Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amalthia Beach Resort 4 stars

Main Street, Agia Marina Nea Kydonias, 73100, Greece

#35 of 63 hotels in Agia Marina Nea Kydonias

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 137 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Can’t wait to return.

    Private beautiful beach. Close to chania town, surrounded by minimarkets and tavernas. Very clean, comfortable, wonderful staff and food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comparably high prices for drinks at pool bar. Rooms clean, but could be equipped with a bit more homely furniture

    Fantastic staff, good food in restaurant, good location, good start point for excursions to Samaria or Elafonissi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was super slow!! Breakfast lady was so hectic and gave away our table during buffet round. Room was dirty and next to the kitchen/parking. They gave us their spare room. Extra charge for beach beds... managers standing around during busy breakfast peak doing nothing to help their team.

    15 min welcome massage was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A very clean and modern hotel with a lovely pool area. The breakfast was lovely and varied and the beach is beautiful! The staff were fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    It was a truly pleasant stay. On one of the days a very heavy storm with flooding took place. The team was excellent and got us a new room instantly and brought us food in this emergency. We were excellently taken care off and enjoyed our stay and will be back. Top marks!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel has an older couple / family vibe, which is fine, but reviews said "good for couples" and we are a young couple - clearly those reviews were targeted towards more older couples. The room we had was clearly set up for an elderly person - the shower was a nightmare with water going everywhere (poorly designed); and the bed was extremely low and hard. The wifi worked well on the beach, but not in our room. We found it alarming the hotel charges hotel guests for beach beds and towels - we walked to the establishment next door and used those beach chairs as they were free of charge if you purchased a refreshment.

    The hotel is quite modern, and is located on a nice beach. The spa facilities were great and we had great massages and facials, which were fantastic value for money. Nice stroll into town to many restaurants, cafes and bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to come home again (and the mattress)

    loved the pancakes, proximity to sea and bus stop nearby and taxi office, only unfortunate bit of feedback is that I'm used to a more comfortable mattress, everything else from alpha to omega was purrrfect - including White Socks - we christened the cat while we were there. Felt like royalty - very hard coming back to reality after such a superb experience Yamos xx

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    He beds are terrible and the breakfast could be better. The signal is poor i could not use the wifi of the hotel not even my own mobile internet 😑

    They were very very friendly. It is clean and the beach is next to you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main stream tourist hotel. Price level totally too much compared facilities and customer service. But very good for some customer segment anyway.

    Location near the beach is very good. Lady in Day Spa and massage were great. Customer service was sometimes good, sometimes not. Pool is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    - WiFi was not always working (in some hours, most probably because everybody was using it) - Extra cost for the 2x sunbeds + umbrella on the beach (15€ front row, 10€ for the rest of the rows), but you always received clean towels and 2 bottle of water (0.5L) inside of a bucket with ice. On the other neighbor places on the beach, if you were a customer at the beach bars, you could stay for free on the sunbeds - the furniture in the rooms, bathroom was old/worn - in general the price for the stay was slightly expensive, compared to other locations that were already sold out at the moment when we made our reservations

    + breakfast was good, fresh/live made omelets & pancakes, the coffer could be better + hotel staff, everybody was nice to you + the property itself, located on the beach + cleanliness, the staff was polishing all day long the area to keep it clean + beach restaurant, good food, good service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    entire accommodation is not at rate of 4 stars or booking 9.1 rating at all. no lift, so should carry heavy luggage by stairs by own; there is no staff to help you. swimming pool was too small. location was too far from airport. breakfast menu was low quality. no conditioner at shower. parking space was very limited

    hospitality of staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to leave the room a little further than 12 even if we where charged. There was no flexibility unfortunately and the staff was not really willing to help us even though we had a baby with us. We had the first line sunbeds at the beach of the hotel, and we where charged with 15 euro!!!!!!!! Extraordinary for Crete and for a hotel that is advertised for this. There where complimentary towels on the sunbed and cold water.. but in the end you pay for this depending on the sunbed that you are sitting at (first or second line).

    Generally a nice hotel just above the beach, this is why I selected it. Really nice gardens and kids area place. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were always friendly and always greeted you when you passed them. The hotel was very clean; rooms, pool and beach which is the main thing I look for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sunbeds in the pool are not enough. The hotel should consider to let the costumers use the sunbeds in the beach for free.

    Very friendly staff. The breakfast is very good, with on-time made pancakes and omelets and fantastic yogurt. WiFi works very well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small fitness studio but clean

    Just perfect. Its recommended to all. We had a pleasant stay. Would love to stay again The hotel does a really great job making sure everything is just right for the guest. Very kind personnel. Bravo

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was in the main building and there were some disturbing noises overnight: engine sound from the basement and some kind of filling water-tank sound. After the first night, we bought earplugs from the supermarket across the road.

    The hotel is in top condition, looks almost new. It is also very clean. The beach is fantastic and the sunbeds are comfortable. The restaurant serves good food, try the grilled calamari. Staff is extremely nice (shout-out to Thomas!), they really go for the extra mile and make your stay pleasant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hand held shower was an irritation. We would have liked better quality tea and coffee at breakfast time. It came from a machine and wasn't brilliant. Irritating having to pay for a safe and then have to carry around the key all the time! A free digital safe would be great!

    Fabulous location, lovely staff and very clean and well maintained indoors and out. Restaurant good quality and value. Egg station at breakfast just lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable rooms, perfect location next to the beach and only 15 minutes from the city!!! Not forget to mention try their restaurant with the outstanding view of the sea. :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room clealiness varying day by day. On the road location and pictures on website give better impression than reality. Pushy manager at beach restaurant. Cockroach in public bathroom next to pool (and restaurant) on the last day.

    Some very helpful staff. The female staff at beach restaurant gave us super service (we were almost the only users of the restaurant)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All member of personnel (cleaning ladies, bar personnel, reception, etc.) were very helpful, kind, and pleasant. Rooms and resort very well kept and clean and conceived to be a plesant place. Right on the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was as perfect as the welcoming and accommodation of the staff. Food was served on our arrival even though it was beyond ordering times, beer was crisp and cold :) We will definitely be recommending this hotel to friends who visit Crete.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible. No fresh fruit, cheap meats and very limited selection. Really disappointing. Don't book a "main building" room as ours had an awful view of the main road outside meaning it was noisy and we couldn't use our balcony. Agia Marina itself is an ok resort, but very much catered for Scandinavians and more expensive than other Greek resorts.

    The beach and pool area were clean and had a great setting. The food at the pool bar was lovely and service good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only area where there could be improvement is with some of the charging. Prior to our visit we were aware that there was a charge for use of the beds on the beach. 10 euro for a pair of beds all day with 2 bottles of water & towels. (15 on the front row) While the beds are a nicer quality (wooden base instead of metal) than others, there are plenty of restaurants/bars offering no charge with patronage all along the same section. It just felt that as the hotel is not cheap (albeit worth their rate) this is something they could include for their guests. The beds by the pool were free of charge. They also left a 10% discount card for the restaurant for guests which we only noticed after we'd eaten there. Even though we charged our meal to the room, we were not able to have the discount honoured as it wasn't shown prior to the ticket being rung up. The saving would not have been massive but felt that the gesture should be made without a technicality. We'd been there nearly a week at the time we ate and certainly when opting for charging to the room would be evident we were guests, we could've been told at the point of ordering. There is also an additional 20 Euro fee for the use of the room safe during the stay which I would expect to be included.

    The location was excellent. Right on the beach and not being familiar with the area prior to booking, we were pleasantly surprised that there were so many restaurants etc along a long beach road leading onto beach town after beach town. We also found lots of excellent restaurants into the mountains. We loved the attractive apartment style layout and would recommend one of the rooms not in the main building for a longer stay. We were initially shown to a mountain view room in the main building first by mistake which was tidy and the decor to the same lovely standard but without a seating area. We ate in the restaurant once and the food was superb! They offer nights with Greek entertainment and a singer for dancing. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Amalthia but the highlight was the wonderful staff who were extremely professional and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was virtually no WiFi in our room. We had to decend down to the lobby area for any access.

    This website failed to reserve he correct room for us, but the staff and especially the owner Mr Abela were very accommodating in assisting with our predicament. The hotel was fully booked but he was able to assist by providing a larger room on the second night with a couple of fold out beds for the kids. The hotel itself is fantastic, on the beach, a beautiful pool area, the choice to eat lunch or dinner at the restaurant. Despite our unfortunate room dimensions we had an extremely relaxed week there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, super clean resort. Great restaurant serving wonderful food, but most importantly, the wonderful staff. They were super friendly and attentitive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When my wife and I checked-in at the hotel on Friday night, I realized that they gave us a different room from the one I have booked. I had booked a front sea/pool view (as shown at the photos) and the room they gave us had a street view. A very loud and not at all pretty view of the street. The personnel informed us after I complained that they had upgrade us to a small suit room, without a notice, but they told me that the next morning they would moved us to our original room. The next morning after we finally went to our original room I asked to talk to the manager because I didn't want to pay for the terrible night I had at the previous room. I was very frustrated because the room that I had booked was very expensive and I was looking forward to stay in the ONE THAT I HAD CHOSEN FROM BOOKING.COM. The least that I would expect was a simple apology and shot of Raki (traditional drink of Crete), but the manager was very rude to me and got very angry. He told me that not paying for the previous night was unacceptable and even a discount was out of the question. Specifically he told me that he is allowed by the law to change my booking (upgrade by his opinion, NOT MINE) without a notice, and that he has a 9,1score (by 100 reviews???) on Booking.com so he doesn't care about a bad review from us and then he practically kicked us out of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not built correctly. No counter space to place any toiletries. The shower was half-glass and a mess to navigate correctly. Very deep and dangerous if too wet. Havent quite figured out the beach set-up, as there were different prices for where you sit. Most places dont charge you money to sit on their beach, in addition to your room rates.Minimal wifi connection was available in the main building over the lobby.

    the pool was great and the restaurant/cafe next to the pool was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    no english language tv station.

    staff very friendly. breakfast excellent. bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly, gone out of their way to make us comfortable. Three cheers..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like Agia Marina in general.

    Clean rooms and clean facilities/pool area. Pleasant and quiet surroundings. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elena receptionist she is the best !! So helpful and friendly!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice location, close to downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed. No blanket covers. No shower curtains and as a result all water was on the floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    extra charges for sea side beds, towels

    great location very clean and well maintained

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible and over priced - breakfast and from the taverna restaurant

    Staff and the cleanliness of the resort

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very bad smell in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard.

    Location & a very clean hotel. An excellent staff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and quiet. The location is excellent and the staff was very professional and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sunbed and umbrellas should be free for hotel guests

    The staff were very friendly and willing to help at any time

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Amazing staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly staff, clean and comfort. Perfect to relax and enjoy!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very similar everyday-albeit with a wide range of food. Cheap cereal and warm milk could be improved. Kellogg's and cold milk please :)

    Amazing beach with waiter service. Well kept loungers & umbrellas. Super swimming pool. Very friendly reception staff who would help with info about transport and days out. Excellent spa services - very reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe the residents could have a discount for the use of sunbeds.

    The hotel was great, location very convenient. The staff was really helpful and kind. Our room was lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The negatives 1- free wifi almost nonexistent in our room and many other rooms 2- our room does not have screens so we always had the AC on even though the weather at night was pleasant

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    The staff were very helpful from day one. Also the atmosphere at the hotel was so relaxed and laid back. It was exactly what I hoped for plus more!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing!

    The hotel does a really great job making sure everything is just right. We were upgraded for free, given free to use beach towel and free use of safe from booking with Bookings.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi in our room was poor. My bed was a springy and the pillow was really thick (fixed when I asked reception for a new pillow)

    The hotel was very clean and finished to a really nice standard. Right on the beach and just the right amount of guests not to be too quiet or busy. Staff were excellent and very happy to help

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No towel for beach and when come in a island with airplane with minimum baggage it is problem! You have to pay extra for the safe in the room.

    Good clean hotel !

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very kind stuff

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the location and the staff were excellent

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great team of staff: friendly, attentive and helpful. Superb setting of beach-side restaurant, well run by maitre d'. Outstanding chef.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing location, clean, kind staff, great facilities.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed!

    The place!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Would prefer room on second floor.

    Location is great. Seclusion of beach yet only 10 minute ride to Old Chania.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had wi-fi issues in the room for some of the stay

    The stuff were amazing

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic resort. Very clean rooms and friendly/professional staff. Great location between Chania and the rest of West Crete!

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: