Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of York House B&B 2 stars

27 York PLace, Edinburgh, New Town, Edinburgh, EH13HP, United Kingdom

#173 of 219 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2091 B&B reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Good location, rooms simple and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the bedroom was cheap, rough and didn't seem to have underlay and made it uncomfortable to walk on and made the place feel cheap and unloved. There decoration and bedroom provision was basic and cheap feeling. Furniture scuffed and worn, only a small bar of soap provided and no shower gel or shampoo in sight. Breakfast was overpriced for what was offered and the quality wasn't what was expected.

    The staff were friendly, helpful and really welcoming. The location was good, really close to the town. Shame about the building site behind our room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the noise in room 2 and the weekend managers, very pleased with the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room no 2 we were in. Above us was very noisy late at night and very early in the morning. A lot of broken sleep. The other 2 managers, David and Andrew I think. They did the weekends, could both do with a happy pill each day before they start work.

    The room was clean. Bed comfortable. The staff Ilaria and Marco were cheerful very helpful managers.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.5
    Room’s OK , a bit old but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no elevator and the floor is very high. We stay on the 4th floor(highest floor) and our luggage ‘s big.

    Room’s OK , a bit old but comfortable. There’s construction area ourside the window but quiet in the night. Near york place tram station and not too far from train station. The price is very cheap compare to many accommodation in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    4.6
    Without a doubt the worst hotel/B & B we have ever stayed in .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower room was very antiquated and none too clean. There was never more than a trickle of lukewarm water in the shower. The light above the basin did not work and there were no cosmetics such as shampoo or shower gel. The TV had no signal on the first day and even after receiving attention had no signal for any BBC channels. The cooked breakfast was barely adequate, the only fruit came out of tins and the coffee was undrinkable. Add to this unhelpful staff until right at the end of our stay and a price of £128.00 per night for which you would expect a great deal better.

    The location was great: really close to Waverley Station, Princes Street and most of the "sights". Our Bedroom was spacious with a comfortable kingsize bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    Good and clean B&B on a good place for a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing! all okay

    The breakfast: very well. Good choice The room on the 3th floor: big, clean, cosy, silent. coffee and tee in the room available The bathroom: clean, big. good The stuff: very kindly, always ready for question and good tips. alltime there. It was a pleasure to stay in this b&b. near the city. directly on the tramway. price was very good for this place! It's a clean and cosy b&b. Thank you... we will come again !!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Cheap and close
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in a room from the street. No WiFi working anywhere apart from reception desk. It was also a bit cold in the room so with worse weather I think it would not be nice to stay for longer.

    It's a great place to stay if you need a quick sleepover between travels. I stayed for one night to catch early plane next morning. Building is old and close to bus station and Princess Street which was very convenient :) other than that it was all very basic but in accordance with price. Only thing that was bit annoying is fact I had room facing the street and it was bit noisy to sleep, especially when bed is just next to window. Other than that I think it must be very cold there in winter as room has huge old style ceiling and only one tiny radiator. Other than that it was cheap, access to bathroom and shower, close to buses, staff super funny and friendly :) it was nice to see coffee, tea and kettle in room for little refreshment.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of room - at basement front, extremely noisy from outside. Curtains did not close properly. letting a lot of light in. Only 1 pillow per bed, asked for more but didn't receive

    N/A

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    staff was very kind and professional, Ilaria is a star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private bathroom is old and rusty, shower keeps on getting hot and cold, just a small bar of soap with no shampoo. Wi-Fi only in a small and public corridor close to the reception, hence no privacy whatsoever. Additional fee for arrival after 10 p.m. not upfront in the booking form.

    staff was very kind and professional, Ilaria is a star

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    We would recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast should have been included in price of room (hence the title B&B)

    Loved how quiet our room was. Large and comfortable room. Marco was a great help to us, and we enjoyed chatting with him so much! Location is excellent for local shopping and bus and train stations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, good comfortable stay, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a great basement room but as it was only single glazing there was a lot of noise from people walking past and traffic - I think there was a dip in the road that was really noisy when lorries etc went over it. Slept well as I always travel with earplugs but would have struggled without them but I am a light sleeper.

    Great welcome, good size room, great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location, close to Princes Street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on stairs down to basement room was worn and edges fixed with duct tape. Some of this was loose and so an accident waiting to happen. Bed linen/towels and room were clean and spacious but furniture/furnishings a little tired and in need of updating. Shower good and bathroom spacious but again although clean needed a little freshening up.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location and only a short walk to Princes street. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.9
    Mid week break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would have complained about was the tile grout in the shower cubicle could have done with a good scrub other than that the bathroom was clean and well maintained.

    Property was within a two minute walk to the Playhouse. Staff were lovely. Good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    Too noisy to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the front of the property & due to the large not double glazed window was very noisy. The interior of the property is run down & in need of new carpets etc. The stair carpet is patched with tape. This is more a £30 a night hotel than £60. only the location is good not much else.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    The position was excellent and convenient to tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I particularly asked for a room on the first floor as I have problems with my back and was assured that I could have one but when we arrived they were fully booked and a first floor room had not been kept available. That was the only disappointment in an otherwise excellent stay.

    The position was excellent and convenient to tourist attractions and Waverley station and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.0
    Short, thankfully. Would not return to this establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing 4 flights of stairs with heavy luggage and no offer of help from staff. Mold in shower stall. Carpeting fixed with duct tape. Generally run down.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    3.8
    I will never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not supportive. Our room was in a basement that smelled mildew. I was afraid to walk on the carpet without my slippers. It's a very old building that needs to be updated!!

    I liked the woman who was on shift on Thursday Sept. 20th. She's a hard worker and is underappreciated!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Good place I recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a building site very close to the place, so from 8.00 a.m.was quite noisy, but it does not depend on them. The rest was ok, we were on the firts floor. To get to higher floors is difficult if you are not young.

    The staff was extremely kind. Continental breakfast was good. The room was clean and spacious with antique furniture, this create the nice atmosphere. It looked exactly like it is shown on www. No disappointment .location 10 min walk from train station . If it wasn' t fully booked we would have stayed for the whole week. We tried to book Ballantrea hotel for the next 3 night, but cancelled after getting the rude answer from the manager for my request of not accomodating us in the basement, so called lower ground level. So he proposed the highest floor and expressed his opinion that ot will suits me better. What a contrast in treating the quests if I compare with York Hotel. !!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    A great location and a lovely clean old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How to get into property when it's dark - can't see what you're doing. All the stairs - no lifts. The view onto a major building site. No toilet paper (we did get some). No toiletries.

    The location. The friendly welcome and the whole place was very clean and inviting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice location which could use a redecoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole building feels rather tired and the bathroom was though not necessarily unclean rather in a bad state. It was alright for a two-night-stay but rather disappointing. Also we had a building site next to our window which won't be finished in a while. It was acceptable loud in the mornings but nothing for people wanting to sleep long.

    The room was alright. Beds were fresh and clean, though a bit shaky. There was enough space for luggage and a small table and chair with a tea tray. The staff was very friendly and uncomplicated. Breakfast was alright, but some of the hot stuff was re-heated and therefore a bit dry.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great facility, great staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not plan enough time in Edinburgh to see all the different events of the Festival. Next time I will book for more nights.

    Breakfast was great, a typical English/Scottish breakfast. Room was comfy, the building quiet, the staff helpful and friendly. The best part was the location was in the center of the city with easy access to the Tatoo and the Festival venues. So many events to see.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location near Waverley Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and such a challenge carrying up heavy luggage if you’re staying on the 3rd floor. Request for lower floor.

    The location is perfect very near train station, only about 10 minutes of walking. Clean room and friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    An 'OK' very short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An elevator. I was travelling with elderly parents and even staying on the first floor was a struggle having to climb 3 flights of stairs with cases.

    Large family room with seating area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    it was o.k because it was near the railway station which suited us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was on the third floor,66 steps.No lift and as I have a heart condition it was a struggle.Moral of the story,always check what floor they want to put you on.

    staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room at the front. The traffic noise was horrendous, as the windows had obviously not been looked at for a number of years, and there were gaps between the window frames.

    Location is good. Close to Bus Station and shops

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    although the room is very big, the hotel is still like hostel but not hotel. they do not provide shampoo and the room is really cold and a bit old.

    easy to find. a great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Autumn Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great location but I thought it was expensive for the price milk sachets should have been provided daily for coffee /tea

    Location and staff were nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    I can't believe that I'll stay in the House again and I'll tell other people my experience.
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The man at the recption wasn't friendly and determined. On my booking was me told that I have a basement room and we musn't go upstair. because the have two family rooms. The breakfast was disappoint and the Music on the Sunday moring was loud and disturb the atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Good value for central Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another pillow would be nice! Stayed Sat night and woken up from 2am to 5am by rowdy drunks in street below. Nothing accommodation could help with.

    Location great for centre Edinburgh. Easy walk from Waverley station. Lots of places to eat nearby, plus Sainsbury's and M&S. Although not ensuite bathroom, the bathroom for single room is just opposite and sole use. Good value for overnight stop.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Good place, but needs some renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms. Room nr.16 - bath was good, but nr.17 needs upgrade, maybe add some shelves. If you under 160 cm, cannot use the shower. No wi-fi in the room.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great location, large room, comfy beds. Tea/coffee provided in room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    could be very nice but in need of updating and more detail available before booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower had mould all around.dated fittings.

    in need of update. we were on the 3rd floor with no offer of assistance to get there. Serious building work immediately next door started very early..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Due to great location glad we chose this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to remind them that no one had been to empty bins etc in the room on our 3 night stay, but they took care of this once reminded

    Great location, walking distance to great cafes/shops/transport etc Older hotel with lots of stairs - didn't bother us though. We caught the tram from the airport - very easy and stops out front. The triple room was quite large. Tea/coffee provided in room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.0
    Find another place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was Mould in the shower. No PowerPoint in the bathroom. The Only ones in the room were in the middle behind the bed. No way to see a mirror to dry your hair. God knows how a male would be able to shave with an electric shaver. Impossible! Had to pull the bed out to access the PowerPoint so that you could charge iPad, phone etc. Bed was only made once in 6 days. All other days it was left and we had to make our own.

    Within walking distance of the CBD.miuld in the

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several flights of very long/steep stairs and no lift The breakfast would have been good but the bacon and sausages were very cold when served to us, we were then told this was our fault because they are always cooked at the start of the breakfast period and we came down at the end of this..... (it is true that we were within 5 minutes of the end of the breakfast period, however, we were still within it.....). Sink cracked in the bathroom and lots of mildew in and around the shower

    Location was good, the room had lots of space and the property has great potential

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Stay in Central Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    N/A

    The Family en-suite room was spacious and very clean. The towels were extra clean and changed regularly. The beds were very comfortable as well. During our stay there was no noise coming from construction site nearby, during the night we slept comfortably. The Staff are very helpful also. I would highly recommend York House B&B for a central stay in Edinburgh. Keep it up !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    The people at the property were extremely nice and our beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was covered in mould. The walls were paper thin—woken up all night with doors slamming, people talking and then woken in the morning with construction. Breakfast cost money (at a B&B....) and the price to stay there for a single night was steep.

    The people at the property were extremely nice and our beds were comfy. The location was nice—right within walking distance of downtown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could do with a complete update throughout. Very tired looking. My mattress was obviously very old and I could hear everything going on in the room next door.

    It's in a great location. The staff were very friendly and it's a good price for central Edinburgh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    It was ok for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the basement and could hear people stomping about overhead in the morning and quite late at night. We had to keep closing the window to stop smoke drifting in including wiffs of 'pot'. Overall the place was shabby which we didn't mind too much but the gaffa tap on the stairs to presumably cover the thread bare carpet was loose and could have been a trip hazard. The cutains were too long for the window and far too much fabric trailed along the floor. Wouldn't take much to hem them up!

    Clean comfy bed linens, sizable room, friendly helpful staff, good security.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    It was a reasonable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were not very knowledgeable with regards to the area etc. and the TV in the roomdidnt work efficiently.

    I particularly liked the location of York House as it was minutes from the bus terminal. The room was comfortable and clean and the food of a reasonable standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Loved our stay and would stay again - rooms 3 and 6 definite - room 19 no way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My older friends having to climb up to room 19 - 3rd floor - 67 steps -

    After reading reviews I was a bit worried but we were met by Marco with a lovely smile then Andre looked after us the rest of the weekend - no complaints - comfy beds - clean bedding - big fluffy towels - bonus ! Great location - very friendly - needs some work done in certain areas but had a lovely time in this hotel xx

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.5
    fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    curtains need washing filthy,shower needs re grouting,toilet stained.Push button entry to hotel no good if you have bad eyesight.Lady was not very niece when i could not see numbers and had to ring bell,Was asked why i rang bell, i replyed i could not see numbers clear.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very drab, in a room in the basement, hard to get luggage down the stairs. Bed old, not up to standard, sagged in the middle, squeaked all night. Very basic. - Understand the Edinburgh festival / Tattoo was on but the price charged was way above the quality of this accommodation.

    Although furnishings and decoration were drab and worn, the room and bathroom did appear to be clean. Staff member available to us on the second day was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    It very close to the bus station for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wish to thank the receptionist for changing are room to a ground floor as we did not book one. The breakfast was a good selection, and the cook breakfast was cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.5
    Yolande
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom : bad flush in toilet, light above the zinc not working, no electric plug for shaver- room: very noisy and uncomfortable- English breakfast : impossible to eat the sausages - decoration : 3 same pictures in room and odd furniture all this for 160 £ per night + 7.50 for breakfast

    I was totally disgusted by the place. Please don't book this place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was great for playhouse and princess street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was high due too fringe basic room noisy in morning due to building out back from 7 am onwards

    Location was great for playhouse and princess street

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower as it was in a small cubicle, & the height couldn't be adjusted. The stair carpets as they were very worn. The whole place needs a make over. It was overpriced because the festival was on. I left my phone charger which couldn't be found the following day.

    The owner & staff. The location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit loud, because of a construction site. But this is not in the area of influence of the host.

    The staff was really great and helpful, outstanding friendly. They allowed us to deposit one piece of baggage there for 3 days, even though we only stayed one night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Nothing special. Weird smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was speaking in own language, not too polite for guests.... Very weird smell inside building, room.... Not cosy. Bathroom outside of room... Noise from the street. Too expensive for this standard. :/

    Nice welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Very Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost for four days in August is ridiculous. We paid an extra £110 per night above the standard room rate, breakfast was not included. The hotel was very basic. Although the room was clean, the furniture and decor was very dated and shabby. There was mould all over the shower cubicle. We were only given one bath sheet each and no hand towel. The towels were not changed during our stay. There were no toiletries with the exception of the smallest bar of soap I have ever seen. Rooms allegedly come with free WiFi however you can only get a signal in the reception area. The badly worn stair carpets are patched with duct tape. The worst thing was the ongoing building site to the rear of the hotel. The noise was unbearable and it frequently woke me up. I didn’t research further into this booking before visiting but wish I had as I would have cancelled. You can get much nicer properties a little further out of town which, given the excellent public transport would be a better option. Alternatively you could pay a lot less and stay in university accommodation if you prefer to be in a central location. I would not stay here again

    The location is excellent (especially for visiting during the Fringe festival)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location and great staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in bathroom was not working so the heating was on constantly so bathroom felt like a sauna

    The room was very spacious and staff were very friendly and accommodating, beds were comfortable and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    The best is the hotel staffs and they are really so so so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are living in underground but room is big with very big window .its the experience we never had before.however the room seems under the main door of the entrance and hear people's walking sometimes in midnight.Except this all is perfect.here we met a charming lady,a really helpful young handsome guy.and an old gentleman.this is what my kid said.thanks for all your help!!!

    The best is the hotel staffs and they are really so so so nice!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent. Marco was very cheerful and nothing was a problem. The breakfast was very good value for the price. We walked from the railway - 10 minutes with luggage, easy to find. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was excellent and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings like carpets need updating and there is no lift so it is quite a hassle to take luggage to room

    The location was excellent and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Best position, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit erratic. Shower curtain too short.

    Ilaria and her staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. We arrived from the airport by tram and it couldn't have been easier or closer . It's only a short walk to the centre of Edinburgh. We left by bus which is literally around the corner. It's the most perfect positron.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    For the money it is excellent value, it is my second time there and I would happily come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room is a budget stay which is fine, a separate toilet/shower which is across the corridor from the room. The bed is ok but was a bit hard for me, and it is quite noisy outside with traffic if you are not used to that.

    The York house is ideally located close to Tram and mainline services, also just a 5 minute walk to Princes street. The continental breakfast is excellent, with fruit, cereal, and toast, plus hot and cold drinks. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the place is well kept, although shows some signs of wear.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    3.3
    Would not recommend to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dirty.The shower was filthy.the skirting boards and floor edges were thick with dust.The female staff member was shouting at people to get out of reception because she couldn't hear on the phone.(very rudely).There is a block of major construction going on next door starting early and finishing 7 - 8 at night.

    The male staff member was helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic would stay again without a doubt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single bed in our room was a little noisy and not very stable but was fine for 1 night that we were staying and did not ruin our experience.

    Great experience extremely friendly and helpful in every way, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Ok for short term 1-2 nights when all you need to do is sleep there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor which meant we had to carry heavy suitcases up 3 flights of stairs.

    Large clean room. Quiet at night though there is construction going on next door.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    OK, apart from additional cost that was expected to be covered in quoted price..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's advertised as b&b although breakfast is not included in quoted price, misleading & false advertising,further £7:50 each for minimal breakfast.

    Area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Ladies get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friends found it noise down stairs in rooms 1-2 around 5 in the morning. Both of the day we stayed. And the beds could do with 2 pillows please

    Good location. Near shops. Theatre and railway station. Friendly staff rooms well stock with tea and coffee each day. And rooms clean and tidy. Furniture could have been updated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very condescending employee who checked us in. No elevator access, no possibility for an early breakfast before our day trip (before 8 am - not unreasonably early)

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, lovely helpful friendly staff, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lovely helpful friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Everything we could wish for within our budget. Staff made sure we had a ground floor room as we are not as young as we used to be! The wi fi worked in our room as well which was unexpected!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was facing the main street, and as a light sleeper, the constant noise from the trams and the traffic made sleeping a little difficult.

    Very convenient, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    Staff were friendly & the towels were good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, bed pushed against the wall & I could hear the people in the next room talking. No biscuits on the welcome tray. Shared bathroom was needing a good clean & the shower head was too heavy & didn't stay up the pole. Hall carpets need replaced & were taped down in places. Needs sound proofing, my room was at the front & I heard every bus, tram & drunk that went past. The curtains didn't close properly

    Staff were friendly & the towels were good quality. Lots of tea & coffee in the hospitality tray

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Play house event
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be fair there was not anything we disliked about our stay.

    The staff were very friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The location was a great bonus ad local to all main attractions also to trams and bus station. Our main reason for being there was for the Waterboys in concert at the play house.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Not brilliant, on arrival reception staff not friendly at all. Building site outside bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building sight right outside bedroom started at 6.30am. No lift hole at the back of toilet. Shower didn't drain so scared to use it. Sheets weren't changed on daily basis.

    Close to town centre tram stop and bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many things were old and broken. (Curtains,shower, stairs) And they fixed it all with tape

    Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Wenn i checked in, the bed was broken!? And they fixed it straight away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable bed, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was on the 3rd floor so a bit of a trek up all the stairs. Shower could’ve been a bit cleaner

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff. Bus station, tram stop all on the doorstep, 5 mins from Princes Street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    very acceptable establishment in handy part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable and ensuite very acceptable .Breakfast choice adequate but bread/toast was the only option - croissants would have been welcomed .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, I know my friend said the walls were abit thin in his room but I didnt have that issue.

    Basic hotel with basic facilities but large room, clean, cheap, comfy and very well located. Yes it could do with maintenance in the rooms but what do you expect for a 2 star! If you dont expect some mould in the shower and peeled paint on the walls then pay for a 3 or 4 star!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not comfortable. The shower was small and inadequate. Their was construction outside our window which was very noisy. We left for a tour and came back for one more night (only because the room was already booked and paid for. The man at the desk was rude a grumpy. I booked a room with 3 single beds and they had put us in a room with 2 beds. After walking up three flights of stairs with our luggage (I'm 67 years old) we had to go back down and argue with the man about changing our room. Not at all pleased with this place.

    The location was convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    As it was near the bus station it was ideal for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were very nice and friendly. When the bedside lightbulb needed changed it was no bother and they very sorry for the inconvenience, also gave us extra pillows when we asked. Would use hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.4
    I liked the location I had travelled by bus to Edinburgh and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would much prefer the breakfast included in the price. I thought £7.50 was a bit pricey for breakfast.

    I liked the location I had travelled by bus to Edinburgh and the hotel was practically next door .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    The no wifi in the rooms is a deal-breaker. Especially when the page says there's wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was facing a construction site. I asked to change rooms, but was told it's fully booked (it didn't seem to be...). The worst part is - no wifi in the rooms, an no actual lobby, so in other words - no wifi! This was critical for me since it was a business trip. Shower was also extremely basic with very low pressure.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    It was clean and comfortable, breakfast was cooked fresh to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was clean and comfortable, breakfast was cooked fresh to order. The staff were very very friendly. As a woman travelling alone I felt safe and secure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location for travellers using the bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was in a "cellar" room which means that looking out of the window we only saw legs passing by. It was a very loud location until very late in the night. The room was extremely simple … it was clean though.

    50 meters away from the bus station - a very good location, and 200 meters away from St Andrew´s square with the trams and busses passing. Very central location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse York House B&B traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: