Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Yaxham Mill 4 stars

Norwich Road, East Dereham, NR19 1RP, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 522 B&B reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    What a beautiful place, spotless rooms, beautiful views, nice and quite and to top it off an Indian restaurant on the end of the building which was one of the best we have eaten at. The lady who serves breakfast in the Windmill is super lovely and works her butt off none stop, we enjoyed every second of our 2 day stay and wouldn’t hesitate to return in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one to show us where our Room was, little confusing

    The room was lovely and cozy, clean and well equipped! Breakfast every morning was really good quality and the lady who cooked it and who cleans the rooms was so lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have any problems during our stay.

    Good central location to explore Norfolk by car. We had a room on first floor, which was very good and gave good views over surrounding countryside. Don't know what other rooms were like but would presume they are similar. Good breakfast served in actual ground floor of converted Mill

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been woken up at 245 am by people in next room thumping up and down the stairs and basically having an argument No suprises they didn’t show up for breakfast

    The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, the bathroom was a bit tight on turning space but the shower was hot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean comfortable room with en suite shower bathroom Very quiet area ideal for a peaceful getaway Breakfast was included which was home cooked and delicious Overall, very good value for money, friendly owner and ideal location for our needs Well worth a visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not found anything not to, to be honest

    Staff and owner very friendly, food was excellent and the sleep just what i needed after the festival. Definitely will be coming back again, lovely area too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is dated and the breakfast area is very cramped. No staff on the property when we arrived just a note on the door telling us where the key was and who to call if there was a problem.

    The countryside location and peace and quiet was great as was the comfort of the bed and room. The new Indian restaurant next door is superb. Easy access to other pubs and restaurants in Yaxham and Dereham just a few minutes drive away. The breakfast was also good with friendly service from the chef.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a 2 star B&B this place should not be on Hotels.com. Accomodation was second rate in 70’s rooms nothing like an old Mill with no one to check you in. Breakfast was just about ok but nothing like the rating it has.

    The un-associated Indian restaurant next door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was basically tired. Sheets were thinning the carpet was well worn the bathroom grubby around the shower base ,not unusual. There were silver fish in the bathroom in the night also. Breakfast just OK very basic.

    Location as it was close to relatives we visited. The countryside and village were idyllic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing. But did miss Pat

    We liked the whole place including the staff the breakfast the room but I personally prefer the disabled room for next time. We had a great time so thanks to Ray, Sally and Charlot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish shower cubicle, but hey.

    Charlotte and her breakfast. Laid back atmosphere. Plenty of parking space. Bird song and views over open farm land.would

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just little quibbles The breakfast room was rather cramped although the food and service were fine. The television remote didn't work properly and we had to clamber on a chair and operate it it from on top of the screen. As there was no reception staff, it wasn't clear who you went to to try and fix this

    The accommodation was excellent value for money. Everything we wanted was there, the bed was comfy and for us the location was ideal. We wopuld recommend it to others and use it again. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odour from bathroom when we arrived that seemed to clear overnight - possibly drains. Beds not the most comfortable but better than lots. Good size bed.

    Very easy to access room. Instructions and key left for us. Good value for money. Included full English breakfast with a very personal service. Very quiet location. Good size room with a fan which we used.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    (a minor point) The shower could be a bit more powerful. The walls/floors are obviously quite thin - thankfully I didn't hear anything embarrassing, but I could hear downstairs guests yawning and their muffled conversation, and guests either side peeing...

    Excellent breakfast! Plenty of parking (free). Relaxed and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very poor and I did not appreciate notices telling me I could only have 5 minutes. It was difficult to find out where the room was and eventually in the dark with the assistance of a torch found a notice on a door (not labelled as reception/office)which said our key was in the door of our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress very comfortable but pillows and bedding quite poor.

    Good location. Relaxed and quiet atmosphere. Accommodation small but adequate for a short stay. Good breakfast and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from local facilities, didn't fancy a curry from next door but that's just a personal preference. I would stay here again.

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast and plenty of parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing wrong with the property we had an evening meal at the lodge griddle and grill in derehami

    It is a quiet but friendly location and we would go back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bad smell in the en-suite which you need to look at. I think you need to tell your visitors what is on offer for breakfast. We didn't know there was anything apart from the full english breakfast. Missed out on fruit juice and cereal.

    The full english breakfast was good. Plenty of tea, coffee and sugar in the box.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first night one of the curcit breakers tripped so we only had side lights . There was no one to contact as the owner was away. Tried to call the number given but was not available. This did not spoil a great stay in this place just one of those things.

    A very spacious room .clean . Tidy. Warm. Out in the country. Big car park. Friendly and helpful staff. Plenty for breakfast. Would go again no problem. Great value. Cant praise this destination enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only drawback was personally I found the room too warm but in all fairness it had been lousy weather that day and for some people it may have been ideal

    spotlessly clean comfortable room, spacious.Nice hot shower .Very pleasant lady next morning cooked very good full english breakfast. Good value for money would definately go back .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the beds could be bigger, the rooms can take a bigger bed and the mattresses needs to be firmer

    I like the casual way it is run you don’t have to book in you just turn up and check the list and your key is in the door

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I think there should be photos of the attractive unusual breakfast kitchen on the website. We saw no staff until breakfast.

    View. Large spacious room. Full English breakfast in lovely tiny room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the electric heater as I feel the cold really easily,after 10 mins or so of being on it sparked and caught fire. My partner luckily put it out. The owner was regrettably sorry and knocked some money off our bill. I didn't like that you can hear through the walls really easily so you could hear talking and the loudness of the tv in the other rooms. The bed was really uncomfortable for me personally. I am 15 weeks pregnant and the mattress was too hard for me and I was in so much pain with my back and legs. I was really uncomfortable. Although the breakfast was lovely where you actually eat it in the mill itself, it felt too cramped as we literally took the last table.i felt too close to the other people staying there and you struggled to fit everything all on your table.

    I liked the smell of cleanliness as soon as you walked into the building and the room was cosy with a great view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very nice facility. Have always wanted to stay there. Very convenient as had a meal in the Indian restaurant as a birthday treat and so could have a drink and not drive. The room was very pleasant and clean and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have no dislikes

    The room was lovely and warm considering how cold the weather was. We enjoyed our stay there and the breakfast and our hostess was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like.

    The breakfast ladies, serving cooked to order delicious breakfasts, in the quirky Mill building. A really brilliant start to the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    The efficiency of the whole process was excellent. From booking online,to checking in,to checking out. The breakfast was amazing too and Charlotte was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get the Wi-Fi to connect consistently.

    Lovely quaint B&B makes a nice change from the boring travel lodge type accommodation! Very easy to travel into Norwich. And a bonus was an amazing Indian at the end of the drive so I didn't have to travel out to find dinner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downstairs room windows see drive & converted cottages

    Room spacious and very warm. Turned radiator off and it still warm in morning despite the frosty fog. Breakfast room inside the mill, next to kitchen, very cozy. Can watch sunrise & sunset out of windows. Within walking distance to Yaxham Station on vintage steam line. Town of Wymondum at end of line for shops & historic buildings. Dereham & many other places of interest close to mill. Free WiFi. You will have to stay here yourself to see how lovely this place is...!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one to greet us just sign on notice board which in the dark took some finding. Had to guess where our rooms were! Ha.

    Lovely clean and warm rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good really but would benefit from some info in rooms, e.g. a card stating breakfast times, latest checkout time etc. Hard to find info online and if it's raining you don't want to go outside the building and look at the notice board. Bathroom layout a bit clumsy, the door hits the toilet for example.

    Management very helpful when I contacted them about the booking. Breakfasts are good. Much better value and nicer than a premier/travel lodge style place. Family members have stayed at Yaxham Mill before and recommended it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very cold and there were no additional blankets. Bed linen was also quite old and bobbly, plus the walls were really thin - you could hear in quite graphic detail what someone was doing in the bathroom next door.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a few more breakfast items, e.g hash browns / black pudding. Although the breakfast was ample and tasty.

    Excellent country retreat and value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to see more info about the history of the mill, maybe old photos etc.

    Good breakfast in the base of the mill, quiet area, warm comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one at Mill when I arrived didn`t see the small message welling me my room had to shelter in the restaurant next door and they called the owner for me, a little frustrating after a long journey but easily resolved.

    Excellent breakfast in the windmill, Decor in the room was very good very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast, sorry, it was disappointingly precooked and under cooked for my liking.

    They were very mindful and accommodating of my allergies, which was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place was quaint with the windmill as a backdrop. the meals were taken in the base of the mill, so much food !, lovely lady cooking and serving we were personally shown to our rooms, downstairs for the less able so well heated, on suite, clean towels Lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ground in car park very uneven difficult for disabled travelers

    I have always found quantity and quality of food excellent, very friendly and helpful staff, room warm, clean and comfortable, have stayed at this location 4 years running and will definitely stay again next year

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in desperate need of decoration very tired looking and not very clean

    Plenty of parking space and the lady doing the breakfast was extremely pleasant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too hot in the room and the heating was off! The washroom and bedroom have obviously not had a good clean in a VERY long time. A fresh coat of paint wouldn’t hurt.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no one there on arrival just personal details on a sheet of paper indicating which room had been allocated. room small but adequate and generally tired bed hard and uncomfortable and no mattress protector traffic noise from fast road not a problem on weekend but intrusive for us on week days bathroom extractor fan not working which probably explained the black mould. gaps through to brick work around shower tray no sealer in joints between tray and floor tiles just brown stained residue. no sealer between toilet pan and floor tiles more stained residue. breakfast pancakes over cooked and under cooked Indian restaurant opening November in adjacent building which may please some but may change the quiet nature of this location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one to meet you on arrival.

    This is a really nice B&B, it has plenty of parking, I had a great room which was both comfortable and quiet. Breakfast in the mill was nice, overall it was a great experience and one I will wish to repeat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little shabby although clean and when we arrived there was no heating on and room was cold. Plug in soon warmed it up but popping it on prior to arrival would have been appreciated.

    Great location and fabulous value. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was a little chilly, but what do you expect in mid November!! Shower was a little cramped but I'm rather on the large side!

    We enjoyed the quietness of the location and the spectacular views. The breakfast was very enjoyable and the lady cooking/serving was very friendly. The pub around the corner, The Mustard Pot, does a wonderful steak dinner and a variety of different meals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better signage and lights plus someone to greet us on arrival.

    We didn't arrive until after 7pm and it was very difficult to find as no signs and it was down a dark lane. There was no one to meet and greet us, just a note left on the door telling us which room we were in and that the key was in the door and they would see us at breakfast the next morning! Not a great start. I had booked 2 rooms although only needed one in the end, the first room we went into was very smelly so we stayed in the second. They were both very tired and in need of an overall, quite clean but not very fresh, towels were well worn. Coffee and water was provided. Breakfast was very good and the lady who cooked and took payment was very friendly and helpful although she sent us in the wrong direction when we asked for somewhere to visit on our way home south, she sent us North adding a further hour to journey home!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The post code is incorrect so the sat nav is unable to locate the hotel directly. When arriving in the dark there was no sign to show where it was. After a long day I was not best amused. On website it stated check in is between 2pm and 10pm but on arrival at approx 6.30pm there were no staff available and found another guest wandering around trying to find reception. After searching for 15 minutes the other guest found an A4 sheet of paper in an A4 photo frame outside a poorly signed reception (half of the letters were missing) stating that they were sorry no one was there to meet us and which rooms we were in and that the keys were in the doors. It also gave a phone number to contact if any further help was required. The number went through to an answer phone only. Due to attending a course nearby I required breakfast at 7.30am so attended the breakfast area at that time to find it closed. A woman arrived in a 4x4 and asked if she could hep me. I said I was here for breakfast but apparently this would have been possible in the week but breakfast is not served until 8am at weekends. She was most abrupt. I could have stayed elsewhere but my wife booked this one for me so I could have breakfast before my lengthy day and was most upset when this did not happen as it was part of my xmas present.

    Bed was comfy and shower room clean. Coffee making facilities good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Turning up in the dark and not knowing where we was going.no one to greet us.left a note on door with are name and room number on it

    Room was cosy and clean and like view from window

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we had and the communal areas are all looking rather tired. It doesn't look as much money is re-invested back into the business. For example the carpets need a good deep clean and the towels although clean, were old and grey. We stayed for a few nights and during one of our breakfasts, there was very little milk available for our cereal and despite vegetarian sausages being on the printed menu, they didn't have any. Although having breakfast in the windmill can be described as quirky, it is not very comfortable eating with cold air coming in because they open the door due to not having an extractor fan.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was warm. The quality of the breakfast was generally good and the lady in the kitchen was very pleasant and her service was very efficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Relaxing country location with plenty of charm. The place has just come under new management and the restaurant was being refurbished as we were there so once it re-opens I am sure the ratings will go up even more. The rooms were ok and had an average standard. The 2 things that made it stand out was the absolute charming country location of total relaxation. Nature is just outside the door. With only a few rooms this is the perfect quiet country location when you need to wind down. The second thing that made this place special was the breakfasts served up by Pat. She is an award winning omelet chef and an absolute gem of a person. Each breakfast at the Mill is something I will keep in memory for a long time! Thanks for a few precious days where me and my family could wind down and really relax in this wonderful environment!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good a pity the restaurant has not reopened yet.

    Very quiet and secluded location plenty of parking area. Great place for an overnight stay or longer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one was there to greet me. It was dark and the routine to get information was unknown to me. It would have been great had it been shared when I booked. As it was I had to knock on the door of complete strangers to find the info I needed. Not good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in great need of some updating, a new coat of paint was well over due. The bathroom door was sticking and the handle had the locking mechanism removed, the resulting hole filled with toilet paper. The shower, while very good, would benefit with a soap tray and an additional chair in the bedroom making it 2 would be nice when there are 2 guests.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was all that you would ask for. The breakfast was served in the base of the old wind mill, nice and very different. The room was clean tidy and warm. Nice large comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that would writing anything.

    Breakfast was well cooked & cook well on top of everything. All was cooked well and water was always replaced on all 3 days . Not much moor to say as my wife and I enjyed our stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfortable bed good nights sleep breakfast very good lovely location countryside well positioned for shopping quaint towns and shops a lovely relaxing stay I would recommend this unusual windmill to stay for a wonderful holiday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were clear instructions where to find your room and the breakfast due to arriving late in the evening which was helpful. The staff at breakfast were welcoming and food was served quickly. Great portions and great selection of food. Bed was comfy and the area felt safe and very quiet. Great value for money and will be going back again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other rooms Bathroom fans noisy & staying on too long. Bathrooms pull cord lights noisy. Ok if you are a deep sleeper.

    Tea making facilities. Bottled water provided. Shower gell in bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed there whilst I was on business in the area and it was ideal for my purpose. I have stayed here on previous occasions and would stay there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiators were cold, so bathroom unheated. Difficult to see access in the dark. There is no reception, so did not know where to go. Found note left on windmill door to say key left in room door

    Room very comfy. Electric heater was welcome. Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As there are a couple of other business's on the site we did have trouble finding where to go to book in we arrived early evening so no one was around. A note on the wall gave guests there room number and how to get there. It was only an A4 sheet so could have been bigger ( we walked passed it twice)

    Nice room with a comfortable bed. Powerful Shower and good towels. Breakfast in the actual Mill was very nice although a bit cramped but hey it is a windmill, tables only really big enough for two, so a family might struggle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have over-looked the shower cubicle that didnt allow water to drain out, and leaving us standing in a pool of water whilst trying to shower, but for the behaviour of that rude woman who cooked the breakfast. She was obnoxious and disrespectful for no apparent reason. Perhaps she doesnt like mixed couples or children?

    Frosty, disrespectful and rude staff. Would never visit that B&B again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was great

    The room was large with a lovely sofa to sit in. The bed was comfortable. The room was very clean and well furnished. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I spent 25mins finding the place as there was no sign to show where it was. In fact it was located behind 2 derelict looking buildings, 1 of which had a big 6ft "For Sale" sign. I only found it as I was using a narrow opening between the 2 buildings to go in and turn around. There was NO reception area and NO receptionist. In fact there was not another human being present. I only knew I was in the right place because there was a piece of paper sellotaped to a window which said "Mr ******, you're in room **. The key is in the door". There was nowhere anywhere near to get any dinner and nobody there to ask where I could go. So I drove out to try and find somewhere, ended up driving 17 miles in the wrong direction. Found nothing. Drove 17 miles back and then out the other direction and eventually, all I could find, found a McDonalds, which I detest at the best of times but took as a last resort. I had to leave very early in the morning so had no breakfast. Didn't sleep at all, due to a very old and lumpy mattress, and is so often the case in these places - flat, rock hard pillows. I even tried rolling up my jumper to soften the effect under my head but it didn't work. Place was a total disgrace in my view. I cannot think of a single positive thing to say about it.

    Absolutely nothing about this property was good. It should not even be on Booking.com. Disgraceful place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This venue is tired and requires some TLC.

    Having arranged to arrive at a specific time we had to ring a phone number to gain access as there were no staff available. Suggest you do an appraisal visit. Typical breakfast you would get in a cafe. This doesn't meet your four star rating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the breakfast room. Did not like that there was no one on duty when we arrived. The bed was clean, the bathroom could do with up grading?

    The breakfast was good. The bed was awfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable and you couldn't move without it making a creaking noise. The walls are very thin and all noises from the adjoining rooms could be heard. The room needed a little freshening.

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very god

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as Mill so assumed would be staying in the Mill. NOT SO. Room was in annex at side of Mill. Very disappointed. Note left to say which room I was in and key in door.

    Room was comfortable and quiet. Fruit tea available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Most enjoyable breakfast . Extremely welcoming and efficient host. A pity that the restaurant is no longer there. It was our third stay and is very convenient to visit our family from the Mill. We will definitely use it again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have preferred a personal welcome rather than on a notice board which was not evident due to a rainstorm on arrival

    Liked the choices at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at Yaxham Mill was perfect. The staff were friendly and accommodating whilst keeping a very relaxed and formal feel throughout our stay. The room was big, comfortable, well equipped and brilliant value for money. Especially with the generous breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly that other facilities at the mill have all now been sold off so there is only the BB. you do not get to stay in the mill itself which was a huge disappointment.

    Breakfast was excellent as was the lovely lady cooking it. Other guests were very friendly too. Price was perfect for what it was £60 per night for B&B.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was very poor. There were no staff at night and no instructions regarding fire or emergencies. The only fire extinguisher was at the bottom of the stairs which were the only exit from upstairs.

    It was very quiet and peaceful, and easy to get to places of interest. It was interesting eating breakfast in the old mill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels weren't changed in the three days we were there , as there was nowhere to dry them after a shower , it meant by the third day we were getting dried on damp towels . Not Yaxham Mill fault but there is no pub in walking distance .

    The location was quiet and picturesque . Breakfast was good along with the wifi . Staff very nice .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy plumbing, which meant I was woken by guests in neighbouring rooms showering or using the toilet.

    Nice location, with lovely views from the rooms. Bedroom was large with good storage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great place to get your head down after a long day and a good breakfast to set you up for the next. Excellent value for money. Spotless room. Thanks to the cook, she was lovely.

    Full English was lovely on morning 1. Good start to the big day ahead. Omelette on morning 2 very nice before long return journey to Scotland Bed very comfortable. Room very clean with countryside views.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: