Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auberge de la vieille tour 4 stars

Montauban, 97190 Le Gosier, Guadeloupe

#3 of 15 hotels in Le Gosier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 243 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    An average hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor quality of food both and breakfast and at dinner. The hotel is rather outdated and the price/quality is way off.

    We were happy to have found a place to stay for our last night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Great location in Le Gosier with a picturesque, small beach and overrated restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant at the hotel for dinner was over-priced, so-so, and disappointing. I ate there twice, but I would not do so again.

    Breakfast was ample and served early--good if you have a flight to catch. Room is nice, large, pretty clean, and the bed is large. The rooms with views of the ocean are especially nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    i had a wonderful room with a porch and wonderful bath tub...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i had a wonderful room with a porch and wonderful bath tub but couldn't use it since we were on ground level - the shade didn't work but anyone could have looked in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    too expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    restaurant is expensive and poor quality, really disappointed. The hotel rooms are too expensive for what they are, they say 4 stars, I've seen much better even with 2 stars hotels.

    the view, the sea, the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice lhistoric ocation, close to the airport but needs refurbishment to make this a luxury hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room With 1 Dble Bed 1 Sgle Bed and Sofa, Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar restaurant was often empty and had no atmosphere, no drinks available at beach/pool area. The rooms were very tired and in need of refurbishment...mound on ceiling and paint peeling in all rooms as well as broken lights inside and out.

    The hotel is an old sugar mill and has a beautiful setting on the island with a small but nice private beach. The rooms have stunning views! The food in the restaurant for breakfast was very average, nothing special and not presented well. The food at dinner however was superb, best we had in the island, fresh and delicious with great wine list, highly recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Superb!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms could use a but of upgrading, as could the pool, but they were still very clean and well kept.

    The staff were friendly and very welcoming. The rooms were large, well decorated, with all the little extras one could need (beach towel, coffee machine, mini fridge, netflix). The bed was comfortable, the area was quiet and the balcony looked out over the ocean. The food was excellent, especially the dinner... I has the coquilles de St Jacques - une vraie delice. The hotel itself was stunning and the location was excellent, beside the sea but close to the centre (a car is probably needed however). I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Relaxed vacationing at a slow pace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On-site recreational facilities, as a gym and water-sports, are lacking, as well as information about the availability of third-party options for renting sports' equipment, tours and sightseeing. Could have offered better half-board packages. Mosquitoes can prove to be a problem so be sure to pay attention to the instructions offered by the hotel (unfortunately something we didn't do during the first few days of our stay) and be sure to bring along or buy some repellent.

    Fantastic ocean view from all suites, short drive to the airport, nice breakfast and, most noteworthy, it has its own private beach even though it's not listed as a beachfront hotel on Booking.com. The beach isn't large but was never crowded during our stay with sufficient space and sun-beds for everyone present. The reception staff proved helpful and speak sufficient English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Wake up to a beautiful sunrise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a bit slow -- hotel was set-up for ethernet connections.

    Beach front property, friendly reception, comfortable bed, copious buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location, good size rooms, good service, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some parts could do with some re-painting. Attention needed to lifted plaster in a couple of corners etc

    Good location, good size rooms, good service, good breakfast, good beach, good sea views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.9
    We were told dinner was served until 9:30.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told dinner was served until 9:30. We arrived at 9. There were 3 tables set up on the terrace. We asked to sit at one of them. We were told they were reserved. The only other outdoor seating was in the bar where we went (in full view of the dining terrace). At the bar table we could only order snacks, not a meal, and several offerings were not available. It was a disappointing first night and we watched the terrace tables which were NEVER occupied.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    4.6
    Dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service. Very run down. Requires tlc to bedrooms/bathrooms etc. Food apart from breakfast pretty bad!! Certainly not good value for money.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was great (especially custom-made omelettes and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We didn't mind, but the hotel is on a hill. This means that all rooms have views of the sea, but it also means that you walk up and down the hill to get up to breakfast or over to the pool and beach.

    Breakfast was great (especially custom-made omelettes and crepes). Room was large, with terrace and stunning view of the sea. The small local beach was great ... but it was easy to walk to four other public beaches via a small path, and rent canoes, jet skis, etc. Loved the huge iguanas who sunned themselves on the lawn. Restaurant was pricey but good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Everything was superb, the room, the beach, the pool, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was superb, the room, the beach, the pool, the staff, the restaurant. Very nice stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    The Beach and the food were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the stafff were lovely but some were boardering on rude despite being friendly to them.

    The Beach and the food were good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    4.6
    The reception was not helpful - no iron in the room 9 -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was not helpful - no iron in the room 9 - outdated rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.6
    Paradise
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Location, location, location! Free upgrade, equipments, calm, comfort overall

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    4.6
    breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed and Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    staff- without smille

    breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    5.0
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non-smoking room was smoked in. Everything took ages to get organised.

    Setting, views, breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1) Bookings prices were 20% more expensive than what was offered on the hotel's website. We discovered this only after booking and Booking customer service really bad at helping out. Shocking considering the 'best price promise'. Did not result in satisfactory conclusion, we will NEVER ever use Booking again but instead will use to spot hotels. 2) Nothing specific about the hotel, but Guadeloupe in general is WAY too expensive for what it offers in comparison with other destinations. Prices as high as what you could find in Paris or really luxurious resorts in Indiam ocean for example.

    Beautiful hotel with lovely staff. Stunning views. Got upgraded to 'luxury' room for our honeymoon by manager, we really appreciated the gesture. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a hike from entrance to room and from room to pool/beach. Bathroom area needed updating including a new shower door that didn't allow water to leave shower. Beach area had seaweed. Including an English menu would have been helpful.

    The location of the hotel made it feel secluded. The view was amazing. Restaurant was great with a mixture of Creole and French cuisine. Staff was helpful. Bed was amazing. breakfast was included in stay and was very good. Overall feel of the hotel was peaceful which we loved but that also meant that the hotel was not the best place to enjoy nightlife. We could hear the ocean waves crashing from our room.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    The restaurant was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outdated shower No lift or covered walkway which made access to the room a hassle when raining Wifi was very poor

    The restaurant was nice The beach was cosy The rooms were private with access to sunbathing area in front of them Helpful staff Short drives to nice beaches of Saint Ann and Saint Francoise

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    7.5
    Laurent and Claire were amazing hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needs updating. Shower head loose on wall. Luggage racks in room would have been helpful. A bit noisy at night with birds and roosters. Bring earplugs.

    Laurent and Claire were amazing hosts. So helpful and friendly. Food was top notch. Beautiful views. Excellent breakfasts. Dinners spectacular. Secluded location. About 10+ min to beach. Need a car.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    5.8
    The room was a good size, great view, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Print all menu options in English! There were no tours/nothing available other than a taxi. No changing money in the hotel.

    The room was a good size, great view, clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They upgraded us for my boyfriends birthday!

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    5.8
    Do local, é lindo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dos empregados

    Do local, é lindo!

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: