Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of York House Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

106 Park Avenue, Whitley Bay, NE26 1DN, United Kingdom

#3 of 18 hotels in Whitley Bay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 397 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    10
    Great service, fabulous accomodation and location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent friendly and personal welcome and goodbye. I have stayed twice for work and have found the same warm welcome on both occasions. The Manager/Owner even offered to carry my bag to my car (which I kindly accepted). Would certainly stay again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.8
    Really lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A shelf in the bathroom is a definite must. There really isn’t anything else.

    The decor was really lovely and the staff friendly. Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    6.3
    First visit to Whitley bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Insufficient fruit salad; one slice of brown toast between two people. Shower was dirty so could not use. Bedroom had large scuff mark on the wall by the door. Why do you need a sink and microwave in the bedroom? Parking not good at the front.

    Decor was stylish with good lounge and breakfast area. Good coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Excellent and thoroughly recomend staying at The York House Hotel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cheap sausages at breakfast.

    Very friendly staff. Comfort and clenliness exceeded my expectations. Fantastic breakfast options although the sausages were a bit under par.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything negative. Happy to recommend.

    Good clear friendly check in. Room was great with better than usual tea and coffee plus a fridge and microwave! Bathroom was nice. Breakfast was excellent especially the seasonal special that my wife had - mashed avocado, poached eggs on toasted sourdough - try it if you go. A large pot of tea with enough milk without having to keep asking was a simple but pleasing touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast, plenty to choose from. Comfortable, very clean room. Close to town centre of Whitley Bay and metro into Newcastle and surrounding areas, which is very cheap to use..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, friendly and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame that all the works on the seafront are not yet complete but it will really be a great place once they are done.

    Make your own meusli selection and plenty of fresh fruit at breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    Great hotel, helpful friendly staff, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is limited parking , but street parking is available if needed

    Excellent host . Good and developing location, comfortable bed and clean well designed rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Great, clean modern property in a excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great, clean modern property in a excellent location. Staff were friendly, polite and attentive. We didn’t have breakfast as we decided to have a longer lie and, too be honest, a bit hungover! We were still offered a hot drink and sandwich when we checked out. Above and beyond. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.8
    A first in my decades of being a business traveller.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No red wine available from the limited drinks service machine.

    A first in my decades of being a business traveller... a chaise longue in my room. Perfect for relaxing with the laptop for my order input!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.2
    A refreshing change - a good boutique hotel experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was limited but plenty of very local on-street parking with no charge overnight

    Excellent service from friendly and knowledgable staff. The Breakfast Special is a great idea and the Avocado dish I had was superb. The room was spacious and great for doing some work with reliable wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    I don't normally recommend hotels to anybody. If you are thinking of staying in Whitley Bay on bed B
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Everything was as described in your description. The staff were all extremely friendly. The breakfasts were all cooked to order and are excellent. The room was spotless clean light and airy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    Most enjoyable break away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very steep stairs up to 2nd floor. Parking was available only for half as many cars as they have rooms so that was a bit misleading.

    Room was great size and comfortable. Beds were firm and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very helpfull and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely clean accommodation at a good price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel (more like a Bed & Breakfast) was fine and I had no complaints. The surrounding area has seen better days and the parking was quite restricted.

    Good location with several restaurants very close on the sea front. Warm welcome by owner and offered complimentary coffee several times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    It's a lovely spot - perfect for our needs when we're up in Whitley Bay. We'll happily use it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The biscuits in our tea corner weren't replenished after the first day. It was a missing 'touch'.

    The spaciousness of the rooms at York House is good when you're staying there for a few days. Breakfast was lovely - plenty of everything and a good choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only down side is it isn’t on the sea front

    We stayed in a signature room, nice large room with fridge, microwave and a sink so you could do yourself a snack if you wanted to. Helpful friendly staff and an excellent breakfast choice. Would stay again without a doubt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay following sporting event in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beyond the control of the staff, a noisy group returned late causing a short disturbance. A rare occurrence I was told by the management who apologised for the inconvenience.

    Warm welcome, plus several little extras like the complimentary drink and the fridge in the room. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast, crisp and tasty bacon, not greasy as in some places. On a main road through the town yet very quiet, no traffic noise at all. Modern key card entry system gave added security.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived at 10am after long haul from Norfolk. No food available in the hotel. There was a vending machine however no change was available. We walked up the street to Sainsbury's and bought food, so not to much of a drama, would of been nice to of had a sandwich and a drink on site rather than having to go out. There is a small kitchen in the room with a microwave and kettle.

    Friendly staff. Clean and very very comfortable room. Will definitely book again when in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was perfect!

    Beautiful interior and gorgeous large room. Extremely clean and with everything you need for a comfy luxury feel stay. The owner goes out of his way to ensure a peaceful and positive stay. The breakfast has every possible combination and the cooked breakfast was incredibly well cooked and very tasty. I cannot recomment this hotel enough and I will definately return should I find myself in the area again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    the breakfast is great- stayed in another hotel further...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the breakfast is great- stayed in another hotel further north , which was more expensive and breakfast was awful, wish we had stayed at york house longer; will definitely be back ; the owner is so friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Great location with a 100m walk to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be a problem because there are only a few spaces infront of the property. A little expensive compared to other properties in the area.

    Great location with a 100m walk to the sea. The staff was very helpful The room had a lot of space, even had a chaise. Amneties were good. The shower room is to be commended. Although the property was old, the room had a look of being done up pretty recently.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic family time - we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs very steep for a small child, the amount of luggage to carry up and would like a bath in a family room but non of these would put me off booking again!

    Excellent breakfast - great to have a non greasy cooked breakfast! Staff excellent in service and friendly/helpful Nice not to be rushed or feel under pressure at breakfast, especially when travelling with a small child.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.6
    Too short but enjoyable. My stay had to be cut to one night because I was looking forward to the bre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough parking space

    The welcome by the manager was very good. The fixtures and fittings were lovely. The room and facilities are easily 4 star and the breakfast was hot and tasty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    It was a pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no lift though it didn't bother us. The bannister at the top of the stairs was a bit wobbly

    Lovely room, fab breakfast and the staff were lovely x

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.1
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too hot in the room and no way to control it easily without opening/closing the windows at night.

    Excellent breakfast spread, also for vegetarians.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We’ve been here 3 times over the last 10 years & there would be no other option when travelling to Whitley Bay. This time is the first time we’ve been since the refurb so the property completely exceeded our expectations which were already good! Mike & the team were extremely helpful throughout our stay & we hope to be back again soon!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    10
    Everything I need
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcoming and friendly hosts, comfortable, spotlessly clean and spacious rooms. Fantastic breakfast every time - all this ensures I am a returning visitor whenever I'm working in the area. - Thanks Michael.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly, check in was very efficient, and they served a great breakfast. The car parking was right outside the door. Everything was modern, clean and well-appointed. Recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    10
    Happy an enjoyable overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only dislike was parking. fortunately I managed to get a parking space but not many spaces to park my car from what I could see

    Really nice hotel with friendly staff, facilities were really good. Will defo look to stay here again when back down this way with work.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    9.2
    Good quality accommodation at affordable prices
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small tv, small ensuite. Slightly impersonal staff.

    Excellent professional staff eager to do all they can to assist. Good size room with fridge and microwave. Very close to waterfront.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, cosy little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found it a little difficult to find the hotel, the satnav took us to the streets behind the hotel and parking is an issue if you arrive later than the other guests

    The breakfast was excellent, so much choice and all such good quality ingredients, even the coffee! Staff gave us excellent recommendations of local places to visit including Rileys fish shack which was a little gem

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    A brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were only able to stay for one night on this occasion.

    everything from the signing in to the breakfast via a very comfortable bed in a bedroom that had plenty of chairs.the heating worked perfectly and a room with a washing up area was a new , but brilliant idea for heating food in the microwave.every area was clean and well decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Boutique style hotel which is family owned and run in great British seaside resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing at all.

    Microwave and fridge in room, which was family room with Jack and Jill bathroom. Really lovely welcome from Minda, who explained everything. Really close to the ocean, reastaurants about 5 mins walk away. This hotel more like up market Boutique Hotel, Ab Fab . Fabulous breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    7.9
    Quiet hotel close to town and sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was more of a dribble than a power shower. The car parking is a little limited spaces at the front and tooked into an alleyway at the back of the hotel.

    Breakfast was good, a lot of meat/veggie options. Good location, close to town centre and sea front. Friendly staff and comfy room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Very hospitable and central location next to local theatre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really can't think of anything

    The hotel staff were extremely kind and welcoming room was lovely and in the centre of town lovely breakfast will definitely come back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    very pleasant great value for money recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were really friendly and professional, the room was very clean and modern and the hotel was very presentable both inside and out would recommend staying in this much better than other options around the similar value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful welcome, great hosts, beautiful spot by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor was a little out of date but the hotel was spotlessly clean which was more important.

    Excellent range of breakfast choices and some of the friendliest hosts I have met in a long time. Made me and my toddler feel extremely welcome and as if nothing was too much to ask of them.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    The building is truly outstanding
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is truly outstanding Very well presented and very unique It has an amazing sense of homely feelings giving the layout of the building The staff are welcoming the room was well suited to long stays containing fridge, wash basin, storage space and black curtains Even tho my stay was cut short due to work commitments I truly enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    6.5
    We enjoyed the stay . Quite expensive though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hard slippery uncomfortable plastic chairs in the bay window. Couldn't relax on them at all. Small tub chairs would have been lovely. The heating was turned off between 9am and early evening even though there were thermostats on them. We were very cold when showering to go out late afternoon . Drinks from the machine were very expensive ( no bar ) £3 for a can of John Smiths.....

    Lovely bathroom, very comfortable bed, nice breakfast. Nice roomy bay window to sit in. The fridge was a real bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Warm welcome on arrival, property beautifully maintained.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome on arrival, property beautifully maintained. Room very clean and comfortable. Extremely courteous and helpful staff throughout entire stay. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    Enjoyable, comfortable and homely atmosphere.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike.

    EVERYTHING. The room was everything you would want. Very comfortable bed, lovely clean bedding and the bathroom very clean and hygienic. You cannot find fault with The York House hotel. breakfast was AMAZING. If you leave here still feeling hungry, it's your own fault.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Clean fresh food great good for familys near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    York House is the first hotel I have stayed in to offer a healthy option for breakfast, I had the sough dough toast with avocado and poached eggs and it filled me up for the day, also it was nice to have cereals with fresh blueberries Flax seeds and fresh almond milk. The rooms are clean fresh and comfortable with a little kitchen with a microwave kettle fridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    Great Place to Stay in Whitley Bay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a little noise early in the morning, as the floors are quite old wooden and squeaky, but nothing you can't get used to. And you can hear the neighbours around you.

    Beautiful guest house in a really good location in Whitley Bay. Close to restaurants and the beach promenade. We were very warmly welcomed and given a room that suited the needs of my mom and i travelling together.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing, completely happy with the hotel, the staff and the location and will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was completely satisfied - the room was beautiful with twin (double beds). Have no complaints whatsoever.

    The hotel was lovely - excellent location very near the beach. The staff were exceptionally helpful - couldn't have done more for us. The hotel was delightful and very clean. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm welcome on arrival and throughout my stay. Really delicious vegetarian breakfast. The room was spacious and relatively quiet. The room contains a microwave and fridge, bonus if you don't want to eat out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, excellent breakfast and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was great.

    Michael and his team made sure you were welcome and nothing was a problem. We stayed for our wedding anniversary and Michael gave us a gift of prosecco and wine for our anniversary which was very welcome. The breakfast was fantastic and you must stay here if just for the breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, excellent staff, amazing choice for breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor of the hotel felt very sumptuous & the room we were in was beautiful. Super comfy bed, excellently equipped bathroom. All in all, a gorgeous hotel with extremely friendly & helpful staff/owners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Clean, comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lovely hotel where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and modern with good facilities. We were an hour late to breakfast and they still prepared one for us!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable, decoration good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was comfortable, decoration good.could do with written instruction for using shower and alarm clock and TV. More milk sugar and coffee. Breakfast brill! Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    10
    We stayed here for one night with our 5 year old grandson.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for one night with our 5 year old grandson. We had a lovely big room with another small double bedroom to the other side of the bathroom - which enabled us to put our grandson safely to bed and enjoy a few drinks without disturbing him. Owner is excellent and the breakfast outstanding - with lots to chose from and very fresh. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and had lovely large white fluffy towels. Within the room we had a fridge/sink/microwave and kettle and there was a small cupboard with plates, glasses and bottle opener. We wish we had stayed longer as the hotel was perfectly situated five minutes walk to the beach and by a lovely park which our grandson enjoyed. Congratulations to the manager/owner for their excellent management.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would only request a fan or some type of cooling! But hardly an issue at all!

    The staff were so lovely! Accommodated all my dietary requirements, and even cooked a special black pudding I purchased! The owner was so helpful and just lovely! Breakfast was actually a highlight of our entire trip! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent staff and good facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking across the way on a public car park unless you can get one of the couple of spots on the frontage. Th ehotel is on a bend which makes unloading slightly tricky - but no real problem.

    Very helpful and friendly manager/owner who did all he could to sort out the lack of a ground-floor room for my elderly mother (I had rung ahead about this some weeks before but made the fatal mistake of not following this up with a call nearer the time). Rooms comfortable and clean. Watch out if you have a mobility problem this is a combination of joined older buildings with stairs up and down on the first-floor corridors. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Good location - nice sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no lift at all, but the staff very cheerfully carried our heavy suitcase to our top floor room.

    Handy location - just off the high street and not far from the sea. Nice views to the front over the square. Large rooms. Nice to have a little kitchenette. Great breakfast - lots of choice from a range of quality products; caters to many needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    8.8
    Good staff & Bad shower
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First floor not quiet facing the street, Room & bed color not bright overall, Top blankets on beds not very clean, Shower took too long for hot water.

    Very welcoming hotel staff, Exceptionally spacious room, Clean towels & comfortable bed, Such great location to sea & Metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    10
    A perfect break: we were really treated!
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was absolutely nothing I disliked

    I liked that the double glazing was extra deep and completely cut out the sound of the traffic, the beds and pillows were very comfortable, the host was charming and the staff were friendly and efficient, the breakfast was as if we were in a top class restaurant, the hotel was so clean and well decorated and tastefully furnished, the plumbing all worked perfectly, I liked the security of having a double entrance with both doors locked, and finally the hotel had five minute access to the sea-front and to a free all day car park with great transport links if you didn't want to drive. I couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great beaches down to Tynemouth (a great area), very child-friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two nights is £280 for a two double bed family room. No problem about the children sharing a bed. This is a lot of money (for us!) - but that's the way it is!

    York House is a lovely hotel. The customer service was very well thought out, friendly and professional - the chap knows exactly how to treat tired travellers, making suggestions and relaxing people after a long trip. The (award winning) breakfast deserves it's medal! Lots of great stuff to choose from, and because we had almost a bit of everything, we didn't bother with lunch - a saving!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    Staff very accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There really wasn't an issue but if I had to pick something I would prefer something in the shower to put my shower gel on for easier access to it.

    Staff were extremely accomodating, they were knowledgeable about food intolerances at breakfast time and this was a brilliant bonus as it put my husband at ease.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    7.5
    Very clean with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very warm and the breakfast on the Sunday could have been better. The sausages weren't very nice and the bacon was very oily.

    Very clean with friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in nice area with short walk to beach, restaurants and shops.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was a very pleasant hotel in a nice quiet area combined with very helpful owner Michael and his friendly staff. Stay here and you will not be dissapointed. Would definately recommend and this would be my first choice when next in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn't fault the hotel at all. Rooms were lovely and very spacious. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The breakfast was gorgeous, so much to choose from. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    7.5
    Good 8hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very steep stairs to to top of the house. Room was well appointed; very clean and compact. The bathroom shower was not great and should be on a pump. The cubicle was very small.

    Excellent location for Playhouse Theatre and sea front. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    7.5
    Owner and staff very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel car park was tiny. If there are two big cars already there, anyone else will struggle. Public car park about two minute's walk, free on Sat/Sun, but pay and display otherwise.

    Owner and staff very friendly and welcoming. Family room, quirky and interesting - but very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    Great small hotel centrally located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice small hotel. It is centrally located for the town and the beach front. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very nice breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Worth getting some Linda McCartney Sausages in, they're suitable for Vegans as well as Veggies.

    This is a comfortable hotel in a good location, run by a traditional hotelier who is doing his very best for his guests. There was a very good selection at breakfast, being Vegan it's always tricky eating out but this hotel have several non-dairy milks on offer, plenty of fruits and cereals and were also happy to do hot breakfast for me. I could see they gave other guests the same level of friendly, accommodating service too. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    8.8
    5 *****
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dust behind the telly lol No locks on the bathroom doors. No comfy chairs for watching the tv I would swap the dining style ghost chairs for tub chairs.

    Booked a family room so had 2 bedrooms the rooms are clean and tidy and luxurious except for behind the telly probably only me would notice. The location was quiet the staff very friendly and helpful even to the point of buying skimmed milk for me as I can't tolerate much fat. Breakfast was varied and promptly served so no wait. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    10
    Classier than the rest of Whitley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed a bar to chill out in. A minor quibble as not really necessary given the locale. Bathroom could have been more spacious for a couple.

    The manager has to be the friendliest ever. The room was spacious and comfy. The breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    9.2
    This is a very spotlessly clean family run hotel with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is limited.

    This is a very spotlessly clean family run hotel with efficient and friendly staff. The decor is to a very high standard throughout.The fridge and microwave in the room is an excellent idea. The lounge area is comfortable and welcoming. There is a great choice for breakfast, which was very well cooked and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom a little cool one night. Hotel parking ok but limited, so first come first served.

    Staff very friendly, spotless decor throughout. Very spacious room. Breakfast superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    THe room at front was slightly noisy with traffic & people passing but they moved us to s room at the back which was perfect!

    Rooms gorgeous & owner couldn't do enough for us

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    10
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am not a small person so these single showers in must hotels are not fit purpose, it looks like this hotel was recently refurbished if it was they should have gone for a wet room rather than a shower enclosure, us bigger people need a little more room to move if we are the shower properly

    well located, very clean, very friendly staff, perfectly cooked breakfast. great bed perfectly quite during the night

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    10
    Outstanding hotel with amazing customer service and wonderful room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had an unfortunately loud snoring neighbor but believe me no soundi proofing could have solved it and the staff were so very helpful and responsive to me. It would not pit me off stating again.

    Such a beautiful hotel with amazing staff.room was so comfortable and well designed and decor gorgeous. I stay in hotels most weeks with work and this was one of the best and most enjoyable places I've stayed. Relaxed atmosphere and made to feel so welcome and staff made me feel like they genuinely cared and did everything to ensure my stay was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    9.6
    This was an excellent find and we would definitely stay there again if in the area.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of a loo roll holder and shelf in bathroom. Parking rather limited, but public spaces very close.

    Excellent breakfast and well appointed rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    10
    Hotel staff who can sign language for bsl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower need a extra hose. Glass chairs seem not comfort!

    Hotel staff who can sign language for bsl. We can able to communation easily! Lovely Cara. Good job! Thanks!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    Staff were so friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was lovely and freshly made. We left behind straps for our baby's crib and they posted them back, no charge and no problems. We would stay again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay for Whitely Bay seaside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front doors are always locked, even during the day. Just have to manage with the door card and luggage/drinks through two front doors.

    Great personal service, took care to make us welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse York House Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: