Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel 5 stars

Dedalou street 1, Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, 70014, Greece

#33 of 162 hotels in Hersonissos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 131 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.6
    Absolutely not worth 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not know there was an ‘old part’. Nothing was up to the standards of a 5 star hotel. TUI & Thomas Cook rate this hotel as a 4*. So I feel deceived by the 5* rating.

    Comfortable bed and clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Large rooms, ideal for families, kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I believe that wifi should be free in rooms.

    The whole staying was amazing! very clean hotel, good breakfast with variety and very very helpful and polite staff. I wish I could stay more and surely I will visit the hotel again. Very good choice for families. Almost 50 metres from the beach and two swimming pools. Good prices inside the hotel for drinks and food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only ate the evening buffet once and found the food a little limited. It was much nicer to go to the local restaurants along the seafront.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Food is brilliant and there is plenty of choice. The rooms are well decorated and are extremely clean. Love this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Not recommended for families with young kids. The reality is far from what's described on the web
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor family facilities and services. The playground which is listed on the facilities simply doesn't exist! There is a tiny play area for babies by the pool that is so poor that no kids were seen anywhere near it. The Kids club is only open for 3 hours per day and not even every day. Very poor entertainment program for both kids and adults. There was no entertainment on 2 out of 3 days and nights of our stay. On the third night there was live music at the dinner and the pool bar. No direct beach access from the hotel. No towels can be found by the pool. The guests have to take pool and beach towels from spa offices and leave a 5 euro deposit per towel. We had to leave 25 euros deposit for our family. Free wifi is very slow and is only available in the lobby. Speed Wifi is at additional charge, one has to buy a code per each device per each 24 hours.

    Clean rooms. The staff was extra helpful throughout the booking process and agreed to add an extra bed for our kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Best service and great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beach is small and with stones under water. For sand you need to walk a bit closer to other hotels. Not enough sunbeds for all tourists because of small coastline. If you have a room towards the pool - you will enjoy music from the pool bar and all entertainment in the evenings if you want it or not.

    Very good facilities and standard. Fresh and well maintained, at least in the building we lived in (superiour room). Great SPA with very professional employees. Super good kids club with a well developed programme and dedicated employees. Restaurant gives a feeling of an a la carte since it is outside and each table has a dedicated waiter. Good food selection. The best in this hotel is the service. Looks like manger is doing a really good job with its employees.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant staff, brilliant complex, brilliant food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not staying for longer :(

    Staff were amazing! Complex it's self is beautiful! Breakfast and dinner was very well organised and great food! Rooms were so comfy, very posh!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel has old and new parts. If you get accommodated in the old one - it doesn't look as in the photos. Our expectations were higher, therefore we were a bit disappointed. (Would be nice if this would have been mentioned in the description). There is wi-fi available only in the public area. If you want to have wi-fi in the room, should be paid extra. Sound isolation wasn't too good either. It was possible to hear everything that goes on in the corridor.

    The staff is excellent and very responsive! Outdoor area is nice as well. We also got a nice view. In the end of our stay, we also filled in the feedback form and gave it back a day before departure. Among other things we wrote that water in the shower was a bit cold and we would prefer a warmer one. Not sure if this happened due to the feedback, but later that evening the temperature was higher. Pleasant surprise. Breakfast is fine. Wide choice. We only had buffet dinner in the first evening in the hotel... could be better. There are other much better places where to have dinner. The bar next to the pool is good. Also had a lunch there - good price and quality. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in hotel (didn't spend to much time there, as our aim was to explore the island). Crete is awesome! :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.0
    It's not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That its not 5 stars like they write Maximum its 3.5 starts. In the bathroom there very poor facility The new building were my room was its not nice at all and very old fashion it's look like when they build it , they didn't take a decoration man. Just poor

    The stuff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel, I would like to go again...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only that we can say is that the wireless internet was not free. The cost was low, 3 euros for all day, but it was not free, as at other hotels...

    Everything was perfect! There was no problem at all. Cleanliness, smile from the staff, very good breakfast, nice pool, very good tv and the location was perfect! I think it was one of the best hotels I have ever gone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasnt good in the rooms Not enough beds next to the swimming pool and the swimming pool was freezing cold

    The breakfast was tasty and the staff was very nice Very neat and pretty hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    great location for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    tasteless lukewarm dinner buffet (in complete contrast to delicious breakfast. drinks very expensive lots of minimarts around. (buy your own).

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.4
    Not much really, the brekfast was quite good and that's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main building was outdated and definitely not a 5 star property. Pool area was quite small and almost not enough to accomodate all guests. Elevators were very old and didn't feel safe al all.

    Not much really, the brekfast was quite good and that's about it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Excellent vacation at Albatros
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We enjoyed our stay at Albatros, location is great, staff very friendly, rooms are very clean, good food. What else do you need for a relaxed vacation? To all the Staff at Albatros: Thank You for a wonderful vacation!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice location and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to get a sunbed in the morning by the swimming pool! Bathroom was clean but not well maintained. A bit expensive.

    Breakfast was really nice, with a great variety. Room was clean and spacious, with a balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    Read the pros and cons and decide
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In Greek standards this may be a 5 star hotel, yet some things that you may expect from an international 5 star hotel are missing. For example, the lobby is outdated, the TV is very small, no coffee maker in the room and general look and feel of the hotel and room that are not high-end like a Hilton or so. The food is also not amazing. The variety in breakfast is not bad, yet the food is the same every day..which is an issue if you eat 6 breakfasts. They try to make a special of the day kitchen but they had french toast and pancakes everyday, my daughters did not eat a thing and I bought some dairy products in a local store and came to the breakfast room just for tea. Also WIFI is not free which is not OK in 2016 in my opinion. Also for real coffee like an espresso or Latte for breakfast you have to pay extra, this is not cook for a 5 star hotel. The food for dinner is also not great, the price is good for dinner yet I would pay more for better quality. The beach is very close yet there are better bitches with white sand, ask the front desk.

    Staff is great, even before we checked in, I have contacted Loanna Memou from the reservations team and she replied within minutes. The hotel is very clean, cleaned every day by numerous employees to perfection, both the public areas and the room. The location is great, walking distance from the beach and from the main street that is full with bars and restaurants. The room is nice, we stayed in the new section that is relatively modern in Greek standards. There are two pools, one quite small and the newer one that is big. Super market (very small) just 50 meters from hotel, nice for drinks and so

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Good resort, family oriented
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was not heated

    Good location and spacious rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    A delightful spot close to the ocean.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Attractions close ... could walk and see things but the public transit was readily available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    very nice hotel, great value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could be better

    modern spacious room, very clean, nice pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    I would stay here again!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would stay here again! Very clean, couple minute walk to the beach, friendly/helpful staff, and nice pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.0
    Not 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly stuff on reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Excellent short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wifi was only available in reception or you had to pay in other areas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Loved this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal wasnt amazing, was decent, only went bed and breakfast so would recomend that!

    Everything!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Albetros hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should be included in room if not for 2/3 hours per day

    Very good hotel , great room and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom in the family room.

    The staff were nice. Very close to the sea and swimming pool was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    I stayed for four nights well its a good hotel, rooms were...
    • Couple

    Over priced and it doesn't seem like a 5 star hotel at all, empty minibar no coffee nor tea, you will feel like you are staying in a 3 or 4 star

    I stayed for four nights well its a good hotel, rooms were big and clean and location was very nice and the breakfast was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    The room & hotel overall was fantastic value for money -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a huge deal as you're suppose to be enjoying your holiday but a wifi connection that connects to more than 1 device in your room would have been helpful at times.

    The room & hotel overall was fantastic value for money - pool area & grounds were lovely and relaxing. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly - enthusiastic and upbeat and always smiling! The breakfast had a great selection - fried, continental, sweet etc. Location was great - a short walk to the beach promenade for all the main bars & restaurants (our favourites were: Mythos, Coast Cafe & Kahlua).

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.2
    The hotel and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast was the worst i ever had in a Hotel even with low ratings. The fruits and mushrooms were from conserves / cans. There was also only one kind of cheese and it was like old butter / cheap veggy cheese horrible ! Don't take the breakfast i'm not picky but this was simply horrible

    The hotel and the location

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    5.4
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa closed saturday till tuesday. When we booked we expect to use Spa. But was closed during our stay and full hotel. At the website ist say open daily. Receptionist big woman with glasses say its closed and no apology at all. Restaurant Daphne closed as well so we had a buffet dinner which was not much to chose we arrive half hour before closing time and our waiter was not happy at all. Breakfast was very poor and i count 6 breakfast chefs for doing buffet. No passion!

    Not much.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Modern and spacious rooms, clean pool and fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi only for a fee

    Modern and spacious rooms, clean pool and fantastic breakfast bars, anything you can imagine. The hotel is situated in a quiet area, the rooms are mostly oriented to the pool. Surrounding of the hotel is clean, the beach is nearby. Within walking distance there are plenty of restaurants and shops. I recommend.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.8
    Breakfast, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be careful with the room that you are going to book. half rooms are in the old building... the pictures in booking.com are not the same with our room. not fair for a 5* hotel

    Breakfast, good location

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    value for money, very good breakfast, good swimming pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the 2 rooms suite's ac was too weak& the regular room is too small for 5 stars hotel, the dinner is not very tasty (& for drink you pay extra), wifi costs

    value for money, very good breakfast, good swimming pool, near the beach, buffet dinner for only 10 euro, free parking nearby, we were upgraded into 2 rooms suite

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    5 star hotel shouldn't charge for wifi. Also charged to use pool table. Be careful if you pay for a sea view room as some are better than others. Some are no better that the pool view rooms.

    location. cleanliness of the hotel. Friendly staff. great room

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.2
    The staff and cleanliness and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to pay for wifi The gym didnt open until after breakfast Having to pay to play pool in the games room No complimentary water or tea and coffee

    The staff and cleanliness and location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    The location was great, our room was lovely with both pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact you have to pay for wifi, the dinner is not good value for money just go out and enjoy the area! We also recommend walking to the beaches in the next village.

    The location was great, our room was lovely with both pool and sea view but we did pay a little extra for a nicer room. The breakfast was great, but we would recommend only doing bed and breakfast as the other meals were not as nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast, good dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast, good dinner (for 10 E only). Perfect location - not far from nice (clean and warm water) beach, easily reachable by a direct bus service from the Airport (use bus stop 20 which is close to the hotel). Just 2 hints: to get the coffee at breakfast wait for a waiter (everything else is in the buffer) - normal water caffee is free, real Italian-style coffee is paid. To get the dinner - buy a voucher at the reception and sit down in the restaurant and WAIT for a waiter to show him the voucher. Nobody is checking the voucher at the restaurant entry.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    This hotel is amazing, very nice staff getting you with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi is poor and slow. Anyways enough for whatsapp and surfing.

    This hotel is amazing, very nice staff getting you with a smile and try to help in anyway.. One of the best hotels ive been to in a long time, and i travel alot.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    8.3
    Staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to pay got wifi really let the hotel down Limited bacon at breakfast Extremely thick pillows made it difficult to sleep well

    Staff excellent Location great Spa was amazing! Value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Sea view, Location beside beach, food was delicious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two single beds, could also do with bit more cushion and extra pillow. Aside from that I could not fault the hotel it was excellent.

    Sea view, Location beside beach, food was delicious and great value for money, cleanliness, buffet only 10e, great service, music on certain nights

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.6
    Location, friendly and helpful staff, modern clean and large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi kept coming and going, nothing serious but if you are paying for it, like here, then it should be a bit better.

    Location, friendly and helpful staff, modern clean and large rooms.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Nice room with spacious balcony in a new building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not included (3€/day/device) Breakfast buffet of poor quality.

    Nice room with spacious balcony in a new building. Clean. Quiet at night (which you would certainly not get if you take a hotel close to the center). Close to the beach. Nice pool area. Staff members are helpful (except the lady at the reception who was quite unfriendly when we checked in)

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    6.7
    Room was nice and clean, bed was reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was expensive and only had a speed of 0.5 Mbps (i.e. what was considered broadband 10 years ago). Limited to only one device and you have to go to the reception (it's far away) every day to activate it. Terrible iron - couldn't even iron an "easy iron" shirt.

    Room was nice and clean, bed was reasonable. Shower/bathroom was OK too. Buy bottled water though as water from taps is not good.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Excellent facilities with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All good!

    Excellent facilities with friendly staff. Our son enjoyed the playground and the pool. The breakfast is very good and has a good variety for all tastes. We were lucky with the room, as they upgraded it, and our room was big and had a pool view!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    Good location for shops,restaurants and car/bike hire if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The orange juice at breakfast. Tastes more like squash unless freshly squeezed specifically ordered.

    Good location for shops,restaurants and car/bike hire if required. Good meals served for dinner in the evenings. A very good pool and spa facilities. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Amazing staff, very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing staff, very clean!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Double bed consists of two single beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Double bed consists of two single beds. It's mouving and always gap between them, which is very inconvenient. Lock the beds together please!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi cost, not enought chairs around pool

    All

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Location and good room with the veranda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a big and nice hotel should have free Wifi

    Location and good room with the veranda

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.1
    Food, service and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small beaches and very crowded. Too commercial area. WIFI not free.

    Food, service and pool

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    great hotel, very nice staff helping with smile to any need,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great hotel, very nice staff helping with smile to any need, very clean rooms and food

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Central location, great staff, beautiful poor area, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was poor, not reliable

    Central location, great staff, beautiful poor area, great food

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    Friendliness and efficiency of the hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hersonissos town itself, the beach

    Friendliness and efficiency of the hotel staff

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    Only stayed one night couldnt find any fault
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only stayed one night couldnt find any fault

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    9.2
    Not to big to lose personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels on sunbeds

    Not to big to lose personal touch

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    evrything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    problems with WIFI

    evrything !! perfec tocation

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    good location, 5-7 min walking from all the bars, clubs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi cost money

    good location, 5-7 min walking from all the bars, clubs and shops. very good stuff, very clean nice spa

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Location, friendliness of staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast buffet and loud music at the pool

    Location, friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.1
    Nice location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi-Fi was quite poor and it was annoying to have to pay extra for it.

    Nice location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.6
    Very nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is not free.

    Very nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy at night

    Friendly helpful staff Great central location Beautiful pool and lounge area Clean accomidations

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: