Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, York, YO10 4PJ, United Kingdom

#34 of 53 hotels in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1400 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Third visit and wasn’t disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third visit and wasn’t disappointed. The staff were as welcoming as ever and the room was beautiful. As a person who travels a lot with work, this is one of the few hotels I really look forward to staying in

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Very Pleasant stay with helpful and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plumbing was a bit noisy but we weren't in our rooms for very long. That was the only niggle.

    Our rooms were lovely, very comfy bed, a little too warm but it was really mild for October. Breakfast was excellent lots of choice and cooked fresh, rather than banquet style. The Staff were really friendly, recommending restaurants and giving directions into York.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.5
    The second night spoiled the visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The second night UGH. Yes we might have made things a wee bit difficult arriving at 6.30pm and was asked could we eat before 7.00pm. We went down about 6.50pm and eventually gave our order 7.10pm The staff are rushing about at this time and at times- running(?) , MY soup was served 7.30 approx. and the main courses at 8.pm. My chicken stuffed with tomatoes and potatoes were cool. The strange thing is, the second night's dinner was more expensive than the first. The hotel was under staffed and it showed-the next morning they were advertising for staff. Needless to say we did not use the dining room on the 3rd and 4th night. A hotel that has 60 rooms and a car park for 40 cars!

    The first night was very good, although the service was a bit slow. The staff were very good, attentive at all times. The background music was good-Elvis Presley-and it was BACKGROUND music . The meal was very good. The selection a bit limited

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.9
    Good location, lovely period property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the apartments, which just appeared a bit dated and also had to cross a busy road to get too

    Good location, lovely period property. Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    good facilities, great staff, perfect location and at a very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The room was comfortable, some of the furnishings such as the curtains could do with modernising but it was clean and cosy. All of the staff, especially Katie, were keen, courteous, helpful and very obliging.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the bathrooms /bedrooms need up dating. Although spotless.and everything works.

    Old charming place .facilities a little tired but exceptionally clean.Staff very friendly polite nothing was a problem. They were very knowledgeable about the area and how to get to a places of interest.Food very good.we also liked the traffic signals for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    2.5
    0*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was a nightmare, I’ve travelled all over the world with my daughter just the two of us and every month we go away for a weekend, this is the worst hotel I’ve stayed in . I was nearly in tears at the thought of being trapped on the third floor with no room service and a toddler. The room was unsafe and dirty. I had to park half a mile away on the street, and carry my sleeping 3 year old half a mile and up two flights of stairs I had to leave half my stuff in the car because I couldn’t carry it which meant no drinks or food for breakfast. I’m also a travel blogger and the 30,000 followers I have will be sure to see the photos of the fag burns in my carpet and the plugs hanging off the walls if I don’t receive the refund I’ve requested.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable stay conveniently located within walking distance of York
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast disappointed as it was overdone; the croissants too blackened and crisped.

    The breakfast options were very good, the room was comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife had a lump of what we thought was glass in her starter. The waiter said it was plastic. Apologised but that was it. We complained on check out and the complaint was treated seriously resulting in an adjustment to the final bill. The dining room was very quiet -you could hear a pin drop. Also when I asked the waiter what beers where available he gave me a list of mass produced keg beer but failed to mention that they had a local cask ale available. The piped music over dinner was appalling. Who listens to Matt Munro? Have heard more upbeat music at a wake. Was told that it was the owners taste. What about the customers ears?

    location. Excellent bus service which stops outside and takes you into the City centre. The way our complaint was handled-see below.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.8
    Quirky dining areas;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of chimney soot (but there was no chimney); furniture was old and worn. Rain poured in the window during a storm but no-one came when we reported it. Breakfast was supposed to start at 7.30am but most of the buffet didn't come out till 7.45 and staff were offhand.

    Quirky dining areas; pretty garden areas. Plenty of parking. Fast Internet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Memorable
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the breakfasts were disappointing. We invited guests over who were non resident and considering the price we were charged, I think the hotel could have done better. The 'help yourself 'options were great with great fruit , cereal and patisserie options. As far as the cooked options went, all 3 recipients of scrambled eggs said they were dry and the bread seemed to be standard sliced bread of a cheaper level loaf. I do wonder if the eggs were freshly scrambled or reconstituted powdered egg.

    The room was comfortable and clean. The facilities were good. Considering we had a fridge in our apartment, it would have been nice to have fresh milk in a jug in the fridge, rather than the small sachets, which were neither eco- friendly or easy to open.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Met my needs, conveniently located for the town centre and university, would consider staying again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I originally booked a suite which is across the road from the main building, however it hadn’t been cleaned and made ready. Reception staff were very apologetic and efficiently dealt with the issue, upgrading me to a double room in the main building. No complaints whatsoever

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    When checking out of the hotel, there was an additional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking out of the hotel, there was an additional charge on the bill. Someone had used our room number and forged a signature to buy drinks at the bar. No thorough checks were in place and luckily I spotted it before paying. Was not impressed with the security of the place - it was only drinks but it could have been worse, as we handed in our room key to reception, as advised, anyone could have gotten into our room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    food good service really great country house style good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    7 dishes on main and starters not enough occasional specials sirloin steak 24..95 dear

    food good service really great country house style good decore could not be better and always full book early

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    A very memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could mention that we did not like.

    The staff all worked as a team, nothing was too much trouble. All had good knowledge of local area. All facilicities were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realise it was so far out of the centre but the staff helped us with bears and better ways in. There was a function in when we arrived so parking was limited and to get to our room we had to go through the bar where most of the function guests were so felt a bit awkward

    Hotel was lovely and clean and comfy and the staff were great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.5
    See above,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scone I had didn't seem fresh and it had been heated up, so not great. Staff were all really lovely, and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Annoyingly, asked for a quiet room, ended up with a chap snoring loudly throughout the night next door and on the other side two drunken noisy girls , so not great from that point of view . Obviously not the hotels fault .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Position of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel interior a little tired. Parking space was very limited, due to the fact that the restaurant was open to the general public. Arriving back at 10pm we found it was very difficult to park.

    Position of hotel. Easy bus route into York centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    A friendly, comfortable hotel, easily accessible from the A1, via the A64 and A19 with free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom was spacious. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was well equipped, with bath and shower. Choice of breakfast was extensive. Food at breakfast was excellent, especially the kippers and the smoked salmon with scrambled egg. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was on the A19, along which frequent buses travel to York City Centre. The bus stop was very close to the hotel. Alternatively, a public footpath to the north of the hotel allows access to the river Ouse and provides an enjoyable level walk to York. A quiet room is provided on request. When the car park was full, free parking was available on the A19 to which the hotel has a frontage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The narrow staircase on second floor to our room number 14. But appreciate it was an old building. Whilst having breakfast in the bar area there was several people passing through for meetings in the other room. This was a bit disruptive.

    The breakfast was the best. Plenty on offer and a varied quality choice. Staff all very friendly and happy to help. Tea, coffee and biscuits replenished daily and much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Close to retail outlet shopping centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite dark as the window was only small and there was a massive tree right outside. The breakfast wasn't as good as it could have been as it wasn't cooked to order (it came out what too quickly to have been and the hash brown was rock hard).

    All the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was a really good size, clean and tidy. We were able to walk into the city centre, it was a way but not too far. The hotel had ample parking which was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Very quiet, easy reach to university and centre
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was reasonably clean, but cold. The style is very traditional, as the entire building, with very thick carpet flooring all over the place, and dim lights -- I would not resist there for long stays. Attaching the laptop plug with its transformer was a problem, because of the position of the sockets or the wooden cladding in the room. Internet may be a problem, so I would not recommend for work-related travellers. The bathroom had all the essentials and was working well, but was a bit tired. It was a bit disappointing, the day after, to see that they were preparing the new bedding for change: all linens were put in direct contact with the carpet floor in the corridor.

    This is a quintessential English villa, with a lot of attention to garden, ambience and decorations making it very welcoming and warm. There is a large parking area, available, and the property is an easy reach to the centre, with a walk of half an hour. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.0
    Short break away with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    food [evening meal] in restaurant was over-priced and quality/quantity very disappointing.

    staff very friendly and helpful.....issues dealt with promptly and professionally. breakfasts were excellent, good choice of food available. chose the hotel for its proximity to York ... in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, super comfortable bed. convenient to city centre via bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was on the small side. No lift which was disappointing, as my husband did struggle especially taking suitcases up the stairs. Difficulty finding a car space when we arrived as there was a conference being held at the hotel. Had to wait until someone moved to get a space.

    The bed was so comfortable, cosy room. Excellent choice at breakfast time. Bus stop into city centre across the road from hotel which saved taking car into city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, with plenty of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little tired but in no way did it spoil our visit.

    Lovely property just twenty minutes walk from the city centre along the river. The matrede at breakfast was a lovely lady, who gave us further history about the building & fulford.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast very good , but cleaning stall and leaving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hydro bath did not work and the shower dripped all night , room very out dated , bed uncomfortable. Sorry guys for the price , thought Dick Turpin was still alive

    Breakfast very good , but cleaning stall and leaving residents walking through bar area where we were seated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    Very average. Would not use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told to book the restuarent early, then finding we were the only guests using it.....awful. No atmosphere and poor service. Would rather have used a local restuarent. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was the free WIFI. The signal was so bad, we could neither recieve or send emails, very annoying.

    Service in the restaurant and bars very poor. Waited forty minutes for our starter. Too few staff coping with a wedding and convention, plus 'ordinary' guests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Will definately stay here again when visiting York .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble . Had a meal in the restaurant in the evening service and food top class . The breakfast was fantastic so much choice to help your self to, and also choice of cooked breakfast which you could have as well .. I had full English well presented on the plate and boiling hot perfect !!!!! Beautiful room where breakfast was served over looking garden area ...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Ideal hotel to stay in within 35min walking distance of york.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly could not think of one.

    The room was clean & tidy. Both our beds were very comfortable. When we arrived the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working but after a word at reception the fan was repaired within a few hours. Not one negative comment in respect of accommodation, service, food, or staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food wasn't great for lunch or dinner, but breakfast was good. Noise from the kitchen was bad, but they moved us upon request with no problem.

    Lovely staff and great gardens.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend break in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only ever so tiny fly in the ointment, and I almost feel bad for bringing this up, is that the bathroom could’ve done with a fresh lick of paint and some new sealant putting down. But that’s nothing major and certainly not enough to put me off staying there again.

    To start with, there’s the building itself, which is really nice. Then onto the more important bits; The staff were really friendly and helpful and went about their business professionally and efficiently. It’s also worth shouting out to the cleaning staff who were quiet enough to not wake me up whilst I had a lie in. The facilities were of a good standard too. A nice bar with a couple of very pleasant outdoor seating areas gave an air of a hotel that’s more like 4 stars than 3. I never had the chance to dine there, but the food looked excellent. The room itself was very clean, and had everything you’d reasonably need with a huge bed that was comfortable and big enough for two of us to spread out on and still have room to spare!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Fair
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late evening snacks were not available at all even at 9.3o! And I think there could have been a little more effort as it did advertise a full restaurant menu We were obliged to order in a disgusting in healthy pizza after a long day at work

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    80% rude staff,food nothing special for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and wife both found most of the breakfast staff very rude and unhelpful,how ever on our last day a few different members of staff were on and very helpful,respectful also the hotel was cold upon check in,we were told it won’t be on this time of year,how ever we were given a heater.we did notice the heating was put on for a wedding?

    The hotel was full off character,and the reception staff very happy to help also smiley.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    The staff were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were brilliant. They did everything they could to help. Delighted that they lit a fire for us in the lounge which certainly added to our last evening. Very cosy. The hotel had a good feel and would make an excellent wedding venue, party venue, and was a great place to stay when visiting York.. We will stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet did not work in our room. This was reported to staff but the response was that we had to accept that. Ok for us but not so good if we had been travelling for work reasons etc.

    Very convenient location, friendly staff,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.2
    The room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is horrendous. I was initially offered parking close to the hotel but would have had to move the car before 8am. Other suggested street parking was several hundred yards away but they wouldn’t allow me to park directly outside (next to another car and where a car later parked). To be fair they allowed me to park next to a ‘no parking’ sign at the rear of the building.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in York, hotel choice proved excellent. Safe and free parking for car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not applicable

    I was impressed that the full English cooked breakfasts were cooked individually for each guest, many 4 and 5 star hotels don't achieve that! I was also impressed by the standard of staff employed who without exception went out of their way to be most friendly and helpful. No hesitation in staying there again and my three girlfriends were equally impressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    It was a pleasant short stay break away from the busy centre, all staff very good, especially on
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good bed ,but could hear guests above us. Small tables for 4 people, especially when the food was served on very large plates.It was a

    Very good food, fish and chips exellent , also great breakfast, croissant wonderful. Comfortable bed, on the ground floor, in the courtyard .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Over all a nice place to say good walk into York if you do not want to take the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of some of the things on menu for evening meal for the quality was a bit much.

    The staff where very helpful and polite there was a good verity to eat at breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Quick break in great area without breaking the bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked air conditioning, this is a modern day requirement and not a luxury.

    Location excellent for convenience to shopping and sightseeing. Park and ride into York nearby and the Designer Mall on same sight. Car parking on site is a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Okay on the whole pleasant staff , management need lessons in service recovery !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room opposite an outside table area which was used by people from the restaurant and guests staying in the room adjacent, rudely disturbed at 6.15 by guest smoking and loudly coughing followed by fellow guest joining to chat , terrible lay out , complained to hotel , told would get an upgrade next time , poor customer service from hotel management

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    A treat at the end of a long five days of travelling from the Midlands up to Scotland and back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had a room only, a twin, in 'The Indian Room'. Quite ostentatious but interesting to be surrounded by so much colour! Loved the bath, had a long, luxurious soak.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant staff and good hotel over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness wasn’t 100% or close I feel it would benefit from a totally good clean top to bottom yes it is an old hotel but that doesn’t excuse cleanliness I don’t sleep well at night and I went down to have a cigarette outside and the front door was locked from the inside as also the exit to the garden this was explained only an outside notice to ring the bell after midnight to let the night porter answer but I never saw a night porter To let me out

    The settings was the feel of an old country house, the surrounding areas in to the gardens were lovely with easy access to them in different areas Really loved the fact you had a choice of choosing the garden menu or the evening menu and more so that you could have a 3 course for a specified price but could choose one starter main or dessert from all menus that was great rather than having a set 3 course meal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice cosy hotel just outside York but in walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice cosy hotel just outside York but in walking distance. Very friendly staff and excellent meal in restaurant in the evening and a very nice breakfast. Get there a little early for parking just in case there is a wedding or birthday party.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Family get-to-gether
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar shut early... We arrived after a meal out at 11.05pm and bar was closed and cashed up and was told we couldn't even get a drink for my daughter who needed it for medication..... Talked to manager who kindly gave us a glass of juice

    Lovely rooms and outside seating areas

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Good foood, good location - pleasant place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (bathroom) needed a bit updating - but we didn’t spend much time in there! Skimpy on the toiletries - we had to share a small bottle of body wash over the days.

    The food was excellent - dinner in particular. The reception and dining area staff were very nice and helpful. Rooms and beds were quite comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in a pleasant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Individual style hotel close to York centre. Nice room with balcony overlooking gardens. Staff were helpful in dealing with our party of 14 cyclists - storing our bikes and placing our delivered luggage in our rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible room number 19. Dark and dingy..overlooks courtyard where other guests can see in room 19 window as they sit to have a drink in the garden. No privacy room 19. The worse is creeking floorboards. You can hear other guests above you, even if they are just walking normally. Complained next morning to manager as we didn’t get any sleep from the noise above. Manager said should have rang night porter. Exactly what was the porter supposed to have done middle of the night in a full hotel. Definitely not staying here again. Not very helpful.

    Nice looking building from the outside

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    The system at Breakfast was well explained.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning but it is not that sort of hotel and we seldom get really hot weather in the uK.

    The system at Breakfast was well explained. Staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Great distance from York to be out of the city centre. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a standard double which was a nice fair size. The room was clean. Bed ok. However, woken by people in the courtyard coming from the restaurant area. Great distance for shopping and sight seeing in York.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay that met our needs overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall nothing

    Hotel setting lovely..hotel room a little on the small side but adequate. Comfy bed! Would book a room with a bath next time. Plan to return shortly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Spur of the moment break, well with it !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Loverly period style hotel with pleasant patio areas. Very nice room with features and nice decor. Excellent location just a short way out of York. The staff I met were very polite and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Good price for York in a convenient location just outside the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old building so you can sometimes hear people in other rooms or walking down corridors

    Lovely location just a short walk (20 mins), bus journey or drive / taxi (5 mins) outside the city centre. Very pretty hotel with a decent amount of parking. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly hotel in a very convenient location for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Part of our stay was over a weekend with Weddings booked on both days. Staff and facilities were stretched at times . We were booked on a Room Only basis but tried both breakfast and dinner which did not live up to our expectations. Parking could be difficult at peak times.

    Excellent location with easy access by bus into the City centre. Friendly staff. We stayed in an apartment in the annexe opposite the main building. Very comfortable and we enjoyed the extra space and facilities this offered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    vg. especially with ring and ride we could leave the car in the hotel car park and take the bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booking information had not been interpreted correctly by the staff. I booked a room with twin beds but first given a very nice room with a large double bed. This was changed to the requested accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    A funeral is not the happiest of occassions but staff were kind, the room lovely, quiet and comforta
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had booked after being told the date of a funeral we were attending - the wake was actually at the hotel. The vicar was unavailable so the funeral held the day after. I phoned to explain but was charged an additional £30. I thought this was very unhelpful in the circumstances. We were given a very nice room however, which somewhat compensated but .....

    Lovely old building,attractive and well located. Staff are friendly and helpful. Grounds/gardens lovely in the summer. Pleasant bars and excellent resteraunt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Traditional and ivy-clad, very pretty hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very good. Nothing to dislike.

    This is a lovely, traditionally-styled hotel with the added bonus that you can walk along the river for 25/30 minutes and arrive into York city centre. We had a spacious room with a comfortable bed, overlooking the garden, with a huge modern bathroom, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Dinner in the hotel was very nice and not overly-expensive (particularly if you choose the light 'garden' menu). Staff were very pleasant. The hotel is on a main road, but we could hardly hear the traffic. We were there for only one night, for a wedding, but plan to stay again in the future for a long weekend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is lovely and the location we found was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on an offer so were in a standard double which was in the courtyard. I found the room room 60 just a tad dark due to the lighting. The second time we stayed in room 61 which was much lighter so no issued at all.

    The hotel is lovely and the location we found was ideal. There was a wedding on the day we arrived. The gardens are ideal for photos. Regular bus service into York which took approx 10 minutes Bus stop each direction is very close to the hotel. We enjoyed the hotel and have stayed there twice now within 2 months. They provided hairdryer, iron and ironing board in the room so no need to carry heavy items.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay in apartments. Front door had a knack to it to open. Ended up going back to hotel to find out how it was done. Bed not so comfy. Fridge was very good cooled things quick. Bathroom dated. Breakfast not the best sausage was far to strong in taste. Not worth £8.

    Hotel staff was nice. Walk into town about 20 mins.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Good hotel. Exceptional staff. Excellent location for graduation ceremony at University. Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise clearly heard from other rooms. Above us it sounded like they were tap dancing... I'm pretty sure they weren't. I even heard an alarm clock the next morning.

    Check in was a joy after a stressful drive. The receptionist could not have been more helpful or friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and everything fresh.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our overnight stay and would recommend to anyone considering a mini break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only there for 1 night & everything ok for us during our stay. Furnishings a little dated

    Good for a short city break. Ideal location and just 30 min riverside walk to the centre. Hotel clean & rooms have adequate facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    What a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike totally satisfied throughout our stay.

    The hotel certainly lives up to what it stands for great location good food high standards great staff plenty of space bedroom good size good bathroom gardens fantastic to sit out in . We enjoyed everything about the York Pavilion we will return not bother looking for anything else. Well done York Pavilion and well done the staff you are all a credit to the owners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Would prefer a more modern hotel. This came no where near to a 3 or 4 star. Enjoyed our short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be updated and more thoroughly cleaned. Bathrooms very tired.

    Reception staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast was good and service excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay. Absolutely nothing to criticise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggling to think of anything negative!

    Much better than I expected of a 3-star hotel. Good location, can walk to city centre in 25 mins or use the very regular bus service. Also car parking onsite. Lovely green sitting/ drinking area which was very pleasant after being out all day. The staff could not have been better, some 5-star establishments could learn from this. High quality food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    We found the staff friendly and willing to help, the only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the room and it's location

    We found the staff friendly and willing to help, the only thing I can say which I was happy about is when we can to pay the price we got of the inter net didn't,t Mach the price we payed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed some attention- a little jaded.

    Stayed here with my son for the university open day. In a great position-we walked into the city along the river, ample parking, very quiet with no noise between rooms. Slept well, room was tucked at back of hotel, shaded by beautiful old tree, was 28 degrees, and blackout curtains were very effective! Didn't sample the restaurant, but set menu looked reasonable. Would use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Fun, charming and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were efficient and friendly. We loved the history of the house and of course its age had an impact on some of the more up to date facilities of super modern hotels. but who cares if the shower was not a power shower and the floorboards creaked when you have such a fabulous atmosphere throughout the whole hotel. Dinner was fabulous and the beds excellent. the gardens were a joy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The last bus from the city to the hotel was just after 8pm.

    The location was good just 1.6 miles from the city centre and bus stop not far from hotel. I loved the gardens as it gave it a country house feel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good, as was the meal we had in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    I would recommend this hotel for the breakfast alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room allocated not appropriate for anyone. Only opening windows, French doors onto communal areas, a table just nearby with ashtrays. No air conditioning and June stay. However, an alternative good appropriate room given with no fuss.

    Breakfast was excellent, great service and good quality ingredients.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Weekend with a hottee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given could have done with some minor refurb work around carpets, light switches, sockets and paintwork. It didn't spoil our stay though. The brasserie menu was quite limited.

    The parking, staff, gardens, room from view and view from the main dining room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and on the first floor over the kitchen - we had to leave the windows open as the room was too warm so the noise from the kitchen ventilation was loud didn’t go off until 10 pm and started again at 5:50am. We needed to use a portable fan we found in the wardrobe to try and cool the room the fan was extremely dirty and blew out debri when we started it.

    The staff were helpful and the downstairs rooms were Pleasant. The breakfast was of a high standard and the service was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the shower in the next room in the morning was a bit louder than it should be. Parking was very limited due to a wedding party.

    The staff were very friendly,the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable indeed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are becoming jaded, the gents loo by reception is also jaded and dirty and the restaurant decor and furnishings aren’t equal to the high standard of cuisine, although its garden view is exquisite.

    The character of the property is charming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Excellent restful hotel with easy access into York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being the home of John Barry as a childI was surprised that none of his music was played as background music in the hotel.

    Despite being on the main A19 into York, this hotel is very secluded with delightful gardens. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel well laid out. The four poster bed in our room was very comfortable and the room itself well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    I would be only to happy to stay here again and would recommend the Hotl
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Meals apart for breakfast which you could not beat could have had a better selection

    Both the room and the staff where excellent and the location of the Hotel was just right for what we wanted to visit in and around York

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: