Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Village Pierre & Vacances - Sainte Anne 3 stars

Seo La Pointe de Helleux, 97180 Sainte-Anne, Guadeloupe

#5 of 6 hotels in Sainte-Anne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Better food choises

    Nice to buy fresh baguette everyday in the shop. Snackbar only had Pizza and some burger. The restaurerats openinghours are bad. If you are hungry in early afternoon, nothing to buy !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kitchen had almost everything we needed, except there were no wine glasses? Dishwasher takes 3 hours to run?? Norwegian flight arrived at night and trying to find the entrance to the resort in the dark was a challenge, but we managed! Parking can be a challenge, as there seem to be a lot of cars and not enough spaces. Again we managed.

    Great beaches! Water is clear and clean. Sand is wonderful to walk on. Plenty of lounge chairs on the beach and near the pool. Great pool. Separate wading pool for younger kids. Well kept grounds. Staff is very pleasant, but being able to speak French is important. Short driving distance to Sainte-Anne and Saint Francois. 3 restaurant choices on the grounds and a bar. Meal plans are available, but we did a lot of our own preparation in the kitchen on our patio. 2 burners, no oven, microwave, fridge and dishwasher.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It definitely needs reconstruction. Awful humidity odour in the room that creates the feeling that bed linen is constantly wet. We found a cockroach in the bathroom. Be careful if your stay includes some Saturday night; there is usually a wedding party in the hotel. The music is so loud that it is absolutely impossible to sleep. Nobody will inform you about that fact earlier and the reception desk will not solve this problem.

    Nice and very helpful English speaking girl from the reception desk; most rooms with ocean front view, comfortable and large parking lot

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told the staff spoke English, but in fact most did not and we had a difficult time. We were told the hotel was 11 miles from airport, but in fact was 29, and we had a MUCH bigger taxi cost ($85 from airport to hotel. The hotel was supposed to be within walking distance from the town- it was def not. We were planning on walking to most things as we didn't have a car, and instead had to spend more money on transport. We would not have stayed there if we knew the location. The hotel also had a fire and the food became limited as in where to eat on the property. To me the did a very poor job of accommodating us after the event and considering the whole main area and the largest restaurant (the only one serving breakfasts) was shirt down, they should have provided guests w some sort of accommodation.

    Very beautiful. Loved having a tour/excursion desk within the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the lights were broken inside of the room. A big cockroach was under my bed. The room was dirty. The bathrooms looked very old. The fitness room was ridiculous and one needs to go pick up the keys at the loby and bring them back every time he wants to use the room!!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor, unreliable wifi connection. They only speak little English.

    Nice place to have a rest, but should have a car to reach other points of the island.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better info from the staff the one pool and one restaurnat was not working due to fire. Should have moved some sun beds from one pool to the other. Missing English information at the activitie Board.

    Very nice apartment and kitchen- very nice. Positiv that we could order bread from the mini market

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    check in was chaotic-had to return and queue to sort out details not explained at check in The room was reasonably clean but the kitchen was dirty and we just didn't cook anything there

    proximity to beach

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 20 minutes of waiting at the reception we were assaulted from our arrival by the receptionist who refused to give us our room key if we did not accept that she put us a bracelet itself. It was necessary to involve the person responsible. Then the room was poorly cleaned and smelled moldy. The car park was full at all times. Breakfast was not included. The fitness center was closed. Worst place I have stayed.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Smoking is allowed anywhere. The bathroom shower door and it was made of one solid piece of glass, not safety glass, (at least in our room) and the edge of the shower could get a little slippery.

    We really liked having the beach close by, having a kitchen, which had enough cooking utensils, and having a little mini mart to get some staple food supplies; the pizza was great, Lavazza espresso, fresh baguettes and the beach snack bar served excellent food. I am a vegetarian and the chef made a beautiful plate of scrumptious veggies for me. Being that we were there at end of November was a good time to go since it was not very crowded. Although it is still the rainy season we had great weather overall, but the last two days it rained, which was still beautiful!) The view from our room was beautiful. And, a really nice woman who spoke English was incredibly helpful. She told us about a shuttle (taxi) from the resort to the nearby cities, St. Anne and St. Francois. (17.50 euros/couple-round trip) Once we got into the swing of things, being that we only spoke, very basic French, it was great! A little French goes a long way! We read a lot of mixed reviews of this hotel and at first I was a little nervous about the resort, but it was so peaceful and perfect. It was a tropical paradise! A perfect place to meditate. We arrived in the evening, and it seemed like forever to our room. When we woke up in the morning and looked out our French doors we saw sun and ocean! Exactly what we wanted. We both agree that we would recommend Pierre et Vacances to others.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La situation exceptionnell.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service and the facilities were poor

    The beaches

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room furniture is a bit old and lacking grace, service and food are below average.

    Calm environment, great location, good wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No housekeeping for the 3 days of our stay.

    Fully equipped hotel shop. Great pools!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet expensive. Snack bar screwed me 30 bucks for a pizza. Little store convenient.

    Room & grounds well maintained. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Resort is 40 mins from the airport and taxis are very expensive. Bad food, restaurants are only open for short periods of time throughout the day, forced to eat from the snack bar most of the time. Horrible customer service, rude workers, the staff members seem racist toward black patrons, unacceptable, Will not return

    Pool, resort grounds and beach were amazing

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The resort is NOT located near St. Anne or St Francois. The hotel offers an expensive shuttle to these towns or one can take an expensive taxi. Rent a car if you really want to get around. The hotel offers parking.

    There are many activities at the hotel--and the beach is beautiful. The restaurant options are a little limited when it's not high season, but each room has a kitchen and there is a little mart on site that sells essentials for a small meal (pasta and sauce, bread and cheese, cereals, etc.)

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to leave this hotel after one night beause in night there were cockroaches (bigger than 2 inches) in the bathroom. The staff was unhelpful and convinced that they came from air-condition but offered only to clean the room again or maybe give us another room which frankly wouldn't solve the problem. So we decided to go but they refused to refund any money, we filled the complaint with Booking.com and are still waiting for solution because apparently they don't communicate and don't share our opinion about having to share our room with giant cockroaches. They make their guests wear annoying bracelets that won't come off once you put them on (or, as for us, the lady tried to put them on us at the reception desk when we looked reluctant to do so ourselves) all the time, cars must be visibly marked as belonging to the guests, security guards at the entrance point, whole area of the hotel fenced, at places with barbed wire, including beaches - it doesn't create sense of security (especially considering there's very little criminality at Guadeloupe) as much as sense of being arrested. Not for us. Room reaked of chlorine to the point we had trouble staying in and preffered to spend the little time we stayed on the small kitchen/terrace. The bathroom walls were full of holes and patches of mould. The whole room was very damp and musty. Also bear in mind that rooms located on ground floors certainly don't have view of the sea but do have view of some bushes and rocks. The location of the hotel is not where the map shows it. It's relatively secluded from pretty much anything and there's maybe one restaurant in walking distance. Maybe the owners felt (unlike us) like there's no reason for their guests to leave the resort. It definitely isn't in town of Sainte-Anne and you wouldn't get there on foot.

    Not much. Huge resort type hotel for if you do not care to leave the place to see what's outside. Two pools, two beaches (one of them very bad), one big restaurant and couple of small bars, unnecessary shop, usual stuff you can find in big resorts. Needless to say we weren't impressed.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    AC not funcionning well. Humidity smell in the room. No functioning wifi in the public areas. Water supply broke down for all hotel on the last day.....would definitely not recommend unless (like me) it is the only option available.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was just ok. They only clean it once a week and change the towels once. No stores or restaurants non affiliated with hotel are within walking distance. Not great for a romantic get away, a lot of kids and families.

    Pool and beach are wonderful. Kitchenette on balcony was great to have. But you have to buy your own soap, paper towels, garbage bags etc

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The check-in was the worst and very unhelpful. The food was not great. The room was never replenished with basic requirements. Had to beg for trash bags and toilet paper

    The room view was great. The facility and activities were good.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were so pleasant and clean, with large balconies and little kitchens. The staff was extremely professional and friendly and dealt well with the fact that we spoke almost no French. The buffets were delicious. Absolutely lovely site, with long walks along the sea possible, through beautiful scenery and many resting cows. Great shuttle service to St. Anne and St. Francis. Great desk person for booking expeditions and tours, more than willing to book an English speaking tour guide.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cleanliness: bathroom was dirty and moldy, no change of towels in the room, our comlains were not acknowledged beach towels: we had to use the beach towels 3 days without cleaning food: was not always available at day time also if the restaurant seemed to be opened,

    weather

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing major but room needed some general simple maintenance- replacement handle on a kitchen cabinet was to large so slidding door to kitchen area was hard to open. We were missing cafe cups,bowls and had to request them several times. TV Remote didn't work and probably just needed batteries.

    Location, grounds, beach and pools all nice. Good for both families and couples. Liked the convenience of having a kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms were dreadful, dirty, falling apart. Like staying in a cheap version of a 60s holiday camp. Massively overpriced. All the other guests we spoke to had the same view and said they would not return. Cleaners stored all their carts and room cleaning equipment right outside our room door!!

    Public areas - bar, restaurant, lobby, pool area all very impressive. Pool was absolutely stunning, especially for kids.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is impossible to call or email this location in advance. No one responds. We wanted to be picked up by their shuttle. Instead we paid a $100 to take a taxi. It is not a good place to stay for the non-French speaking person. There was also nothing written in English.

    The resort was right on the ocean. The location couldn't be better. The pool was gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The building where I had my room was above the reception. The music outside was LOUD and played till about 11 on each evening. It was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep. Those set of rooms should NOT even be offered to guests and I had to stay there all 7 nights of my booking. They totally spoiled my vacation. The wall outside my room door had BIG patches of green mold....gross ! I found a BIG cockroach in my room that creeped us out!! They don't even give cleaning supplies for the kitchen and dishes in the kitchenette.

    The grounds and the beach

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff isn't too friendly or accommodating; restaurants aren't open throughout the day so it's tough to find food outside of their operating hours; daily maid service is extra; the buffet isn't worth the price.

    Great beach location; fully-equipped kitchen; food at beach restaurant was tasty.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff not helpful and always miserable. Didn't even ask if we had a pleasant stay at the end. No car rental available but also no assistence to find one. Room was not cleaned the first day. Sun loungers were very uncomfortable and towels too small and old

    The balcony with cooking facilities were really helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    our studio was only cleaned 3x while we stayed over 2 weeks, The wifi is expensive and poor coverage and was completly off for 3 days The restaurant is really pricy 30 euros for evening meal and definatley not worth it! many onsite activities, but is all in french! not great if you can't speak language

    good value, Lovely beaches & pools. Great location Nice comfortable studios.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi isn't free. The cleanig room each 3 days.

    It's nice residence in front of the beach (no the best one) with two pools. Room is well equipped and very good position for reaching all best beach.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This location is not suitable for US travelers, unless they like a poorly maintained, dirty location run by poorly trained personnel who do not speak any English. The rooms were not clean.

    I liked the location. Right on the beach.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no mattresses on the sunbeds at the beach, it was not confortable

    we like tranquility at this period and the beach.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Buffet was a little overpriced

    Staff were helpful and helped when we spoke little French

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More restarants Cleaner room

    Beach

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisey. Overpriced. Rooms were not like the pictures. Certainly not a 4 star resort.

    Nice pool, average beach

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel employees don't speak English

    Place feels safe

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    mediocre food, overpriced

    pretty grounds, beach, pool. friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi not free the beach can be better

    The convenience

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: