Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alexander the Great Beach Hotel 4 stars

Kriopigi, Kriopigi, 63077, Greece

#18 of 22 hotels in Kriopigi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 803 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Paid WiFi

    3.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    We were very satisfied by the housekeeper Elmira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very satisfied by the housekeeper Elmira. She was very kind, always talking with our 2 years old son and our room was very clean and ready just after breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - extra cost for wi fi or sun beds on the hotel's beach, which in my opinion should be free or charge, especially the sun beds since it is a "beach hotel" - not much to do at night for entertainment, except sit at their bar - high prices on the beach bar (5 euro for a beer, 3.50 for a juice) - not enough food choices at the tavern - paid for double room with sea view: i could barely see the sea in one corner, if I bent enough over the balcony :)

    - beach was excellent: clean, very spacious, water very clear and blue - hotel gardens: very well taken care of - breakfast: great variety, plenty of food and beverages

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    It was ok but you can find better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have the room I booked the first night. Have to pay for seats at the beach and pay for wi-fi

    Beach was very nice. The staff was helpful and place was pretty clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    Not a good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room could be renovated No mosquito net Internet is bad, paid and above 2nd floor no network at all Cockroaches in the bathroom Paid sunbeds at the beach

    Excellent location, with the beach nearby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.6
    The view from the room is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception is rude. We had a problem with one of the rooms and the lady was cynical with me. Everything in the hotel costs extra money! The water in the sea that belongs to the hotel is polluted!! It is full of garbage ! In addition, you are not allowed to sit on the beach unless you pay for the bed and the umbrella! Unbelievable! One of our rooms had an awful smell and the staff did nothing to help us. What's more, they questioned the reliability of our complain. None of the plugs worked in both rooms that we booked. We complained about thatt but nothing was done. The food at breakfast was not fresh. In addition, when we did the booking we were told we would pay a deposit of 30% but in reality we were charged the full payment in advance and paid a high commission. If this is not enough so during check out we were told that we didn't pay for one of the rooms!---we had to call booking.com and we spent 2 hours till they agreed to let us go!!!! We really had a bad experience in this hotel

    The view from the room is beautiful. The manager of the hotel is very nice and tried to do his best to help us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Might visit again if I forget about the last moment bitterness by next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    While checking out the receptionist told us that we had to pay for a beer from the mini-bar, but in reality we didn't consume anything from it. To be honest that REALLY grinded my gears in the last minute before leaving! So please make sure that your staff checks properly, so that you don't piss off your guests in the last moment. Also, the price of the internet is ridiculously expensive for the quality you offer.

    The beach is large and there aren't many rocks to hurt your legs when entering the water. Rooms were clean and the women who took care of our rooms were very nice. Food was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    Very nice view and quite place for relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice view and quite place for relax. Staff was very friendly and helpful who made you to Love Greece. Many thanks to the Pool bar staff and also want to say many thanks to Giannis Kexagias.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Summer vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In 2018 internet charge of 10€ per day is not acceptable. WiFi is not free even in reception , pool bar and other common areas. The reception personnel needs training. It is the first time in 20+ years were the key of the room was not handed to me before I paid for all accommodation days booked. A smile and a worm welcome is always well accepted.

    Very good breakfast offering variety of food including local specialities. Accommodated not in the central building, in sarounding smaller renovated buildings with excellent view, beds, private balcony and very clean and comfortable. The club car personnel very helpfull and smiling. Excellent pool bar with a very nice smiling person on the service. The beach is one of the best in the area and the service with the elevator from the pool to the beach and viceversa is tremendous. A place to visit again and again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced, clean hotel with nice beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial price for the rooms is high, and on top of that this hotel has additional fees for everything .. you want to use the safe you have to pay for it .. you want to use the sunbeds at the beach you have to pay for them also - which is an absurd, a beach hotel is charging you additional fee for the sunbeds. Not to mention the price for the sunbeds - total rip-off (the price is higher then almost any beach in that area, and you pay that price as their guest?). For the price you pay (10 euros) you get 1 umbrella and 2 beds, no table with it (if you order something to drink or eat .. you have to put it either on the ground or on the bed). The beach bar is understaffed (I think they only have 2 guys working on the beach), it's much easier to go at bar and order what you want.

    The hotel is very clean (the room, the toilet, the garden and the beach) .. and the beach is very nice .. golden send with clean clear water, breakfast was OK .. one more good thing is the private parking (you can use it for free - the only thing that is free of charge). The prices in the taverna were acceptable and the food was nice (the view from the taverna is very nice)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    All perfect - internet should be free, sun beds too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Internet should be free and better quality - It's shame to charge someone 12eur / 72 hrs per one device. So if you pay 2000 Eur for 10 nights room with breakfast - It's annoying to pay internet extra 100+ euros. This should be free ad better quality. Same is for sun beds ( 10 * 6 = 60 eur ) so when someone pays 2000 eur for stay for 3 member family - those 160 euros makes more marketing damage then benefits for hotel.

    Beach is great. Other than beach, nothing is perfect but nothing is bad. Everything works and is fully functional. Hotel is old but well organized. Beach is definitely something which makes difference.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need renovation! It's unacceptable the guests of the hotel to pay for internet in 21st century. Also is unacceptable the guests of the hotel to pay for sun beds on the beach, but this summer it's obviously practice in Greece. All the previous years you could stay on the beach for free if you just order something from the beach bar.

    Wonderful location, perfect sandy blue flag beach , nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    Dated dirty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are simple horrible. Dated or dirty does not even begin to describe it. Also we got a room with two tiny single beds. They weren’t tthe same height so we couldn’t bring them together. To be fair they changed us to a room with a double bed when they could but it was still an old dirty room with pretty nasty stains on the bed linen :(

    The staff were trying to be as helpful as possible and I truly believe they did their best.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant vacation, good price-quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the pine forest that I think has not been renovated since the hotel was built. The bathroom and the room are very small. Better book the room overlooking the sea or the villas that are refurbished. We had three meals included, but water at the table and any other alcoholic beverages were not included (a paid water costs 2.5 euros and a beer 5 euros). Lunch is poor and I do not recommend it. Better get half board accommodation.

    It is a nice hotel in a very good and quiet area. The hotel is near a beach with blue flag. It has a nice pool 2,4 m depth and a pool for kids with 0,7 m depth. The hotel is surrounded by a pine forest. The closest cities are Kriopigi and Kallithea (Kallithea is more animated with a lot of tavernas). The water intake at the sea is smooth and the sand is fine. There is also a beach bar and a pool bar with a lot of drinks and refreshments not so expensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It seems that every time you need something you have to pay extra such as paying for the beach chairs or water/ coffee at dinner, wifi.

    The room was what we had paid for and the view was gorgeous. The balcony was roomy and the entire hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The beach is clean and the water is crystal clear! There are roses everywhere making the grounds beautiful. The food in the main dining hall was varied and good. All staff was polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    When we arrived in a hotel,the person in reception find the...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived in a hotel,the person in reception find the room for us in another building and another room which it was not same that we booked. So we feeling very bad. Later we discussed that it is not this room that we booked, also the room should be in the main building, they change and everything was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a tavern in the hotel with an amazing view, but in my opinion for such a nice facility the food could be better.

    It was a wonderful experience! The beach is among the best I have ever seen! The view was breathtaking! The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. I would definitely go again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Perfect place to enjoy perfect beach!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like or suggest this hotel to apply the concept ultra all inclusive, including sunbeds and wifi!!

    The location,the garden with different fruit trees,the buildings,the facilities and especially the beach were super,!!!It was great ,quite and a perfect place to be with family!I will turn back there again honestly!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The villages nearby are not easily reachable by foot, buses run rarely, you need a car to explore the area.

    Better then expected, very clean, good food (half-board), great sea food restaurant by the beach, very nice personnel, definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very unhelpful, aircon not turn on At the reception and hallwey and the lift,charging for the umbrellas,very expensive bar on the beech €3.50 small cup coffee.not enough time to write everything.....

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    wouldn't go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there were three of us in our room and we were told it would cost 36 euros a day for wifi, needless to say, we did not pay and as such were out of touch. Also, we were charged 13 euros a day for chairs and umbrella. When you are staying at a beach resort, I believe this is unacceptable. Now for dinner. s, the first two nights, as a vegetarian, there was nothing to eat. When I asked the staff, I was told they had boiled carrots and cauliflower and salad. The others in our group who are not vegetarian but were also disappointed with the selection. The last night was fine and we were satisfied, maybe the first two nights we were just unlucky. After dinner there was nothing to do, one night we went to the bar for a drink and were told, no kids allowed. What were we supposed to do with them? nowhere to go. Lastly, we ordered a bottle of wine and it was brought already opened. Not acceptable.

    The Beach was fantastic. beautiful long beach with absolutely beautiful water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    O piscina mai adanca ar fi mai potrivita
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Adancimea de 2,60 metri a piscinei. Probabil ca sa nu aiba managerul grija inghesuielii la piscina - gaseai sezlong la orice ora. Iar in piscina - gol. Eu consider insa mai oportun sa adanceasca piscina la 4,60 metri, chiar 5,60, de ce nu?? Cea mai simpla solutie era sa umple piscina cu mai putina apa, dar de ce sa aiba batai de cap?! Lasa-i naibii de turisti, sa stea pe mal! - Plata a 5 euro pe zi pentru internet wifi, cu semnal foarte foarte slab. Si, mai mult, nu puteai folosi decat un dispozitiv odata. Cu alte cuvinte - talharie! - Receptionerele ar putea sa invete sa zambeasca; afiseaza o superioritate nejustificata, cred; sau poate or fi profesori universitari care si-au luat al doilea job. - Insuficienta locurilor de parcare amenajate. Parchezi pe unde apuci, in principiu pe gazon, pe undeva(unde dealtfel mi-am gasit si un geam spart la automobil, nu stiu daca voit sau accidental)

    - gradinile si curtea hotelului, amenajate de nota 10 - mancarea variata si gustoasa - plaja si apa marii superbe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    We cant sleep all the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cant sleep all the night.we use booking and we rent a room with one single bed and one double bed.and it wasnt double bed they told me that it was french style that means it was 1 and a half bed.Yes but in booking says that is double bed there is no reason to rent a room for 3 people and take back a room with 2 and half bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Location , sea perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not nice to request full payment after saying welcome . Already deposite payed , I could pay when I leave hotel... Also Charging water at dinner is too ridiculous . Water should be free...

    Location , sea perfect ! Funicular for beach really best ! Restorant and staff for serving meal is good idea everything clean and as it’s supposed to be

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    It was OK, but don't expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Instead of queen size bed we got two single beds. Ok, it was not a problem to move them together, but cleaning ladies separated our beds every day for two weeks in order to put DUVETS!!!! properly. I don't need a duvet at all when it's 26C, give me extra bed sheets to cover. Nope! Keep your beds separated and invent where to put two annoying duvets every day! Don't leave your shoes on the flour - cleaning ladies will put them away in the order they consider right: sandy slippers should stay on top of suede moccasins. Baby cot we've got had no mattress and was extremely dirty: originally it was turquoise, but all four sides had yellow film on top. Food was ok and abundant, but mostly plain. Many servers didn't know English enough to bring us sparkling water. For a truly delicious fish od sea food go to the restaurant at the opposite side of the beach. Paid wifi was slow.

    We enjoyed the sandy beach a lot, staff from the beach bar were nice and pleasant, especially Tina! The territory is green dotted with Mediterranian pines. The sea was clean, and the view from the beach elevator were impressive. Our room was renovated, so we were lucky to get a decent bathroom and comfy beds. It was great to have a rack for towels and wet swimming suits at the balcony. It had a nice view too. Food was ok: omlettes, fried eggs, ham, cheese, greek yogurt, fruit, pastry, coffee and water for breakfast, and around ten different options of main courses for lunch (but all drinks including water are paid extra).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect beach, good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tennis court needs maintenance. We would prefer a double bed and not 2 singles that were brought near. Parking could be better organised.

    Hotel was old but renovated with nice facilities and good breakfast. Beach was right down and stuff was helpful. The seaside view from room balcony was the best to remember.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Very nice and clean hotel, perfect beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee during breakfast was not so good. And price 4.5 euro on bar for coffee from capsule was more than enough

    Very nice and clean hotel, perfect beach. Food was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Paradise! We want to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like! We loved the experience, place and people!

    The proximity to the sandy beach! really the location is such a bonus. the weather was great and every day it was like "another day in paradise". We loved the facilities!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    We were given a room next to offices that the administration...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room next to offices that the administration of the hotel used. Felt very uncomfortable. Smug staff. Food was poor. Catered too much to non-Greek tastes. Better off eating in town for authentic options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Horrible experience
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ovepriced, noisy,full with kids and babies, screaming constantly.Old hotel, extremely uncomfortable and tiny beds, small room like for hobits,there is no space for your suitcase. Our Toilet smelled like public one.They charge 15eur for sunbeds which are not worth it.They charge for internet which is not working at all.They charge for safety box and few other things.Rude staff... Overall experience- dissaster! ! Pictures of the room on booking.com are not true at all. I wish i took photos of the room.

    Location only.Nothing else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Top
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    Quiet place for families. Excellent beach, very close, threes around, Nice staff from reception to restaurant (Eva is always smiling and help all the time) Like all others. Will highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    It was acceptable for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was not obvious that beach is not free, and the tavern was a disappointment as there was no Greek food and no sea food, but pasta and burgers.

    the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has an amazing location and a beautiful beach. The staff were very friendly helping us with everything we needed and the newly renovated sea view rooms are very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place for calm vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of rental beach towels, you have to prebook with the general booking??? or you have to buy on spot. There were no additional serviettes during the breakfast, only 1 pp, some of the rooms are hardly accessible by old or people with some health problems as they are on upper floors without an elevator.

    Amazing and clean beach, special lift to reach the beach, huge gardens and a lot of green open spaces, car free complex, spacious delux rooms, nice taverna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    97.5/100
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Food is good, but it leaves a lot to be desired. - At night the parking barrier is open... I'm from Bulgaria so... it's weird to me, but it's Greece. Still, lock your car, just to be safe. - No fitness, but a has table tennis and tennis court... and the beach for a rejuvenating early morning run.

    + Seaview rooms are perfect... and freshly renovated. So take one. + Parking is huge. + Great beach - clean, fresh, quiet, tidy. Lovely fine-grained sand. Great location. + Seabeds on the beach are separated very distantly from one another. + Panoramic Electric lift brings you down directly to the beach. Can also take the steps down.... but you won't, cuz you're on vacation... and you're lazy, as you should be. :) + Personnel is very helpful and attentive + Lovely amenities - they have almost everything... apart from ski... and snow. + Renovated rooms are absolutely fantastic. + Fantastic see-through terraces - large, spacious and well furnished. + Great greek cafeteria and a decent restaurant. Nothing is perfect, but this place comes very, very close. With better food and a bit of renovation, it will be absolutely sensational.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    family stay, relaxing place, great beach and hospitality to the guests what ells you can request
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    in general no ecus

    first of all the facility its great as for position and fiscal location to the beach, the spatial thanks it will go to Mrs.Karina at the reception which did do so many thing by offer perfect hospitality to my three daughters, my wife and to my. Thank you sincerely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nature Sea nice food wonderful attitude from the staff! A great change from last year! Thank you all for the wonderful days you gave us for our holiday!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    I liked my stay in Alexander the Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    1. On my arrival I was placed in the room, which was quite dark and needed renovation, but later on I was moved to a good one. I suggest either to renovate this kind of rooms or do not rent them out as stay in such room could ruin the whole holidays. 2. In my opinion the hotel restaurant and especially taverna with their spectacular views would win a lot if they included in the menu fish and sea food dishes. I have had lunch once in their restaurant and couple of times in taverna. The restaurant had buffet with salads and two or three choices of main course... I would say quite conventional. Is not that the food is not good - it is good, but for example grilled chicken is something one can eat at home or in a canteen and once on holidays me and many other travelers are looking for something special. Keeping the menu simple may be understandable for their restaurant as it serves half board, which is included in some packages, but why not to have fish and sea food dishes in the hotel's taverna, where the tourists pay extra? Well, me and my friends found a lot of tavernas with great variety of fish, octopuses, squids etc in Kallithea and Kriopigi and really enjoyed this gastronomic experience. Still, I think it is a pity, we could not find that in Alexander.

    I liked my stay in Alexander the Great. The hotel is located on the heel above the beautiful beach which is free from boats and is connected with the beach with several paths and an elevator. The view from the hotel restaurant is amazing! I enjoyed Greek nights, which were a lot of fun and showed dances from different parts of Greece. The personnel is very nice and welcoming. I have arrived late and the kitchen was closed, but they have organized some food for me in taverna! There is also a terrace nearby the pool where you can seat with a drink (or without) relax and enjoy magnificent view over the sea (see photo). The hotel has info folders from several agencies which organize excursions and helps to get in contact with the agents. I took two - to Meteoras and a boat trip around Athos and I liked both.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    The sea view from the main building's 4th floor is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Except from accommodation and food everything was taxed, see attached picture. Far away from both Kriopigi and Kalithea in order to walk. We had a very bad smell in the room which was cause by the wood sun blind in the balcony. Bathroom was small and not enough ventilated.

    The sea view from the main building's 4th floor is breath taking. The balcony is also very generous. The sea and beach are wonderful, water is crystal clear and the beach was not crowded. Nice and handy access to the beach. Food was not WOW, but it was diverse enough that every day we were able to find something we liked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    We had an enjoyable stay. The kids had fun. The sofa beds were dreadful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds could have been better, not the most comfortable. We stayed in the Junior Garden suite.

    Good facilities. Good restaurant and pool on site. Close to a beautiful beach. The breakfast buffet was good. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.0
    Family hotel with a lots of children and noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is various but low quality for this price. Hotel is definitely not a 4 star but 2 or max. 3 star. Needs reconstruction. Sunbeds are additional cost and internet 5 eur per day per device is unacceptable. Bathroom too small and rooms as it is a hostel. Definitely not worth the price, eapecially without big discount!

    Family hotel with a lots of children and noise. Average hotel beach with elovator access or stairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    If you want a wonderful holiday, you should visit Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Halkidiki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had to pay for the water on lunch and dinner. The umbrella on the sea was under payment even for the clients of the Hotel.

    I enjoyed very much spending the holiday in Alexander the Great Beach Hotel. I was there with my mother. She was very happy also. The management was great. The cleanliness was on top levels;one of the cleaners, Mimoza, was very kind and really a hard worker. The food was very good, and the staff on the restaurant was very gentle and kind. I am impressed from the sea, it was a rare beauty to see and to swim in, very clean, clear, turquoise color, fishes swimming nearby,the sand white. Something that impressed me, was the elevator that anyone could take from the property to go to the beach. Every one can enjoy the beauty of the nature on this property. trees of lemons, oranges, apples, pomegranates etc. surrounded all the buildings in this property. there was a special place dedicated to the children.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    2.5
    Beach is very nice, hotel is terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a desperate need of renovation especially the rooms. The rooms are not clean, especially the bathrooms. The rooms are also misrepresented by the hotel, apparently some rooms are renovated but it is not clear what you are booking. None of our concerns were addressed by the management, they were quite defensive on everything. Some cleint service training is highly recommended.

    The private beach was only thing we absolutely loved, the rest (management, facilities, rooms and cleanliness) was in a very poor condition!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    2.5
    Disappointing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not cleaned, there was dust and sand under the beds, the bathrooms were not cleaned, there was hair all over the bath tubs. The management doesn't understand client service, they were defensive everytime we tried to communicate a request or issue. When we made an inquiry about the type of the room we got, they blaimed Booking.com for the type of the rooms and the misrepresentation of the type of rooms we got. We booked three rooms for a family vacaution and all of us had a very negative experience. I would recommend to anyone considering this place using Athos Palase, Theophany or Kassandra resort and spa. We visited friends at these resorts and their facilities were at a different level. We regret our choice. We are not coming back for sure! Final note. In case you decide to stay here, call and clarify all your questions with this hotel as the info is jot clear on the type of rooms you are getting. Apparently they have a renovated section

    The only thing that kept us at this property was the wonderful beach! The hotel needs full renovation, new management that understands client service and the importance of cleaning the rooms properly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    The lighting in the bathroom was atrocious, the five Euro...
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bathroom was atrocious, the five Euro charge per day for Internet is a rip off considering that you are in a four star hotel. The food was lukewarm and the meat often overlooked and the quality not of a four star hotel more like a two star. You pay well over the odds for what you get. If you dare to complain about the food then you get told that maybe it's a problem that you have with the taste of food. The general attitude of the manager seems to be an unwillingness to put things right and patronise the guests, plus the bath was rusty and the rooms were date d and the breakfast options were inadequate. On a more positive note, the beach is stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Apart from Accommodation issues everything else was nice food, beach, and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I have booked two rooms since I have 4 kids (10,8,2 and 0.5 years old) so Hotel management has predicted us to be in two rooms but on separate floors?!? So after waiting they have provided rooms on the same floor but separated from each other, one of the rooms was very small but it was take it or leave it. You do not need to be with PhD to realize that mother, father and 4 kids needs rooms close together if not connected…

    Beach is fantastic. Breakfast is also very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small and old bathroom; smoking coming from the other rooms thru the bathroom ventilation.

    Great gardens/modern and nice landscaping of the area; large beach; the entering to the sea is smooth; fine sand on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    4.6
    Find another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is as old as Alexander the king!! prepear yourself to pay for everything even place too sit on the hotel beach. Poor breakfast and rooms had two single beds, although we asked for a king bed.

    Location was good but 25 min walk to kalitea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Very good location and staff very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms-bathrooms desperately need renovation. The toilet was smelly and old. Νot comfortable beds. No free wi-fi! No beach towels.

    Very good location and staff very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    greece beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    is not a real 4 star hotel if you look inside,but all thinks togheter can make him a 4 star hotel

    great location ,nice view,food was excellent,all perfectly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    The best relax by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The resort is excellent. It is a safe environment with good on site facilities including pools and restaurants. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, they are just lovely from cleaners, waiting staff and reception, and the management is of excellent quality, as you rarely meet even at this level. The pool bar is hive of activity, the swimming pool is indeed as spectacular as on the pictures.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful beach, nice pool and lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds weren't very comfortable, but they were fine. The bathroom was a little dated and showed its age, but -- like the bed -- served its purpose. This hotel was cheaper than some other resorts in the area, probably because of these things. I feel I got what I paid for, and the grounds/facilities (including my room's balcony) offset any decor or comfort issues. I booked my room the evening before my stay, at around 6 p.m. on a Friday, but the reservation still hadn't shown up in the hotel's system by 10:30 a.m. the next morning. (I think reservations staff weren't yet in the office.) The reservation was found a few hours later, though, so it worked out fine. I just had to let the parking attendant talk to the receptionist when I arrived, since I wasn't on his list, either. A lot of people had complained about the fee for internet access (5 euros/24 hours), and about how slow it was, so I knew what to expect, and it didn't bother me. Same with fee for sun bed (lounge chair) and umbrella. You need to bring your own beach towel, or you can buy one in the mini market.

    The grounds: right on the beach (you go down to the beach by stairs or in a little funicular), very nice pool, great little snack shops/bars by both the pool and the beach, as well as larger restaurant options. There's also a little cafe, a playground and a mini market. My room had a balcony, overlooking the sea, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Front desk, snack shop and mini-market staff were all very friendly and helpful. Loved the lack of blaring techno-beat music. Heard this coming from the neighboring resorts and was so glad I wasn't staying at either of those places.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    3.3
    This is one of these holidays from hell which you watch on TV and you would never expect to happen t
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is one of these holidays from hell which you watch on TV and you would never expect to happen to you. We booked a 4 star hotel, the price we paid was premium but the facility was far from it - 2 to 3 stars perhaps and our experience was even worse. 1. When we entered the hotel a lady was upset that she was just robbed and staff at reception showed no concern. 2. We got the key from the room to discover there were disgusting stains on the white furniture, black mold on walls and room's sealing and in the bathroom. We would guess the room would not have been refurbished for some time. Bath was blocked, curtains were stained, one of the lights was not working. On the positive side, the light was changed. 3. When we wanted to change room we were shown even more disgusting place. 4. Rooms were dark and not lighted well for a reason. When you look closer at the white walls you would see not only mold but also that there were many dead mosquitoes. Every night we would have our battles with blood hungry mosquitoes like many other people before us. Mattresses were bad and also contributed to sleepless nights together with the nasty insects. 5. Internet was paid by us with a daily voucher like in a cheap hostel but we did not get value for money. We got no or very weak connection. Again, at reception we were told nothing could be done. 6. The restaurant was overcrowded with no decent food. We ate there only once. The rest of the holiday we were going to town. 7. Beach belongs to the hotel and is paid separately but sand was not cleaned.

    Cleaners were the only polite staff. They were working hard trying to do their job as much as they could. Towels and bed linen were clean. However, the rooms were dilapidated, there were nasty stains on the white furniture, black mold in the room and the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    A 2* star hotel with nice garden and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and rusty, very old and damaged furniture. at most 2* hotel room: bathroom is old, shower head does not work, the bathtub is rusty and when you Take a bath when you drain the bathtub there is water coming out of The sink whole in the floor, so basically you flood the bathroom daily.. A lot of mosquitos and no mosquitos net at the balcony door, also a lizard (the lizard was cute, mosquitos not!!) Shops and tavernas are pretty far away, 15 min walk or 5 min with car. You have to pay for water at breakfast, it is not included in breakfast. You have to pay for the sun beds on the hotel beach. You have to pay for Wi-Fi but it works really bad. The cellphone signal is very low.

    Close to the beach, lift to the beach, nice garden in the complex, nice restaurant view, nice beach. Very flexibile and understanding with late modifications to the initial reservation through booking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Hotel with no issues. Perfect to relax 10 days with great beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Safety box, internet and sun beds are not free. Breakfast may be not the same every day. Mosquitos net should be installed. Some equipment is very outdated in rooms ( AC, Phone, Safety Box). Staff insists on some rules which are OK just maybe they should adjust their approach and make it more relaxed for guests. Also I got good room with no balcony looking at garden. Room was very good and I was ok with it but my room was not see view room. Also recommendation for management - please avoid charging things like internet, safety box at least. Include this in room price rather. Your approach leaving bad taste of cheap hotel which is not needed because you are very close to be perfect.

    Parking, beach, garden, taverna, rooms, view. Beach bar prices are OK, beach is not overpopulated with sun beds and people. And very important there is no loud techno beat music on the beach - that is big ++. Hotel is clean, staff friendly when it comes to solve any problem. I had very relaxing 12 nights there and I will came again for sure. This hotel have probably best beach in that side of peninsula.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel but needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, and you have to pay money for everything. Beach chairs cost exstra, no water at breakfast. Wifi is too expensive!!

    The beach is very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.0
    Everything was extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was smelly and old. Sunbed and umbrella was extra, internet was extra. Although the rooms were expensive It was surprising to hear everything was extra. And on booking.com it was not clear about sunbeds and umbrellas.

    Everything was extra. Even water was extra in breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and furniture too. Beds are not very comfortable, but it is all clean.

    It is very clean, beach is wonderful and hospitality is on the high level.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    Hotel with great potdntial, but outdated and overpriced for what it has to offer now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a lot of bad quality products. No tomatoes, no fresh juices, to pay extra for water. Wifi overpriced at €20 per day! On top of that 3G & 4G somehow have terrible connection at the hotel. Bathroom very much dated. Sun beds not free, and more expensive then most beach bars in the area where they only require consumption for free beds (as little as €10-15 for 2 people). No beach towels. No map of the area available, no water cooker available. TV from the 1980s. Fridge too small to fit a big water bottle and not cooling well. Parking long distance from the rooms.

    Staff, beach, location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    You have two young people on the reseption, Luela and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to renovate The main bilding

    You have two young people on the reseption, Luela and Achilleas. They were very polite and have helped us with our reservation.You need more people like them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Good for Families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid wi-fi with poor signal and also you need to pay for having umbrella on the beach.

    Of course location, the beach and the stuff was very friendly. The food was good with so many options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel suitable for family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi was very weak and you should pay it additionally.

    The beach is absolutely awesome- crystal turquoise water, sand is clean, there is enough space between sunbeds. From the hotel made us a discount because we paid for a beach card for our 7 days stay. So for 2 sunbeds and umbrella we paid 8 euro per day. /Without beach card the price is 15 euro/ The access to the beach is via elevator so you don't need to climb the hill to the hotel. The hotel has everything needed- nice gardens you can walk through, tennis court, taverna, cafe, pool bar, beach bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Paradise found!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of loos, cabins for changing and a little tap underneath the shower stand to just wash your feet on the spacious and crowded beach would come in handy and would add up to the overall great impression of the hotel.

    Extremely helpful staff and administration. Spotless cleanliness. Great territory, pristine clean beach and water. Decent quality food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Not bed not excellent
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is extra charge, internet, to lie on the beach etc. And nothing to see nearby, you have to stay all the time at hotel. Also food is not so good in taverna which is located inside hotel

    Rooms were perfect, pool was great and beach was near

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Good for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi (or can buy per device). Breakfast okay. No drinking water in the room.

    Abeautiful beach at the bottom of the hotel with easy access... Walk or take the mini teleferique.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is in an excellent location. The beach is fantastic. The director of the hotel, Dimitris Cinavos, with the head of the reception Katarina, has done a lot to improve the quality of the service. Considerable progress has been made in comparison to previous years. This was our fifth stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Alexander the "little"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant - stuff and poor choice of food Paid and very slow WiFi is everyone (without exception) first issue. Everything is with additional payment or fee: WiFi, beach sets, beach drinks.....maybe the air in near future?! No additional money value :( * These guys are stuck in a past vacation service period!!!

    The beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.8
    I would not go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked superior room with a sea view, upper floor if possible but first they put us in a small room practically in basement on the corner with a view to a garden. After we complained, they gave us also small room, on first floor no sea view again. On a private hotel beach they charge 15 EUR for two sun beds and umbrella.

    Bed was comfortable. Cleanliness was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.6
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi was not for free and it was actually very expensive..you pay lots of money and at the end it is for one device only, beach in front of the hotel was very expensive and not free for guests of the hotel; booked double room with a double bed and they gave us 2 single beds even i called at the hotel to request not separate beds but just one normal double bed

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Old awful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not i a 4 stars standart.The rooms are in the level of a 2 stars hotel.They made a new building next to the main hotel with a few new rooms and shoot the nice photos.They are more than 99 photos at the gallery so you have to see all of them and then you will realise what i say....unfortunately i've seen only the first 20-30 photos at the booking gallery.

    It's a good location of the hotel with a nice garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    2.5
    Noting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I would not recommend this hotel to anyone because: 1.The rooms: - The room was old, the "double" bed was very small. LIKE 1978 year. -There wasn`t hot water in our room; -Cleaning staff change the towels per three days. -Underwear wasn`t change. -Do not clean the room regularly. 2 Restaurant: -.Breakfast was very poor - almost every day the food is the same; no tomatos and cucumbers on breakfast. Only eggs, no fruits . The staff put the food in your dish for every meal and you should constantly explain how much food you want to eat. -Not from serving the dishes. -If they do not give you a special credit coupon from the reception, you can`t pay through your room number. -very unprofessional staff -managers and waiters - unprofessional -No choice of alcohol drinks. 3.If you have small baby -you have big problem in this hotel. It is very difficult to drive the baby car in this hotel. No ramps, the lift is very very small! -The double room is small one, you can not put the baby car inside. -If you are on an intermediate floor it is very difficult to get the lift. 4.Warning: You should pay for the beach to use umbrella and sunbeds per day and depending on the accomodation days! 5.INTERNET: -The owners are abnormal: wifi internet is free all over the world but in this hotel you should pay very expensive tax for wifi per hour.

    Noting

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Great beach, so so food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food can definitely be improved - we had only once bacon for breakfast, too often aubergines and overall not much diversity. The lunch is totally not worth it. The hotel policy must be more flexible because we asked for a empty minibar to keep the baby food but received a negative answer and had to throw away some of the food.

    The beach is big, with fine sand and pure water. Superior rooms are spacious, well furnished and with nice view. The complex is very clean and well maintained. The elevator for the beach is of big help for families with small children. WiFi is the best we used in Greece till now. At breakfast there are paper cups and you can drink your coffee at the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    3.3
    Defects, expensive Beach, thick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was paint im shower, the air condition didnt work, they want money for drinks we didnt drink from The warm!! (never Cold) minibar Everything costs:Beach 10eu a Day, WiFi 20eu / Day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    The beach and Taverna Antonis were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was sand on our hotel room's floor, and the AC didn't work, despite the room being "newly renovated".

    The beach and Taverna Antonis were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    2.9
    Bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, not clean, smells disgusting in the rooms, food is not delicious and it is not various, you pay even for their slow WiFi... this hotel was a really bad experience for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.4
    Beach is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner -all drinks are extra charge ( water, soda .. ) Internet cost 5 euro and is not for the room - only one device per time can access to internet. The stuff ( bad and bathroom) are old.

    Beach is the best. Good garden. Good food

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: