Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Afandou Bay Resort Suites 5 stars

Afandou Beach, Afantou, 85103, Greece

Review score

Based on 59 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Good but could have been even better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel management could do better...some small points but noticeable: All juices at breakfast were warm...doesn't take much to put some ice....No Feta chesses in Rhodes for breakfast....And why pay for sunbeds by the beach for a 5 Star hotel positioned right by the beach...odd.

    Excellent staff, from Receptionist and Waitress to cleaners. Food was good. Location by the beach was good. The rooms were nice and well decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Would stay there again I spite of my quibbles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in rooms. Bathroom and bedside lights too dim. Shower wall very awkward, difficult to step into bath. Walk in shower would have been better. Beach pebbly.

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Pleasant rooms and gardens pretty. Near to beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in quiet and friendly hotel. Will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel was further from village/next town than we thought. Although there was local road train to village and buses to next town.

    Room excellent, spacious and bright. Although not a sea view, view from terrace was pleasant. Rooms arranged to get minimum disturbance from other guests. Food good although could have been hotter. Staff really friendly and helpful. Pool area very quiet, snack bar food excellent and small shop for essentials.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel amd comfort with beach close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The snack bar was a bit over-priced amd the room cleaning was inconsistent times - something we got frustrated at as some days they were there at 9 and some days not until late afternoon. Becomes a bit hard to plan with a baby that is sleeping naps in the room. The main dinner was very 'westernized' and only the Thursday Greek night offered some traditional Greek food. The dinner was also usually quite neutral/bland in its taste as they prepare only two main courses to choose from. Once the beef cutlet was so overdone it was chewy and not able to finish. Closest supermarket is a good 1.3km away and no pharmacy on site at the hotel.

    Super close to the beach and quite empty too. Good mini-market with some essentials but nothing in terms of food etc (go to the snack bar for that). Good quality om the food at the snack bar. The waitress service was superb at dinner and breakfasts I think.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    Total disappointment, no value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For a 5 star hotel, it lacks quality, attention to details. It works as a regular 4star hotel I stayed in a Junior Suite : Once we received dirty towels and they were not replaced early. I had to ask twice for towels and shower gel two days in a row. The towels are transported with no protection in a golf car that is used for luggage and other stuff. The cleaning lady reacted bad when she was told to replace the towels, not acceptable. The staff in general was nice. Small variety of fruit and not much variety at breakfast. Cats in the breakfast/dinning room even though you like animals or not, not acceptable. Bathroom shower area with signs of bad maintenance, not acceptable. The views from the room are awful, you can see the neighbors animals, junkyard ... In one of the hotel entrances there is a sign saying fitness center...does not exist. Total disappointment, don't get fooled.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    This is NOT a 5-star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    This is NOT a 5-star hotel! I would rate it 4-star if I'm very generous and 3-star if I'm more honest. This is why: - Our room was of good size, but the furniture was more hostel like (no bedside tables, 1 odd little wardrobe with very few shelves, etc.). - The food was OK, but by no means it was true Greek cuisine. During our 11 days we've never had proper fish (like a grilled seabass for example). Not a single time! Hot buffet meals were decent but main courses were quite poor. Overall, it feels like the quality of products they used was low. - The area where the hotel is located is nothing special. Looks like a desert. A few miles from it there are really picturesque places and fabulous beaches... - There is no entertainment at the hotel. Just 1 swimming pool and 1 tennis court. That's it! I wonder if it's really so hard to place a ping pong table at least?! - There is no kids menu there. You can obviously choose something for your baby from the food they offer to everyone, but if you'd like to have some plain healthy food cooked for your baby, you won't get it there. They simply do not cook for kids.

    The staff at the restaurant was kind and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Super friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing. They went the extra mile for us and nothing was a problem. They were especially wonderful when our plane got delayed and we had to stay an extra night. Highly recommend! It was a great place for families. Nice and quiet and close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel, but really need to improve the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food was a disaster. We did not find any dish at lunch that was eatable. The food was tasteless and overpriced. The dinner buffet was ok

    Friendly staff, excellent service and nice rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel - Location not ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Lack of information about surrounding area - nothing going on after evening meal - location not suitable unless car is hired as it is approximately 25 minutes walk to nearest bus stop which is located on a dual carriageway. There is a small mini-market on site but with limited goods for sale, however we did find shops in Kolymbia which is about 45 minutes walk from the hotel. Not many English visitors. When we were staying there were only two other British couples although several staff did speak some English.

    The hotel accommodation, service and staff were all excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.8
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 5 star hotel. Not a resort!! Isolated location, far from all attractions. There is no coffee in the room. The bed has 2 seported mattresses. There is no fitting room. Bathroom and bedroom is dark with not enough light to read a book in bed or to put make up on. There are much better hotels in rodes.

    The staff was very friendly. The place is clean and very close to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    A quiet, friendly, good quality place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The beach is just in front of the hotel but it is, as almost all in that part of the island, a pebble beach. So we have gone for the beach in other places: in Faliraki (just 10 kms away) and even Lindos (about 30 kms but the beach and the city are just fabulous!).

    The staff was excellent, extremely friendly and helpful. We did have a Junior Suite with plenty of space, two balconies and all the facilities. It is a very quiet place. Some might don't like that but for us it was exactly what we wanted. It is true, however, that since the hotel is quite isolated a car is a must. So you need to rent a car but this not expensive in Rhodes, in Greece in general. So,If you don't like industrial tourism and just want a smaller place to stay, in a quiet location, with a friendly staff and plenty of quality facilities Afandou Bay is a good bet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    Perfect selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing that we did not like about this hotel.

    Super friendly staff, very tasty food, nice & clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Nice big rooms - staff friendliness - close to beach - food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not many restaurants Around - no sports or beach sports - charge for beach beds - pebble beach

    Nice big rooms - staff friendliness - close to beach - food quality - wifi stable and fast - tranquility

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.1
    The rooms are nicely decorated and rooms as well as all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little over priced for what you get. Not enough wardrobe space for a family. The shower is not comfortable. You would expect from a five star resort a better shower.

    The rooms are nicely decorated and rooms as well as all facilities are very clean. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    The rooms are as lovely as the photographs show and we slept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The positioning of the hotel along the beach front is great if you are not interested in a stroll along promenades where you are accosted continually to eat or drink.. We deliberately did not want a hotel in that position, but it does make it rather remote other than by hiring a car to check out the Island.although there is a quaint train that will take you up into afandou village. But not for us.Nip along to Lindos instead to discover the delights of winding streets and picturesque old buildings with flowering bushes giving shade to secrets lost.

    The rooms are as lovely as the photographs show and we slept like babies with firm beds and supporting pillows.The grounds and pools area are all very contemporary and well maintained. The overriding factor in choosing to revisit this hotel is the superb staff, their friendliness and commitment to ensure we had a great holiday was outstanding. Even checking out of our room was accommodated to suite our late flight times.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent service, clean and beautiful suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service, clean and beautiful suite. The food was amazing and the stuff of the hotel very polite and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is great. tuff is amazing and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Big rooms - Nice pool - Tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Remote -

    Big rooms - Nice pool - Tranquility

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    Tα πάντα.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tα πάντα. Εξαιρετικό ξενοδοχείο. Φιλικό και πολύ εξυπηρετικό προσωπικό.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    5.8
    Beautiful location, near to the beach, quiet,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Diner was not great! In general, not a 5 star hotel.

    Beautiful location, near to the beach, quiet,

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent service Clean Nice family rooms

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: