Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wychnor Park Country Club By Diamond Resorts 4 stars

Nr. Barton Under Needwood, Barton under Needwood, DE13 8BU, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Barton under Needwood

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 452 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    A Great Place To Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a wonderful two night break at Wychnor Park Country club, my two bedroom apartment was absolutely perfect. Very high standard of cleanliness, and very well equipped. Restaurant and bar was welcoming, and enjoyed watching England play during the football world cup. Near to the wonderful National Memorial Arboretum, which I highly recommend you visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    A grt stopover or holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I saw a child who I thought was my daughter walk from our bedroom to the kitchen...it wasn't!! Lets just say we were not alone during the night. A very maevalant atmosphere.....but we're not scarred!!!

    Everything!!! A wonderful building, fantastic apartment thoughtfully kitted out with all our needs taken care of. Staff were professional and natural...thank you so much.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations. Pleasantly surprised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi costs but probably worth the price as it worked perfectly on our 4 devices.

    We stayed in a bungalow and it far exceeded our expectations. 2 adults and 4 children under 7. The rooms were spacious. Had a full kitchen and everything had been though of. I couldn't fault it. Despite other families staying there it was very quiet. Onsite facilities were excellent. Overall it was Brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Homely hall in stunning surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a personal preference, the bed in the log cabin was too hard- even with the topper and an extra duvet under. The pool was cold, said on the wall that it had been 30° at 10am but at 2pm, it most definitely was nowhere near 30°!

    -Beautiful countryside location -wonderful staff -lovely log cabin -spankingly clean and tidy -little thoughtful touches like a note from the housekeeping on arrival -options for freshly delivered croissants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    If you want self catering excellent if not stay away
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Emailed for early check in Had no idea that I had then hit me hard with cost for early check in I explained that I knew the cost and had requested it Franchise bar and restaurant have giving up in this day and age no service at 1030 but start closing at 9:00 Staffs attitude at best rude

    Unit was satisfactory

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Modern, clean, well equipped apartment for family weekend with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not huge choice on kids menu. Awful lighting on landing on a sensor. Far too bright - kept everyone awake whenever someone went to toilet in night.

    Extremely clean, modern well-equipped 2 bed apartment. Great facilities to entertain kids for a weekend. Bar menu food bit average. Great staff. Complimentary ice lollies in heat on sat afternoon was a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely peaceful time at wynchnor and would definitely recommend it for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we had paid for the all inclusive use of WiFi, pool etc we had to pay a rental fee of £1:50 for each towel at the pool..

    The accommodation was lovely and all amenities on sight were within a short walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Perfect one night retreat to recharge batteries and have a much needed relax away from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that I was disappointed with was the charge for the Wi-Fi. This should have been stated on the information provided in the room. No one like the extra charges on check out if they are not expected.

    We got a cabin which was a lovely surprise. Everything was perfect, bed comfy, kitchen beautiful, exceptionally clean. Although we didn't use the facilities we did have a look around and cannot fault any thing. I will be returning but for longer than one night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    An incredible stay! Thank you!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you to everyone at the Wychnor Park Country Club for providing such an amazing experience for our students! We loved the stay; we didn’t want to leave. The apartments, staff and facilities were fantastic and it is located in the most beautiful setting. Thank you for providing memories that will last a lifetime. P.S - we won our National Cup Final, so staying with you was the most perfect preparation. Now you can say you have accommodated National Champions! Thank you, we hope to return soon!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Exellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes at all

    Very private and very helpful team my partener has a disability and was helped in pool and jacuzzi rooms are outstanding would def go again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing, option of bar, restaurant or cooking in your own...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shouldn't be paying for wifi.. it should be just included in the rate.

    Relaxing, option of bar, restaurant or cooking in your own room. Nice setting, good facilities, spacious / clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Good quiet location, no light or noise polution. Promised much, failed to deliver.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad service from reception, forced to wait nearly two hours to obtain room and fobbed off whilst waiting to do so. Ants in main room and kitchen area.

    Good beds, good view across River Trent valley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Idyllic surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I called two weeks before to make a booking for the bar upon arrival we were told they had no record and didnt take bookings for the bar which was annoying. In the evening whilst the staff were friendly the bar service was poor for food and drinks, with long waits for drinks and waiting to take the order. We also had to prompt them on several occasions and two of our drinks were wrong. At the end of the meal we waited for ages to pay (our card was kept behind the bar) eventually we were told that we had to pay at the bar which was fine but we just weren't informed. They staff seemed to be spread very thin between the restaurant and the bar area. The food itself was lovely and no complaints about the quality or time it took to come out. Everything else was just a struggle and spoilt it really.

    Beautiful surroundings and very clean. Friendly atmosphere. Apartments had all facilities catered for. Would have loved to stay for longer!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Alton tower's break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Depending on your route in, can be a bit confusing finding

    Stunning views from around the grounds, kids loved it. Will definitely be looking for another stay 👍👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful relaxing stay visiting family in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff are exceptional,genuinely happy to help. The apartment was very spacious and comfortable with lovely showers and comfy beds. The surrounding areas are beautiful, being fields and lovely views...we played tennis and used the pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great facilities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed that having booked 3 apartments at the same time they were not located next to each other as we had a baby so that made socialising in the evening much more difficult. When this was raised after check in the staff were not very helpful.

    Great facilities and location. Lovely food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £8 charge for Wi-Fi. Turn off on the main carriage road not as visible.

    Facilities, kitchen amenities, bathroom and bedroom. The grounds looked beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Really really friendly staff apart from the moody racist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast is served which was a bit disappointing but you can make your own as each room has a kitchen. Also if you have no car then do not stay here you will Completely isolated.

    Really really friendly staff apart from the moody racist lady that worked in the leisure centre who clearly didn’t like Asians nor children . The rest though couldn’t do enough for you and we were really impressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and check out time. Check in was 4pm but checkout is 10am I thinkthey both need adjusting slightly

    Everything it was beautiful a real gem and perfect for kids

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Comfort, peace and a chance to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot find fault with anything….

    The Lodge that we were allocated was great. It was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. The view was lovely too…..with squirrels and birds for company….walks through woodland on the doorstep…..a brilliant restaurant for pour evening meal…. with helpful staff. We had everything we needed for a relaxed stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Quiet location and extremely clean facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection weak, additional charge to use WiFi is terrible, £10 for burger meal is not fair, there should be cooked hot meal available to buy. Shower in the main bedroom wasn't working-it either too hot or too cold. We used the one in the 2nd room.

    Very clean apartment,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Really good and brilliant for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water tank had been left on constant and made a noise all night on the first night of our stay. We switched it off the second night and all slept better

    Beautiful location and grounds. Clean pool, lovely tennis courts and kids loved crazy golf.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money and picturesque
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were so friendly and helpful, Sunday lunch was excellent and bed very comfortable with views from the restaurant breath-taking in the snow. will definitely stay here again for a longer stay in the summer

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    This is really is a home from home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very modern and clean. The rooms are expectional! Very well spec'd everything you will need is provided. Super clean kictchen and bathrooms. This is really is a home from home. Its location is superb and its sooo quiet!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, accommodation and amenities, we were so pleased that we chose to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked daily restocking and cleaning since we stayed so long, or alternatively have enough for the entire period without having to ask to be restocked.

    The space, layout and facilities were beautiful. The staff were so friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. Very comfy and we would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    Would stay here again. When travelling with young children request non disabled accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Sadly this time the accommodation allocated was not suitable for our group. We had a two year old with us and the accommodation was laid out for a disabled person. This would not have been a problem apart from the fact that there was not a bath and the knife draws and oven were at the perfect height for a two year old to open them.

    This is a very nice hotel in a good location. We stayed here a week before in a different cabin and we could not fault it, plenty of room and the price we paid was a bargain.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    A home away from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was only there for a couple of days

    Very quiet so great nights sleep. Complementary filter coffee is lovely and has very thing you'll need for your stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, quiet and cosy hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not order croissants as I had my own, but the facility was there. The bed was very comfortable, bathrooms were clean and I loved the kitchen facilities, meaning I could stay in and cook my own dinner without the need to eat in the restaurant or bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    Great apartment, limited leisure facilities, difficult to find, especially in the dark
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming/leisure centre had very limited opening hours. I expected it to be open until at least 9pm and reopen at around 7am. As a business traveller this would have made a big difference. Also the price of £10 for use is high considering I would only use it for about 30 mins. Didn't find any of this info online prior to booking and one of the reasons I chose it was because of swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    1st time in a log cabin but not my last, very pleased
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pizza I brought from Mirrisons!

    I stayed in a log cabin, never stayed in one before but I'll deffo do it again. Very pleased....I might say even better than their cottage

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing comfortable stay with friends in beautiful surroundings in a cosy appartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you had to pay for a swim and wi-fi, most hotels these days have free access to their pool and free wi-fi for guests.

    The apartment 26 was well equipped, very comfortable and lovely to chill out at. The hotel was a few minutes walk from apartment (a bit longer due to the slippery snow!-would have been good if the paths had been cleared a bit) Staff very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.4
    Dont bother, looks nice but I wish we had gone to the Premier Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many, many, many things were wrong! The room wasnt ready, they didnt have the right details of our booking. The pool (which is very cold and small) was an extra £10. The bedrooms (despite it being December) had no duvets and we froze. The walls are very thin and you hear everything from the neighbouring rooms. So basically we were cold and sleep deprived. Also the kettle didnt work so couldnt even make a hot drink to warm up. Rubbish, just rubbish.

    Huge family suite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing picturesque family stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little isolated but worth a visit to the Barton Marina only a couple of miles away.

    Really nice quiet setting in country manor grounds. Good quality accommodation. Things for the kids to do like swimming pool, play areas, pool table in the bar. Food was good and golf course well kept.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.4
    Great potential but couldn't get over the smells.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of sewage outside the property and the strange "fishy" smell inside the property when we turned the heating on

    The standard of the accommodate was good and well equipped

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    We did not take full advantage of stay as lack of information .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being informed that we had a suite so did not take breakfast. And they only provide cuisonts. Paying for swimming and paying for late check out. As price is high for stay.

    Peaceful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Just WOW
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fantastic hotel in a lovely location, with great staff in every department, worth every penny and more, I'll definitely be staying again in the near future!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent facilities and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little out of the way. Road to property may suffer from access issues in bad weather (winter).

    Excellent facilities. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    The room that we stayed in was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal in the bar was pretty poor! First time that we have ever complained about a meal!

    The room that we stayed in was lovely! Extremely clean and spacious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value, perfect for families with teenagers, space for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some mould in the shower, mentioned to front desk who are going to have it cleaned properly.

    Two bed apartment had two bathrooms, very spacious, great for family to chill and relax, ideal for making your own healthy meals in the well equipped kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Pretty little stop over wish we could stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time could have been later but for the price we paid we were happy to pay extra for another hour. (Cheaper to not pre book the pool/gym and pay on site for use)

    Great service, nice little housekeeping touches, fully furnished, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.5
    Superb for short or long stay accomodationat at a lovely and accessible country retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it served (for us) as overnight accommodation on a longer journey, rather than an end in itself.

    Quite simply it was a good functional, high standard accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Amazing value and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was so spacious and the kitchen was fantastic . The swimming pool and sauna and steam room was really nice especially as we were the only family in there !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    The weather may vary but the accommodation and hospitality are always first-class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We do not feel that the current catering concession offers as good value as previously, and the menu and food produced are not as enjoyable as they were in the past. We were disappointed to find the outlet is no longer open for breakfast.

    We have visited Wychnor regularly for several years, using it as our place to 'recharge our batteries'. Even when we only stay a few days we return feeling happy and rested. The accommodation is always first-class, the grounds are beautiful and staff of all levels are great. They make us feel welcome and comfortable, keep us entertained and relaxed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Great accommodation and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lodge we stayed in exceeded our expectations. Quality bedding and whole facility was beautiful. Children's food was easily the best we have experienced and we have three children the oldest mid teens.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Great size apartments for families. Few minor details let it down slightly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean. Hairs around the bathtub. Microwave was child locked with no instructions. Wifi should be included rather than an additional £7 per day. £100 security deposit should have been made clearer upon booking.

    Comfortable beds. Good sized rooms. Useful appliances and utensils in kitchen.The two bed apartment was good for a family stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Nice apartments and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to hire your towels when using the facilities it is only £1.50 per towel but we had spent a lot to stop there and I felt they should be included

    Lovely spacious rooms and really helpful staff. Great value for money and the facilities were very nice it was like staying a small house for the weekend. Food in the restaurant was really nice too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Great accommodation and staff but shame about the extra charges for wi-fi, pool and gym
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free wi-fi, and since I last stayed there with my wife and kids, they are now charging for use of pool and gym for guests

    Fantastic apartment with great facilities. Lovely grounds and outlook across the golf course. Dinner was good value and staff we're attentive and professional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    My whole family thought the home we stayed was totally amazing such a lovely place to stay with youn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My whole family thought the home we stayed was totally amazing such a lovely place to stay with young children and so many things for them to do, very clean place and all the staff memebers were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of signage to hotel from the main road.

    Wonderful property. Our accommodation had plenty of space, excellent facilities and was spotlessly clean. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Great facilities but Restaurant quality and options are poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was poor. And not value for money. No breakfast offering. You can order croissants but have to do this before 6pm the night before. If you don't there is nowhere on site to get food and it is quite far from anywhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Great staff, beautiful setting, we had a very happy visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room 22 and having to pay extra for wifi and towels. Would have preferred to pay up front with free stuff. Please do note this!

    Great staff, beautiful setting, we had a very happy visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    A lovely rural retreat.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directions to the Hotel were not very clear, signage from the main road and down the single track lane would be a great a help. Also parking near our allocated apartment was not very clear, we had to walk round the area from the apartment a little to locate where to park.

    The 2 bedroom apartment we had was well equiped with everything you could need for a self catering holiday. The master bedroom bathroom was a good size, well equiped for disabled use, the kitchen is also designed with low work tops, which I guess is for wheelchair users, with easy access to oven, etc. Also good to have the family bathroom. Everything in the apartment is well thought out, even a little patio with table and chairs to sit out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing to have to pay for using the swimming pool

    Excellent quality beds and bedding. Helpful staff Fun entertainment in the evening which the children felt included and enjoyed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay in a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it's a old property we had a lot of spiders join us in the room by the windows.

    Lovely spacious room. Had everything you could need for a self catering stay. Great little park for young children, small crazy golf and small swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Great setup. You basically get a full on apartment with separate bedrooms, kitchen and lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ....... errrrr...... they didn't have a pizza slicer! But hardly a deal breaker 😉

    Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine. They even give you power and dishwasher tablets. Couldn't fault what's supplied. Free to use tennis courts and multi sports court. Just bring your own equipment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.4
    Changed in a month of returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only stayed here a month before returning and it's all changed not only do you have to pay £100 deposit but you also have to pay £10 per day to swim I had 5 people in my apartment. There was only my mum and dad in another and they had to pay £10 too which didn't make sense it should be per person not apartment. The wifi is extortionate £9.99 a day. You don't find any of this till u arrive.

    I do love this place. The area is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Overnight at Wychnor Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in at 4 and check out at 10 (most places we have stayed at are 11-4). Directions to the property should be made very clear our sat nav took us nowhere near the property and we relied on locals directing us ( one of whom had never heard of Wychnor Park although he lived there).

    We stayed in a two bedroom modern apartment in the grounds of Wychnor hall classed as basic in the description. As this was a late booking for one night we were very pleasantly surprised and the apartment exceeded our expectations. Unfortunately we had only booked for one night so did not have time to fully appreciate both the facilities in the appartment and the beautiful surroundings. The appartment was fully equipped with full size oven, dishwasher, washing machine etc. and spacious with an ensuite and separate bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it would be better if the pool and wifi were part of the price. Also to charge £1.50 for towels wasn't great.

    Wychnor is lovely and very child friendly. The pool was great and the grounds were beautiful.Activities in the evening were really fun and the food was lovely. The staff were fantastic and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Peaceful stay with my two daughters,enjoying the pool,tennis and lovely apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You had to pay for the wifi,which I think should be free for guests staying. Small charge for pool,etc but this was ok. Would also be nice if the restaurant offered breakfast/brunch-they did lunch,afternoon tea and dinner.

    Accommodation was really lovely-cottage style with everything you needed and an outside space. Very clean and well designed and maintained. My kids and myself loved the pool and steam room,etc and also the tennis and crazy golf. Wish I had more time there,as would have liked to try the restaurant-menu looked lovely. The staff are all without exception extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to families and we shall be going back! Lovely quiet country side surroundings-very peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Loved the place ! Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiders !! At night there were loads of spiders !

    Loved the place.. great for kids so much space .. apartments are very high end.. we used this as a Our base of thomasland and it was a 15 min drive away.. crazy golf. Pool and lovely playground ! Gardens are fab

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful venue, amazing soul searching experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to pay for the leisure facility

    The grounds were stunning, the views, the overall energy of the resort . The accomodation was amazing, the staff were pleasant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.4
    Rip off
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid £260 for 2 nights on my own as conference hotel nearby full. This is already extortionate for self-catering accommodation. "Never mind" I thought. I'll go and have a nice swim, but no! That costs more money. How can use of the hotel pool not be complimentary when I'm already paying £260 to stay??? How can the manager justify such a blatant, offensive rip-off?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Perfect, brilliant, lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor maintenance trivia: The shower door kept opening on it's own accord, needs adjusting. My brothers apartment had the the wrong tap fittings which made the beautiful bathroom look a bit stupid. Minor stuff but needs someone to take a look every now and then. Whirlpool microwaves and ovens - very nice quality but I nearly threw the microwave out of the window when I found I couldn't work out how to heat a cup of coffee even with the manual out.

    Space, freedom, privacy and tranquillity. The perfect place to go away with a big group without living in each others pockets. Such a beautiful quiet place belying its city location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Good reports!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    This was part of my mother's mothers' day present - I sent them to a concert at Caton Hall. They only stayed one night but they couldn't praise it any more highly. The receptionist was also very helpful when I rang and changed the check in time to the afternoon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Great location let down by the guest experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked specifically for the pool. We wanted to use the facilities after a long day out. However we were told it was Adults Only which was not much use. We were offered the pool the next morning which was available for children at 10am, however check-out time was also 10am. We couldn't get a seat in the restaurant as we were told it was fully booked despite empty tables. We were offered the bar which again didn't have tables available. There was no hot water in the room and we had to make our own bed up for the children.

    Clean and modern accomodatiom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    2.9
    Not Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to arrival, I received an email from the venue telling me of all the facilities available at the 'country club' and all at additional expense! Had it not been a convenient stopover location, I would have cancelled then. Directions to the site are extremely poor. There are a number of routes in that are blocked by private gates and the only one advised on the site is still misleading. The accommodation was dated, in need of repair and redecorating, and smelt musty on arrival. The plinth under the units in the kitchen kept falling over. Although we booked a large 'suite' for a family of 5, we were given a 6-berth; the 5th bed being a sofa-bed in the downstairs lounge. Overall, not a great start to our holiday.

    The grounds looked stunning, but we weren't there long enough to appreciate them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Average for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was marginal. Pool hours were not conducive to children enjoying the pool. Definitely aging property cratering to elder clientele.

    Grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should be included, after all it's free on most bus next works and many pubs and restaurants

    Setting is beautiful and the accommodation has everything you need, Pool was at a nice temperature and plenty of activities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful 70th birthday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a bit of breakfast choice.

    Great staff, food was very good and reasonably priced. Accommodation bang up to date, spacious and clean. Lots to do for all the family. Would recommend for all ages.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    Not guest friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure facilities closed at 20.30 and didn't open again until 08.30 meaning, as I arrived at 20.15, I couldn't use them and that was the main reason for booking this accommodation. Also last orders for dinner is 20.45 meaning that I had to rush upstairs and shower to get back down in time for dinner as the bar area had "entertainment" on which, appeared to be a group of 30 odd getting ready for Bingo or similar. Open areas are very dated. Evening staff were not particularly friendly.

    Room/apartment was nice and good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Excellent family friendly appartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike

    I loved the space in the 2 bedroom apartment. Two large bedrooms - one ensuite. We also had plenty of space in the seating/ dining area and kitchen. The entire apartment was fitted to the highest standard with . Often you don't get one decent TV - we had 3 in our apartment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful, luxurious accommodation at an affordable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charges for the swimming pool and wi-if were £16 for 24 hours; the wi-fi at least should of been free in this day and age.

    Beautiful accommodation, I have never stayed in an apartment so large and well equipped!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    I love this place it's a good stop gap.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay for room and also £100 security deposit they say u get that back when u leave but u don't. You have to wait 3-5 days which I didn't know. So if your paying. Pay it in cash. The duty manager is a bit rude.

    I love this place it's a good stop gap. They cater for big crowds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Second time there and will definitely go back hopefully!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi ,

    We have a assistant dog for our son and the grounds were excellent for her. Also my son is an escape artist and the log cabins were very secure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.1
    Very comfortable apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a charge for using wifi and to use the pool / leisure facilities (£10 per person). When paying well over £200 for a night, it surprised us that these were extras and not included.

    Very comfortable apartment. Spacious. Well equipped. Nice restaurant and good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: