Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Acropolis Select 3 stars

Falirou 37-39, Athens, 11742, Greece

#118 of 330 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1792 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.1
    Staff, lounge zone at the ground floor.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to upgrade the rooms, they are really scruffy, even cleaning doesn’t help to look them nice. :(

    Staff, lounge zone at the ground floor. Rooftop bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Great place close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small and the bed was really uncomfortable. The bathroom was small and the shower was tiny.

    Great place within walking distance to shopping (Plaka), restaurants, and the Acropolis. Wonderful service and the breakfast was great with many choices. Loved that the room had a balcony with chairs and a table overlooking the street.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location and spectacular views from the roof top bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was poorly designed, but that's part-and-parcel for Europe. The view was nothing to write home about and the mini-bar fridge leaked but we had only booked a standard room.

    Staff were really helpful, especially given horrendous hurricane weather and transport nightmares for thousands of travellers. The concierge has all the local information you could need. The hotel is super convenient for walking to all the main sites! The roof top bar is spectacular! We also were provided a free welcome drink, which was a lovely local wine. Breakfast was okay. There is a small lift too which helps with bags. The lobby was also a nice place to sit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.2
    BED BUGS in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had BED BUGS!!! After our first night, my wife woke up with some bites and we wrongly assumed that they were caused by some mosquitoes. The next day, she had more bites and an alergic reaction in her skin. We went to see a doctor and he confirmed us that she had bed bugs bites. The room was poorly clean! The hotel must do something serious about its bed bug problem because this situation was a terrible way to start a trip!

    The location is good but the clean is terrible

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    The rooftop restaurant has an amazing view of the Acropolis...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single elevator is too small and slow for a hotel of this size. The rooftop restaurant lightening was too bright but was addressed by the staff when we brought it to their attention.

    The rooftop restaurant has an amazing view of the Acropolis and the food and service were exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Convenient location, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was convenient to metro and within walking distance to the Acropolis. The staff was helpful, room was clean and spacious,breakfast good, and the rooftop bar had a great view of the Acropolis.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced for the offered quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was extremely overpriced (165 euros per night was what I was charged) for what was offered. I am a Greek living abroad, visiting Athens at least 3 times a year so I know what to expect for a given hotel price: Breakfast was not included in the price. The room was dark and small. The ventilation was bad and the shower tiny. The view from my room was the wall of an apartment building. Everything in the room felt cheap and you got the feeling that people were trying to cut corners from everything. Even the toiletries were made in PRC, though cunningly branded to look like greek products.

    Staff was always helpful and nice. The hotel, though not in a particularly charming area, is at least located close to the old city centre and Acropolis.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Amazing view, excellent restaurant, great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Amazing location - view of Acropolis from rooftop restaurant is amazing. Excellent service in all areas. Excellent breakfast. The rooftop restaurant food was AMAZING. Easy walk to Plaka and Acropolis. Highly Recommend. Excellent shower/bathtub.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location, old room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of the bathroom should be improved. Room was normal, the beds were too weak and with some old furnitures that should be renewed.

    Very good location, close to the Acropolis and most of the interesting points in Athens. Small bathroom, but enough for a short stay. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and moderately priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are sensitive to the type of beds, note that the beds here are fairly hard(seemed like the average coil spring kinds) - so you may not find it the most pleasant.

    Acropolis Select is perfectly located if you want to explore Athens in a couple of days. It’s a 5 min walk to the metro station, 7 min walk to Acropolis Museum and about 15 mins to the entrance of Acropolis as well as the Plaka market area. Along the way are pretty decent options to eat and drink. Note the rooms don’t have iron and iron board but the staff is kind enough to take your clothes away and iron it for you! It is nothing fancy but the staff is generally warm and helpful and it has a great rooftop bar with views of the Parthenon. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a moderately priced, clean, friendly and accessible place to stay in Athens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is small and our room (406) was very small as well, but I think it is among the smallest in the hotel. At the restaurant the food was delicious and the service great, particularly while eating. However, at the moment to pay I received a bill with a single item “previous bill” (standing for the dinner) for 88€ + gin tonic and liquors adding up to 100€. After I asked a break down of the “previous bill” item, the waiter very gently apologized since they had counted two bottles of wine instead of one, so the total bill came correctly to 81€. It is a pity because this left a sour aftertaste to an otherwise very sweet and enjoyable dinner.

    Location, location, location. Great location next to the acropolis, the museum and fabulous restaurants and bars. The rooftop restaurant has a fantastic view and great food. Hotel service is nice and gentle.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Good stay overall. Better to plan your own itinaray rather than seek advice at the hotel reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk ladies seemed overworked with too much on their hands. Ilektra just about managed to maintain a polite exterior and was most of the time unable to offer any real tips and advice on things to do. There was always a sense of urgency in the manner in which she spoke with the objective being to quickly dispose off the matter one way or the other. Yanis the bell boy on the other hand seemed a lot more helpful.

    Location of the hotel. Roof top restaurant and the friendly and polite staff at the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Best location to explore Ancient Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in the room in the evening(!?). They should defintely change the lightbulbs or bring a stronger lamps. Could hear the sounds of neighbours going in and out, doors should be more soundproof. Anyways, in overall, hotel is really nice. I would recomend to stay here.

    The location. You can’t find a better location to visit Athens. Near metro station, close to the Acropolis. Best day and night view at the roof top restaurant. Beautiful. You can drop your luggage in case u come too early or you need to leave a long after check out timing. Staff members were nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff. The room was sufficient. The breakfast was yummy :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I honestly expected it to be much closer to the plaka - though it's not far. There are also not very many electric outlets.

    The front staff was exceptional. They went above and beyond more than once.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not comfortable and staff at the front desk were really unwelcoming.

    Great location. Neat and tidy rooms. Excellent rooftop bar overlooking the acropolis.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfy, all you need in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is not great but ok for a couple of days The imidate surroundings are a bit shabby The sound isolation could be better

    Super nice view from the rooftop bar and friendly staff, very clean place and walking distance from everything you need. Would stay again if visiting the city ;)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathtub, small room, no view, coffee and juice in breakfast are not natural

    Excellent location near to the Acropolis and Plaka, metro station Sygrou-fix is near, nice staff they will answer all your questions, a phone to call across us and europe for free

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Acropolis select
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Housekeeping on the 2nd day was mediocre. Our beds were sort of made. The sheets were pulled up, in looking for the rest of the bedding , they were rolled up and in the closet. The bathroom didn't look, cleaned. Counter had soap and toothpaste still on them. New towels were not placed in bathroom, but on bef.

    Hotel appeared clean. Not far from area of a restaurants and coffee shops. Not far from Acropolis. Within walking distance of various places. Not in as graffiti marked area as previous hotel. Price was reasonable for value. Roomy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    It was a very clean hotel with an average quality of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First of all the shower was very small which resulted to the curtain sticking on your body. 2. Our room was next to the stairs and elevator and we could not sleep due to the noise of footsteps and voices. 3. The beds were average as they were harsh on the body and I believe it would be better if they got new ones. 4. the staff was making too much noise at breakfast while separating forks and knives in the common area which is unreasonable since these things should be done in a private area out of the customers' sight.

    It was a very clean hotel with an average quality of breakfast. The hotel's location was pretty good and I would recommend it to a group of friends who would like to visit Athens.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Amazing location in clean and comfortable hotel to enjoy exploring Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t take breakfast but perhaps could have had a wider selection of food. However, for the price of 7 EUR seemed fair.

    Brilliant location within walking distance of all major sights. Comfortable and clean hotel, very friendly staff, courteous and efficient airport shuttle, spectacular views from the rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    The location was good, everything is around walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, no ventilation in bathroom, outlets placed inconveniently, old bed sheets

    The location was good, everything is around walking distance. We had a chance to visit few places in 1 day such as Acropolis, Temple Zeus, Arch of Hadrian, Panathenaic Stadium.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, clean modern rooms, friendly staff, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift broke 24 hours before I checked out, and although they were great with retrieving my bag from the room, it wasn't ideal to keep walking 5 flights of stairs with no clear info on when it would be repaired...

    Perfect location, clean modern rooms, friendly staff, lovely rooftop bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Great staff! Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for a single room with the option of a double bed or two single beds. I asked for a double bed which turned out to be two single beds pushed together.

    Great staff! Very accomodating and happy to help! The free Handy was an awesome touch and very helpful. The new rooftop bar was great and open until late.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    A very decent hotel for Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The immediate surroundings of the hotel are a bit grubby. Breakfast was ok, but "machine fruit juice" in Greece - me on! The solitary lift seemed to have a mind of its own at times!!!

    Reasonably well located for the city centre. Very professional, helpful staff. Nice view of the Parthenon from the rooftop bar. Nice hotel, well enough priced for a city hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    The room was nice and the roof top restaurant and bar was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and the roof top restaurant and bar was fantastic . The food, drinks and service were great and the view was amazing. We went back several times. The walk up to the museum and the entry to the Acropolis as well as a metro location was a quick 5 or 6 blocks away. Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    Very close to all the attraction points
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was an older version not working properly. We kept it set on 17 centigrades for 5 days and it did not cool the room enough to have a confortable sleep considering that the room was on the top floor and it was really hot outside. It was also very noisy even when set to sleep mode. The room was on the side of a very busy boulevard so that also contributed to amplify the noise.

    Very close to all the attraction points

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Acropolis Select
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof top bar reserved for private party and music was way to loud, kept me up last 1 am. Due to roof top bar private party there was no place to have drinks earlier in the evening for registered guests. Management should of identified the issue for lack of lounge/bar for guests opened lobby bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend for the location and rooftop terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -The room looked a bit dated and the mattress/pillows could have been better

    -Great central location, close to a metro station. Walking distance to most sights, cafes, supermarkets -Modern rooftop bar/restaurant with great views -Our room had a balcony, which was a nice plus

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    The position of this hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiny lift.

    The position of this hotel is excellent. You can walk to Acropolis it’s about 200m. Take the transport arranged by hotel unless you know Athens really well. We took a taxi from the street and ended up going everywhere first, before getting to the hotel. Listen carefully about how to use the lift and you will have little problems. Breakfast at hotel was great value. A bit quirkie but clean and aircon works well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Pleasant surprise from a last-minute price-conscious booking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I honestly can't think of anything!

    Great location within walking distance of metro stations and major attractions, use of complimentary smart phone during my stay (including unlimited data and international calling!), very clean, American style breakfast buffet, excellent water pressure in the shower, and a rooftop terrace bar with a view of the acropolis.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in the center of Athens, very comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have to report negativ things.

    Great place to stay in the center of Athens. The hotel is very close to the acropolis, (that means it is in the heart of Athens). You can see the acropolis from the rooftop bar which has an incredible view and excellent food. There are many restaurants and convienient stores nearby and everything was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    The staff acted quickly by replacing our room, sending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given had strong sewer stink, but was promptly replaced. The second day the room wasn't cleaned until very late in the afternoon, and then they forgot to leave clean towels.

    The staff acted quickly by replacing our room, sending cleaning staff, and compensated for the delays with complimentary coffee on the roof. The front desk was very helpful and very cordial.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    Go elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They rated our room as a triple but there was not anywhere near enough room for this. We paid for a triple, but gut a standard double with a cot added, taking up all space to move within. The bedding was old and questionable in cleanliness. The bathroom had a sewer stink to it. It was just in need of complete renovation. The breakfast was also far lower quality than at similar area hotels. Overall, I do not recommend Arropolis select.

    Location is on a side street and walkable to the Plata and the Acropolis Museum

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location for a very nice place/price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing if I was to be very picky the bathroom could be modernised

    Fantastic location for price, very close to Acropolis museum & metro. You can pay double what we paid for similar location. Everything was very comfortable and clean. Reception staff were always fairly busy, limiting access, but when given time were helpful. Nice views from upstairs bar/restaurant but drinks were slightly pricey

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Good located 'ok' hotel but much too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really noisy due to a big road behind the building and staff wasn't helpful to change rooms, bathroom could have been cleaner. Definitely much too expensive (I paid 150€ per night) for what you get (not worth more than 80€).

    Good located close to the Acropolis. Really nice rooftop bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Not much personality. Fair stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi didn't work in our room - which was also giving on a main boulevard, hence noisy. Try to avoid that side.

    Friendly staff and proximity to pedestrian street with nice terraces and cafés.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Could be better for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not big enough for 3 adults (our case). To include a third bed in the room, they moved the furniture around and the rearrangement was not good. It was not possible to open the big baggage anywhere except on the bed, which was not convenient. The breakfast was under the expectation comparing to the Greek standard . There were not many options, it was very basic. In our room there were not enough power outlets for 3 people.

    The staff was always very helpful, helping with taxi, information about the city and clarifying questions. The location was also very good, close to the Acropolis.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would've been perfect if they had room service available.

    When we arrived in Acropolis Select, it started to pour and there was no way we could get dinner without being soaked. The staff there went above and beyond and helped us order food and got it delivered to the hotel and we really appreciated that! On top of that, the driver that drove us to the airport tried his best to get us to the airport on time so that we would make it on time for check in as I had misread the flight times. The staff there are excellent and always willing to help - 12/10! Couldn't thank them enough. We received a plate of welcome fruit on arrival and a welcome drink. Location wise - walking distance to the Acropolis and many other attractions. We walked everywhere. Room was quite spacious and bed was fairly comfy. Just enough to sleep at night and be off again the following day. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    I will recommend the hotel to my friends who will visit Athens.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room Wifi is not always availble. But you can tell the staff so that they can reset the wifi for your room. It will be better after resetting the room wifi.

    Good staffs and good breakfast! Luckily we have a teakettle which can heat water. It is very good for old people who wants to have some tea. The day we check out was very early, the staff gave us breakfast boxes! Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Plain & plesent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small elevator and tiny balcony

    Plesent place with welcoming staff, good WiFi and fine location in the "real" city but close enough to the acropolis plaka etc...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel satisfies basic needs for staying with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and pillows are not very comfortable. The bathroom was very old and the floors were all got watered after the shower even if I paid so much attention. The room was lack of electric plugs and I had to charge my phone on the wall assisted with the door handle.

    At first, they gave me a room with window but no view nor light. There was a wall just 50 centimetres through the window. I asked them for changing. The last one is ok. At least there was light and I could see the outside. The hotel is very close to the Fix Metro Station. I can easily found the hotel. Besides, the hotel is very close to Acropolis area and there a lot of coffee shops and restaurants nearby. You can reach everywhere by walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    An excellent place in a quiet road very close to the Acropolis and metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location in central Athens is perfect. We fortunately had a good room on the top floor, with a view (just) of the Parthenon. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good value, and there was always plenty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Modern hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street outside was be a bit noisy at times but didn’t really bother us as we were on our holidays!

    This is a lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable with excellent facilities. The room has a kettle for tea/coffee, toiletries are supplied in the bathroom. The location is great, situated in plaka (a charming neighborhood with lots of small busy streets with shops and restaurants) and walking distance to most tourist attractions, there is a metro station very close but we didn’t need to use it. Acropolis is about 5 minutes walk. An excellent breakfast buffet with a huge variety of both hot and cold foods is available in the morning, including bread, cereals, fruit, yogurts, pastries, eggs, tomato, cucumber and some traditional Greek dishes. Our booking included a welcome drink which you can have at any time during the stay. Rania on reception was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We booked a transfer to the airport using the hotel transport and our chauffeur (so sorry can’t remember his name) have us lots of information about Athens and gave us an inside view to life there. He also stopped at the panathenaic stadium so we could take photos as we hadn’t got to see it during our stay. We had met him several times during our stay and he was extremely friendly and helpful as was everyone on our trip. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, great staff, easy walk from subway and Plaka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one issue - it was not possible to read in bed because there was no light close enough or over the bed and the room lights were not strong.

    Rania at the desk and the man who helped with suitcases and drove us to the airport around noon on 15-4-18 whose name I forgot to ask were really professional, welcoming and helpful. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. The maid cleaned the room nicely and all the staff was so polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    In general fully acceptable compared to the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) The electric system in the room could be improved. There is only one single socket box available under the table and nothing nearby the bed for recharging the phone etc. No socket in bathroom available. Furthermore, there is no main light switch nearby the bed which allows to switch on/off all lights at once. 2) Sealing of the windows especially for the bathroom is not fitting, which leads to unavoidable background noise during the night from the nearby street. Anyhow, once you switch on the aircondition you wont here the street anymore.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    A little bit expensive for the quality offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old but refurbished.The blankets were old, the bathroom was old and dirty, the towels too. There was not hairdryer in the bathroom. The air conditioner was making terrible noise all the time, the neighbor’s one as well. The breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly and supportive.

    The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location, nice stuff, but uncomfortable and noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was absurdly small, and the room could have been cleaner. The bed was very uncomfortable for us. Although you can't hear the noise from the street when the windows are closed, you can hear everything from the other rooms and especially the cleaning stuff who is extremely noisy. Not a place for light sleepers who wish to sleep past 8am.

    The staff who welcomed us on the check in was extremely nice - even helped as to find a parking space next to the hotel. Even though the location of the hotel is in the city center, there is parking in the street for free (don't rush to the costly parking next to the hotel). And most important: location! Just ten to fifteen minutes walk to the Acropolis, and walking distance to every point of interest around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good room, comfortable bed, big balcony in the room. The parking is nearby, so comfortable with a car. The location is close to all places of interest, though the part of the town is not that cosy and beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.0
    location does not compensate for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This looked like a great choice when I booked it. But I was so disappointed with our room that we prolonged our time outside so to not have to stay at the room. Not a welcoming stay. I’ve been in better hostels. Yes, that bad. Tiny bathrooms. Tiny! Squeeze yourself to get in and an old shower head. Water flooded the floor with every shower. The room was not cleaned properly. We were missing towels and blankets and it was overall poor. Horrible mattress, which led to short sleep, nowhere nice to rest your bones after these long walks but the sofa in the lobby. Poor breakfast. We waived it half our stay and ate outside, the other half we had coffee mostly. You may simply wave breakfast or serve something continental or nothing at all, but poor ingredients and cold eggs, why..?

    Location. The best. The staff were great, super nice and really the best part of my stay. Thank you :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel not far from Akropolis with a great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small and the halls were dark. Hard to get around the bed and hard to see at night in the halls. The walls were a bit thin, too.

    The staff were just great. They put us on a high floor away from noise and from the lift. The free drink which we never got because we had to leave very early the next morning was a nice touch. I was very appreciative of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Made to feel very welcome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room Service not available. The hotel is lovely but would benefit from a restaurant open for an evening meal and/or room service. This is my only criticism. The restaurant is already there and the food at breakfast is superb.

    Room was lovely, balcony a bonus. Well set out with complementary toiletries which was a great bonus especially given the issues with travelling and liquids. Given there is no evening restaurant, the mini bar was invaluable as a woman travelling on my own, accessing coffee and a drink in my own room was preferable.Staff were incredibly friendly. Smiles all around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Affordable high quality accommodation in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy cleaning staff (loud conversations in the communal areas from early in the morning).

    Very professional front desk; we were genuinely impressed. Great location both in terms of commuting and food/coffee shops accessibility. Only secured access to upper floors was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Very service minded staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very cold when I arrived. Took a while to figure out how the remote to the a/c-heater worked and then quite some time to get a comfortable temperature.

    Very service minded staff. Transfer to/from airport avalible for a reasonable fee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff friendliness, nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one lift. I had to wait 20min to get out with my luggage on the check out day. Almost missed my train.

    Staff friendliness, nice room. Perfect location! Close to the Acropolis, and in between two metro stations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    good for budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    but the shower needs better options. the water splashed out so that the water was inundated ..!

    fair breakfast rather fast wifi clean room, decency kind front desk and cleaning lady.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, piratical, comfortable
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Actually I booked this hotel without realizing that this was the same hotel I stayed at on my first visit to Athens two years earlier...and have no regrets. This hotel gives me all I need when I visit Athens and the bonus parts are: The Awesome local roasthouse just 10 meters down the road The Metro station further down which connects you to everywhere you need to go Acropolis and Monastiraki are just few minutes on foot if one wishes to walk. The hotel staff are among the most friendliest I have ever met working in the hotel industry. I would highly recommend that if you get this hotel listed either within your budget or in the Genius price list, then go for it without a second thought., bearing in mind that I am not a fussy traveler and just look for a comfortable bed, clean room and good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    3 Nights at Acropolis Select
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms look a bit old. It was written that coffee and tea was complementary and refilled daily, but once I used the first batch, there was no refill. Terrace was closed :(

    Big rooms. Yummy breakfast. Close to Acropolis and major sites. Friendly staff. Good WiFi. Quality of sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    amazing location, good standard 3 star hotel, totally worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows are thin and some people may need an extra pillow. They give you 1 extra in the room (in the wardrobe) and you can always ask for another from the reception.

    The location is superb to visit Athens; you have metro, tram and bus station within 2 min walking distance and if you want, you can walk to all main attractions. The rooms looking to the front of the hotel is very quiet as it is not a busy street but I don't know about the other side. The room is very very clean however there's a slight smell of cigarette, as people do not tend to respect non smoking rules in Greece (generally speaking). The water pressure and heat is perfect. We had a small balcony, which was not very necessary for winter time but it is a nice touch. The size of the room was very good. The staff is very professional and kind. There was a demonstration in Athens on the day we left and the lady in the reception informed us thoroughly which way to take to the airport. I've visited many cities in Greece and it is a perfect 3 star hotel. Please remember that in general the beds are really hard in all Greece :) They have double and twin rooms but it is practically the same room. If you want a double room, they will put a big double mattress on top of the 2 beds put together and you'll have your double bed. The double bed is softer than twin beds thanks to this extra mattress. It is a good standard hotel and you don't have to pay more for 4 star as it will not bring any extra.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged me twice and their first reaction when I contacted them was to tell me that no they did't and I should check again. They later contacted me and told me that I would be reimbursed. Once a the hotel, the receptionist's first reaction AGAIN was to tell me NO they did not charge me twice. I had to show him the email the hotel sent me and only then did he properly look into it. Once I asked to see a confirmation of a future reimbursement I was very quickly reimbursed on the second day of my stay.

    Nice value for money. Good location, nice room, quite clean, good wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Very sophisticated hotel, must be newly refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very sophisticated hotel, must be newly refurbished. Welcome drink on arrival. We had made a mistake when booking the room & booked a room with twin beds but we rang the hotel immediately to ask if we could change to a double & the very friendly reception lady said if they had a spare room they will change it which they did have & changed for us! Beautiful room with air conditioning & a huge balcony, Very good breakfast if you have booked it!! We had rented a car & always managed to find parking close by!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    The doorman was quite helpful with my luggage and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was lacking a bit and I wish there were more usable outlets for charging multiple electronic devices. I also found it a bit strange that you have to pay for the city tax separately, though it wasn't expensive.

    The doorman was quite helpful with my luggage and the receptionist greeted me warmly. This is a terrific option for those wanting a nice room close to the center of Athens for a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    A pleasure to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great hotel in a good location close to the Acropolis (5 minutes walk). Ideally located for Metro as well. Rania was very welcoming on my arrival and informative on check out. Room clean and comfortable. My favourite place to stay in Athens :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Solid hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could’ve been more comfortable. Room lighting not great. Breakfast wasn’t great albeit not expensive. Other side of plaka would be better location for travel to airport.

    Good location. Room ok. Shower good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location and view. Attentive staff.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathtub was reason for booking this hotel, and per definition tiny bathtubs were at the bottom of shower, but not enough size to fit me. (it was like a third of a small bathtub). Nothing to complain about otherwise, great attention and interest from staff.

    Great view from room (if you get a room with a view), Proper clean. Nice bar in reception area. Walking distance to Acropolis, nice restaurant Σχολαρχειο ΠΛΑΚΑ, and city centre. Breakfast was good with proper coffee. When we at first were given a smoking room, we thankfully got to change to a non-smoker room. Very happy that prepaid bill was easily settled. Great staff; attentive and helpful. Had impression they cared, beyond just "selling service", they said hello in the street...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel reservation system is extremely poor. There was a school class at the hotel. Instead of booking 1-2 floors for them, the hotel just gave them random rooms. No matter how many times we complaint the staff did nothing about the drunk and screaming teenagers running from room to room and having party after 11PM.

    Excellent location. Good rooms (for Greece)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.2
    Can’t sleep at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room I stayed first night 606 there was too much noise coming from outsise windows are old. Room are very cold heating system is not effectively fınctioning, Buildings pipe system is old, rooms are smelling like toilet. Changed the room to 203 then there is latino party down stair, there was basses booming in my bed.

    Location is good, Female Receptionist were polite and helpfull. Gentelmen were ignorent pretending that there is no noise even when there was a party downstairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    It is located near 2 Metro Stations, Fix and Acropolis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located near 2 Metro Stations, Fix and Acropolis. Also you walk to Syntagma square(15 minutes) or walk to Plaka (5-10 minutes) or walk to Thiseio(5-10mins). Stuff is welcoming and eager to help you. A really nice choice in the heart of Athens downtown.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Well, frankly speaking, an excellent place to stay in Athens...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, frankly speaking, an excellent place to stay in Athens - very good localization, the proximity to all the major must-see places and 10 minutes walking to the heart of Athens. Perfect clean of the rooms, very friendly staff and tasty breakfast in american-style. Strongly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing much to dislike other than a little variety to the breakfast menu would have been great.

    Very professional and friendly staff,great location to good restaurants the Acropolis museum and all attractions. On the railway station so very accessible but would not recommend going by train as the thieves are in full for on the train.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    very nice , comfortable small hotel in the very heart of the city , very close to the newest museums
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    transfer from the airport to the hotel very expenssive (50 euros)

    the room and the bed were very comfortable and very very cleen as it was the bathroom . the stuff very friendly and effective . breakfast very good and tasty with too many choices (vegan, vegetarian and Greek speciallities .) small pies and French croissants very tastefull. just one thing that i did'nt like : the transfer from airport to the hotel was tooo expensive ( 50 euros ) and it was not mentionned on the reservation e-mail . any way i 'm very satisfied . thank you . E.Apostolopoulou

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel, value for money. Definitely would stay again...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extractor fan in bathroom. No fresh juice at breakfast.

    Location, location, location! In addition our room 405 has an enormous terrace / balcony to relax after a busy day. I also like the idea of tea / coffee in the room, but a better quality coffee would have made it even better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location near Metro stop and the Acropolis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked because it had as bath but there was no plug to have a bath.

    Great location near Metro stop and the Acropolis. Easy walking distance to both as well as shops and restaurants. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Conveniently located in central Athens for visiting sites .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conveniently located in central Athens for visiting sites . Helpful front office staff. Decent breakfast and a comfortable room. We stayed on three occasions on this trip and made our visit to Athens memorable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like?!

    Great hotel, we had a one night stop over in Athens. I chose this as it was close to the acropolis. Hotel is small and exceptionally clean, comfortable and very good 3 star hotel. Rooms are in great order, moderate in size for a city hotel and comfortable and new. Staff are helpful and welcoming. You are 500m from restaurants that are open late and shops. Acropolis is 10 minutes walk as is the museum and you can still see a lot even at night when the main gates are closed. DO stay here as the price very low and it's competitive with many of the 4 star hotels charging double in the area. Don't pay for the high priced 4 star, stay here as you will get the same level of comfort and services

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for visiting acropolis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise isolation- you could hear everyone from your room, specially people in the corridor

    Very friendly and naturally helpful staff. Good location, very short walking from acropolis, even Psyri location is 20min on foot.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: