Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of York House B&B This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

27 York PLace, Edinburgh, New Town, Edinburgh, EH13HP, United Kingdom

#145 of 185 B&Bs and inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2076 B&B reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    3.3
    Would not recommend to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very dirty.The shower was filthy.the skirting boards and floor edges were thick with dust.The female staff member was shouting at people to get out of reception because she couldn't hear on the phone.(very rudely).There is a block of major construction going on next door starting early and finishing 7 - 8 at night.

    The male staff member was helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic would stay again without a doubt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single bed in our room was a little noisy and not very stable but was fine for 1 night that we were staying and did not ruin our experience.

    Great experience extremely friendly and helpful in every way, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.1
    Ok for short term 1-2 nights when all you need to do is sleep there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were on the top floor which meant we had to carry heavy suitcases up 3 flights of stairs.

    Large clean room. Quiet at night though there is construction going on next door.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    OK, apart from additional cost that was expected to be covered in quoted price..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's advertised as b&b although breakfast is not included in quoted price, misleading & false advertising,further £7:50 each for minimal breakfast.

    Area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.3
    Ladies get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My friends found it noise down stairs in rooms 1-2 around 5 in the morning. Both of the day we stayed. And the beds could do with 2 pillows please

    Good location. Near shops. Theatre and railway station. Friendly staff rooms well stock with tea and coffee each day. And rooms clean and tidy. Furniture could have been updated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very condescending employee who checked us in. No elevator access, no possibility for an early breakfast before our day trip (before 8 am - not unreasonably early)

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, lovely helpful friendly staff, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, lovely helpful friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Everything we could wish for within our budget. Staff made sure we had a ground floor room as we are not as young as we used to be! The wi fi worked in our room as well which was unexpected!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was facing the main street, and as a light sleeper, the constant noise from the trams and the traffic made sleeping a little difficult.

    Very convenient, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.0
    Staff were friendly & the towels were good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small, bed pushed against the wall & I could hear the people in the next room talking. No biscuits on the welcome tray. Shared bathroom was needing a good clean & the shower head was too heavy & didn't stay up the pole. Hall carpets need replaced & were taped down in places. Needs sound proofing, my room was at the front & I heard every bus, tram & drunk that went past. The curtains didn't close properly

    Staff were friendly & the towels were good quality. Lots of tea & coffee in the hospitality tray

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    Play house event
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To be fair there was not anything we disliked about our stay.

    The staff were very friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The location was a great bonus ad local to all main attractions also to trams and bus station. Our main reason for being there was for the Waterboys in concert at the play house.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.2
    Not brilliant, on arrival reception staff not friendly at all. Building site outside bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building sight right outside bedroom started at 6.30am. No lift hole at the back of toilet. Shower didn't drain so scared to use it. Sheets weren't changed on daily basis.

    Close to town centre tram stop and bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    5.4
    Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Many things were old and broken. (Curtains,shower, stairs) And they fixed it all with tape

    Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Wenn i checked in, the bed was broken!? And they fixed it straight away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable bed, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was on the 3rd floor so a bit of a trek up all the stairs. Shower could’ve been a bit cleaner

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff. Bus station, tram stop all on the doorstep, 5 mins from Princes Street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.8
    very acceptable establishment in handy part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable and ensuite very acceptable .Breakfast choice adequate but bread/toast was the only option - croissants would have been welcomed .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, I know my friend said the walls were abit thin in his room but I didnt have that issue.

    Basic hotel with basic facilities but large room, clean, cheap, comfy and very well located. Yes it could do with maintenance in the rooms but what do you expect for a 2 star! If you dont expect some mould in the shower and peeled paint on the walls then pay for a 3 or 4 star!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    4.2
    Never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not comfortable. The shower was small and inadequate. Their was construction outside our window which was very noisy. We left for a tour and came back for one more night (only because the room was already booked and paid for. The man at the desk was rude a grumpy. I booked a room with 3 single beds and they had put us in a room with 2 beds. After walking up three flights of stairs with our luggage (I'm 67 years old) we had to go back down and argue with the man about changing our room. Not at all pleased with this place.

    The location was convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    As it was near the bus station it was ideal for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were very nice and friendly. When the bedside lightbulb needed changed it was no bother and they very sorry for the inconvenience, also gave us extra pillows when we asked. Would use hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    4.4
    I liked the location I had travelled by bus to Edinburgh and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would much prefer the breakfast included in the price. I thought £7.50 was a bit pricey for breakfast.

    I liked the location I had travelled by bus to Edinburgh and the hotel was practically next door .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    5.8
    The no wifi in the rooms is a deal-breaker. Especially when the page says there's wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was facing a construction site. I asked to change rooms, but was told it's fully booked (it didn't seem to be...). The worst part is - no wifi in the rooms, an no actual lobby, so in other words - no wifi! This was critical for me since it was a business trip. Shower was also extremely basic with very low pressure.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.9
    It was clean and comfortable, breakfast was cooked fresh to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was clean and comfortable, breakfast was cooked fresh to order. The staff were very very friendly. As a woman travelling alone I felt safe and secure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    6.3
    Good location for travellers using the bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was in a "cellar" room which means that looking out of the window we only saw legs passing by. It was a very loud location until very late in the night. The room was extremely simple … it was clean though.

    50 meters away from the bus station - a very good location, and 200 meters away from St Andrew´s square with the trams and busses passing. Very central location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.3
    Location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water was hot. Bed comfortable. Walked everywhere. Hotel near bus station, 8 minutes walk to railway station. Tram to airport 1 minute away. Manager was great. Our room was at the back of the hotel which was very quiet albeit basic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.5
    The location was great, close to the station and transport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The property is very tired and the shower had mould around the bottom of it , I know its an old building but it could be looked after better. ,

    The location was great, close to the station and transport at the door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.5
    The bathroom set up is inconvenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom set up is inconvenient. The toilet paper stand is on the floor behind you. There is no soap dish and no shower holder. When showering, the shower door has to be opened to get the soap on the sink ledge. Somehow, you are expected to wash with two hands already holding the soap and the shower head.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.9
    Basic but good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit basic but comfortable

    Location. Ten minute walk from Royal Mile. Direct tram from airport to York Place which is end of line so can't miss your stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    10
    The location was excellent, the room was clean and the stuff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a site under construction beside the hotel and it was a little bit noisy in the morning.

    The location was excellent, the room was clean and the stuff very helpful. Highly recommend for a nice stay in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    4.2
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Alert!!! They wouldn’t change your towels if you stay less than 5 nights!!! And they don’t tell you about that when you check in!!! Be prepared to use the same damp towels for a couple nights if you stay for less than 5 nights. And don’t ask the front desk because the guy would yell at you saying:” you asked for towels and I said No, why are you still talking?” This is the attitude from this hotel. I would totally understand if they tell me to be prepared to use same towels for a couple nights for environmental purpose. But unfortunately they didn’t bother to let me know and be very rude at me. Definitely not a place I would stay again despite of its good location.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.1
    Basic but acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a lot of building work happening in Edinburgh at the moment, and our room looked out on to a very large building site. However as we spent very little time in the room it did not affect us too much.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.5
    The B&B was close to the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although clean, the B&B was dated, especially the stair carpet which had gaffer tape on the edges where the carpet had worn.

    The B&B was close to the town centre. The receptionist was welcoming and explained everything we needed to know. We were at the very top of the house and would suggest that if you have any mobility problems that you request a room on a lower floor as there is no lift.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.3
    The room was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was huge. And, there was a comfortable sitting room just outside the room, so while the toddler went to sleep, we were able to visit and let her settle into slumber.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    4.6
    Wished I had gone somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were lumpy and one in particular groaned and squeaked all night. Complained the next morning but was told to email for a response of which I have had none. Curtains didn’t fit the windows. Noisy from the street, but that’s to be expected. Very basic. Expensive for what it was.

    Linen and towels were lovely and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Location was perfect for what I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel advertises as a B&B but you have to pay for your meal (7.50 GBP for full and 4.50 GBP continental). If the hotel is going to advertise B&B then it should be included.

    Ilaria and Sara are absolutely wonderful - they really try to assist in anyway they can. There were a couple of small issues when I checked in May 22-25 2018 but were addressed right away. Location was perfect for what I needed - out exploring all day so the room was very adequate. Pub down the road Cannon Doyle has delicious food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.4
    Although the staff were excellent, facilities are limited and having to walk down the Weatherspoons
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not very clean, the sound on the television was terrible, the property is advertised as a Bed and Breakfast but breakfast was extra and awful. Continental breakfast included cereal or toast, English breakfast was served on a very small plate and was not worth the £7.50 charged.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful with tips on the area etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    4.2
    The man at the front desk extremely unhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The man at the front desk extremely unhelpful. We had to wait several minutes at the door before we were let in and he was generally very unhelpful. Would not stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.2
    Large room, good value for money, and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Very nice and large room assigned to us. Located across from tram to airport and many buses. Close to St. Andrew's Square and easy walking to important tourist sites. Edinburgh is undergoing a big building boom right now, and there is a building site in the back of this row townhouse. If you plan to stay in your room all day it might be a problem with noise. However, we were out till 6PM and found no noise issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you advertise as a B&B, why then do you charge for breakfast once you arrive. I thought booking at a B&B- Bed and Breakfast, the cost for breakfast was part of the original cost. If you have large suitcases, it’s a long climb to second and third floors, as the place has no lift.

    Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    10
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were friendly and helpful. We had just finished a tour and it was lovely to be able to walk around the corner and there was our hotel. Just down the road is a great pub. The York is a good choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for our group, good location and wonderful staff. Would defo stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift, only stairs because it is an old building. Didn't like the idea of a shared bathroom but it was actually grand and we were only sharing with one other person in the room next to us

    Very friendly staff, clean room and lots of storage. Stayed in the family room with 2 friends and we all had a load of room to spread out!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    4.6
    I'll look for another place to stay in Edinburgh next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was up six flights of stairs, with neither help with the luggage nor a lift. Bathroom old and decrepit. Front door lock very difficult to operate (with access code and difficult to operate door knob). Poor availability of reception staff.

    The location was good. Walking distance to the city centre. Although I didn't make use of it, there was a bus terminal next door, which can be useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    2.9
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The condition of the property was poor - the Windows wouldn't shut so had to leave them open all night. The Windows felt like they would fall off if you tried to push them. There was exposed wood everywhere. The shower was filthy. We were on the third floor and there is no lift so be prepared to lift your luggage up 6 flights. One of the staff was rude whereas the other was nice but didn't even know the schedule of the first tram - which is right outside their door. Ended in us sitting at the stop for half an hour at 5am. There's construction work going on outside so there's no view as such - but it's a city it's fine.

    Location - very close to princes street and tram to the airport was almost outside the doorstep. Bed was decently comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.3
    Convenient for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The construction site right outside our bedroom window, which meant the curtains had to be closed the whole time and lighting wasn’t great for getting ready. I’m glad I didn’t need a lie in!

    It was convenient for what we needed it for as we just needed a quick one night stop

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.2
    The location was really important for me, so this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was really important for me, so this hotel matched me well. It is an old good hotel with big wooden beds and cosy chairs. I liked the atmosphere a lot, the real Edinburgh.The room was fine, there was all I needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    A brilliantly located base for exploring Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite basic and a bit run down. We were right at the tops of the hotel, LOTS of stairs. There was a lack of plug sockets and some of the lamps werent working. There were extensive building works to the back of the hotel which started every morning at 7am ( NOT anything the property had control over, but had we known before we travelled, we may have stayed elsewhere).

    Fabulous breakfast, extremely friendly staff. Brilliant location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.5
    Adequate to sleep in but extremely basic and dated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift. We were on 3rd floor. Old,worn and dated property, very basic-no frills. But actually.. very comfy bed!

    Very lovely lady at check in, chatty and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.5
    Warm, inexpensive basic accomodation, with no frills, close to bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was a bit grotty with black mold on the walls and the shower tiny. Also one of the curtains was hanging partly off the rail. It was very old fashioned in decor. It was neither boutique, modern, design or luxury. However, since we were not going to stay more than one night and we slept well these things didn’t really matter in the grand schene of things. Everything looked a bit run down.

    It was very warm which we appreciated because we were very tired after a transatlantic journey and the beds were comfortable. It was quiet too.The staff we met was very friendly and we slept for 10 hours. However if you are looking for a luxury or boutique b and b this is not the place for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Brilliant location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t comment on breakfast or nearby restaurants as I ran out of time or didn't use.

    Very well located, only a short walk from the train station, Princes Street, Calton Hill and the Royal Mile. Staff super friendly. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is some traffic noise outside. This doesn’t bother me but bring earplugs in case you need them.

    I was in Glasgow for a course and needed good sleep. I normally stay in hostels but decided to stay in a private room for this occassion. This worked out great. Nice, quiet room, good shower - no complaints.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    6.3
    Thoroughly enjoy our trip to Edinburgh - slightly disappointed with accommodation however good locat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lot of noise from fellow guests - disturbed sleep. Found punnet of mouldy fruit in drawer of bedside cabinet obviously left by a previous guest.

    Basement room - no view, could hear a lot of street noise and traffic all night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.3
    A good value hotel with friendly happy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel lobby was small and it place was a bit shabby, but we accepted that in return for the low price. Showers were tricky to operate, hot and cold being unsteady.

    The two staff people, Sarah and Ileda? were so warm and friendly and helped us. The room was very large and large comfortable bed. York Place was walking distance to the train and bus stations, and to attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    8.3
    Central location for transport and centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been a little cleaner. Lots of dust behind the headboard and net curtains were very dirty which made the room very dark.

    The bed was very comfy. Big spacious rooms. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fridge in the room would be a big plus. Beds were a bit old? very wobbly and a bit creaky otherwise okay to sleep in if you don't move. Room was dark as the window was downstairs not in the street level and you couldn't move the curtains away. Also lights in the room were very dim. You could hear all the noises from upstairs and corridors. As morning came (around 7am), someone walked all the time above our room and we could hear all the steps (stomps) and music. I slept okay but my friend didn't sleep at all after 7am cos of the noise. I can't recommend the ground floor, might be better upper levels.

    Room was spacious and clean. staff was nice. Grocery store and tram station close, not far from waverley station or old town. Very good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower, the curtain was too short, excess water came out on to bath mat. Could not not move shower head around, therefore had hand to hold in hand. Everything else was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Believe it or not the hotel was too warm. Despite being very cold outside. Would like to see a hair dryer in the room. Would like a bath as well as a shower.

    Staff were very friendly and very very accommodating. They could do no more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    3.3
    The manager was rude. Total let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manager was rude. Check in was 2pm we arrived at 3pm and the room was still not ready. I was told it wasn’t her fault and there was nothing she could do. I explained we were going out at 4.30 she said I could change in the toilet in reception! Didn’t even offer myself or my Daughter a drink while we waited over an hour for our room. Would not stay here again.

    The bed was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower not working and couldn't get any sleep

    Only a couple of issues 1 was the shower didn't work and 2 was the noise from outside the building was all the time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.1
    I left 2 items of clothing at the hotel by mistake.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I left 2 items of clothing at the hotel by mistake. I emailed them asking if they would arrange to return them, I also offered to pay any postage costs that would be incurred from sneding my items back to me. They did not respond at all. This is very disappointing. Despite a very comfortable stay, I would not use this hotel again based on this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.9
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Uncomfortable beds.

    The two ladies that run the b and b were lovely,they couldn`t have been more helpful.They gave us information on places to visit and booked a trip for us.Anything we asked for was no trouble. .The man that was there when we checked out was not very friendly at all. The room was really spacious and clean,the breakfast was very good,the location was brilliant. The only negative points were the beds was uncomfortable and the furniture was a bit scruffy. All in all a very nice place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, comfortable beds, large rooms, nice staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shared bathroom with two other rooms, couldn't open windows in rooms, heating on too long and too high all night very stuffy

    Good location, comfortable beds, large rooms, nice staff and reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    The Warm, spacious and cozy room was very welcome after battling a day of good old Scottish weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so friendly and accommodating, nothing was to much effort. Breakfast was basic but good value for money. It's so close to everything without being right in the middle of the hussle and bustle of it all. Myself and my daughter had a lovely stay in Edinburgh and can't wait to return. 3 days was not enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    6.7
    It was ok, would of preferred a better room, and a lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the top floor (67 steps) and no lift, they should make people aware of this as I have a bad back! carrying luggage up and down wasn't fun! and dreaded those steps every time we went back to the room. They didn't supply a hand towel, just one towel for each guest and these were not changed through stay. The furniture is all marked and a handle was missing of the wardrobe door. Bed heavily stained on base. Needs updating.

    The staff were really friendly, the location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Absolutely superb accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing not to like as it was all perfect.

    Location, size of room, breakfast, facilities, friendliness and helpfulness of all staff. It was very clean, warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.1
    Central Local and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Share bathroom No Wi-Fi in the room Heating: in the room there were two radiators (working properly) and three heaters (two were broken, no replacement - the staff offer us free breakfast).

    Central location Friendly staff Our family room was good size Hold luggage for free after check-out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place for Playhouse Theatre goers as it's only a short walk with plenty eateries nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been a bit cheaper.

    Friendly welcome. Good quality bed and bed linen, Breakfast was extra so I can't comment. Great being able to leave at 11am and they will store your baggages for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.6
    1. Receptionist very friendly and helpful and offered to let...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The electric shower sometimes made strange noise and we believed it was due to low water pressure. It worked fine but the noise made us puzzled. Therefore we took a quick shower. 2. No wifi in the room on the 2nd floor.

    1. Receptionist very friendly and helpful and offered to let us leave the luggage there after check out. 2, Breakfast is really good. Good value for money. Highly recommended. 3. Very close to the tram stop of York Place so very easy to take suitcase with you. Be aware that there is no lift so you have to carry suitcase upstairs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location, cheap and cheerful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were actually too warm, but we just turned off the radiators and left the windows open so it was fine.

    Rooms and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty. Staff were very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    5.8
    good location, big windows, big room, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet is not available in the rooms, as advertised, but only in the reception.We did not know that but since it was also for one night, we just stayed there.

    good location, big windows, big room, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.8
    Value for money and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor a little bit dated but on the whole good value for the money we have booked for later in the year for another concert night.

    Staff very friendly,well spoken,presented well,full of information.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windows aren't great so heard noise from street all night. Stairs up to our room was a bit much for one guest with mobility problems, the place could do with a lift.

    Room was massive, ensuite was good too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.5
    Very much liked the location, fact that it was 24h reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were creaky and too soft for our liking, shower didn’t have much water pressure and tiles were mildewed

    Very much liked the location, fact that it was 24h reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value, and brilliant location for walking visit to Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting wasn't great in the room.

    Room 6 first floor at rear was remarkably peaceful, considering the nearby bus station and huge building site. Staff could NOT have been more helpful, and allowed us to store luggage before and after our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    Would deffinatley recommend staying here. 10 mins from Waverly station. Around corner from St Andrew
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, value for money was excellent

    The staff were extremely freindly and made our stay very enjoyable. Helped us by letting us place our luggage in the locked room before check in and after checkout so we could site see freely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    4.6
    I booked late and didnt expect much .Will not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy due to outside trams and people passing by.didnt sleep well.Bed very low mattress lumpy although staff changed mattress on my last night.Carpet had ducktape on tread where it was worn.In need of update.

    Although not the best place to stay .Sarah staff member helpful when i raised issues about bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of electric sockets accessible in room. Very low mirror which you had to bend to see and I'm only 5ft 2. Had to use socket behind bed to use hair dryer as dressing table completely covered socket behind it so could not use.

    Nice room, lovely and warm and staff were very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    5.4
    Good situation but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was in the basement and constant noise from upstairs starting from 6:30am prevented us from sleeping. It seems the room was just below the breakfast room or the kitchen.

    Very good situation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.6
    The property was in a good location, near Princess Street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast dissapointing £7.50 for Scottish. Bacon dry and hard, looked like it had been cooked and kept warm same with egg, tomato not cooked.

    The property was in a good location, near Princess Street. Friendly welcome, rooms clean but a bit tired. For a weekend stay it was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse York House B&B Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: