Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Greece hotel reviews
  3. Attica vacation rental reviews
  4. Hydra vacation rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Althea

Reviews of Althea

Hydra, Hydra, 18040, Greece

#22 of 42 vacation rentals in Hydra

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 14 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    10

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 9

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, comfortable bliss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather, but rain always follows us.

    Hosts Irini and husband were lovely welcoming people. The property itself, while a bit of a steep walk with baby buggy, more than justifies the effort and was full of personal touches. A beautiful well-kept traditional Hydra house with loads of outdoor space and luxury of a swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.6
    Stress just vanishes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I find the second shower room small with nowhere to store the masses of junk one seems to require. A couple of additional shelves would alleviate this but then if you share the large shower room a little it is all adequate.

    This is my second October stay in Althea. Communication prior to arrival was simple. Irini, is super efficient, and George met us from the Piraeus ferry. The house was ready despite our early arrival and he took the baggage immediately up to the property. It felt like seeing old friends, they are most obliging and kind. The house is to my eyes very special. It is a short but healthy walk upwards, inland but without steps. There are lovely sea views from the top terrace but mostly you are private and secluded looking up into the hills. The pool is such a bonus and the layout of the rooms are very flexible. There are two shower rooms both outside which is actually preferable. The kitchen functions very well with a good dishwasher, and washing machine. If you are lucky Irini may leave you a cake. The tap water is fine for making beverages but you may need bottled water so it is advisable to purchase some for George to bring up on the donkeys with the bags. There are televisions everywhere but we did not use them. There is air conditioning but on this visit we did not use it. The wifi is excellent. The beds most comfortable. A delightful house with delightful hosts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    8.8
    A real home away from home on beautiful Hydra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 12 nights

    It's a good walk up the hill from the port to the villa. A great way to get healthy and keep slim after all the super restaurants and great food in Hydra . . . but some people or older people may want to take the location into account depending on their health and fitness.

    The private pool is the big plus at this property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect villa in Hydra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The villa is up a steep hill, this can be a hard walk in the heat. However irini and her husband took our luggage up there on arrival, and the location means that's the views are amazing!

    Amazing villa, it was absolutely beautiful. The views from the roof terrace were wonderful, the pool was amazing to cool off in the heat- and a rare find in hydra! Irini and her husband are fantastic hosts, meeting us at the port to help with luggage- and Irini made us a cake and pie whilst we stayed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    9.2
    Looks just as wonderful in real life
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool lights weren't working when we got there but we assume they're going to get them fixed eventually.

    It's a gorgeous find for sure - we only went there for a weekend and wished we had more days to just chill and enjoy the house.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    9.2
    Lovely villa, awesome views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    12 minutes walk from the city center uphill.

    Lovely villa, awesome views.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic hosts, charming property and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathrooms were both outside the main property.

    Fantastic hosts, charming property and great views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.2
    We would highly recommend this beautiful place. Fabulous responsive hosts, stunning villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stunning views, beautiful villa, great hosts, comfy beds, beautiful terraces, just perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful, traditional house, sympathetically and tastefully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Be prepared for a strenuous uphill walk, though well worth it when you arrive! As it is traditional house some of the internal stairs are steep and narrow, both bathrooms are in outside spaces, one one with no curtain on the window. We did not find this too much of a problem, as the weather was beautiful, but we feel it should be mentioned!

    Beautiful, traditional house, sympathetically and tastefully renovated. Probably it's best features are it's outside spaces, lovely well-equipped terraces and swimming pool. George and Irini were lovely.. very friendly and helpful! George meeting us off the ferry with his mule to transfer our luggage was a god-send.. Irini popping in with home-made cakes, cheese pie and preserves was delightful.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 9

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!