Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alkion

Main Street, Exopoli, Georgioupolis, 73008, Greece

#2 of 40 hotels in Georgioupolis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Studio apartment decor and furnishings were rather tired and had poor facilities for self catering. There were a lot if mosquitoes even in late April when we stayed resulting in a disturbed night.

    Friendly staff, lovely welcome, great location, well kept grounds and swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice family. Comfortable beds, the best fryingpan ever in Europe. But family, please buy some wooden- or silicone spatula to let it remain like that!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is exceptional if you want a sea and a mountain view at the same time. Host and his family are doing everything they can to make you feel welcome. This is extremely good value for money. Giorgioupolis is a bit touristic, but at the same time extremely quiet and with very nice beach and a nice village on the coast. The swimming pool is nice and quiet.I would come back with pleasure. I would recommend a 2 bedrooms apartment for a family of 4 with 2 kids-as well, you need a car. Thank you for everything Dimitri!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hosts, perfect welcome drink. Specious apartment with TV, AC, good equipment and comfortable beds. You can buy delicious breakaast for only 5E. Reasonable prices in bar. Beautiful view of the bay and the city. Everything is very clean and well maintained. Nice clean swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy the view. Definitely more than we expected. Perfect value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was GREAT!

    The staff was very friendly!Every time we needed them all of them were keen to help us!The facilities were excellent and the price regarding the total services was excellent too!Totally we were absolutely satisfied for our staying at Alkion!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Alkion is a family run little complex in the mountain side roads of exopoli beside georgioupoli in Crete and is just fabulous. There are 16 apartments/studios and a pool with comfy sun loungers umbrellas and the location location location is the ultimate rest. Dimitri and his family welcome one as visiting family guests yet expertly recede to the delivery of a dream holiday once welcomed warmly. They are ever available to assist if needed or sought yet never intrusive The cleanliness of the accommodation is great and towels etc changed daily with no fuss or interruption providing service at times suiting you as the guest. The breakfast is an ideal yet simple and meditative relaxing start to set you off on your day. Hillside and village strolls are in abundance from 20mins to 6hrs as you may decide. The perfect spot and then to georgioupoli for drinks and dinner. A little car or scooter just touches the spot too. One must go. I'm waiting to return

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of mosquitoes in our room on the first day. I got bitten to death, and the rest of my family did too, to some degree. Their presence was probably down to climatic conditions, but the apartment windows were open on arrival, and when we turned the lights on in the evening (by which time I'd had a snooze) there was a haze of them above us. The owners had provided a plug in mozzie killer, but it wasn't plugged in on arrival and we didn't find it til after. The equipment in the studios is fairly Spartan. Beds were comfy though.

    Loved the location, although it's remote, high on the hillside above Georgeoupolis, so if you don't like walking, don't have a car, or you want to be in amongst the bars and restaurants, it's probably not for you. You can walk to Vrisses or Vamos from Exopoli if you want to. The pool was great, the staff/family were great too, really genuine, friendly people. They got us a baby cot from somewhere offsite (it came on the back of a pickup and was carried up to our studio) and they brought us gifts such as cakes for our little girl. There are also reasonably priced vending machines on site where you can get a soft drink, a beer or a bottle of water. The balconies of the studios are great too, really spacious and enjoying great views over the sea.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to fight all night against multitudes of mosquitos, and there were no mosquito net/screens to keep them out of the room

    The apartment was large and comfortable, the view was lovely the hospitality was warm and kind

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It took a bit of time to get used to a handheld shower hose, but the water was hot and there was plenty of it.

    Great location just a few minutes drive from Georgioupolis. The family team who ran the apartments were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was very nice. The pool and views were lovely. Overall very pleased and we would go again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to town transport needed but ok

    The views from the balcony were absolutely breath taking. There wasn't much around us one traverna. But very good. Demitrios , and family were lovely. Pool area was good. An overall fantastic place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything about our stay was brilliant from a warm welcome to a great room and a tasty breakfast with a fantastic view. we will definately be booking again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hosts, excellent service, super clean flat! The kids loved the swimming pool and Georgoupolis is a child friendly town. All and all, we had a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were too hard for us, so we had to put blankets under the sheets to make them comfortable.

    Friendly family atmosphere. A quiet relaxing place just several minutes by car from Georgioupoli with its beaches, tavernas and supermarkets. Nice garden and beautiful sea and mountains views. Exopoli is not a noisy touristic place and you definitely need a car but it is a good starting point to explore Western Crete. Kournas lake is only 7 km from Alkion, Rethimno is about 20 km, Vamos, Vrisses and Karoudi monastery are also a short drive away. On our arrival we were welcomed by fresh orange juice, coffee and delicious homemade cakes. That was very nice after a long drive from Heraklion! The room was clean and spacious and the swimming pool with a diving board was really great! If you need anything, you just have to ask Dimitris, who is a perfect host: always ready to help you, but not intrusive. Dimitri, thank you very much for the wonderful stay, we would be happy to stay in Alkion next year!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Nice and quiet, relaxed feel to the place. Great pool, open all night! Amazing views of the sea and mountains!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 3km up a steep hill and that was hard work in the evenings. You need a car.

    Property was first class in every way and great value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hotel with amazing view! Very clean room. Thank You!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views. Great staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice host, great view, exellent breakfast, good beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best value of money!Comfortable and clean appartment.Very friendly staff.Not very far from the beach approx 2,5km.Nice view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly family/ staff, lovely views, nice swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast.. all fresh!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is a bit small

    Everything! I recommend this hostel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic relaxing holiday...Dimitri & family are wonderful hosts... Stunning views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very nice staff. Nice pool and beautiful view. If you want to relax in a quiet location this is very good. I warmely recommend Alkion!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    From the beginning of our holiday to the end the whole experience was an absolute joy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattresses were on the hard side. No shower curtain so difficult to keep the bathroom floor dry.

    Very friendly and helpful owners. Lovely views of both the sea and mountains.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE SHOWER WASNT COMFORTABLE AT ALL

    DIMITRIUS AND HIS FAMILY ARE EXTREMELY NICE AND ALWAYS READY TO HELP.THE LOCATION IS PERFECT, VERY CLOSE TO GEORGIOPOLIS BUT AT THE SAME TIME VERY PEACEFUL AND CALM.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    I knew where the Alkion is and the outside appearance from previous times to that area but my stay was well above expectations and i have already recommended it to people and will be booking again for myself next year.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views were stunning. Relaxing location but near enough to all facilities with car. Owners always on hand if any issues.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tha shower could have been better

    Staff were the most welcoming and friendly we have ever encountered

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: