Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zanzibar International Hotel 5 stars

9 Eversfield Place, Hastings, TN37 6BY, United Kingdom

#1 of 8 hotels in Hastings

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice little touches - a bottle of milk in the fridge, a carafe of water, couple of brownies/flapjacks, Prosecco on arrival,, very comfortable bed, toiletries invludibg conditioner, and lovely fresh breakfast with champagne included.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    This is a little gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a little gem of a hotel. The service and the food were simply fantastic. The little attentions made this a wonderful 3-day get away for my husband and I. Absolutely no negative for this place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel and reception welcome was superb.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    Perfect hotel and reception welcome was superb. Professional but relaxed. Rooms very boutique style and individual, with some great touches.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    I simply adore this hotel, consistent good service, gorgeous...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I simply adore this hotel, consistent good service, gorgeous rooms and a vast, imaginative breakfast using good produce. Close the the beach and local attractions there's simply no reason to book anywhere else.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, relaxing, refreshing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not great curb appeal but once inside an oasis of taste and peace.

    Decor excellent. The room was clean and light and the mezzanine bed space very comfortabe. The staff were very helpful and discreet. Felt like home from home. The breakfast and complimentary prosecco divine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    A very refreshing change from the run of the mill. The decor is imaginative and original, the rooms are well and thoughtfully equipped. The staff are charming and the breakfast excellent with a wide choice of options.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful night away by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Spa Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs!!! Too many of them.

    It's beautifully designed, has loads of character, great views of the sea, and you could be anywhere in the world.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    One night was nice, but the surrounding was not very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One night was nice, but the surrounding was not very nice therefor the price was much to high. The room was nice decorated and the breakfast was good. The staff was very friendly. Hastings is not the nicest place to stay. we had other hotels on our tour, where the rooms were cheaper, but the surrounding was much nicer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 1 night

    our bedroom was on the 3rd floor, we had only been in the room for a short while and kept bashing our legs on the bottom of the bed as there wasn't much room to get past it. it was so so hot in the bedroom. When we got back at 11pm I got the fan out, went to plug it in but it wouldn't reach from the floor plug extension to the table, left it on the floor, turned it on and it was SO noisy, really loud clicking noise so just turned it of. We where so glad when it was morning to get out of the room. My breakfast was a full english, the bacon was so over cooked and hard and the sausage was burnt. My husband enjoyed his eggs benedict.

    the lady who booked us in was very friendly, and at breakfast the next morning. nice seating out the back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    The room and jacuzzi bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping and breakfast delivery staff seemed a bit startled or awkward. Or I would say not very confident. Hotel reception was very good and attentive.👍😊100%.

    The room and jacuzzi bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Perfect Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a wonderful hotel. Every detail has been carefully thought about and nothing is too much trouble for the staff or owner. Perfect cocktails and breakfast brought up to your room, massages organised in your room, very clean and airy room. I can only wish this establishment all the best in the future. I will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Amazing rooms, great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no staff around when we checked in. Had to walk around looking for someone. This happened again when we checked out. The road outside is pretty noisy.

    Great room - it was beautifully decorated, incredibly comfy bed but what sets it aside from other great rooms is the beautiful view. Brilliant room to stay in. Staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    More than excellent staff, friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More than excellent staff, friendly and helpful. Felt very well cared for and also weather was so untypically for England, that it made this trip to be repeated. Room Morocco was build with a lot of love and Details to make me feel in another part of the world.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable indeed and would return and recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was well equipped with beauty products but could have done with cotton wool and body cream !

    Our bedroom was very well equipped with a great view of the sea and the staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast in room a bonus. Felt luxurious. Would visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Max was a lovely host! So genuine and down to earth. He's made a great business and he can expect a visit from us again soon! Absolutely amazing hotel! Huge specifications and cannot fault it one bit! Look foward to seeing you soon:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    It was great to go to a hotel that looked reasonably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Spa Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great to go to a hotel that looked reasonably ordinary on the outside with lots of character on the inside. Felt like everyone was keen to go the extra mile when It came to service. Lovely view of the sea just as the pictures demonstrated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything :) nice,clean,bright unique rooms,amazing see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Spa Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey

    Everything :) nice,clean,bright unique rooms,amazing see view,huge and delicious breakfast,jacuzzi bath,comfortable,big size bed,local beer and friendly,helpful stuff. Thank you Max

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Just lovely, very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very pleased with everything in this lovely place to stay, would definitely stay again, very clean, fabulous facilities,and staff helpful and friendly, breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Room was delightful and immaculate, will recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect in every way! Amazing staff, amazing breakfast, little touches in my room like homemade biscuits and ground coffee etc. I will definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    We stayed for only one night in the Indian room , and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for only one night in the Indian room , and absolutely loved it . On arrival you are shown up to your room and talked through the amenities, then, which is a lovely touch, invited down to the bar for a welcome drink(wine/posseco). The bar/breakfast areas completely take you by surprise . Nicely decorated in a Asian style . Rooms are well equipped with a modern bathroom . No lift to rooms but we thought it added to the hotel's quirkiness. Breakfast has a great variety. Full English if you want but also lovely alternatives, which we went for. The hotel also give you the option of having breakfast in your room. If you'd looking for a hotel with caricature and some wonderful touches this is place for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Having read the reviews and seen photos, my expectations were high. But they were fully met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Apartment (Manhattan)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seagulls peering in were off putting. Just joking.

    The Manhattan suite was spacious, light, quiet, comfortable and charming. The staff were unobtrusive but excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    A safe bet for visiting Hastings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a big brown water stain on the ceiling and the radiator in the bathroom was leaking. I found it odd that there's no food, not even crisps or nuts available in the bar.

    The location is right on the sea front and a short walk along to town. The room was nice with a huge bed and a big window looking out over the sea front although it does little to keep the noise of traffic at bay early in the morning. Good tea making facilities, mini bar and basket of snacks. Breakfast was also very good. Although there's no dining available, their recommendations for nearby restaurants were very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful and relaxing,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I enjoyed our stay so much we have booked again for my birthday. Our breakfast in our room was amazing and we can't wait for our return. The service from reception was perfect and nothing was too much for them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Back home feeling very chilled and relaxed - the perfect getaway 😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities in the room were excellent, the little touches e.g. night light in the bathroom, Prosecco on arrival etc made us feel very well looked after.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Luxurious romantic heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Apartment (Manhattan)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault our stay.

    Upon arrival we had a very warm welcome from Nicole and we were shown to our room, the penthouse suite Manhatten. We had a gorgeous afternoon tea delivered to our room followed by a wonderful bath (it's huge!) and were so cosy we really didn't want to venture out. There is no longer a restaurant at the hotel but the staff were very helpful and we had a local pizza delivery to our room for dinner. And such a good night's sleep in that lovely bed. I would love to come back to experience some of the other rooms too, but we loved our time in Manhatten.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful, tranquil and perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Spa Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was divine and they bring it to your room if you want to! Africa room has a jet bath which I spent most of my evening on with a glass of bubbles. Perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    An absolute gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms as beautiful and comfortable as they appear on the website. Staff couldn’t be more helpful. An idyllic escape from the daily grind. Will be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    3.8
    Very very disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no prior warning that the restaurant was closed for refurb, no warning that you had to climb 5 flights of stairs to your room. Could see no means of fire escape. Room very hot and stuffy, little protection from neighbouring room noise. Had to pick breakfast choices and time required the night before. High cost of rooms for standard provided should be classed a B&B.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.8
    We would have cancelled on the spot, but half the cost of the four-day stay had already been taken
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a hotel, it is a café/bar with rooms above. The location is a rather run-down terrace, though it is on the sea front. There were no comfortable chairs anywhere, whether in the rooms or in the bar. There are no lounges, foyers or hotel entrance. Breakfast is served in the bar, reception is in the bar. Yes, the rooms have been done up with all sorts of features, but Bali is tiny. We were moved to a bigger room when one became available. Comfort is not a feature of this place, beware of the descriptions on the web-site

    Staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.8
    Had high expectations based on booking .com , but it was not the wow we expected .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the rooms and overall fittings of the hotel were below expectations . Would give it a 7 out of 10

    Location was very good , walkable to many attractions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Spa Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The properties on either side were social security/benefit properties. Website photo was misleading - if we'd known the state and character of the adjoining roperties we would not have booked this hotel. Grossly overpriced for the standard. The interior designer/inferior desecrator must be mad. On the other hand all the staff, who were non local, were excellent.

    The staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Had a nice time at hotel as across road from beach, had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and a little cramped' especially as shower was facing the bed so not a great deal of privacy. The room was also very dusty with cobwebs on the ceiling and dusty on the wardrobe top and ornaments plus windows full of cobwebs, coffee pot was still dirty from previous guests. Ordered room to be cleaned but cobwebs still not done. No complimentary biscuits or hot chocolate and although we were given tea and coffee this was not replenished even though we stayed two nights. They had no towel rail in the toilet and towels were not changed for our second night. We had to book parking at a £5 fee each night. The doors in the room were off the hinges so did not shut properly. Lastly as a non smoker I was shocked that although our Bali room view was of the garden I had to keep the windows and blinds shut as guests could sit and smoke in the garden whilst look into our room. This also let light into the room at night from the lit up garden so bring your eye mask or not a good night sleep.

    Had a nice time at hotel as across road from beach, had lovely decor. The staff were polite. We had tea and coffee facilities and breakfast was great. Location very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.8
    No good for what webpaid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are over 4ft don't bother the roof height off the bed was stupidly low and the mirrors were told high on the wall, good idea but put together very badly very unhappy overall

    Not much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic would stay again and recommend to all my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs. Lots of stairs in the hotel should you be on the top floor like we where. Last stair case is steep and that makes it hard to carry your case up.

    Staff where fantastic nothing was to much to ask and they where very polite nice people. Breakfast was cooked to order and delivered to you table with in minutes of your booked time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, salty food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Spa Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in the bathroom. Room needs to be thoroughly cleaned. The food was extremely salty.

    The view and the spa bathroom was spectacular. Staff there are really friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Unusual fun boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise that the main door closes at 11pm, couldn't get back into our room! Had to ring a couple of times to be let in by a rather annoyed chap 😳😳

    Lovely quirky themed room, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Just go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe adding a small shelf in the bathroom for personal things.

    We travelled through the UK for 10 days and stayed at +4**** hotels that we outdated, worn out old fashion and very often dirty. The last hotel was too much in a negative way, hence the booking at Zanzibar. What a nice and lovely place. Friendly staff, clean room, and good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice rooms, helpful staff, and no free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Misleading info about "Free Parking". I had to pay for parking. The only available parking the hotel offered was far away / on street - not dedicated parking.

    The hotel and rooms have character and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    The staff were extremely pleasant & greeted us with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely pleasant & greeted us with a big smile. They couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was very beautiful & spotlessly clean. We had breakfast in our room & that too was amazing. We will most definitely be using this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Nothing less than perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like

    The Zanzibar hotel is no less than perfect, the staff are helpful, friendly and nothing to is much effort for them. Have stayed there couple of time in different rooms and each stay was amazing, Theres everything in the room you could want and more, cocktails are amazing as is the breakfast, rooms are clean and tidy. We can't wait to come back in August, if we don't come back before.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic breakfast and room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Availability of staff. Room was overlooked by neighbours at the back

    Absolutely fantastic breakfast and nice to have dvds to watch which made it homely

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in Hastings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little warm - the hotel had put fans in to cool it down, but they were too noisy so I couldn't have them on at night. Minor quibble though as we loved the room and hotel very much.

    Staff were amazing, friendly, helpful, fun. Breakfast was fantastic - we probably won't eat for another week! Location and decor were fab and we'd definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    Staff were pleasant and food was lovely - plus a peaceful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience of parking using the hotels allocated parking facilities was dangerous and risky… hotel needs to warn customers of the hazards placed when going into bunker tight parking entrance, poor signage, exit gate faulty meaning you then have to take a very tight ramp which requires an expert to get your car in without scraping or damaging your car. I’m a good driver and have used many London car parks but this one would not be safe and I wish I had not used this car park. The experience of having to collect and then provide the car parking card back to hotel staff is also a hazard – I had to park outside the hotel with moving traffic to then drop a card back. For any older or family using the car park and dropping the card off plus walking back to the hotel – this would be a challenge and completely unsafe…. The hotel should warn people about the risks of using their car park and at the very least should provide information before someone books this allocated parking.

    Staff were pleasant and food was lovely - plus a peaceful sleep.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot, and to be honest no fault of the hotel but it was a bit further than expected from the main town, the room was very hot though heating was turned off and slightly smaller than expected.

    Staff were extremely helpful, complimentary breakfast in bed is a nice touch, themed room and gardens were amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Amazing hotel, couldn't be faulted apart from being overpriced due to local area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Spa Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some parts of Hastings are a bit rundown. Lots of dogs around - but clearly not enough 'dog waste bins' ! Sadly Hastings seems to have a big problem accommodating the homeless.

    Breakfast delivered to room, especially as we had such a fantastic view (Africa). Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely hotel - only saying 'overpriced' due to local area not being what I'd expect for paying this amount for a room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Amazing, amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was amazing- as was the food we had in the restaurant as we chose to eat in. The staff were so so friendly and went above and beyond to help us. The room was unique and fun to stay in. We can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Short Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike and although we had a garden view we would book a room with a sea view next time.

    Sea view from bar and restaurant and very friendly staff. Food, breakfast and evening meals, and our room (Japan) were superb. An amazing hotel and an amazing experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely 1 night stay at the Zanzibar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the India room. Lovely welcoming room that was so comfortable that it's unlike staying in a hotel. Big comfortable bed and great bathroom with huge bath and nice shower. Breakfast in the room was a lovely option to end our stay. We would like to return to stay in one of the sea view rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.8
    Friendly design-led boutique hotel in a great location and with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing major - I know that exposed baths and showers in the bedroom are in fashion, but being able to see your room partner in the shower might not be your idea of fun (or theirs either!).

    Lovely REN toiletries and fluffy bathrobes and best hotel breakfast I have ever had.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    This hotel is not discreet anyone can ring the hotel and obtain information about you and your stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi let the hotel down even though I was logged on I couldn't used the internet from my bedroom. Very slow internet speed not good at all. And I don't like the fact that staff were disclosing information about their guest. I.e. Someone rang up asking information about me and was able to get a lot of information about me and my booking. They were told the time I arrived, who I was with what room I was in and that I ordered breakfast for 10am. Not very discreet at all.

    I liked the room it was different from the regular rooms you tend to find in hotels. Very impressive was the moroccon bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced, overrated and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed before arrival that the restaurant was closed and under refurbishment. We had chosen the hotel specifically on the reviews and the restaurant, as a birthday treat. Booking.com had also told us the room would have a spa bath, which it did not. We should have been told in advance of these facts and that the room was positioned up several flights of stairs with no lift available. The room was very hot and the window didn't work correctly. Although we drew the staff attention to this it was not fixed. Breakfast had to be served in our room, due to the refurbishment, this meant eating at a low table without adequate seating and without the promised sea view. The 'garden view' from the room actually overlooked the dirty awnings of the outside eating area and the shabby backs of other houses in the area. Overall we were disappointed that the stay was overpriced and the information we had from booking.com was lacking and inaccurate with an inflated rating.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.5
    Moorish Indulgance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to leave early for work so missed breakfast and had to wait a bit to check out. Was still charged £14 for a half bottle of wine from the mini bar. Think it was listed at £12

    Great room. Powerful shower. Nice coffee, Real Milk. Nice touches. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    The best seaside hotel I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was all amazing.

    The hotel staff were very attentive and could not do enough to help. The hotel has so many personal touches - candles in the room, a very well stocked mini bar, a great menu selection for breakfast, even a glass of champagne! I love the little note that was waiting under the door confirming what time your breakfast will be ready, where it is going to be served along with the weather forecast for the day and suggestions of things to do. I loved it so much, I have booked to stay again later this year.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed for refurbishment which was a shame. There is also no lift and had to climb 2 large flights of stairs to get to the room. There are also no other faculties in the hotel.

    Hotel had some beautifully themed rooms. A very unique and creative idea to theme the room based on location. Breakfast was delivered to the room and was such good value for money. Hotel is also located opposite the beech.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.9
    A wonderful stay! would go back and recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small thing really and perhaps down to personal comfort. Our room had underfloor heating and was so hot in the night - made it a bit difficult to sleep.

    Fantastic welcome by Kelly who help us with the parking and made sure we were settled in to the room. Barman very helpful and friendly. Excellent Breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.7
    Feel the heat of Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed on the mezanin floor offers very little head room, hard hat not provided. Room was far too hot to sleep well even with the radiator turned off and the window wide open in February.

    Hotel decor was excellent, modern facilities, friendly staff and a fantastic breakfast served in the room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Amazing stay for my
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Penthouse Apartment (Manhattan)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room it was perfect! Bath was hugeeee! Luxury, comfort modern room! Staff couldn't do enough. Bed was comfortable, sea views. Just amazing x

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Perfect boutique getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was the square toilet seat. It was quite uncomfortable to sit on.

    Having breakfast delivered to our room was the perfect added touch to an already wonderful and friendly hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.6
    Best hotel in Hastings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More varied/changing menu, would loved to have had our dog with us on the beach, making a credit card charge is a little churlish, just build it into the price

    Most things, lovely room, sea views

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    Great team!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a walk from the nearby parking

    Exceptional laid back shabby chic vibe, and in our case sea-view, delivered with detailed efficiency - wonderful dinner, and bespoke breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Location was nice- can hear the waves and wake up sunrise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was nice- can hear the waves and wake up sunrise

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Everything that you would want in a hotel plus a little bit more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful room and a breakfast to die for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel. Excellent service. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. The Staff exceeded my expectations. Beautiful boutique property with a lot of character and charm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Rillia t
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Apartment (Manhattan)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Breakfast excellent super comfort

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View (Mezzanine)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything

    Great Breakfast / Great hospitality / All round brilliant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    My stay at Zanzibar is not regrettable,Room should have been much bigger for 2 people and less bites
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room. Spider webs by the solar area, insect bites.

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.5
    Staf!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator / lift

    Staf!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely bed and cafetière with fresh coffee in room
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bed and cafetière with fresh coffee in room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.5
    Loved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Supreme Deluxe Double Room with Bath and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room with an amazing view. Can’t wait to try the other themed rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con

    The room was amazing The staff was great It was an awesome atmosphere And all together lovkey experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice but maybe a little overpriced
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough hot water in the spa bath

    Champagne breakfast in bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View (Bali)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Chill overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View (Japan)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing room . Amazing breakfast. Staff amazing too

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: