Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Templars Hotel and Restaurant

20 High Street, Baldock, SG7 6AX, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Baldock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 279 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated decor. Marks on paintwork on walls in room. Stains on room carpet. Big stain in the bath . Strange smell in the corridors. No heating on in the room , even though it was a cold wet day outside .

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed overnight, it’s nice enough but noise travelled a lot from other rooms and tap dripped all night so I didn’t sleep well. We were disturbed by housekeeping 20 mins before check out time, which could have waited.

    Helpful reception staff. Overall a pleasant stay and the duvet was really comfortable - now we’re looking for one just like it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets throughout the whole hotel were grubby, stained and smelt of stale smoke and general filth. The room itself was incredibly hot (no thermostat in room) and the radiator in the bathroom couldn’t be turned off. There were crumbs, old hair grips and a build up of dusk and grime under the bed (the bed was on wheels so could have easily been moved to clean). The skirting boards at the side of the bed were filthy, had bubbling and flaking paint. The bedside lamps were dusty. The walls were marked and looked like they could have done with a re-paint. The bathroom was the worst part. The old wooden toilet seat had a crack in it (goodness knows what microbe colonies were lurking). The bath had visible dirt in it, the bathroom tiles were smeared, the taps hadn’t been cleaned, the shower head had a huge build up of limescale. Breakfast was terrible. No fresh coffee or tea. There was a huge vat of boiling water (actually luke warm) to make instant decaf coffee or earl grey-no other options. Reasonable cereal choice but awful cheap sliced bread for toast. No breakfast menu (wine menus were still out on the tables). Scrambled eggs were rubbery and tasteless. I asked for grilled fresh tomatoes and ended up with sliced raw salad tomatoes. Tomato ketchup in cheap little sachets that were impossible to open. The tables at breakfast were all mismatched in the ‘dining room’, no table cloths, carpets were gross and smelled bad. All in all I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone.

    We slept quite well (both had to wear earplugs) considering the early morning noises and banging doors. The bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was useless. I had help from staff, but the wifi remained useless. I am travelling for business and need to use email etc. I don't need particularly high speed, but it repeatedly dropped out.

    Everything was as good as i'd expect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no heating on or the option to put it on. not a problem this stay.

    bed was very comfortable.breakfast great. was suprised with staff,most hotels they usually offish but these staff here were very welcoming and could`nt be more helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was too warm. The window needed to be constantly adjusted as the radiator was fixed. The window was too stiff to open alone. I needed to get help each time. But as far I’m concerned rather too warm than too cold. Parking wasn’t free. The website suggested it was. Shower was strong but sprayed in all directions

    Good continental breakfast included in the price. English breakfast was extra. Friendly staff who really tried to help. Aa an exception bedroom was available at 11.00 am on the day of arrival. Cosy pub for a drink. Nice location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception, bar and restaurant were dark and not the best advertisement for the hotel. We immediately looked for somewhere else to eat; fortunately there are several good places within walking distance.

    The friendly staff and room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to open the bedroom window to let in some fresh air. Curtains cover the radiators which does not help in the cold weather.

    The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The full English Breakfast wast very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities are a bit dated and room was hard to heat up.

    Staff was quite helpful given we were stuck in England after our flight was cancelled from Luton. They kept the bar open after our late arrival from airport. Made arrangements for us to leave the next day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pleasant budget hotel, with friendly staff. Our room was a little small but clean. Our second time at this place. Very convenient for the delights of Baldock which is one of my favourite market towns.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chef was ill so no restaurant when we arrived on Saturday night .. obviously things happen and can't be helped but if we'd have been informed on arrival getting food outside would have been easier

    Breakfast fab , reception and bar staff fab .. rooms excellent great very roomy place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful , 1cheap sausage , measly piece of bacon , greasy mushrooms , like warm (at best) beans , half decent scrambled eggs .. Stayed as allegedly good breakfast very dissapointed to say the least . Cleaner knocked and came in room even though I was still in and shouted wait ... very poor

    Gentleman who greeted me excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main areas in the hotel are very tired. Need updating. We did not eat in the restaurant on this visit, first night they did not offer food due to breakdown of fridges though we would normally have done as the food on offer is varied.

    The room was well appointed away from the main road, clean and well maintained. The towels in the en suite were very good quality. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a free public car park limited to 2 hrs but ok after 5pm so if you time it right it shouldn't be a problem.

    Friendly staff and good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Repair that dripping tap in Room 16!

    Decent value, great central spot, available parking (except on Market day) basic but clean rooms, good brekkie and helpful friendly staff - what's not to like?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a little flakey, but good phone signal so not really a problem. No lift so be aware there are stairs to climb.

    For a 1 night stay it was perfect. Didn't use the restaurant or bar but instead went out as there's plenty of choice in Baldock. Breakfast was a simple Full English breakfast and hit the spot. The room was clean and comfy, although the room was a little warm, and plenty of hot water in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows were dirty, the paint on the window frames was flaking off and there were flakes on the window sill. The bath didn't look very clean. We felt that it could do better - it's in a very convenient location and it's a shame not to make the best of it.

    It was central to where we needed to be, and we found a great pub in the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't informed until arrival that they hold a disco on Saturdays which went on until half past midnight. The whole building vibrated with the noise . Although described as a hotel it is in fact a big screen TV pub (sky sports etc) with several rooms.

    Room was clean although a bit 1950s and bed comfortable complete with TV , tea and coffee and hairdryer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would prefer to have a mattress protector between the mattress and sheets. Should have been told in advance about cooked breakfast not being available before 8am on a Sunday - we paid for inclusive so a bit disappointed not to have had it as left beforehand.

    Lovely welcome, good position. Hotel is undergoing renovations - corridors all recently repainted, and our bedroom, 20, was very clean, nicely decorated and being on the 2nd floor not affected by street noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    basic room but comfy enough. helpful reception staff that seemed to do a lot of multi tasking the evening I checked in and indeed the following morning. good cooked breakfast, breakfast bar a bit limited

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wash basin in the en suite was the smallest I have ever seen in any hotel. Totally unpractical.

    Seeing a black squirrel outside the dining room while waiting for breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ordered an earlier breakfast, chef didn't turn up on first morning. General air of lack of maintenance and overworked staff. Good location and good shower and tea coffee making in room facilities. Daily towel changes. Poor quality cooked breakfast, but good value/quality bar meal in the evening.

    good shower. Daily towel changes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not working. Search was for parking, but there was no hotel parking, on street limited time parking only. Bathroom was windowless, damp, smelly, noisy from the sewer pipe running floor to ceiling, dark, only a light over the mirror, and no ventilation, as extractor fan not working. Corridor doors banking all night as door closers not working so doors slammed all the time, Hotel was described as a carvery but that is only Sat or Sun, you can book a carvery mid week if you can guarantee a party of 25 or more.

    Breakfast was good, well presented and cooked to perfection Location right in the centre of town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the same hotel many years ago when it was called the Zeus and it has obviously not been decorated since. Desperately in need of an over haul. The dining chairs in the eating area were absolutely disgusting, stained every one of them, a good scrub with Vanish wouldn't go a miss. The carpet was so sad I can not describe them. In our room, which was a good size we had a wardrobe you could not open because it was up against the bed which was immovable. The bathroom was very mouldy and the bath extremely deep, I am a tad off 70 and my son is blind, I found getting into the bath to use the overhead shower difficult. Not disabled friendly at all. Lots of steps with no white lines on any edges. My son is blind and travels alone a lot but I would not recommend that hotel for him. It was self service breakfast which is normal, you ordered a cooked breakfast separately(which was good) a lot of the dishes to put food in looked like they needed a wash. There was a load of fruit flies hovering over the fruit bowl, commented on by others.

    The room was a good size and the hotel was exactly where I needed to be. I was going to a funeral with my son and wake was in the hall opposite. The High street is very pleasant and I like Baldock a lot. There were lots of nice pillows on the beds, three beds in the room, all good size singles and comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities and a good size T.V. The cooked breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to check maintenance issues in rooms before letting, duvet was lumpy, staff need to be more professional in approach to customers at all times.

    Excellent value for breakfast. Cost of room was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a stress, although we didn't have trouble getting a space,it's not the hotels car park and there are certain hours you can park there. Ticket wardens were hot on checking cars but stressful for my partner.

    Rooms were cosy and clean. Staff couldn't have done more and were always happy to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a total revamp more like a 3 star not 5 council with the Parking for disabled persons staying

    It was in a good location in town staff were exalent very helpful hard working

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the top floor rooms are a little small and if carrying large amounts of luggage, several trips will be necessary as the heavy fire doors make it quite difficult.

    The room was very comfortable and have the facilities required.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly there's no longer a carvery at templars I booked on the strength of this but would still book again regardless as we enjoyed our stay

    The food was very nice at templars I enjoyed both the evening meal and the full English breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks a little scruffy round the edges and needs a spot of redecoration, although it was clean and the beds were comfortable.

    The breakfast included in the price was excellent; nothing out of the ordinary, but well cooked and served hot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi did not work. My room overlook the main road through the town so it was a choice between very hot or very noisy. There was an old water leak on the ceiling and the bathroom was dated with some green mold around the grout.

    The breakfast (included) was good, staff was very nice. Clean linen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor getting a bit tired. Breakfast all right, but rather limited choices of cereal and bread, no fruit or croissants (they had run out). Bedroom a bit cramped, and bathroom rather basic. Soap dispensers for both basin and shower.

    Town centre location. Overnight parking just outside. Friendly reception when we arrived. Large and powerful shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disco in hotel Saturday night loud. But finished promptly at midnight. Fire alarm activated (twice )by heat from the people at the disco at about 11pm

    Room OK, beds comfortable older property bathroom need' s upgrade Staff friendly & helpful Good breakfast great selection Would stay again provided there is no disco booked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival went up to my room the toilet had not been cleaned,Next morning breakfast was cold apart from the sausage,got in that night the coffee and milk had not been top up and last night coffee cup was still there.Delay in the breakfast next morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are ok, bit tired but the bathroom definitely needs updating. No spare toilet rolls, and only half a roll on holder. Trouble locking door from inside, handle loose.

    Excellent location. Parked ok outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of bathroom and shower relatively poor. Croissants and yoghurt on breakfast menu offered but only available once and this entailed staff member running to local shop to purchase two yoghurts for me to choose from! Runner on bed dirty. Shower head rusty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was small, considering it was a family room. Damp on the ceiling, and lots of cobwebs, but generally clean. The bed was not very comfortable, bit too hard for my liking, but that's more a preference. Not doubled glazed so could hear the traffic and people passing by.

    Great family room size.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Going to need some money spent on it soon. Its obviously an old (and characterful) building that needs to be cared for. I can imagine it becoming seedy really quickly if the owners don't keep on top of maintenance.

    Great location, lots of restaurants nearby. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking at hotel. Have to use town car parking and if out of free periods, there are charges to pay!! Noise in room all night from patrons outside the window smoking and the constant traffic noise too. Window did not have lock or double glazing. Bathroom light did not work over mirror, when you flushed the toilet it then constantly dripped very loudly. The first dinner we had, the chicken fajitas were practically cremated!! The place had the air of "Fawlty Towers" and the staff seemed not to care and only one member of staff was actually friendly and cheerful towards us. Overall not a very pleasant experience at all and would not return.

    Central location in Baldock.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly corridor. No heating and leaking radiators led to damp carpet and mushrooms growing near the ground floor fire escape door. Shower head held on with duct tape. Toilet brush was a biohazard. Wifi speed was bad.

    The breakfast is great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in the room was full of stains. Lots of marks in the bath. Room could do with refurbishment.

    Breakfast was really good. Room was nice and quiet. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very loud disco which we where not informed about and our room was above disco. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here as it within walking distance of our son and grandchildren home. We will not be staying here again there are other hotels in the area slightly more expensive but no disco.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No crockery or cutlery Could have been cleaner Damaged wall

    Stayed in the annex, loads of space and very comfortable Great variety of pubs within walking distance

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no clasp on the window so it wasn't possible to secure the window. The toilet roll holder was missing. Lots of lime build up on the shower head and the shower tiling wasn't clean.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work. TV didn't work. The restaraunt food was poor quality. Two weeks before Christmas and it was deserted, the locals obviously know something.

    Great location but no private parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Decor breakfast average most self service while your main was brought to your table to go cold. Bedroom old in desperate need of an uplift taps in bathroom loose reported nothing done no wifi in bedroom

    Not much

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A convenient hotel but with a tired and old fashioned look and style. Part of the hotel seemed to be experiencing a makeover but not our room which was lacking atmosphere and warmth! The bedding was fresh and clean and the general level of cleaning was good but the bathroom was poor! The curtains and carpets were in need of replacement. There was only one bedside light and this had a "wonky" contact! The best feature of the visit was breakfast but that was spoiled by "help yourself" coffee which was Nescafe Original or Gold Blend. It is not acceptable to serve instant coffee in a restaurant in 2016, when most families have coffee machines at home producing good quality coffee. The price was good but overall we were disappointed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillows were uncomfortable, room smelt musty and the bathroom smelt of cigarette smoke.

    Plug sockets were well located in the room (next to the mirror), large TV.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room we were allocated was shabby, shower was dripping and mould around grouting. Previous occupier had been using shower as a smoking room, which must have been apparent to cleaner. Second room was better, but we had to ......re-tune TV, rehang one of the curtains and clean the kettle. Lighting in the room was very poor.

    Decent choice at Breakfast. Staff were all very friendly / helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It sounds trivial but a more efficient toaster at breakfast and tea served in a teapot would make a more comfortable breakfast experience. In the shower having the shower gel container more accessible would have made it easier, we are not all over 5 feet 6 inches tall or have extra long arms

    It's convenience for our needs in the area when we visit. The pre-warning about parking while the Charter Fair was on was useful to know..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The telephone manner when I phoned with a query.

    I asked whether we could have access to our room an hour early as we were going to a wedding. It was ready for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom no bath just shower. Lots of stairs. And a few tiny steps on landings that caused me to trip into a door frame, was completely my fault for not noticing the signs. They are clearly marked but if stopping with person that find stairs difficult I'd ask for a room on a lower floor. Staff very helpful

    Comfy room clean bed linen very good breakfast Great location Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not that clean, the cistern dripped all the time leading to disrupted sleep.

    Looks like it's being refurbished, room 6 needs a little spruce up especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had seen better days, and seemed to be undergoing refurbishment to make it more attractive. My room was fairly basic and would have been OK for the one night's stay. However, at 1.30 in the morning some of the other guests came in from a celebration and decided to hold their own loud party on my corridor! This went on until after 3.00 a.m. This was not the hotel's fault but very annoying!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has seen better days and is a little bit tired, could do with a bit of TLC, however that does in the price of a nights B&B, No Frills Value For Money......

    Friendly Staff. Good Breakfast. Good Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms at the front, overlooking the High Street can be a bit noisy.

    The staff are non intrusive but always available to help. The room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room hadn't been hoovered and there was a used tissue on the floor! Room was too small - including the bathroom. There was a shower curtain cut off as a curtain at the bathroom window. No parking at the hotel itself, only on street parking which is limited to 2 hours through the day.

    Location was good, right on the high street and close to A1

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    slight hiccup with booking room was given top floor when lower floor was indicated as i have disability but staff very helpful

    location nice room good breakfast value for money helpful staff clean will use again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of house understaffed (man trying to juggle jobs ...reception and the bar)albeit cheerfully.The fire exit on the ground floor was blocked by laundry. Our room in the roof small, hot and airless, the website rooms are airy and spacious the price the same. The hotel is very jaded and requires maintenance. This hotel could be so much better.

    English Breakfast was good. Location excellent, with parking out front. Very accommodating regarding an early check-in. Might return if had a better room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic breakfast, our room was not made up at 8.30pm on the evening of arrival - a mistake which was rectified later. Tired and rather gloomy decor. Under-staffed.

    good location and reasonable cost.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did believe that a Carvery menu was available on all days as mentioned on site but only done on Sundays. It was a bit of a maze from reception to our room and due to my husbands health he found it a bit of a struggle. But we hadn't mentioned this when booking.

    The food, both breakfast and our evening meal in the restaurant were very good, we could not fault it. The receptionist/ waiter did a sterling job as he appeared to be on his own!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had not been warned in advance that parts of the hotel would be under renovation, however this didn't affect our stay.

    Generous breakfast with everything that you might want. Pleasant helpful staff present throughout

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom carpet was dirty - stained and had bits on it. Needed vacuuming better, and replacing soon! Breakfast coffee was instant, not ground.

    Comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the cups were never washed and the bedroom was not touched on our second day there, no bed made, bathroom not cleaned, cups not cleaned and no milk to make a drink.

    The location was just right for us. room on arrival was reasonably clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overnight noise from kitchen equipment, general cleanliness (particularly grubby grouting in the bathroom and a grimy kettle). Plastic curtain in the bathroom seemed a particularly cheap aspect.

    Excellent central location and good staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen was closed for dinner (on arrival) Day 2. Returned at night to find room had not been cleaned at all, bathroom untouched. Alleged staff shortages.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired rooms. Badly made beds. Creaky doors. Restaurant and bar shut and in the dark by 8pm on a Friday.

    The breakfast was quite nice and it was conveniently situated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ingrained STENCH of stale cigarette smoke in the bathroom, MMmm and the cities of bacteria living in the STAINS on the underside of the old pine toilet seat !!!

    spacious room, early breakfasts and location suited me well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not exactly warm and welcoming and I didn't see a smile once. The Full English wasn't great.

    Comfortable bed and pleasant room. Plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were clean, but in need of an upgrade - but fine for our needs

    good location and very comfortable hotel. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it! Comfy bed, it was quiet and we slept very well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor slightly dated but not offensive in any way.

    Nice room, very comfortable. Brilliant price which included a full breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was rude (after waiting a few minutes at the desk to check-in his first words walking past me were "wait a minute" as he carried on walking out of reception), I booked a double room but was given a twin, the decor of my room was poor (paint flaking off the ceiling of the bathroom in clumps - see picture) & the single bed I was in was neither comfortable or quiet when turning over. Feel the room was twice the price it should have been based on the experience I had.

    The bed sheets appeared to be clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small window in twin room on a hot night. No window in bathroom. Clearing breakfast away at 9.50 and at least 7 more came in after us!!

    Nice shower

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is a rat maze. Internet is almost unusable, weaj and time limited. Also smells a little dated. They are working on improving it thankfully.

    Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awful. Dirty room which had not been hoovered. Breakfast was disgusting, the waiter shouted across the room (12 yards away) that we could have cooked breakfast if we wanted. No lights were on in the corridors outside the rooms at nighttime, I fell down a step which was not marked. So totally awful I can't begin to tell you. Smelly, dirty, worn out, shabby.....

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: