Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of York House Hotel 3 stars

Drury Lane, Wakefield, WF1 2TE, United Kingdom

#9 of 17 hotels in Wakefield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 500 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Hotel central for most amenities, just down from the railway station, bus station and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of wardrobe space in the room I was given. Found room quite warm and lacking air even with the window open, but that may have been down to the unusual hot spell of weather during my stay.

    The bed was very comfortable. Only had breakfast in the hotel, but they had a good choice of menu available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly restaurant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot room. Noise late at night and early in the morning (loud voices - staff?) which came up from the well in the middle of the building.

    Friendly restaurant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.0
    w/e visit to see son
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise in yard outside our bedroom window room stuffy on hot nite no marmalade at breakfast someone charged thier dinner to my room number!

    generous breakfast choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Good staff, breakfast just satisfactory, accommodation sime
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decidedly small, most space npbring taken up by the double bed. Could not pass the bed of the bathroom door was open. Enquirer about the possibility of another room (I was staying for eight nights) and was told that this could be arranged after the second night of my stay. When I spoke to reception on the third morning, I was told that this arrangement could not, after all, be honoured. This was most disappointing.

    Non-cooked items limited choice - just one flavour of fruit juice and no choice at all of breakfast breads, toast with cooked items being the only option.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovley will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Are room was 2 single beds in stead of double like I requested and the hotel was fully book so had to stay in thag room other than hotel perfect

    Lovely hotel right in the city centre perfect for eney trip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect, they upgraded up at no extra cost due to under occupancy, staff was so helped and the bed,I wanted to take it home,slept better there than at home,2 mins away from train station and next door to theatre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, good for a short stay in Wakefield.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a nice hotel and if I needed a single night for work purposes in Wakefield, I should consider using it again. But, at the risk of being picky, there are a few areas for possible improvement. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. Some of the staircases, etc, were on the verge of needing a coat of paint. There were very few plug points in my room and none close to the desk. The water in the shower was just-about warm, but not hot (I was only staying for one night and checked out before reception opened, but if I had been staying longer I should have wanted that issue sorted out).

    This is a good hotel in Wakefield. Location is excellent, especially for anyone arriving from the railway station (Westgate), as it is only a few minutes' walk. My room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    Very convenient location and an interesting building. Friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable pricing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two single beds placed together to make a double but with a great sagging in the middle. Only one chair for two to sit on and that not particularly comfortable. No drinkable water in the room/bathroom (except for sale in the mini-bar)

    The interior architecture of the older building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    April 21st 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location, extremely central. Breakfast was amazing as was the bar/restaurant. Staff where polite & helpful, No complaints & would definatley stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay, it was everything we needed it to be and so reasonably priced, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, me and my friends decided it was perfect

    Helpful staff. Great breakfast. Easy walk from train station and into town. Bar next door was handy, loved cocktails in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall fine for our visit to The Hepworth, very comfortable and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No croissants! Breakfast a bit disappointing, filter coffee, no muesli or granola but excellent bacon. Cushions on the bed - I always think it seems unhygienic when they're nestled against my pillow, I can't imagine that the covers are cleaned for each customer!

    Extremely helpful staff. A comfortable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Quiet, comfortable hotel in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay for parking when we wanted to leave a vehicle in the (near empty) car park for a couple of hours after we checked out.

    Quiet, comfortable hotel in a convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, clean and comfortable in a central location. Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture,apart from bed, dated and table a bit 'tatty'.

    Clean thoughout with a bit of character. Friendly staff(top marks to the breakfast waiter!). Good breakfast. Centre location easy access to town centre /bars/restaraunts. Good location to the sports complex where I was attending a weekend hockey tournament. Comfy large bed. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    all went well except the size of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room too small and very restrictive movements.....sleeping and staying in a box...NOT VERY GOOD AT ALL

    cleanliness of the room and friendly and welcoming staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Amazing place great value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not too like ?

    Great central location 2 minutes walk from station . Bars restaurants and shops close by. Staff so helpful and friendly. Hotel modern and clean. Breakfast delicious with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    Okay, but wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small as I said before and there seemed to be some dodgy looking people hanging around. When we came back from breakfast the police were in reception talking to someone.

    The restaurant and restaurant staff were great and the food was very good. We have both breakfast and evening meal here as we were on half board basis.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    A good basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little sound proofing between rooms and the corridor. I was near a fire door so I heard the door, people walking in the corridor and voices throughout the night - up until 3.30 AM. Poor selection of wine by the glass.

    It’s location is good. Easy to get to the Hepworth gallery and Yorkshire Sculpture Park as well as to Leeds. Good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    A good example of you get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was 2 dilapidated singles pushed together. Not the same height so uncomfortable lump in the middle. Only one bedside table so nowhere for one person to put anything. Shower cubicle tiny, not sure how an average sized man would fit. The (very small) TV had about 20 channels but the signal was so bad, only one or two were watchable. Breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about. No continental option, no choice of juice (just orange).

    Nice and clean. Great location. Quiet room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    It was a brilliant night, everything we needed was close at hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a few more milk cartons for the tea and coffee.

    The bed was fantastic. The breakfast was very good. I would stop there again no problems.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.0
    Wouldn't stay again for prices !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Removel of dust n dirt !

    Had to change room had shower head fell on my partner..room was far too small .. upgrade at a large cost ..got charged twice ..staff on arrival behind the counter was sharp !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Double bed" was 2 singles pushed together. Steak and chips not great standard for £22. Cheescake not great. Full English not great - beans were hard!

    Great location. Friendly staff. Nice cozy, quiet room. Characterful building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 214 has a bathroom which is more of a corridor really.

    Really friendly staff, central location and parking on site. Good breakfast included and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful and courteous.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bedroom door right next to a fire door so lots of banging in the corridor, slightly disruptive.

    The staff were very helpful and courteous. The food in the restaurant was superb (Lobster ravioli yum!) Lovely staff and we hope Phoebe's interview with the navy has a good outcome. Great room spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Very impressed and super value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice welcome, parking on site, lovely rooms, great bed, good hot shower and fast wifi. The food is excellent quality and is in the top quality that I have had in hotels. Unusual and authentic excellent Italian cookery. Home made meatballs on the meat pizza and super quality fritto misto. I always avoid hotel scrambled eggs as either pre-cooked or overcooked and often woefully in-seasoned. I took a previous reviewer's advice and ordered them and was not disappointed. I heard them being whisked in the bowl.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location but so are others ,just as clean and larger rooms . And cheaper too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were given a room which was awful, a march back down to reception and it was changed. The guy said yes it wasn,t very good but you,ve booked late. We,d booked it through this site 3 months previously. Why not just give us a decent room first?

    Location is excellent, breakfast was fine and parking was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Full of character, great location, helpful staff, good food
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely place, central location. unfortunately a good nights sleep was ruined by other guests and some building work outside. The hotel can't really be held responsible for that. Booked half board and liked that we could choose alacarte and just pay the difference, which ended up being only £8 between 2 of us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.0
    Won't be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped room, not sure what the smell was, not great. Reception is not manned in the morning to provide feedback directly

    Leaving asap. The connecting corridors in better state than the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Washroom amenities were tacky...public toilets would have similar dispensers. For the price of the rooms, real soap and toilet rolls should be the standard.

    Location was perfect! Staff were excellent! Restaurant was delicious! Room service breakfast was certainly a treat with loads of food!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Wakefield is a party town and I was staying in the centre on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wakefield is a party town and I was staying in the centre on a Friday night. So I was pleased to discover the room was completely quiet. I slept well in a pleasant modern room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Staff were friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom suffered from external noise from, I think, on inspection, air-conditioning units - droned on and off all through the night

    Staff were friendly and efficient. Very quick check-in and out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    5 star for value, location, service and breakfast - unfortunately let down by poor comfort in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one pillow each which was a problem for me. Also the bed was lumpy and not very comfortable. And unusually for any bathroom, no shaver socket whatsoever.

    Extremely good value, great location, excellent breakfast with lovely service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed really needs replacing Stayed here previously and had an amazing room. This time was definitely a budget room with thin walls so could hear neighbours either side

    Food was good Price was reasonable. Free parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    It was quiet and relaxing.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was nithing i didnt like.

    It was quiet .good location breakfast was excellant breakfast staff were polite.Bonus was iron and ironing board price for room including breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, and great location with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t find a hairdryer, I wasn’t sure if they had one in the room.

    Very comfortable beds, very clean, room was just the right size and was warm enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Clean, tidy, helpful staff, location next to ststion...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More fruit at breakfast, bigger towels,

    Clean, tidy, helpful staff, location next to ststion (particularly single woman travelling late by myself) room quiet, warm and cosy. Fridge in room. Excellent shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    ovenite visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    other noisey guests our room 206 was small & had 2 steps down to the bed level same in bathroom to access shower

    good parking /stylish decor/decent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Ask for a room away from corridor doors or you'll get no sleep.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was right next to the corridor door so it was constantly slamming every time someone came in or out.

    Nice room, great value for money and the staff were absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed a great weekend in Wakefield.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar unfortunately was badly laid out and not suitable for a large group. The only other complaint we had was the breakfast was very early 8 - 9pm Mon - Frid just a bit early for guests away for a relaxing weekend.

    We enjoyed a great weekend in Wakefield. The hotel was very nice, great location, staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent and great value for money. We were there for a family re union and it was an ideal location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    excellent hotel as base for exploring local arts venues and museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of any improvements.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast serving staff were absolutely wonderful. We also ate every night at the restaurant linked to the hotel - Sloanes - and found this tasty and excellent value for money. We used Wakefield as a base for visiting the Yorkshire Sculpture park, the Hepworth Wakefield and the National Coal Mining Museum. Wakefield itself has some historic buildings - there is a good leaflet about them produced by the Wakefield civic society available from the cathedral shop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    Lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels provided in the room weren’t big enough. There was a small bath towel and a hand towel which wasn’t big enough for taking a shower. Thank goodness I took my own. The mirror in the room wasn’t in the right place, it was on the wall between the bed and the wall and needed to be above the desk. Breakfast was ok. Both my friend and myself asked for a sausage sandwich and what came to our table was ONE sausage in two slices of toast. Not good enough for the price we paid for the room & breakfast.

    Lovely room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't recommend. Far too expensive £75 for a single room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't ready for check in. I arrived at 1.55 pm to check in (check in at 2 pm). I got the last space in the car park so beware, the car park isn't large enough. I was told my room wasn't ready and asked to take a seat. I was meeting friends at 3 pm to attend a wedding. I needed to get changed and apply my make-up. At 2.15 pm I asked how much longer my room would be as I was attending a wedding at 3 and needed to get ready. They phoned up to the room and said it would be 5 more mins. At 2.25 pm my room was ready. The explanation I received was that the guest from the previous night had been late checking out.

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money, Centrally located. Easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a view of the back of the theatre next door, which looked a bit like a building site. Didn't bother us and made the room quiet.

    Bed very comfortable. Nicely decorated room. Good shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the bathroom in our room! There were three adults staying in our room which we paid £165 for (1 night). The bathroom was tiny! Not even big enough to get undressed in.

    The location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Number of levels on each floor, up and down steps w would make it difficult for anyone inhibited mobility.

    Breakfast menu. District as .com d to train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Convenient & cosy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. No menu. Full English was one sausage, one rasher of bacon, an egg (perfectly fried), a few mushrooms and a small portion of beans. Endless coffee.

    Central location, close to Westgate station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay,will consider staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a disappointment, the food should have been hot ,not just warm and been cooked better. Bigger bath towels and a bathrobe in the rooms would be a nice touch.

    Nice relaxed atmosphere , friendly staff, free Wi-Fi. Rooms nice , clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Hdpworth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had more choice and presented better. Light pollution,curtains needed lining.

    Very close to station and city. Lovely receptionists

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    awesome stay in Wakefield
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy guests in room above. Not the hotel's fault however.

    Right in the heart of wakefield and a short walk from all the best shopping and sights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Friendly welcome at reception - massive room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old Hotel so I could hear the people upstairs walking around but luckily not late into the night!

    Friendly welcome at reception - massive room! and nice breakfast. Good location too near to the centre. Would definately stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a triple room but when we arrived it was only 2 single beds and a very uncomftable chair bed. We were a party of 30plus females and found this inadequate for adults. Thr room keys also didnt work and noone on reception on an evening and we were even given our changr in euros!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    For a hotel at this cost I expected a lot more quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The awful scents used for the cleaning products,the whole place stank like a bad perfume factory. The breakfast was low quality, the food was not freshly cooked but on a hotplate in the kitchen, it might as well been a buffet. Fresh fruit was old and bruised. Bread was poor ready sliced. Bacon was dry and over salted. Scrambled egg was vintage - old and damp. Main fire escape to my room was blocked at the stairs and door to street. Fire exit stairs were full of obstructions and combustibles. Room was too warm and if window was open very noisey from the street. Outside the hotel the city has real splendour ruined by awful town planning and pedestrian unfriendly streets outside the centre.

    It was easy walking distance from the station. Staff responded quickly to concerns.Bed linen was nice cotton. The breakfast baked beans were good. Outside the hotel Wakefield has a lot to offer. The Hepworth museum and nearby medievil chapel and bridge, the brilliant Theatre, the cosy Red Shed club with its wonderful company and inspired real ales, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park (free bus M-Sat) and some decent places to eat, Thai, Indian and Brazillian.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    A decent hotel for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a lift, les steps to get to our room would have been appreciated. The breakfast selection outside cooked breakfasts was limited.

    The restaurant was good with good quality ingredients and the hotel was very convenient in its location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Birthday night away
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party of some sort in the hotel. Guests were causing bother and we didn't get any sleep because of it.

    Location was great not far from city centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet by the bedside table hadn't been hoovered - carpet had crumbs on.

    Room was adequate. Bathroom was very modern and the shower was amazing! Staff were friendly. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value, comfortable, friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cubicles being situated directly in the bedrooms, next to the smoke alarms, with a notice saying that steam can set off the alarms, led for a very brief and slightly stressful showering experience!

    Really friendly, helpful staff. The two female staff members who checked us in and who were serving in the bar/restaurant that evening were particularly excellent. Our rooms were small but had everything needed for an overnight stay for work. The restaurant provided us with an excellent, very good value meal in the evening and a pleasant breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel ,friendly staff and location excellent for rail station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we had booked was not satisfactory and the first same price alternative room was also not acceptable.However the final superior room was very good and we agreed to pay the higher price because it was worth it given that we would have had to find another hotel.To be fair the hotel manager was accommodating and helpful.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.the bedroom and bathroom were very good.the location near to rail station was excellent with easy access to the city centre and the restaurant was attached.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, convenient location, friendly staff, excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Bedroom was quite a walk up and along various stairs and corridors. OK for some but not all. Room was small but clean and acceptable for the price. The restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Excellent room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot- but it was warm weather and we are used to a cold house!

    Very clean, Very comfy beds, friendly staff. Lovely spacious room. Nice for the children to have a bed each rather than a sofa bed to share.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing - I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel felt like the Mary Celeste. The 2nd floor had a powerful smell of disinfectant which pervaded our room (202). The bed took up at least half the floor space and the room was very small. The bathroom was clean but very small, indeed, an obese person could not have stood in front of the sink without having the bathroom door open. Our room was situated opposite a generator housed in a building which made a continuous noise all night, so it was impossible to have the window open. The noise rendered sleep difficult. The whole hotel needed a thorough update and felt like a throwback to the 80s with its brown decor. the wallpaper in our bedroom was mock brown lynx. The restaurant and bar area were also very dated and the tables gave the impression that some of them had been layed for several days without use. There was a general feeling of grubbiness about the restaurant. My fork had the remnants of a previous meal still attached and all the cutlery was streaky and unpolished. the condiments were sticky and the menu when presented to us had streaks of brown sauce on it. The poached eggs which we ordered had not been drained very well so there was a puddle of water on the plate which turned my toast into blotting paper. The bacon was under cooked and flabby, so the culinary start to the day was not particularly pleasant. On our departure, there was nobody in reception so we had to go to the restaurant to give in keys and pay any excess. The hotel seemed very understaffed - difficult to know what might have happened in an emergency. This is definitely a hotel that requires much improvement to bring it up to its rating of 3 stars.

    Parking was free. The receptionist was welcoming with a lovely smile. The bed was large and comfortable. The hotel was close to a good Indian restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Our stay was very pleasant, but now having our son in a wheelchair there were problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better disable toilets, as we went with our youngest son who is staying at Pinderfields hospital, after a spinal injury and is in a wheelchair. Tables too low to get a wheel chair under, and very difficult to get in to the hotel, and not a lot of room to get a wheel chair into the toilet.

    Location very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel in the center of Wakefield. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    On arrival we were given a room away from the noise of the Friday revellers. A good move as it was noisy in the front of the hotel. Parking on site - collect permit from reception and display in the windscreen. Excellent breakfast with a wide choice of hot and cold food served by very attentive staff. Easy walking access to the local night life.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was smelly and when I went to complain reception was closed, tied to complain in the morning but was still closed. When I went to breakfasts was asked if I would like full English but was not offered a menu so thought that was all on offer until another guest came in and was given a menu

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Uncomfortable stay @ York House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very uncomfortable, single had massive dip in it & clearly lt needs changing. Pillows were like rocks! Breakfast was done on a budget & not much choice of cereals or juices, shame , as read good reviews about breakfast.

    Family room bed layout was good for us - double & 2 x singles. Receptionist was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location busy noisy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but very clean The bed was nearly on the ground and needed replacement Lots of stag and hen dos.

    Right in the centre of Wakefield Location great Reception staff. Very helpful Busy location for family get together Clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    The staff were excellent;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it is too close to the club area of Wakefield so we were kept awake by bass vibrations.

    The staff were excellent; the room was small but comfy; the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.2
    Free use of wifi !
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Card locks did not work ! Locked out of room on 2 occasions staff left us waiting for 20 mins to get in room Staff asked for milk cartons waited ages . No window locks ? No temperature lock on shower Dirty shower floor

    Free use of wifi !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent independent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb, friendly staff and excellent value. Especially the student female receptionist who went out of her way to assist with ongoing travel arrangements. Nearby the main station also. Would use again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed interesting Wakefield visit, but work in progress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has been modernised but room was cramped and there was building site next door July 2017. Breakfast in dark back room of restaurant was not very good. We struggled (despite asking local people) to find really good restaurants or pubs in city, although new ones are emerging: it seems the best may be outside. Wakefield was not pedestrian friendly although some work is underway: parts are dominated by cars. Westgate area nearby is "lively" with bars and clubs if you seek that, but not for us. So we cannot recommend this place for all - we will revisit fascinating Wakefield, but maybe stay somewhere nearby.

    Like Wakefield itself, a mixed experience. Very convenient in the city centre with a useful car park, so what we most wanted. Staff were friendly, but the main focus seems on the popular bar. But Wakefield's historic civic centre and the great Hepworth Gallery nearby are well worth a visit, even if the city is amid regeneration. Also very near cathedral, opera house theatre (and famous Red Shed) if that is what you seek.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Great position for a weekend stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Disabled Access for 3 people
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom needs updating - sink didn't drain

    Staff very helpful, Breakfast starts at 8.30 on the weekend and we needed to be gone by 7.45. A lovely gent sorted our breakfast for us on both days despite the booking error

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    Central convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In view of recent events and I would have appreciated being able to read the Fire Notice, which was fixed high on the wall rather than on the back of the door.

    Convenient for city centre. Peaceful room. As a non coffee drinker, extra tea bags were available on request. Scrambled eggs for breakfast were delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, good parking and delicious food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed had a plastic undersheet which was like sleeping on a crisp packet - I don't move when I sleep so it was only noticeable when I got into bed. On my second morning my used towels, including the floor towel, had been taken but not replaced. The staff member was probably new and lacked focus.

    The evening meal was excellent. I had a salad and pasta. The staff were attentive and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Ok for the price for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful. Not comfortable at all. No back support. Both myself and my fiancée woke up the next morning with sore backs and necks. Noise in the hotel both in and out was disruptive all the way through he night.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Good place to stay in Wakefield
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance door to hotel was not readily visiable.

    I was able to get glutton free bread with breakfast. Food was of a high quality. Staff were very helpful. Hotel situated within walking distance of city centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.5
    Pleasant break Lovely Church
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything except no herb teas

    The hotel was near to both Westgate Station I arrived at Kirkgate and had to walk but that wasn't the hotels fault British Rail in the morning I took a train back to London from Westgate Breakfast was good though I would like it if the hotel could consider buyingbherb teas as I am not able to drink black tea or coffee I walked to Sunlane Swimming pool and had a swim before returning to London I travelled to see a concert at Unity Works I had a pleasant break

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    4.6
    Not all that special!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a little lack luster, very little staff communication. Restaurant attached was not very good at all. Bathroom way to small to be comfortable.

    Room was nice a big apart from the Bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: