Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Civitel Akali Hotel 4 stars

Kissamou 55, Chania Town, 73131, Greece

#48 of 71 hotels in Chania Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 263 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    The staff were extremely helpful, I will absolutely stay here again when I return to Chania!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was a bit tight to open the door - but not an issue

    The staff were amazing, extremely helpful to us, even the maids in the corridor were so friendly and willing to help. The beds were comfortable and the showerhead pressure was good. The location of this hotel is perfect - close enough to shops and easily able to cut through to nearby beaches. The breakfast offered a large range of yummy food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a disaster. Not much seating around it at all. The breakfast was very dissappointing. Tinned fruit in a country like Greece when you have so much fresh fruit🤔

    The staff were very friendly and it was only 10 minutes walk from Neo Chora beach. Location was good. 15 minutes walk into old town Chania😉😉

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Great staff and breakfast. Incredibly clean! Room was overly "smart" though
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was too "smart"; lights would come on when using the bathroom at 2am. No way to turn them off. AC would also shut off when you left the room, and had to be manually turned on again every time.

    Room was updated, nice nd modern.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.2
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    poor bathroom, small bedroom, barmaid drinking with friend and not serving customers until it suited her. Worse breakfast I have ever seen in 40 years!

    towels changed daily

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall, I give my stay a 7 of 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have sensors throughout the room. So, every 5 minutes, either the light, tv, or a/c would turn off.

    The breakfast and staff were absolutely amazing and professional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel to stay if holidaying in Chania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Location was close to beaches and old city. Staff were extremely helpful particularly the ladies in the reception desk. Definitely will stay at this hotel if visiting Chania in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant, clean, value for money, would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Swimming pool area could be upgraded and improved. Bar and lounge (waiting area) could have a waiter to take orders for some drinks and coffee. Could also be useful to have a clothing iron in each room.

    Very pleasant and willing to assist staff. Clean hotel and room. We were upgraded to a mini-suite, which was surprisingly spacious, clean and well-designed. Breakfast more than enough variety and relatively tasty. 10-minute (maximum) walk is required for the Chania's heart city centre. With 2 more minutes (12-minute walk from the hotel) you are at the port area where all the graphic taverns, small streets and shops are. Unless someone offers a free accommodation in another 4-star hotel, we'll probably use Akali Hotel again when in Chania. Wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful city, hotel, island and beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was exactly as it should have been.

    Super friendly and funny staff at the reception and at the bar, they were always very helpful when we wanted something. The hotel looks great, there is a beautiful swimming pool in the back. Our room had also a balcony with view to the pool. It's 10 minutes walking distance to the Nea Chora beach and to the city center/ venetian port. We will definitely go back to Crete and will stay at the same hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.8
    Good location but hotel needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-conditioning not working consistently, very very noisy at night (traffic), concrete beds, worthless balcony (couldn't even stand outside on it, it was that small), disregard to 'do not disturb sign' hanging on door.

    Foyer and outdoor area Close to old town - 10 minute walk

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom. It is hard to take shower because we have to hold the shower and clean ourseflves at the same time.

    The staff from the reception and from the bar were gentle. The restaurant closes early (around 21h) but there is a nice restaurant in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Clean and well serviced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less friendly waiting staff. Fairly central location but not so attractive compared to chania old town. Pricey considering location.

    Extremely comfortable and clean rooms. Friendly receptionists , Lovely hotel. Would stay again,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room we had was still awaiting refurb so felt a bit bare. we also had an ajoing door to the next room that wasn't sound proofed so could be noisy at times.

    the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. a very good breakfast and good location for exploring area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    Akali
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is old and unconfortable and it has nothing to do with the pictures Hotel is very noisy Not good communication between personal when shifts are changed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Good location - very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking nearby can be a little difficult.

    Fitted our needs very well. Good location just a little bit away from the busy Old Town. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No parking spaces at the hotel. Mosquitos in room. Hotel did nothing about my complaints about the mosquitos.

    Location was good. Very convenient to chania night life and beaches and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/bathroom could have done with a little more space to manoeuvre .

    Friendly stafff the bed was comfortable and the breakfasts excellent. The hotel staff particularly stand out for me. A swimming pool and seculded garden an added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Good location, once I got there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like that they had a breakfast, however some of the items that should've been kept warm or almost hot or bordering on being cold. Such as the egg dishes. Otherwise the breakfast selection was OK but not great.

    Good location, once I got there. €25 taxi ride but I've heard it can be higher. Most of the stuff seem pleasant. The room is very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    A perfect option for Chania at an affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, however i could make a couple of suggestions that would make the Akali experience a truly outstanding one . a) The marble bathroom floor was a bit slippery while bathing - you have to pay attention. b) TV lacks international stations. c) On the breakfast bouffet , more Cretan delicacies could be added - though it is still a great bouffet.

    Location just outside the old city and close to commercial streets and main bus station. The hotel and the room was very clean. I got a new room, with modern design. The bathroom accessories were of the finest quality - in big bottles of eponymous brands and they even included a shaving kit. There were many extras like slipperies , bath robes. While checking out , i was given a gift for my staying there - a komboloi ( which is used for good luck in Greece). I need to stretch out that when i asked for a water boiler , the personnel was happy to provide me with one .The personnel was very polite and friendly - specially the lady at the reception. I did not use a car , but parking was available. Breakfast had a good variety and overall this booking offered an excellent price to quality ratio. Definetely recommended.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    6.3
    LOUD construction; wonderful lobby, bar, and breakfast; OK wifi; rooms in need of renovation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked the hotel with two goals - sleep and wifi. Construction began on the level below mine at 0900 every morning (this came as a surprise, as the staff did not let me know about it when I checked in), which meant I only slept until 0900 (lots of demo-work was going on - jackhammers, grinders, and hammers). The wifi was very bad above the second floor of the hotel (in my room - on the 4th floor - I could not connect to the internet without standing near the front door, which was not a viable option - my buddy had a similar issue in a room on the other end of the building, same level). I had to go down to the lobby (which was nice and comfortable) in order to get a solid signal to audio call my family (very frustrating). Finally, I stayed in a very small room (which is fine, I didn't care one way or the other), but paid the same price for my room as my buddy, who stayed in a room about twice the size, with a bigger bed, and a shower that was actually enclosed. All in all, looking back, the stay was mediocre, but it did the job of providing a place to sleep at night while I spent the majority of the day in Old Town. I probably should have brought my issues up to the staff (I think they would have been received well), but it didn't really matter that much to me at the time. I can see that it might be an issue to others (especially with little ones who value their sleep) who want to stay in more comfort in the future. I don't know how long the construction will last, but it is a huge detractor to the experience at the Akali Hotel.

    The lobby, breakfast, and bar area were great. These areas of the hotel have obviously been renovated recently, which was nice. Lots of sitting room for reading or enjoying a drink. Breakfast was fantastic and lasted from 0700-1000, which is longer than I normally experience. The staff (front desk, housekeeping, and bartenders) was very friendly and helpful. They took a lot of time showing us where to see sights, get good food, and some great local bars.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    Friendly stuff, but clientele you would want to avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many Nato soldiers, would not advise girls to go there alone. Breakfast offer could be a bit better but big plus for fresh orange juice option.

    Friendly stuff who gave us great advices where to rent a car and eat as well changed us the room when we were not satisfied.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Absolutely fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just 5 minute walk from beach and the buzz of the town. Breakfast was a good spread of cooked and local cuisine. Rooms were clean and gym had mats, free weights and decent range of machines. What really stood out for us was the staff. From the receptionist to the kitchen staff to the cleaning ladies everyone had a bright smile and was willing to offer their services. The rooms were clean but slightly dated but everything worked and honestly it just added to the charm of the hotel. Love love loved it!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Absolute Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing we didn't like!!!

    Staff were very, very friendly. From the minute we walked through the door, Nikos on reception made us feel most welcome. Alexi on the bar was very nice too. Even ladies in housekeeping couldn't do enough for us. A BIG THANK YOU TO YOU ALL( We'll be back)!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Good rooms in a nice hotel in a great city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big Hotel, but the rooms arena very nice. It is very clean with good beds and great shower. Best thing is the lovely citycentre in walking distance. Breakfast also good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    very pleasant rooms, friendly staff, attractive communal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the awful 'breakfast box' provide for our early (6am) trip consisted of two slabs of white bread, no butter, slice of ham/cheese, slice of cake, two items of fruit, water- yet breakfast was already laid out, a few guests were eating - why could we have not collected a croissant, a hard billed egg, a yogurt - for example- the 'box' was not worth 10 euros and was not appropriate as 'breakfast'.

    very pleasant rooms, friendly staff, attractive communal areas, good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    7.9
    Generally Ok apart from the water supply cut off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Water got cut off three times in three days for hours which is a big shame in any hotel ( got stuck in the shower when the water got cut off) - breakfast is relatively poor - No concierge service

    Good location, good finishing in the room and friendly house keeping staff. Receptionists were also friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.5
    Great other than poor sockets!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited space by pool for loungers, only one available electrical socket in room. Had to unplug tv so friend and I could charge phones etc.

    Good breakfast, short walk to harbour and Main Street, wifi good,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    6.3
    A lot of space for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I was given upon arrival was not the room I booked. I had no balcony and the hotel manager told me that they could change my room 2 days later and received no compensation whatsoever as a good gesture for the inconvinience caused. The reception staff has no idea about excursions, opening hours of museums etc. and for every question you ask they have to Google the answer. Breakfast had a lot of variety but not great quality.

    The so called superior rooms are nicely renovated and the cleanliness was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.8
    The staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit expensive, but I think all the hotels in Chania are expensier than elsewhere in Creta. The area is not that nice and is 5-10 min walk to the center. It is a bit noisy if you are in the street side.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. The pool was great releif from the heat The room was quite big as well as the bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dated (but hotel renovating) Wifi mainly good but patchy at times. Air con very poor, even on full blast and at lowest setting it barely keeps room cool.

    Breakfast buffet is pretty good, decent variety. Staff excellent, very friendly and helpful. Especially Cleopatra. Pool. Lunch portion sizes are HUGE! Easy walking distance to Old Town. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice - but don't expect the a/c to work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Placed in the older rooms - The a/c didn't work for 2 nights, which we repeatedly advised them of. Their solution for the second night was to bring the managers fan that didn't have a cage on it. Even when the technician came to fix the ac, the room was mildly cooler. I understand the hotel was fully booked and couldn't move us to another room, but they did offer us a discount or another solution. Whilst the stuff were nice, we were not impressed

    It was roomy and had a pool, close to chania town. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    This hotel is a great price for the service, quality and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    The bathroom, room make-up, room had a balcony,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    aircon, space around pool, generally felt it was a 3star rather than a 4star hotel

    The bathroom, room make-up, room had a balcony,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside a little noisy as on a very busy road

    Excellent staff and extremely clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there has been some trouble in the idraulic system

    the breakfast, the easyness to find the parking near the hotel, the hall,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit dated.

    The location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Rooms nice, quit and clean, good beds.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms nice, quit and clean, good beds. Very friendly en helpfull staff. Enough choice by breakfast. Near the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great position and very friendly staff. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was beyond our expectations. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Would recommend to anyone. Very quiet but a good position.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay in Chania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't great.

    Very friendly staff, rooms were bright and airy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Slept very well. Close to everything. Rooms were freshen up every day. Will be back for sure. Loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    Ok but not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun bathing area was very poor and room was on front of hotel and very loud traffic so couldn't leave door open

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Generally comfortable and staff fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive accommodation for the type of hotel.

    Interior beautiful but and staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    A great deal for a perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect , clean , good breakfast , bus in front for the beach, 5min walk to bus station and 10min walk from the port :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Well Worth Booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms where amazing! Staff where very friendly and helpful. Very central to everything We would definitely stay there again :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, friendly staff, clean and very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, friendly staff, clean and very good location only 10 minutes from the centre of the town!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Holliday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean comfortable in a very good location excellent facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely stay in the Alkali Hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast ok. Might consider a gluten free bread.

    Lovely staff. Location Excellent. Overall a very good experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    It was a good15 min walk to the entrance of the Old Town of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good15 min walk to the entrance of the Old Town of Chania which was too far. Our mistake should have checked it out before booking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, helpful staff, great pool. We stayed in the newly refurbished rooms which were nice. A bit more space would have been nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    The pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    gluten free good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm highly allergic to gluten: they were most accompdating!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was not diverse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was not diverse.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    The size of the bathroom extrimly small
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bathroom extrimly small

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff - Nicolas
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities are old fashioned

    Friendly staff - Nicolas

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    The staff were fantastically friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were fantastically friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Really good position of hotel, not far from the local beach and center of the town.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not really fast Internet, bit old fashion interior in some rooms and room corridors.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    The staff are really helpful,couldn't have done enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts

    The staff are really helpful,couldn't have done enough specially Cleopatra &irene great hotel and really a pleasure to be there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    5.8
    Really comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was very small

    The bed was exceptionally comfy and the staff cleaned the room to a really high standards very day

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    6.7
    car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    car parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel Chania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the pool and room accomodation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.7
    Good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy rooms and the bathroom in the room needs renovation!

    Good breakfast! Good location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.9
    Room bit dirty when we arrived but staff immediately cleaned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bit dirty when we arrived but staff immediately cleaned it when asked. Good breakfast and excellent staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.3
    Relaxing Holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    rooms need serious renovation

    friendly staff. very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.8
    Good breakfast, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms stinked of cigarettes.

    Good breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.2
    Very near to old city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool bar could be much better

    Very near to old city! Great breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.9
    Clean room, with daily cleaning service, very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    average for 4 star , the pool is very small, 10mx5m as usual room looks better on the pictures than in real but to be fair it is what you have to pay in city centre close to old town,

    Clean room, with daily cleaning service, very friendly and helpfull staff, good Mediterranean buffey brekfast

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.6
    The staff were what made our stay so wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a pity the pool was not open but we were staying a little off season so this was not the hotel's fault.

    The staff were what made our stay so wonderful. From the lady cleaning the rooms, to the man working at breakfast to all the reception staff, they all could not have been nicer. They went out of their way to help us and be kind. The hotel is very clean, with lovely breakfast and in a good location, especially for the beach.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    10
    I was surprised with the brand new superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was surprised with the brand new superior room. It was just completely renovated with modern design, soft colours, big confortable bed, wonderful bath experience Breakfast was excellent with local specialities at high quality The staff was really helpful and friendly I was very impressed and i look forward to coming back

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.8
    The breakfast is very good and the breakfast staff are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given a 'quiet' room, facing away from the street, but a dog in a neighbouring property barked intermittently from dawn to dusk, and at the weekend muzak from the hotel's own speakers in the outdoor bar was intrusive if you sat on the balcony. The air con at night was noisy (room 102), and the furnishings are a bit old-fashioned.

    The breakfast is very good and the breakfast staff are very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.5
    Staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Booked a superior double, given a twin. Had to accept a standard to get a double. Air conditioning not very effective.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast good if you were punctual. Nice atmosphere generally. Old town very pretty. Good location for this end of Create. Short walk to town.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.8
    The best breakfast we had in Greece - a mix of traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was odd to find that the housekeeping left a vaccuum and cleaning equipment for a whole afternoon and morning outside our room in the passage. The door of the bathroom by the restaurant got stuck with me in it. I was stuck in a small, basement-style, windowless toilet cubicle for over 30 minutes. Not a cool experience at all. Chania, overall, has a bit of a party vibe to it and I found Rethymno to be more family oriented.

    The best breakfast we had in Greece - a mix of traditional Greek, Chania dishes and international and European dishes. Very close proximity to the local, Chania beach which is organised with loungers for rent and restaurants. Short walking distance to Chania Old Town and it is located in the CBD. Affordable and quick laundry service. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Location was great as it only took about 10-15mins to walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My only recommendation would be to provide conditioner in the bathrooms.

    Location was great as it only took about 10-15mins to walk into old town Chania and there were local buses outside the hotel. Great selection of food from the buffet breakfast. Staff were always helpful. We had an interconnecting room that was great as there were two bathrooms! The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and the pool was a bonus. Wi-fi always worked. I would stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Staff are so friendly & will help with anything they can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi is slow & TV has only Greek channels. Lack of TV does however help to unwind & switch off!

    Staff are so friendly & will help with anything they can. The receptionists, bar staff & restaurant all provide great service with a smile. Rooms are comfortable but not lavish. Great advice on sight seeing, medical care & car hire. Packed lunch provided free of charge for trip to the Samaria Gorge.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: