Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of York Marriott Hotel 4 stars

York Racecourse, Tadcaster Road, York, YO24 1QQ, United Kingdom

#44 of 53 hotels in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3266 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.2
    Stayed at the hotel on previous occasions and never fails to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandstand King Room with Balcony or Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overlong wait for any of the specially prepared breakfast dishes (i.e. fish).

    Stayed at the hotel on previous occasions and never fails to meet our expectations. Grandstand Room was very good. Well equipped Leisure Facilities a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is beautuful, we enjoyed the leisure facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried to enjoy a couple of drinks in the hotel bar, unfortunately there was some very drunk wedding guests sat opposite us, they were loud, shouting, swearing, one guests made several racial remarks, not sure if these were aimed at my mrs and me, we soon got our drinks and went back to the room to finish our drinks on our balcony. We were woken several times during the night by drunken wedding guests shouting down the hall way and outside our balcony, at one point around 2.30am one of these guests knocked on our door. I walked to reception to complain the receptionist was friendly and apologetic.

    The hotel is beautuful, we enjoyed the leisure facilities, the room was spacious and clean with an amazing view of the race course from the balcony. Staff are very nice and friendly the hotel is in a really good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    5.0
    Average at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor restaurant very cold Saturday evening. lighting in room excessively bright. Room very basic for amount paid. No fridge. Dressing gowns or slippers, found in most hotels for this price

    Leisure facilities

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    Weekend Treat to York
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key cards..... Are the worst I have ever experienced. Had to get them reactivated 7 or 8 times during our 2 night weekend stay. So frustrating.... we had 2 cards... would get to the room.... neither would work.... go to reception to have new cards activated.... go for breakfast or lunch.... head back to the room..... YEAH they'd be useless.... back to reception.... start the cycle again..... Each time we had to go back to reception.... there would always be at least 1 other group with exactly the same problem with their room key cards...... The staff were great.... but embarrassed of the technology / equipment

    The York Marriott Hotel is a fabulous place. Generous sized rooms.... spacious bathrooms.... lots of storage / hanging space Comfortable beds.... air conditioning & spotlessly clean. Nice Spa.... very popular.... can get very busy Bar & Restaurant is superb.... Both can also get very busy. The Menu choice is not cluttered & the food is gorgeous both at the Bar & in the main restaurant. Outside / rear of the hotel..... Is stunning Decking with lots of seating chairs sofas really nice areas.... Stairs down to well maintained spacious gardens.... Ideal for weddings & special events. Looking further out onto Tennis Courts & then out & across York Racecourse! Designated walkways to the Racecourse from the hotel all signposted. Lots of parking on site.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    6.3
    Convenient for racecourse function. The hotel was not as stylish as I expected. A little dated .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt dated and stuffy without window open, feels like it needs an update . Room 011. Not very comfortable bed and expected a double bed not singles.

    Location and swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal wasn't brilliant, malbec was poor. A service charge added to our restaurant bill.............. never had that before🤔🤔🤔

    I like that Marriott's are the same standard wherever you stay. Comfortable, clean and staff are professional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    6.3
    Not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a funny musty smell. Air con wouldn’t warm room up. Door wouldn’t open or close properly. No plugs near bed, not enough light, shower wouldn’t stay warm. Restaurant staff slow and rude sometimes.

    Only plus is that it’s in York.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    7.5
    Satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn’t fully flush / ( this was reported) Decor and bathroom a little dated . Charge for WiFi in room.

    Nice location, free room upgrade , nice room, nice robe and toiletries -

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.9
    Felt the bedroom was in need of update , bathroom window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the bedroom was in need of update , bathroom window screwed closed ( no ventilation ) bedroom windows limited opening. Big concern if there was a fire , limited exit !! Bedroom heating not adequate , bed uncomfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double delux room for just one night, however the bed that was meant to be a "double" was really small, more of a 3 quarter size bed. One of the door cards didn't work also so there was only one that we were able to use. Also the TV remote didn't work and the buttons on the TV also didn't work so the TV was not an option. I paid £199 for the night and definately did not get the value for that price! When I mentioned my disappointments on check out the hotel staff member just brushed it off and said it was a doubled and someone would go fix the TV in that room. Definately not worth the price we paid.

    The location was great, especially for a day at the races! Decent distance to the town centre too!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.8
    This Marriott is no longer our favourite. Sad times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not enjoy our room smelling of damp or the fact that there was nowhere in the bathroom to put the bath towels. Nor did we appreciate the rip in our childrens room netted curtain. Did not like being charged wrongly in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.3
    Would sleep there but never eat there again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a charge for using the restaurant that was not made clear. The first thing I knew is that it appeared on the bill. The heating in the room did not work

    The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    4.2
    worst stay in a marriot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything apart from location

    cost too much , ordered drinks to room 115 mins late , checked in after 3pm , didn't get the up grades we asked for, tables sticky ,dust on room tables

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Gail the wedding planner was amazing and could not have done...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gail the wedding planner was amazing and could not have done more for us. She helped to make my daughter's day perfect. Just wow. It is so refreshing to find such a gem.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced for the room provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a £200 a night hotel the room was very tired. The wardrobe door was broken, the toilet roll holder missing. The plug in one of the sinks broken. There was no heating in the room just a plug in heater. So the bathroom was freezing. We were lucky it was a warm autumn weekend but I’d hate to be here in winter. We have reason to believe some of the other rooms have been redone but ours really wasn’t great.

    The bed was huge and really comfy. Breakfast was fresh and well cooked. The location with its view of and access to the racecourse could not have been better. The reception rooms downstairs were really quite nice with small but attractive gardens right on the racecourse.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Although October the room and corridors were absolutely boiling. Everthing else was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was October the outside temperature was 21 deg. The room and most of the hotel was absolutely boiling. My wife and I both slept on top of the bed. The staff confirmed the heating was not on. The thermostat in the room was turned off. There was a small portable air conditioning unit that made little difference and it was too noisy to sleep with it on anyway. Apart from that everything else was excellent.

    Excellent Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was extremely hot and the aircon didn’t, work so it was a bit uncomfortable, I have to use crutches and I got the furthest room from the reception area, it was a bit of a hike

    Staff in the bar and restaurant were great , the dinners we had were of a very good standard

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Great sleep & great food!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious & the beds were v comfy (wonderful pillows!). Room service for breakfast was great. The set menu for dinner was lovely & the staff were all helpful. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    York 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had during our stay was with the tv... it was annoying as kept going to standby while we were watching/chilling. To be fair to the hotel....we didn't chase them for a replacement but it was irritating.

    The location, facilities and breakfasts were wonderful. Clean warm hotel, good food served, drinks in the bar seemed expensive though. Just a very enjoyable place to stay and only 20mins walk from city centre...a lovely walk with good weather :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    Location to the York Racecourse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two nights, the first night our room was not cleaned, the second morning we packed our luggage in the car, went for breakfast and planned another hour in the room before check out, however when we returned the room was already being prepared for the next guests 90 minutes before checkout

    Location to the York Racecourse

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    6.7
    Ok but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was a little cramped with such a big bed and uncomfortable pillows. also bathroom was old and outdated.

    location, it's only 25min walk to middle of town and one one road.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Perfection. Weekend getaway that left us feeling relaxed, recharged and special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I could not stay longer.... But unfortunately I have to go back to work

    Room was outstanding. Staff made excellent attention to detail. We celebrated our 10th anniversary and we were delighted to see that we had been gifted some bubbly and chocolate from hotel, alongside a hand written note. (opposed to a pre printed note from a pile in a store room).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist don’t even listen to what your saying or pass on requests made by customers to there colleagues. They keep you waiting for simple things. There was no hot water for a new bath or shower. No milk for a brew. The whole experience was upsetting,annoying & ruined are weekend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Good freshly prepared breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was always full of chilrend having lessons so each time we wanted to swim we could not. We booked this hotel because it had leisure facilities and needed up not using them.

    Good freshly prepared breakfast. Location close to the centre of York but far enough out to be quiet at nightexcellent bus links to city every 10 mins. .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandstand King Room with Balcony or Patio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit more choice on evening menu would be nicer for me but on the whole very nice

    Breakfast was very good stayed in a grandstand room excellent views nice having a bath and shower cubicle

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.8
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning was poor, towels not changed over as requested, no heater rail to dry towels on hence the request to change them. Cups were not cleaned from the previous day, neither were the glasses in the bathroom. Just mentioned as an observation when we checked out, however, wasn't convinced that they were really bothered about it and that any follow-up action would be taken.

    Some of the staff were both helpful and friendly, especially in the restaurant where they were particularly attentive when we had our evening meal with relatives Room was nice, comfortable and well furnished

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.5
    Excellent stay very enjoyable have already reccommendrd to our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandstand King Room with Balcony or Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in the room not very powerful and we had an issue with the lights which would not turn on and the plaster on the wall behind the bedside table was not good ,the service in the restaurant was slow we waited a while for order to be taken and then again to order desert but meal was really good.

    loved the room and the view bar well stocked and restaurant good, bed comfortable and tea coffee facilities in the room good and was replenished in the evening and an option of having your bed turned down Booked as they have spa which we enjoyed Reception and booking in very good would definitely booked this hotel again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a deluxe room which cost over £400 it's was dusty, hairs on bed and dirty towels. Water was luke warm and the hotel was extremely noisy. Leisure facilities were nice but the massage I got was not the best, the young women must have been newly qualified and felt there was little effort made.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. Its our second visit and we will definitely be back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly and helpful, booking in was easy and the receptionist explained about the facilities available and booked a taxi for us to go into York itself. Beds are comfy and clean, all in all a good stay. Would recommend highly, look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    The location was fantastic overlooking York racecourse and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything to dislike about the hotel. It was perfect!

    The location was fantastic overlooking York racecourse and a 30 min walk to city centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed my stay at Marriott.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entry card keeps stopping to activate so I kept going back to reception leaving my disabled husband waiting at the door.

    The room was clean, a very comfy big bed and the service was ok. There's a lot choice for breakfast. It would be good to have more rooms with shower and stool for disabled customer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    The safety features in the bathroom were very good and the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was much smaller than it looked on the photograph and it was not suitable for swimming:(

    The safety features in the bathroom were very good and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and tired needing a refurb. Buffet breakfast was good but a lot of the items were lukewarm or cold

    Room,restaurant,bar,leisure facilities,breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good value for money and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't get live TV programmes as it seemed the TV was controlled by an amazon fire stick or some other device which offered BBCi player, ITV hub, U Tube etc. Maybe we just couldn't work it properly. However we were not at the hotel to sit in and watch TV so it wasn't a big issue.

    Good location set back from main road, easy access to hotel and car park. Back of the hotel overlooks York Racecourse. Quiet area but not that far from York City centre with a very good bus service just a couple of minutes walk from outside the hotel. Reception staff made us very welcome although we arrived early and our room wasn't ready. Room which was accessed by a lift was on the first floor was very clean and comfortable. Dined at the hotel on our first night. Menu was a bit limited for us but staff were vey helpful in meeting our requirements. Buffet style breakfast first class with a large variety of food available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that the rooms are starting to look a bit dated but they are immaculately clean and would not stop us from booking again

    Lovely hotel, staff are professional and happy to help. Rooms are great size. Breakfast had great selection and was tasty.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely grounds and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms in need of decoration. Bed not very comfy. View of car park only.

    Lovely grounds and surroundings. Pleasant bar and dining rooms. Nice pool and gym. Helpful and friendly staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    It was very clean and friendly we used the spa facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of traffic due to an event close to the hotel obviously not the hotels fault

    It was very clean and friendly we used the spa facilities which were very good and we had a comfortable nights sleep

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable definitely coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed we could have a spa treatment as they were full y booked

    Staff very friendly, bedrooms comfy with little extras we weren’t expecting. The location was beautifull

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was very clean and conveniently situated for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandstand King Room with Balcony or Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restuarant food was not up to our expectations

    The hotel was very clean and conveniently situated for access into York. Staff were very friendly and there were outside area’s to sit outside the bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Had some great views and just a little walk from the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit scratchy, there was a chip in bath and shower head had a massive leak.

    Had some great views and just a little walk from the centre of town. Would return to hotel but to an upgraded room.....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No mini fridge although there looks like there may have been one in the past.

    We had a lovely room with a small vestibule separate from the bedroom with a view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.8
    I felt for the price I paid it was wasn’t as luxurious as I thought it would be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very big but felt very uninviting and had two very small windows so the room was very dark. My partner spilt wine on the duvet cover & the maid turned the duvet over so it was on the inside instead of changing it!!!!!

    Good choice for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.5
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Just shown a table with no explanation about the breakfast process. Not told that there were items that could be ordered ie poached eggs. No one available to ask. No milk bought with tea pot. Buffet items not replenished until promted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Friendly well located hotel, excellent value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!

    All staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Especially Tony in the bar area. Room was very comfortable, good pillows and bed, spacious and clean. Excellent location. Great breakfast, my colleague required a gluten free breakfast which the chef happily made, it looked amazing. I could not fault the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.0
    Enjoyable stay nice walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature in swimming pool could have been warmer was quite chilly getting out then changing room had air con on which made you feel really cold

    Generally everything was very good, staff attentive, with good attitudes and helpful manner, room comfortable, food in restaurant very good, only consideration was that the heating in room was slightly cool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    3.8
    adequate but would not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not get my requested twin bed rooms Really old and poor heating systems in rooms the rooms and hotel look very drab. The bed was v uncomfortable.Having visited many Marriot's world wide this is one is not the standard I would expect of Marriott

    decent breakfast and the manager of the restaurant was v good and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    The room was large and had a comfy sofa in it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bath was tired, the plastic coating had worn off in one place. The bar food we had on arrival was nice, but would have liked to have been able to get something a little smaller than was available.

    The room was large and had a comfy sofa in it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    Lovely stay at a really nice hotel but needs some tweaks
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were very soft and didn't give any support for someone, like myself, who has back and neck problems. Two days after the visit I am still suffering pain. There was a mix up with the bill as we had been given and charged for an upgraded room which we didn't ask for. However this issue was quickly sorted.

    The room was very nice and clean. Breakfast was lovely and there was also a 3 course evening meal on offer for £21 per person, (but be aware of the 12.5% service charge which is added to the bill).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Good break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did order no feather bedding in the room which was ignored. But the bedding was changed after we arrived. Why have feather bedding in the first place? There must be numerous people with an allergy like myself

    It was near the race course and beer festival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice large room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in our room wouldnt open and the tv kept turning its self off. I was also promised and early check in over the phone and then when i called back a few days before my stay to confirm as instructed i was suddenly told that wasnt an option. That ruined our plans so be wary the hotel isnt as flexible as others.

    Nice large room and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Really big bed 😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the restaurant they have a deal on £25 pp for 3 courses and you pay that when you arrive. Then you go into the restaurant for the waiters/waitresses to tell you when you go over eating £25pp you have to pay the rest. Never known anything as daft. They never tell you this when you arrive or when they ask if you’d like the offer. It’s just to get you into the restaurant really.

    Really big bed 😄

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for the race course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whole hotel could do with refurbishment, looks and feels a little tired

    Within walking distance to the race course. Enjoyed meal in the restaurant and drinks in the bar. Breakfast ample. Room clean and comfortable. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff good, food and room over priced. Location good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things are important, in our room the cups provided for tea and coffee were different types of mugs and the same for the glasses. It’s the attention to detail that are important especially when paying the price for the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Spoilt by the marriot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar shut was shut at 11.30 when we returned to hotel . No staff at front desk bar in total darkness.. Found staff eventually and asked for drink.. Told we could have one drink only as bar is shut .. Given a drink and left in darkness .. Asked for lights to be put on.. Two lights were put on.. Absolutely spoilt our night as we stay at your hotel with all our staff for the wedding awards and always return to hotel to have a drink.. We will not return again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dark

    The location was amazing, however room view was not so great quite dark room, we have rebooked for next year but have booked the grandstand room you have a amazing hotel loved it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    being our wedding anirversary and my wife being terminally ill this was a poor start to our break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we set up a tab on our card at reception when we orded at the bar this had not been done for breakfast we orded poached egg on toast and received scrambled andfor my self i orded haddock eggs but some how we got two breakfast with beans hash brown another haddock and qusants these were dry and only luke warm we complained at reception when we left and was told well we wont charge you not would you like a replacement very poor service

    the bed was fine the room had a smell of cigarette smoke

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely few days spent in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in the room is a little tired but our room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Although I found it hard to understand how you can have a 6 ft wide bed ( 2x singles pushed together) and put a 5ft duvet on it.

    Staff were very friendly and very helpful especially the two gents working the bar. Reception staff gave great advice on getting about York without using our car.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandstand King Room with Balcony or Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was ridiculous! No spaces to park anywhere, we were told by reception staff to park on double yellow lines or double park next to other cars. I have a brand new £25,000 car. The room we booked 2 week prior should have had 2nd floor balcony and we had a ground floor patio??? Reception staff was not helpful when the room was the other side of the hotel up two floors. Door security card worked hit and miss approx 6 attempts to gain access to the room, telephone in the room wasn’t working. 1 tiny bottle of shower gel for 2 paying guests. The room wasn’t ready at 5.30. two hours after 3pm check in. Expensive for the experience.

    Room was very clean. Bed was very comfy and roomy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    We had a few problems when we arrived as got sent to wrong...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a few problems when we arrived as got sent to wrong room, as they’d already booked it out to someone else then forgot our breakfast on the Sunday. However did get half of our money back so was resolved.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Stayed in the grandstand room, everything was lovely, bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandstand King Room with Balcony or Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say

    Stayed in the grandstand room, everything was lovely, bed was huge and so was the room itself, food from the onsite restaurant was delicious too and the staff were excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very soft on the bed . Food in the restaurant was a little overpriced and could have been presented a little better on the plate .

    Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location very disappointing room d=for a Marriott
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 310 very tired - net curtain hanging off; shower water temperamental - cold, warm, cold, hot; light on one of the heaters kept going on and off during the night; bathroom smelled damp.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Set in a beautiful location, and close to York city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception host Sheila showed a lack of enthusiasm, customer service, no eye contact, no smiling, disengaged. Poor initial start at the reception desk.

    Set in a beautiful location, and close to York city. Maintenance man Terry was a great customer Ambassador to the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Perfect home from home experience with the added bonus of a fantastic racecourse view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a magnifying shaving mirror....dual purpose...men shaving & women putting their makeup/mascara on...little details like this goes miles ...

    Spacious, clean, fantastic view overlooking the racecourse, veranda, comfortable bed & soft pillows. Docking station, dressing gowns / slippers .......just great !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable - great location for the Races
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At receptioncheck in- only two receptionists available. Very slow process

    Room was clean and comfortable. Service at reception and restaurant was really goid

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Reception staff very courteous and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room service. Seemed like food had been left before it was brought up. Order was incorrect - one portion of chips missing. When they arrived they were lovely and fresh - as the first should have been. Furnishings and decor rather outdated.

    Reception staff very courteous and helpful. Bed very comfortable. Room well equipped. Good parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay. Would stay there again if visiting York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit in bedroom was noisy and it took us quite a while to work out how to turn it off. Ok once we managed it though.

    Bedroom good, Breakfast excellent, staff helpful. Didn’t need to use our car during stay as a 15 min bus ride on the number 4 took us into the centre of York. Bus stop almost opposite hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious accomodation and a great location ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of the room was quite expensive due to the hotel being close to the racecourse.

    Excellent location for the racecourse. Staff very helpful and friendly. We arrived early due to attending the races. When we checked in later in the day our bags were taken to our room for us. This was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Very poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above

    I was leaving at 6 am and asked for breakfast at 5.30. I really wanted a cooked breakfast but was told I couldn’t have it but could order from the 24 hour menu! I then asked the lady if I could have cereals/ toast etc and the answer was no. Felt really let down as I paid nearly £140 for my room. Also...I ordered food on the night (as I knew I wouldn’t get any breakfast ) at approximately 8.30 and the pizza was warm and soggy. In the morning when I left the guy booked me out but didn’t even ask me how my stay was

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with this tired hotel. We booked a deluxe room and it was far from deluxe. I felt staff lacked motivation and pride.

    Towels and bedding were clean and white

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    Ok...no better than that
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    On check in they tried to over charge for the rooms which they blamed on booking.com. On check out there was confusion over the extras on the bill. The pool is small and old and some areas were closed for refurbishment. It is not cheap and surely for that money there are better places to stay in York.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, not too far from the centre of York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit dated

    Nice location, not too far from the centre of York. I’d say the rooms are a tad over priced for how dated they are.... should probably include breakfast with the price?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    After not being very happy with the view from the room, food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grandstand King Room with Balcony or Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a special room for our anniversary (room with a balcony) 60% view of race course 40% view of car park

    After not being very happy with the view from the room, food excellent both evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    very expensive for a hotel but brilliant for access to races rooms tatty no fridge or safe in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dirty in bar area, food by sofas, still on the floor the next day. the rooms are very tired to say the least. no safe on or roo0m no fridge in room, even though one was there last time we were there, no towels on our second night, had to call reception 3 x to get them to deliver some. This hotel is brilliant for access to races, but all in all for what we paid we would have been netter off in a nicer hotel and getting taxi to the races. most probably wont go back - sadly this hotel needs work doing on rooms. very tatty. staff are very friendly though.

    excellent access to York race course.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Not what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandstand King Room with Balcony or Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty shower room and balcony, was not allowed in room until 4pm had to get changed in a spa not exceptable, staff at reception questioned about booking saying we didn’t have breakfast I had to show my confirmation quite embarrassing as lot quest waiting to check in, I booked room with balcony as it was are 10 th anniversary so upgraded £294 quite a lot for a two star room I thought, we only spent a few hours in room as it wa not ready for us really bad won’t be going to this Marriott again

    Near race course

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: