Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wykeham Arms 4 stars

75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester, SO23 9PE, United Kingdom

#4 of 11 hotels in Winchester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great room, perfect location and a very well kept cellar including an excellent pint of London Pride
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent night away in a great location. The room was very comfortable and impressively spacious and the bed a dream to sleep on. Would absolutely recommend the Wykeham Arms to anyone wanting to stay in a pub with the bonus of a room you would expect from a boutique hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing beautiful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lady with glasses spoke very rudely to us upon leaving our car keys with her.

    Everything , room was amazing , facilities , drinks on arrival , mini bar in room with free drinks, massive comfy bed , everything you needed. Walk into city centre lots of restaurants . Amazing staff that welcomed us, she explained all the basics and made us feel welcome, lovley lady at bar who served us and answered any questions we had. Great experience

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice to stay in for one or two days close to the centre of Winchester, lovely furnished rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pefect located in 5 minutes walking distance to Winchester Cathedral. Very good food for diner and very good breakfast. Friendly staff. Rooms are nicely done up, spacious and modern bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Excellent through and through, better then corporate hotels, they still care!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park could be a little bigger but we all coped and the staff managed moving cars. Great to be able to park on site.

    The staff were exceptional, every body was so friendly and responsive to our needs. We were in the annexe and the accommodation was excellent, Also enjoyed lunch at the café adjacent and getting provisions from the shop next to us. Could not fault it and will be back, hopefully soon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    A very interesting historical pub hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it is a pub it was noisy until nearly midnight because the room was near to the kitchen. The menu is not allergy friendly. As someone who has a dairy and meat allergy, the only meal available to me was brocolli!

    Lovely characterful room with good facilities including free water and beer in the fridge. Helpful staff and friendly welcome. Very good location near to the Cathedral, Jane Austen's house and the riverside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful quiet retreat in a special town rich in history with great food and nature walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    The room was not big but well fitted with lots of natural light. Situated in a building across the street with a nice view on a quiet street and aptly named "Street". The bathroom was also light and well fitted perfect for our needs. Three flights of narrow stairs which added to the authenticity of the room and fitting with the history of Winchester with help from the staff to get the luggage up and down the stairs. The little fridge on the wall with complimentary still and sparkling water as well as a beer. The location was great on the edge of the town with lots of pathways nearby to spend time walking/running next to the streams/canals admiring the meadows and forest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    I wanted history and got it, in beautiful Winchester
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The hotel is in the heart of Winchester, it’s so atmospheric, very clean room, friendly staff. Even the rickety steep stairs was ok.I would recommend the tour of the Cathedral,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Quirky pub with top notch rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -It was very noisy (too noisy to sleep) until about 11:15 due to the pub garden being just below the bedroom window and the fact it was only single glazed. -Be careful of the sneakily priced breakfast! On the menu for cooked food it says ‘help yourself to the buffet’ which implies it’s included in the cooked breakfast cost, so we each had a small plate (between us we had a little fruit and a croissant) to supplement our hot dish, purely because we thought it was included. It’s not-our breakfast for two cost £30 and it was very mediocre. The buffet was a side table with a plate of sliced fruit, some yoghurt pots, cereals and milk (no dairy free or gluten free available) and croissants. If you have one small item or one of everything, it costs £7:50, so our advice is to either eat the lot or don’t have anything!

    Great to have parking in centre of Winchester. Room was large with both bath and large shower. Huge bed with very comfortable mattress, duvet and pillows-slept very well. Beautiful furnishings-everything top quality. Felt like a luxury stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Great food, location and service, but loft rooms are too hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a deluxe double, the room was very nicely finished and a comfortable size, however the room was in the converted loft and it was so hot we struggled to sleep. A fan was provided but it wasn't enough. The room needs air conditioning. The outside temperature was only 22 during the day so I can imagine what it's like when it's really hot. Avoid the loft rooms

    The staff couldn't do enough. The foot was excellent. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Everything, room,chapel view was beautifully appointed, bed was very comfortable. Every little thi g had been thought of. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Service at the bar and food was excellent. The pub is in a brilliant position.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    The single room was very small, but I liked the fan and the small fridge. The food unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full English breakfast extremely disappointing. I couldn't eat the bacon,it was like hard plastic. For the price of the breakfast you expect it to be of high quality, even the cheapest of breakfasts is better than that.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Centre city gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mix up with our room but very quickly sorted out and we got a complimentary drink while we waited so not really a negative!!

    Great location easy walk to cathedral and town. Very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing room with a bath!! Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Loved it, would recommend and would return myself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very narrow and winding stairs up to the room - had I known this I would have accepted the offer of staff to carry our bags to the room. Really that should be a general rule, because it could even be a safety risk.

    The bathrooms were well appointed and the breakfast was spiffing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Really excellent and central place to stay in central Winchester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing but just watch the step outside the Kelsey bedroom. My friend tripped there.

    I have been to the pub many times but didn't realise they had rooms. I booked it due to it's location. On the website the rooms looked fantastic and they didn't disappoint. I have paid a lot more for less luxurious rooms in other locations. We were in the rooms across from the pub. They were beautifully furnished and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and beautifully served. I didn't eat this time in the pub but have done in the past and the food is excellent. I fully intend to stay there again. I was with 2 visitors from Northern Ireland and they too were really impressed. This was a really enjoyable stay and the staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    A lovely and ideally situated hotel, will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking forward to a meal but were too late

    We arrived fairly late in the evening having driven from Portsmouth, the room was beautifully appointed, with complementary beer! The en suite bathroom was wonderful complete with roll top bath. The breakfast was excellent and made up for the fact that we missed dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all top scores

    Room was beautiful, and very comfortable. The roll top bath was luxurious. Very clean, everything I needed and more. Breakfast and dinner was excellent, and staff very friendly and helpful. I will certainly be back for more of everything!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention, everything was absolutely perfect!

    Amazing! Hotel and restaurant really recommended. The chapel view room is stunning, beautiful view, beautiful furniture, spacious and even equipped with a nespresso machine! If you are around stop to have a stay there, it is worth!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    The Wykham Arms is lovely, with very friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am afraid to say the bedroom was not comfortable as we were in an attic room and it so very hot. The staff very kindly gave us another fan as the original fan didn't work, but it was uncomfortable as it was pretty unbearable. Everything else was lovely, apart from breakfast finishing at 9.00am, which is very early.

    The Wykham Arms is lovely, with very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, very well run and good quality all round
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a little pricey comparatively, but a very good experience

    Very pleasant environment, staff really helpful and efficient. Room, small but very well equipped and very clean. Food and beer was very good, though a little pricey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    One of our favorite lodging stays on our 8 stop tour of England.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved our stay here and wish we could have stayed longer! Our room was very clean and looked to be recently updated with new furnishings for pleanty of storage space, seating and a bathroom with modern amenities so you get the historical vintage look with a very comfortable room. This place was very close to the Winchester Cathedral and easy walking distance to other pubs and shops. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in their restaurant and both were very good and the pub looked very invisting. I highly reccommend this place! Only other note is to be prepared for narrow stairways.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Already said.....everything I wished for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite steep stairs to room on top floor

    Room was charming, old style as hoped, but comfortable with excellent bathroom. Restaurant/bar was lively and colourful, food and service excellent. Highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    A genuine iconic pub with rooms. A must visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is getting a tad pricey I think. And sometimes it feels less polished in certain areas.

    The Wykeham is always a treat. A proper old fashioned genuine pub with a great authentic bar (and locals) as well as lovely rooms and food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    All in all a good stay ...little things could have made it better ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath robes as advertised in superior room. Hard pillows. Noisy with people walking about in room above , overnight and early morning .

    Staff were friendly and welcoming. Central for cathedral and city. On site parking. Lovely old pub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    I just wanted a good nights sleep which I didn’t get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road to car park was closed. Not enough parking spaces. Fire alarm went off at 5am, no apology at checkout. Bin men outside my window before the fire alarm.

    Room was nice, decent pub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    The room had been fabulously designed and interior decorated.
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was on the "light" side. Small portions and very limited "buffet". Checkout time was to early.

    The room had been fabulously designed and interior decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    A lovely spot for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The muddle of rooms in the pub/restaurant were good to look at but we ended up in the tiny back room next to the kitchen both times we ate. (It would have been more comfortable to eat in the bar). The place is very popular so book before you arrive if you want to eat at the time you want (and the food is very good).

    Lovely big room with a bath in the corner (and a proper big bathroom with a wonderful shower as well) with a view over roof tops in a building across the road from the pub. Up some very steep stairs. The bar is nice and peaceful. Parking is OK, once you have found the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Comfy room, helpful staff and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever. We were sorry to leave!

    The food is really excellent. The three nights we were there we had dinner in the restaurant. Do not miss the shepherds pie! Also delicious thyme chicken. The bar is dog friendly and all dogs very well behaved. Our room was at the top of 2 flights of stairs which we had no problem with, but if you have issues you might speak to them before booking. En-suite bathroom looked brand new and room beautifully decorated. Very comfy and homelike. Don’t miss the scones in the Saint George Tearoom which is directly across from the Wyndham Arms and owned by same.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location, good food and comfortable beds.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the top floor difficult to maneuver. A member of staff kindly helped going up. However with a heavy case it was dangerous coming down. Also the fire doors make quite a noise when closing which I found woke me up.

    Room small but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was in an annexe which was disappointing as had hoped to be in the hotel itself. The stairs to the room were very steep which was a problem for my partner and would have been impossible for anyone with even slightly less mobility. We had not been warned in advance that the room was not in the main building and about the steep and narrow stairs.

    The staff were helpful and courteous and the hotel is full of character. Food and beer were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It is in an excellent location and has its own car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    The location was Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was in an old building the bed was not level and I kept rolling out. The bathroom door was not on a latch and to open it you had to rug extremely hard. I needed to use the metal key to lever it open

    The location was Great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the quirky decor and the shortbread in the room each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the building site opposite, they started early in the morning with deliveries etc.

    Nice and quirky, great breakfast,excellent smoked salmon. Ate twice in restaurant,very good. The situation ideal for the city centre and cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room great location in Winchester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to really hang clothes properly just pegs on the wall which is ok for 1 night but not longer. For the price somewhere to sit in the room would have been nice.

    Location fabulous. Room small but v comfortable. Staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    It's a shame that such a lovely room in most respects was spoilt by poorly performing electric goods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had specifically booked a super-king bed, but they tried to give me two different rooms with ordinary king size beds, before "finding" their super-king room. We were unable to get the television to work and asked for help. The duty receptionist did her best but had no luck, so said that someone would sort it out while we were out for the evening. Unfortunately, it was still not working when we got back, but being late ,we said no more. There was a slim-line wall mounted fridge next to the bed which made annoying noises in the night, so our sleep was disturbed several times.

    The bed was really comfy and the bathroom facilities were good. The room was delightful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location in beautiful Winchester with great London Pride beer and first class food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Originally we were offered a room in the annex but the stairs are extremely steep.However, relocated to main building when this was pointed out to the lovely 'Nelson' room.

    Magnificent breakfast and lunch. Great service throughout our stay.This is a fine English Pub with the highest standards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Food, Drinks and close to the centre - good allround
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom in Cannon room a bit small

    It is a quaint pub but very busy as a local on a Friday and Saturday so you may have to stand but it is such a lovely place it was no problem. Staff were exceptional and the pub itself was fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice food well presented and prepared.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An extortionate £7:45 for a pint of lager with my meal, Next time I will get it myself from the bar and take it through to the dining room

    Nice food well presented and prepared. Room recently upgraded and redecorated very nicely and sympathetically. Great that they take dogs, more hotels should do this and miss out on a lot of business because of this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Disorganised check in and room too hot with faulty radiator
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an appalling check in, was met by someone who had no idea that we were trying to check into our room and keep saying the restaurant was fully booked and we had a dog with us - they were making no sense, then another girl came to help and was equally as useless saying she didn't know how to check someone in. The radiator in our room had a faulty valve and we were unable to turn the heat down all night.

    the room was well decorated with a nice big en-suite, fridge in the room was a nice touch with fresh milk and a coffee machine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and nice rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were a bit thin, some noise during the night.

    Excellent location and really nice rooms, recently renovated. The breakfast was really nice -particularly the croissants! Bathroom shower was great! The restaurant was also very good - really tasty good food and nice athmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    An enjoyable stay & we would come again ,breakfast was good also .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was we were at the very top of the house & fine for us as we are fit & able but anyone who wasn’t quite able would have a problem & the stairs were narrow & winding &!we weren’t asked of this would be a problem .

    The room was amazing everything you could wish for , clean ,comfortable & quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Valuable and reasonable stay in Winchester
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Due to the structure of the hotel, you can hear the noise from the other guests very loudly. The hotel should require all guest to be quiet.

    Very clean room. Friendly staff. Nice and cozy pub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, very enjoyable, would love to return one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast waitress could have been a little more attentive.

    Wonderful location, very historical, gorgeous decoration and furnishings, spacios bedroom with a large attractive bath tub in the room, lovely modern ensuite, delicious dinner and good service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Lovely professional yet personal service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great experience from start to finish. The hotel was really central and everything was easily accessible. The free parking was an excellent bonus too - especially in Winchester! My room was recently renovated, and had everything you’d need. Good choice of dinning options and lovely, personal service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful Wyekham Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room - the Bakehouse suite - beautiful bathroom, fabulous bedroom and a stunning living space. The bar was fantastic, great drinks and a great meal. This was a real treat!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Room facilities were good, but a waste bin in the room would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being advised that we were not staying in the pub and that breakfast was not included; we both found the climb to our room hard work and difficult.

    Room facilities were good, but a waste bin in the room would have been useful. The food was good and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Quality fittings and comfortable luxurious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service left my window wide open and radiator turned off on quite a cold day!

    Quality fittings and comfortable luxurious room. Attentive staff. Central and quiet location. Excellent quality food albeit a little pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food a little overpriced (though very good quality). Breakfasts should be included in the room rate.

    Everything else. Great location and atmosphere, great range of drinks, room comfortable, excellent bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Accommodation great but food not quite up to the mark for the price.
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food not quite as good as in the past, done dishes are overly fussy and food not as hot as it should be and neither are the plates it is served on. Hot pudding was tepid at best. Breakfast over priced for the very limited range offered.

    Newly decorated bedrooms are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a draught excluder/curtain over our exterior ill-fitting door. Would have liked some info and a menu for breakfast in our room. Breakfast very pricey.

    Comfy bed and lovely high quality furnishings. The details were well though out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Winchester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited but we parked ok. I wouldn't have liked to have arrived any later. There's no price listed on the breakfast menu so it's a bit of a mystery.

    Charming pub with rooms so new you can smell the fresh paint in the hall. Extremely comfortable bed, great shower, some drinks included. Amazing carrot, parsnip and apple soup in the restaurant. Despite the construction outside, the room was quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Would most definately return but would ask for a room with a wardrobe (and perhaps a kettle)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wardrobe! Not easy I appreciate in a room in the roof but makes it tricky for a three night stay with clothes always lying around. Also no kettle....coffee machine was great and of good quality but the water doesn't get hot enough to make a good cup of tea!

    Fabulous location close to Cathedral and town centre. Building is filled with charm and has a great atmosphere, fires, newspapers, polite and friendly staff. Food, both dinner and breakfast were very good, well presented and good value for money. The quality of the recently refurbished room was excellent, small but huge comfy bed and excellent linen and towels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Room was characterful, clean and with thoughtful touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange noises possibly the older plumbing! Understandable with a place this age.

    Room was characterful, clean and with thoughtful touches. The whole place felt like a film set. Food was excellent, the attention to detail in presentation was well considered. The bottle of Fullers in the fridge was also appreciated!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    very good can recommend
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of food tended to be on the high side.

    excellent upgrade, single room to a suite!!!. Bed comfortable,food good,staff very polite. When building work finished should be even better

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Atmospheric and luxurious pub in heart of Winchester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the little pot of fresh milk in the fridge. Excellent choice of breakfast with good buffet table. We were warned about the current building works but it didn't affect our stay at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Excellent and hospitable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was minimal due to ongoing building work but street parking was easy to find. Was emailed about this prior to arrival so not an issue.

    Very nice 18 century cottage a stone's throw from the cathedral.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic food and scaffolding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini fridge hadn’t been checked so we had out of date milk, however they rectified this quickly and the staff were a little stretched due to the building works.

    We got a free upgrade to a mini suite as they were doing renovation work on the pub. The food was fantastic and the staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Warm welcoming atmosphere in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get onto WIFI but they are getting some building work done so may have been the issue.

    Comfy bed and lovely room just opposite the pub. Pub has wonderful atmosphere, log fires, fascinating decor and fabulous food. Close to Cathedral and Winchester college, both do excellent tours which would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Supper
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was minute, bed small, shabby, ie no last chance to keep window opening, could hear tap turned on in room above. Safety worries too as the front door didn’t easily shut so anyone could walk in, as all the staff were over the road it felt a little unsafe.

    Supper

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice to have a room to meet friends and family, we tried using the bedroom but it wasn't large enough. We didn't want use the bar.

    Location, the area is full of historic buildings

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    I stayed in a small room which had all the amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a small room which had all the amenities. Staff was friendly and coperatiI’ve. Also the property is near to pub which is old and brings back nostalgic memories.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    A real find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Friendly and courteous staff throughout our stay. Good food,wine selection and range of beers. Lovely courtyard area and parking a bonus,(especially in Winchester!) Great delicatessen directly opposite too. Looking forward to a return visit for a longer stay soon. Can recommend the Hamilton room to stay in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several things need to be made clear - if intending to drive you may not be able to get a parking space and so will need to turn over your keys to reception. -the rooms arent actually in the Arms, they are across the road. -the room was filthy, there are 'cleanliness awards' littered around but the bathroom smelled disgusting and there was mold above the shower (photos provided) -fan in bathroom cannot be turned on and full of dust (photo provided) -thick dust across the beam in our room and filling the lampshades -minor damage to the ceiling above the television. -curtains dont close properly (there are houses directly out of the window) We have stayed in many places through booking.com, but this was by far the most expensive, at £140 for 1 night i would expect so much better, and we have stayed in so much better for less than half the price, would not have minded about most of these issues had i paid a fair price for this room. And by far the biggest sting is i have just been looking over the photos provided on here of the various rooms, we paid for a luxury double and the room we actually stayed in (according to the pictures on this website) is the step down, a superior double which is a cheaper room, which means we were charged more for a room we didnt even get to stay in. i will be contacting both booking.com and the wykham arms directly to address this issue.

    Big bed, good breakfast (though you cant really mess up a fry up), good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.0
    don’t bother
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much Sullen greeting in arrival Tried to charge me for included breakfast Refurbishment in progress therefore surrounding by scaffolding Access to car park erratic/poor -had wait 15 minutes to exit was late for appointment - work on building opposite is not their fault but the way it affect their guests is. Rooms look tatty Stairs rather steep and narrow in annexe

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed brighter lighting and extra blankets in case we got cold but really it was pretty faultless and I would highly recommend this and stay again.

    A luxurious stay in a beautiful room. The hotel offers superb service with a smile, wonderful food and a lovely selection of wines. We had a twin room on the 3rd floor in the eaves, lots of character and antique furniture. The beds were very comfortable and my only complaint would be that the lighting was not bright enough to do your make-up by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely visit to Winchester, sadly the Christmas market had finished but town still v christmassy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awkward steep stairs to the room which was in a different building to the pub, this was not mentioned prior to arrival. There was one light bulb missing and two others were not working in the room and the back of the TV remote control was missing, this was slightly annoying but we did not worry to mention at the time as obviously only minor things. The TV was set to subtitles and audio describe every time it was switched on which was a bit odd but we figured out how to switch these off in the settings after a while. These are not so much complaints as observations that could easily be addressed for future guests.

    Lovely cosy room, huge deep bath, complimentary drinks in fridge. Very warm welcome from staff. Evening meal was very good but we both felt it was quite overpriced for what we had and the portion sizes given.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    We had a great stay in Winchester. Hotel in excellent location close to cathedral and centre of city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs some TLC!

    A lovely large comfortable bed in a spacious bedroom in a separate building across the road from the actual pub/hotel. Very close to the cathedral & centre of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to enter the hotel area via the pub which was very crowded and difficult to enter with 2 large suitcases. There should be a seperate enterance to the hotel

    great location and the food was wonderful. Great staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.1
    As expected with mostly good points. Hopefully the few negatives mentioned are easily remedied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot and check out was not manned by similarly friendly staff. Also our car had it's passenger door left open (keys had to be left to allow movement around small car, less than ideal).

    The pub was lovely and though a very small check-in space the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Lovely, cosy comfortable atmosphere and would be happy to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location and warm and friendly atmosphere were all excellent. The warmth and smell of the log fire in the bar was a welcome sight on a very cold winters day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Loved our stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a steep climb up the staircase for 2 flights to reach our room.

    Perfectly positioned right near the Cathedral and the Christmas markets. Great breakfast and dinners. Loved the quaint room.....beautifully decorated

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for rooms close together... were in two separate buildings. No towels when got to room. Had messaged to say was my 40th birthday celebration, not even a card. Rained and roof leaked onto carpet. Breakfast not included even though room over £100 per night.

    Style

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice warm welcome from friendly staff. The room was very clean and comfortable and complimentary 2 bottles of beer had been left in the room. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Another great stay at the Wykeham Arms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Very good breakfast and excellent pub. The Wykeham Arms is very close to all the local amenities in Winchester and the Christmas Market (my main purpose for the visit) is just two minutes away. It's also in a very quiet area of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    Good location but not the best room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy all night long, thin walls so can hear people walking up/down stairs and corridors which made it hard to sleep. Had to wait for a while before we could get checked in.... Room was dusty, lamp didn’t work, bathroom had no vent and shower kept overflowing so got really stuffy all night

    Location and staff are great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Couldnt be in a better position, so close to cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park very small and busy.

    Couldnt be in a better position, so close to cathedral. Beautiful big bedroom and bathroom, very comfy beds. Excellent breakfast with great choice. Also had dinner there and the food was top quality in a wonderful cosy setting. Would definitely go back there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable trip. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little damp as ventilation fan not working.

    The location was excellent and very quiet. The staff were friendly and the room comfortable and well equipped. The fridge and complimentary drinks were a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: