Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Yeo Dale Hotel

124 Pilton Street, Barnstaple, EX31 1PG, United Kingdom

#7 of 17 hotels in Barnstaple

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 516 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was at the front and although it was a really spacious and nice room it was very close to the main road and traffic lights rIght outside

    Bed was very comfy and the breakfast was good. Very close to the town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hotel parking so I ended up parking 5 minutes walk away. Attic room on the cramped side without a desk. Necessary to keep windows open for ventilation but beside a relatively noisy road so I had to compromise on fresh air or noise.

    Really comfortable bed, decent shower, good wifi, good cooked breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was supernice, helpful and friendly. The room was extra clean and tidy, all the needs supplied. Excellent location. Great variety of options for breakfast. Reeeally happy :D would strongly recommend it 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote toilet was a little inconvenient but I was told of this prior to the stay.

    Comfortable bed, hot showers, an excellent breakfast and staff were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little tight (but when isn't it in England?)

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, bright, and well-maintained facility, with easy walk into town as well as near road connections.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cheap I would of paid more although single room but with inc the luxury breakfast I would say feel confident to charge at least another ten pounds I won’t batter an eyelid

    Everything the welcome, the friendly owners, breakfast, loft room, comfort and advise of the local area everything was perfect thank you so much and will be coming again and again as have customers nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an attic room, which had limited access and manoeverability, but we expected that. The one thing that let them down was the breakfast croissants, which were not top quality like everything else.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The location, within easy walking distance of the centre of Barnstaple with it's many restaurants for evening meals. The breakfast was good, with a wide selection, and clearly a good chef behind the scenes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a long day it's the little things that make a difference - a very warm welcome from the host. I took the budget room so as expected it was a little small - but not a problem - everything I needed was there and to a good standard. A solid night sleep. Breakfast was fatalistic - they seem to be using high quality ingredients and even had a little surprise at the start - yum yum!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative point could be the size of some of the rooms as they are rather small.

    The owners are lovely and very friendly. The hotel itself has a lot of character and is nicely decorated. The rooms were very clean. The breakfast was freshly cooked and nice. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows too big and prefer feather pillows. Parking really only for four vehicles, though was able to find other local parking on occasions.

    Pleasant. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room in attic terrible - low beam, claustrophobic shower and either bed or mattress sloping making sleep difficult

    Friendly enough host and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pleasant little hotel very close to the main High Street of Barnstaple. Friendly, family run hotel that has been converted from a large home to a boutique hotel. Comfortable room and clever use of space to create an ensuite bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor confusion was we thought the restaurant provided an evening meal if booked in advance. We did not book in advance but apparently this is not the case anyway. If so, the information in the room and when booking needs to be updated and accurate.

    The hotel was easy to find, parking was available nearby, the staff were excellent and very professional, breakfast was very good and the accommodation was clean, tidy and provided all that we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was only booked in for 2 nights but found the “ Yeo “ to be both welcoming and friendly .The next time I am in Barnstaple i will happily stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was extremely comfortable with pillows to die for!! The owner Paul, besides being an excellent chef was very friendly and helpful, showing us on a map how to find our way around the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location for town yet very quiet at night. Exceptionally clean and owners very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent, service also excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was for sole use but on the landing below. The doors squeaked a lot and woke me during the night as other guests came and went.

    The owner was very nice, the wallpaper was quirky and room decor nice. Excellent choice for breakfast but very little gluten free choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, just rather a lot of stairs to get to the top floor! Not easily changed though!

    Very enjoyable stay here. I found my room at the top of the stairs very comfortable. One of the rare places these days to provide a clock/radio, more useful to me than lots of TV channels. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were there to help as much as they could. Informal and welcoming. Would definitely stay another time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning coffee wasn't filtered correctly so coffee grounds floating in it. Parking is also a issue, even though I was advised on parking adjacent to property. However it's a fairly busy road to cross.

    Clean and tidy and modern....beautiful!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too soft and I wasn't sure about the weird aperitif breakfast whilst we waited for our full English to arrive.

    Nice room although upgraded when we arrived. Clean and comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight issue was the limited parking which due to the location is difficult to resolve. We managed to find a space on the road nearby which was not a problem.

    Best cooked breakfast ever. Really tasty sausages and eggs to die for. Friendly and attentive hosts and the map of the area with local attractions was most helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything! The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and en suite was very clean; good shower; tv and proper hangers! Delicious breakfast and free parking opposite the hotel. Thank you; I would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is very limited car parking (probably space for three cars) and it is situated in a tiny walled area opposite the hotel and there is nothing to indicate that it is a hotel car park. Otherwise it is street parking in adjacent side streets. Although the premises are licensed, there is no hotel bar or lounge in which to socialise - it is bottles only and you have to take them to your bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As the room descriptions make clear, the staircase to the attic is steep. The lower rooms are accessed by a wide and gentle staircase.

    Excellent breakfast menu and the food was carefully cooked and nicely presented. The room was nicely decorated and very good value. It's nice to stay in a hotel run as a local business instead of an anonymous chain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was absolutely delicious, excellent and friendly service from all members of staff. Always extremely helpful. Room was cosy and clean, comfortable bed. Can't fault it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find a shaver point in my rooom or a plug near a mirror. Only a minor niggle. Overall it was great and I've already booked more stays

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad. I was the sole occupant of the room with double bed; I imagine if two people it would have been somewhat cramped because of the supporting beam. But maybe the room is only ever allocated as a single. I had in fact booked for two nights but had to leave after one following a Red Alert that more snow expected, which meant I would be unlikely to get home at all if I did not leave early. I would have been happy to stay longer in a normal circumstance.

    Cozy attic room, clean, very comfortable bed, efficient shower, cupboard that fitted the space available, easy chair, table lamp. Very useful location. Tasty a d plentiful breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Booked me in at last moment when I could not travel home because of bad weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was above a busy traffic and all the noise coming inside- windows need double glazing!The noise of water flushing in adjacent room was extremely loud; in fact louder than in my own room. Horrible! The carpet in the room was dirty- you don't want your feet touch it! Breakfast got certain skill and quality but inconsistent overall - sausage no flavour with dry edges, waitress not quite sensitive and overall servicing needs more attention -e.g. not sufficient cutlery, no paper tissue, etc.

    Bed and bathroom were clean; nice to have an electric kettle with a choice of tea/hot chocolate bags given that here is not much to do in Barnstaple on cold evenings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only niggle was that the pillows were a little hard for me but that is just me being relly picky as I love a very soft one.

    The Owner, Paul, was extremely pleasant and told me I had been upgraded to a luxury double room (Ihad booked a single as I was on my own). The room was fabulous, and along with tea and coffee, there were biscuits and a bottle water. The hotel is in a great location and just minutes walk from the centre. Breakfast was also included in the price but I missed it both days as I rarely get a lie in so decided to make the most of it!! Would reccomend to anyone..loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shelve in the bathroom above sink was too high - easy to hit face for average person when washing and had to wait a while for hot water to start running from the shower.

    Comfort and room size, nice food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot! Only problems were my shower didn’t get warm, but was swiftly sorted, and the towel rain ring came off the wall when trying to put towel back through ring.

    Great location to town centre, fantastic for seeing family, brilliantly run.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and friendly! Initially I wasn't too happy with the size of the room but got used to it. Provided free breakfast everyday which tasted great. Overall a great hotel with nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chef was off and we were not informed until we got there so breakfast was either a bacon butty or continental neither of which we fancied. However they did reducce the price by £7.50 per person which was fair but we would have preferred cooked breakfast

    As above

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was only informed on arrival that, due to the absence of the chef, the advertised full English breakfast would not be available. Perhaps guests could have been forewarned of this via e mail or phonesince e mail addresses and mobile numbers are requested when the booking rooms.

    The hotel was very comfortable and the very young staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main problem for me was parking. There is a car park across the road, at an angle to the hotel, which I consider to be quite isolated and I was not comfortable with leaving my car on there.

    Very friendly people, clean & comfortable, with a nice breakfast. A pleasant stay and very accommodating hosts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just be clearer that parking is on the street, so finding a space is a little challenging.

    Helpful staff. Really comfy bed. The desk in my room made it easier to do a little work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Choose right room for your personal needs. I chose the cheapest small basic single room as thats all I needed. Had shower and basin but toilet down few steps from room, BUT owners DID make sure I knew this. Other rooms looked amazing with period features and en suite so don't be put off but choose your room carefully and you'll have a great stay.

    Fantastic breakfast, choose from vast menu and is freshly cooked, best ever had anywhere. Calm laid back atmosphere so good for relaxing break as excellent hosts. Easy walk to town centre and river and park right opposite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Friendly greeting when we arrived and very helpful advice on restaurants. This is a gem of a hotel, perfect for our one night stop whilst walking on the south west Coastpath.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low ceiling for attic apartment but we were informed prior just didn't realise how low it would be.

    Absolutely loved the breakfast cooked and served by the owner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy road junction, with traffic lights right outside, lots of cars braking, accelerating, car stereos and drunken shouting, it was also a very windy night, so not as quiet as I would have liked. Lucky I had earplugs or would have struggled to sleep.

    The room was compact and cosy, everything worked. Breakfast was nicely cooked, and included Veggie sausage. Tasteful building with lots of original features. Good value for a central hotel on a Saturday night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had a shower inside the room & a separate toilet outside the bedroom but this was reflected in the price & I was informed of this before I traveled. It wasn't a big deal but the room was very small.

    The breakfast menu was fabulous. The house was furnished to a very high standard decor was lovely. The staff were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great night one of the better hotels I have stayed in this year Very accommodating to my extra needs Was running the half marathon Sunday so I cannot comment on the cooked breakfast but the fruits and cereals were good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small car park was detached and across the road.

    It was clean and comfortable and in a good location for the town centre restaurants. Having booked a small room we were delighted to be upgraded on arrival at no extra cost which meant we had more room to relax in with our son who was booked in the single room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would find it a bit expensive at regular prices but the standard was fantastic. So would recommend it to others.

    I was upgraded despite having a last minute offer. Polite and kind hotelier. The room was fantastically comfortable. Despite being on a busy road the windows kept a lot of the noise out. Breakfast was lovely - also included in the price. So a good visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to speak of. Have stayed every year for the past few, and always enjoyed my time spent there.

    Fabulous family run hotel. Small, which means you get great attention to detail. You are always made to feel welcome, and they make it clear they are there to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Lots of little touches that make it special, from the miniature breakfast sample, whilst waiting for your main event, to the iphone alarm clock / speakers. Perfectly located for the town centre, and yet far enough away to be quiet. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was slow to arrive, management seemed to be a bit stretched, our original room had been double booked but we were upgraded!

    Great room (although we were upgraded due to a slight booking problem). Friendly staff, Good breakfast. 5 minutes walk from town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point - coffee at breakfast could be a bit warmer but that's about it!

    Having stayed at other hotels before and being bitterly disappointed with them I was not expecting anything special, but how wrong was I! I was extremely impressed with the friendliness of the staff without being intrusive, cleanliness of the whole hotel I saw, more than pleasantly surprised at the size of the single room as I was expecting (and would have accepted much much smaller), refreshments in the room, the breakfast was delicious, presented beautifully and it was nice to be able to choose homemade granola, in clean bowls, table linen, room and cutlery there's not much more I can say!! Very very impressed and will be booking again and recommending to friends and family!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afraid didn't sleep well first night as pillows were too hard for me,but I was told that if I told them they would have tried to find softer ones.

    Excellent breakfast,friendly staff and a warm welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was in an excellent location,not far from the town centre. The staff,we're excellent,and the breakfast was as good as anything I've had

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only disappointment we had was that the quote from Booking.com was different to what we were charged. Booking.com said we had hit the jackpot and our room would cost £285 but we were charged £360. I tried to write to Booking.com but they have not responded.

    The bedroom was comfortable and clean. The food was delicious and presented well. The staff were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at the hotel late in the evening after a very long drive down from Manchester. I received a warm welcome and was really very impressed with the comfort and facilities offered. Not only is it very conveniently located for central Barnstaple, the hotel itself is beautiful and to top it off I was served a piping hot, delicious breakfast in the morning with hot coffee. I had several excellent options to choose from, cereals, several types of egg dishes, juice, and more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very spacious. Breakfast was delicious and very professionally presented. Host Paul was very welcoming and helpful. The hotel was close to the High Street and a great range of shopping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are a killer !! We knew there was no lift but did not expect four flights of stairs! Maybe ok if you are agile but very difficult if you are older and arthritic! Had to plan each day around minimum trips up the stairs. Unfortunately, this spoilt an otherwise comfortable stay. Parking is extremely limited and is not secure.

    Friendly staff and excellent food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly, warm and welcoming reception. Fantastic freshly cooked breakfast - introduced by delightful cinnamon bread and sliced banana. Will use Yeo Hotel next time we are in Barnstaple.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Yeo Dale is right on a relatively busy intersection so with the window open you can hear the traffic until well after midnight. The coffee was not very good but there are a number of really good coffee shops in town, especially The Driftwood Coffee Shop at 11 Gammon Way, just off the High Street

    A great old building that is the gateway to the very interesting Pilton area. The breakfast is very good with lots of variety including amazing french toast & pancakes. We didn't eat dinner there but from what Paul serves for breakfast I'm sure that he is a very good chef.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is hotel parking close by but we could not find it. Parked on the street but after 9am you risk a ticket. This is apparently a "west country 9am" which basically means you have till about 10

    Clean place, nicely appointed rooms. We had 2 singles and a twin. Bathrooms were clean. Towels were soft. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful and the coffee flowed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to not like. it is a pity these lovely people do not teach others how a hotel should be run.

    we liked everything about this property and the people, breakfast was a full days meal in itself, cooked to perfection whatever you chose to have, while you are waiting for the breakfast to be cooked, we were served little appetisers, such as smoked salmon on scrambled egg on blinis. seriously cannot fault this hotel at all. if ever down this part of the world again this hotel is a must.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was the smallest in the world ....... but at least it was in our room not like room 8 Rooms overpriced

    Breakfast was ok, the buffet was odd but the cooked was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and helpful on arrival, lovely large clean family room with very comfortable beds and the breakfast was varied and delicious. We had 3 young children and were made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming,including helping me to the top floor with my bags. Clean, and great value for money and the little surprise with breakfast is a nice touch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service painfully slow. A party of 8 had something to do with it but they seemed to have preferential treatment. Didn't take my order for ages and I gave up waiting for my toast!

    Nice little roof room, quiet yet close to town centre. Easy parking across the road in their own little private space. Pleasant family own hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were super comfortable and the breakfast was excellent! They even made extra toast, for our kids, in the shape of people. The boys loved it :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water supply at room 6 to the washbasin appeared to be non-existent. I boiled a kettle for that instead.

    The level of personal attention on arrival and at breakfast was excellent. Kipper for breakfast was a special treat and not always available elsewhere, as was the vegetarian breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The on street parking might be an issue at peak times but I've never struggled after 6pm...

    Very clean and good size rooms, nicely furnished. Great breakfast, they even bring out an appetiser! Will always return, as long as I visit Barnstaple and as long as these standards are maintained. Great place to stay at the right price!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner was very helpful regarding cycling in the area. Breakfasts were amazing-there was always an extra eg a small rolled orange pancake, or a small scambled egg on toast with smoked salmon.Best porridge all trip!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky bed in room 9!

    Very close to Town Centre, very helpful staff re restaurant recommendations, immediately gave us a map of the Town Centre on arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had the basic single room, which is very small — no problem really, but not much room to move in there when you have a big suitcase as well! Fine for one night's stay but next time I would choose one of the larger rooms if staying longer. Also there is only on-street parking, just around the corner — plenty available but bear in mind it isn't free until 5 pm (and then OK to stay till 10 am the next morning).

    Yeo Dale is a lovely little hotel with everything beautifully done up and very friendly and helpful staff — I especially appreciated being given a map of the town centre with recommended places to eat. The location is great, only a short walk into town. Breakfast in the morning had a wide range of choices — I had a ham and cheese omelette that was huge and delicious. I would be happy to stay again another time and would definitely recommend to others!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to stayed longer. GREAT PLACE

    Super cool hotel. Perfectly sized room. Clean and just well styled. Best internet and the best breakfast on my trip. IT WAS AWESOME

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice host family. Owner waited for us after we've been late for checkin and remained super friendly. Different delicious breakfast options on 5* level.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed, large bedroom, very friendly and welcoming staff and a great breakfast. Nearby parking and easy walking distance from town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single occupancy attic room was very small and had sloping ceilings making it feel claustrophobic and not a great space to spend time in. This particular room was a bit pricey for what it was.

    Very clean and well organised and in a handy location for the town, with included parking too. Nice breakfast room and frontage by the river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was very friendly and helpful. They checked before we arrived to see if we would be happy with the attic room that we had booked. The room turned out to cosy and comfortable and we were very happy with it. The house itself was very interesting being a Queen Anne building. We were given an extra little salmon and scrambled egg treat before our excellent full breakfast which was a touch that was appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv reception after the three main channels poor.

    Sarah and the team are great. The room is compact and bijou,good quality towels and bedding. Shower was good.The breakfast was at a very high standard with very good quality ingredients.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are a bit small with not much room for two people to move about. Double bed against a wall so you need to disturb your partner in order to get out.

    Great location for town centre and shopping. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms was so small you could stand in the middle and touch either wall!! No food available despite being found on a search on Booking.com for hotels with food available.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: