weeekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa facilities were confusing as was unsure where the reception was to get towels.

    Lovely welcoming staff both at reception, spa and restaurant. Bedrooms and bathrooms very clean and well maintained. Restaurant food is very high quality and fairly priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    The room was worth way more than we paid.
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was worth way more than we paid. Fab stay and would definitely recommend. Only stayed for one night as had a christening in Shevvington. Would like be to come again and use the facilities.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    A++
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only starts at 8am on the weekends. Would be good to start at 7:30 so you could grab something before heading to an event in Wigan for 8am

    Friendly staff and a fantastic leisure facility

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    very enjoyable with great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lifts to the second floor economy rooms - anybody with a disablement will have to manage a small stair case and a number of heavy corridor doors to open towards them.

    excellent leisure center on sight and great spa. Good choice if food with plenty of options. Very easy access from and to the M6.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful sutroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived check in was a little chaotic with 3 guests being asked to take a seat as housekeeping hadn't confirmed rooms were ready. Bathroom was not cleaned adequately, soap scum on bottom of bath. Room was dusty and cobwebs. Quite disappointed for price for 1 night that standards were not higher for a 4 star hotel.

    Beautiful sutroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television did not work and the remote was held together with sellotape that I did not expect from a 4* establishment but they did move us

    The place is lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel the price I paid for the room should have had breakfast included and the additional price of £17.95pp for breakfast, I think, is extortionate; it would have been nice to get up and have a leisurely breakfast but on principle we decided to eat elsewhere.

    Friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little out of the way but knew that before booking and not an issue.

    Comfy bed, excellent shower overall a very good stay but only used it as a bed for the night so no use of the facilities but deffo stay there again if the price is right!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    It was pleasant enough we only needed it for somewhere close for a family christening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a broken ankle and found whole hotel very disabled unfriendly too many doors to negotiate a lift down to cafe was fine but then four steps to get down to cafe or spa

    Cushions in bedroom looked lovely breakfast in bedroom was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely short stay in excellent hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ok

    Lovely room, well-appointed and clean!! En-suite bathroom sparkling!! Buffet breakfast hot and plentiful and waitress service for drinks excellent despite the fact the dining room was busy!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    That the Hotel was surrounded by fields.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing about this hotel I did not like was the excess of fire doors. Everywhere was partitioned off by doors and more doors. Who ever designed the Hotel had a phobia about fire. The Hotel is set in a country club surrounding and has fields all around it. I do not understand the fire threat?

    That the Hotel was surrounded by fields.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good and we expect to book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could have done with more help on arrival to get to our room. The luggage trolley needs some attention!

    Excellent for our purposes, which was visiting family close by. We were concerned though that with a young baby we may have been disturbing the rooms around us. We could hear their TV, presumably they could hear our baby, although he wasn't really unsettled, but he did make some noise. Very helpful desk staff, but difficult access to our room with pram and wheels and although there was a lift, we still had a short flight of stairs to negotiate each time we left the room to get to the lift.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not clean on arrival - black hair & fluff on floor. Bin not emptied of previous occupants waste. No bedside drawers or drawers suitable for lingerie/personal items/ nightwear etc. Single Pillow too low, two pillows too high.

    Evening meal Quiet room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were cold and gave us fan heater!! Be careful looks nice but rooms are too cold for children. Heating switched off in floor! Breakfast was horrid!! Room service poor. When complained no manager came!! Shoddy service. None of the equipment in rooms work like hairdryer and face is key to second room but still did not work!! Rubbish

    Not a lot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    Lovely night, may not be first choice for another trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in room was terrible, had hardly any channels for an executive room. Breakfast was not included in room price and priced at 14.99 PP next day (went hungry!!)

    Very Modern, Staff friendly Bennett’s Restaurant pricy but service and food was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall, had a nice stay, particularly our dinner in the restaurant and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Executive Room - robes, slippers and pool towels should be a minimum expectation of an executive room, so too, a magnifying mirror in the bathroom and better hairdryer and kettle. TV lounge for relaxing over lunch and drinks in the daytime would have been nice.

    Staff were very friendly and efficient, restaurant food and service was fabulous. Rooms a bit disappointing - expected a bit more finesse from an Executive Room, having booked two of them! Both rooms were very cold and couldn't adjust air conditioning. No robes to get to the leisure pool, towels arrangement for swimming pool were confusing, which left us all having to dry off using the hairdryer in the changing rooms! Kettle was faulty, hairdryer very 'dated', no magnifying mirror in bathroom. Dinner, however, and breakfast were great and staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Had hoped to watch rugby internationals and have lunch the following day, but no tv 'lounge' facility to do that at the hotel, which was surprising. Would stay again, but with lower expectations!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.5
    Lovely hotel and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff just standing around and chatting when we needed service. Same at breakfast. Lots of items had run out but staff just talking and following each other around. Toaster only made warm bread. Poor selection of fruits. Restaurant, breakfast and reception very stuffy and hot. Could hardly breath!

    Lovely hotel and facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was cracked and glued back together. The room had a musty smell. I tried to open the window, however the moment I touched the handle it felt loose so didn’t want to chance it falling off. Corridors smelled a bit funky perhaps could recommend doing an industrial clean. Was horrified to see that there is a £5 charge for an ice bucket.

    We were only in the hotel to sleep. Did not use facilities. The room was clean. What little interaction we had with the staff, they came across friendly. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.0
    Cold, cold, cold. Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this hotel was cold - or colder than it should be. The heating in our first room wasn't working properly. The 'heated' towel rail was stone cold. The corridor leading to our room was cold. We asked to be moved - and the second room (and corridor) was equally low on warmth. And the fan, which was blowing tepid air, was so noisy the whole system had to be turned off to sleep. We had to request blankets to get through the night. Even the pool temp wasn't anywhere near the advertised 28 degrees. And just generally the pool/spa facilities were looking 'tired'.

    The 'executive' room we chose was very well furnished and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.2
    Convenient but uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are dreadful - rock hard and small - a 5 ft bed for an executive room. Take a look at Sofitel's - they pride themselves on comfort and sleep. I wont go back. The greeting on reception at arrival was curt!

    The convenience to where I needed to go and the closeness to the M6. Ample parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.0
    disappointing, I had expected more knowing the area a little bit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was cold, aprox 18C, A/C only blew air of same temp despite set to 25C shower was part defective and extremely difficult to set and keep to a pleasant temp selection of beers/ales on draught very disappointing food available between 21:00-22:00 very disappointing breakfast buffet very simple more suitable for a B&B, with various odd sized plates too hot to pick up and overcooked fried eggs corridors were cold and the route to the rooms was awkward, seems like the hotel rooms was an after-thought added to a conference facility. not a hotel for international guests!

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Very convenient but more attention needed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very hard My lamb chops 70% fat, should not have been serve!d Need attention to detail. Light not working, towel rail not working properly.

    Location excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    The windows in the room didn't close properly, so cold...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows in the room didn't close properly, so cold and noise were an issue, as was my concern for safety as this was a ground floor room . I moved my laptop to the car whilst I visited the gym as I was unhappy at leaving any valuables in the room. The cold draught through said part open window was rather chilling on a February evening, and the noise from people using the leisure club just a distraction I don't want. Just a bit of maintenance needed , and this sums up the overall impression of the hotel .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Check in staff very unhelpful as had booked for 4 people via...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff very unhelpful as had booked for 4 people via Booking.com and they charged £30 extra for two camp beds even though price given on booking.com was for 4. They were totally unshifting. Made the visit (for a funeral) even more stressful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff, gorgeous decor and fabulous facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff, gorgeous decor and fabulous facilities! We ate at the restaurant - the food and service were both exceptional. We used the pool in the morning with our 8 month old baby. The temperature of the pool was lovely and perfect for our baby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable and just fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was fantastic

    Everything! Location (for the hospital the next day) staff were warm, welcoming and extremely polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Kindly booked me a taxi for the following morning. Room was beautiful, bed was extremely comfortable. Fantastic place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Good stay.......eventually. Lovely staff that looked after us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First room had warm air heating which was useless. Fortunately staff worked hard to relocate us to a room with proper heating! DO NOT purchase breakfast through booking.com. They charged £17pp whereas I could have bought it direct for £12.95. CHECK room rate direct with hotel.........I could have saved 20%

    Our second room was excellent in all respects other than having to use 3 flights of stairs with luggage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    Ok ish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived about 1830 were told there may not be hot water at the room due to a boiler problem I asked if that was the case would we get a discount because I had just finished work and drove from Manchester so needed a shower the gentleman at reception replied you don't have to stay here quit abruptly we didnt have any option we were at a 50th at 1930

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Perfect Establishment All Round
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer a slightly later check out time, I feel 10.30 could be extended to 11.30 as an option.

    Extremely attentive friendly staff, within the hotel and restaurant. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Room service was very good, nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.2
    Freezing cold rooms and hotel, never stay again or recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were freezing cold, so were the corridors outside, never stayed as in place so cold, heard others quests complaining about this to when checking in,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Restaurant food excellent, particularly the steaks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No separate bar area.

    Restaurant food excellent, particularly the steaks. Great pool and gym facilities. Perfect location for M6 stopover. Comfortable room and bed, good value breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Modern well designed hotel in right place for our purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool, changing facilities not well designed, poorly signed, confusing, drafty and not that clean.

    Good food in restaurant and breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Great Facilities, Great Staff, Excellent location for M6 and Wrightington Orthopaedic Hospital
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very firm and only a Queen size for an executive room. Uncomfortable.

    A very accessible Hotel within easy reach of Junction 27 of the M6. Good facilities with health centre and pool. Good restaurant. Great staff and good service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Stay was ok nothing special but not bad hotel either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got make up on my duvet and ate a biscuit in bed, was surprised to see they didn't change the bed set in the morning and crumbs were still in my bed from night before. Had ordered room service,asked if I could get a boiled egg for my husband as he has a bad stomach but reception told me no. Ordered 3 sets of sandwiches that were dull to say the least. Two slices of bread buttered with 2 slices of cheese and nachos on the plate with them and dry lettuce, no sauce with it. Ordered cappuccino but it never arrived, called to inform desk staff but no apology just "ah ok".

    Bed was comfortable and room was clean and nicely set out.Lovely decorated hotel and location is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    id stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    few stains on the carpet, bathroom grout and bath seal very old and needs replacing, furtiture light dust and bed very hard

    Staff friendly and helpful, location great, food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and quiet, if a bit expensive for "bed only"
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all electric sockets seemed to be working. Limited tea & coffee in room

    Comfortable bed. Very good shower. Quiet room despite hotel hosting a wedding reception that evening

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel and an overall enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people next door was very loud, there was a door inbetween the rooms so it was a lot louder. They was disturbing us for 4 and a half hours and we couldn’t sleep because of them, so next time I would love no door inbetween rooms.

    The breakfast was gorgeous and the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Best in erea
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast in the room was resolved at check out but silly fault shouldn't really of happened

    Comfortable,clean and nothing to much trouble stayed here a few times now and wouldn't book anywhere else in the area now

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    There is plenty of parking available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not cleaned properly. The breakfast does not have any light options; it was essentially a full English, cereal and some cheese/cold cuts. However, the staff did provide some veggies on request.

    There is plenty of parking available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable room but check out far too early
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in at 2pm was originally told room may not be ready then offered one which was along a few corridors and down some steps after going up in the lift. Slightly bizarre especially as I walk with crutches which was not a major issue but could have been for others in my situation. Also the check out time of 10-30am was one of the earliest I've encountered especially on a weekend. The carpet could have been cleaner, bathroom clean but needed some attention.

    Room was nice and large, bed comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Best yet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Weather

    The Whole Package Was great, the evening meal was possibly the best i have enjoyed . i have been travelling throughout the country on business and pleasure for over thirty years and can honestly say this was our most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Good but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have given us a little more information about the opening and closing times of the spa. I also booked a table for the restaurant and when I arrived at the restaurant the booking wasn't there and they nearly turned us away as it was 15 minutes away from last orders, felt like we were an inconvenience. The restaurant also automatically take 10% tip off your bill which I thought was wrong! Our room key stopped working also. No air conditioning in the rooms either as it was very warm.

    Swimming pool and jacuzzi. Steam room was also very good. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    A great place for a family gathering, reasonably priced, comfortable bedrooms and public spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The function room we were in was a bit claustrophobic, the lack of windows also made it very airless on a summer's evening.

    Excellent value for money. The hotel is very comfortable and the executive rooms are a very good size. Good location very close to the motorway but in a countryside setting. Superb breakfast. There's also a good spa/pool/gym on site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Overall disappointed, still waiting to be contacted by hotel manager as was promised by receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 2 nights and room wasn't cleaned, hence bed not made or tea/coffee/milk or bathroom shower soaps not replenished. Walls are paper thin so you can hear everything from neighbouring rooms including the room above.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Easy to find good stopping off point from M6 to break our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at reception to be told that there was no record of us having a booking !! Obviously this was very alarming especially as we had promised our grandson a lovely break from the journey and a swim.We did have confirmation of the booking with us and fortunately the hotel did have two rooms available for that night.Eventually we were able to relax and enjoy our stay. We are not sure where the fault occurred the hotel told us Booking.com had not told them of our booking. The hotel breakfast was too expensive for us but we were aware of this before hand and we were able to make coffee in the room.

    Easy to find good stopping off point from M6 to break our journey with an 8yr old. Swimming great and easy to access. Very comfortable clean rooms, and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.8
    Would have been ok for a standard base rate, disappointed as paid for a tier 3 room not tier 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't as advertised as a Exec double for example no sky tv in the room which i paid for and a standadd double bed instead of a large double. Also every cup/glass i was given had lipstick or other marks on the..

    Nice grounds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Served its purpose for the wedding we were attending nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the room & the breakfast. Bed not very comfy & some aspects of the room are in need of a little tlc.

    Setting was lovely, staff friendly & obliging.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    This hotel took us a bit by surprise. It was better than we were expecting and we shall stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a shame that the Wi-Fi developed a fault overnight but it was fixed quickly

    The staff. Well trained, friendly and efficient The entire facility was spotlessly clean. The free Wi-Fi was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Shaky start manager sorted promptly excellent after
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a wobbly start the staff we fine. But I had to get quite cross. There was no water on arriving then they proceeded to ask for an extra £20 to check out an hour later than allowed. No one offered to take my bags which was a long way to the room they just watched me struggle. When I said something they just argued with me. The manager had to sort it out and apologised. Restaurants too expensive

    Lovely airy room. big windows You can open , and lovely trees. Beds were Very comfy good tv channels. Great shower. Clean spacious great value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    Sufficiant for the stay for 2 nights for a hospital visit but would not reccomend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of in room facilities, specifically tea bags and milk. Reception staff unfriendly On check out receptionist had not finished serving me before answering the phone to another customer while managing my payment. This is very poor customer service. Family member who was discharged from hospital after a knee operation was asked to leave the restaurant due to wearing shorts, despite being on crutches and having a large dressing on the knee.... The restaurant was very nearly empty. A nearby pub was used for food instead. Using the swimming pool facility with a small child having to walk through the main reception area to the pool wrapped in a towel, this in my professional opinion is risking a safeguarding issue with females and children.

    Room design was good, Parking was good, Location to Wrightington hospital good,

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: